DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed with respect to the specification objections have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment. Accordingly, the previously set forth specification objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments. Accordingly, the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn. Please see below for new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) necessitated by amendment.
Applicant's arguments, filed with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are moot. Applicant’s arguments are directed at the current amendment. Applicant has amended the claims to present a new combination(s) of limitations for examination, necessitating the new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: first thermal storage device in claims 1, 4, 7-12, 13, 15, 17, 19-20 and second thermal storage device in claims 1, 4, 7-12, 13, 15, 17, 19-20.
In the case of the first thermal storage device, the corresponding structure can be found in par 0032: “such as a liquid reservoir for example”. In the case of the second thermal storage device the corresponding structure can be found in par 0032: “such as a vapor reservoir for example”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 7-12, 13, 15, 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claims 1 and 13, the limitation wherein “no conditioning of the thermal management fluid occurs between the condenser and the second thermal storage device” is not sufficiently supported by the disclosure since the scope of what is meant by “no conditioning” is unable to be determined as there is no mention of not having conditioning occur between the condenser and second thermal storage device. As such the limitation will be interpreted broadly. Claims 1 and 13 are therefore considered to add new matter.
Claims 4, 7-12, 15, 17, 19-20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claims 1, 4, 7-12, 13, 15, 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second thermal storage device" in line 10 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that “the second thermal storage device” may be in error for –the first thermal storage device--. In view of the 112(a) issues the limitation will be interpreted broadly and ‘wherein no conditioning of the thermal management fluid occurs between the condenser and the second thermal storage device’ OR ‘wherein no conditioning of the thermal management fluid occurs between the condenser and the first thermal storage device’ in the prior art will be considered to meet the limitation.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "such that no conditioning of the thermal management fluid occurs between the condenser and the second thermal storage device being arranged directly upstream from the compressor relative to a flow of the thermal management fluid” is indefinite since it appears that the limitation is missing another instance of “second thermal storage device, such that the limitation should read --such that no conditioning of the thermal management fluid occurs between the condenser and the second thermal storage device and the second thermal storage device being arranged directly upstream from the compressor relative to a flow of the thermal management fluid--, in addition as stated in the rejection of claim 1 above, “the second thermal storage device” may be in error for –the first thermal storage device—in regards to -- such that no conditioning of the thermal management fluid occurs between the condenser and the second thermal storage device--. In view of the 112(a) issues the limitation will be interpreted broadly and ‘wherein no conditioning of the thermal management fluid occurs between the condenser and the second thermal storage device’ OR ‘wherein no conditioning of the thermal management fluid occurs between the condenser and the first thermal storage device’ in the prior art will be considered to meet the limitation.
Claims 4, 7-12, 15, 17, 19-20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN-107152890-A: previously cited) in view of Ito (US-20200116396-A1: previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a thermal management system for a directed energy weapon (Fig 1-3, abstract, par 0002) comprising:
a closed loop vapor compression system through which a thermal management fluid circulates (cooling system), the vapor compression system including a compressor (compressor #7), an expansion valve (throttling device #11), an evaporator (evaporator #5), the directed energy weapon being arranged in thermal communication with the evaporator (Fig 1 high-energy weapon #3 in communication with #5 in the bay #1 area);
wherein the expansion valve is adjustable to control a flow of the thermal management fluid provided to the evaporator in response to a mode of operation of the directed energy weapon (par 0028-0029, Fig 2 throttling device #11), the expansion valve being in an at least partially closed position when the directed energy weapon is in a charging mode (par 0029: #11 is closed in position when the load of the weapon #3 is small, i.e. a charging (not firing) mode. Note: a small thermal load corresponds to a state where the weapon is not in operation, as evidenced in par 0017: “…the impact of instantaneous thermal load when high-energy weapons are working”)) and the expansion valve being in a fully open position when the directed energy weapon is in a firing mode (par 0028: #11 is in open position when the weapon has large thermal load, i.e. in firing mode. Note: a large thermal load corresponds to a state where the weapon is in operation, see par 0017: “the impact of instantaneous thermal load when high-energy weapons are working”), wherein when the expansion valve is in the fully open position, the thermal management fluid provided to the evaporator is a liquid (in a vapor compression system the evaporator receives at minimum a liquid/vapor mixture, therefore at least a portion of water provided to #5 is a liquid).
