DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 12/09/2025. Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11-18, and 20 are currently amended. Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are withdrawn. Claims 9 and 19 are canceled. Claims 21 and 22 are new. Claims 1-6, 10-16, and 20-22 are presented for examination.
The drawing objections set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 3, 11 and 13 have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and double patenting rejections set forth in the previous Office Action.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections in the previous Office Action are withdrawn. New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new rejections rely on Roehner (newly cited) to teach “at least one plate-like insert having a step-like shape.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 11, 13-14, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over West (US 2021/0083343 A1; previously cited) in view of Roehner (US 2022/0223954 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, West discloses a traction battery (24, FIG. 2, [0045]) for a motor vehicle, comprising:
a housing (58) having a pot-shaped housing pot (60) and a lid (62) closing the housing pot (FIG. 3, [0054]),
a plurality of components to be cooled (battery arrays 25, battery cells 56, internal components 70) arranged in the housing (58) (FIG. 4, [0071]),
a cooling device (78) having at least one cooling channel (72) that can be flowed through by a cooling medium C (FIGS. 5-6, [0071]),
wherein the cooling device (78) is arranged within the housing (58) and is connected to the plurality of components to be cooled (25,56,70) in a heat-transferring manner (FIGS. 5-6, [0071]),
at least one plate-like insert (heat exchanger plate 76, FIGS. 7-8), wherein the at least one cooling channel (72) of the cooling device is delimited towards an outside by the housing pot (60) in at least one region (floors 67/75, FIGS. 5-6) and by the at least one insert (76) in at least one region (FIG. 8, [0070]),
the housing pot (60) and the lid (62) are composed of plastic ([0061]-[0063]) and the at least one insert (76) composed of metal ([0072]), and
the plurality of components to be cooled (25,56,70) lie against the at least one insert (76) in a heattransferring manner (FIG. 7, [0071]).
West does not disclose wherein the plate-like insert has a step-like shape.
Roehner teaches a traction battery ([0001]), comprising a housing (100, FIGS. 6-7, [0035]) having a pot-shaped housing pot (formed by base plate 124 and sidewalls 128, FIG. 6, [0038]) and a lid (132, FIG. 6, [0039]) closing the housing pot (124/126), a component (106, FIG. 6, [0040]) to be cooled arranged in the housing (100), and at least one plate-like insert (136, FIGS. 6-7, [0040]) having a step-like shape, wherein the insert (136) defines a cooling channel (138, FIGS. 6-7, [0040]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the traction battery of West by substituting the plate-like insert having a step-like shape taught by Roehner because Roehner teaches that such a plate can be used to define cooling channels ([0040]). Further, West teaches that the device may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiment ([0084]-[0085]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, West in view of Roehner teaches (see West) wherein: at least one of the plurality of components to be cooled (25,56,70) includes a control board (70) at least one of for controlling the traction battery (24) and of a battery module (25) of the traction battery (FIG. 7, [0056], [0077]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, West in view of Roehner teaches (see West) wherein the at least one insert (76) is sealed-off towards the housing pot (60) (FIGS. 6 and 8, [0074]).
Regarding claim 21, West in view of Roehner teaches (see Roehner) wherein the step-like shape of the at least one insert (136) has a middle region that protrudes towards a bottom of the housing pot (formed by base plate 124) such that a top surface of the at least one insert is recessed in the middle region (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 22, West in view of Roehner teaches (see Roehner) wherein the step-like shape forms a recess on a side of the at least one insert (136) facing towards the lid (132), and wherein at least one of the plurality of components (106) to be cooled is disposed in the recess (FIG. 6).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over West (US 2021/0083343 A1) in view of Roehner (US 2022/0223954 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, respectively, and further in view of McLean (US 2022/0328921 A1; previously cited).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, West in view of Roehner teaches that the at least one insert is preferably formed of aluminum (West: [0072]), but does not disclose wherein the at least one insert is a deep- drawn metal insert, a die-cast metal insert, or an extruded metal insert.
