DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 08/08/2025 has been received and considered by the examiner. Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 were amended, and all uncancelled claims remain pending.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, and 14-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 15-17 continue to be interpreted under U.S.C. 112(f), as noted previously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, and 15, as well as their dependent claims 2-3, 7, 9-10, 14, and 16-17, are rejected under U.S.C. 112(b) because of the claim limitation requiring “the packets not intended to be relayed through the first computing device”. It is unclear how or why the packets can be “not intended to be relayed” when the remainder of the independent claims after this limitation discusses relaying those same packets. Furthermore, it is unclear how a packet can have “intent” – it is not obvious if this intent is inherent to the packet itself, to the sending device, the relay device, or some other source. Therefore, these claims are properly rejected under U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 20220295544 A1, hereinafter “Wei”) in view of Liu et al. (US 20170127344 A1, hereinafter “Liu”).
As to Claim 1:
Wei describes a method for setting up a UE as a relay node to act as an intermediary between a base station and a destination UE.
Specifically, Wei teaches:
At a first computing device: determining that a second and third computing devices are within a wireless communication range of the first computing device based upon one or more wireless messages exchanged over a first wireless protocol
(“In some examples, the relay node may transmit a relay reference signal (e.g., a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)) or a synchronization signal not on the sync raster) to the remote UE for relay discovery.... In some cases, a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 (e.g., using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol).... In the control plane, the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105” (Wei, 0064, 0074, 0088).
Here, “the relay node” which can be one of the “other UEs 115” maps to “a first computing device”,
“for relay discovery” maps to “determining ... within a wireless communication range”,
“the remote UE” and/or some of the “other UEs 115” map to “a second and third computing devices”,
“a relay reference signal” maps to “one or more wireless messages”,
“a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol” maps to “over a first wireless protocol”, and
“a relay reference signal” sent “using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol” maps to “based upon one or more wireless messages exchanged over a first wireless protocol”).
Responsive to determining that the second and third computing devices are within the wireless communication range of the first computing device
(“The method may include monitoring a relay reference signal from a relay node, determining a signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmitting, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining.... Base station 105-c may also communicate with relay node 105-d and may perform relay communications with one or more of UE 115-b and IE 115-c via relay node 105-d” (Wei, 0023, 0123).
Here, “based on the determining” maps to “responsive to determining”,
“UE 115-b” maps to “the second ... computing device”,
“IE 115-c” maps to “the third computing device”,
“a signal strength of the relay reference signal” for “one or more of UE 115-b and IE 115-c” maps to “the second and third computing devices are within the wireless communication range” because here, signal strength is measured to determine if these devices are within wireless communication range, and
“relay node 105-d” maps to “the first communication device”).
Relaying, over the first wireless protocol, specific ... packets addressed to either the second or third computing devices to the second or third computing devices, respectively, upon request by the second or third computing devices ... for relay of those specific ... packets
(“An apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described.... instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to monitor a relay reference signal from a relay node, determine a signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmit, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining.... Some examples of the method ... include ... receiving, based on the monitoring, downlink relay transmissions from the relay node ... In some cases, a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 (e.g., using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol).” (Wei, 0024, 0034, 0064).
Here, “relay transmissions” maps to “relaying”,
“using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol” maps to “over the first wireless protocol”,
“downlink relay transmissions” maps to “specific ... packets addressed to either the second or third computing devices” because the fact that these transmissions are “downlink” demonstrates that they are addressed to either the “second or third computing devices” which are both UEs,
“receiving ... relay transmissions” at “a UE” maps to “relaying ... to the second or third computing devices, respectively”,
“a UE” configured to “transmit ... a downlink relay request” maps to “upon request by the second or third computing devices for relay”, and
“downlink relay transmissions” maps to “specific ... packets”).
Determining that the second computing device is no longer within the wireless communication range of the first computing device
(“Code for wireless communications at a UE is described. The code may include instructions executable by a processor to monitor a relay reference signal from a relay node, determine a signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmit, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining” (Wei, 0026).