Chen does not disclose the closed loop vapor compression system including a first thermal storage device arranged downstream from the condenser and upstream from the expansion valve relative to the flow of thermal management fluid, wherein no conditioning of the thermal management fluid occurs between the condenser and the second thermal storage device; a second thermal storage device arranged directly upstream from the compressor relative to a flow of thermal management fluid and wherein when the expansion valve is in the fully open position, vapor thermal management fluid is configured to accumulate within the at least one of the first thermal storage device and the second thermal storage device.
However, as evidenced by Ito, it is old and well-known for a closed loop vapor compression system to include a first thermal storage device arranged downstream from the condenser and upstream from the expansion valve relative to the flow of thermal management fluid (Ito Fig 5 see arrows directing flow, tank #24 is downstream from heat exchanger #14 and upstream of throttle device #25), wherein no conditioning of the thermal management fluid occurs between the condenser and the second thermal storage device (Ito Fig 5 there is no conditioning associated with expansion valves between accumulator #17 and heat exchanger #14), and a second thermal storage device (Ito Fig 1 and 5, accumulator #17) arranged directly upstream from the compressor relative to a flow of thermal management fluid (Ito Fig 5 see accumulator #17 upstream of compressor #12, see arrows depicting refrigerant flow) and wherein when the expansion valve is in the fully open position (Ito see Fig 5 first throttle device #25 and par 0058), vapor thermal management fluid is configured to accumulate within the at least one of the first thermal storage device and the second thermal storage device (Ito par 0031: accumulator 17 is configured to store the refrigerant).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Chen with a first thermal storage device arranged downstream from the condenser and upstream from the expansion valve relative to the flow of thermal management fluid, wherein no conditioning of the thermal management fluid occurs between the condenser and the second thermal storage device; a second thermal storage device arranged directly upstream from the compressor relative to a flow of thermal management fluid and wherein when the expansion valve is in the fully open position, vapor thermal management fluid is configured to accumulate within the at least one of the first thermal storage device and the second thermal storage device, since, as evidenced by Ito, such provision is old and well-known, and would provide the predictable benefit(s) of preventing liquid from entering the compressor and/or storing refrigerant that is not required to be in circulation for a current system demand.
Regarding claim 4, Chen further discloses wherein the thermal management fluid has a first flow rate when the expansion valve is in the at least partially closed position (Chen par 0029: since #11 is closed, the flow rate in branch #9 will be zero) and the thermal management fluid has a second flow rate when the expansion valve is in the fully open position, the second flow rate being greater than the first flow rate (Chen par 0028: since #11 is open, the flow rate in branch #9 will be greater than zero).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses wherein the evaporator further comprises an inlet and an outlet (Chen Fig 1 see arrow directing flow to an inlet of #5 and through an outlet of #5).
Chen does not disclose wherein the first thermal storage device is upstream from and is fluidly connected to and configured to provide thermal management fluid to the inlet of the evaporator.
However, as evidenced by Ito, it is old and well-known to wherein the first thermal storage device is upstream from and is fluidly connected to and configured to provide thermal management fluid to the inlet of the evaporator (Ito Fig 5 see arrows directing flow, tank #24 is upstream and provides fluid to an inlet of #16).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Chen with wherein the first thermal storage device is upstream from and is fluidly connected to and configured to provide thermal management fluid to the inlet of the evaporator, since, as evidenced by Ito, such provision is old and well-known, and would provide the predictable benefit(s) of storing refrigerant that is not required to be in circulation for a current system demand.
Regarding claim 8, Modified Chen further discloses wherein the thermal management fluid received within the first thermal storage device is a liquid (Ito Fig 5 #14 condenses the refrigerant and this liquid is collected in #24).