McLean teaches a cooling plate (1400) for a battery (400) (FIGS. 14 and 15, [0064]). The cooling plate may be made of a material such as aluminum and can be constructed by metal casting or extrusion manufacturing ([0064]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would therefore have found it obvious to have used a die-cast metal insert or an extruded metal insert in the traction battery and motor vehicle of West in view of Roehner with a reasonable expectation of success. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art [MPEP § 2144.07].
Claims 1, 3-4, 11, 13-14, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker ‘445 (US 2021/0167445 A1; previously cited) in view of Roehner (US 2022/0223954 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Becker ‘445 discloses a traction battery (1, Fig. 1a, [0023]) for a motor vehicle ([0052]), comprising:
a housing (3) having a pot-shaped housing pot (6) and a lid (7) closing the housing pot (6) (Fig. 1a, [0024]),
a plurality of components to be cooled (2, 2’) arranged in the housing (Fig. 2, [0023]),
a cooling device (4) having at least one cooling channel (9) that can be flowed through by a cooling medium (Fig. 3, [0031]-[0032]),
wherein the cooling device (4) is arranged within the housing (3) (Fig. 3, [0036]) and is connected to the plurality of components to be cooled (2, 2’) in a heat-transferring manner ([0023]),
at least one plate-like insert (8), wherein the at least one cooling channel (9) of the cooling device (4) is delimited towards an outside by the housing pot (6) in at least one region (bottom of tray 6’) and by the at least one insert (8) in at least one region (Fig. 5, [0044]),
the housing pot (6) and the lid (7) are composed of plastic ([0024]) and the at least one insert (8) composed of metal ([0042]), and
the plurality of components to be cooled (2, 2’) lie against the at least one insert (8) in a heat-transferring manner (Fig. 5, [0041]).
Becker ‘445 does not disclose wherein the plate-like insert has a step-like shape.
Roehner teaches a traction battery ([0001]), comprising a housing (100, FIGS. 6-7, [0035]) having a pot-shaped housing pot (formed by base plate 124 and sidewalls 128, FIG. 6, [0038]) and a lid (132, FIG. 6, [0039]) closing the housing pot (124/126), a component (106, FIG. 6, [0040]) to be cooled arranged in the housing (100), and at least one plate-like insert (136, FIGS. 6-7, [0040]) having a step-like shape, wherein the insert (136) defines a cooling channel (138, FIGS. 6-7, [0040]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the traction battery of Becker ‘445 by substituting the plate-like insert having a step-like shape taught by Roehner because Roehner teaches that such a plate can be used to define cooling channels ([0040]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Becker ‘445 in view of Roehner teaches (see Becker ‘445) wherein: at least one of the plurality of components to be cooled (2, 2’) includes a battery module (2’) (Fig. 2, [0023]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Becker ‘445 teaches (see Becker ‘445) wherein the at least one insert (8) is sealed-off towards the housing pot (6) (Fig. 5, [0031]).
Regarding claim 21, Becker ‘445 in view of Roehner teaches (see Roehner) wherein the step-like shape of the at least one insert (136) has a middle region that protrudes towards a bottom of the housing pot (formed by base plate 124) such that a top surface of the at least one insert is recessed in the middle region (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 22, Becker ‘445 in view of Roehner teaches (see Roehner) wherein the step-like shape forms a recess on a side of the at least one insert (136) facing towards the lid (132), and wherein at least one of the plurality of components (106) to be cooled is disposed in the recess (FIG. 6).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker ‘445 (US 2021/0167445 A1) in view of Roehner (US 2022/0223954 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Mathieu (US 2024/0204314 A1; previously cited).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Becker ‘445 in view of Roehner teaches (see Becker ‘445), wherein: the housing pot (6) and the lid (7) are joined to one another at an edge (3’) and circumferentially in a materially bonded manner (FIG. 8a; sealed assembly zone 3’ may be formed by material fusion, [0029]).
