Status of Claims
Currently claims 1-6, 8-20 are pending and claims 1, 13, and 19 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmann (U.S. 2021/0228926) in view of LI (U.S. 2020/0197735) and Wertsberger (U.S. 2018/0200552)
With respect to claims 1 and 13, Hofmann discloses a fire detection and suppression system/ a method of operating a fire detection and suppression system comprising:
a fire suppression system comprising a plurality of nozzles (3a-3e) configured to suppress a hazard condition in an area (abstract, figure 5), the area comprising a plurality of zones (as shown in figures 5-8, where the area has respective zones, abstract) at least one first nozzle of the plurality of nozzles associated with a first zone of the plurality of zones (see figure 5), at least one second nozzle of the plurality of nozzles associated with a second zone of the plurality of zones that is adjacent to the fist zone (see figure 5, noting adjacent such that there is overlap);
a temperature sensor (sensor 7, paragraphs 0072-0073, which has sensor components 5a-5c, abstract) configured to measure a zone temperature for each of the plurality of zones (abstract, the zones associated with the fire locator device 7);
a controller (9) configured to:
receive the zone temperatures from the temperature sensor for each of the plurality of zones (abstract and paragraph 0077);
determine, based on at least a portion of the zone temperatures (as the zones are shown in figure 1, there being two zones on the floor, each zone having a portion shown as the grid system, 17), a characteristic value for a first zone of the plurality of zones (being the temperature of the portion of 17 that falls within a first zone of the plurality of zones, understood being the temperature value of the first zones area in the plurality of zones, where the zone temperature is taken as the whole zones temperature the characteristic value is understood being a portion of that zones temperature, this could also be taken as a change in the value for the portion of the first zone that an element such as 107 is located, where 107 would have a different temperature associated with it then the surrounding, paragraph 0095)
detect a hazard condition in a first zone of the plurality of zones based on the zone temperature for the first zone (a fire, abstract, paragraph 0077, being a temperature that exceeds a predefined or definable threshold) and the characteristic value (being the characteristic value of a portion of the zone, such as where 107 is located, being a different heat source within the room as well); and
activate in response to detecting the hazard condition in the first zone the at least first nozzle associated with the first zone (paragraph 0119-0121, where the noted firefighting device is activated in the zone where the fire has been located). Hoffman fails to disclose the hazard condition indicating a fire is likely to occur, rather disclosing a fire is occurring, further failing to show while a zone temperature for the second zone indicates a lack of a hazard condition in the second zone, the at least first nozzle associated with the first zone and the at least one second nozzle associated with the second zone.
LI discloses, paragraph 0032, utilizing symptoms (such as temperature) to indicate a fire will occur to release a medium before the fire occurs as a realize cooling, flame retardant and explosion suppression, both preventing the fire from occurring and persevering equipment to minimize losses.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the application of a fire suppressant before the fire occurs (due to rising temperature) as disclosed by LI into the system of Hofmann, as this could prevent the fire from occurring, preserve equipment, and minimize losses. Such a combination would then be Hofmann having a temperature threshold that is prior to a fire being started, but such that it senses a fire coming (before it occurs).
Wertsberger, paragraph 0083, discloses selection of activation criteria for adjacent regions can be done statically, such as for example if there is flammable material in a region activating the port of that region even if it is some distance from the fire, as well as utilizing ports for cooling to prevent damage to a building.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to activate adjacent sections/regions as disclosed by Wertsberger into the system of Hofmann, activating the second nozzle of the adjacent region when the first region detects a fire would prevent fire spreading to a flammable material that could be in that region as well as cooling for the building and room to prevent damage to a building. Such fire preventative measures to stop the spread of fire would have been beneficial to create a zone around where the fire is to prevent further unwanted spreading.
With respect to claims 2 and 17, Hofmann discloses the temperature sensor is a grid temperature sensor comprising a plurality of pixels (paragraphs 0118-0119, see figures 5-7b), such that each of the plurality of zones corresponds to at least one of the plurality of pixels of the grid temperature sensor (paragraphs 0014-0015).
