DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goh (EP 2793151A1).
Claim 1 recites “a method of manufacturing an electronic device peripheral.” Goh teaches such a method, as will be shown.
Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) a method of manufacturing an electronic device peripheral, the method comprising:
obtaining a model of a peripheral, the model having a plurality of components (para. 0030, 0037-0038, 0045-0046);
identifying one or more fit components of the model (para. 0016-0017, 0027-0028);
identifying one or more functional components (para. 0024, 0027-0028, 0037-0038);
receiving at least one change to the model (para. 0033-0036);
based at least partially on the at least one change, changing at least one property of a fit component of the one or more fit components without altering a functional component of the plurality of components (para. 0030, 0039, 0051-0052, 0096-0099); and
providing at least an altered fit component to an additive manufacturing device (para. 0028, 0047, 100-103).
Regarding Claim 2, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one property of the fit component includes a dimension of the fit component (para. 0029-0041).
Regarding Claim 3, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one property of the fit component includes a material property of the fit component (para. 0055-0056).
Regarding Claim 4, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the method of claim 3, wherein changing the material property changes an elastic modulus property of the fit component (para. 0055-0056).
Regarding Claim 5, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one property of the fit component includes a perimeter shape property of the fit component (para. 0031-0032, 0043-0044).
Regarding Claim 6, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one property of the fit component includes a mass property of the fit component (para. 0055, materials may have different masses, recesses would change the mass property).
Regarding Claim 7, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more functional components includes one or more of a mechanical switch, a magnetic switch, a light switch, and a potentiometer (para. 0041-0046).
Regarding Claim 8, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the method of claim 1, further comprising additively manufacturing a part of the peripheral corresponding to the altered fit component (para. 0028, 0047-0049).
Regarding Claim 9, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the method of claim I, wherein providing at least an altered fit component includes sending the altered fit component via a network from a client device (para. 0054, 0063-0065).
Regarding Claim 10, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more functional components includes a connection interface (para. 0027, 0052, 0055).
Regarding Claim 11, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the method of claim 1, wherein the change to the model includes a change to a dimension of the model (para. 0029, 0033-0035, 0063).
Claim 12 recites “a method of manufacturing an electronic device peripheral.” Goh teaches such a method, as will be shown.
Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) a method of manufacturing an electronic device peripheral, the method comprising:
obtaining a model of a peripheral (para. 0030, 0037-0038, 0045-0046);
identifying one or more functional components of the model (para. 0024, 0027-0028, 0037-0038);
identifying at least one remaining component of the model that is not a functional component of the one or more functional components of the model (para. 0016-0017, 0027-0028);
designating one or more of the at least one remaining component of the model as a fit component (para. 0016-0017, 0027-0028);
receiving at least one change to the model (para. 0033-0036);
based at least partially on the at least one change, changing at least one property of the fit component without altering a functional component (para. 0030, 0039, 0051-0052, 0096-0099); and
providing at least an altered fit component to an additive manufacturing device (para. 0028, 0047, 100-103).
Regarding Claim 13, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the method of claim 12, wherein the model is a unitary model when obtained (para. 0048, model may be separate or unitary).
Regarding Claim 16, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the method of claim 12, wherein the peripheral is an adaptive electronic device peripheral (para. 0079, 0089).
Claim 17 recites “a system for manufacturing an electronic device adaptive peripheral.” Goh teaches such a system, as will be shown.
Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) a system for manufacturing an electronic device adaptive peripheral, the system comprising:
an additive manufacturing device (para. 0100, 3D printer);
a computing device in data communication with the additive manufacturing device, the computing device including (para. 0100, computer):
a processor (para. 0100);
a communication device in data communication with the processor (para. 0100);
a hardware storage device in data communication with the processor, the hardware storage device having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to (para. 0100):
obtain a model of a peripheral, the model having a plurality of components (para. 0030, 0037-0038, 0045-0046);
identify one or more fit components of the model (para. 0016-0017, 0027-0028);
identify one or more functional components (para. 0024, 0027-0028, 0037-0038);
receive at least one change to the model via a network (para. 0033-0036);
based at least partially on the at least one change, change at least one property of a fit component of the one or more fit components without altering a functional component of the plurality of components (para. 0030, 0039, 0051-0052, 0096-0099); and
send a transmission to the additive manufacturing device to manufacture a part of the peripheral corresponding to an altered fit component (para. 0028, 0047, 100-103).
Regarding Claim 18, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the system of claim 17, wherein the at least one property of the fit component includes a material property, and the transmission to the additive manufacturing device includes a request to change filament material (para. 0055).
Regarding Claim 19, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the system of claim 17, wherein the computing device is local to the additive manufacturing device (para. 0063).
Regarding Claim 20, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the system of claim 17, wherein the transmission to the additive manufacturing device further causes the additive manufacturing device to manufacture a second part of the peripheral corresponding to a functional component (para. 0049).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goh in view of Atev (US 20220390918).
Regarding Claim 14, Goh teaches (Figs. 1-7) the method of claim 12.
However, Goh does not teach identifying one or more functional components includes inputting at least a portion of the model into a machine learning (ML) system.
Atev teaches a method for additive manufacturing comprising identifying one or more functional components includes inputting at least a portion of the model into a machine learning (ML) system (abstract, para. 0030).
Atev further teaches inputting the model into a ML system allows the ML system to automatically select the best orientation for manufacturing the components (para. 0030).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Atev to the method of Goh to have identifying one or more functional components includes inputting at least a portion of the model into a machine learning (ML) system, as both references and Applicant’s invention are directed to methods for additive manufacturing peripherals. Doing so would result in a convenient automated additive manufacturing system, as recognized by Atev.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Goh teaches (Goh Figs. 1-7) the method of claim 14, wherein the ML system identifies at least one connection interface (Goh para. 0027, 0052, 0055).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See cited references.
/ANDREW THANH BUI/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745