DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final Office Action in response to application 17/837,017 entitled "SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR PROCESSING CLAIMS" filed on August 19, 2025, with claims 1-4, 6, 8-20, and 22-25 pending.
Prosecution Re-Opening
In view of the Appeal Brief filed on May 15, 2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/CHRISTINE M Tran/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3695
Status of Claims
No claims have been amended.
Claims 5, 7, and 21 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-20, and 22-25 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-20, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Please see MPEP 2106 for additional information regarding Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-20, and 22-25 are directed to a system, method/process, machine/apparatus, or composition of matter, which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent Claim 1 recites:
“A method for analyzing a claim made by a claimant, the method comprising:
receiving claimant information, claim information, at least one claim document, and at least one policy document from a claim management system (CMS);
extracting at least one policy rule from the at least one policy document;
determining at least one claim variable based on the at least one policy rule;
identifying at least one claim document likely to have information relevant to the at least one claim variable;
extracting the relevant information from the at least one claim document using at least one natural language processing (NLP) technique;
determining a value for the at least one claim variable based on the extracted information;
assessing if the claimant is entitled to the claim based on the determined value for the at least one claim variable;
calculating a benefit due the claimant; and
…of the claim assessment and calculated claim benefit
wherein the extraction of the relevant information comprises the following:
segmenting the document;
classifying each segment as either handwritten or machine-typed;
processing each segment through an applicable text conversion model, and
associating original coordinates in the document with each segment and joining the segments according to their original coordinates.”
These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. Specific instances include instructing to “analyzing a claim made by a claimant”, “determining a value for the at least one claim variable”, “assessing if the claimant is entitled to the claim”, and “calculating a benefit due the claimant” recite a fundamental economic principles or practice and/or commercial or legal interactions. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic, commercial, or financial action, principle, or practice then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of:
[notifying the CMS]:
insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception of data gathering
are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components and/or electronic processes. For example, the Applicant’s Specification reads, “[31] A user device 110 may be any computer device capable of accessing any of the claim management system or the database, such as by running a client application or other software, like a web browser or web-browser-like application [0195] “The machine may comprise a server computer, a client user computer, a personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, a laptop computer, a desktop computer, …or any machine capable of executing a set of instructions (sequential or otherwise) that specify actions to be taken by that machine.” Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, the additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. The claim further defines the abstract idea and hence is abstract for the reasons presented above. The claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claim does not provide significantly more)
Dependent Claims recite additional elements.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the recited additional elements of
Claim 2: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
Claim 3:
“notifying the CMS”: insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception of displaying information
Claim 4: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
Claim 6:
“trained…model”
generally linking to the particular technology of machine learning as a means to perform an abstract idea
“optical character recognition”
generally linking to the particular technology of optical character recognition as a means to perform an abstract idea
Claim 8: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
Claim 9:
“notification”: insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception of displaying information
Claim 10: “NLP”
generally linking to the particular technology of natural language processing as a means to perform an abstract idea
Claim 11: “NLP”
generally linking to the particular technology of natural language processing as a means to perform an abstract idea
Claim 12: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
Claim 13: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
Claim 14: “BERT, ALBERT, ELECTRA, RoBERTa, XLNet, bio-BERT”
merely applying natural language technology as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Claim 15: “NLP”
generally linking to the particular technology of natural language processing as a means to perform an abstract idea
Claims 16-20 and 22-23: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components and/or electronic processes. For example, the Applicant’s Specification reads, For example, the Applicant’s Specification reads, “[31] A user device 110 may be any computer device capable of accessing any of the claim management system or the database, such as by running a client application or other software, like a web browser or web-browser-like application [0195] “The machine may comprise a server computer, a client user computer, a personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, a laptop computer, a desktop computer, …or any machine capable of executing a set of instructions (sequential or otherwise) that specify actions to be taken by that machine.” Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. Dependent claims further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the dependent claims are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Independent Claim 24 recites:
“A system comprising …comprising:
receiving claimant information, claim information, at least one claim document, and at least one policy document…;
extracting at least one policy rule from the at least one policy document;
determining at least one claim variable based on the at least one policy rule;
identifying at least one claim document likely to have information relevant to the at least one claim variable;
extracting the relevant information from the at least one claim document;
determining a value for the at least one claim variable based on the extracted information;
assessing if the claimant is entitled to the claim based on the determined value for the at least one claim variable;
calculating a benefit due the claimant; and
… the CMS of the claim assessment and calculated claim benefit.
