Current status of 17/837,224
The rejections of record have been withdrawn below.
The Markush Search has not been extended. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 11-15, 17-18, and 21-22 read on the elected species.
Priority
This application claims priority to US. Provisional application 63/209,054, filed 06/10/2021.
The instant claims find support from the provisional application. Therefore, the effective filing date is 06/10/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ claim amendments and Remarks of 9/9/2025 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed or modified below is herein withdrawn.
In regard to the 102 rejection, this rejection is withdrawn. Applicants amend claims 1-3 so that the OXTR chaperone is administered over 6 hours.
Response to Amendments
Claim interpretation
Examiner has further considered the instant claims. The instant compounds are known in the prior art (for example, L371,257 is known as a OXTR antagonist; KUCZYNSKI claim 6). The only active step in the instant base claims is administering the OXTR chaperone to a subject. Even though the methods of increasing the display of oxytocin receptor on a plasma member, increasing oxytocin sensitivity, or increasing the efficacy of oxytocin were not previously appreciated, the instant claims are not novel. Every time that someone administered, for example, L371,257 inherently anticipated the instant claims. See Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. v. Ben Venue Laboratories, Inc., 246 F.3d 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2001) which emphasized that “[n]ewly discovered results of known processes directed to the same purpose are not patentable because such results are inherent.”
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 21 has a comma instead of a period after the claim number. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 11-15, 17-18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peñagarikano (Peñagarikano et al., “Exogenous and evoked oxytocin restores social behavior in the Cntnap2 mouse model of autism”, Science Translational Medicine, January 21, 2015, previously cited) as evidenced by Stavropoulos (Stavropoulos et al., “Research Review: Social motivation and oxytocin in autism – implications for joint attention development and intervention”, J Chil Psychol Psychiatry, June 1, 2014, previously cited) in view of KUCZYNSKI (WO 2006121362, previously cited) and in view of LOFTSSON (Thorsteinn Loftsson, “Chapter 5- Pharmacologic response and Drug Dosage Adjustments”, A Primer for Pharmaceutical Scientists”, 2015).
Peñagarikano teaches administering L371,257 and oxytocin (OXT) to a subject (Cntnap2 mouse model of autism) (page 3 and Figure 1D).
Stavropoulos is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that children with autism had lower oxytocin levels than controls (neurotypical peers) as well as children with ASD with higher oxytocin levels were more impaired in social and linguistic development which is in line with social motivation hypothesis (Evidence for deficient/different oxytocin levels in ASD).
The Cntnap2 mouse model of autism is a subject which has oxytocin insensitivity (subject of instant claim 1 and 3, and suspected of having autism of claim 18). Peñagarikano (page 3 and Figure 1D) inherently teaches the methods of 1-3, 5-6, and 11-15, and 21-22.
Peñagarikano teaches administering L371,257 and oxytocin (OXT) to a subject (Cntnap2 mouse model of autism) (page 3 and Figure 1D). This teaches the subpopulations of claims 17-18.
While Peñagarikano teaches methods of administering L371,257 and oxytocin, Peñagarikano does not teach administering over any amount of time.
KUCZYNSKI teaches antagonists of oxytocin are administered enterally or parenterally in the 24h dose ranging from about 0,01 mg up to about 10g (page 2).
KUCZYNSKI teaches the elected species of OXTR chaperone of claim 6, L371,257 (claim 6 on page 15). This teaches claim 5 (OXTR antagonist) and claim 6 (L371,257).
KUCZYNSKI teaches administering this compound to humans (page 2).
KUCZYNSKI does not teach administering oxytocin.
LOFTSSON teaches that dosage regimens are based on average pharmacokinetic parameters (page 120). LOFTSSON also teaches that these parameters may vary with patients’ gender, age, weight, and disease state (page 120). Furthermore, dosage adjustment is known (examples 5.1-5.4 on pages 120-124).
The artisan would have been motivated and expected to use the known dosage of L371,257. While Peñagarikano does not teach administering L371,257 over an amount of time, KUCZYNSKI teaches antagonists of oxytocin (including L371,257 (claim 6 on page 15) are administered enterally or parenterally in the 24h dose ranging from about 0.01 mg up to about 10g (page 2). This teaches the time of the doses (over more than 6 hours) for claims 1-3.
Additionally, the artisan would have been motivated to optimize the times of the dosages (i.e. scheduling). It would be obvious to optimize the dosing regimen to maintain a therapeutic window and adjust for the impacts of disease state, age, weight, etc. (LOFTSSON pages 120-124). One would be motivated to adjust the regimen to maintain the therapeutic window, and would have a reasonable expectation for success in doing so, because this is something that is routinely practiced in the pharmaceutical arts. See MPEP 2144.05(II)A. Nothing in the specification or record appears to indicate the dosing regimen claimed is critical. Thus, the artisan would be motivated and expected to optimize the scheduling of the OXTR chaperone and oxytocin.
This teaches claims 1-3.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed as written.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625