DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 19 and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-13 and 19-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US Pub. 20230319658) in view of Belghould (US Pub. 2020/0008007).
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses a device, comprising:
a processing system including a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system (par.043, 086) facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining at least one message from a first network device (par.016 “a SIB broadcast by a base station”);
extracting from the at least one message an identifier of a first network associated with the first network device (par.016 “a cell identifier”);
extracting from the at least one message a value of a parameter indicative of a first frequency band that is available from the first network device (par.009 “One or more bands of frequencies advertised by a base station……may include newly available frequencies”);
determining, based on the value, that the device is non-compliant with a specification associated with the first frequency band in the first network (par.009 “the second subset of frequencies that may not be supported by all legacy UEs”); and
based on the determining, storing the identifier of the first network in relation to the parameter (par.027 “The listing of barred TAC and frequency band combinations may be maintained by the UE for an extended period of time”, par.039 “entries stored in the UE barred list”), resulting in stored frequency band information (fig.2 element 210);
deciding, based on the stored frequency band information, to refrain from tracking for availability of the first frequency band (fig.2 steps 204-214);
subsequent to the storing and the deciding (par.049 “at block 210, add an entry into a UE barred list”), obtaining a second message from a second network device that is associated with a second frequency band within the second network; and
based on the obtaining of the second message, obtaining at least a portion of a communication service from the second network device using the first frequency band (par.039 “a subsequent SIB 190 from the base station 130”, par.040 “a subsequent SIB 192 from the base station 150”), the portion including a conveyance of data as part of a communication session involving the device (par.041 “perform other actions associated with efforts to establish communications with other cells in the tracking area 110”, par.046 “successfully camp on the cell associated with the SIB and/or communicate with that cell’s base station”, par.060 “also store one or more applications configured to receive and/or provide voice, data and messages”).
Lu discloses tracking frequency band (fig.2 element 204). However, Lu does not mention scanning and all networks associated with the core network.
Belghould discloses a list of available network neighbor cells and/or frequencies for which the device may scan (par.159) and all networks associated with the core network (par.0146). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Lu with the above teaching of Belghould in order to enhancements for mobile devices to transition between operating on major/subscriber cellular networks and private and/or CBRS networks.
Regarding claims 2 and 25, the modified Lu discloses obtaining at least another portion of the communication service via a second frequency band, wherein the second frequency band is different from the first frequency band (Lu, par.011).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Lu discloses 3. the first frequency band includes frequencies within a range from 3.45GHz to 3.55GHz (Lu, par.011).
Regarding claims 4 and 24, the modified Lu discloses the second frequency band includes frequencies within a range from 3.7GHz to 3.98GHz (Lu, par.011).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Lu discloses the storing of the identifier comprises storing the identifier in the memory (Lu, par.016 “cell identifier”, “sub-band identifier”).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Lu discloses subsequent to the storing, obtaining a third message from a second network device associated with the first network; extracting from the third message the identifier of the first network; and determining, based on the extracting of the identifier of the first network from the third message (Lu, par.033 “a cell ID”, par.015 “SIB3”) and the storing of the identifier of the first network in relation to the parameter, that the device is not to receiving (Lu, fig.2 elements 208, 214) for an availability of the first frequency band from the second network device (Lu, par.034-035 “SIB 170”, “SIB 190”).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Lu discloses based on the determining that the device is not to scan for the availability of the first frequency band from the third network device (fig.1 elements 120, 130, 140, 150, 162), scanning for an availability of a second frequency band from the third network device, the second frequency band being different from the first frequency band (Lu, par.015 “NodeB…..Long Term Evolution LTE or New Radio NR ….SIB1, SIB2, SIB3”).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Lu discloses obtaining of the third message (Lu, par.015 “SIB3”) from the third network device (Lu, par.015 “NodeB…..Long Term Evolution LTE or New Radio NR ….SIB1, SIB2, SIB3”, fig.1 elements 120, 130, 140, 150, 162) is based at least in part on the device moving from a first location at a first point in time to a second location at a second point in time, and wherein the second location is different from the first location and the second point in time is different from the first point in time (Lu, par.017 “mobile country code”, mobile network code”, par.025 “a UE moves from one cell to another cell”).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Lu discloses the second network corresponds to a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) for the device (Lu, par.016-017 “PLMN identifier…..a particular country and mobile network code MNC”).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Lu discloses first network device is operative in accordance with a plurality of technologies (Lu, par.021 “E-UTRA operating band, LTE operating band, NR operating band”).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Lu discloses the plurality of technologies includes Long Term Evolution (LTE) technology and 5G New Radio (NR) technology (Lu, par.021 “E-UTRA operating band, LTE operating band, NR operating band”).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Lu discloses obtaining a second portion of the communication service via a first technology included in the plurality of technologies; and obtaining a third portion of the communication service via a second technology included in the plurality of technologies, the second technology being different from the first technology (Lu, par.015 “par.015 “NodeB…..Long Term Evolution LTE or New Radio NR ….SIB1, SIB2, SIB3”).