With respect to claim 3, Hoffman discloses the zone temperature for each of the plurality of zones comprises a pixel reading for the plurality of pixels corresponding to each of the zones (as the noted space is mapped out to have zones, and the zones are then included the pixel grids, where there is mapping then between the zones and pixel grid, figure 16 is pixel gird and figure 8 shows 4 zones, paragraphs 0014-0019).
With respect to claim 4, Hoffman discloses the fire suppression system comprises a first section configured to suppress a hazard condition in the first zone (the section covered by 3a, being zones on that side of the room) and a second section configured to suppress a hazard condition outside the first zone (the section of the room covered by 3b, where there is then a fire outside the zone of 3a (there is noted overlap)), wherein the first section and the second section are individually controllable (abstract and paragraph 0101).
With respect to claims 5 and 15, Hoffman discloses the controller is further configured to activate the first section of the fire suppression system in response to detecting the hazard condition in the first zone (abstract and paragraph 0101, if a fire is detected I the zone associated with the fire fighting devices, the fire fighting device for that zone is activated).
With respect to claim 6, Hoffman discloses
a plurality of nozzles (nozzles of fire fighting devise 3a to 3e), wherein each of the plurality of zones is associated with at least one of the plurality of nozzles (abstract); and
in response to detecting the hazard condition in the first zone, selectively activate at least one of the plurality of nozzles associated with the first zone (abstract).
With respect to claim 8, Hoffman discloses the controller is further configured to:
detect a second hazard condition in the first zone based on the zone temperature for the first zone (paragraph 0122, the second hazard being a heat condition for the heat source 107); and
reactivate the fire suppression system in response to detecting the second hazard condition in the first zone (paragraph 0122).
With respect to claim 9, Hoffman discloses the controller is further configured to detect a hazard condition in the first zone when the zone temperature for the first zone satisfies a maximum temperature condition (abstract, paragraphs 0054-0056 and 0072-0073, where the threshold is the noted temperature condition being satisfied that there is a fire in the zone based off of the temperature).
With respect to claim 10, Hoffman discloses the maximum temperature condition is based on an appliance within the first zone (as there is a temperature being taken of 107, paragraph 0122).
With respect to claim 11, Hoffman discloses controller is further configured to receive the maximum temperature condition via a user input (paragraph 0122, as the controller is programmed for the higher values, understood being programmed by a user, thus receiver by a user the maximum temperature condition for when the T.sub.2 would be met).
With respect to claim 12, Hoffman discloses the controller is further configured to: associate an appliance with the first zone (as appliance 107 is in zone 11b, as seen in figure 5); and determine the maximum temperature condition for the first zone based on the appliance (as the maximum temperature condition of the first zone can then be taken as that of the appliance, if T.sub.2 is less than that of the zones threshold).
With respect to claim 14, Hoffman discloses the method of Claim 13, the fire suppression system comprising:
a fire suppression tank configured to contain a volume of fire suppressant (there being a source of water, paragraph 0022, taking in this instance that the tubing which is pressurized with water being a tank such that it contains and holds a volume of water therein under pressure, noting that it is well known in the art to utilize a source of water such a tank upstream of the water tubing/piping);
a nozzle (3a/3b) having an outlet at least selectively fluidly coupled to the fire suppression tank and configured to release a spray of the fire suppressant therefrom (as it applies the water from the tubing/tank); and
an activator (valve, paragraph 0104) configured to selectively release the fire suppressant from the fire suppression tank such that at least a section of the fire suppressant passes through the outlet of the nozzle (paragraph 0104).
With respect to claim 16, Hoffman discloses detecting a second hazard condition in a first zone based on the zone temperature for the first zone (paragraph 0122, the temperature of 107); and
reactivating the fire suppression system in response to detecting the second hazard condition in the first zone (paragraph 0122).
With respect to claim 18, Hoffman discloses the fire suppression system comprises a plurality of individually controllable sections (abstract), each section corresponding to at least one of the plurality of zones (abstract).
