DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication filed 13 March 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species II Subspecies II in the reply filed on 7 January 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant did not present remarks or argument regarding the allowability of claims 2-8 aside from their dependency from independent claim 1. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 2-8, in view of the below rejection based on prior art not previously applied in the prior rejection, are also moot and unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 3-5 are withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Publication No. WO2020188959A1 (published Sept. 24, 2020) (hereinafter “Kawata”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0127154 (filed Sept. 27, 2019) (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kawata discloses: A photo detecting device (FIG. 6, detection device 1, Translation of WO2020188959A1 at 2), comprising:
a plurality of transistors provided above a substrate (FIGS. 5/6, depicting a plurality of switching elements Tr above a substrate 21, Translation of WO2020188959A1 at 2-3);
a plurality of photodiodes arranged above the plurality of transistors (FIGS. 5/6, depicting a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements PD arranged above the plurality of switching elements Tr, Translation of WO2020188959A1 at 2);
a lower electrode (FIG. 6, detection electrode 35, Translation of WO2020188959A1 at 2) provided between the substrate and the photodiodes in a direction orthogonal to a surface of the substrate (FIG. 6, depicting wherein the detection electrode 35 is provided between the substrate 21 and the photoelectric conversion element PD); and
an upper electrode provided above the photodiodes (FIG. 6, counter electrode 36, Translation of WO2020188959A1 at 2),
wherein the lower electrode of the photodiode is electrically coupled to each of the transistors through a contact hole (FIG. 6, depicting wherein the detection electrode 35 is electrically coupled to the switching element Tr through a contact hole H3, Translation of WO2020188959A1 at 6),
each of the photodiodes comprises an active layer (FIG. 6, depicting wherein the photoelectric conversion element PD comprises a semiconductor layer 31),
a first carrier transport layer provided between the active layer and the lower electrode (FIGS. 6/7, buffer layer 37 provided between the semiconductor layer 31 and the detection electrode 35, Translation of WO2020188959A1 at 9), and
a second carrier transport layer provided between the active layer and the upper electrode (FIGS. 6/7, buffer layer 38 provided between the semiconductor layer 31 and the counter electrode 36, Translation of WO2020188959A1 at 9), and
a thickness of the first carrier transport layer is smaller than a thickness of the lower electrode (FIGS. 6/7, depicting wherein the thickness of the buffer layer 37 is smaller than a thickness of the detection electrode 35).
Kawata does not specifically disclose a first inorganic insulating film that is provided between the substrate and the photodiodes in a direction orthogonal to a surface of the substrate, wherein the first inorganic insulating film is provided between the lower electrode and the first carrier transport layer, the first inorganic insulating film includes a first part and a second part that is apart from the first part, the first part of the first inorganic insulating film covers at least an end on an outer edge side of the lower electrode, and the second part of the first inorganic insulating film is provided so as to cover an entirety of a bottom surface and an inner side surface of the contact hole, when viewed from the direction orthogonal to the surface of the substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a first inorganic insulating film (FIGS. 1/4/6, clad layer 228, [0104]) that is provided between a substrate and a photodiode in a direction orthogonal to a surface of the substrate (FIGS. 1/4/6, depicting wherein the clad layer 228 is provided between the array substrate 201 and the PIN layer 232 in a direction orthogonal to a surface of the array substrate 201), wherein the first inorganic insulating film is provided between a lower electrode and a first carrier transport layer (FIGS. 1/4/6, depicting wherein the clad layer 228 is provided between the electrode 231 and either of the P type or N type semiconductor layers of the PIN layer 232), the first inorganic insulating film includes a first part and a second part that is apart from the first part (FIGS. 1/4/6, depicting wherein the clad layer 228 includes a first part and a second part that is separated from the first part such that it is apart from the first part), the first part of the first inorganic insulating film covers at least an end on an outer edge side of the lower electrode (FIGS. 1/4/6, depicting wherein the first part of the clad layer 228 covers an outer edge side of the electrode 231), and the second part of the first inorganic insulating film is provided so as to cover an entirety of a bottom surface and an inner side surface of the contact hole, when viewed from the direction orthogonal to the surface of the substrate (FIGS. 1/4/6, depicting wherein the second part of the clad layer 228 covers an entirety of a bottom surface and an inner side surface of the contact hole 226a/227a). Regarding the clad layer configuration, in [0113], Lee states: “the contact hole region of the third electrode 231 overlying or corresponding to the third contact hole 226 a of the first planarization layer 226 is additionally covered with the clad layer 228 made of an inorganic material. Thus, the leakage current may be reduced by improving the step coverage of the PIN layer 232 and allowing the concentration of the electric field into the contact hole region to be reduced.” Lee further states in [0126]: “Thus, the clad layer 228 according to the present disclosure is formed between the third electrode 231 and the PIN layer 232 to cover the edge region and/or the contact hole region of the third electrode 231, such that the step coverage of the PIN layer 232 may be improved.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed detection device of Kawata by adding the clad layer of Lee in order to improve step coverage and reduce leakage current in the detection device. See Lee [0113], [0126].