wherein the extraction of the relevant information comprises the following:
segmenting the document;
classifying each segment as either handwritten or machine-typed;
processing each segment through an applicable text conversion model, and
associating original coordinates in the document with each segment and joining the segments according to their original coordinates”
These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. Specific instances include instructing to “analyzing a claim made by a claimant”, “determining a value for the at least one claim variable”, “assessing if the claimant is entitled to the claim”, and “calculating a benefit due the claimant” recite a fundamental economic principles or practice and/or commercial or legal interactions. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic, commercial, or financial action, principle, or practice then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of:
[one or more processors and one or more storage devices storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to perform operations][from a CMS]:
merely applying computer processing, storage, and networking technology as tools to perform an abstract idea
[notifying]:
insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception of data gathering
are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components and/or electronic processes. For example, the Applicant’s Specification reads, “[31] A user device 110 may be any computer device capable of accessing any of the claim management system or the database, such as by running a client application or other software, like a web browser or web-browser-like application [0195] “The machine may comprise a server computer, a client user computer, a personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, a laptop computer, a desktop computer, …or any machine capable of executing a set of instructions (sequential or otherwise) that specify actions to be taken by that machine.” Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, Claim 24 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, the additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. The claim further defines the abstract idea and hence is abstract for the reasons presented above. The claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claim does not provide significantly more)
Independent Claim 25 recites:
“A….comprising: receiving claimant information, claim information, at least one claim document, and at least one policy document…;
extracting at least one policy rule from the at least one policy document;
determining at least one claim variable based on the at least one policy rule;
identifying at least one claim document likely to have information relevant to the at least one claim variable;
extracting the relevant information from the at least one claim document;
determining a value for the at least one claim variable based on the extracted information;
assessing if the claimant is entitled to the claim based on the determined value for the at least one claim variable;
calculating a benefit due the claimant; and
notifying the CMS of the claim assessment and calculated claim benefit
wherein the extraction of the relevant information comprises the following:
segmenting the document;
classifying each segment as either handwritten or machine-typed;
processing each segment through an applicable text conversion model, and
associating original coordinates in the document with each segment and joining the segments according to their original coordinates.”
These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. Specific instances include instructing to “analyzing a claim made by a claimant”, “determining a value for the at least one claim variable”, “assessing if the claimant is entitled to the claim”, and “calculating a benefit due the claimant” recite a fundamental economic principles or practice and/or commercial or legal interactions. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic, commercial, or financial action, principle, or practice then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of:
[computer program product encoded on one or more non-transitory computer storage media, the computer program product comprising instructions that when executed by one or more processing means cause the one or more processing means to perform operations][from a CMS]:
merely applying computer processing, storage, and networking technology as tools to perform an abstract idea
[notifying]:
insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception of data gathering
are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components and/or electronic processes. For example, the Applicant’s Specification reads, “[31] A user device 110 may be any computer device capable of accessing any of the claim management system or the database, such as by running a client application or other software, like a web browser or web-browser-like application [0195] “The machine may comprise a server computer, a client user computer, a personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, a laptop computer, a desktop computer, …or any machine capable of executing a set of instructions (sequential or otherwise) that specify actions to be taken by that machine.” Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, Claim 25 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, the additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. The claim further defines the abstract idea and hence is abstract for the reasons presented above. The claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claim does not provide significantly more)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-13, 15-18, 20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loghmani ("SYSTEM AND METHOD OF AUTOMATED DATA ANALYSIS FOR IMPLEMENTING HEALTH RECORDS PERSONAL ASSISTANT WITH AUTOMATED CORRELATION OF MEDICAL SERVICES TO INSURANCE AND TAX BENEFITS FOR IMPROVED PERSONAL HEALTH COST MANAGEMENT", U.S. Publication Number: 20120185275 A1)in view of Liang (“CHARACTERISTIC-PATTERN ANALYSIS OF TEXT”, U.S. Publication Number: US 20180060302 A1),in view of Kaneda (“FORM SEARCH APPARATUS AND METHOD”, U.S. Patent Number: US 6970601 B1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Loghmani teaches,
A method for analyzing a claim made by a claimant, the method comprising: receiving claimant information, claim information, at least one claim document, and at least one policy document from a claim management system (CMS);
(Loghmani [0003] automated data analysis which can be useful for medical claim analysis
Loghmani [0052] letters received at the processing facility are sorted (7), scanned (8) and sent to a main server (9) where using optical character recognition and intelligent form-processing (9) the scanned image is converted to electronic records (10) that are stored in the subscriber records databases (11) for later retrieval.
