DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
NOTICE: In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1, 9-12, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stuart (US Pat. 5,666,648) in view of Krebs (US Pub. 2016/0094288).
Regarding claim 1, Stuart discloses a satellite system for global communications {Stuart: Fig. 1: Col. 11: 50-Col. 12: 7: four orbital plans (OR1-OR4), each including 3 satellites operated at low earth orbit (LEO)} comprising:
a first set of satellites in a polar LEO (low Earth orbit) constellation {Stuart: Fig. 1, Col. 11: 50-62: satellite orbital plans OR1-OR4 are polar LEO constellations, configured to be operated at inclination of 80o (See Stuart: Col. 13: 1-5; Col. 17: Table 4; Col. 24: 17-22)};
a second set of satellites in an inclined LEO constellation {Stuart: Fig. 1, Col. 11: 50-62: within satellite orbital plans OR1-OR4, the OR2-OR4 are inclined LEO constellations {Stuart: Col. 13: 1-5; Col. 17: Table 4; Col. 24: 17-22};
a first user terminal for transmitting to, and receiving signals from, said first and second set of satellites {Stuart: Col. 4: 49-64: sending terminal GA sends a message to a receiving terminal GC via polar gateway GB and two satellites located at different polar orbits (OR1 to OR2). Stuart: Figs. 2-7: Col. 12: 8-44: a store-and-forward message from sending terminal GA is transmitted at time T1 to satellite S1/OR1; The message is delivered to the polar gateway GB and then transferred to another satellite S1/OR2 when it is flying by the polar gateway GB at time T2}; and
a Gateway, a base station or a second user terminal for transmitting to, and receiving signals from, said first and second set of satellites {Stuart: Col. 4: 49-64: sending terminal GA sends a message to a receiving terminal GC via a polar gateway GB and two satellites located at different polar orbits (OR1 and OR2). Stuart: Figs. 2-7: Col. 12: 8-44: a store-and-forward message from sending terminal GA is transmitted to satellite S1 of OR1 which is then delivered to the polar gateway GB; the polar gateway GB transfers the message to the satellite S1 of OR2, which finally delivers to receiving terminal GC when the satellite S1 of OR2 is flying by the polar gateway GB at time T2};
said first set and second set of satellites in combination, providing global coverage with no satellites in an equatorial orbit ({Stuart: Fig. 1, Col. 11: 50-62: satellite orbital plans OR1-OR4 are polar LEO constellations, configured to be operated at inclination of 80o (See Stuart: Col. 13: 1-5; Col. 17: Table 4; Col. 24: 17-22); within satellite orbital plans OR1-OR4, the OR2-OR4 are inclined LEO constellations {Stuart: Col. 13: 1-5; Col. 17: Table 4; Col. 24: 17-22};
However, Stuart fails to disclose each of said first and second set of satellites having ISL (inter-satellite link) functionality with respect to satellites in the polar LEO constellation and with satellites in the inclined LEO constellation.
Krebs discloses each of said first and second set of satellites having ISL (inter-satellite link) functionality with respect to satellites in the polar LEO constellation and with satellites in the inclined LEO constellation {Krebs: [0003]; Fig. 1A-3B: [0043]-[0048]: inter-satellite links (ISL) are used to communicate with satellite of the same plane/orbit or with other satellites at different plane/orbits}.
Similarly to Stuart, Krebs shares the same field of endeavor in providing communication services in a polar satellite communication system; As a result, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Krebs and Stuart before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate inter-satellite link configuration as taught by Krebs to Stuart, as such Stuart LEO satellite can therefore exchange communication with other satellites in the same or with different satellite constellation to improve the cost expenditure and simplicity advantage in the design of the satellite communication system {Krebs: [0003]}.
Regarding Claims 9 and 11, Stuart and Krebs disclose the satellite system of claim 1, wherein said satellites of said polar LEO constellation orbit at an altitude of between 800 km and 1400 km {Stuart: Col. 24: 17-39: the LEO satellites system is operated at 1,100km altitude, but may varying within a range of 500km to maximum of 1400km}.
Regarding Claim 10, Stuart and Krebs disclose the satellite system of claim 9, wherein said satellites of said polar LEO constellation orbit at an altitude of about 1000 km {Stuart: Col. 24: 17-39: the LEO satellites system is operated at 1,100km altitude}.
Regarding Claim 12, Stuart and Krebs disclose the satellite system of claim 11, Although, Stuart and Krebs fail to disclose wherein said satellites of said inclined LEO constellation orbit at an exact altitude of about 1250 km.
Stuart (Col. 24: 17-39), however discloses the LEO satellites system is operated at 1,100km altitude and varies within a range of 500km to maximum of 1400km.
