DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are pending. Claims 8-16 remain withdrawn.
In view of the amendment, filed 01/15/2026, the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Vermeer in view of Jamar are withdrawn from the previous Office Action mailed 11/26/2025. New grounds of rejection are made in response to claim amendments.
Claim Interpretation
Claim interpretation is consistent with the prior Office Actions.
Claim limitations being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) are:
In claims 1 and 17, a “peeling device,” which recites the generic placeholder “device” modified by functional language “peeling” without modification by sufficient structure for performing the recited function. The specification provides corresponding structure for a peeling device 64 including one or more rollers 66 ([0069], Figs. 1-5, 7-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vermeer et al., US 20120313294 A1 (of record), in view of Miller, US 20190389681 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Vermeer discloses an additive manufacturing apparatus (system for layer-by-layer production of an object, Abstract, Fig. 20) comprising:
A support plate (Figs. 20-21, see above) supporting a window (Figs. 20-21, see above, window defined by region through which light is projected);
A stage (plate 15, Fig. 20) configured to hold a component formed of one or more cured layers of a resin (for holding an object being built, [0191]; from layers of cured build material 10, [0201]);
An actuator assembly (Fig. 20, movable stage 14, see lateral/vertical/rotational actuators coupled to plate 15) configured to change a relative position of the stage relative to the support plate (Fig. 20, [0191]);
A radiant energy device (exposure unit 9, Figs. 20-21) positioned opposite to the stage (Fig. 20) such that it is operable to generate and project radiant energy in a pattern (for exposing a portion of the layer to radiation so that it solidifies, [0201]); and
A peeling device (annotated in Fig. 21 above, see roller 19b-2 to left of exposure unit 9 in Fig. 23A above, see also the roller in the same position in Fig. 21 but labeled as 19c-2) positioned downstream of the window (Figs. 20-21, positioned downstream of the window based on processing/building direction of Figs. 23A-23F; note that the system practices bidirectional movement, [0194]), wherein the actuator assembly is configured to move the stage over the peeling device in an x-axis direction ([0191], Fig. 20, see arrows indicating movement directions). Vermeer further discloses a resin support (foil 6, Fig. 20, [0192]) capable of lateral movement (Figs. 20-21, [0192]) and that moves over the peeling device in an x-axis direction (foil 6 is moved over roller 19b-2 in x-axis direction, Figs. 20-21, 23, see also below), and the peeling device is configured to peel the one or more layers of cured resin away from the resin support (see peeling in Fig. 23G below).
Regarding the actuator assembly being configured to maintain a relative position between the stage and the resin support as the stage simultaneously moves with the resin support over the peeling device in the x-axis direction, the actuator assembly is configured to move the stage in the x-axis direction (capable of moving stage 15 in x-direction, see Fig. 20, [0191]) and to move the stage relative to the resin support and the peeling device (Fig. 20, [0191]). A relative position between the stage and the resin support is maintained as the resin support is moved over the peeling device in the x-axis direction at least where the object on the stage is still attached to the resin support and/or directly above it (see Figs. 23F-23H), where the peeling is accomplished by the angle change of the resin support after the peeling roller, in line with the present invention. As such, the apparatus includes all the structural limitations of the claimed assembly and absent any indication otherwise one of ordinary skill in the art would have found the actuator assembly structurally capable of performing the movement and maintaining the relative position as the resin support was moved over the peeling device in the x-axis direction. A manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus from the prior art, as apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. See MPEP 2114 (II).
Vermeer discloses the apparatus comprises clamps holding the foil at opposite ends of the table (501a, 501b, Fig. 20, [0192]) and teaches that another mechanism may be provided to keep the length of the foil under a predefined/optimum tension ([0157]). Vermeer does not disclose a resin support interaction device positioned downstream of the window and the peeling device, the resin support interaction device positioned below the support plate in a Z-axis direction and including one or more pneumatic actuation zones configured to selectively interact with the resin support/foil by applying a negative pressure on the resin support.