Becker ‘445 teaches that the device may be modified from the point of view of the construction of its elements or by substituting technical equivalents ([0053]), but does not disclose wherein the at least one insert is overmoulded with elastomer at an edge and circumferentially such that a sealing lip is provided on the at least one insert via the overmoulded material, and the sealing lip of the at least one insert is compressed between the housing pot and the lid at the edge and circumferentially.
Mathieu teaches a traction battery for a motor vehicle ([0025]), comprising: a housing (50) having a pot-shaped housing pot (2, Fig. 1, [0027]), a lid closing the housing pot (non-depicted housing top, [0027]), and a plate-like insert (51) composed of metal (Figs. 1 and 2, [0031]). The insert (51) is overmolded ([0030]) with elastomer (ethylene-propylene-diene monomer, EPDM [0003]) at an edge and circumferentially such that a sealing lip (52) is provided on the at least one insert (51) via the overmolded material (Figs. 1 and 2, [0031]). The sealing lip (52) of the insert (51) is compressed between the housing pot (2) and the lid when the housing (50) is assembled ([0028]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the motor vehicle traction battery of Becker ‘445 in view of Roehner such that “the at least one insert is overmoulded with elastomer at an edge and circumferentially such that a sealing lip is provided on the at least one insert via the overmoulded material, and the sealing lip of the at least one insert is compressed between the housing pot and the lid at the edge and circumferentially” with a reasonable expectation of ensuring a good water-tightness as taught by Mathieu ([0028]).
Claims 1, 3-6, 11, 13-16, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker ‘818 (US 2021/0151818 A1; previously cited) in view of Roehner (US 2022/0223954 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Becker ‘818 discloses a traction battery (1, Fig. 1a, [0030]) for a motor vehicle ([0086]), comprising:
a housing (3) having a pot-shaped housing pot (10) and a lid (11) closing the housing pot (10) (Fig. 3, [0049]),
a plurality of components (2, 2’) to be cooled arranged in the housing (3) (Fig. 3, [0031]),
a cooling device (6’) having at least one cooling channel (8) that can be flowed through by a cooling medium (Fig. 7, [0035]),
wherein the cooling device (6’) is arranged within the housing (3) and is connected to the plurality of components to be cooled (2, 2’) in a heat-transferring manner (Fig. 7, [0034]),
at least one plate-like insert (7), wherein the at least one cooling channel (8) of the cooling device (6’) is delimited towards an outside by the housing pot (10) in at least one region (10’,3’,9) and by the at least one insert (7) in at least one region (Fig. 7, [0035]),
the housing pot (10) and the lid (11) are composed of plastic ([0049]) and the at least one insert (7) composed of metal ([0040]), and
the plurality of components to be cooled (2, 2’) lie against the at least one insert (7) in a heat transferring manner (Fig. 7, [0035]).
Becker ‘818 does not disclose wherein the plate-like insert has a step-like shape.
