DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, 3rd line, add “the” before “cathode outlet” for clarity.
In claim 7, 2nd line, add “the” before “anode outlet” for clarity.
In claim 7, 3rd line, add “the” before “cathode outlet” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (US 2009/0136791), and further in view of Miyamoto et al. (US 2019/0260047), cited in the PTO-892 of the Office Action mailed May 21, 2025.
Regarding independent claim 1, Ogawa et al. disclose a fuel cell stack system (abstract; paragraphs [0034]-[0044]; and Figure 1), in which the fuel cell stack system (1) comprises a fuel cell stack (10) that includes the following structural features:
an anode (13) with an anode inlet and an anode outlet;
a cathode (14) with a cathode inlet and a cathode outlet; and
a proportional control valve (251) that is operable to control flow of fuel (hydrogen from hydrogen tank (22) through hydrogen supply channel (25)) into the anode (13) based on a pressure differential measured across the anode inlet and the anode outlet (see paragraph [0043]).
Ogawa et al. fail to teach a controller in combination with a control valve.
However, Miyamoto et al. disclose a fuel cell system and its method of control (abstract; paragraphs [0025]-[0036], [0041], [0042], and [0063]-[0065]; and Figures 1 and 9), in which the fuel cell system (10) includes a control unit (300) that is able to control operating points throughout the fuel cell system (10), including controlling at least a pressure adjusting valve (221) adjacent a fuel cell (100) based on data from a pressure sensor (214) – see paragraphs [0031]-[0036], [0064], and [0065].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a controller to connect with at least one control valve based on pressure sensor data, as taught by Miyamoto et al., into the fuel cell stack system disclosed by Ogawa et al., in order to control and maintain operating parameters throughout the fuel cell system (Miyamoto et al.; paragraphs [0031]-[0036], [0064], and [0065]).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, and since the claims are drawn to an apparatus (fuel cell stack system (1) of Ogawa et al. having a signal pressure pipe (31) – not a pressure within the apparatus), the claimed pressure differential in the combined teachings of Ogawa et al. and Miyamoto et al. can be measured at any point or desired location along the anode inlet, the anode outlet, the cathode inlet, and the cathode outlet, since Ogawa et al. have a plurality of valves and a controller (40), as shown in Figure 1 (see paragraphs [0038]-[0044] of Ogawa et al.).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, it would be conventional that the proportional control valve (251) of Ogawa et al. is operable in combination with an ejector having a nozzle, as well as a corresponding operation of a combination of the control unit (300) and the pressure adjusting valve (221) of Miyamoto et al. In this instance, the ejector is interpreted as an open source to send fuel to the fuel cell, in which the proportional control valve (251) of Ogawa et al. comprises a controller (40) that can be programmed to make corrections and to clear a choke within a nozzle of the ejector (see Figure 1 of Ogawa et al.; and Figure 1 of Miyamoto et al.).
Regarding claims 6 and 9, the apparatus disclosed and/or suggested by the combined teachings of Ogawa et al. and Miyamoto et al. can be set to make measurements at any point or desired location along the anode inlet, the anode outlet, the cathode inlet, and the cathode outlet, and also can be selectively set to obtain a combined standard error of less than about 25% of a target bias pressure, wherein the target bias pressure is based on operating conditions of the fuel cell stack (10). In addition, the controller (40) of the proportional control valve (251) of Ogawa et al. is operable to target the bias pressure based on calibration of measurements (Ogawa et al.; paragraphs [0038]-[0043]; and Figure 1; and paragraphs [0031]-[0036], [0064], and [0065]; and Figure 1 of Miyamoto et al.).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, although the combined teachings of Ogawa et al. and Miyamoto et al. disclose and/or suggest the features of claims 1 and 2, including Ogawa et al. teaching calibration via the controller (40) of the proportional control valve (251), both Ogawa et al. and Miyamoto et al. fail to teach pressure sensors at an inlet and an outlet of the anode, as well as at an inlet and an outlet of the cathode. However, since Ogawa et al. disclose a gas pressure adjusting unit (43) of the controller (40), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that there would be one or more additional pressure sensors, in order to more accurately determine differentials of pressures throughout the fuel cell stack system (see paragraphs [0038]-[0043]) of Ogawa et al.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include additional sensors at inlets and outlets of both the anode and the cathode, in order to obtain more accurate readings with calibrating adjustments for more efficient operation of the fuel cell stack system (Ogawa et al.; paragraphs [0038]-[0043]).
Regarding claims 10-13, the controller (40) of Ogawa et al. can be set to measure an outer control loop and an inner control loop with an open loop based on pressure downstream of the proportional control valve (251) to balance the fuel cell stack system (1) with respect to a target flow rate (see Figure 1 of Ogawa et al.). Regarding process steps that are to be carried out in the fuel cell system in the combined teachings of Ogawa et al. and Miyamoto et al., it is noted that these claims are rejected based on structural features of the apparatus, wherein the steps of performing operation of the apparatus have no patentable weight. In this instance, the fuel cell stack system is capable of performing the claimed function per MPEP 2114.
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges the applicants’ amendment provided with the request for continued examination received by the USPTO on December 4, 2025. New objections to claims 6 and 7 are raised in above section 1. Although the applicants’ amendments to independent claim 1 overcome the prior 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejection set forth in the final rejection mailed September 16, 2025, a new 35 USC 103 rejection is provided for all claims of record in view of the new reference to Miyamoto et al. (US 2019/0260047). Claims 14-20 remain withdrawn from consideration as drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 1-13 remain under consideration in the application.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection includes a new secondary reference to Miyamoto et al. (US 2019/0260047), as also provided in the newly underlined portions of the above 35 USC 103 rejection, and thus does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/KEVIN P KERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735 January 7, 2026