DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group I, claim(s) 1–8 and 16–20, in the reply filed on 06/30/25 is acknowledged. Claim(s) 9–15 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant traverses on the grounds that no search burden exists. Examiner respectfully disagrees and, as detailed in the restriction requirement, reiterates that the battery pack and method of manufacturing the pack are classified in different sub-classes of H01M 50 and, thus, would require different classification searches and search strategies. Moreover, an examination burden appears to exist in that art relevant to the product would not necessarily apply to the method (and vice versa), and future amendments could make the product and method claims diverge in scope.
Thus, the restriction is still deemed proper and is made FINAL.
Claim Objections
It is recommended that Applicant amend claim 16 as follows: in line 6, “an enclosure enclosing the plurality of layers” is suggested to read “[[an]] a separate enclosure enclosing the plurality of layers” to clarify that this enclosure is different from the electronic device’s enclosure receiving the battery pack, as in instant specification, ¶ 0026 and FIG. 6). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC 112
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 18 and 20 each recites “the enclosure” in lines 2 and 2/3, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because parent claim 16 recites “the device enclosure” as well as “the enclosure” included with the battery pack, making it unclear which enclosure “the enclosure” references in claims 18 and 20. For this Office Action “the enclosure” of claims 18 and 20 will be assumed to reference the enclosure included with the battery pack, as in instant specification, ¶ 0049 and 0042/0043, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1–6, 8, and 16–19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Elfering et al. (US 20180366697 A1) (Elfering).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 16, 17, and 19, Elfering discloses a portable electronic device (e.g., power tool, FIG. 28A–C and ¶ 0165), comprising: a set of components powered by a battery pack (components within tool necessarily powered by pack, per fig; see also, e.g., power saw in FIG. 50A, which would include powered components such as motor and blade); and a device enclosure configured to receive the battery pack (see sealing in, e.g., FIGS. 28A–C and ¶ 0165), the battery pack comprising
a plurality of layers (pos. and neg. electrodes in cell core 104, e.g., ¶ 0003 and FIG. 11); an enclosure enclosing the plurality of layers (housing 38 with insert lid insert 168, e.g., FIGS. 16, 20, and 21); a cathode terminal and an anode terminal extending from a first face of the enclosure (via terminal block 176 (e.g., FIG. 21B), which, in containing multiple terminals on the same side of the housing, would reasonably include both pos. and neg. terminals), wherein the cathode terminal and the anode terminal are connected to the plurality of layers (electrically connected to cell core via welding straps 140 connected to conductive straps 42, FIG. 21B–D and ¶ 0142); a connector comprising a portion external to the enclosure (weld straps 140 with exposed ends 160 and 172, FIG. 21B–D and ¶ 0142; see also annot. FIG. 21D below), wherein the connector is configured to connect the cathode terminal or the anode terminal to the plurality of layers (¶ 0142).
Elfering further embodies applying a vapor-deposited coating 264 of, e.g., Parylene to all components of the battery pack and module housing (¶ 0040, 0185, 0186). As the instant specification fails to specially define a liquid-resistant tape coating that covers “the portion of the surface of the first face” (claims 2 and 17) or requires this tape coating to be a different material than the “coating” of claims 1 and 16 (note no exemplary materials for the tape in specification), as Parylene is hydrophobic (¶ 0185) and, thus, liquid-resistant, in fully coating the housing/pack components, the Parylene coating (claims 4 and 19) would necessarily cover “an entire surface” of the enclosure (claims 1 and 16), and the portion of the coating covering the “first face” would reasonably constitute a “liquid resistant tape coating” covering the portion of the surface of the first face “uncovered” by the coating (claims 2 and 17).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Elfering discloses the battery pack of claim 1 and portable electronic device of claim 16, wherein the portion of the surface of the first face of the enclosure comprises a region of the surface of the first face from which the cathode terminal and the anode terminal extend (portion of “first face” with terminals 176, annot. FIG. 21D).
Regarding claim 5, Elfering discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the coating further covers a surface of the external portion of the connector (in coating all components with the vapor-deposited coating, the surfaces of the exposed ends 160 and 172 of the welding straps, i.e., external portions of connector, would be covered).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Elfering discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the external portion of the connector is connected to the first face of the enclosure at a first position and is connected to a second face of the enclosure at a second position (per annot. FIG. 21D and ¶ 0152, weld straps 140, i.e., connector, include exposed contact ends 172 on the 1st face and exposed ends 160 on the 2nd face and, thus, are connected at two positions on the first and second faces, respectively),
the battery pack further comprising a liquid resistant tape coating covering at least a portion of a surface of the second face of the enclosure (again, in fully coating the housing/pack components, a portion of the Parylene coating—which, as discussed above, could be considered a “liquid resistant tape coating”, absent special definition or additional recitation—would cover at least a portion of a surface of the second face).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1–8 and 16–20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfering et al. (US 20180366697 A1) (Elfering).