Here, “a UE” maps to “the second computing device”,
“a relay node” maps to “the first computing device”, and
“determining a signal strength of the relay reference signal” maps to “determining that the second computing device is no longer within the wireless communication range of the first computing device” because the purpose of the signal strength measurement is to determine if the first device is in range of another device).
Receiving, a second wireless broadcast transmission addressed to the second computing device over the second wireless protocol, the second wireless broadcast transmission comprising at least one second packet
(“Instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to monitor a relay reference signal from a relay node, determine a signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmit, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining ... The Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105 or core network 130 supporting radio bearers for user plane data.... UEs 115 and base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully ... The transceiver 2020 may also include a modem to modulate the packets and provide the modulated packets to the antennas for transmission, and to demodulate packets received from the antennas” (Wei, 0034, 0088, 0213).
Here, “received” maps to “receiving”,
“retransmissions” maps to “a second wireless broadcast transmission”,
“downlink relay” maps to “addressed to the second computing device”,
“Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol” maps to “the second wireless protocol”,
“retransmissions of data” maps to “the second wireless broadcast transmission”,
“packets received” maps to “transmission comprising at least one second packet”).
Not relaying the packet to the second computing device over the first wireless protocol based upon the second computing device being determined to not being within the wireless communication range of the first computing device
(“An apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described.... instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to monitor a relay reference signal from a relay node, determine a signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmit, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining.... Some examples of the method ... include ... receiving, based on the monitoring, downlink relay transmissions from the relay node ... In some cases, a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 (e.g., using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol).” (Wei, 0024, 0034, 0064).
Here, deciding not to “transmit ... a downlink relay ... based on the determining” maps to “not retransmitting relaying”,
“downlink relay transmissions” map to “the packet”,
one of the “other UEs 115” maps to “the second computing device”,
“using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol” maps to “over the first wireless protocol”,
“based on the determining ... a signal strength of the relay reference signal” maps to “based upon the second computing device being determined to not being within the wireless communication range” because the purpose of measuring the reference signal strength is to determine if the second computing device is within range, and
“the relay node” maps to “the first computing device”).
Transmission ... over the second wireless protocol
(“In the control plane, the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105” (Wei, 0088).
Here, “an RRC connection” maps to “transmission”, and
“the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol” maps to “the second wireless protocol”).
The second or third wireless device
(“In some cases, a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 (e.g., using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol).” (Wei, 0064).
Here, a second of “other UEs 115” maps to “the second ... wireless device”,
a third of “other UEs 115” maps to “the third ... wireless device”).
Wei does not explicitly disclose:
Buffered packets
Scanning a wireless medium of a ... wireless protocol by actively monitoring broadcast transmissions for packets addressed to the second or third computing devices
The packets not intended to be relayed through the first computing device
Buffering any packets addressed to either the second or third computing devices that are received at the first computing device
A request by the second or third computing devices sent by the second or third computing devices directly to the first computing device for relay of those specific buffered packets
A determination that a transceiver of the first computing device has not received data addressed to the first computing device, or transmitted data to another device within a predetermined period of time
However, Liu does describe a method for a proxy device to detect broadcast transmissions and relay them to their destination.
Specifically, Liu teaches:
Buffered packets
(“[A] proxy servier may also cache the broadcast/multicast frames from the access point” (Liu, 0093).
Here, “cache ... frames” maps to “buffered packets”).
Scanning a wireless medium of a ... wireless protocol by actively monitoring broadcast transmissions for packets addressed to the second or third computing devices
(“As illustrated, an access point (e.g., AP 112 [in Fig. 5A]) may periodically transmit beacons (e.g., signals 530) and proxy device 106a may be scheduled to monitor the infra BSS channels and may receive a beacon 542.... Further, beacon 542 may include an indication that the access point has data and/or messages for peer device 106b ... [A] proxy server may also cache the broadcast/multicast frames from the access point and then relay (or push) the broadcast/multicast frames to proxy clients” (Liu, 0088, 0093).