Roehner teaches a traction battery ([0001]), comprising a housing (100, FIGS. 6-7, [0035]) having a pot-shaped housing pot (formed by base plate 124 and sidewalls 128, FIG. 6, [0038]) and a lid (132, FIG. 6, [0039]) closing the housing pot (124/126), a component (106, FIG. 6, [0040]) to be cooled arranged in the housing (100), and at least one plate-like insert (136, FIGS. 6-7, [0040]) having a step-like shape, wherein the insert (136) defines a cooling channel (138, FIGS. 6-7, [0040]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the traction battery of Becker ‘818 by substituting the plate-like insert having a step-like shape taught by Roehner because Roehner teaches that such a plate can be used to define cooling channels ([0040]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Becker ‘818 in view of Roehner teaches (see Becker ‘818), wherein at least one of the plurality of components to be cooled (2, 2’) includes a battery module (2’) (Fig. 2, [0030]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Becker ‘818 in view of Roehner teaches (see Becker ‘818), wherein the at least one insert (7) is sealed-off towards the housing pot (10) (Fig. 5, [0065]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Becker ‘818 in view of Roehner teaches (see Becker ‘818) wherein the at least one insert (7) is overmoulded at an edge (13) and circumferentially, and wherein the at least one insert (7) is connected to the housing pot (10) via the overmoulded edge (13) via a welded connection (Fig. 5, [0064]). Becker ‘818 further teaches that the device may be modified from the point of view of the construction of its elements or by substituting technical equivalents ([0087]). Becker ‘818 does not disclose wherein the overmoulded edge is (13) is plastic. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have used plastic to form the overmoulded edge of Becker ‘818 in view of Roehner, such that the at least one insert is connected to the housing pot via the overmoulded plastic, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would be welded to a housing formed of plastic and because Becker discloses that analogous overmoulded portions 16’ are plastic (Figs. 4-5, [0070]-[0071]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Becker ‘818 in view of Roehner teaches (see Becker ‘818) wherein:
the at least one insert (7) is connected to the lid (11) via the overmoulded plastic (13) at an edge and circumferentially in a materially bonded manner (Fig. 7, [0056], [0064]), and
the lid (11) is connected to the housing pot (10) at an edge and circumferentially in a materially bonded manner (at contact strip 3’’ obtained by material fusing; Fig. 7, [0051]).
Regarding claim 21, Becker ‘818 in view of Roehner teaches (see Roehner) wherein the step-like shape of the at least one insert (136) has a middle region that protrudes towards a bottom of the housing pot (formed by base plate 124) such that a top surface of the at least one insert is recessed in the middle region (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 22, Becker ‘818 in view of Roehner teaches (see Roehner) wherein the step-like shape forms a recess on a side of the at least one insert (136) facing towards the lid (132), and wherein at least one of the plurality of components (106) to be cooled is disposed in the recess (FIG. 6).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker ‘818 (US 2021/0151818 A1) in view of Roehner (US 2022/0223954 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, respectively, and further in view of McLean (US 2022/0328921 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Becker ‘818 in view of Roehner teaches (see Becker ‘818) that the at least one insert (7) is preferably formed of aluminum ([0041]) and teaches that the device may be modified from the point of view of the construction of its elements or by substituting technical equivalents ([0087]), but does not disclose wherein the at least one insert is a deep- drawn metal insert, a die-cast metal insert, or an extruded metal insert.
McLean teaches a cooling plate (1400) for a battery (400) (FIGS. 14 and 15, [0064]). The cooling plate may be made of a material such as aluminum and can be constructed by metal casting or extrusion manufacturing ([0064]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would therefore have found it obvious to have used a die-cast metal insert or an extruded metal insert in the traction battery and motor vehicle of Becker ‘818 in view of Roehner with a reasonable expectation of success. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art [MPEP § 2144.07].
Claims 1, 3-6, 11, 13-16, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker ‘442 (US 2021/0167442 A1) in view of Roehner (US 2022/0223954 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Becker ‘442 discloses a motor vehicle ([0101]), comprising: a traction battery (1, Fig. 1a, [0053]), the traction battery (1) including:
a housing (3) having a pot-shaped housing pot (18) and a lid (19) closing the housing pot (18) (Fig. 1a, [0053]),
a plurality of components to be cooled (2, 2’) arranged in the housing (3) (Fig. 2, [0035]),
a cooling device (6’) having at least one cooling channel (8) that can be flowed through by a cooling medium (Fig. 6, [0054]),
wherein the cooling device (6’) is arranged within the housing (3) and is connected to the plurality of components to be cooled (2, 2’) in a heat-transferring manner (Fig. 3, [0053]),
at least one plate-like insert (7), wherein the at least one cooling channel (8) of the cooling device (6’) is delimited towards an outside by the housing pot (18) in at least one region (10,3’,9) and by the at least one insert (7) in at least one region (Fig. 6, [0054]),
the housing pot (18) and the lid (19) are composed of plastic ([0069]) and the at least one insert (7) composed of metal ([0048]), and
the plurality of components to be cooled (2, 2’) lie against the at least one insert (7) in a heat transferring manner (Fig. 5, [0044]).
