DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 02/06/2026 has been received and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1 and 24-25 were amended, and Claim 33 was newly added. Claims 3, 5, 7, 23, and 30 were previously cancelled, and claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-22, 24-29, and 31-33 remain pending.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
On page 16 of their remarks, the Applicant argues that “the Office has not shown that the combination of Pan and Mondal discloses or suggests “transmit, via the one or more transceivers and to a network entity an indication that a second antenna panel located at a second wireless node and the first antenna panel located at the first wireless node are available for a simultaneous multi-panel data communication to or from the first wireless node, wherein the simultaneous multi-panel data communication comprises a first communication via the first antenna panel and a second communication via the second antenna panel that occur simultaneously [emphasis in original]” (Applicant Remarks, p. 16).
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with this interpretation of the prior art. As observed by the Applicant, Pan teaches using a method to configure a relay UE using Layer 2 signaling. Furthermore, in passages cited in the previous office action, Mondal describes using Layer 1 signaling (a “PCID” or “Physical layer ID”) to “provide information on which Rx panels ... can be used simultaneously or not for DL and UL transmission and reception” (Mondal, 0130), clearly teaching an “indication” that “a second antenna panel” and a “first antenna panel” are “available for a simultaneous multi-panel data communication to or from the first wireless node, wherein the simultaneous multi-panel data communication comprises a first communication via the first antenna panel and a second communication via the second antenna panel that occur simultaneously”. Mondal further teaches that “Beam management procedures” such as its panel indications “for 6G systems can also consider multi-TRP deployment to support seamless mobility based on L1/L2 signaling” (Mondal, 0108). This passage demonstrates that (i) a person of ordinary skill would recognize layer 2 signaling, such as that described in Pan, as interchangeable with the layer 1 signaling taught in Mondal for “beam management”, and (ii) it would be obvious to apply the beam IDs described in Mondal to configure multi-panel communications in a “multi-TRP deployment” such as the one outlined in Pan. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have sufficient motivation to combine the teachings of Pan and Mondal to arrive at the contested claim limitation, and the rejection based on Pan in view of Mondal is properly maintained.
Later, on pages 16-17, the Applicant argues that “the Office has not shown that the combination of Pan and Mondal discloses or suggests ‘receive, from the network entity during a first time slot and via the one or more transceivers and the first antenna panel, second data, and receive, from the second wireless node during the first time slot and via the one or more transceivers and the forwarding operation, the first data” OR “transmit, to the network entity during the first time slot and via the one or more transceivers and the first antenna panel, the second data, and transmit, to the second wireless node during the first time slot and via the one or more transceivers and the forwarding operation, the first data’ as claimed in amended claim 1” (Remarks, p. 16-17).
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As cited above, Mondal describes “simultaneous reception in DL and transmission in UL” using different panels (Mondal, 0128). The Examiner cannot conceive of a scenario where a UE simultaneously receives a downlink signal and transmits an uplink signal in different timeslots. That would seem to contradict the plain meaning of the word “simultaneous”. Although Mondal doesn’t use the phrase “time slot” in describing simultaneous communications, the plain meaning of the word “simultaneous” requires two communications to share a time slot. Thus, the rejection based on Pan in view of Mondal is properly maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10-12, 15, 22, 24-28, and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (US 11,601,997 B1, hereinafter “Pan”) in view of Mondal et al. (US 2024/0154680 A1, hereinafter “Mondal”).
As to Claim 1, 24, 25:
Pan describes a method for a UE to switch from a direct communication path with a network node to an indirect communication path through another UE.
Specifically, Pan teaches:
One or more transceivers ... and a processing system comprising one or more memories including instructions and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to cause the first wireless node
Fig. 3 in Pan and the accompanying description show an example communication device w/ a processor, memory, etc. (Pan col. 4, lines 65-67; Fig. 3).
Transmit, via the one or more transceivers and to a network entity, an indication that ... a second wireless node ... and ... the first wireless node are available for a ... data communication to or from the first wireless node
Pan describes a UE that can “transmit a measurement report to the network node” that “indicates one or more candidate relay UEs containing the relay UE” and “a L2ID of the relay UE” (Pan col. 31, lines 17-21).
Transmit, via the one or more transceivers and to the second wireless node, a request for the second wireless node to perform a forwarding operation ... between the network entity and the first wireless node
Pan describes a “Remote UE” that “sends the first RRC message” for “connection establishment with gNB via the Relay UE, using a default L2 configuration” (Pan col. 16, lines 35-41).
Receive ... via ... the forwarding operation, first data
Pan describes a gNB sending a “RRCReconfiguration” message, among other data, to “the Remote UE via the Relay UE” (Pan col. 16, lines 61, 65-66).
