DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-11, 13-22 and 27-29 are pending, of which claims 13-21 and 28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-11, 22, 27 and 29 are under current examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-11, 22, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khurana (WO2019028047 A1; as provided by the applicant on IDS dated 06/10/2022).
Khurana discloses a method of obtaining long manipulated nucleic acid, with example of nucleic acid of sizes 100kb, 150kb, 500kb or length longer than 100kb, >300bps (reads on size and MW of the nucleic acid) using a hydrogel, wherein the nucleic acid is stabilized in a hydrogel microsphere, comprising the steps of combining a nucleic acid (DNA, RNA), provided in a carrier, such as cell, with an aqueous polymer solution, such as alginate; gelling the polymer solution to form a hydrogel comprising the nucleic acid; and manipulating/ modifying the nucleic acid in the hydrogel, such as lysing cell with a lysing agent to release nucleic acid, amplification, making sequencing library, loading on a sequencer flow cell; dissolving the hydrogel/ degrading the hydrogel using reducing agents such as strong base comprising sodium ion (monovalent ion) at room temp (i.e., 20-25C, which is lower than 45C) or in absence of any agent by elevating the temperature such as 50C etc.; obtaining long manipulated nucleic acid, with example of nucleic acid of sizes 100kb, 150kb, 500kb or length longer than 100kb (entire application, especially, abstract, Pages 17-19, 24, 25, 29, 30, 33, 39, 40, 44, 45, 47, 48, 50-63 examples, especially examples 1-11, and claims).
The cited prior art further teaches addition of a sequencing buffer, and sequencing the manipulated nucleic acid library (entire application, especially, abstract, Pages 17-19, 24, 25, 29, 30, 33, 39, 40, 44, 45, 47, 48, 50-63 examples, especially examples 1-11, and claims).
With regard to the limitation of the instant claims, “nucleic acid is manipulated to obtain a sequencing library or a long-read sequencing library”, since the cited prior art teaches same method of manipulating nucleic acid, the manipulated nucleic acid so obtained from the cited prior art is also capable of being useful in obtaining a sequencing library or a long-read sequencing library. Further, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation”); Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d at 152, 88 USPQ2d at 480-81 (preamble is not a limitation where claim is directed to a product and the preamble merely recites a property inherent in an old product defined by the remainder of the claim); STX LLC. v. Brine, 211 F.3d 588, 591, 54 USPQ2d 1347, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
Since the cited prior art reads on all the limitations of the instant claims 1-5, 8-11, 22, 27 and 29, these claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 22, 27 and 29 and elected species are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khurana (WO2019028047 A1; as provided by the applicant on IDS dated 06/10/2022).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Khurana discloses a method of obtaining long manipulated nucleic acid, with example of nucleic acid of sizes 100kb, 150kb, 500kb or length longer than 100kb, >300bps (reads on size and MW of the nucleic acid) using a hydrogel, wherein the nucleic acid is stabilized in a hydrogel microsphere, comprising the steps of combining a nucleic acid (DNA, RNA), provided in a carrier, such as cell, with an aqueous polymer solution, such as alginate; gelling the polymer solution to form a hydrogel comprising the nucleic acid; and manipulating/ modifying the nucleic acid in the hydrogel, such as lysing cell with a lysing agent to release nucleic acid, amplification, making sequencing library, loading on a sequencer flow cell; dissolving the hydrogel/ degrading the hydrogel using reducing agents such as strong base comprising sodium ion (monovalent ion) at room temp (i.e., 20-25C, which is lower than 45C) or in absence of any agent by elevating the temperature such as 50C etc.; obtaining long manipulated nucleic acid, with example of nucleic acid of sizes 100kb, 150kb, 500kb or length longer than 100kb (entire application, especially, abstract, Pages 17-19, 24, 25, 29, 30, 33, 39, 40, 44, 45, 47, 48, 50-63 examples, especially examples 1-11, and claims).
The cited prior art further teaches addition of a sequencing buffer, and sequencing the manipulated nucleic acid library (entire application, especially, abstract, Pages 17-19, 24, 25, 29, 30, 33, 39, 40, 44, 45, 47, 48, 50-63 examples, especially examples 1-11, and claims).
With regard to the limitation of the instant claims, “nucleic acid is manipulated to obtain a sequencing library or a long-read sequencing library”, since the cited prior art teaches same method of manipulating nucleic acid, the manipulated nucleic acid so obtained from the cited prior art is also capable of being useful in obtaining a sequencing library or a long-read sequencing library. Further, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation”); Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d at 152, 88 USPQ2d at 480-81 (preamble is not a limitation where claim is directed to a product and the preamble merely recites a property inherent in an old product defined by the remainder of the claim); STX LLC. v. Brine, 211 F.3d 588, 591, 54 USPQ2d 1347, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Khurana teaches applicants process and provides that polymer for making hydrogel may be alginate. However, cited prior art fails to teach a working example with alginate as polymer for making hydrogel.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the above difference, Khurana discloses a method of obtaining a hydrogel comprising long manipulated nucleic acid, with example of nucleic acid of sizes 100kb, 150kb, 500kb or length longer than 100kb, >300bps (reads on size and MW of the nucleic acid), wherein the nucleic acid is stabilized in a hydrogel microsphere, comprising the steps of combining a nucleic acid, provided in a carrier, such as cell, with an aqueous polymer solution, such as alginate; gelling the polymer solution to form a hydrogel comprising the nucleic acid and manipulating/ modifying the nucleic acid in the hydrogel, such as amplification, making sequencing library. Thus, with the guidance provided by the cited prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that alginate may be used as a polymer to make hydrogel as suggested by the cited prior art.