Regarding claim 9, Chen does not disclose a pump in fluid communication with the first thermal storage device, the pump being operable to move thermal management fluid from the first thermal storage device to the evaporator.
Ito further teaches a pump in fluid communication with the first thermal storage device (Ito Fig 7 pump #26 in communication with #24), the pump being operable to move thermal management fluid from the first thermal storage device to the evaporator (Ito Fig 7 see arrows directing fluid flow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Chen with a pump in fluid communication with the first thermal storage device, the pump being operable to move thermal management fluid from the first thermal storage device to the evaporator, as taught by Ito, as doing so would improve the system of Chen by performing a refrigerant circulation operation using a liquid pump while utilizing coldness of an external refrigerant, thus improving energy efficiency (Ito par 0040).
Regarding claim 10, Chen further discloses wherein the thermal management fluid is refrigerant (Chen par 0027: evidenced by “refrigerant pipeline”).
Regarding claim 11, Chen is silent regarding wherein the thermal management fluid is carbon dioxide.
Ito further teaches wherein the thermal management fluid is carbon dioxide (Ito par 00024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Chen with wherein the thermal management fluid is carbon dioxide, as taught by Ito, as doing so would improve the system of Chen by utilizing a refrigerant with a low global warming potential.
Regarding claim 12, Chen further discloses wherein the vapor compression cycle is sized based on an average cooling required for the directed energy weapon (Chen par 0007: Chen provides a modular sized system based on average cooling (between small load and high load of the weapon) by adjusting the operation of the compressor).
Claim(s) 13, 15, 17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN-107152890-A: previously cited) and further in view of Ito (US-20200116396-A1: previously cited).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses a method of operating a thermal management system for a directed energy weapon (Fig 1-3, abstract, par 0002), the method comprising:
circulating a thermal management fluid through a closed loop vapor compression system including an expansion valve and an evaporator (Fig 2 see arrows depicting circulation of refrigerant fluid through throttling device #11 and evaporator #5), the evaporator being in thermal communication with the directed energy weapon (Fig 1 high-energy weapon #3 in communication with #5 in the bay #1 area);
adjusting a position of the expansion valve between an at least partially closed position and a fully open position to control a flow of the thermal management fluid provided to the evaporator in response to a mode of operation of the directed energy weapon (par 0028-0029), the expansion valve being in the at least partially closed position when the directed energy weapon is in a charging mode (par 0029: #11 is closed in position when the load of the weapon #3 is small, i.e. a charging (not firing) mode. Note: a small thermal load corresponds to a state where the weapon is not in operation, as evidenced in par 0017: “…the impact of instantaneous thermal load when high-energy weapons are working”)) and the expansion valve being in the fully open position when the directed energy weapon is in a firing mode (par 0028: #11 is in open position when the weapon has large thermal load, i.e. in firing mode. Note: a large thermal load corresponds to a state where the weapon is in operation, see par 0017: “the impact of instantaneous thermal load when high-energy weapons are working”), wherein when the expansion valve is in the fully open position, the thermal management fluid provided to the evaporator is a liquid (in a vapor compression system the evaporator receives at minimum a liquid/vapor mixture, therefore at least a portion of water provided to #5 is a liquid).
Chen does not disclose accumulating thermal management fluid within at least one thermal storage device when the directed energy weapon is in the firing mode, wherein the at least one thermal storage device includes a first thermal storage device and a second thermal storage device, the first thermal storage device being arranged downstream from the condenser and upstream from the expansion valve relative to the flow of thermal management fluid such that no conditioning of the thermal management fluid occurs between the condenser and the second thermal storage device being arranged directly upstream from the compressor relative to a flow of the thermal management fluid.