Moreover, addition of the clad layer of Lee would result in a configuration wherein a first inorganic insulating film (Lee FIGS. 1/4/6, clad layer 228, [0104]) is provided between a substrate and a photodiode in a direction orthogonal to a surface of the substrate (Lee FIGS. 1/4/6; Kawata FIGS. 6/7; depicting wherein the clad layer 228 would be provided between the substrate 21 and the photoelectric conversion element PD), wherein the first inorganic insulating film is provided between a lower electrode and a first carrier transport layer (Lee FIGS. 1/4/6; Kawata FIGS. 6/7; depicting wherein the clad layer 228 would be provided between the detection electrode 35 and the buffer layer 37), the first inorganic insulating film includes a first part and a second part that is apart from the first part (Lee FIGS. 1/4/6; depicting wherein the clad layer 228 includes a first part and a second part that is separated from the first part such that it is apart from the first part), the first part of the first inorganic insulating film covers at least an end on an outer edge side of the lower electrode (Lee FIGS. 1/4/6; Kawata FIGS. 6/7; depicting wherein the first part of the clad layer 228 would cover an outer edge side of the detection electrode 35), and the second part of the first inorganic insulating film is provided so as to cover an entirety of a bottom surface and an inner side surface of the contact hole, when viewed from the direction orthogonal to the surface of the substrate (Lee FIGS. 1/4/6; Kawata FIGS. 6/7; depicting wherein the second part of the clad layer 228 would cover an entirety of a bottom surface and an inner side surface of the contact hole H3)
Regarding claim 2, Kawata in view of Lee further discloses wherein the first inorganic insulating film covers an upper surface of the lower electrode (Lee FIGS. 1/4/6; Kawata FIGS. 6/7; depicting wherein the clad layer 228 would cover an upper surface of the detection electrode 35), and has at least one opening in an area overlapping the upper surface of the lower electrode (Lee FIGS. 1/4/6; Kawata FIGS. 6/7; depicting wherein the clad layer 228 includes an opening, which would overlap an upper surface of the detection electrode 35), and the first carrier transport layer is coupled to the lower electrode through the opening or openings of the first inorganic insulating film (Lee FIGS. 1/4/6; Kawata FIGS. 6/7; depicting wherein the clad layer 228 includes an opening, wherein the buffer layer 37 would be coupled to the detection electrode 35 through the opening).
Regarding claim 3, Kawata in view of Lee further discloses an organic insulating film that covers the transistors (Kawata FIGS. 6/7, organic insulating layer 23a, Translation of WO2020188959A1 at 6), wherein the lower electrode of the photodiode is provided above the organic insulating film, and the contact hole is provided in the organic insulating film (Kawata FIGS. 6/7, depicting wherein the detection electrode 35 is provided above the organic insulating layer 23a, and further wherein the contact hole H3 is provided in the organic insulating layer 23a).
Regarding claim 4, Kawata in view of Lee further discloses wherein the lower electrode and the second part of the first inorganic insulating film are provided so as to cover the bottom surface and the inner side surface of the contact hole (Lee FIGS. 1/4/6; Kawata FIGS. 6/7, depicting wherein the second part of the clad layer 228 and the detection electrode 35 are provided so as to cover a bottom surface and an inner side surface of the contact hole H3).
Regarding claim 5, Kawata does not specifically disclose a second inorganic insulating film provided above the organic insulating film, wherein the organic insulating film, the second inorganic insulating film, the lower electrode, the first inorganic insulating film, and the photodiode are stacked in this order in the direction orthogonal to the substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a second inorganic insulating film (FIGS. 1/4/6, protective layer 227, [0068]) provided above the organic insulating film (FIGS. 1/4/6, depicting wherein the protective layer 227 is provided above the planarization layer 226), wherein the organic insulating film, the second inorganic insulating film, the lower electrode, the first inorganic insulating film, and the photodiode are stacked in this order in the direction orthogonal to the substrate (FIGS. 1/4/6, depicting wherein the planarization layer 226, the protective layer 227, the clad layer 228, and the PIN layer 232 are stacked in this order in a direction orthogonal to the array substrate 201). Regarding the protective layer, in [0068], Lee states: “On the first planarization layer 226, a first protective layer 227 may be formed, which is an inorganic layer made of an inorganic material. The first protective layer 227 protects the underlying thin-film transistor 220, particularly the active layer 221.” Lee further states in [0071]: “Further, the first protective layer 227 made of an inorganic material may further facilitate the adhesion between organic planarization layers.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed detection device of Kawata by adding the protective layer of Lee in order to protect the underlying TFT and facilitate adhesion between the various layers. See Lee [0068], [0071].
Moreover, addition of the clad layer of Lee would result in a configuration wherein a second inorganic insulating film is provided above the organic insulating film (Lee FIGS. 1/4/6; Kawata FIGS. 6/7; depicting wherein the protective layer 227 would be provided above the organic insulating layer 23a), wherein the organic insulating film, the second inorganic insulating film, the lower electrode, the first inorganic insulating film, and the photodiode are stacked in this order in the direction orthogonal to the substrate (Lee FIGS. 1/4/6; Kawata FIGS. 6/7; depicting wherein the organic insulating layer 23a, the detection electrode 35, the clad layer 228, and the photoelectric conversion element PD would be stacked in this order in a direction orthogonal to the substrate 21).
Regarding claim 6, Kawata in view of Lee further discloses wherein the first carrier transport layer is an electron transport layer (Translation of WO2020188959A1 at 10: “The buffer layer 37 functions as an electron transport layer (or a hole block layer), and the buffer layer 38 functions as a hole transport layer (electron block layer).”), and the second carrier transport layer is a hole transport layer (Translation of WO2020188959A1 at 10: “The buffer layer 37 functions as an electron transport layer (or a hole block layer), and the buffer layer 38 functions as a hole transport layer (electron block layer).”).
Regarding claim 7, Kawata in view of Lee does not specifically disclose in the FIG. 6/7 embodiment wherein the first carrier transport layer is a hole transport layer, and the second carrier transport layer is an electron transport layer.
Kawata, however, states: “In the present embodiment, the detection electrode 35 is the anode and the counter electrode 36 is the cathode, but the opposite configuration, that is, the detection electrode 35 may be the cathode and the counter electrode 36 may be the anode.” Translation of WO2020188959A1 at 8. In the opposite configuration contemplated by Kawata, wherein the detection electrode 35 is the cathode and the counter electrode 36 is the anode, the buffer layer configuration would also be switched, such that the buffer layer 37 would function as a hole transport layer and the buffer layer 38 would function as an electron transport layer in order to facilitate transport of electrons or holes from the cathode and the anode through the device. Translation of WO2020188959A1 at 10: “The buffer layers 37 and 38 are provided so that the holes and electrons generated in the active layer 34 can easily reach the detection electrode 35 or the counter electrode 36.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the FIG. 6/7 embodiment of Kawata such that, as expressly contemplated in Kawata, a configuration wherein the detection electrode 35 may be the cathode and the counter electrode 36 may be the anode is substituted for the configuration disclosed in FIGS. 6 and 7. The Examiner respectfully asserts that there would be a reasonable expectation of success in making the modification, such that the buffer layer configuration would also be switched, such that the buffer layer 37 would function as a hole transport layer and the buffer layer 38 would function as an electron transport layer in order to facilitate transport of electrons or holes from the cathode and the anode through the device.
Regarding claim 8, Kawata in view of Lee further discloses wherein an entire area of a lower surface of the second part of the first inorganic insulating layer (Lee FIGS. 1/4/6, clad layer 228) is in contact with an upper surface of the lower electrode (Lee FIGS. 1/4/6; Kawata FIGS. 6/7; depicting wherein an entire area of a lower surface of the second part of the clad layer 228 would be in contact with an upper surface of the detection electrode 35).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813