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ process.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Khurana discloses a method of obtaining long manipulated nucleic acid, with example of nucleic acid of sizes 100kb, 150kb, 500kb or length longer than 100kb, >300bps (reads on size and MW of the nucleic acid), wherein the nucleic acid is stabilized in a hydrogel microsphere,, comprising the steps of combining a nucleic acid, provided in a carrier, such as cell, with an aqueous polymer solution, such as alginate; gelling the polymer solution to form a hydrogel comprising the nucleic acid and manipulating/ modifying the nucleic acid in the hydrogel, such as amplification, making sequencing library.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that alginate may be used for making hydrogel and can be made by teachings of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and to make the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendment, filed on 05/12/2026, have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
Applicant argue over rejection under 102 that Khurana does not disclose the step of dissolving the hydrogel and making manipulated nucleic acid of 100Kb.
This is not found persuasive and the instant claims stand rejected. This is because Khurana teaches the step of dissolving the hydrogel using same monovalent ion and temperature conditions as in the instant claims 1 and 27. Additionally, Khurana teaches making manipulated nucleic acid of 100Kb.
Khurana discloses a method of obtaining long manipulated nucleic acid, with example of nucleic acid of sizes 100kb, 150kb, 500kb or length longer than 100kb, >300bps (reads on size and MW of the nucleic acid) using a hydrogel, wherein the nucleic acid is stabilized in a hydrogel microsphere, comprising the steps of combining a nucleic acid (DNA, RNA), provided in a carrier, such as cell, with an aqueous polymer solution, such as alginate; gelling the polymer solution to form a hydrogel comprising the nucleic acid; and manipulating/ modifying the nucleic acid in the hydrogel, such as lysing cell with a lysing agent to release nucleic acid, amplification, making sequencing library, loading on a sequencer flow cell; dissolving the hydrogel/ degrading the hydrogel using reducing agents such as strong base comprising sodium ion (monovalent ion) at room temp (i.e., 20-25C, which is lower than 45C) or in absence of any agent by elevating the temperature such as 50C etc.; obtaining long manipulated nucleic acid, with example of nucleic acid of sizes 100kb, 150kb, 500kb or length longer than 100kb (entire application, especially, abstract, Pages 17-19, 24, 25, 29, 30, 33, 39, 40, 44, 45, 47, 48, 50-63 examples, especially examples 1-11, and claims).
The cited prior art further teaches addition of a sequencing buffer, and sequencing the manipulated nucleic acid library (entire application, especially, abstract, Pages 17-19, 24, 25, 29, 30, 33, 39, 40, 44, 45, 47, 48, 50-63 examples, especially examples 1-11, and claims).
Applicant argue over rejection under 103 that Khurana is concerned with conventional short read nucleic acid fragments of about 150-400 nucleotides. Applicant further argue that Khurana does not disclose the step of dissolving the hydrogel at temperature below 45C and in fact teaches dissolving hydrogel above 80 or 90C.
This is not found persuasive and the instant claims stand rejected. This is because Khurana’s mentioning of nucleic acid of size 150-400 nucleotides, does not precludes the teaching of Khurana a method of obtaining long manipulated nucleic acid, with example of nucleic acid of sizes 100kb, 150kb, 500kb or length longer than 100kb, >300bps (reads on size and MW of the nucleic acid), using a hydrogel, wherein the nucleic acid is stabilized in a hydrogel microsphere, comprising the steps of combining a nucleic acid (DNA, RNA), provided in a carrier, such as cell, with an aqueous polymer solution, such as alginate; gelling the polymer solution to form a hydrogel comprising the nucleic acid; and manipulating/ modifying the nucleic acid in the hydrogel, such as lysing cell with a lysing agent to release nucleic acid, amplification, making sequencing library, loading on a sequencer flow cell; dissolving the hydrogel/ degrading the hydrogel using reducing agents such as strong base comprising sodium ion (monovalent ion) at room temp (i.e., 20-25C, which is lower than 45C) or in absence of any agent by elevating the temperature such as 50C etc.; obtaining long manipulated nucleic acid, with example of nucleic acid of sizes 100kb, 150kb, 500kb or length longer than 100kb (entire application, especially, abstract, Pages 17-19, 24, 25, 29, 30, 33, 39, 40, 44, 45, 47, 48, 50-63 examples, especially examples 1-11, and claims).
Further, Khurana does teaches the step of dissolving the hydrogel using same monovalent ion and temperature conditions below 45C as in the instant claims 1 and 27. Khurana’s additional teaching of dissolving hydrogel by increasing the temperature to 50C or higher does not preclude Khurana’s teaching of dissolving the hydrogel using same monovalent ion and temperature conditions below 45C.
Conclusion
No Claim is allowed.
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623