After ... the request [is] transmitted ... receive
Pan describes a gNB sending a “RRCReconfiguration” message, among other data, to “the Remote UE via the Relay UE” (Pan col. 16, lines 61, 65-66). This happens in Step 6, after the UE transmits the relay setup request in Step 1.
Receive, from the second wireless node
Pan describes a gNB sending a “RRCReconfiguration” message, among other data, to “the Remote UE via the Relay UE” (Pan col. 16, lines 61, 65-66).
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
A first antenna panel
Transmit, via the one or more transceivers and to a network entity, an indication that a second antenna panel ...and the first antenna panel ... are available for a simultaneous multi-panel data communication to or from the first wireless node
The simultaneous multi-panel data communication comprises a first communication via the first antenna panel and a second communication via the second antenna panel that occur simultaneously
Perform a ... operation involving the second antenna panel
After the indication ... [is] transmitted, the processing system is further configured to: receive, from the network entity during a first time slot and via the one or more transceivers and the first antenna panel, second data, and receive ... during the first time slot and via the one or more transceivers ... the first data; or
Transmit, to the network entity during the first time slot and via the one or more transceivers and the first antenna panel, the second data, and transmit, to the second wireless node during the first time slot and via the one or more transceivers and the forwarding operation, the first data
However, Mondal does describe a method to configure antenna panels and beams for simultaneous multi-TRP transmission.
Specifically, Mondal teaches:
A first antenna panel
Mondal describes a method for a UE that can “indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission” (Mondal, 0130). Fig. 9 in Mondal further shows examples of panel pairings.
Transmit, via the one or more transceivers and to a network entity, an indication that a second antenna panel ...and the first antenna panel ... are available for a simultaneous multi-panel data communication to or from the first wireless node
Mondal describes a method for a UE that can “indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission” (Mondal, 0130). Fig. 9 in Mondal further shows examples of panel pairings.
The simultaneous multi-panel data communication comprises a first communication via the first antenna panel and a second communication via the second antenna panel that occur simultaneously
Mondal describes a method for a UE that can “indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission” (Mondal, 0130). Fig. 9 in Mondal further shows examples of panel pairings.
Here, “simultaneous reception or transmission” using one of the example panel pairings is analogous to “a first communication via the first antenna panel and a second communication via the second antenna panel that occur simultaneously”.
Perform a ... operation involving the second antenna panel
Mondal describes a method for a UE that can “indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission” (Mondal, 0130). Fig. 9 in Mondal further shows examples of panel pairings.
Here, “simultaneous reception or transmission” using one of the “other Rx panel(s)” corresponds to “perform[ing] a ... operation involving the second antenna panel”.
And from the list of:
After the indication ... [is] transmitted, the processing system is further configured to: receive, from the network entity during a first time slot and via the one or more transceivers and the first antenna panel, second data, and receive ... during the first time slot and via the one or more transceivers ... the first data; or
Transmit, to the network entity during the first time slot and via the one or more transceivers and the first antenna panel, the second data, and transmit, to the second wireless node during the first time slot and via the one or more transceivers and the forwarding operation, the first data
Mondal teaches both:
Receive, from the network entity during a first time slot and via the one or more transceivers and the first antenna panel, second data, and receive ... during the first time slot and via the one or more transceivers ... the first data
Mondal describes a method for a UE that can “indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission” (Mondal, 0130). Fig. 9 in Mondal further shows examples of panel pairings.
Here, “simultaneous reception” using a pair of antenna panels corresponds to this claim limitation.
Transmit, to the network entity during the first time slot and via the one or more transceivers and the first antenna panel, the second data, and transmit, to the second wireless node during the first time slot and via the one or more transceivers and the forwarding operation, the first data
Mondal describes a method for a UE that can “indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission” (Mondal, 0130). Fig. 9 in Mondal further shows examples of panel pairings.
Here, “simultaneous ... transmission” using a pair of antenna panels corresponds to this claim limitation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functionality of the layer 2 signaling in Pan that configures a relay UE and the layer 1 signaling in Mondal that configures a pair of panels for simultaneous transmission and/or reception. Simultaneous use of multiple panels is clearly useful for a relay UE, and moreover, Mondal explicitly alludes to “consider[ing] multi-TRP deployment to support seamless mobility based on L1/L2 signaling (without handover)” that includes using select TRPs as relays (Mondal, 0108; Fig. 6), providing one of ordinary skill with sufficient motivation to combine Mondal’s teachings with Pan’s.
Claim 24 describes the same subject matter as Claim 1 in the form of a method claim.
Claim 25 describes the same subject matter as Claim 1 in the form of a method claim from the perspective of a network node.
As to Claim 2:
Pan teaches:
The request comprises a sidelink message
Pan describes a “Remote and Relay UE perform[ing] discovery procedure” which is analogous to “a sidelink message” between two UEs (Pan, col. 16, lines 35-36).
