DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks filed on 12 November 2025 in which claims 31 and 34 were amended to change the scope and breadth of the claims.
Claims 31, 32 and 34-50 are pending in the current application and are examined on the merits herein.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s amendment, filed 12 November 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 32 and 34 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), second paragraph, for indefiniteness, has been fully considered and is persuasive because the claim as amended more specifically claims the subject matter disclosed and supported in Applicant’s Specification.
Applicant’s amendment, filed 12 November 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 31-37 and 40-50 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hughes et al. as evidenced by NCT01218659 Clinical Trials Register (ATTRACT study), has been fully considered and is persuasive because claim 31 has been amended to recite “without instructing the patient before the treatment is initiated to use effective birth control during the treatment”. The rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, filed 12 November 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 31, 32, 34-37 and 40-50 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes et al. in view of Holmes et al. and further in view of Galafold Summary of Product Characteristics, has been fully considered and is persuasive because claim 31 has been amended to recite “without instructing the patient before the treatment is initiated to use effective birth control during the treatment”. The rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, filed 12 November 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 31, 32, and 34-50 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes et al. in view of Castelli et al., has been fully considered and is persuasive because claim 31 has been amended to recite “without instructing the patient before the treatment is initiated to use effective birth control during the treatment”. The rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
The recitation “wherein the patient becomes pregnant during the treatment” in newly amended claim 32 does not change the patient population treated in the active step. According to the Specification “becomes pregnant” is defined where a patient may or may not be aware that they have become pregnant. There is no active step of testing for pregnancy, etc. Thus, this wherein limitation has no effect on the active steps performed.
The recitation “wherein the patient’s pregnancy results in a birth of a child having a gestational age of at least 37 weeks” in present claim 35 does not affect the positively recited steps. The same rational applies to present claims 36 and 37.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment, see pages 6-8, filed 12 November 2025, with respect to the rejection of the claims over Hughes et al. as noted above have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Castelli et al.
New Rejections
The following are new ground(s) or modified rejections necessitated by Applicant's amendment, filed on 12 November 2025, where the limitations in pending claims 31 and 34 as amended now have been changed. Therefore, rejections from the previous Office Action, dated 12 May 2025, have been modified and are listed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-32 and 35-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Castelli et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0324839, cited in previous Office Action).
Castelli et al. disclose a method of treating Fabry disease in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient a formulation comprising an effective amount of 1-deoxy-galactonojirimycin (i.e. migalastat) or salt thereof every other day, wherein the effective amount is about 123 mg free base equivalent (claim 14). The patient is administered about 150 mg migalastat hydrochloride every other day (claim 17). The migalastat enhances α-galactosidase A activity (hereinafter: α-GAL).
In an in vitro study, Castelli et al. found cells corresponding to late-onset Fabry disease exhibited an increase in α-GAL enzymatic activity following treatment (para [0383]). “20 of the 75 cell lines expressed a missense mutation corresponding to later-onset Fabry disease. Of these 20 cell lines, 19 (95%) displayed an increase in α-GAL activity following treatment.”.
In example 6, nine female patients with Fabry disease were administered migalastat hydrochloride (para [0334]-[0380]). The female patients were randomized to receive one of three dosages: 50, 150 or 250 mg Q.O.D. for 12 weeks (Group D)(Fig.8). Some male patients were treated for 24 weeks (fig. 8). The patients treated displayed classic and late-stage Fabry disease, and are 17-65 years in age (i.e. female patient of childbearing potential), (fig. 8).
In example 6, Castelli et al. is silent with respect to whether the patient is pregnant when treatment is initiated. Thus, it can be assumed the patient is not pregnant. Or, alternatively, the disclosure of Castelli et al. encompasses both pregnant and non-pregnant females. One of ordinary skill in the art could at once envisage both patients.
The recitation “wherein the patient becomes pregnant during the treatment” in present claim 32 is not an active method step, and is not a result of performing the active step of claim 31. It also does not further limit the patient population recited in claim 31 where the active step was performed.
Thus, the disclosure of Castelli et al. anticipates claims 31-32 and 35-44 of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-32 and 34-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castelli et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0324839, cited in previous Office Action) in view of Holmes et al. (JMID Reports, 2015, pp. 57-63, cited in previous Office Action)
Castelli et al. teach as discussed above.
Castelli et al. do not expressly disclose “and the patient becomes pregnant during the treatment” (present claim 32). Castelli et al. do not expressly disclose discontinuing treatment upon identification of the patient’s pregnancy (present claim 34).
Holmes et al. teach Fabry-related symptoms and features may worsen during pregnancy, including gastrointestinal symptoms, arcoparesthesias, proteinuria, headaches, and postpartum depression (abstract). Based on the retrospective review, Holmes et al. conclude pregnant women affected by Fabry disease do not have life-threatening complications but may experience worsening of specific disease symptoms (p.63, Synopsis). Holmes et al. teach “Of course, these women may require a change in therapeutic regime and consultation with a genetic counselor or teratogen service as some medications used to treat symptoms may have a teratogenic effect” (p.62, , third para). With respect to enzyme replacement therapy (ERT), Holmes et al. teach “the decision to continue therapy must be made on an individual basis in cooperation with a team experienced with treatment of FD” (p.62, fourth para).
From Holmes et al., the ordinary artisan would have known women having Fabry disease are capable of becoming pregnant. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to discontinue migalastat treatment if the patient becomes pregnant because Holmes et al. teach pregnant women may need to change therapies, continue therapy and/or stop any ongoing treatment, since some medications may cause birth defects.
Neither Castelli et al. nor Holmes et al. teach instructing women to use effective birth control during treatment.
The duration of treatment taught by Castelli et al. of 12-24 weeks overlaps with the lengths of time recited in present claims 42-50.
The recitation “wherein the patient’s pregnancy results in a birth of a child having a gestational age of at least 37 weeks” in present claim 35 does not affect the positively recited steps. The same rational applies to present claims 36 and 37.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Conclusion
In view of the rejections to the pending claims set forth above, no claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAHAR CRAIGO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1699