Loghmani [0059] Each record may contain information about different services provided for the subscriber or products used during the course of a medical service encounter. Each data field may contain information such as date, subscriber's name, age, sex, weight, race, temperature and blood pressure at the time of service)
extracting at least one policy rule from the at least one policy document;
(Loghmani [0063] where all paper-based records (e.g., medical service encounter documents) are scanned and converted to electronic data... extracts medical and insurance information from the converted documents or electronic data and stores the extracted data in databases
Loghmani [0081] retrieving the latest health service policies and regulations for different health or medical insurance plans offered by various insurance companies or health benefit related information
Loghmani [0082] analyzes the content received from the health service organization's data server (14), and automatically creates or updates electronic health policy or plan rules
Loghmani [0076] interprets, converts, and correlates the new or updated records to the medical, health, or tax rules and policies applicable to the given subscriber ....These rules and policies are stored in the policies database)
determining at least one claim variable based on the at least one policy rule;
(Loghmani [0019] automating the determination of interrelationships between various data elements in a body of data
Loghmani [0089] can examine the data about a given medical invoice, or a series of medical invoices, for a given subscriber and compare the actual claimed data (such as claimed expenses...) with what the expected data… to determine whether the actual data varies from the expected data.
Loghmani [0068] uses a database of various insurance rules and regulations, as well as medical codes, to detect errors in billing or reimbursements
Loghmani [0006] One source of error or inconsistency is due to the improper codification or classification of particular medical diagnoses and procedures in the form of standardized “Codes”.
Loghmani [0009] inaccurate code assignments for medical conditions and services can result in inappropriate reimbursement for medical claims by insurance companies, as well as rejection or partial payment of medical claims.
Examiner notes the system uses “various insurance rules and regulations” “to determine whether the actual data” (“inaccurate code assignments”) “varies from the expected data” as “inaccurate code assignments for medical conditions and services can result in inappropriate reimbursement” )
identifying at least one claim document likely to have information relevant to the at least one claim variable;
(Loghmani [0089] for a given subscriber and compare the actual claimed data (such as claimed expenses, treatment provided, tests performed) with what the expected data would be using formulae
Loghmani [0090] specify the claims that have a high “variance score”
Loghmani [0113] retrieve and update subscriber's various health related records...health related records such as service encounter history, lab test results, doctor's reports, insurance explanation of benefit and medical billing documents... “My Rx” (148), e.g. to retrieve and update a subscriber's prescriptions)
extracting the relevant information from the at least one claim document …; determining a value for the at least one claim variable based on the extracted information;
(Loghmani [0089] examine the data about a given medical invoice, or a series of medical invoices, for a given subscriber and compare the actual claimed data (such as claimed expenses, treatment provided, tests performed) with what the expected data would be
Loghmani [0090] the system can identify data elements claimed on one or a series of medical invoices)
assessing if the claimant is entitled to the claim based on the determined value for the at least one claim variable; calculating a benefit due the claimant; and
(Loghmani [0068] correlates medical services rendered to a subscriber's insurance coverage plan to determine, for example, eligibility for benefits under the plan such as reimbursement for expenses for the services.
Loghmani [0111] Billed Amount for each service encounter.)
notifying the CMS of the claim assessment and calculated claim benefit,
(Loghmani [0111] Billed Amount for each service encounter.
Loghmani [0058] generates a response (21), and sends the response back through the Internet... is sent to the main server )
Loghmani does not teach using at least one natural language processing (NLP) technique; wherein the extraction of the relevant information comprises the following: segmenting the document; classifying each segment as either handwritten or machine-typed; processing each segment through an applicable text conversion model, and associating original coordinates in the document with each segment and joining the segments according to their original coordinates.
Liang teaches,
wherein the extraction of the relevant information comprises the following: segmenting the document;
(Liang [0111] text in the documents 518 can be tokenized into sentences. For example, the documents 518 can be parsed into individual unigrams (e.g., words) and delimiters such as periods)
using at least one natural language processing (NLP) technique
(Liang [0140] analysis module 240, can be configured to identify motifs expressed in the documents ...corresponding user suggestions (text corresponding to a suggestion motif)
Liang [0141] the analysis module 534 can be configured to identify actionable items 520, i.e., selected motifs found in user feedback or other free-form user text.
Liang [0200] The free-form text can include, e.g., feedback from a user in a natural language)
processing each segment through an applicable text conversion model, and
(Liang [0111] some implementations can use a word-level Lempel-Ziv-Welch (“LZW”) or other “dictionary-based” compression algorithm to build a compression dictionary of phrases (e.g., sequences of unigrams) from the tokenized documents)
associating original coordinates in the document with each segment and joining the segments according to their original coordinates.