As to Claim 4:
Pan teaches:
The second data is received from a transmit receive point of the network entity
Pan describes “the Remote UE” receiving “an RRCReconfiguration”, along with other data, from “[t]he gNB” through “the Relay UE” (Pan col. 16, lines 61, 65-67; col. 17, lines 1-2).
The first data is received via a sidelink established between the first wireless node and the second wireless node
Pan describes “the Remote UE” receiving “an RRCReconfiguration”, along with other data, from “[t]he gNB” through “the Relay UE” (Pan col. 16, lines 61, 65-67; col. 17, lines 1-2). Here, the communication between the “Remote UE” and the “Relay UE” qualifies as “sidelink”.
As to Claim 6:
Pan teaches:
The second data is transmitted to a transmit receive point of the network entity
Pan teaches that “[t]he gNB sends an RRCReconfiguration to the Remote UE via the Relay UE” and “[t]he Remote UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete to the gNB via the Relay UE as a response” (Pan col. 16, lines 61, 65-67; col. 17, lines 1-2). Here, the “RRCReconfigurationComplete” message sent “to the gNB” corresponds to “the second data is transmitted to a transmit receive point of the network entity”.
The first data is transmitted via a sidelink established between the first wireless node and the second wireless node
Pan teaches that “[t]he gNB sends an RRCReconfiguration to the Remote UE via the Relay UE” (Pan col. 16, lines 61, 65-67; col. 17, lines 1-2). Here, the “RRCReconfiguration” sent between “[t]he Remote UE” and “the Relay UE” corresponds to “the first data is transmitted via a sidelink”.
As to Claim 8:
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
The indication comprises a first configuration associated with the first antenna panel and a second configuration associated with the second antenna panel
However, Mondal does teach:
The indication comprises a first configuration associated with the first antenna panel and a second configuration associated with the second antenna panel
Mondal teaches that a “UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission” (Mondal, 0130, Fig. 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functionality of the layer 2 signaling in Pan that configures a relay UE and the layer 1 signaling in Mondal that configures a pair of panels for simultaneous transmission and/or reception. Simultaneous use of multiple panels is clearly useful for a relay UE, and moreover, Mondal explicitly alludes to “consider[ing] multi-TRP deployment to support seamless mobility based on L1/L2 signaling (without handover)” that includes using select TRPs as relays (Mondal, 0108; Fig. 6), providing one of ordinary skill with sufficient motivation to combine Mondal’s teachings with Pan’s.
As to Claim 10:
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
The indication comprises a first identifier associated with the first antenna panel and a second identifier associated with the second antenna panel
However, Mondal does teach:
The indication comprises a first identifier associated with the first antenna panel and a second identifier associated with the second antenna panel
Mondal teaches that a “UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission” (Mondal, 0130, Fig. 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functionality of the layer 2 signaling in Pan that configures a relay UE and the layer 1 signaling in Mondal that configures a pair of panels for simultaneous transmission and/or reception. Simultaneous use of multiple panels is clearly useful for a relay UE, and moreover, Mondal explicitly alludes to “consider[ing] multi-TRP deployment to support seamless mobility based on L1/L2 signaling (without handover)” that includes using select TRPs as relays (Mondal, 0108; Fig. 6), providing one of ordinary skill with sufficient motivation to combine Mondal’s teachings with Pan’s.
As to Claim 11:
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
The indication identifies at least one third antenna panel that will not be used for the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
However, Mondal does teach:
The indication identifies at least one third antenna panel that will not be used for the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
Mondal describes “signaling of the Rx panel restrictions that cannot be used for simultaneous reception and transmission” (Mondal, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functionality of the layer 2 signaling in Pan that configures a relay UE and the layer 1 signaling in Mondal that configures a pair of panels for simultaneous transmission and/or reception. Simultaneous use of multiple panels is clearly useful for a relay UE, and moreover, Mondal explicitly alludes to “consider[ing] multi-TRP deployment to support seamless mobility based on L1/L2 signaling (without handover)” that includes using select TRPs as relays (Mondal, 0108; Fig. 6), providing one of ordinary skill with sufficient motivation to combine Mondal’s teachings with Pan’s.
As to Claim 12:
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
The indication specifies whether:
The first antenna panel is available for downlink transmission only, uplink transmissions only, or both uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions; and
The second antenna panel is available for downlink transmission only, uplink transmissions only, or both uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions
However, Mondal does teach:
The indication specifies whether ... the first antenna panel is available for downlink transmission only, uplink transmissions only, or both uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1,2}, {3,4}” (Mondal, 0130).
