Response to Amendment
The amendment filed Dec 18, 2025 has been entered but does not place the application in condition for allowance. Claims 1-15 are pending in the present application, with claims 9-14 withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention. The prior art reference Matsuno used in the previous 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejections of claims 1-6, 8-9, and 15 anticipates amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsuno et al., US 2021/0376311 A1 (hereinafter “Matsuno”). Matsuno qualifies as prior art under 35 USC § 102(a)(2) with its effectively filed date of 07 Nov. 2018.
Regarding claim 1, Matsuno discloses a negative electrode active material for a lithium secondary battery (i.e., negative electrode active material or a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery) [abstract] comprising:
a silicon oxide (i.e., silicon compound SiOx wherein 0.5 ≤ x ≤ 1.6) [¶ 0016] composite including an alkali metal or alkaline earth metal-containing phosphate (i.e., lithium phosphate) [¶ 0021] and an aluminum-containing phosphate (i.e., aluminum phosphate tribasic; note that this is a common name for AlPO4) [¶ 0024].
Additionally, Matsuno teaches a carbon material on a surface layer portion of each of the negative electrode active material particles which is desired to have a covering rate as high as possible and which would suppress contact between the silicon compound particles containing SiOx and water in an aqueous negative electrode slurry to suppress lithium compound elution ([¶ 0078]-[¶ 0081]). A covering rate of such completeness as taught by Matsuno would result in a structure of the carbon material of the surface layer portion corresponding to a shell. The silicon compound particle within the negative electrode active material particle that is shielded by the carbon material on the surface layer portion (i.e., shell) would correspond to the core of the claimed core-shell structure.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Matsuno discloses the negative electrode active material of claim 1.
Matsuno discloses in Example 1 that the electrode active material has 0.3 mass% AlPO4 (about 25.4% P by mass and about 22.1% Al by mass in the formula) in the negative electrode active material prepared from a blend of AlPO4 with the negative electrode active material particles and also discloses a molar quantity of phosphorus element in the negative electrode active material particles as 2.2 x 10-5 mol/g [¶ 00168] - [¶ 0169]. Therefore, a Al/P mass ratio is (0.3% × 0.221) ÷ (0.3% × 0.254 + 2.2×10-5 × 30.97) = 0.460.
The value of 0.460 is lesser than 0.8 (as required by claim 2) and between 0.1 to 0.6 (as required by claim 3). A specific example in the prior art which is within the claimed range anticipates the range; see MPEP § 2131.03 (I).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuno discloses the negative electrode active material of claim 1. Matsuno further discloses lithium phosphate [¶ 0021], which has an unambiguous formula of Li3PO4. This formula meets the limitations of Chemical Formula 1 in the instant claim when x = 3, y = 1, and z = 7.
Regarding claim 5, Matsuno discloses the negative electrode active material of claim 1. Matsuno further discloses aluminum phosphate tribasic [¶ 0024], which is the common name for AlPO4.
Regarding claim 5, Matsuno discloses the negative electrode active material of claim 1. Matsuno further discloses the use of one or more lithium silicates, including Li2SO3 or Li2Si2O5 [¶ 0059].
Regarding claim 8, Matsuno discloses the negative electrode active material of claim 1. Matsuno further discloses the disposition of a carbon material as part of the active layer [¶ 0036], [¶ 0089].
Regarding claim 9, Matsuno discloses the negative active material of claim 1. Matsuno further discloses the use of graphite [¶ 0103], [¶ 0171].
Regarding claim 15, Matsuno discloses the negative active material claim 1. Matsuno further discloses a lithium secondary battery (i.e., lithium-ion secondary battery) [¶ 0012] comprising:
a negative electrode (i.e., negative electrode) [¶ 0083] including the active material of claim 1; and
a positive electrode (i.e., positive electrode) [¶ 0135].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuno et al., US 2021/0376311 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Matsuno discloses the negative electrode active material of claim 1 but is silent regarding specific compositions of silicates. However, Matsuno does include an example wherein the ratio of silicate relative to SiOx is varied [see Table 8]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the amount of silicate via routine experimentation with the composition of the electrode active material in order to optimize the material for the battery device. Therefore, the skilled artisan would have arrived at the claimed range of 10-95 parts per hundred by weight of silicate while performing routine experimentation with the composition of the electrode active material in order to optimize the material for the battery device. See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed Dec 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 1 recites “the composite has a core-shell structure” in line 6, which does not specify the composition of the core or the shell. Matsuno teaches a carbon material on a surface layer portion of each of the negative electrode active material particles which is desired to have a covering rate as high as possible and which would suppress contact between the silicon compound particles containing SiOx and water in an aqueous negative electrode slurry to suppress lithium compound elution ([¶ 0078]-[¶ 0081]). A covering rate of such completeness as taught by Matsuno would result in a structure of the carbon material of the surface layer portion corresponding to a shell. The silicon compound particle within the negative electrode active material particle that is shielded by the carbon material on the surface layer portion (i.e., shell) would correspond to the core of the claimed core-shell structure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 20 March 2026