(Liang [0234] a selected keyword can be located in a text segment 608 of a document 108, e.g., the first document 108 or the second document 108, to provide a keyword location
Liang [0282] locating a selected keyword in a text segment of the second document to provide a keyword location;
Liang [0003] computing device can arrange the respective actionable items for the first document and the second document of the plurality of documents in an order based at least in part on occurrences of the actionable items from the plurality of documents.)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the document segmentation teachings of Liang so that “documents 518 can be tokenized into sentences.” (Liang [0111]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. document segmentation) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “arrange the respective actionable items for the first document.” Liang [0003] )
Liang does not teach classifying each segment as either handwritten or machine-typed;
Kaneda teaches,
classifying each segment as either handwritten or machine-typed;
(Kaneda [Col 1, Lines 20-21] to process business forms such as cancelled cheques, insurance claims
Kaneda [Col 14, Lines 60-61] an experimentally determined value for distinguishing between printed characters and handwritten characters.)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the handwritten or machine-typed classification teachings of Kaneda so that “distinguishing between printed characters and handwritten characters.” (Kaneda [Col 14, Lines 60-61]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. handwritten or machine-typed classification) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “forms used … are automatically classified.” Kaneda [Abstract] )
Regarding Claim 2,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Loghmani teaches,
wherein the extraction of the at least one policy rule from the policy document comprises
(Loghmani [0063] extracts medical and insurance information from the converted documents or electronic data and stores the extracted data in databases
Loghmani [0076] interprets, converts, and correlates the new or updated records to the medical, health, or tax rules and policies applicable to the given subscriber ....These rules and policies are stored in the policies database)
policy document… and the received claim information;
(Loghmani [0035] data flow processes for periodic polling of data from online sites to update rules, regulation, and policy information about various insurance plans, health benefit packages,... policy information
Loghmani [0009] sources of data for electronic systems for insurance claims)
extracting at least one benefit condition; extracting at least one benefit
(Loghmani [0052] using optical character recognition and intelligent form-processing (9) the scanned image is converted to electronic records (10) that are stored in the subscriber records databases (11) for later retrieval
Loghmani [0068] system correlates medical services rendered to a subscriber's insurance coverage plan to determine, for example, eligibility for benefits under the plan such as reimbursement for expenses for the services... as well as medical codes, to detect errors in billing or reimbursements by medical service providers or insurance companies
Loghmani [0069] symptoms, the diagnosis, the services provided, the products used in the course of service delivery, the medication or course of treatment, the names of service providers, lab tests scheduled and performed, any lab results if available, and various billing related data.)
Loghmani does not teach the following steps: identifying applicable sections of the … document based on the content of the … document …;extracting at least one necessary data point from at least one of the identified sections;… from at least one of the identified sections; and…. based on at least one of the identified sections.
Liang teaches,
the following steps: identifying applicable sections of the … document based on the content of the … document …;extracting at least one necessary data point from at least one of the identified sections;… from at least one of the identified sections; and…. based on at least one of the identified sections.
(Liang [0072] document 300 includes various sections... document 300 includes a document number section 302 that includes an identifier
Liang [0003] determine, ...a respective actionable item based at least in part on a tag sentence associated with the respective document.
Liang [0109] phrase-extraction module 526, which can represent the phrase-extraction module 234, or another component of computing device 200, can be configured to filter documents 518 based on document metadata.)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the document segmentation teachings of Liang so that “documents 518 can be tokenized into sentences.” (Liang [0111]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. document segmentation) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “arrange the respective actionable items for the first document.” Liang [0003] )
Regarding Claim 3,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Loghmani teaches,
further comprising notifying the CMS when the value for the at least one claim variable is unable to be calculated or determined.
(Loghmani [0014] detect fraud and/or errors in diagnoses, billing and other medical service encounter information
Loghmani [0054] the system can perform medical insurance error and anomaly detection
Loghmani [0059] amount charged, amount discounted, amount paid by the patient.)
Regarding Claim 4,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Loghmani teaches,
wherein the extraction of the relevant information comprises converting a document to text.
(Loghmani [0052] letters received at the processing facility are sorted (7), scanned (8) and sent to a main server (9) where using optical character recognition and intelligent form-processing (9) the scanned image is converted to electronic records
Loghmani [0063] where all paper-based records (e.g., medical service encounter documents) are scanned and converted to electronic data.)
Regarding Claim 6,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Loghmani does not teach wherein a trained handwriting recognition model is used to convert handwritten text and an optical character recognition algorithm is used to convert machine-typed text.
Liang teaches,
wherein a trained … recognition model
(Liang [0046] a training engine
Liang [0071] text captured by optical character recognition (OCR))
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the document segmentation teachings of Liang so that “documents 518 can be tokenized into sentences.” (Liang [0111]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. document segmentation) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “arrange the respective actionable items for the first document.” Liang [0003] )
Liang does not teach handwriting recognition model is used to convert handwritten text and an optical character recognition algorithm is used to convert machine-typed text.
Kaneda teaches,
handwriting recognition model is used to convert handwritten text and an optical character recognition algorithm is used to convert machine-typed text.
(Kaneda [Col 14, Lines 60-61] an experimentally determined value for distinguishing between printed characters and handwritten characters.