Becker ‘442 does not disclose wherein the plate-like insert has a step-like shape.
Roehner teaches a traction battery ([0001]), comprising a housing (100, FIGS. 6-7, [0035]) having a pot-shaped housing pot (formed by base plate 124 and sidewalls 128, FIG. 6, [0038]) and a lid (132, FIG. 6, [0039]) closing the housing pot (124/126), a component (106, FIG. 6, [0040]) to be cooled arranged in the housing (100), and at least one plate-like insert (136, FIGS. 6-7, [0040]) having a step-like shape, wherein the insert (136) defines a cooling channel (138, FIGS. 6-7, [0040]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the traction battery of Becker ‘442 by substituting the plate-like insert having a step-like shape taught by Roehner because Roehner teaches that such a plate can be used to define cooling channels ([0040]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Becker ‘442 in view of Roehner teaches (see Becker ‘442) wherein at least one of the plurality of components to be cooled (2, 2’) includes a battery module (2’) (Fig. 2, [0035]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Becker ‘442 in view of Roehner teaches (see Becker ‘442) wherein the at least one insert (7) is sealed- off towards the housing pot (18) (Fig. 5, [0062]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Becker ‘442 in view of Roehner teaches (see Becker ‘442), wherein the at least one insert (7) is overmoulded at an edge (13) and circumferentially, and wherein the at least one insert (7) is connected to the housing pot (18) via the overmoulded edge (13) via a welded connection (Figs. 5-6, [0064]-[0065]). Becker ‘442 further teaches that the device may be modified from the point of view of the construction of its elements or by substituting technical equivalents ([0102]). Becker ‘442 does not disclose wherein the overmoulded edge is (13) is plastic. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have used plastic to form the overmoulded edge of Becker ‘442 in view of Roehner, such that the at least one insert is connected to the housing pot via the overmoulded plastic, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would be welded to a housing formed of plastic and because Becker discloses that analogous overmoulded portions 16’ are plastic (Figs. 4-5, [0085]-[0086]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Becker ‘442 in view of Roehner teaches (see Becker ‘442), wherein:
the at least one insert (7) is connected to the lid (19) via the overmoulded plastic (13) at an edge and circumferentially in a materially bonded manner (Fig. 6, [0062]-[0065]), and
the lid (19) is connected to the housing pot (18) at an edge (3’’) and circumferentially in a materially bonded manner (Fig. 6, [0071]).
Regarding claim 21, Becker ‘818 in view of Roehner teaches (see Roehner) wherein the step-like shape of the at least one insert (136) has a middle region that protrudes towards a bottom of the housing pot (formed by base plate 124) such that a top surface of the at least one insert is recessed in the middle region (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 22, Becker ‘818 in view of Roehner teaches (see Roehner) wherein the step-like shape forms a recess on a side of the at least one insert (136) facing towards the lid (132), and wherein at least one of the plurality of components (106) to be cooled is disposed in the recess (FIG. 6).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker ‘442 (US 2021/0167442 A1) in view of Roehner (US 2022/0223954 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, respectively, and further in view of McLean (US 2022/0328921 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Becker ‘442 discloses the traction battery (1) and the motor vehicle according to Claims 1 and 11, respectively. Becker ‘442 teaches that the at least one insert (7) is preferably formed of aluminum ([0049]) and further teaches that the device may be modified from the point of view of the construction of its elements or by substituting technical equivalents ([0102]), but does not disclose wherein the at least one insert is a deep- drawn metal insert, a die-cast metal insert, or an extruded metal insert.
McLean teaches a cooling plate (1400) for a battery (400) (FIGS. 14 and 15, [0064]). The cooling plate may be made of a material such as aluminum and can be constructed by metal casting or extrusion manufacturing ([0064]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would therefore have found it obvious to have used a die-cast metal insert or an extruded metal insert in the traction battery and motor vehicle of Becker ‘442 with a reasonable expectation of success. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art [MPEP § 2144.07].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723