DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Figures 1-2 and Claims 1-3 in the reply filed on 7/25/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomonari et al. [US 20140167903 A1].
Regarding claim 1, Tomonari et al. discloses a common-mode device, comprising:
- an iron core comprising a first flange, a second flange, and a central column sandwiched between the first and second flanges, where the central column has a first side face and a second side face [figure 1]; and
- a plurality of coils comprising a first coil [W1] and a second coil [W2] wound around the central column for a plurality of layers along a direction from the first flange towards the second flange;
wherein, within a first layer and along the first side face of the central column, there are sequentially arranged at least a first round [1, 2, 3] of the first coil [W1], a second round [4] of the first coil [W1], a first round [4] of the second coil [W2], a third round of the first coil, a second round of the second coil, a first gap [S1], a third round of the second coil, a fourth round [5] of the first coil [W1], and a plurality of fifth rounds [6,7, 8] of the first coil; within the first layer and along the second side face of the central column, there are sequentially arranged a plurality of sixth rounds [8, 7, 6] of the first coil [W1], a seventh round [5] of the first coil [W1], a fourth round [5] of the second coil [W2], a second gap [figure 7], a fifth round [5] of the second coil [W2], an eighth round [4] of the first coil [W1], and a plurality of ninth rounds [3, 2, 1] of the first coil [W1]; and within a second layer surrounding the first layer, there are a plurality of sixth rounds [1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8] of the second coil [W2].
Tomonari et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for a third round of the first coil, a second round of the second coil arranged on the first layer along the first side face of the central column.
Tomonari et al. disclose, in other embodiment of figures 16-17, the first and second coils arrangement in the first layer with a third round [5] of the first coil [W1], a second round [5] of the second coil [W2] arranged with a gap/space [SS1] there in between and within the second layer srrouding the first layer, there are a plurality of rounds [1, 2, 3, 10, 11, 12] of the second coil [W2].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a third round of the first coil, a second round of the second coil in Tomonari et al. of Figure 7, as suggested by Tomonari et al. of Figures 16-17, for the purpose of enhancing different inductances and/or magnetic and/or distributing capacitance and suppressing imbalance in impedances between the first and second coil [summary of theinvention].
Regarding claim 2, Tomonari et al. disclose the central column has an I-shape [figure 1]
Regarding claim 2, Tomonari et al. discloses the first flange, the second flange, and the central column of the iron core are integrally formed [figure 1].
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837