Kaneda [Col 2, Lines 60-64] transforms the image data in the extracted block to character codes by using a character recognition method;)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the handwritten or machine-typed classification teachings of Kaneda so that “distinguishing between printed characters and handwritten characters.” (Kaneda [Col 14, Lines 60-61]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. handwritten or machine-typed classification) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “forms used … are automatically classified.” Kaneda [Abstract] )
Regarding Claim 8,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Loghmani does not teach wherein the extraction of the relevant information comprises calculating at least one quantifiable metric that is associated with the confidence level of the extracted information.
Liang teaches,
wherein the extraction of the relevant information comprises calculating at least one quantifiable metric that is associated with the confidence level of the extracted information.
(Liang [0133] the classifier provides a confidence value or other indication of the confidence of the class determination based on the feature vector....If the confidence value is below the predetermined threshold)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the document segmentation teachings of Liang so that “documents 518 can be tokenized into sentences.” (Liang [0111]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. document segmentation) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “arrange the respective actionable items for the first document.” Liang [0003] )
Regarding Claim 9,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Loghmani teaches,
wherein the extraction of the relevant information comprises automatically sending a notification requesting human intervention
(Loghmani [0077] determine if any error in billing...If any errors are detected, the error is analyzed to determine whether human intervention is required to handle it (50). If so, a ticket is created, and the error is added to a special queue for manual analysis (51).)
Loghmani does not teach when the does not teach quantifiable metric is below a threshold.
Liang teaches,
when the does not teach quantifiable metric is below a threshold.
(Liang [0133] “the classification module 530 is configured to compare the confidence value to a predetermined threshold. If the confidence value is below the predetermined threshold, the classification module 530 can transmit or present an indication of the particular text segment, e.g., to a domain expert.”)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the document segmentation teachings of Liang so that “documents 518 can be tokenized into sentences.” (Liang [0111]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. document segmentation) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “arrange the respective actionable items for the first document.” Liang [0003] )
Regarding Claim 10,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Loghmani teaches
claim document
(Loghmani [0003] automated data analysis which can be useful for medical claim analysis
Loghmani [0048] insurance invoices and related documents and letters.)
Loghmani does not teach wherein the at least one NLP technique used to extract the relevant information from the at least one …. document comprises keyword identification.
Liang teaches,
NLP technique
(Liang [0140] analysis module 240, can be configured to identify motifs expressed in the documents ...corresponding user suggestions (text corresponding to a suggestion motif)
Liang [0141] the analysis module 534 can be configured to identify actionable items 520, i.e., selected motifs found in user feedback or other free-form user text.
Liang [0200] The free-form text can include, e.g., feedback from a user in a natural language.)
wherein the at least one NLP technique used to extract the relevant information from the at least one NLP document comprises keyword identification.
(Liang [0234] a selected keyword can be located in a text segment 608 of a document 108, e.g., the first document 108 or the second document 108, to provide a keyword location
Liang [0282] locating a selected keyword in a text segment of the second document to provide a keyword location;)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the document segmentation teachings of Liang so that “documents 518 can be tokenized into sentences.” (Liang [0111]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. document segmentation) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “arrange the respective actionable items for the first document.” Liang [0003] )
Regarding Claim 11,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Loghmani teaches,
wherein the at least one … technique used to extract the relevant information from the at least one claim document comprises a question and answering system wherein the questions are generated based on a data point, and wherein the questions
(Loghmani [0073] uses pre-determined dialog-flows (e.g., question and answers used in the case of voice communication with standard speech recognition techniques commonly used by Interactive Voice Response systems) or pre-determined form-structures that can be converted to electronic data using standard Optical Character Recognition tools. ...uses a combination of speech-recognition and natural language intent-understanding)
Loghmani does not teach NLP technique ; include both positive and negative sentences.
Liang teaches,
NLP technique
(Liang [0140] analysis module 240, can be configured to identify motifs expressed in the documents ...corresponding user suggestions (text corresponding to a suggestion motif)
Liang [0141] the analysis module 534 can be configured to identify actionable items 520, i.e., selected motifs found in user feedback or other free-form user text.
Liang [0200] The free-form text can include, e.g., feedback from a user in a natural language.)
include both positive and negative sentences.
(Liang [0087] The Negation class 404 can correspond to text segments, e.g., words or phrases, that change the meaning of one or more other words or phrases to a substantially opposite meaning, e.g., “did not” changing “reinstalled the prior version” to “did not reinstall the prior version.” The negation class can include a SyntheticNegations subclass that uses verbs or nouns to change the meaning of a condition, incident, or action, e.g., phrases such as “absence of,” “declined,” “denied,” and the like.)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the document segmentation teachings of Liang so that “documents 518 can be tokenized into sentences.” (Liang [0111]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. document segmentation) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “arrange the respective actionable items for the first document.” Liang [0003] )
Regarding Claim 12,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 11 as described earlier.