Here, “the UE can indicate” maps to “the indication specifies”, and
“Rx panel ... 1” maps to “the first antenna panel is for downlink transmission only” from the list of “the first antenna panel is available for downlink transmission only, uplink transmissions only, or both uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions”).
The indication specifies whether ... the second antenna panel is available for downlink transmission only, uplink transmissions only, or both uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1,2}, {3,4}” as well as “Rx panel restrictions that cannot be used for simultaneous reception and transmission” (Mondal, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functionality of the layer 2 signaling in Pan that configures a relay UE and the layer 1 signaling in Mondal that configures a pair of panels for simultaneous transmission and/or reception. Simultaneous use of multiple panels is clearly useful for a relay UE, and moreover, Mondal explicitly alludes to “consider[ing] multi-TRP deployment to support seamless mobility based on L1/L2 signaling (without handover)” that includes using select TRPs as relays (Mondal, 0108; Fig. 6), providing one of ordinary skill with sufficient motivation to combine Mondal’s teachings with Pan’s.
As to Claim 15:
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
The indication specifies at least one set of one or more antenna panels that are not used for the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
However, Mondal does teach:
The indication specifies at least one set of one or more antenna panels that are not used for the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate ... Rx panel restrictions that cannot be used for simultaneous reception and transmission” (Mondal, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functionality of the layer 2 signaling in Pan that configures a relay UE and the layer 1 signaling in Mondal that configures a pair of panels for simultaneous transmission and/or reception. Simultaneous use of multiple panels is clearly useful for a relay UE, and moreover, Mondal explicitly alludes to “consider[ing] multi-TRP deployment to support seamless mobility based on L1/L2 signaling (without handover)” that includes using select TRPs as relays (Mondal, 0108; Fig. 6), providing one of ordinary skill with sufficient motivation to combine Mondal’s teachings with Pan’s.
As to Claim 22:
From the list of:
The indication is transmitted to the network entity via at least one of: uplink control information, a medium access control -control element (MAC-CE), or a radio resource control (RRC) message
Pan at least teaches:
The indication is transmitted to the network entity via ... a radio resource control (RRC) message
Fig. 23 in Pan shows the signaling exchange that includes the measurement report that communicates potential relay UEs, including a “RRC Reconfiguration message”.
As to Claim 26:
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
Schedule a simultaneous transmission or reception for the first user equipment based on the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel being available for the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
However, Mondal does teach:
Schedule a simultaneous transmission or reception for the first user equipment based on the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel being available for the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9] ... [T]he TRP can only pair SSBRI/PCID corresponding to the pairs provided/allowed by the UE” (Mondal, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functionality of the layer 2 signaling in Pan that configures a relay UE and the layer 1 signaling in Mondal that configures a pair of panels for simultaneous transmission and/or reception. Simultaneous use of multiple panels is clearly useful for a relay UE, and moreover, Mondal explicitly alludes to “consider[ing] multi-TRP deployment to support seamless mobility based on L1/L2 signaling (without handover)” that includes using select TRPs as relays (Mondal, 0108; Fig. 6), providing one of ordinary skill with sufficient motivation to combine Mondal’s teachings with Pan’s.
As to Claim 27:
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
Configure the first transmit receive point to transmit or receive from the first antenna panel for the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
Configure the second transmit receive point to transmit or receive from the second antenna panel for the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
However, Mondal does teach:
Configure the first transmit receive point to transmit or receive from the first antenna panel for the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9] ... [T]he TRP can only pair SSBRI/PCID corresponding to the pairs provided/allowed by the UE” (Mondal, 0130).
Configure the second transmit receive point to transmit or receive from the second antenna panel for the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9] ... [T]he TRP can only pair SSBRI/PCID corresponding to the pairs provided/allowed by the UE” (Mondal, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functionality of the layer 2 signaling in Pan that configures a relay UE and the layer 1 signaling in Mondal that configures a pair of panels for simultaneous transmission and/or reception. Simultaneous use of multiple panels is clearly useful for a relay UE, and moreover, Mondal explicitly alludes to “consider[ing] multi-TRP deployment to support seamless mobility based on L1/L2 signaling (without handover)” that includes using select TRPs as relays (Mondal, 0108; Fig. 6), providing one of ordinary skill with sufficient motivation to combine Mondal’s teachings with Pan’s.
As to Claim 28:
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
The indication specifies at least one of: a first configuration associated with the first antenna panel and a second configuration associated with the second antenna panel, a quantity of antenna panels associated with the second user equipment, a first identifier associated with the first antenna panel and a second identifier associated with the second antenna panel, or at least one third antenna panel that will not be used for the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
However, from this list, Mondal at least teaches:
The indication specifies ... a first identifier associated with the first antenna panel and a second identifier associated with the second antenna panel
Mondal teaches that “the UE reports beam pairs corresponding to panel-ids {0, 2} and {1, 3}” (Mondal, 0139).