Regarding claim 19, Lu discloses a method, comprising:
obtaining, by a processing system including a processor (par.043), a first broadcast message, wherein the first broadcast message includes a value for a parameter associated with a first frequency band (par.044); determining, by the processing system and based on the value, that the processing system is not configured to use the first frequency band as part of communications in a network (par.046 “the frequency band and TAC….do not correspond to one or more entries in the UE’s barred list”); and subsequent to the determining, the processing system refraining (fig.2 elements 208, 214) from receiving for an availability of the first frequency band within the first network (par.009).
Lu discloses tracking frequency band (fig.2 element 204). However, Lu does not mention scanning and all networks associated with the core network.
Belghould discloses a list of available network neighbor cells and/or frequencies for which the device may scan (par.159) and all networks associated with the core network (par.0146). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Lu with the above teaching of Belghould in order to enhancements for mobile devices to transition between operating on major/subscriber cellular networks and private and/or CBRS networks.
The modified Lu discloses subsequent to the obtaining of the first broadcast message, a second broadcast message in association with a second network that is different from the first network, wherein the second broadcast message includes the value for the parameter associated with the first frequency band; and based on the obtaining of the second broadcast message, obtaining at least a portion of a communication service via the second network using the first frequency band (Lu, par.039 “a subsequent SIB 190 from the base station 130”, par.040 “a subsequent SIB 192 from the base station 150”).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Lu discloses storing, by the processing system and based on the determining, an identifier of the network, wherein the refraining from scanning for the availability of the first frequency band is based on the storing of the identifier (Lu, par.027 “The listing of barred TAC and frequency band combinations may be maintained by the UE for an extended period of time”).
Regarding claim 21, the modified Lu discloses receiving, from the second user equipment and based on the transmitting of the fourth message, a fifth message requesting at least the second portion of the second communication service via the first frequency band in the second network (Lu, par.009 “UEs” reads on second user equipment, par.015 “par.015 “NodeB…..Long Term Evolution LTE or New Radio NR ….SIB1, SIB2, SIB3”, Fig.1 demonstrates at least four networks 120, 130, 140, 150 and list 162 of networks par.023-024).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Lu discloses causing of the second portion of the second communication service to be provided to the second user equipment via the first frequency band in the second network is based on the receiving of the fifth message (Lu, par.009 “UEs” reads on second user equipment, par.015 “par.015 “NodeB…..Long Term Evolution LTE or New Radio NR ….SIB1, SIB2, SIB3”, Fig.1 demonstrates at least four networks 120, 130, 140, 150 and list 162 of networks par.023-024).
Regarding claim 23, the modified Lu discloses everything as claim 1 above. More specifically, the modified Lu discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations (Lu par.043, 058), the operations comprising:
obtaining a message from an access network device (Lu, fig.2 element 202);
extracting from the message an identifier of a network associated with the access network device (Lu, fig.2 element 206);
extracting from the message a value of a parameter indicative of a first frequency band that is available from the access network device, wherein first frequency band corresponds to frequencies in a range from 3.45GHz to 3.55GHz (Lu, par.011);
determining, based on the value, non-compliance of a user equipment with a specification associated with the first frequency band in the network; based on the determining, storing the identifier of the network in relation to the parameter, resulting in stored frequency band information (Lu, fig.2 elements 210); and
scanning for availability of one or more second frequencies within the network, wherein the scanning excludes (Lu, fig.2 step 208 jump to step 214 is interpret as “scanning excludes”), based on the stored frequency band information, scanning for availability of the first frequency within the network (Lu, fig.2 elements 204, 210).
Regarding claim 26, the modified Lu discloses subsequent to the storing, obtaining a second message from a second access network device associated with the first network; extracting from the second message the identifier of the first network (Lu, par.039 “a subsequent SIB 190 from the base station 130”, par.040 “a subsequent SIB 192 from the base station 150”); and determining, based on the extracting of the identifier of the first network from the second message and the stored frequency band information, not to scan for an availability of the first frequency band from the second access network device (Lu, steps 210-212, the User is programmed/determined to terminate (read on “skip/refrain/exclude”) tracking (read on “scanning”) frequency band and jump to step 214).
Conclusion
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/TU X NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642