DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 3/20/26 in which claims 1-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly added amendment discloses “the circuitry is to generate, following exchange of one or more packet redirection capability advertising messages, information that is to be inserted into the one or more packets”. However, Chao et al clearly teaches wherein “the congestion status of the switch is inferred by: (a) repeatedly monitoring a number of packets received by the reservoir; (b) repeatedly calculating a rate of data detouring to the reservoir based on the monitored number of packets received by the reservoir” (See paragraph [0013]). Furthermore, Chao et al teaches “ the reservoir should intelligently schedule (or “pace”) sending the redirected and buffered packets back to the switch to minimize collision on return, and/or to mitigate traffic surge. The reservoir may infer or explicitly obtain current congestion status to help the pacing decisions” (See paragraph [0066-0068]). One with ordinary skill in the art can confidently conclude that Chao clearly teaches wherein the “the circuitry is to generate, following exchange of one or more packet redirection capability advertising messages, information that is to be inserted into the one or more packets” since Chao teaches monitoring the congestion status of the reservoir and the reservoir intelligently scheduling the packets based on congestion status by actively probing the switch (See paragraph [0066-0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-16 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2017/0289048 to Chao et al.
a. As per claim 1, Chao et al teaches an apparatus comprising: a switch comprising: circuitry to detect congestion at a target port and re-direct one or more packets directed to the target port to one or more other ports for re-circulation via one or more uncongested ports based on congestion at the target port (See paragraph [0050-005, 0054] and figure 6), wherein: the circuitry is to generate, following exchange of one or more packet redirection capability advertising messages (See paragraph [0013, 0066-0070], the reservoir should intelligently schedule (or “pace”) sending the redirected and buffered packets back to the switch to minimize collision on return, and/or to mitigate traffic surge. The reservoir may infer or explicitly obtain current congestion status to help the pacing decisions), information that is to be inserted into the one or more packets (See paragraph [0050, 0059, 0061], an output port selector 750 overwrites the output port if redirection is confirmed); and the information is to indicate that the one or more packets are to be re-sent to the switch (See paragraph [0012 and 0047], packets sent back to the switch are paced such that collisions and congestion at the switch output port is relieved).
b. As per claim 9, Chao et al teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising instructions stored thereon, that if executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: configure a switch to: detect congestion at a target port based on a level of fullness of one or more queues that provide packets to the target port and based on congestion at the target port (See paragraph [0050]), determines whether or not to redirect the packet based on a congestion level of a buffer associated with the output port) re-direct one or more packets directed to the target port to one or more other ports for re-circulation via one or more uncongested ports (See paragraph [0050-0051 and 0054] and figure 6); wherein: the switch is to generate, following exchange of one or more packet redirection capability advertising messages (See paragraph [0013, 0066-0070], the reservoir should intelligently schedule (or “pace”) sending the redirected and buffered packets back to the switch to minimize collision on return, and/or to mitigate traffic surge. The reservoir may infer or explicitly obtain current congestion status to help the pacing decisions), , information that is to be inserted into the one or more packets (See paragraph [0050, 0059, 0061], an output port selector 750 overwrites the output port if redirection is confirmed); and the information is to indicate that the one or more packets are to be re-sent to the switch (See paragraph [0012 and 0047], packets sent back to the switch are paced such that collisions and congestion at the switch output port is relieved).
c. As per claim 15, Chao et al teaches a method comprising: detecting congestion at a target port and re-direct one or more packets directed to the target port to one or more other ports for re-circulation via one or more uncongested ports based on congestion at the target port (See paragraph [0050-0051 and 0054]); wherein: the switch is to generate, following exchange of one or more packet redirection capability advertising messages(See paragraph [0013, 0066-0070], the reservoir should intelligently schedule (or “pace”) sending the redirected and buffered packets back to the switch to minimize collision on return, and/or to mitigate traffic surge. The reservoir may infer or explicitly obtain current congestion status to help the pacing decisions), information that is to be inserted into the one or more packets (See paragraph [0050, 0059, 0061], an output port selector 750 overwrites the output port if redirection is confirmed), and the information is to indicate that the one or more packets are to be re-sent to the switch (See paragraph [0012 and 0047], packets sent back to the switch are paced such that collisions and congestion at the switch output port is relieved).