And:
The indication specifies ... at least one third antenna panel that will not be used for the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
Mondal describes “the signaling of the Rx panel restrictions that cannot be used for simultaneous reception and transmission” (Mondal, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functionality of the layer 2 signaling in Pan that configures a relay UE and the layer 1 signaling in Mondal that configures a pair of panels for simultaneous transmission and/or reception. Simultaneous use of multiple panels is clearly useful for a relay UE, and moreover, Mondal explicitly alludes to “consider[ing] multi-TRP deployment to support seamless mobility based on L1/L2 signaling (without handover)” that includes using select TRPs as relays (Mondal, 0108; Fig. 6), providing one of ordinary skill with sufficient motivation to combine Mondal’s teachings with Pan’s.
As to Claim 31:
Pan teaches:
Transmit, to the second wireless node
Pan describes a “Remote UE” that sends a “first RRC message” to “the Relay UE” (Pan col. 16, lines 35-41).
Transmit ... via ... the forwarding operation
Pan describes a “Remote UE” that sends a “first RRC message” to “the Relay UE” (Pan col. 16, lines 35-41).
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
Receive, from the network entity and via the one or more transceivers and the first antenna panel, third data associated with a second simultaneous multi-panel data communication
Transmit ... via the one or more transceivers ... fourth data associated with the second simultaneous multi-panel data communication
However, Mondal does teach:
Receive, from the network entity and via the one or more transceivers and the first antenna panel, third data associated with a second simultaneous multi-panel data communication
Mondal describes configuring panels for “simultaneous reception or transmission” (Mondal, 0130).
Transmit ... via the one or more transceivers ... fourth data associated with the second simultaneous multi-panel data communication
Mondal describes configuring panels for “simultaneous reception or transmission” (Mondal, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functionality of the layer 2 signaling in Pan that configures a relay UE and the layer 1 signaling in Mondal that configures a pair of panels for simultaneous transmission and/or reception. Simultaneous use of multiple panels is clearly useful for a relay UE, and moreover, Mondal explicitly alludes to “consider[ing] multi-TRP deployment to support seamless mobility based on L1/L2 signaling (without handover)” that includes using select TRPs as relays (Mondal, 0108; Fig. 6), providing one of ordinary skill with sufficient motivation to combine Mondal’s teachings with Pan’s.
As to Claim 32:
Pan teaches:
Receive, from the second wireless node
Pan describes a “Remote UE” that receives RRC messages from a “gNB” via a “Relay UE” (Pan col. 16, lines 35-41).
Receive ... via ... the forwarding operation
Pan describes a “Remote UE” that receives RRC messages from a “gNB” via a “Relay UE” (Pan col. 16, lines 35-41).
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
Transmit, to the network entity and via the one or more transceivers and the first antenna panel, third data associated with a second simultaneous multi-panel data communication
Receive ... via the one or more transceivers ... fourth data associated with the second simultaneous multi-panel data communication
However, Mondal does teach:
Transmit, to the network entity and via the one or more transceivers and the first antenna panel, third data associated with a second simultaneous multi-panel data communication
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9]” (Mondal, 0130).
Receive ... via the one or more transceivers ... fourth data associated with the second simultaneous multi-panel data communication
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9]” (Mondal, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functionality of the layer 2 signaling in Pan that configures a relay UE and the layer 1 signaling in Mondal that configures a pair of panels for simultaneous transmission and/or reception. Simultaneous use of multiple panels is clearly useful for a relay UE, and moreover, Mondal explicitly alludes to “consider[ing] multi-TRP deployment to support seamless mobility based on L1/L2 signaling (without handover)” that includes using select TRPs as relays (Mondal, 0108; Fig. 6), providing one of ordinary skill with sufficient motivation to combine Mondal’s teachings with Pan’s.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 11,601,997 B1) in view of Mondal (US 2024/0154680 A1) and further in view of Niu et al. (US 2023/0189012 A1, hereinafter “Niu”).
As to Claim 9:
The combination of Pan and Mondal does not explicitly disclose:
The indication specifies a quantity of antenna panels associated with the second apparatus
However, Niu does describe a method for a network device to configure beam usage at a UE.
Specifically, Niu teaches:
The indication specifies a quantity of antenna panels associated with the second apparatus
Niu describes “feedback information” that “may include ... the number of panels through which the UE can simultaneously perform measurement” (Niu, 0149).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Niu’s method for transmitting configuration information including the number of antenna panels an apparatus has with Pan’s method for configuring simultaneous multi-panel communication. Indicating the number of antenna panels on an apparatus provides a more accurate picture of the device’s capabilities for sidelink and uplink transmission.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 11,601,997 B1) in view of Mondal (US 2024/0154680 A1) and further in view of Park et al. (US 2024/0284274 A1, hereinafter “Park2”).