In the analogous art of layered part fabrication including the position control of a film material by pneumatic actuation (Abstract, [0001], [0030]), Miller discloses a suction table arrangement that ensures a transfer film is appropriately under tension by the use of vacuum ports selectively acting on the film as it is drawn across the table ([0004]-[0005], [0031], [0036]-[0038], Figs. 1-2). Miller teaches that the suction arrangement ensures tension and removable adherence of the film to the support table and thereby prevents wrinkle formation in the transfer film as it is laid out over the surface ([0004], [0037]-[0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the table arrangement of Vermeer to incorporate a suction table arrangement such that the apparatus included a resin support interaction device positioned downstream of the window and the peeling device, the resin support interaction device positioned below the support plate in a Z-axis direction and including one or more pneumatic actuation zones configured to selectively interact with the resin support by applying a negative pressure on the resin support, in order to provide an arrangement to maintain an optimum level of tension along the length of the film and thereby avoid problems such as wrinkle formation, as desired by Vermeer and taught by Miller.
Regarding claim 2, modified Vermeer discloses the apparatus of claim 1 and Vermeer further discloses the actuator assembly includes a lateral actuator configured to move the stage in the x-axis direction ([0191], Fig. 20, see above) and a vertical actuator configured to move the stage in a z-axis direction ([0191], Fig. 20, see above).
Regarding claim 5, modified Vermeer discloses the apparatus of claim 2 and Vermeer further discloses the lateral actuator is configured to move the stage from a position upstream of the peeling device to a position in which at least a portion of the stage is downstream of the peeling device (Fig. 20, [0191]). Fig. 20 shows the stage overlapping the peeling device below, such that it is positioned primarily “upstream” of the peeling device, over the exposure area, with a portion of the stage “downstream” of the peeling device. Fig. 20 additionally shows the further movement capability of the stage 15 in the x-axis direction via the actuator assembly as well as the x-axis movement of the peeling device such that the apparatus could have been operated so the stage was positioned fully or partially upstream or downstream relative to the peeling device with no structural change to the device.
Regarding claim 6, modified Vermeer discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Vermeer further discloses a first portion of the resin support is upstream of the peeling device (see Fig. 23G below, portion of foil 6 positioned over exposure unit 9 being upstream of the referenced peeling roller in the current direction) and is configured to translate along a first axis that is generally parallel to the x-axis (configured to translate horizontally in this region, Figs. 20-21 and Fig. 23G below) and a second portion of the resin support is downstream of the peeling device (see Fig. 23G below, portion of foil 6 from roller 19b-2 to roller 19b-1, as indicated in Fig. 23A, being downstream of peeling device) and is configured to translate along a second axis that is offset from the first axis by a separation angle (see Fig. 23G below, angle can also be seen in Fig. 21).
Regarding claim 17, Vermeer discloses an additive manufacturing apparatus (system for layer-by-layer production of an object, Abstract, Fig. 20) comprising:
A support plate (Figs. 20-21, see above annotated figures provided for claim 1) defining a window (Figs. 20-21, see above, window defined by region through which light is projected);
A stage (plate 15, Fig. 20) configured to hold a component formed of one or more cured layers of a resin (for holding an object being built, [0191]; from layers of cured build material 10, [0201]);
A radiant energy device (exposure unit 9, Figs. 20-21) positioned opposite to the stage (Fig. 20) such that it is operable to generate and project radiant energy in a pattern (for exposing a portion of the layer to radiation so that it solidifies, [0201]);
A peeling device (annotated in Fig. 21 above, see roller 19b-2 to left of exposure unit 9 in Figs. 23A, see also the roller in the same position in Fig. 21 labeled as 19c-2) positioned downstream of the window (Figs. 20-21, positioned downstream of the window based on processing/building direction of Figs. 23A-23F; note also that the system practices bidirectional movement, [0194]), wherein the stage is configured to move over the peeling device in an x-axis direction ([0191], Fig. 20, see arrows indicating movement directions); and
An actuator assembly ([0191], Fig. 20, movable stage 14, see lateral/vertical/rotational actuators coupled to plate 15) configured to move an upstream end portion of the component downstream of the peeling device in the X-axis direction generally parallel to the support plate and in a Y-direction that is generally perpendicular to the x-axis direction (Fig. 20, [0191]). The actuator assembly of Vermeer was capable of (configured to) position an upstream end portion of a given component on the stage downstream of the peeling device (i.e., to move the stage downstream or horizontally along the processing direction, Fig. 20), and the configuration to move the upstream end portion downstream of the peeling device in the X- and Y-axis directions requires only the further capability of the actuator assembly to move in X- and Y-axis directions relative to the underlying area, a capability that the actuator assembly also possessed ([0191], Fig. 20, see x- and y-axis movement arrows).