NOTE: the following is an alternative rejection assuming that the vapor-deposited coating fails to read on a liquid-resistant tape coating that allows the “coating” to cover an entire surface of the enclosure except for at least a portion of a surface of the first face.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Elfering discloses a portable electronic device (e.g., power tool, FIG. 28A–C and ¶ 0165), comprising: a set of components powered by a battery pack (components within tool necessarily powered by pack, per fig; see also, e.g., power saw in FIG. 50A, which would include powered components such as motor and blade); and a device enclosure configured to receive the battery pack (see sealing in, e.g., FIGS. 28A–C and ¶ 0165), the battery pack comprising
a plurality of layers (pos. and neg. electrodes in cell core 104, e.g., ¶ 0003 and FIG. 11); an enclosure enclosing the plurality of layers (housing 38 with insert lid insert 168, e.g., FIGS. 16, 20, and 21); a cathode terminal and an anode terminal extending from a first face of the enclosure (via terminal block 176 (e.g., FIG. 21B), which, in containing multiple terminals on the same side of the housing, would reasonably include both pos. and neg. terminals), wherein the cathode terminal and the anode terminal are connected to the plurality of layers (electrically connected to cell core via welding straps 140 connected to conductive straps 42, FIG. 21B–D and ¶ 0142); a connector comprising a portion external to the enclosure (weld straps 140 with exposed ends 172 and 160, FIG. 21B–D and ¶ 0142; see also annot. FIG. 21D above), wherein the connector is configured to connect the cathode terminal or the anode terminal to the plurality of layers (¶ 0142).
Elfering further discloses a potting/conformal coating 156 or 260 that may be applied to the battery pack’s components such as the PCB and terminal connections to keep fluid away (e.g., ¶ 0143, 0181), as well as vapor-deposited coating 264 that may be used in conjunction with the conformal coating (¶ 0183) and that may coat at least a portion of the housing (e.g., ¶ 0028) to provide fluid-resistance and inhibit fluid ingress generally and/or into gaps (¶ 0185).
Though Elfering fails to explicitly embody that the “coating”, i.e., vapor-deposited coating, covers an entire surface of the enclosure except for at least a portion of a surface of the first face, considering that Elfering is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely battery-pack coatings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to coat at least Elfering’s housing’s sides with the vapor-deposited coating and coat the first face including the PCB and terminals with the conformal coating with the reasonable expectation of keeping fluid away from Elfering’s PCB and terminals and preventing fluid ingress generally along the housing’s sides, as suggested by Elfering.
Thus, Elfering would disclose or render obvious that the coating covers an entire surface of the enclosure except for at least a portion of a surface of the first face (by coating at least Elfering’s housing’s sides—each “an entire surface”—with the vapor-deposited coating while coating the first face with the potting/conformal film).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Elfering discloses the battery pack of claim 1 and portable electronic device of claim 16, the battery pack further comprising a liquid resistant tape coating covering the portion of the surface of the first face (conformal/potting coating, which may be silicone to keep fluid away (¶ 0181) and, thus, reasonably a liquid-resistant tape coating).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Elfering discloses the battery pack of claim 1 and portable electronic device of claim 16, wherein the portion of the surface of the first face of the enclosure comprises a region of the surface of the first face from which the cathode terminal and the anode terminal extend (portion of “first face” with terminals 176, annot. FIG. 21D).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Elfering discloses the battery pack of claim 1 and portable electronic device of claim 16, wherein the coating is a material comprising Parylene (¶ 0185, 0186).
Regarding claim 5, Elfering discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the coating further covers a surface of the external portion of the connector (in coating at least the housing’s sides with the vapor-deposited coating, the surfaces of the exposed ends 160 of the welding straps, i.e., external portion of connector, would be covered).
Regarding claims 6–8 and 20, Elfering discloses the battery pack of claim 1 and portable electronic device of claim 16, wherein the external portion of the connector is connected to the first face of the enclosure at a first position and is connected to a second face of the enclosure at a second position (per annot. FIG. 21D and ¶ 0152, weld straps 140, i.e., connector, include exposed contact ends 172 on the 1st face and exposed ends 160 on the 2nd face and, thus, are connected at two positions on the first and second faces, respectively), the battery pack further comprising a first liquid resistant tape coating covering the first position (conformal coating/potting from claims 1 and 16 covering electronic components such as PCBA and terminals and, thus, the exposed contact ends 172, i.e., first position).
As discussed in claims 1 and 16, the conformal coating/potting, i.e., tape coating, may be applied to the PCB and terminal connections to keep fluid away (e.g., ¶ 0143, 0181), but Elfering appears to fail to explicitly embody applying this coating to the exposed contact ends 160 and, thus, a second liquid resistant tape coating covering the second position/at least a portion of a surface of the second face of the enclosure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to routinely coat the potting compound onto at least a portion of the exposed contact ends 160—and, thus, yield a second tape coating covering the second position and at least a portion of a surface of the second face of the enclosure—with a reasonable expectation of further keeping fluid away, as suggested by Elfering (e.g., MPEP 2143 (A.)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1–8 and 16–20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–8 and 16–20 of copending Application No. 17/839911 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as follows:
Ref. claims 1 and 6 together recite a battery pack including an enclosure enclosing a plurality of layers, a Parylene coating covering an entire surface of the enclosure except for at least a portion of a surface of a first face from which cathode and anode terminals extend, as well as a connector comprising a portion external to the enclosure, where the connector is configured to connect either terminal to the plurality of layers. The other dependent claims respectively recite identical subject matter as the instant claims. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20220272466 A1: battery module coated with Parylene, though terminals are on opposite sides of housing.
US 20150311494 A1: battery with terminal coated with Parylene.
/J.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 9/10/2025