As to Claim 13:
The combination of Pan and Mondal does not disclose:
The indication specifies at least one of:
For the first antenna panel, a first maximum quantity of downlink multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layers, a first maximum quantity of downlink demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports, a first maximum quantity of downlink demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports, a first maximum quantity of channel state information – reference signal (CSI-RS) ports per CSI-RS resource for channel state feedback (CSF), or a first maximum quantity of downlink analog beams; and
For the second antenna panel, a second maximum quantity of downlink MIMO layers, a second maximum quantity of downlink DMRS ports, a second maximum quantity of CSI-RS ports per CSI-RS resource for CSF, or a second maximum quantity of downlink analog beams
However, Park2 does describe a method for configuring a secondary cell group of a wireless device.
Specifically, from this list, Park2 at least teaches:
The indication specifies at least one of: ... a first maximum quantity of downlink multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layers ... and ... a second maximum quantity of downlink MIMO layers
Park2 describes “reduced configuration information for overheating” that “may indicate a maximum number of downlink/uplink MIMO layers of each serving cell operating on FR1 and FR2, respectively” (Park2, 0297).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Park2’s practice of indicating separate maximum numbers of downlink MIMO layers with Pan’s method for switching a direct path to an indirect path. Specifying a number of MIMO layers associated with each antenna panel clarifies which panels can and cannot be allocated for this purpose and removes making this determination from the responsibilities of the device hosting the panels.
As to Claim 14:
The combination of Pan and Mondal does not explicitly disclose:
The indication specifies at least one of:
For the first antenna panel, a first maximum quantity of uplink antenna ports, a first maximum quantity of uplink multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layers, or a first maximum quantity of uplink analog beams; and
For the second antenna panel, a second maximum quantity of uplink antenna ports, a second maximum quantity of uplink MIMO layers, or a second maximum quantity of uplink analog beams
However, from this list, Park2 at least teaches:
The indication specifies at least one of: ... a first maximum quantity of uplink multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layers ... and ... a second maximum quantity of uplink MIMO layers
Park2 describes “reduced configuration information for overheating” that “may indicate a maximum number of downlink/uplink MIMO layers of each serving cell operating on FR1 and FR2, respectively” (Park2, 0297).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Park2’s practice of indicating separate maximum numbers of uplink MIMO layers with Pan’s method to switch a direct path to an indirect path. Specifying a number of MIMO layers associated with each antenna panel clarifies which panels can and cannot be allocated for this purpose and removes making this determination from the responsibilities of the device hosting the panels.
Claim(s) 16-21 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 11,601,997 B1) in view of Mondal (US 2024/0154680 A1) and further in view of Guan et al. (US 2021/0168714 A1, hereinafter “Guan”).
As to Claim 16:
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
The indication specifies ... the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
However, Mondal does teach:
The indication specifies ... the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9]” (Mondal, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mondal’s method for configuring simultaneous transmission and reception with Pan’s method for configuring an indirect communication path to a base station. If a relay UE supports simultaneous transmission and reception, it would be obvious to apply its benefits.
The combination of Pan and Mondal also does not explicitly disclose:
At least one minimum time gap between transmissions associated with the ... communication
However, Guan does describe a method for sending activation delays for separate panels.
Specifically, Guan teachesAt least one minimum time gap between transmissions associated with the ... communication
Guan describes a method for sending “first time information” that “is used to indicate that the terminal device is to keep the one or more first antenna panels in an active state after a first time ends” (Guan, 0012).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the guard period separating uplink transmissions taught in Guan with Pan’s method for changing a direct path to an indirect path. A guard period reduces the likelihood that a conflict or interference will occur, making Pan’s method more reliable.
As to Claim 17:
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
A first downlink transmission associated with the first antenna panel
A first uplink transmission associated with the second antenna panel
However, Mondal does teach:
A first downlink transmission associated with the first antenna panel
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9]” (Mondal, 0130).
A first uplink transmission associated with the second antenna panel
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9]” (Mondal, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mondal’s method for configuring simultaneous transmission and reception with Pan’s method for configuring an indirect communication path to a base station. If a relay UE supports simultaneous transmission and reception, it would be obvious to apply its benefits.
The combination of Pan and Mondal also does not explicitly disclose:
A first minimum time gap between a first downlink transmission associated with the first antenna panel and a second downlink transmission
A second minimum time gap between a first uplink transmission associated with the first antenna panel and a second uplink transmission
However, Guan does teach:
A first minimum time gap between a first downlink transmission associated with the first antenna panel and a second downlink transmission
Guan describes sending “first time information to the terminal” which “is used to indicate that the terminal device is to keep the one or more first antenna panels in an active state after a first time ends” (Guan, 0012).