Vermeer further discloses a resin support (foil 6, Figs. 20-21) capable of lateral movement (Figs. 20-21, [0192]) and that moves over the peeling device in an x-axis direction (foil 6 moves over rollers in x-axis direction, Figs. 20-21, 23), and the peeling device is configured to peel the one or more layers of cured resin away from the resin support (see peeling in Fig. 23G below). Regarding the stage being configured to move simultaneously with the resin support over the peeling device in the x-axis direction, both the resin support (see above) and the stage (Fig. 20, [0191]) were configured to move in the x-axis direction. A relative position between the stage and the resin support is maintained as the resin support is moved over the peeling device in the x-axis direction at least where the object on the stage is still attached to the resin support and/or directly above it (see Figs. 23F-23H), where the peeling is accomplished by the angle change of the resin support after the peeling roller, in line with the present invention. As such, the apparatus includes all the structural limitations of the claimed assembly and absent any indication otherwise one of ordinary skill would have found the stage capable of being moved at the same time as the resin support. A manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus from the prior art, as apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. See MPEP 2114 (II).
Vermeer discloses the apparatus comprises clamps holding the foil at opposite ends of the table (501a, 501b, Fig. 20, [0192]) and teaches that another mechanism may be provided to keep the length of the foil under a predefined/optimum tension ([0157]). Vermeer does not disclose a resin support interaction device as claimed.
In the analogous art of layered part fabrication including the position control of a film material by pneumatic actuation (Abstract, [0001], [0030]), Miller discloses a suction table arrangement that ensures a transfer film is appropriately under tension by the use of vacuum ports selectively acting on the film as it is drawn across the table ([0004]-[0005], [0031], [0036]-[0038], Figs. 1-2). Miller teaches that the suction arrangement ensures tension and removable adherence of the film to the support table and thereby prevents wrinkle formation in the transfer film as it is laid out over the surface ([0004], [0037]-[0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the table arrangement of Vermeer to incorporate a suction table arrangement such that the apparatus included a resin support interaction device positioned downstream of the window and the peeling device, the resin support interaction device positioned below the support plate in a Z-axis direction and including one or more pneumatic actuation zones configured to selectively interact with the resin support by applying a negative pressure on the resin support, in order to provide an arrangement to maintain an optimum level of tension along the length of the film and thereby avoid film problems such as wrinkle formation, as desired by Vermeer and taught by Miller.
Regarding claim 18, modified Vermeer discloses the apparatus of claim 17. Vermeer further discloses the limitations of claim 18 as set forth above for claim 6.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vermeer et al., US 20120313294 A1, in view of Miller, US 20190389681 A1, as applied to claims 2 and 17 above, and further in view of Kuijpers et al., US 20180200948 A1 (of record).
Regarding claim 3, modified Vermeer discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Vermeer further discloses a feed roll ([0192], Fig. 20-21, see roll 503) containing the resin support (foil 6) but does not disclose a drive system configured to control movement of the resin support.
In the analogous art, Kuijpers discloses an additive manufacturing apparatus utilizing a foil substrate 2 as a resin support (Abstract), where the foil substrate 2 is provided on a source roll 22 including actuators/motors for controllably moving the foil substrate 2 from the source roll 22 (Fig. 5, [0067]). Kuijpers teaches a controlled arrangement allows for automation, ensures a sufficient length of the foil substrate based on the specific print job, and is advantageous for the efficient use of resources ([0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify a drive system configured to control movement of the resin support in the Vermeer apparatus in order to improve the mechanism for providing new lengths of foil with a known means for controllably, accurately, and efficiently delivering and moving the resin support for dispensing foil from the source roll, as taught by Kuijpers.
Regarding claim 4, modified Vermeer discloses the apparatus of claim 3. The apparatus of the combination features the drive system configured to move the resin support, as set forth above. The resin support of Vermeer is moved along the support plate such that the build material is exposed through the window during the build process (Vermeer, Figs. 20-21) and the apparatus of Vermeer is capable of performing movement of the stage (Vermeer, Fig. 20, [0191]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would further conclude that the controllable drive system of the combination was capable of performing movement of the resin support as directed, and since the movement structures for the resin support and the stage are distinct, such that the operation of one is not mutually exclusive with operation of the other, then the drive system was configured to move the resin support along the support plate simultaneously with the movement of the stage.
Regarding claim 19, modified Vermeer discloses the apparatus of claim 17. In the same embodiment, Vermeer does not explicitly disclose a computing system nor its claimed configuration. However, Vermeer discloses other embodiments of the apparatus include a computing system for controlling various operations of the system components (controller that controls motion and operation of energy source, [0073], [0125], controlling various method steps, [0096]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the apparatus of the applied embodiment included a computing system in order to automatically control the movement and operation of the components of the system, as taught by Vermeer. Since Vermeer teaches a control system being used to control the performance of the disclosed methods, and Vermeer discloses the applied embodiment of Fig. 20 includes the actuator assembly configured to move the plate in all directions ([0191]), then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to operably couple the computing system with the actuator assembly yielding the predictable result of ensuring its intended movements, including translation of the stage along the support plate as shown in Fig. 20, could be automatically controlled.
Vermeer is silent as to a drive system configured to control movement of the resin support and the computing system being also coupled to the drive system.
In the analogous art, Kuijpers teaches a drive system configured to control movement of the resin support, as set forth above for claim 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify a drive system configured to control movement of the resin support in the apparatus of Vermeer in order to improve the mechanism for providing new lengths of foil by providing a known means for controllably, accurately, and efficiently delivering and moving the resin support for dispensing foil from the source roll, as taught by Kuijpers.
Since Vermeer as set forth above includes a computing system controlling positioning and operation of the actuator assembly it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure the computing system was also coupled with the drive system of the combination in order to utilize the existing control system for automating the controlled movements and roll dispensing to achieve the benefits taught by Kuijpers.
Regarding claim 20, modified Vermeer discloses the apparatus of claim 19. The combination as set forth did not address a rotary encoder or the associated configurations.
Kuijpers further discloses the provision of an encoder 21b coupled with the rotating source roll 22 providing the similar resin support (foil substrate 2) and connected to the drive system and control unit 21 to achieve the described control of the material feeding and foil positioning (Fig. 5, [0067]-[0068]). Kuijpers further discloses positioning a stage 9 relative to the moving resin support 2 ([0028]-[0029], Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify the apparatus of the combination included a rotary encoder operably coupled with the resin support, the rotary encoder configured to provide information related to movement of the resin support to the computing system, in order to achieve the efficiency benefits taught by Kuijpers as set forth above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further ensure the computing system of the combination, already coupled with the actuator assembly and the drive system, was configured to cause a simultaneous movement of the stage and the resin support based on the information from the rotary encoder, e.g., in order to move the stage to its next working position while a new length of foil is dispensed, as shown by Kuijpers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 7-10, filed 01/15/2026, with respect to claim amendments and the rejections of claims 1 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Vermeer in view of Jamar have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Vermeer in view of Miller.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR 102255247 B1, Sohn et al. disclose a relevant peeling arrangement for a 3D printer (e.g., Figs. 5-6). US 20180117790 A1, Yun discloses a relevant 3D printer including an inclined plane 36 for separation of hardened material and pressure reducing holes 35.
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754