However, as evidenced by Ito, it is old and well-known to employ a method of accumulating thermal management fluid within at least one thermal storage device (Ito Fig 5 see arrows directing flow to accumulator #17), wherein the at least one thermal storage device includes a first thermal storage device (Ito Fig 5 tank #24) and a second thermal storage device (Ito Fig 5 Ito accumulator #17), the first thermal storage device being arranged downstream from the condenser and upstream from the expansion valve relative to the flow of thermal management fluid (Ito Fig 5 see arrows directing flow, tank #24 is downstream from heat exchanger #14 and upstream of throttle device #25) such that no conditioning of the thermal management fluid occurs between the condenser and the second thermal storage device (Ito Fig 5 there is no conditioning associated with expansion valves between accumulator #17 and heat exchanger #14; see 112(b) section above: an instance of “second thermal storage device” has been added here for clarity) and the second thermal storage device being arranged directly upstream from the compressor relative to a flow of the thermal management fluid (Ito Fig 5 see accumulator #17 upstream of compressor #12, see arrows depicting refrigerant flow).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Chen with the method of accumulating thermal management fluid within a thermal storage device when the directed energy weapon is in the firing mode, wherein the thermal management fluid is a vapor accumulated within the thermal storage device and the thermal storage device is arranged directly upstream from the compressor relative to a flow of the thermal management fluid, since, as evidenced by Ito, such provision is old and well-known, and would provide the predictable benefit(s) of preventing liquid from entering the compressor. Examiner notes that the combination of Ito and Chen will meet the limitations regarding when the directed energy weapon is in the firing mode since Chen teaches that in the firing mode (i.e. load of weapon is large), the refrigeration system is in operation (Chen par 0028).
Regarding claim 15, Chen does not disclose accumulating thermal management fluid within the first thermal storage device when the directed energy weapon is in the charging mode, wherein the thermal management fluid accumulated within the first thermal storage device is a liquid.
However, as evidenced by Ito, it is old and well-known to employ a method of accumulating thermal management fluid within a first thermal storage device (Ito Fig 5 tank #24, par 0064), wherein the thermal management fluid accumulated within the first thermal storage device is a liquid (Ito #14 condenses the refrigerant and this liquid is collected in #24).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the method of Chen with accumulating thermal management fluid within the first thermal storage device when the directed energy weapon is in the charging mode, wherein the thermal management fluid accumulated within the first thermal storage device is a liquid, since, as evidenced by Ito, such provision is old and well-known, and would provide the predictable benefit(s) of storing refrigerant that is not required to be in circulation for a current system demand. Examiner notes that the combination of Ito and Chen will meet the limitations regarding when the directed energy weapon is in the charging mode since Chen teaches that even in the charging mode (i.e. load of weapon is small), the refrigeration system is still in operation (Chen par 0029) and therefore, with the teaching of Ito, the operation of the tank #24 will continue to operate and accumulate fluid.
Regarding claim 17, Chen does not disclose pumping the thermal management fluid from the first thermal storage device to the evaporator when the directed energy weapon is in the firing mode.
Ito teaches pumping the thermal management fluid from the first thermal storage device to the evaporator (Ito Fig 7 see arrows directing fluid flow via pump #26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the method of Chen with pumping the thermal management fluid from the first thermal storage device to the evaporator when the directed energy weapon is in the firing mode, as taught by Ito, as doing so would improve the method of Chen by performing a refrigerant circulation operation using a liquid pump while utilizing coldness of an external refrigerant, thus improving energy efficiency (Ito par 0040). Examiner notes that the combination of Ito and Chen will meet the limitations regarding when the directed energy weapon is in the firing mode since Chen teaches that in the firing mode (i.e. load of weapon is large), the refrigeration system is in operation (Chen par 0028).
Regarding claim 19, Chen further discloses wherein the thermal management fluid is refrigerant (Chen par 0027: evidenced by “refrigerant pipeline”).
Regarding claim 20, Chen is silent regarding wherein the thermal management fluid is carbon dioxide.
Ito teaches wherein the thermal management fluid is carbon dioxide (Ito par 00024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Chen with wherein the thermal management fluid is carbon dioxide, as taught by Ito, as doing so would improve the system of Chen by utilizing a refrigerant with a low global warming potential.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ESMERALDA ARREGUIN-MARTINEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/TAVIA SULLENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763