Here, “monitor” maps to “scanning”,
“the infra BSS channels” maps to “a wireless medium of a ... wireless protocol”,
“scheduled to monitor” maps to “actively monitoring”,
“broadcast/multicast frames” maps to “broadcast transmissions”, and
“data and/or messages for peer device 106b” maps to “packets addressed to the second or third computing devices”).
The packets not intended to be relayed through the first computing device
(“Further, beacon 542 may include an indication that the access point has data and/or messages for peer device 106b” (Liu, 0088).
Here, “data and/or messages for peer device 106b” maps to “the packets not intended to be relayed through the first computing device” because “peer device 106b” is not “the first computing device”).
Buffering any packets addressed to either the second or third computing devices that are received at the first computing device
(“[A] proxy server may also cache the broadcast/multicast frames from the access point and then relay (or push) the broadcast/multicast frames to proxy clients” (Liu, 0088, 0093).
Here, “cache ... frames” maps to “buffering any packets”,
“to proxy clients” maps to “addressed to either the second or third computing devices”, and
“frames” received by “a proxy server” map to “packets ... that are received at the first computing device”).
A request by the second or third computing devices sent by the second or third computing devices directly to the first computing device for relay of those specific buffered packets
(“Fig. 7 illustrates a block diagram of an example of a method for receiving relayed messages from an access point via a proxy server ... At 706 [in Fig. 7], transmissions may be received from the neighboring wireless station indicating that the access point has pending data for the wireless station” (Liu, 0102, 0105).
Here, “transmissions ... indicating that the access point has pending data” map to “a request”,
“the neighboring wireless station” maps to “the second or third computing devices” because this is the recipient of the relayed packets,
“received from the neighboring wireless station” maps to “sent by the second or third computing devices”,
“via a proxy server” maps to “directly to the first computing device”, and
“pending data” maps to “for relay of those specific buffered packets”).
A determination that a transceiver of the first computing device has not received data addressed to the first computing device, or transmitted data to another device within a predetermined period of time
(“[P]roxy device 106a [in Fig. 5A] may also be scheduled to be present for NAN discovery windows and NAN data cluster windows” (Liu, 0088).
Here, “scheduled” maps to “a determination”,
“to be present” maps to “a transceiver of the first computing device has not received data addressed to the computing device, or transmitted data to another device”, and
“scheduled ... windows” map to “a predetermined period of time”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the proxy relay device described in Liu into Wei’s method for configuring a relay UE to conditionally relay packets from a base station to a destination UE. The situational proxy relay described in Liu can extend the range and effectiveness of the inter-protocol relay method described in Wei.
As to Claim 7:
Wei teaches:
Determining that a signal property of a received communication from the second computing device no longer meets a specified threshold
(“The method may include monitoring a relay reference signal from a relay node, determining the signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmitting, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining” (Wei, 0023).
Here, “determining” maps to “determining”,
“signal strength” maps to “a signal property”,
“a relay reference signal” maps to “a received communication”,
“from the relay node” maps to “from the second computing device” because the strength of a reference signal sent from the relay node to the destination UE will be identical to the strength of the same signal sent from the destination UE to the relay node, and
negatively “determining the signal strength” maps to “no longer meets a specified threshold” because this determination clearly involves comparing the signal strength to some kind of threshold to determine if it’s strong enough).
As to Claim 8:
Wei teaches:
The computing device comprising: a processor; a memory device, storing instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to perform operations comprising:
(“The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled (e.g., operatively, communicatively, functionally, electronically, or electrically) to the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the processor to receive ...” (Wei, 0006).
Here, “the apparatus” including “a processor” and “memory” maps to “the computing device”,
“processor” maps to “a processor”,
“memory” maps to “a memory device”,
“instructions stored” maps to “storing instructions”,
“executable by the processor” maps to “executed by the processor”, and
“cause the processor to receive” maps to “cause the processor to perform operations”).
