DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the 7th line of new claim 21, it is believed that “across” should be added after “measured”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and new claim 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (US 2009/0136791), and further in view of Miyamoto et al. (US 2019/0260047), cited in the PTO-892 of the Office Action mailed May 21, 2025.
Regarding independent claim 1, Ogawa et al. disclose a fuel cell stack system (abstract; paragraphs [0034]-[0044]; and Figure 1), in which the fuel cell stack system (1) comprises a fuel cell stack (10) that includes the following structural features:
an anode (13) with an anode inlet and an anode outlet;
a cathode (14) with a cathode inlet and a cathode outlet; and
a proportional control valve (251) that is operable to control flow of fuel (hydrogen from hydrogen tank (22) through hydrogen supply channel (25)) into the anode (13) based on a pressure differential measured across the anode inlet and the anode outlet (see paragraph [0043]).
Ogawa et al. fail to teach a controller in combination with a control valve.
However, Miyamoto et al. disclose a fuel cell system and its method of control (abstract; paragraphs [0025]-[0036], [0041], [0042], and [0063]-[0065]; and Figures 1 and 9), in which the fuel cell system (10) includes a control unit (300) that is able to control operating points throughout the fuel cell system (10), including controlling at least a pressure adjusting valve (221) adjacent a fuel cell (100) based on data from a pressure sensor (214) – see paragraphs [0031]-[0036], [0064], and [0065].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a controller to connect with at least one control valve based on pressure sensor data, as taught by Miyamoto et al., into the fuel cell stack system disclosed by Ogawa et al., in order to control and maintain operating parameters throughout the fuel cell system (Miyamoto et al.; paragraphs [0031]-[0036], [0064], and [0065]).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 7, 8, and new independent claim 21 that includes the limitations from the combination of claims 1, 2, and 7, and since the claims are drawn to an apparatus (fuel cell stack system (1) of Ogawa et al. having a signal pressure pipe (31) – not a pressure within the apparatus), the claimed pressure differential (as applied to applicants’ claims 2 and 3) in the combined teachings of Ogawa et al. and Miyamoto et al. can be measured at any point or desired location along the anode inlet, the anode outlet, the cathode inlet, and the cathode outlet, since Ogawa et al. have a plurality of valves and a controller (40), as shown in Figure 1 (see paragraphs [0038]-[0044] of Ogawa et al.).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, although the combined teachings of Ogawa et al. and Miyamoto et al. disclose and/or suggest the features of claims 1 and 2, including Ogawa et al. teaching calibration via the controller (40) of the proportional control valve (251), both Ogawa et al. and Miyamoto et al. fail to teach pressure sensors at an inlet and an outlet of the anode, as well as at an inlet and an outlet of the cathode. However, since Ogawa et al. disclose a gas pressure adjusting unit (43) of the controller (40), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that there would be one or more additional pressure sensors, in order to more accurately determine differentials of pressures throughout the fuel cell stack system (see paragraphs [0038]-[0043]) of Ogawa et al.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include additional sensors at inlets and outlets of both the anode and the cathode, in order to obtain more accurate readings with calibrating adjustments for more efficient operation of the fuel cell stack system (Ogawa et al.; paragraphs [0038]-[0043]).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, it would be conventional that the proportional control valve (251) of Ogawa et al. is operable in combination with an ejector having a nozzle, as well as a corresponding operation of a combination of the control unit (300) and the pressure adjusting valve (221) of Miyamoto et al. In this instance, the ejector is interpreted as an open source to send fuel to the fuel cell, in which the proportional control valve (251) of Ogawa et al. comprises a controller (40) that can be programmed to make corrections and to clear a choke within a nozzle of the ejector (see Figure 1 of Ogawa et al.; and Figure 1 of Miyamoto et al.).
Regarding claims 6 and 9, the apparatus disclosed and/or suggested by the combined teachings of Ogawa et al. and Miyamoto et al. can be set to make measurements at any point or desired location along the anode inlet, the anode outlet, the cathode inlet, and the cathode outlet, and also can be selectively set to obtain a combined standard error of less than about 25% of a target bias pressure, wherein the target bias pressure is based on operating conditions of the fuel cell stack (10). In addition, the controller (40) of the proportional control valve (251) of Ogawa et al. is operable to target the bias pressure based on calibration of measurements (Ogawa et al.; paragraphs [0038]-[0043]; and Figure 1; and paragraphs [0031]-[0036], [0064], and [0065]; and Figure 1 of Miyamoto et al.).
Regarding claims 10-13, the controller (40) of Ogawa et al. can be set to measure an outer control loop and an inner control loop with an open loop based on pressure downstream of the proportional control valve (251) to balance the fuel cell stack system (1) with respect to a target flow rate (see Figure 1 of Ogawa et al.). Regarding process steps that are to be carried out in the fuel cell system in the combined teachings of Ogawa et al. and Miyamoto et al., it is noted that these claims are rejected based on structural features of the apparatus, wherein the steps of performing operation of the apparatus have no patentable weight. In this instance, the fuel cell stack system is capable of performing the claimed function per MPEP 2114.
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges the applicants’ amendment received by the USPTO on April 27, 2026. Although the amendment overcomes the prior objections to claims 6 and 7, an objection to new claim 21 is raised in above section 1. Claims 14-20 remain withdrawn from consideration as drawn to a non-elected invention. The applicants have added new independent claim 21. Claims 1-13 and 21 are currently under consideration in the application.
Applicants' arguments filed April 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the applicants’ remarks/arguments on pages 6-8 of the amendment, the applicants argue (in the 1st and 2nd full paragraphs on page 7 of the REMARKS section) that Ogawa et al. only teach flow of air and not “any flow of the fuel”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner cited that the hydrogen tank (22) is controlled by a proportional control valve (251). Ogawa et al. disclose that the hydrogen tank (22) is a source of fuel that is controlled by the valve (251), but lack the disclosure of a controller “in combination with a control valve”. However, and as set forth in the 35 USC 103 rejection section above, a controller taught by Miyamoto et al. is operable to control and maintain operating parameters throughout the fuel cell system (Miyamoto et al.; paragraphs [0031]-[0036], [0064], and [0065]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the controller of Miyamoto et al. into the fuel cell stack system disclosed by Ogawa et al., for the purpose of controlling and maintaining operating parameters. In view of the 35 USC 103 rejection and for these additional reasons, claims 1-13 and 21 are rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN P KERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735 May 13, 2026