Krebs {[0031]-[0032]} in another hand, discloses the satellites 200 orbiting the earth at altitude A1 of 1,300km; and that satellites 202a and 202b orbits at altitude A2 or A3, lower than A1.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Stuart and or Krebs using the altitude A2 and A3 at lower altitude than a maximum altitude (i.e. A1) to configure the satellite altitude at 1,250km to meet the claimed invention to improve the security and the latency for long distance traffic routing via the use of satellite communication {Krebs: [0030]}.
Regarding Claim 14, Stuart and Krebs disclose the satellite system of claim 1, wherein excess capacity in the polar LEO constellation in the higher latitudes is used to transfer data traffic, via the ISL, from both LEO constellations to a Gateway located in the North for a connection to a terrestrial network {Krebs: [0003]; Fig. 1A-3B: [0043]-[0048]: inter-satellite links (ISL) are used to communicate with satellite of the same plane/orbit or with other satellites at different plane/orbits. Stuart: Col. 4: 49-64: sending terminal GA sends a data message to a receiving terminal GC via a polar gateway GB and two satellites located at different polar orbits. Stuart: Figs. 2-7: Col. 12: 8-44: a store-and-forward message from sending terminal GA is transmitted to satellite S1 of orbital plan OR1 which delivered the message to the polar gateway GB; the polar gateway GB delivers the message to the receiving gateway GC via the satellite S1 of orbital plan OR2 which passed by the polar gateway GB at time T2}}.
Regarding Claim 15, Stuart and Krebs discloses the satellite system of claim 1, each of said first and second set of satellites having an IP router functionality {Krebs: [0056]: routing information is used for Internet Protocol (IP) routing}.
Regarding Claim 16, Stuart and Krebs discloses the satellite system of claim 15, each of said first and second set of satellites having an IP router load management functionality {Krebs: [0056]-[0058]: satellite system 100 using IP interface for routing data ([0056]. Satellite system processor 110 controls and manages the weights, the health and link load of all communication links between the satellite and other ground-based devices ([0058])}.
Claims 2-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stuart in view of Krebs and further in view of Frank et al. (US Pat. 5,752,187, hereinafter “Frank”).
Regarding Claim 2, Stuart and Krebs discloses the satellite system of claim 1, however, Stuart fails to disclose wherein said polar LEO constellation comprises six planes, equally spaced.
Frank discloses wherein said polar LEO constellation comprises six planes, equally spaced {Frank: Fig. 1: Col. 3: 66-Col. 4: 9: the satellite communication system uses six polar orbital planes 14 equally spaced}.
Sharing the same field of endeavor in providing satellite communications configuration and setting of a polar satellite constellation communication system; As a result, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Frank and Stuart before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate polar satellite configuration setting as taught by Frank to Stuart, as such Stuart LEO satellites can be configured to operate in six orbital planes as claimed to improve the reliability and speed in hand-off decisions between the satellites {Frank: Col. 2: lns. 40-52}.
Regarding Claim 3, Stuart, Krebs and Frank disclose the satellite system of claim 2, wherein said planes of said polar LEO constellation are inclined between 80 degrees and 100 degrees {Stuart: Col. 13: 1-5; Col. 17: Table 4; Col. 24: 17-22: Orbital constellation inclination set at 80o. Krebs: [0004]; [0010]; Fig. 7: [0066]: satellite inclination angle is less than 90 and greater than 0}.
Regarding Claim 4, Stuart, Krebs and Frank disclose the satellite system of claim 3, wherein said planes of said polar LEO constellation are inclined about 99.5 degrees {Krebs: [0004]; [0010]; Fig. 7: [0066]: satellite inclination angle is set to less than 90 and greater than 0}.
However, Frank {Fig. 1: Col. 3: 66-Col. 4: 9; Col. 4: lns. 23-24} discloses that the number of orbits and the number of satellites can be varied and since the satellites are distributed at different altitude within the LEO range; the inclination angle therefore can be varied {Frank: Col. 4: lns. 23-24}.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Frank and Stuart before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the polar satellite configuration setting as taught by Frank to Stuart, as such Stuart LEO satellites can be configured to operate at 99.5 angle as claimed to improve the reliability and speed in hand-off decisions between the satellites {Frank: Col. 2: Lns. 40-52}
Regarding Claim 8, Stuart and Krebs disclose the satellite system of claim 1; the system thereby providing global coverage with a minimum elevation angle of about 20 degrees {Stuart: Col. 13: 1-12; Col. 17: Table 4; Col. 30: 22-28: Orbital planes are set at 80o inclination and at minimum elevation angle of 15o}.