d. As per claim 2, Chao et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chao et al teaches wherein the circuitry is to identify the target port in the re- directed one or more packets (See paragraph [0050 and figure 6).
e. As per claims 4, 12 and 18, Chao et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chao et al teaches wherein the one or more other ports are connected to one or more devices and wherein the one or more devices are to buffer the re-directed one or more packets (See paragraph [0051]).
f. As per claims 5, 13 and 19, Chao et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chao et al teaches wherein the one or more devices comprise one or more of: one or more network interface devices, one or more other ports accelerator devices, one or more storage devices, one or more memory devices, one or more host systems (See paragraph [0105]).
g. As per claim 6, Chao et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chao et al teaches wherein the one or more network interface devices includes one or more of: a network interface controller (NIC), a remote direct memory access (RDMA)-enabled NIC, SmartNIC, data processing unit (DPU), infrastructure processing unit (IPU), router, switch, or network-attached appliance (See paragraph [0033]).
7. As per claim 7, Chao et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chao et al teaches wherein the one or more devices are to transmit the re-directed one or more packets to the switch based on an indication from the switch (See paragraph [0051]).
h. As per claim 8, 14 and 20, Chao et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chao et al fails to teach wherein the switch is to receive the re-directed one or more packets and direct the re-directed one or more packets to the target port based on a congestion level of the target port (See paragraph [0051 and 0054]).
i. As per claims 10 and 16, Chao et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chao et al teaches comprising instructions stored thereon, that if executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: configure the switch to identify the target port in the re-directed one or more packets (See paragraph [0065]).
j. As per claim 21, Chao et al teaches an apparatus comprising: a switch comprising: circuitry to: based on receipt of an indication of congestion at a target port, provide at least one packet to a different port than a destination port of the at least one packet and direct the at least one packet to the target port, after transmission through the different port (See paragraph [0050-0051] and figure 6), determines whether or not to redirect the packet based on a congestion level of a buffer associated with the output port); wherein the circuitry is to generate, following exchange of one or more packet redirection capability advertising messages (See paragraph [0013, 0066-0070], the reservoir should intelligently schedule (or “pace”) sending the redirected and buffered packets back to the switch to minimize collision on return, and/or to mitigate traffic surge. The reservoir may infer or explicitly obtain current congestion status to help the pacing decisions), , information that is to be inserted into the at least one packet See paragraph [0050, 0059, 0061], an output port selector 750 overwrites the output port if redirection is confirmed); and the information is to indicate that the at least one packet is to be re-sent to the switch See paragraph [0012 and 0047], packets sent back to the switch are paced such that collisions and congestion at the switch output port is relieved).
k. As per claim 22, Chao et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chao et al teaches wherein the different port comprises a port with a lower congestion level than that of the target port (See paragraph [0051]).
l. As per claim 23, Chao et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chao et al teaches wherein the circuitry is to direct the at least one packet to the target port, after transmission through the different port and after receipt of the at least one packet from a device connected to the different port (See paragraph [0050-0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 3, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0289048 to Chao et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0065477 to White.
a. As per claims 3 and 17, Chao et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chao et al fails to teach wherein the circuitry is to transmit a congestion level indicator to the one or more other ports based on a congestion level of the target port.
White teaches wherein the circuitry is to transmit a congestion level indicator to the one or more other ports based on a congestion level of the target port (See paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of White in the claimed invention of Chao et al in order to optimize the selection of the targeted port.
b. As per claim 11, Chao et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chao et al fails to teach comprising instructions stored thereon, that if executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: configure the switch to transmit a congestion level indicator to the one or more other ports based on a congestion level of the target port.
White teaches comprising instructions stored thereon, that if executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: configure the switch to transmit a congestion level indicator to the one or more other ports based on a congestion level of the target port (See paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of White in the claimed invention of Chao et al in order to optimize the selection of the targeted port.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 9,473408 to Kabbani et al teaches routing with congestion reduction.
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444