Loghmani does not teach wherein the question and answering system is configured to perform the following steps: receiving a question; extracting keywords from the question; converting the extracted keywords to a vector; identifying relevant documents in a document store based on the extracted keywords; splitting the relevant documents into passages; vectorizing the passages; comparing the vectorized question keywords to the vectorized passages to determine the passages that are the most similar to the question; and using a language model to extract the answer from the most similar passage based on the question keywords.
Liang teaches,
wherein the question and answering system is configured to perform the following steps: receiving a question;
(Liang [0023] tagged text segments to determine motifs such as “problem,” “suggestion,” “question”)
extracting keywords from the question; converting the extracted keywords to a vector;
(Liang [0234] a selected keyword can be located in a text segment 608 of a document 108, e.g., the first document 108 or the second document 108, to provide a keyword location
Liang [0282] locating a selected keyword in a text segment of the second document to provide a keyword location;
Liang [0131] determined attribute(s) of the particular text segment can be arranged, e.g., as a “feature vector” expressing values of the attribute(s) in a predetermined order.
Liang [0023] tagged text segments to determine motifs such as “problem,” “suggestion,” “question”)
identifying relevant documents in a document store based on the extracted keywords;
(Liang [0215] the selected topic can correspond to a keyword, and block 1112 can include filtering out documents that do not include the keyword in respective document metadata, e.g., Title, Keywords, or Category metadata fields.)
splitting the relevant documents into passages; vectorizing the passages; comparing the vectorized question keywords to the vectorized passages to determine the passages that are the most similar to the question; and
(Liang [0003] can determine, for a first document and a second document of a plurality of documents, a respective actionable item based at least in part on a tag sentence associated with the respective document. The computing device can arrange the respective actionable items for the first document and the second document of the plurality of documents in an order
Liang [0131] determined attribute(s) of the particular text segment can be arranged, e.g., as a “feature vector” expressing values of the attribute(s) in a predetermined order.
Liang [0021] motifs can include, e.g., a user statement, suggestion, question
Liang [0023] Patterns of the classes can then be located in the tagged text segments to determine motifs such as...“question”,... a tagged text segment that matches a grammar pattern that is associated with a particular motif)
using a language model to extract the answer from the most similar passage based on the question keywords.
(Liang [0023] “In some examples, machine learning models can be built based on the tagged text segment to classify the input document into one or more of the motifs.”
Liang [0072] prompted the user to answer a survey question in addition to providing the user text in the document...The survey question asked had identification (ID) #42 in a survey question database, and the user's response to the survey question was “4”
Liang [0227] can include computing a similarity metric, e.g., the dot product of two of the respective feature vectors
Liang [0109] only documents having particular keywords)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the document segmentation teachings of Liang so that “documents 518 can be tokenized into sentences.” (Liang [0111]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. document segmentation) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “arrange the respective actionable items for the first document.” Liang [0003] )
Regarding Claim 13,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 12 as described earlier.
Loghmani does not teach wherein the vectorized question keywords is compared to the vectorized passages using a cosine similarity metric.
Liang teaches,
wherein the vectorized question keywords is compared to the vectorized passages using a cosine similarity metric.
(Liang [0234] a selected keyword can be located in a text segment
Liang [0227] Block 1124 can include computing a similarity metric, e.g., the dot product of two of the respective feature vectors
Examiner notes the geometric dot product of two vectors is equal to the product of their lengths multiplied by the cosine of the angle between them )
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the document segmentation teachings of Liang so that “documents 518 can be tokenized into sentences.” (Liang [0111]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. document segmentation) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “arrange the respective actionable items for the first document.” Liang [0003] )
Regarding Claim 15,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Loghmani teaches
wherein the at least one …. technique is determined based on the type of document.
(Loghmani [0066] Text To Speech, pre-recorded audio messages, and Speech Recognition
Loghmani [0073] pre-determined form-structures that can be converted to electronic data using standard Optical Character Recognition tools. In another embodiment of the present invention, the Voice and facsimile messaging server (33) uses a combination of speech-recognition and natural language intent-understanding (e.g., using standard third party tools) to interact with voice callers in a conversational manner when collecting the updates.)
Liang teaches,
NLP technique
(Liang [0140] analysis module 240, can be configured to identify motifs expressed in the documents ...corresponding user suggestions (text corresponding to a suggestion motif)
Liang [0141] the analysis module 534 can be configured to identify actionable items 520, i.e., selected motifs found in user feedback or other free-form user text.
Liang [0200] The free-form text can include, e.g., feedback from a user in a natural language.)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the natural language processing teachings of Liang where “analysis module 240, can be configured to identify motifs expressed in the documents.” (Liang [0140]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. natural language processing) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “identify actionable items.” Liang [0141] )
Regarding Claim 16,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 15 as described earlier.
Loghmani does not teach wherein the type of document is determined from document metadata.