At a first computing device: determining that a second and third computing devices are within a wireless communication range of the first computing device based upon one or more wireless messages exchanged over a first wireless protocol
(“In some examples, the relay node may transmit a relay reference signal (e.g., a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)) or a synchronization signal not on the sync raster) to the remote UE for relay discovery.... In some cases, a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 (e.g., using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol).... In the control plane, the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105” (Wei, 0064, 0074, 0088).
Here, “the relay node” which can be one of the “other UEs 115” maps to “a first computing device”,
“for relay discovery” maps to “determining ... within a wireless communication range”,
“the remote UE” and/or some of the “other UEs 115” map to “a second and third computing devices”,
“a relay reference signal” maps to “one or more wireless messages”,
“a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol” maps to “over a first wireless protocol”, and
“a relay reference signal” sent “using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol” maps to “based upon one or more wireless messages exchanged over a first wireless protocol”).
Responsive to determining that the second and third computing devices are within the wireless communication range of the first computing device
(“The method may include monitoring a relay reference signal from a relay node, determining a signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmitting, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining.... Base station 105-c may also communicate with relay node 105-d and may perform relay communications with one or more of UE 115-b and IE 115-c via relay node 105-d” (Wei, 0023, 0123).
Here, “based on the determining” maps to “responsive to determining”,
“UE 115-b” maps to “the second ... computing device”,
“IE 115-c” maps to “the third computing device”,
“a signal strength of the relay reference signal” for “one or more of UE 115-b and IE 115-c” maps to “the second and third computing devices are within the wireless communication range” because here, signal strength is measured to determine if these devices are within wireless communication range, and
“relay node 105-d” maps to “the first communication device”).
Relaying, over the first wireless protocol, specific ... packets addressed to either the second or third computing devices to the second or third computing devices, respectively, upon request by the second or third computing devices ... for relay of those specific ... packets
(“An apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described.... instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to monitor a relay reference signal from a relay node, determine a signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmit, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining.... Some examples of the method ... include ... receiving, based on the monitoring, downlink relay transmissions from the relay node ... In some cases, a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 (e.g., using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol).” (Wei, 0024, 0034, 0064).
Here, “relay transmissions” maps to “relaying”,
“using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol” maps to “over the first wireless protocol”,
“downlink relay transmissions” maps to “specific ... packets addressed to either the second or third computing devices” because the fact that these transmissions are “downlink” demonstrates that they are addressed to either the “second or third computing devices” which are both UEs,
“receiving ... relay transmissions” at “a UE” maps to “relaying ... to the second or third computing devices, respectively”,
“a UE” configured to “transmit ... a downlink relay request” maps to “upon request by the second or third computing devices for relay”, and
“downlink relay transmissions” maps to “specific ... packets”).
Determining that the second computing device is no longer within the wireless communication range of the first computing device
(“Code for wireless communications at a UE is described. The code may include instructions executable by a processor to monitor a relay reference signal from a relay node, determine a signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmit, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining” (Wei, 0026).
Here, “a UE” maps to “the second computing device”,
“a relay node” maps to “the first computing device”, and
“determining a signal strength of the relay reference signal” maps to “determining that the second computing device is no longer within the wireless communication range of the first computing device” because the purpose of the signal strength measurement is to determine if the first device is in range of another device).
Receiving, a second wireless broadcast transmission addressed to the second computing device over the second wireless protocol, the second wireless broadcast transmission comprising at least one second packet
(“Instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to monitor a relay reference signal from a relay node, determine a signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmit, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining ... The Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105 or core network 130 supporting radio bearers for user plane data.... UEs 115 and base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully ... The transceiver 2020 may also include a modem to modulate the packets and provide the modulated packets to the antennas for transmission, and to demodulate packets received from the antennas” (Wei, 0034, 0088, 0213).