A second minimum time gap between a first ... transmission associated with the first antenna panel and a second uplink transmission
Guan describes sending “first time information to the terminal” which “is used to indicate that the terminal device is to keep the one or more first antenna panels in an active state after a first time ends” (Guan, 0012). The activation delay in Guan renders obvious both the first and second time gaps obvious because it’s an example of duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the guard period separating uplink transmissions taught in Guan with Pan’s method for switching from a direct transmission path to an indirect path. A guard period reduces the likelihood that a conflict or interference will occur, making Pan’s method more reliable.
As to Claim 18:
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
A first downlink transmission associated with the first antenna panel
A second uplink transmission associated with the second antenna panel
However, Mondal does teach:
A first downlink transmission associated with the first antenna panel
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9]” (Mondal, 0130).
A second uplink transmission associated with the second antenna panel
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9]” (Mondal, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mondal’s method for configuring simultaneous transmission and reception with Pan’s method for configuring an indirect communication path to a base station. If a relay UE supports simultaneous transmission and reception, it would be obvious to apply its benefits.
The combination of Pan and Mondal does not explicitly disclose:
A first minimum time gap between a first downlink transmission ... and a first uplink transmission ... or a second minimum time gap between a second uplink transmission ... and a second downlink transmission
However, from this list, Guan at least teaches:
A first minimum time gap between a first downlink transmission ... and a first uplink transmission
Guan describes sending “first time information to the terminal” which “is used to indicate that the terminal device is to keep the one or more first antenna panels in an active state after a first time ends” (Guan, 0012).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the guard period separating uplink transmissions taught in Guan with Pan’s method for configuring simultaneous multi-panel transmissions. A guard period reduces the likelihood that a conflict or interference will occur, making Pan’s method more reliable.
As to Claim 19:
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
The first downlink control information schedules the first data transmission; or
... the second downlink control information schedules the second data transmission
Transmission associated with the first antenna panel
Transmission associated with the second antenna panel
However, Mondal does teach:
The first downlink control information schedules the first data transmission; or
... the second downlink control information schedules the second data transmission
Mondal describes “DCI triggering CSI-RS/CSI in addition to the report index ... also provides a reference to one SSBRI/PCID element” (Mondal, 0123).
Transmission associated with the first antenna panel
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9]” (Mondal, 0130).
Transmission associated with the second antenna panel
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9]” (Mondal, 0130).
-
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mondal’s method for configuring simultaneous transmission and reception with Pan’s method for configuring an indirect communication path to a base station. If a relay UE supports simultaneous transmission and reception, it would be obvious to apply its benefits.
The combination of Pan and Mondal does not explicitly disclose:
A first minimum time gap between a first downlink control information transmission ... and a first data transmission ... or a second minimum time gap between a second downlink control information transmission ... and a second data transmission
However, from this list, Guan at least teaches:
A first minimum time gap between a first downlink control information transmission ... and a first data transmission
Guan describes sending “first time information to the terminal” which “is used to indicate that the terminal device is to keep the one or more first antenna panels in an active state after a first time ends” (Guan, 0012).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the guard period separating uplink transmissions taught in Guan with Pan’s method for switching a direct transmission path to an indirect one. A guard period reduces the likelihood that a conflict or interference will occur, making Pan’s method more reliable.
As to Claim 20:
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
Transmission associated with the first antenna panel
Transmission associated with the second antenna panel
The first downlink transmission
However, Mondal does teach:
Transmission associated with the first antenna panel
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9]” (Mondal, 0130).
Transmission associated with the second antenna panel
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9]” (Mondal, 0130).
The first downlink transmission
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9]” (Mondal, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mondal’s method for configuring simultaneous transmission and reception with Pan’s method for configuring an indirect communication path to a base station. If a relay UE supports simultaneous transmission and reception, it would be obvious to apply its benefits.
The combination of Pan and Mondal also does not explicitly disclose:
A first minimum time gap between a first downlink transmission associated with the first antenna panel and a first acknowledgement transmission ... wherein the first acknowledgment transmission is associated with the first downlink transmission; or
A second minimum time gap between a second downlink transmission associated with the second antenna panel and a second acknowledgement transmission associated with the first antenna panel ... wherein the second acknowledgment transmission is associated with the second downlink transmission
However, from this list, Guan at least teaches:
A first minimum time gap between a first downlink transmission associated with the first antenna panel and a ... transmission
Guan teaches that a “network device sends first time information to the terminal device” which “is used to indicate that the terminal device is to keep the one or more first antenna panels in an active state after a first time ends” (Guan, 0012).