Liang teaches,
wherein the type of document is determined from document metadata.
(Liang [0027] In the context of an electronic document, the term can encompass the combination of human-language words along with metadata, e.g., as in the case of a word processing document or spreadsheet document.)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the document segmentation teachings of Liang so that “documents 518 can be tokenized into sentences.” (Liang [0111]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. document segmentation) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “arrange the respective actionable items for the first document.” Liang [0003] )
Regarding Claim 17,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 16 as described earlier.
Loghmani teaches,
wherein each document can be classified as one of: a medical document, a financial document, and a miscellaneous document.
(Loghmani [0063] automated medical billing analysis system extracts medical and insurance information from the converted documents
Loghmani [0003] machine learning to improve analyses (e.g., automated analysis of medical bills and health insurance documents).
Loghmani [0048] medical invoices and insurance invoices and related documents and letters
Loghmani [0111] documents icon for a given encounter and view the list and contents of various documents related to an encounter, such as physician invoices, insurance explanation of benefits, lab results, and doctor's reports.)
Regarding Claim 18,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Loghmani teaches,
wherein extracting the relevant information comprises consolidating multiple extraction results from separate documents related to a claim to a claim level extraction result.
(Loghmani [Abstract] automatically identify interrelationships between various data fields.... (e.g., automated analysis of medical bills and health insurance documents).
Loghmani [0087] various combinations of input and output data fields are passed through multiple regression engines
Loghmani [0010] reimbursement amount, and final payable amount. This can get even more confusing when subscribers are covered by multiple insurers (a primary and a secondary) and need to coordinate payments
Loghmani [0059] amount charged, amount discounted, amount paid by the patient, primary/secondary/tertiary insurance companies billed)
Regarding Claim 20,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Loghmani does not teach wherein extracting the relevant information comprises using proximity information to extract the relevant information.
Liang teaches,
wherein extracting the relevant information comprises using proximity information to extract the relevant information.
(Liang [0143] grammar patterns can express relationships between classes in a tag sentence such as proximity or order.)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the document segmentation teachings of Liang so that “documents 518 can be tokenized into sentences.” (Liang [0111]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. document segmentation) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “arrange the respective actionable items for the first document.” Liang [0003] )
Regarding Claim 22,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Loghmani teaches,
further comprising re-determining the value for the at least one claim variable based on at least one new item of claim information.
(Loghmani [0032] with respect to newly received or updated data about a subscriber's medical or insurance services)
Regarding Claim 23,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Loghmani does not teach wherein determining the value comprises using both structured and unstructured data.
Liang teaches,
wherein determining the value comprises using both structured and unstructured data.
(Liang [0028] Documents can also include unstructured data, such as free-form text produced by humans communicating about the problem, or semi-structured data
Liang [0035] documents 108 can include structured data populated by computing devices 102 or 104, unstructured data such as free-form user text written by individual users)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the document segmentation teachings of Liang so that “documents 518 can be tokenized into sentences.” (Liang [0111]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. document segmentation) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “arrange the respective actionable items for the first document.” Liang [0003] )
Claim 24 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 1.
Claim 25 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 1.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda in view of Co (“GENERATING STRUCTURED TEXT CONTENT USING SPEECH RECOGNITION MODELS”, U.S. Publication Number: US 20180150605 A1).
Regarding Claim 14,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 12 as described earlier.
Loghmani does not teach wherein the language model comprises BERT, ALBERT, ELECTRA, RoBERTa, XLNet, bio-BERT, or a medical language model.
Co teaches,
wherein the language model comprises BERT, ALBERT, ELECTRA, RoBERTa, XLNet, bio-BERT, or a medical language model.
(Co [0007] In some implementations the domain-specific language model comprises a medical language model that has been trained using medical-specific training data.)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the medical language model teachings of Co so that “domain-specific language model comprises a medical language model.” (Co [0007]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. medical language model) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “generate structured text content that is derived from the transcription of the input acoustic sequence.” Co [Abstract] )
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda in view of Huff (“AUTOMATIC INSURANCE DATA EXTRACTION AND QUOTE GENERATING SYSTEM AND METHODS THEREFOR”, U.S. Publication Number: US 20020194033 A1).
Regarding Claim 19,
Loghmani, Liang, and Kaneda teach the insurance claim benefit determination of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Loghmani does not teach where extracting the relevant information comprises associating the extracted information with a date, so that the extraction result is valid for a specific dated period.
Huff teaches,
where extracting the relevant information comprises associating the extracted information with a date, so that the extraction result is valid for a specific dated period.
(Huff [0001] expiration date of insurance
Huff [Claim 14] wherein the extracting step includes identifying insurance policies that are scheduled to expire within a specified time period and retrieving the insurance profiles associated with the identified insurance policies.
Huff [0044] the preferred period is ninety (90) days from the date of the query.)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insurance claim benefit determination of Loghmani to incorporate the result data expiration teachings of Huff for an “expiration date of insurance.” (Huff [0001]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. result data expiration) to a known concept (i.e. insurance claim benefit determination) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “preferred period is ninety (90) days from the date of the query” Huff [0044] )
Response to Remarks
Applicant's arguments filed on August 19, 2025, have been fully considered and Examiner’s remarks to Applicant’s amendments follow.
Response Remarks on Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The Applicant states:
“Applicant respectfully submits that the instant claims are not directed to a method of organizing human activity. Any judicial exception recited in the claims (which Applicant does not admit) is integrated into a practical application. As noted in the prior response, “segmenting the document,” “classifying each segment as either handwritten or machine-typed,” “processing each segment through an applicable text conversion model,” and “associating original coordinates in the document with each segment and joining the segments according to their original coordinates” all identify a practical application of any abstract idea that may be recited in the claims."
Examiner responds:
Examiner maintains the limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. Specific instances include instructing to “analyzing a claim made by a claimant”, “determining a value for the at least one claim variable”, “assessing if the claimant is entitled to the claim”, and “calculating a benefit due the claimant” recite a fundamental economic principles or practice and/or commercial or legal interactions. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic, commercial, or financial action, principle, or practice then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Examiner views “segmenting the document,” “classifying each segment as either handwritten or machine-typed,” “processing each segment through an applicable text conversion model,” and “associating original coordinates in the document with each segment and joining the segments according to their original coordinates” as the gathering, sharing, and manipulation of data which expresses an Abstract Idea [Intellectual Ventures I v. Capital One Fin. Corp., 850 F.3d 1332, 121 USPQ2d 1940 (Fed. Cir. 2017) “collecting, displaying, and manipulating data” was considered part of the abstract idea], and Selecting A Particular Data Source or Type Of Data To Be Manipulated [Selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016)]
The Applicant states:
“Applicant's claims are distinguished from the claims in Intellectual Ventures I by the incorporation of "specific steps" and "details as to how the computer perform[s]" the alleged abstract idea, e.g., segmenting the document, classifying each segment as either handwritten or machine-typed, etc. Applicant's claims are not results-oriented like the claims in Intellectual Ventures I; they provide specific steps that accomplish the desired result."
Examiner responds:
Examiner asserts the “specific steps” of the Applicant’s invention are abstract ideas and not additional elements (technical components); therefore, an abstract idea cannot be used to integrate another abstract idea into a practical application.
Even if the “specific steps” were considered additional elements, the components and ordering operate as expected. In the absence of unexpected results, changes or alteration of sequence do not make for a patentable invention, see Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) ; In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930)
Therefore, the rejection under 35 USC § 101 remains.
Response Remarks on Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration of newly amended claims, a new grounds of rejection is made under 35 USC § 103.
Therefore, the rejection under 35 USC § 103 remains.
Prior Art Cited But Not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nigretto (“NATURAL LANGUAGE PROCESSING WITHOUT MACHINE LEARNING”, Jan 19, 2021) that states, “In 1950 already, Alan Turing proposed its Turing test, which could evaluate a machine’s intelligence by asking it to generate texts. The Turing test would be passed if the machine could generate texts indistinguishable from a text generated by an actual human. Despite the quite old roots of Natural Language Processing, the field experienced a sudden peak of interest… Today’s paper is about a statistical model for paraphrasing, at an age when computing power and huge datasets were far from present capacities…By gathering a lot of newspapers and by spotting articles about the same subject (using, for example, the date and the title), we may be able to create a nice dataset for paraphrases identifications.”
DiRienzo (“SYSTEMS TO ASSIST IN THE CREATION, TRANSMISSION, AND PROCESSING OF HEALTH INSURANCE CLAIMS”, U.S. Publication Number: 20150088560 A1) proposes to assist in the creation, transmission, and processing of health insurance claims. Computer-implemented methods that enable the receiving of, storing of, and granting access to data in such systems.
Parbery (“DIGITAL IMAGE ANALYSIS AND CLASSIFICATION”, U.S. Publication Number: 20160162639 A1) proposes receiving data comprising digital images associated with a healthcare provider. Each digital image may comprise an image of at least a portion of one or more physical documents associated with the healthcare provider. The computing platform may identify a portion of the digital images corresponding to financial instruments, a portion of the digital images corresponding to explanation-of-benefits documents, and/or a portion of the digital images corresponding to other documents and may classify (e.g., in accordance with a set of classification rules associated with the healthcare provider) each digital image of the portion corresponding to the other documents into a category (e.g., a category specified by the set of classification rules associated with the healthcare provider).
Conclusion
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/C.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3695
/CHRISTINE M Tran/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3695