Here, “received” maps to “receiving”,
“retransmissions” maps to “a second wireless broadcast transmission”,
“downlink relay” maps to “addressed to the second computing device”,
“Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol” maps to “the second wireless protocol”,
“retransmissions of data” maps to “the second wireless broadcast transmission”,
“packets received” maps to “transmission comprising at least one second packet”).
Not relaying the packet to the second computing device over the first wireless protocol based upon the second computing device being determined to not being within the wireless communication range of the first computing device
(“An apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described.... instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to monitor a relay reference signal from a relay node, determine a signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmit, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining.... Some examples of the method ... include ... receiving, based on the monitoring, downlink relay transmissions from the relay node ... In some cases, a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 (e.g., using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol).” (Wei, 0024, 0034, 0064).
Here, deciding not to “transmit ... a downlink relay ... based on the determining” maps to “not retransmitting relaying”,
“downlink relay transmissions” map to “the packet”,
one of the “other UEs 115” maps to “the second computing device”,
“using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol” maps to “over the first wireless protocol”,
“based on the determining ... a signal strength of the relay reference signal” maps to “based upon the second computing device being determined to not being within the wireless communication range” because the purpose of measuring the reference signal strength is to determine if the second computing device is within range, and
“the relay node” maps to “the first computing device”).
Transmission ... over the second wireless protocol
(“In the control plane, the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105” (Wei, 0088).
Here, “an RRC connection” maps to “transmission”, and
“the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol” maps to “the second wireless protocol”).
The second or third wireless device
(“In some cases, a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 (e.g., using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol).” (Wei, 0064).
Here, a second of “other UEs 115” maps to “the second ... wireless device”,
a third of “other UEs 115” maps to “the third ... wireless device”).
Wei does not explicitly disclose:
Buffered packets
Scanning a wireless medium of a ... wireless protocol by actively monitoring broadcast transmissions for packets addressed to the second or third computing devices
The packets not intended to be relayed through the first computing device
Buffering any packets addressed to either the second or third computing devices that are received at the first computing device
A request by the second or third computing devices sent by the second or third computing devices directly to the first computing device for relay of those specific buffered packets
A determination that a transceiver of the first computing device has not received data addressed to the first computing device, or transmitted data to another device within a predetermined period of time
However, Liu does teach:
Buffered packets
(“[A] proxy servier may also cache the broadcast/multicast frames from the access point” (Liu, 0093).
Here, “cache ... frames” maps to “buffered packets”).
Scanning a wireless medium of a ... wireless protocol by actively monitoring broadcast transmissions for packets addressed to the second or third computing devices
(“As illustrated, an access point (e.g., AP 112 [in Fig. 5A]) may periodically transmit beacons (e.g., signals 530) and proxy device 106a may be scheduled to monitor the infra BSS channels and may receive a beacon 542.... Further, beacon 542 may include an indication that the access point has data and/or messages for peer device 106b ... [A] proxy server may also cache the broadcast/multicast frames from the access point and then relay (or push) the broadcast/multicast frames to proxy clients” (Liu, 0088, 0093).
Here, “monitor” maps to “scanning”,
“the infra BSS channels” maps to “a wireless medium of a ... wireless protocol”,
“scheduled to monitor” maps to “actively monitoring”,
“broadcast/multicast frames” maps to “broadcast transmissions”, and
“data and/or messages for peer device 106b” maps to “packets addressed to the second or third computing devices”).
The packets not intended to be relayed through the first computing device
(“Further, beacon 542 may include an indication that the access point has data and/or messages for peer device 106b” (Liu, 0088).
Here, “data and/or messages for peer device 106b” maps to “the packets not intended to be relayed through the first computing device” because “peer device 106b” is not “the first computing device”).
Buffering any packets addressed to either the second or third computing devices that are received at the first computing device
(“[A] proxy server may also cache the broadcast/multicast frames from the access point and then relay (or push) the broadcast/multicast frames to proxy clients” (Liu, 0088, 0093).
Here, “cache ... frames” maps to “buffering any packets”,
“to proxy clients” maps to “addressed to either the second or third computing devices”, and
“frames” received by “a proxy server” map to “packets ... that are received at the first computing device”).