However, Stuart and Krebs fail to disclose wherein said polar LEO constellation comprises about 72 satellites and said inclined LEO constellation comprises about 45 satellites,
Frank discloses wherein said polar LEO constellation comprises about 72 satellites and said inclined LEO constellation comprises about 45 satellites {Frank: Fig. 1: Col. 3: 66-Col. 4: 9; Col. 4: lns. 23-24: a LEO satellite communication system using six polar orbits holding total of sixty six (66) satellites; however, this is not essential, since more or fewer satellites and more or fewer orbits can be realized}.
Sharing the same field of endeavor in providing satellite communications configuration and setting; As a result, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Frank and Stuart before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate polar satellite configuration setting as taught by Frank to Stuart, as such, Stuart LEO satellites can be configured to operate in six orbital planes as claimed to improve the reliability and speed in hand-off decisions between the satellites {Frank: Col. 2: Lns. 40-52}.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stuart in view of “Krebs” and further in view of Stuart et al. (US Pat. 5,678,175, herein ‘St-175”).
Regarding Claim 5, Stuart and Krebs disclose the satellite system of claim 1, However, Stuart and Krebs fail to disclose wherein said inclined LEO constellation comprises five planes, equally spaced.
St-175 discloses wherein said inclined LEO constellation comprises five planes, equally spaced {Stuart: Column 27: Claims 10-11: the satellite communication system includes a five orbital planes equally spaced}.
Sharing the same field of endeavor in providing satellite communications configuration and setting; As a result, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of St-175 and Stuart before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate polar satellite plane configuration as taught by St-175 to Stuart, as such, Stuart LEO satellites can be configured to operate in five orbital planes as claimed to improve the mobile satellite services demand especially for the areas underserved by the traditional terrestrial wireless networks {St-175: Col. 3: lns. 6-12}.
Regarding Claim 6, Stuart, Krebs and St-175 disclose the satellite system of claim 5, wherein said planes of said inclined LEO constellation are inclined between 5 degrees and 75 degrees {Krebs: [0004]; [0010]; Fig. 7: [0066]: LEO satellite constellation inclination angle is greater than 0 and less than 90}.
Regarding Claim 7, Stuart, Krebs and St-175 disclose the satellite system of claim 6, wherein said planes of said inclined LEO constellation are inclined about 37.4 degrees {Krebs: [0037]: squint angle of the satellite antenna is about 37 degrees. Krebs: [0004]; [0010]; Fig. 7: [0066]: LEO satellite constellation inclination angle is greater than 0 and less than 90}.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stuart in view of Krebs and further in view of Lindsay et al. (US Pub. 2016/0149599, hereinafter “Lindsay”).
Regarding Claim 13, Stuart and Krebs disclose the satellite system of claim 1, However, Stuart and Krebs fail to disclose wherein the Gateway, the base station, or the second user terminal are operable to avoid
Lindsay discloses the satellite system wherein the Gateway, the base station, or the second user terminal are operable to avoid interference with a GEO satellite user terminals by switching the Gateway, the base station or the second user terminal to an alternate LEO satellite that has an angular separation with a GEO satellite greater than a calculated discrimination angle, as measured at the GEO user terminal {Lindsay: Fig. 12 & 15: [0057]-[0061]; [0066]: at the Equator when potential interference with a GEO satellite system is encountered, the satellites 1241-1243 or 1540-4 transmission is switched off and handover data to the adjacent satellites until a discrimination angle with the Equatorial plane 220 is out-of-view}.
Similarly to Stuart, Lindsay provides configuration for LEO satellite constellation operating in a polar orbital plane; As a result, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lindsay and Stuart before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the satellite transmission switching as taught by Lindsay to Stuart, as such, Stuart LEO satellites can therefore control the satellite transmission when interference with other satellite system is detected at a discrimination angle as claimed to improve the service coverage performance for the satellite communication systems by avoiding potential interference between the two satellite systems {Lindsay: [0029]}.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stuart in view of Krebs and further in view of Jalali et al.(US Pub. 2015/0162975)
Regarding Claim 17, Stuart and Krebs disclose the satellite system of claim 1, However, Stuart and Krebs fail to disclose wherein said communications comprises broadband communications.
Jalali discloses wherein said communications comprises broadband communications {Jalali: Fig. 1: [0026]; [0030]: NGSO or LEO satellite system is configured to provide broadband Internet to homes and/or enterprises}.
Similarly to Stuart, Jalali shares the same field of endeavor in providing configuration for satellite communication system; As a result, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jalali and Stuart before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the broadband Internet as taught by Jalali to Stuart, as such, Stuart LEO satellites can therefore provide the broadband Internet service to home and enterprises users to improve the cost expenditure to Internet user {Jalali: [0004]}.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stuart in view of Krebs and further in view of Karlsson et al.(US Pat. 6,034,634, hereinafter “Karlsson”).
Regarding Claim 18, Stuart and Krebs disclose the satellite system of claim 1, however, Stuart and Krebs fail to disclose where said first user terminal includes an electronically scanned array antenna for communicating with said first and second set of satellites.
Karlsson discloses where said first user terminal includes an electronically scanned array antenna for communicating with said first and second set of satellites {Karlsson: Fig. 4: Col. 3: lns 33-60; Col. 5: lns. 16-26; Fig. 1: Col. 6: lns. 37-43: a user terminal including an antenna array 21 providing electronic scanning for the detection of the LEO satellites}.
Similarly to Stuart, Karlsson shares the same field of endeavor in providing configuration for satellite communication system; As a result, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Karlsson and Stuart before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the electronically scanned array antenna as taught by Karlsson to Stuart satellite user terminal, as such, Stuart satellite user terminal can therefore detect the visibility of the satellite via performing a scanning of an incoming satellite to improve the reliability of the hand-off between the ongoing satellite and the incoming satellite {Karlsson: Col. 2: lns. 53-61}.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not found persuasive.
Stuart discloses a satellite system for global communications {Stuart: Fig. 1: Col. 11: 50-Col. 12: 7: four orbital plans (OR1-OR4), each including 3 satellites operated at low earth orbit (LEO)} comprising:
a first set of satellites in a polar LEO (low Earth orbit) constellation {Stuart: Fig. 1, Col. 11: 50-62: satellite orbital plans OR1-OR4 are polar LEO constellations, configured to be operated at inclination of 80o (See Stuart: Col. 13: 1-5; Col. 17: Table 4; Col. 24: 17-22)};
a second set of satellites in an inclined LEO constellation {Stuart: Fig. 1, Col. 11: 50-62: within satellite orbital plans OR1-OR4, the OR2-OR4 are inclined LEO constellations {Stuart: Col. 13: 1-5; Col. 17: Table 4; Col. 24: 17-22};
a first user terminal for transmitting to, and receiving signals from, said first and second set of satellites {Stuart: Col. 4: 49-64: sending terminal GA sends a message to a receiving terminal GC via polar gateway GB and two satellites located at different polar orbits (OR1 to OR2). Stuart: Figs. 2-7: Col. 12: 8-44: a store-and-forward message from sending terminal GA is transmitted at time T1 to satellite S1/OR1; The message is delivered to the polar gateway GB and then transferred to another satellite S1/OR2 when it is flying by the polar gateway GB at time T2}; and
a Gateway, a base station or a second user terminal for transmitting to, and receiving signals from, said first and second set of satellites {Stuart: Col. 4: 49-64: sending terminal GA sends a message to a receiving terminal GC via a polar gateway GB and two satellites located at different polar orbits (OR1 and OR2). Stuart: Figs. 2-7: Col. 12: 8-44: a store-and-forward message from sending terminal GA is transmitted to satellite S1 of OR1 which is then delivered to the polar gateway GB; the polar gateway GB transfers the message to the satellite S1 of OR2, which finally delivers to receiving terminal GC when the satellite S1 of OR2 is flying by the polar gateway GB at time T2};
said first set and second set of satellites in combination, providing global coverage with no satellites in an equatorial orbit ({Stuart: Fig. 1, Col. 11: 50-62: satellite orbital plans OR1-OR4 are polar LEO constellations, configured to be operated at inclination of 80o (See Stuart: Col. 13: 1-5; Col. 17: Table 4; Col. 24: 17-22); within satellite orbital plans OR1-OR4, the OR2-OR4 are inclined LEO constellations {Stuart: Col. 13: 1-5; Col. 17: Table 4; Col. 24: 17-22};
However, Stuart fails to disclose each of said first and second set of satellites having ISL (inter-satellite link) functionality with respect to satellites in the polar LEO constellation and with satellites in the inclined LEO constellation.
Krebs discloses each of said first and second set of satellites having ISL (inter-satellite link) functionality with respect to satellites in the polar LEO constellation and with satellites in the inclined LEO constellation {Krebs: [0003]; Fig. 1A-3B: [0043]-[0048]: inter-satellite links (ISL) are used to communicate with satellite of the same plane/orbit or with other satellites at different plane/orbits}.
Similarly to Stuart, Krebs shares the same field of endeavor in providing communication services in a polar satellite communication system; As a result, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Krebs and Stuart before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate inter-satellite link configuration as taught by Krebs to Stuart, as such Stuart LEO satellite can therefore exchange communication with other satellites in the same or with different satellite constellation to improve the cost expenditure and simplicity advantage in the design of the satellite communication system {Krebs: [0003]}.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 19, the applied art does not teach or suggest “wherein a seam of the polar LEO constellation is avoided by routing data traffic through the inclined LEO constellation.”
Conclusion
/ANKUR JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649