With respect to claim 19, Hoffman as shown in the rejection of claims 13-18 discloses: A controller for a fire suppression system in a hazard area, the controller comprising processing circuitry (paragraph 0110, where the controller is a processor, thus having processing circuitry) configured to:
receive a plurality of zone temperatures from a temperature sensor positioned in the hazard area, wherein each of the plurality of zone temperatures correspond to a zone of a plurality of zones in the hazard area;
determine, based on at least a portion of the zone temperatures (as the zones are shown in figure 1, there being two zones on the floor, each zone having a portion shown as the grid system, 17), a characteristic value for a first zone of the plurality of zones (being the temperature of the portion of 17 that falls within a first zone of the plurality of zones, understood being the temperature value of the first zones area in the plurality of zones, where the zone temperature is taken as the whole zones temperature the characteristic value is understood being a portion of that zones temperature, this could also be taken as a change in the value for the portion of the first zone that an element such as 107 is located, where 107 would have a different temperature associated with it then the surrounding, paragraph 0095)
detect a hazard condition in a first zone of the plurality of zones based on the zone temperature for the first zone (a fire, abstract, paragraph 0077, being a temperature that exceeds a predefined or definable threshold) and the characteristic value (being the characteristic value of a portion of the zone, such as where 107 is located, being a different heat source within the room as well); and
activate the fire suppression system in response to detecting the hazard condition in the first zone, wherein the fire suppression system comprises:
a fire suppression tank configured to contain a volume of fire suppressant;
a plurality of nozzles having outlets at least selectively fluidly coupled to the fire suppression tank and configured to release sprays of the fire suppressant therefrom, wherein each of the plurality of nozzles is associated with at least one of the plurality of zones; and
an activator configured to selectively activate the fire suppression system individually in each of the plurality of zones, such that in response to detecting the hazard condition in the first zone while a zone temperature for a second zone indicates a lack of a hazard condition in the second zone of the plurality of zones the fire suppression system selectively releases fire suppressant in the first zone and in the second zone of the plurality of zones.
With respect to claim 20, Hoffman discloses the processing circuity if further configured to: detect a second hazard condition in the first zone (paragraph 0122, that of 107); and reactivate the fire suppression system in the first zone (the first zone being 11b, and 107 being in 11b would then activate the firefighting device therein to put out a fire of 107).
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The Amendment filed (01/21/2026) has been entered. Currently claims 1-6, 8-20 are pending and claims 1, 13, and 19 are amended. Applicants’ amendments to the claims have failed to overcome each and every rejection previously set forth in the Office Action dated (10/21/2025). Applicant's arguments filed 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant makes arguments towards the prior art not disclosing “determine, based on at least a portion of the zone temperatures, a characteristic value for a first zone of the plurality of zones” and “detect a hazard condition in the first zone of the plurality of zones based on the zone temperature for the first zone and the characteristic valve.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The characteristic value can be taken as the value of one portion within the zone, that is to say, one square of the grid. It could further be understood that such “characteristics” could be that the zone has other elements within it that could change the readings, such as the heat source 107 in figure 1. Where such thermal reading of heat source 107 could have a different temperature rating based on characteristics of it being a heat source.
Applicant further argues that the threshold values are based on at least a portion of the plurality of zone temperature. Examiner respectfully disagrees, as the threshold value is based on the portion of the zone temperature that would indicate a fire. When element 107 is further placed in a portion of the zone, it has a different threshold value (temperature at which it would indicate a fire) then that of the area around it, “[0095] In many rooms, in particular residential rooms, it is to be expected that stationary heat sources such as heat source 107 are present in a portion of the room monitored by the fire locator device 7. In order to prevent false fire alarms, and in order to prevent inaccurate location of actual fires due to the influence of stationary heat sources, the controller 9 is configured to assign specific threshold values T.sub.2 to all pixels which are within range of the stationary hot spot 109 formed by the stationary heat source 107. As is depicted in FIG. 2 and FIG. 3b, the controller 9 could for example be programmed to assign a higher threshold value T.sub.2 to pixels 49 through 54 and 57 through 62, while assigning a lower threshold value T.sub.1 to the remaining pixels of the grid 17. By doing so, increased radiation emanating from heat source 107 would not be flagged as hotspots indicative of a fire F, unless the predetermined higher threshold value T.sub.2 is exceeded.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752