A request by the second or third computing devices sent by the second or third computing devices directly to the first computing device for relay of those specific buffered packets
(“Fig. 7 illustrates a block diagram of an example of a method for receiving relayed messages from an access point via a proxy server ... At 706 [in Fig. 7], transmissions may be received from the neighboring wireless station indicating that the access point has pending data for the wireless station” (Liu, 0102, 0105).
Here, “transmissions ... indicating that the access point has pending data” map to “a request”,
“the neighboring wireless station” maps to “the second or third computing devices” because this is the recipient of the relayed packets,
“received from the neighboring wireless station” maps to “sent by the second or third computing devices”,
“via a proxy server” maps to “directly to the first computing device”, and
“pending data” maps to “for relay of those specific buffered packets”).
A determination that a transceiver of the first computing device has not received data addressed to the first computing device, or transmitted data to another device within a predetermined period of time
(“[P]roxy device 106a [in Fig. 5A] may also be scheduled to be present for NAN discovery windows and NAN data cluster windows” (Liu, 0088).
Here, “scheduled” maps to “a determination”,
“to be present” maps to “a transceiver of the first computing device has not received data addressed to the computing device, or transmitted data to another device”, and
“scheduled ... windows” map to “a predetermined period of time”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the proxy relay device described in Liu into Wei’s method for configuring a relay UE to conditionally relay packets from a base station to a destination UE. The situational proxy relay described in Liu can extend the range and effectiveness of the inter-protocol relay method described in Wei.
As to Claim 14:
Wei teaches:
Determining that a signal property of a received communication from the second computing device no longer meets a specified threshold
(“The method may include monitoring a relay reference signal from a relay node, determining the signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmitting, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining” (Wei, 0023).
Here, “determining” maps to “determining”,
“signal strength” maps to “a signal property”,
“a relay reference signal” maps to “a received communication”,
“from the relay node” maps to “from the second computing device” because the strength of a reference signal sent from the relay node to the destination UE will be identical to the strength of the same signal sent from the destination UE to the relay node, and
negatively “determining the signal strength” maps to “no longer meets a specified threshold” because this determination clearly involves comparing the signal strength to some kind of threshold to determine if it’s strong enough).
As to Claim 15:
Wei teaches:
Determining that a second and third computing devices are within a wireless communication range of the first computing device based upon one or more wireless messages exchanged over a first wireless protocol
(“In some examples, the relay node may transmit a relay reference signal (e.g., a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)) or a synchronization signal not on the sync raster) to the remote UE for relay discovery.... In some cases, a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 (e.g., using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol).... In the control plane, the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105” (Wei, 0064, 0074, 0088).
Here, “the relay node” which can be one of the “other UEs 115” maps to “a first computing device”,
“for relay discovery” maps to “determining ... within a wireless communication range”,
“the remote UE” and/or some of the “other UEs 115” map to “a second and third computing devices”,
“a relay reference signal” maps to “one or more wireless messages”,
“a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol” maps to “over a first wireless protocol”, and
“a relay reference signal” sent “using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol” maps to “based upon one or more wireless messages exchanged over a first wireless protocol”).
Responsive to determining that the second and third computing devices are within the wireless communication range of the first computing device
(“The method may include monitoring a relay reference signal from a relay node, determining a signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmitting, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining.... Base station 105-c may also communicate with relay node 105-d and may perform relay communications with one or more of UE 115-b and IE 115-c via relay node 105-d” (Wei, 0023, 0123).
Here, “based on the determining” maps to “responsive to determining”,
“UE 115-b” maps to “the second ... computing device”,
“IE 115-c” maps to “the third computing device”,
“a signal strength of the relay reference signal” for “one or more of UE 115-b and IE 115-c” maps to “the second and third computing devices are within the wireless communication range” because here, signal strength is measured to determine if these devices are within wireless communication range, and
“relay node 105-d” maps to “the first communication device”).