And:
The first acknowledgment transmission is associated with the first downlink transmission
Guan teaches that “the activation/deactivation command is a MAC-CE message” and “the terminal device sends an ACK/NACK corresponding to the MAC-CE message” (Guan, 0177).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the guard period separating uplink transmissions taught in Guan with Pan’s method for changing a direct communication path to an indirect path. A guard period reduces the likelihood that a conflict or interference will occur, making Pan’s method more reliable.
As to Claim 21:
The combination of Pan and Mondal does not explicitly disclose:
A first time gap associated with the first antenna panel
A second time gap associated with the second antenna panel
The second time gap is different from the first time gap
However, Guan does teach:
A first time gap associated with the first antenna panel
Guan describes sending “first time information to the terminal” which “is used to indicate that the terminal device is to keep the one or more first antenna panels in an active state after a first time ends” (Guan, 0012).
A second time gap associated with the second antenna panel
Guan teaches that “[t]he network device sends second time information to the terminal device. The second time information is used to indicate that the terminal device deactivates the one or more second antenna panels after a second time” (Guan, 0015).
The second time gap is different from the first time gap
In Guan, the descriptors “‘first time’, ‘second time’ ... are merely used to distinguish different time” (Guan, 0209).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the guard period separating uplink transmissions taught in Guan with Pan’s method for changing a direct transmission path to an indirect path. A guard period reduces the likelihood that a conflict or interference will occur, making Pan’s method more reliable.
As to Claim 29:
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
The indication specifies ... the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
A multi-panel transmission or reception
However, Mondal does teach:
The indication specifies ... the simultaneous multi-panel data communication
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9]” (Mondal, 0130).
A multi-panel transmission or reception
Mondal teaches that “the UE can indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission, e.g., {1, 2}, {3, 4} [in Fig. 9]” (Mondal, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mondal’s method for configuring simultaneous transmission and reception with Pan’s method for configuring an indirect communication path to a base station. If a relay UE supports simultaneous transmission and reception, it would be obvious to apply its benefits.
The combination of Pan and Mondal also does not explicitly disclose:
At least one minimum time gap between transmissions associated with the ... communication
Schedule ... transmission or reception for the first user equipment based on the at least one minimum time gap
However, Guan does teach:
At least one minimum time gap between transmissions associated with the ... communication
Guan describes a network device that “sends first time information to the terminal device” which “is used to indicate that the terminal device is to keep the one or more first antenna panels in an active state after a first time ends” (Guan, 0012).
Schedule ... transmission or reception for the first user equipment based on the at least one minimum time gap
Guan describes a network device that “sends first time information to the terminal device” which “is used to indicate that the terminal device is to keep the one or more first antenna panels in an active state after a first time ends” (Guan, 0012).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the guard period separating uplink transmissions taught in Guan with Pan’s method for changing a direct path to an indirect path. A guard period reduces the likelihood that a conflict or interference will occur, making Pan’s method more reliable.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 11,601,997 B1) in view of Mondal (US 2024/0154680 A1) and further in view of Tian et al. (US 2016/0374007 A1, hereinafter “Tian”).
As to Claim 33:
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
Simultaneously receive a first downlink data
However, Mondal does teach:
Simultaneously receive a first downlink data
Mondal describes a method for a UE that can “indicate (e.g., as part of capability reporting) for each Rx panel other Rx panel(s) that can be used for simultaneous reception or transmission” (Mondal, 0130). Fig. 9 in Mondal further shows examples of panel pairings.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functionality of the layer 2 signaling in Pan that configures a relay UE and the layer 1 signaling in Mondal that configures a pair of panels for simultaneous transmission and/or reception. Simultaneous use of multiple panels is clearly useful for a relay UE, and moreover, Mondal explicitly alludes to “consider[ing] multi-TRP deployment to support seamless mobility based on L1/L2 signaling (without handover)” that includes using select TRPs as relays (Mondal, 0108; Fig. 6), providing one of ordinary skill with sufficient motivation to combine Mondal’s teachings with Pan’s.
The combination of Pan and Mondal does not explicitly disclose:
The second wireless node ... receive[s] a first downlink data from a first transmit-receive point when the first wireless node receives second downlink data from a second transmit-receive point
However, Tian does describe a backhaul link including multiple intermediate relays.
Specifically, Tian teaches:
A request for the second wireless node to ... receive first downlink data from a first transmit-receive point when the first wireless node receives second downlink data from a second transmit-receive point
Tian describes a method where a network device can send a “backhaul request” that “may be used by the second network device to backhaul data” using a “backhaul path” that may include a “multi-hop connection” (Tian, 0183).
This “multi-hop connection” would entail data traveling bidirectionally from one of two network nodes to an intermediate UE.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pan’s method for a UE to request a relay connection with the multi-hop backhaul connection described in Tian. A multi-hop relay connection between two network nodes can also benefit from L1/L2 signaling that configures intermediate relay devices and the relevant antenna panels.
Conclusion
/B.P.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477