Relaying, over the first wireless protocol, specific ... packets addressed to either the second or third computing devices to the second or third computing devices, respectively, upon request by the second or third computing devices ... for relay of those specific ... packets
(“An apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described.... instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to monitor a relay reference signal from a relay node, determine a signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmit, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining.... Some examples of the method ... include ... receiving, based on the monitoring, downlink relay transmissions from the relay node ... In some cases, a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 (e.g., using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol).” (Wei, 0024, 0034, 0064).
Here, “relay transmissions” maps to “relaying”,
“using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol” maps to “over the first wireless protocol”,
“downlink relay transmissions” maps to “specific ... packets addressed to either the second or third computing devices” because the fact that these transmissions are “downlink” demonstrates that they are addressed to either the “second or third computing devices” which are both UEs,
“receiving ... relay transmissions” at “a UE” maps to “relaying ... to the second or third computing devices, respectively”,
“a UE” configured to “transmit ... a downlink relay request” maps to “upon request by the second or third computing devices for relay”, and
“downlink relay transmissions” maps to “specific ... packets”).
Determining that the second computing device is no longer within the wireless communication range of the first computing device
(“Code for wireless communications at a UE is described. The code may include instructions executable by a processor to monitor a relay reference signal from a relay node, determine a signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmit, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining” (Wei, 0026).
Here, “a UE” maps to “the second computing device”,
“a relay node” maps to “the first computing device”, and
“determining a signal strength of the relay reference signal” maps to “determining that the second computing device is no longer within the wireless communication range of the first computing device” because the purpose of the signal strength measurement is to determine if the first device is in range of another device).
Receiving, a second wireless broadcast transmission addressed to the second computing device over the second wireless protocol, the second wireless broadcast transmission comprising at least one second packet
(“Instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to monitor a relay reference signal from a relay node, determine a signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmit, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining ... The Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105 or core network 130 supporting radio bearers for user plane data.... UEs 115 and base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully ... The transceiver 2020 may also include a modem to modulate the packets and provide the modulated packets to the antennas for transmission, and to demodulate packets received from the antennas” (Wei, 0034, 0088, 0213).
Here, “received” maps to “receiving”,
“retransmissions” maps to “a second wireless broadcast transmission”,
“downlink relay” maps to “addressed to the second computing device”,
“Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol” maps to “the second wireless protocol”,
“retransmissions of data” maps to “the second wireless broadcast transmission”,
“packets received” maps to “transmission comprising at least one second packet”).
Not relaying the packet to the second computing device over the first wireless protocol based upon the second computing device being determined to not being within the wireless communication range of the first computing device
(“An apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described.... instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to monitor a relay reference signal from a relay node, determine a signal strength of the relay reference signal and a timing of the relay reference signal based on the monitoring, and transmit, to a base station, a downlink relay request based on the determining.... Some examples of the method ... include ... receiving, based on the monitoring, downlink relay transmissions from the relay node ... In some cases, a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 (e.g., using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol).” (Wei, 0024, 0034, 0064).
Here, deciding not to “transmit ... a downlink relay ... based on the determining” maps to “not retransmitting relaying”,
“downlink relay transmissions” map to “the packet”,
one of the “other UEs 115” maps to “the second computing device”,
“using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol” maps to “over the first wireless protocol”,
“based on the determining ... a signal strength of the relay reference signal” maps to “based upon the second computing device being determined to not being within the wireless communication range” because the purpose of measuring the reference signal strength is to determine if the second computing device is within range, and
“the relay node” maps to “the first computing device”).
Transmission ... over the second wireless protocol
(“In the control plane, the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105” (Wei, 0088).
Here, “an RRC connection” maps to “transmission”, and
“the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol” maps to “the second wireless protocol”).
The second or third wireless device
(“In some cases, a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 (e.g., using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or device-to-device (D2D) protocol).” (Wei, 0064).
Here, a second of “other UEs 115” maps to “the second ... wireless device”,
a third of “other UEs 115” maps to “the third ... wireless device”).
Wei does not explicitly disclose:
Buffered packets
Scanning a wireless medium of a ... wireless protocol by actively monitoring broadcast transmissions for packets addressed to the second or third computing devices
The packets not intended to be relayed through the first computing device
Buffering any packets addressed to either the second or third computing devices that are received at the first computing device
A request by the second or third computing devices sent by the second or third computing devices directly to the first computing device for relay of those specific buffered packets
A determination that a transceiver of the first computing device has not received data addressed to the first computing device, or transmitted data to another device within a predetermined period of time
However, Liu does teach:
Buffered packets
(“[A] proxy servier may also cache the broadcast/multicast frames from the access point” (Liu, 0093).
Here, “cache ... frames” maps to “buffered packets”).
Scanning a wireless medium of a ... wireless protocol by actively monitoring broadcast transmissions for packets addressed to the second or third computing devices
(“As illustrated, an access point (e.g., AP 112 [in Fig. 5A]) may periodically transmit beacons (e.g., signals 530) and proxy device 106a may be scheduled to monitor the infra BSS channels and may receive a beacon 542.... Further, beacon 542 may include an indication that the access point has data and/or messages for peer device 106b ... [A] proxy server may also cache the broadcast/multicast frames from the access point and then relay (or push) the broadcast/multicast frames to proxy clients” (Liu, 0088, 0093).
Here, “monitor” maps to “scanning”,
“the infra BSS channels” maps to “a wireless medium of a ... wireless protocol”,
“scheduled to monitor” maps to “actively monitoring”,
“broadcast/multicast frames” maps to “broadcast transmissions”, and
“data and/or messages for peer device 106b” maps to “packets addressed to the second or third computing devices”).
The packets not intended to be relayed through the first computing device
(“Further, beacon 542 may include an indication that the access point has data and/or messages for peer device 106b” (Liu, 0088).
Here, “data and/or messages for peer device 106b” maps to “the packets not intended to be relayed through the first computing device” because “peer device 106b” is not “the first computing device”).
Buffering any packets addressed to either the second or third computing devices that are received at the first computing device
(“[A] proxy server may also cache the broadcast/multicast frames from the access point and then relay (or push) the broadcast/multicast frames to proxy clients” (Liu, 0088, 0093).
Here, “cache ... frames” maps to “buffering any packets”,
“to proxy clients” maps to “addressed to either the second or third computing devices”, and
“frames” received by “a proxy server” map to “packets ... that are received at the first computing device”).
A request by the second or third computing devices sent by the second or third computing devices directly to the first computing device for relay of those specific buffered packets
(“Fig. 7 illustrates a block diagram of an example of a method for receiving relayed messages from an access point via a proxy server ... At 706 [in Fig. 7], transmissions may be received from the neighboring wireless station indicating that the access point has pending data for the wireless station” (Liu, 0102, 0105).
Here, “transmissions ... indicating that the access point has pending data” map to “a request”,
“the neighboring wireless station” maps to “the second or third computing devices” because this is the recipient of the relayed packets,
“received from the neighboring wireless station” maps to “sent by the second or third computing devices”,
“via a proxy server” maps to “directly to the first computing device”, and
“pending data” maps to “for relay of those specific buffered packets”).
A determination that a transceiver of the first computing device has not received data addressed to the first computing device, or transmitted data to another device within a predetermined period of time
(“[P]roxy device 106a [in Fig. 5A] may also be scheduled to be present for NAN discovery windows and NAN data cluster windows” (Liu, 0088).
Here, “scheduled” maps to “a determination”,
“to be present” maps to “a transceiver of the first computing device has not received data addressed to the computing device, or transmitted data to another device”, and
“scheduled ... windows” map to “a predetermined period of time”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the proxy relay device described in Liu into Wei’s method for configuring a relay UE to conditionally relay packets from a base station to a destination UE. The situational proxy relay described in Liu can extend the range and effectiveness of the inter-protocol relay method described in Wei.
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei