DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-20 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. Claims 2 & 8 are Canceled.
This action is made FINAL in response to the “amendment” and “remarks” filed 10/31/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: marine object detection device in Claim 1 and repeated throughout, Navigation Device in claim 9.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. As such, “marine object detection device” will be understood as at least one of a radar, a sonar, and a navigation device, such that it is communicably coupled to the processing circuitry (See Spec Para 0012) and “Navigation device” will be understood as any form of navigation or object detection device (See Spec Para 0061) which can perform the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-14, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arbuckle (US20190155288) in view of Frisbie (US20170210449).
Claim 1:
Arbuckle explicitly teaches:
An apparatus, comprising: a motion data receiver configured, at least in part, to determine a motion-related data of a vessel; and
(Arbuckle) – “The marine vessel 10 includes numerous sensors, including a location sensor that determines a location of the marine vessel 10, a speed sensor that determines a speed of the marine vessel 10, a direction sensor that senses a direction of travel of the marine vessel 10, and a rotational sensor that senses a direction of rotation of the marine vessel 10. In fact, the marine vessel 10 can be provided with multiple location sensors 34, such as a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 36, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 38, and several proximity sensors and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. In one example, the GPS receiver 36 serves as each of the location sensor, the speed sensor, and the direction sensor. The GPS receiver 36 provides to the control module 16 a present, actual geographic location of the marine vessel 10 in latitude and longitude. The GPS receiver 36 can also serve as the speed sensor, as it determines the speed of the marine vessel 10 over ground (“SOG”) by determining how far the marine vessel 10 travels, as determined from GPS position, over a given period of time. The control module 16 may use an average or filtered value of SOG as being the vessel's speed. In other examples, a pitot tube or paddle wheel type speed sensor may be included. The GPS receiver 36 can also act as the direction sensor, as it determines the course over ground (COG) of the marine vessel 10 based on changing geographical location. The IMU 38 may alternatively or additionally serve as the direction sensor, as it detects a present, actual heading of the marine vessel 10. In other examples, the direction sensor is a simple compass. The IMU 38 may also act as the rotational sensor, as it is capable of detecting a change in heading over time, otherwise known as yaw rate or angular velocity…In certain embodiments of the IMU 38, it comprises a differential correction receiver, accelerometers, angular rate sensors, and a microprocessor which manipulates the information obtained from these devices to provide information relating to the present position of the marine vessel 10, in terms of longitude and latitude, the present heading of the marine vessel 10 with respect to north, and the velocity and acceleration of the marine vessel 10 in six degrees of freedom. In some examples, the location sensor, speed sensor, direction sensor, and rotational sensor are part of a single device, such as an attitude and heading reference system (AHRS). As shown, the control module 16 is in signal communication with the location sensor(s) 34 and the speed sensor(s) (e.g., GPS receiver 36).” (Para 0026)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, “motion-related data of a vessel” may correspond with any information related in any way to any type of motion of any vessel.
processing circuitry communicably coupled to the motion data receiver, the processing circuitry configured to cause the apparatus, at least in part, to:
(Arbuckle) – “The marine vessel 10 includes numerous sensors, including a location sensor that determines a location of the marine vessel 10, a speed sensor that determines a speed of the marine vessel 10, a direction sensor that senses a direction of travel of the marine vessel 10, and a rotational sensor that senses a direction of rotation of the marine vessel 10. In fact, the marine vessel 10 can be provided with multiple location sensors 34, such as a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 36, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 38, and several proximity sensors and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. In one example, the GPS receiver 36 serves as each of the location sensor, the speed sensor, and the direction sensor. The GPS receiver 36 provides to the control module 16 a present, actual geographic location of the marine vessel 10 in latitude and longitude. The GPS receiver 36 can also serve as the speed sensor, as it determines the speed of the marine vessel 10 over ground (“SOG”) by determining how far the marine vessel 10 travels, as determined from GPS position, over a given period of time. The control module 16 may use an average or filtered value of SOG as being the vessel's speed. In other examples, a pitot tube or paddle wheel type speed sensor may be included. The GPS receiver 36 can also act as the direction sensor, as it determines the course over ground (COG) of the marine vessel 10 based on changing geographical location. The IMU 38 may alternatively or additionally serve as the direction sensor, as it detects a present, actual heading of the marine vessel 10. In other examples, the direction sensor is a simple compass. The IMU 38 may also act as the rotational sensor, as it is capable of detecting a change in heading over time, otherwise known as yaw rate or angular velocity…In certain embodiments of the IMU 38, it comprises a differential correction receiver, accelerometers, angular rate sensors, and a microprocessor which manipulates the information obtained from these devices to provide information relating to the present position of the marine vessel 10, in terms of longitude and latitude, the present heading of the marine vessel 10 with respect to north, and the velocity and acceleration of the marine vessel 10 in six degrees of freedom. In some examples, the location sensor, speed sensor, direction sensor, and rotational sensor are part of a single device, such as an attitude and heading reference system (AHRS). As shown, the control module 16 is in signal communication with the location sensor(s) 34 and the speed sensor(s) (e.g., GPS receiver 36).” (Para 0026)
“The processing system can comprise a microprocessor, including a control unit and a processing unit, and other circuitry, such as semiconductor hardware logic, that retrieves and executes software from the storage system.” (Para 0031)
set a first guard zone using a marine object detection device configured to detect objects in a marine environment, the first guard zone being a[[n]] [two-dimensional] area defined at a specified distance from the vessel in a first moving direction of the vessel,
(Arbuckle) – “Referring to FIG. 2, in an auto-docking mode, the control module 16 controls the propulsion system 12 to reduce a difference between the marine vessel's present location PL as determined by the GPS receiver 36 and a predetermined target location TL proximate the object O.” (Para 0035)
“the control module 16 can be programmed to determine if the marine vessel 10 is within a given distance D of the object O, which given distance D at least in part defines target location TL. Specifically, while the control module 16 controls the propulsion system 12 to reduce the difference between the marine vessel's location as determined by the GPS receiver 36 and the predetermined latitude and longitude-defined target location TL, the control module 16 also determines if the marine vessel 10 is within the given distance D of the object O based on the marine vessel's location as determined by the proximity sensor(s) and/or the vision-based sensor(s) 40a-40d.” (Para 0036)
“The sensors 40a-40d are used as location sensors, and for example could be radars, sonars, LiDAR devices, cameras, lasers, Doppler direction finders, or other devices individually capable of determining both the relative location and distance to an object O near the marine vessel 10, such as a dock, seawall, slip, buoy, shoreline, large rock or tree, etc.” (Para 0027)
“The proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d could therefore be used to determine vessel speed at low speeds, such as by regularly measuring a distance D between the marine vessel 10 and the object O, and calculating a change in the measured distance D over time. In one example, the control module 16 chooses to use data from the sensors 40a-40d for purposes of location and speed determination when the GPS receiver 36 or IMU 38 reports that the marine vessel 10 is within a predetermined range R (described below with respect to FIGS. 7 and 8) of a target geographical location TL (described below with respect to FIG. 2).” (Para 0029)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection. Spec Para 0047 indicates that “target area” and “guard zone” are synonymous and used interchangeably. As such, the interpretation remains the same.
determine an instantaneous change from[[in]] the first moving direction of the vessel to a second moving direction of the vessel based at least on the motion-related data of the vessel, and
(Arbuckle) – “The method includes measuring a present location of the marine vessel, and based on the marine vessel's present location, determining with a control module if the marine vessel is within a predetermined range of the target location. The method includes determining, with the control module, marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location.” (Para 0011)
“The system includes a location sensor that measures a present location of the marine vessel and a heading sensor that determines a present heading of the marine vessel. A control module is in signal communication with the location sensor and the heading sensor. A marine propulsion system is in signal communication with the control module. The control module determines marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location and to rotate the marine vessel from the present heading to the target heading.” (Para 0012)
“The marine vessel 10 includes numerous sensors, including a location sensor that determines a location of the marine vessel 10, a speed sensor that determines a speed of the marine vessel 10, a direction sensor that senses a direction of travel of the marine vessel 10, and a rotational sensor that senses a direction of rotation of the marine vessel 10. In fact, the marine vessel 10 can be provided with multiple location sensors 34, such as a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 36, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 38, and several proximity sensors and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. In one example, the GPS receiver 36 serves as each of the location sensor, the speed sensor, and the direction sensor. The GPS receiver 36 provides to the control module 16 a present, actual geographic location of the marine vessel 10 in latitude and longitude. The GPS receiver 36 can also serve as the speed sensor, as it determines the speed of the marine vessel 10 over ground (“SOG”) by determining how far the marine vessel 10 travels, as determined from GPS position, over a given period of time. The control module 16 may use an average or filtered value of SOG as being the vessel's speed. In other examples, a pitot tube or paddle wheel type speed sensor may be included. The GPS receiver 36 can also act as the direction sensor, as it determines the course over ground (COG) of the marine vessel 10 based on changing geographical location. The IMU 38 may alternatively or additionally serve as the direction sensor, as it detects a present, actual heading of the marine vessel 10. In other examples, the direction sensor is a simple compass. The IMU 38 may also act as the rotational sensor, as it is capable of detecting a change in heading over time, otherwise known as yaw rate or angular velocity…In certain embodiments of the IMU 38, it comprises a differential correction receiver, accelerometers, angular rate sensors, and a microprocessor which manipulates the information obtained from these devices to provide information relating to the present position of the marine vessel 10, in terms of longitude and latitude, the present heading of the marine vessel 10 with respect to north, and the velocity and acceleration of the marine vessel 10 in six degrees of freedom. In some examples, the location sensor, speed sensor, direction sensor, and rotational sensor are part of a single device, such as an attitude and heading reference system (AHRS). As shown, the control module 16 is in signal communication with the location sensor(s) 34 and the speed sensor(s) (e.g., GPS receiver 36).” (Para 0026)
“Note also that here the predetermined range R is shown as being defined by a measurement from the target location, TL, which in turn may be defined by the given distance D from the object O, as described with respect to FIG. 2. Thus, the predetermined range R could also be defined and stored as a measurement from the object O, where the total range for purposes of switching control authority is R+D. The control module 16 determines that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL based on information from any combination of the above-mentioned location sensors 34, including at least one of the GPS receiver 36 and the proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. Once the control module 16 has determined that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL proximate the object O, the control module 16 causes the propulsion system 12 to move the marine vessel 10 along or about no more than two axes of control at a time until the marine vessel 10 arrives nearly exactly at the target location TL.” (Para 0048)
“the predetermined range R may depend on the speed of the marine vessel 10 and/or the mode in which the propulsion system 12 is operating” (Para 0049)
adaptively shift the first guard zone to a second guard zone associated with the vessel based on the instantaneous change from the first moving direction to the second moving direction,
(Arbuckle) – “Note also that here the predetermined range R is shown as being defined by a measurement from the target location, TL, which in turn may be defined by the given distance D from the object O, as described with respect to FIG. 2. Thus, the predetermined range R could also be defined and stored as a measurement from the object O, where the total range for purposes of switching control authority is R+D. The control module 16 determines that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL based on information from any combination of the above-mentioned location sensors 34, including at least one of the GPS receiver 36 and the proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. Once the control module 16 has determined that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL proximate the object O, the control module 16 causes the propulsion system 12 to move the marine vessel 10 along or about no more than two axes of control at a time until the marine vessel 10 arrives nearly exactly at the target location TL.” (Para 0048)
“the predetermined range R may depend on the speed of the marine vessel 10 and/or the mode in which the propulsion system 12 is operating” (Para 0049)
“The method includes measuring a present location of the marine vessel, and based on the marine vessel's present location, determining with a control module if the marine vessel is within a predetermined range of the target location. The method includes determining, with the control module, marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location.” (Para 0011)
“The system includes a location sensor that measures a present location of the marine vessel and a heading sensor that determines a present heading of the marine vessel. A control module is in signal communication with the location sensor and the heading sensor. A marine propulsion system is in signal communication with the control module. The control module determines marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location and to rotate the marine vessel from the present heading to the target heading.” (Para 0012)
“The marine vessel 10 includes numerous sensors, including a location sensor that determines a location of the marine vessel 10, a speed sensor that determines a speed of the marine vessel 10, a direction sensor that senses a direction of travel of the marine vessel 10, and a rotational sensor that senses a direction of rotation of the marine vessel 10. In fact, the marine vessel 10 can be provided with multiple location sensors 34, such as a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 36, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 38, and several proximity sensors and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. In one example, the GPS receiver 36 serves as each of the location sensor, the speed sensor, and the direction sensor. The GPS receiver 36 provides to the control module 16 a present, actual geographic location of the marine vessel 10 in latitude and longitude. The GPS receiver 36 can also serve as the speed sensor, as it determines the speed of the marine vessel 10 over ground (“SOG”) by determining how far the marine vessel 10 travels, as determined from GPS position, over a given period of time. The control module 16 may use an average or filtered value of SOG as being the vessel's speed. In other examples, a pitot tube or paddle wheel type speed sensor may be included. The GPS receiver 36 can also act as the direction sensor, as it determines the course over ground (COG) of the marine vessel 10 based on changing geographical location. The IMU 38 may alternatively or additionally serve as the direction sensor, as it detects a present, actual heading of the marine vessel 10. In other examples, the direction sensor is a simple compass. The IMU 38 may also act as the rotational sensor, as it is capable of detecting a change in heading over time, otherwise known as yaw rate or angular velocity…In certain embodiments of the IMU 38, it comprises a differential correction receiver, accelerometers, angular rate sensors, and a microprocessor which manipulates the information obtained from these devices to provide information relating to the present position of the marine vessel 10, in terms of longitude and latitude, the present heading of the marine vessel 10 with respect to north, and the velocity and acceleration of the marine vessel 10 in six degrees of freedom. In some examples, the location sensor, speed sensor, direction sensor, and rotational sensor are part of a single device, such as an attitude and heading reference system (AHRS). As shown, the control module 16 is in signal communication with the location sensor(s) 34 and the speed sensor(s) (e.g., GPS receiver 36).” (Para 0026)
Examiner Note: “second guard zone associated with the vessel” is recited with a high degree of generality and may correspond with any area of note related in any way to a vessel which meets the limitations of the claim. As such, predetermined range corresponds with second guard zone.
trigger an alarm signal based at least on determining if one or more objects are located in the second guard zone
(Arbuckle) – “The sensors 40a-40d are used as location sensors, and for example could be radars, sonars, LiDAR devices, cameras, lasers, Doppler direction finders, or other devices individually capable of determining both the relative location and distance to an object O near the marine vessel 10, such as a dock, seawall, slip, buoy, shoreline, large rock or tree, etc.” (Para 0027)
“Relative position and bearing data from the proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d can be used in order to provide measurement resolution and accuracy much higher than that of the GPS receiver 36…The proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d could therefore be used to determine vessel speed at low speeds, such as by regularly measuring a distance D between the marine vessel 10 and the object O, and calculating a change in the measured distance D over time. In one example, the control module 16 chooses to use data from the sensors 40a-40d for purposes of location and speed determination when the GPS receiver 36 or IMU 38 reports that the marine vessel 10 is within a predetermined range R (described below with respect to FIGS. 7 and 8) of a target geographical location TL (described below with respect to FIG. 2). The predetermined range R may be measured from the center of gravity of the marine vessel 10, from the outer edge of the hull, from the GPS receiver 36 or IMU 38, or from the proximity sensor nearest the object O, depending on system calibration. In another example, the control module 16 chooses to use data from the sensors 40a-40d for purposes of location and speed determination if the GPS receiver 36, IMU 38, or proximity sensors 40a-40d report that the marine vessel 10 is within a predefined switching threshold distance from the object O.” (Para 0029)
“Note also that here the predetermined range R is shown as being defined by a measurement from the target location, TL, which in turn may be defined by the given distance D from the object O, as described with respect to FIG. 2. Thus, the predetermined range R could also be defined and stored as a measurement from the object O, where the total range for purposes of switching control authority is R+D. The control module 16 determines that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL based on information from any combination of the above-mentioned location sensors 34, including at least one of the GPS receiver 36 and the proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. Once the control module 16 has determined that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL proximate the object O, the control module 16 causes the propulsion system 12 to move the marine vessel 10 along or about no more than two axes of control at a time until the marine vessel 10 arrives nearly exactly at the target location TL.” (Para 0048)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, report corresponds with alarm signal.
Arbuckle does not explicitly teach:
two-dimensional …display a graphical representation of the first guard zone and a graphical representation of the vessel in a user interface on a display,…the second guard zone being a two-dimensional area, [[and]]display a graphical representation of the second guard zone and the graphical representation of the vessel in the user interface on the display, and
Frisbie, in the same field of endeavor of marine navigation, teaches:
two-dimensional …display a graphical representation of the first guard zone and a graphical representation of the vessel in a user interface on a display,…the second guard zone being a two-dimensional area, [[and]]display a graphical representation of the second guard zone and the graphical representation of the vessel in the user interface on the display, and
(Frisbie) – “The display 108 may be coupled with the processing system 110 and may be configured for displaying text, data, graphics, images and other information representative of data from the marine input sources 116 and/or other sources… the display 108 may include a touchscreen control system. The touchscreen control system may use any touchscreen technology such as resistive, capacitive, or infrared touchscreen technologies, or any combination thereof.” (Para 0038)
“As shown in FIG. 6, the boundary definition component 118 may be employed to generate a graphical representation 602 of the geographic area 502 by generating a coordinate representation 604 of the boundaries 504 of the geographic area 502, and to “associate” this graphical representation 602 with one or more modes of operation.” (Para 0062)
“It will be appreciated based on the foregoing discussion, that the mode selector 120 may cause the processing system 110 to change the mode of operation of the marine vessel display system 100 from a current mode of operation to a desired mode of operation when the marine vessel 102 enters a defined geographic area 502 associated with the desired mode of operation. …The mode selector 120 may thereafter select a third mode of operation when the geographic position data received from the position determining component 112 indicates that the marine vessel 102 has entered a second geographic area (not shown).” (Para 0071)
Examiner Note: At least Fig 5A shows that the geographical areas are two-dimensional.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the marine vessel control of Arbuckle with the display system for a marine vessel of Frisbie. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications with a reasonable expectation of success because “To reduce dashboard clutter and simplify operation, marine vessels are increasingly being equipped with one or more multi-function electronic displays that replace many of the individual instruments, controls, and gauges.” (Frisbie Para 0001)
Claim 2: Canceled
Claim 5:
Arbuckle in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Arbuckle further teaches:
wherein the motion data receiver is further configured, at least in part, to determine the motion-related data of the vessel based on heading deviation data received from a heading sensor associated with the vessel.
(Arbuckle) – “The system includes a location sensor that measures a present location of the marine vessel and a heading sensor that determines a present heading of the marine vessel. A control module is in signal communication with the location sensor and the heading sensor. A marine propulsion system is in signal communication with the control module. The control module determines marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location and to rotate the marine vessel from the present heading to the target heading.” (Para 0012)
“The marine vessel 10 includes numerous sensors, including a location sensor that determines a location of the marine vessel 10, a speed sensor that determines a speed of the marine vessel 10, a direction sensor that senses a direction of travel of the marine vessel 10, and a rotational sensor that senses a direction of rotation of the marine vessel 10. In fact, the marine vessel 10 can be provided with multiple location sensors 34, such as a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 36, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 38, and several proximity sensors and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. In one example, the GPS receiver 36 serves as each of the location sensor, the speed sensor, and the direction sensor. The GPS receiver 36 provides to the control module 16 a present, actual geographic location of the marine vessel 10 in latitude and longitude. The GPS receiver 36 can also serve as the speed sensor, as it determines the speed of the marine vessel 10 over ground (“SOG”) by determining how far the marine vessel 10 travels, as determined from GPS position, over a given period of time. The control module 16 may use an average or filtered value of SOG as being the vessel's speed. In other examples, a pitot tube or paddle wheel type speed sensor may be included. The GPS receiver 36 can also act as the direction sensor, as it determines the course over ground (COG) of the marine vessel 10 based on changing geographical location. The IMU 38 may alternatively or additionally serve as the direction sensor, as it detects a present, actual heading of the marine vessel 10. In other examples, the direction sensor is a simple compass. The IMU 38 may also act as the rotational sensor, as it is capable of detecting a change in heading over time, otherwise known as yaw rate or angular velocity…In certain embodiments of the IMU 38, it comprises a differential correction receiver, accelerometers, angular rate sensors, and a microprocessor which manipulates the information obtained from these devices to provide information relating to the present position of the marine vessel 10, in terms of longitude and latitude, the present heading of the marine vessel 10 with respect to north, and the velocity and acceleration of the marine vessel 10 in six degrees of freedom. In some examples, the location sensor, speed sensor, direction sensor, and rotational sensor are part of a single device, such as an attitude and heading reference system (AHRS). As shown, the control module 16 is in signal communication with the location sensor(s) 34 and the speed sensor(s) (e.g., GPS receiver 36).” (Para 0026)
Claim 6:
Arbuckle in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Arbuckle further teaches:
wherein the motion data receiver is further configured, at least in part, to: receive route data of the vessel from a user interface, the route data comprising a plurality of waypoints; and
(Arbuckle) – “a method for controlling movement of a marine vessel, including controlling a propulsion device to automatically maneuver the vessel along a track including a series of waypoints, and determining whether the next waypoint is a stopover waypoint at or near which the vessel is to electronically anchor.” (Para 0008)
“The target location TL and target heading TH can be input by the operator via the touch screen 28, such as by selecting the target location from a user-interactive map and inputting the target heading as a numerical value or by way of a finger swipe.” (Para 0035)
determine the motion-related data of the vessel based on the received route data.
(Arbuckle) – “The system includes a location sensor that measures a present location of the marine vessel and a heading sensor that determines a present heading of the marine vessel. A control module is in signal communication with the location sensor and the heading sensor. A marine propulsion system is in signal communication with the control module. The control module determines marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location and to rotate the marine vessel from the present heading to the target heading.” (Para 0012)
Claim 7:
Arbuckle in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Arbuckle further teaches:
wherein the object detection device is communicably coupled to the processing circuitry and is configured, at least in part, to obtain location data of the one or more objects within a predetermined area of the second target area, wherein the predetermined area is based at least on an operating range associated with the object detection device.
(Arbuckle) – “The sensors 40a-40d are used as location sensors, and for example could be radars, sonars, LiDAR devices, cameras, lasers, Doppler direction finders, or other devices individually capable of determining both the relative location and distance to an object O near the marine vessel 10, such as a dock, seawall, slip, buoy, shoreline, large rock or tree, etc.” (Para 0027)
“Relative position and bearing data from the proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d can be used in order to provide measurement resolution and accuracy much higher than that of the GPS receiver 36…The proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d could therefore be used to determine vessel speed at low speeds, such as by regularly measuring a distance D between the marine vessel 10 and the object O, and calculating a change in the measured distance D over time. In one example, the control module 16 chooses to use data from the sensors 40a-40d for purposes of location and speed determination when the GPS receiver 36 or IMU 38 reports that the marine vessel 10 is within a predetermined range R (described below with respect to FIGS. 7 and 8) of a target geographical location TL (described below with respect to FIG. 2). The predetermined range R may be measured from the center of gravity of the marine vessel 10, from the outer edge of the hull, from the GPS receiver 36 or IMU 38, or from the proximity sensor nearest the object O, depending on system calibration. In another example, the control module 16 chooses to use data from the sensors 40a-40d for purposes of location and speed determination if the GPS receiver 36, IMU 38, or proximity sensors 40a-40d report that the marine vessel 10 is within a predefined switching threshold distance from the object O.” (Para 0029)
“Note also that here the predetermined range R is shown as being defined by a measurement from the target location, TL, which in turn may be defined by the given distance D from the object O, as described with respect to FIG. 2. Thus, the predetermined range R could also be defined and stored as a measurement from the object O, where the total range for purposes of switching control authority is R+D. The control module 16 determines that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL based on information from any combination of the above-mentioned location sensors 34, including at least one of the GPS receiver 36 and the proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. Once the control module 16 has determined that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL proximate the object O, the control module 16 causes the propulsion system 12 to move the marine vessel 10 along or about no more than two axes of control at a time until the marine vessel 10 arrives nearly exactly at the target location TL.” (Para 0048)
“the predetermined range R may depend on the speed of the marine vessel 10 and/or the mode in which the propulsion system 12 is operating” (Para 0049)
Examiner Note: For the sensors to be used within the predetermined range, then the range must be determined base at least on the operating range of the sensor.
Claim 8: Cancelled
Claim 9:
Arbuckle in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 7 teach those respective limitations. Arbuckle further teaches:
wherein the marine object detection device comprises at least one of a radar, a sonar, and a navigation device configured to detect and display landmasses and natural features in the marine environment.
(Arbuckle) – “The sensors 40a-40d are used as location sensors, and for example could be radars, sonars, LiDAR devices, cameras, lasers, Doppler direction finders, or other devices individually capable of determining both the relative location and distance to an object O near the marine vessel 10, such as a dock, seawall, slip, buoy, shoreline, large rock or tree, etc.” (Para 0027)
Claim 10:
Arbuckle in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Arbuckle further teaches:
further comprising a user interface communicably coupled to the motion data receiver and the processing circuitry, the user interface configured, at least in part, to:
(Arbuckle) – “The target location TL and target heading TH can be input by the operator via the touch screen 28, such as by selecting the target location from a user-interactive map and inputting the target heading as a numerical value or by way of a finger swipe.” (Para 0035)
“The system includes a location sensor that measures a present location of the marine vessel and a heading sensor that determines a present heading of the marine vessel. A control module is in signal communication with the location sensor and the heading sensor. A marine propulsion system is in signal communication with the control module. The control module determines marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location and to rotate the marine vessel from the present heading to the target heading.” (Para 0012)
receive one or more user inputs related to a position and a layout of the first target area or the second target area based on a current moving direction of the vessel; and
(Arbuckle) – “The target location TL and target heading TH can be input by the operator via the touch screen 28, such as by selecting the target location from a user-interactive map and inputting the target heading as a numerical value or by way of a finger swipe.” (Para 0035)
“The system includes a location sensor that measures a present location of the marine vessel and a heading sensor that determines a present heading of the marine vessel. A control module is in signal communication with the location sensor and the heading sensor. A marine propulsion system is in signal communication with the control module. The control module determines marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location and to rotate the marine vessel from the present heading to the target heading.” (Para 0012)
receive a display signal, transmitted by the processing circuitry, for facilitating display of the first target area or the second target area
(Arbuckle) – “The target location TL and target heading TH can be input by the operator via the touch screen 28, such as by selecting the target location from a user-interactive map and inputting the target heading as a numerical value or by way of a finger swipe.” (Para 0035)
“The system includes a location sensor that measures a present location of the marine vessel and a heading sensor that determines a present heading of the marine vessel. A control module is in signal communication with the location sensor and the heading sensor. A marine propulsion system is in signal communication with the control module. The control module determines marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location and to rotate the marine vessel from the present heading to the target heading.” (Para 0012)
“A command console 26 on the marine vessel 10 includes an electronic display screen, such as the touch screen 28 shown herein. Note that in other embodiments, the display screen may additionally or alternatively be associated with a keypad and may not be capable of receiving touch inputs. The touch screen 28 may provide the operator of the marine vessel 10 with the ability to select one or more modes in which to operate the marine vessel 10, such as, but not limited to, an auto-docking mode, which will be described further herein below.” (Para 0025)
Claim 11:
Arbuckle in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Arbuckle further teaches:
further comprising: condition determining circuitry communicably coupled to the processing circuitry, the condition determining circuitry configured, at least in part, to:
(Arbuckle) – “One or more ambient condition sensors that measure ambient conditions surrounding the marine vessel may also be included on the marine vessel 10. The ambient condition sensors may include a current speed sensor 41 and/or a wind speed sensor 43, as shown in FIG. 1.” (Para 0051)
determine set and drift condition data based on one or more [set and] drift conditions in vicinity of the vessel, and
(Arbuckle) – “One or more ambient condition sensors that measure ambient conditions surrounding the marine vessel may also be included on the marine vessel 10. The ambient condition sensors may include a current speed sensor 41 and/or a wind speed sensor 43, as shown in FIG. 1.” (Para 0051)
“However, if ambient conditions, such as current or wind, surrounding the marine vessel 10 are very strong, operating the engines 18a, 18b at idle speed may not produce enough thrust to move the marine vessel 10 at all. For example, if a strong current C was flowing away from the object O FIG. 7, but the engines were only operated in idle, it may be nearly impossible to move the marine vessel 10 toward the object O against the current C without providing additional thrust.” (Para 0060)
transmit the set and drift condition data to the processing circuitry.
(Arbuckle) – “One or more ambient condition sensors that measure ambient conditions surrounding the marine vessel may also be included on the marine vessel 10. The ambient condition sensors may include a current speed sensor 41 and/or a wind speed sensor 43, as shown in FIG. 1.” (Para 0051)
“However, if ambient conditions, such as current or wind, surrounding the marine vessel 10 are very strong, operating the engines 18a, 18b at idle speed may not produce enough thrust to move the marine vessel 10 at all. For example, if a strong current C was flowing away from the object O FIG. 7, but the engines were only operated in idle, it may be nearly impossible to move the marine vessel 10 toward the object O against the current C without providing additional thrust.” (Para 0060)
Examiner Note: Fig. 1 shows the current speed sensor transmitting data to the control module.
Claim 12:
Arbuckle in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 11 teach those respective limitations. Arbuckle further teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured, at least in part, to: receive the set and drift condition data;
(Arbuckle) – “One or more ambient condition sensors that measure ambient conditions surrounding the marine vessel may also be included on the marine vessel 10. The ambient condition sensors may include a current speed sensor 41 and/or a wind speed sensor 43, as shown in FIG. 1.” (Para 0051)
“However, if ambient conditions, such as current or wind, surrounding the marine vessel 10 are very strong, operating the engines 18a, 18b at idle speed may not produce enough thrust to move the marine vessel 10 at all. For example, if a strong current C was flowing away from the object O FIG. 7, but the engines were only operated in idle, it may be nearly impossible to move the marine vessel 10 toward the object O against the current C without providing additional thrust.” (Para 0060)
Examiner Note: Fig. 1 shows the current speed sensor transmitting data to the control module.
determine an error value in the motion-related data based on the set and drift conditions;
(Arbuckle) – “The marine vessel 10 can be moved to a predetermined target global position (defined by latitude and longitude) and to a predetermined target heading by way of an algorithm that controls the vessel's propulsion devices 14a, 14b to drive the vessel's position error and heading error to zero.” (Para 0035)
“One or more ambient condition sensors that measure ambient conditions surrounding the marine vessel may also be included on the marine vessel 10. The ambient condition sensors may include a current speed sensor 41 and/or a wind speed sensor 43, as shown in FIG. 1.” (Para 0051)
“The control module 16 then determines a first error between the present location 100 and the target location 102 with respect to a first axis. In the example of FIG. 5, the control module 16 determines the y-error 104 with respect to the y-axis. Note that the first error could otherwise be computed with respect to the x-axis or the z-axis, and the y-axis is used here merely for exemplary purposes. The y-error computed at 104 is provided to an input-output map 106.” (Para 0054)
“However, if ambient conditions, such as current or wind, surrounding the marine vessel 10 are very strong, operating the engines 18a, 18b at idle speed may not produce enough thrust to move the marine vessel 10 at all. For example, if a strong current C was flowing away from the object O FIG. 7, but the engines were only operated in idle, it may be nearly impossible to move the marine vessel 10 toward the object O against the current C without providing additional thrust.” (Para 0060)
and calibrate the motion-related data based on the determined error value.
(Arbuckle) – “The marine vessel 10 can be moved to a predetermined target global position (defined by latitude and longitude) and to a predetermined target heading by way of an algorithm that controls the vessel's propulsion devices 14a, 14b to drive the vessel's position error and heading error to zero.” (Para 0035)
“One or more ambient condition sensors that measure ambient conditions surrounding the marine vessel may also be included on the marine vessel 10. The ambient condition sensors may include a current speed sensor 41 and/or a wind speed sensor 43, as shown in FIG. 1.” (Para 0051)
“The control module 16 then determines a first error between the present location 100 and the target location 102 with respect to a first axis. In the example of FIG. 5, the control module 16 determines the y-error 104 with respect to the y-axis. Note that the first error could otherwise be computed with respect to the x-axis or the z-axis, and the y-axis is used here merely for exemplary purposes. The y-error computed at 104 is provided to an input-output map 106.” (Para 0054)
“However, if ambient conditions, such as current or wind, surrounding the marine vessel 10 are very strong, operating the engines 18a, 18b at idle speed may not produce enough thrust to move the marine vessel 10 at all. For example, if a strong current C was flowing away from the object O FIG. 7, but the engines were only operated in idle, it may be nearly impossible to move the marine vessel 10 toward the object O against the current C without providing additional thrust.” (Para 0060)
“The control module 16 may thereafter automatically control the propulsion system 12 to produce components of the updated required marine vessel movements one degree of freedom at a time during a give iteration of control. Such a second round of error correction will account for any adjustments that need to be made due to the marine vessel 10 not having moved to the desired positions or rotated to the desired heading during the first three iterations of control.” (Para 0062)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, calibrating may correspond with any type of correction of the relevant data based on error. The broad recitation of “motion-related data” allows a wide variety of correction to correspond to this limitation.
Claim 13:
Arbuckle in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 11 teach those respective limitations. Arbuckle further teaches:
wherein the set and drift conditions comprise at least one of a leeway motion, a steering error, and a water current.
(Arbuckle) – “The marine vessel 10 can be moved to a predetermined target global position (defined by latitude and longitude) and to a predetermined target heading by way of an algorithm that controls the vessel's propulsion devices 14a, 14b to drive the vessel's position error and heading error to zero.” (Para 0035)
“One or more ambient condition sensors that measure ambient conditions surrounding the marine vessel may also be included on the marine vessel 10. The ambient condition sensors may include a current speed sensor 41 and/or a wind speed sensor 43, as shown in FIG. 1.” (Para 0051)
“The control module 16 then determines a first error between the present location 100 and the target location 102 with respect to a first axis. In the example of FIG. 5, the control module 16 determines the y-error 104 with respect to the y-axis. Note that the first error could otherwise be computed with respect to the x-axis or the z-axis, and the y-axis is used here merely for exemplary purposes. The y-error computed at 104 is provided to an input-output map 106.” (Para 0054)
“However, if ambient conditions, such as current or wind, surrounding the marine vessel 10 are very strong, operating the engines 18a, 18b at idle speed may not produce enough thrust to move the marine vessel 10 at all. For example, if a strong current C was flowing away from the object O FIG. 7, but the engines were only operated in idle, it may be nearly impossible to move the marine vessel 10 toward the object O against the current C without providing additional thrust.” (Para 0060)
Claim 14:
Arbuckle explicitly teaches:
A method, comprising: determining motion-related data of a vessel;
(Arbuckle) – “The marine vessel 10 includes numerous sensors, including a location sensor that determines a location of the marine vessel 10, a speed sensor that determines a speed of the marine vessel 10, a direction sensor that senses a direction of travel of the marine vessel 10, and a rotational sensor that senses a direction of rotation of the marine vessel 10. In fact, the marine vessel 10 can be provided with multiple location sensors 34, such as a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 36, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 38, and several proximity sensors and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. In one example, the GPS receiver 36 serves as each of the location sensor, the speed sensor, and the direction sensor. The GPS receiver 36 provides to the control module 16 a present, actual geographic location of the marine vessel 10 in latitude and longitude. The GPS receiver 36 can also serve as the speed sensor, as it determines the speed of the marine vessel 10 over ground (“SOG”) by determining how far the marine vessel 10 travels, as determined from GPS position, over a given period of time. The control module 16 may use an average or filtered value of SOG as being the vessel's speed. In other examples, a pitot tube or paddle wheel type speed sensor may be included. The GPS receiver 36 can also act as the direction sensor, as it determines the course over ground (COG) of the marine vessel 10 based on changing geographical location. The IMU 38 may alternatively or additionally serve as the direction sensor, as it detects a present, actual heading of the marine vessel 10. In other examples, the direction sensor is a simple compass. The IMU 38 may also act as the rotational sensor, as it is capable of detecting a change in heading over time, otherwise known as yaw rate or angular velocity…In certain embodiments of the IMU 38, it comprises a differential correction receiver, accelerometers, angular rate sensors, and a microprocessor which manipulates the information obtained from these devices to provide information relating to the present position of the marine vessel 10, in terms of longitude and latitude, the present heading of the marine vessel 10 with respect to north, and the velocity and acceleration of the marine vessel 10 in six degrees of freedom. In some examples, the location sensor, speed sensor, direction sensor, and rotational sensor are part of a single device, such as an attitude and heading reference system (AHRS). As shown, the control module 16 is in signal communication with the location sensor(s) 34 and the speed sensor(s) (e.g., GPS receiver 36).” (Para 0026)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, “motion-related data of a vessel” may correspond with any information related in any way to any type of motion of any vessel.
setting a first guard zone using a marine object detection device configured to detect objects in a marine environment, the first guard zone being a[[n]] [two-dimensional] area defined at a specified distance from the vessel in a first moving direction of the vessel;
(Arbuckle) – “Referring to FIG. 2, in an auto-docking mode, the control module 16 controls the propulsion system 12 to reduce a difference between the marine vessel's present location PL as determined by the GPS receiver 36 and a predetermined target location TL proximate the object O.” (Para 0035)
“the control module 16 can be programmed to determine if the marine vessel 10 is within a given distance D of the object O, which given distance D at least in part defines target location TL. Specifically, while the control module 16 controls the propulsion system 12 to reduce the difference between the marine vessel's location as determined by the GPS receiver 36 and the predetermined latitude and longitude-defined target location TL, the control module 16 also determines if the marine vessel 10 is within the given distance D of the object O based on the marine vessel's location as determined by the proximity sensor(s) and/or the vision-based sensor(s) 40a-40d.” (Para 0036)
“The sensors 40a-40d are used as location sensors, and for example could be radars, sonars, LiDAR devices, cameras, lasers, Doppler direction finders, or other devices individually capable of determining both the relative location and distance to an object O near the marine vessel 10, such as a dock, seawall, slip, buoy, shoreline, large rock or tree, etc.” (Para 0027)
“The proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d could therefore be used to determine vessel speed at low speeds, such as by regularly measuring a distance D between the marine vessel 10 and the object O, and calculating a change in the measured distance D over time. In one example, the control module 16 chooses to use data from the sensors 40a-40d for purposes of location and speed determination when the GPS receiver 36 or IMU 38 reports that the marine vessel 10 is within a predetermined range R (described below with respect to FIGS. 7 and 8) of a target geographical location TL (described below with respect to FIG. 2).” (Para 0029)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
determining an instantaneous change from[[in]] the first moving direction of the vessel to a second moving direction of the vessel based at least on the motion-related data of the vessel, and
(Arbuckle) – “The method includes measuring a present location of the marine vessel, and based on the marine vessel's present location, determining with a control module if the marine vessel is within a predetermined range of the target location. The method includes determining, with the control module, marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location.” (Para 0011)
“The system includes a location sensor that measures a present location of the marine vessel and a heading sensor that determines a present heading of the marine vessel. A control module is in signal communication with the location sensor and the heading sensor. A marine propulsion system is in signal communication with the control module. The control module determines marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location and to rotate the marine vessel from the present heading to the target heading.” (Para 0012)
“The marine vessel 10 includes numerous sensors, including a location sensor that determines a location of the marine vessel 10, a speed sensor that determines a speed of the marine vessel 10, a direction sensor that senses a direction of travel of the marine vessel 10, and a rotational sensor that senses a direction of rotation of the marine vessel 10. In fact, the marine vessel 10 can be provided with multiple location sensors 34, such as a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 36, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 38, and several proximity sensors and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. In one example, the GPS receiver 36 serves as each of the location sensor, the speed sensor, and the direction sensor. The GPS receiver 36 provides to the control module 16 a present, actual geographic location of the marine vessel 10 in latitude and longitude. The GPS receiver 36 can also serve as the speed sensor, as it determines the speed of the marine vessel 10 over ground (“SOG”) by determining how far the marine vessel 10 travels, as determined from GPS position, over a given period of time. The control module 16 may use an average or filtered value of SOG as being the vessel's speed. In other examples, a pitot tube or paddle wheel type speed sensor may be included. The GPS receiver 36 can also act as the direction sensor, as it determines the course over ground (COG) of the marine vessel 10 based on changing geographical location. The IMU 38 may alternatively or additionally serve as the direction sensor, as it detects a present, actual heading of the marine vessel 10. In other examples, the direction sensor is a simple compass. The IMU 38 may also act as the rotational sensor, as it is capable of detecting a change in heading over time, otherwise known as yaw rate or angular velocity…In certain embodiments of the IMU 38, it comprises a differential correction receiver, accelerometers, angular rate sensors, and a microprocessor which manipulates the information obtained from these devices to provide information relating to the present position of the marine vessel 10, in terms of longitude and latitude, the present heading of the marine vessel 10 with respect to north, and the velocity and acceleration of the marine vessel 10 in six degrees of freedom. In some examples, the location sensor, speed sensor, direction sensor, and rotational sensor are part of a single device, such as an attitude and heading reference system (AHRS). As shown, the control module 16 is in signal communication with the location sensor(s) 34 and the speed sensor(s) (e.g., GPS receiver 36).” (Para 0026)
“Note also that here the predetermined range R is shown as being defined by a measurement from the target location, TL, which in turn may be defined by the given distance D from the object O, as described with respect to FIG. 2. Thus, the predetermined range R could also be defined and stored as a measurement from the object O, where the total range for purposes of switching control authority is R+D. The control module 16 determines that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL based on information from any combination of the above-mentioned location sensors 34, including at least one of the GPS receiver 36 and the proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. Once the control module 16 has determined that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL proximate the object O, the control module 16 causes the propulsion system 12 to move the marine vessel 10 along or about no more than two axes of control at a time until the marine vessel 10 arrives nearly exactly at the target location TL.” (Para 0048)
“the predetermined range R may depend on the speed of the marine vessel 10 and/or the mode in which the propulsion system 12 is operating” (Para 0049)
adaptively shifting the first guard zone toguard zone instantaneous change from[[in]] the first moving direction to the second moving direction
(Arbuckle) – “Note also that here the predetermined range R is shown as being defined by a measurement from the target location, TL, which in turn may be defined by the given distance D from the object O, as described with respect to FIG. 2. Thus, the predetermined range R could also be defined and stored as a measurement from the object O, where the total range for purposes of switching control authority is R+D. The control module 16 determines that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL based on information from any combination of the above-mentioned location sensors 34, including at least one of the GPS receiver 36 and the proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. Once the control module 16 has determined that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL proximate the object O, the control module 16 causes the propulsion system 12 to move the marine vessel 10 along or about no more than two axes of control at a time until the marine vessel 10 arrives nearly exactly at the target location TL.” (Para 0048)
“the predetermined range R may depend on the speed of the marine vessel 10 and/or the mode in which the propulsion system 12 is operating” (Para 0049)
“The method includes measuring a present location of the marine vessel, and based on the marine vessel's present location, determining with a control module if the marine vessel is within a predetermined range of the target location. The method includes determining, with the control module, marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location.” (Para 0011)
“The system includes a location sensor that measures a present location of the marine vessel and a heading sensor that determines a present heading of the marine vessel. A control module is in signal communication with the location sensor and the heading sensor. A marine propulsion system is in signal communication with the control module. The control module determines marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location and to rotate the marine vessel from the present heading to the target heading.” (Para 0012)
“The marine vessel 10 includes numerous sensors, including a location sensor that determines a location of the marine vessel 10, a speed sensor that determines a speed of the marine vessel 10, a direction sensor that senses a direction of travel of the marine vessel 10, and a rotational sensor that senses a direction of rotation of the marine vessel 10. In fact, the marine vessel 10 can be provided with multiple location sensors 34, such as a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 36, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 38, and several proximity sensors and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. In one example, the GPS receiver 36 serves as each of the location sensor, the speed sensor, and the direction sensor. The GPS receiver 36 provides to the control module 16 a present, actual geographic location of the marine vessel 10 in latitude and longitude. The GPS receiver 36 can also serve as the speed sensor, as it determines the speed of the marine vessel 10 over ground (“SOG”) by determining how far the marine vessel 10 travels, as determined from GPS position, over a given period of time. The control module 16 may use an average or filtered value of SOG as being the vessel's speed. In other examples, a pitot tube or paddle wheel type speed sensor may be included. The GPS receiver 36 can also act as the direction sensor, as it determines the course over ground (COG) of the marine vessel 10 based on changing geographical location. The IMU 38 may alternatively or additionally serve as the direction sensor, as it detects a present, actual heading of the marine vessel 10. In other examples, the direction sensor is a simple compass. The IMU 38 may also act as the rotational sensor, as it is capable of detecting a change in heading over time, otherwise known as yaw rate or angular velocity…In certain embodiments of the IMU 38, it comprises a differential correction receiver, accelerometers, angular rate sensors, and a microprocessor which manipulates the information obtained from these devices to provide information relating to the present position of the marine vessel 10, in terms of longitude and latitude, the present heading of the marine vessel 10 with respect to north, and the velocity and acceleration of the marine vessel 10 in six degrees of freedom. In some examples, the location sensor, speed sensor, direction sensor, and rotational sensor are part of a single device, such as an attitude and heading reference system (AHRS). As shown, the control module 16 is in signal communication with the location sensor(s) 34 and the speed sensor(s) (e.g., GPS receiver 36).” (Para 0026)
Examiner Note: “second guard zone associated with the vessel” is recited with a high degree of generality and may correspond with any area of note related in any way to a vessel which meets the limitations of the claim. As such, predetermined range corresponds with second guard zone.
triggering an alarm signal based at least on determining if one or more objects are located in the second guard zone
(Arbuckle) – “The sensors 40a-40d are used as location sensors, and for example could be radars, sonars, LiDAR devices, cameras, lasers, Doppler direction finders, or other devices individually capable of determining both the relative location and distance to an object O near the marine vessel 10, such as a dock, seawall, slip, buoy, shoreline, large rock or tree, etc.” (Para 0027)
“Relative position and bearing data from the proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d can be used in order to provide measurement resolution and accuracy much higher than that of the GPS receiver 36…The proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d could therefore be used to determine vessel speed at low speeds, such as by regularly measuring a distance D between the marine vessel 10 and the object O, and calculating a change in the measured distance D over time. In one example, the control module 16 chooses to use data from the sensors 40a-40d for purposes of location and speed determination when the GPS receiver 36 or IMU 38 reports that the marine vessel 10 is within a predetermined range R (described below with respect to FIGS. 7 and 8) of a target geographical location TL (described below with respect to FIG. 2). The predetermined range R may be measured from the center of gravity of the marine vessel 10, from the outer edge of the hull, from the GPS receiver 36 or IMU 38, or from the proximity sensor nearest the object O, depending on system calibration. In another example, the control module 16 chooses to use data from the sensors 40a-40d for purposes of location and speed determination if the GPS receiver 36, IMU 38, or proximity sensors 40a-40d report that the marine vessel 10 is within a predefined switching threshold distance from the object O.” (Para 0029)
“Note also that here the predetermined range R is shown as being defined by a measurement from the target location, TL, which in turn may be defined by the given distance D from the object O, as described with respect to FIG. 2. Thus, the predetermined range R could also be defined and stored as a measurement from the object O, where the total range for purposes of switching control authority is R+D. The control module 16 determines that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL based on information from any combination of the above-mentioned location sensors 34, including at least one of the GPS receiver 36 and the proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. Once the control module 16 has determined that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL proximate the object O, the control module 16 causes the propulsion system 12 to move the marine vessel 10 along or about no more than two axes of control at a time until the marine vessel 10 arrives nearly exactly at the target location TL.” (Para 0048)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, report corresponds with alarm signal.
Arbuckle does not explicitly teach:
two-dimensional …displaying a graphical representation of the first guard zone and a graphical representation of the vessel in a user interface on a display,…the second guard zone being a two-dimensional area, [[and]]displaying a graphical representation of the second guard zone and the graphical representation of the vessel in the user interface on the display, and
Frisbie, in the same field of endeavor of marine navigation, teaches:
two-dimensional …displaying a graphical representation of the first guard zone and a graphical representation of the vessel in a user interface on a display,…the second guard zone being a two-dimensional area, [[and]]displaying a graphical representation of the second guard zone and the graphical representation of the vessel in the user interface on the display, and
(Frisbie) – “The display 108 may be coupled with the processing system 110 and may be configured for displaying text, data, graphics, images and other information representative of data from the marine input sources 116 and/or other sources… the display 108 may include a touchscreen control system. The touchscreen control system may use any touchscreen technology such as resistive, capacitive, or infrared touchscreen technologies, or any combination thereof.” (Para 0038)
“As shown in FIG. 6, the boundary definition component 118 may be employed to generate a graphical representation 602 of the geographic area 502 by generating a coordinate representation 604 of the boundaries 504 of the geographic area 502, and to “associate” this graphical representation 602 with one or more modes of operation.” (Para 0062)
“It will be appreciated based on the foregoing discussion, that the mode selector 120 may cause the processing system 110 to change the mode of operation of the marine vessel display system 100 from a current mode of operation to a desired mode of operation when the marine vessel 102 enters a defined geographic area 502 associated with the desired mode of operation. …The mode selector 120 may thereafter select a third mode of operation when the geographic position data received from the position determining component 112 indicates that the marine vessel 102 has entered a second geographic area (not shown).” (Para 0071)
Examiner Note: At least Fig 5A shows that the geographical areas are two-dimensional.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the marine vessel control of Arbuckle with the display system for a marine vessel of Frisbie. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications with a reasonable expectation of success because “To reduce dashboard clutter and simplify operation, marine vessels are increasingly being equipped with one or more multi-function electronic displays that replace many of the individual instruments, controls, and gauges.” (Frisbie Para 0001)
Claim 17:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 5
Claim 18:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 6
Claim 19:
Arbuckle explicitly teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon machine- readable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an apparatus, cause the apparatus to perform a method comprising:
(Arbuckle) – “the control module 16 may include a computing system that includes a processing system, storage system, software, and an input/output (I/O) interface for communicating with peripheral devices. The systems may be implemented in hardware and/or software that carry out a programmed set of instructions. For example, the processing system loads and executes software from the storage system, such as software programmed with an auto-docking method, which directs the processing system to operate as described herein below in further detail. The computing system may include one or more processors, which may be communicatively connected. The processing system can comprise a microprocessor, including a control unit and a processing unit, and other circuitry, such as semiconductor hardware logic, that retrieves and executes software from the storage system.” (Para 0031)
“The storage system can comprise any storage media readable by the processing system and capable of storing software…The storage media can be a transitory storage media or a non-transitory storage media such as a non-transitory tangible computer readable medium.” (Para 0033)
determining a motion-related data of a vessel;
(Arbuckle) – “The marine vessel 10 includes numerous sensors, including a location sensor that determines a location of the marine vessel 10, a speed sensor that determines a speed of the marine vessel 10, a direction sensor that senses a direction of travel of the marine vessel 10, and a rotational sensor that senses a direction of rotation of the marine vessel 10. In fact, the marine vessel 10 can be provided with multiple location sensors 34, such as a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 36, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 38, and several proximity sensors and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. In one example, the GPS receiver 36 serves as each of the location sensor, the speed sensor, and the direction sensor. The GPS receiver 36 provides to the control module 16 a present, actual geographic location of the marine vessel 10 in latitude and longitude. The GPS receiver 36 can also serve as the speed sensor, as it determines the speed of the marine vessel 10 over ground (“SOG”) by determining how far the marine vessel 10 travels, as determined from GPS position, over a given period of time. The control module 16 may use an average or filtered value of SOG as being the vessel's speed. In other examples, a pitot tube or paddle wheel type speed sensor may be included. The GPS receiver 36 can also act as the direction sensor, as it determines the course over ground (COG) of the marine vessel 10 based on changing geographical location. The IMU 38 may alternatively or additionally serve as the direction sensor, as it detects a present, actual heading of the marine vessel 10. In other examples, the direction sensor is a simple compass. The IMU 38 may also act as the rotational sensor, as it is capable of detecting a change in heading over time, otherwise known as yaw rate or angular velocity…In certain embodiments of the IMU 38, it comprises a differential correction receiver, accelerometers, angular rate sensors, and a microprocessor which manipulates the information obtained from these devices to provide information relating to the present position of the marine vessel 10, in terms of longitude and latitude, the present heading of the marine vessel 10 with respect to north, and the velocity and acceleration of the marine vessel 10 in six degrees of freedom. In some examples, the location sensor, speed sensor, direction sensor, and rotational sensor are part of a single device, such as an attitude and heading reference system (AHRS). As shown, the control module 16 is in signal communication with the location sensor(s) 34 and the speed sensor(s) (e.g., GPS receiver 36).” (Para 0026)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, “motion-related data of a vessel” may correspond with any information related in any way to any type of motion of any vessel.
setting a first guard zone using a marine object detection device configured to detect objects in a marine environment, the first guard zone being a[[n]] [two-dimensional] area defined at a specified distance from the vessel in a first moving direction of the vessel;
(Arbuckle) – “Referring to FIG. 2, in an auto-docking mode, the control module 16 controls the propulsion system 12 to reduce a difference between the marine vessel's present location PL as determined by the GPS receiver 36 and a predetermined target location TL proximate the object O.” (Para 0035)
“the control module 16 can be programmed to determine if the marine vessel 10 is within a given distance D of the object O, which given distance D at least in part defines target location TL. Specifically, while the control module 16 controls the propulsion system 12 to reduce the difference between the marine vessel's location as determined by the GPS receiver 36 and the predetermined latitude and longitude-defined target location TL, the control module 16 also determines if the marine vessel 10 is within the given distance D of the object O based on the marine vessel's location as determined by the proximity sensor(s) and/or the vision-based sensor(s) 40a-40d.” (Para 0036)
“The sensors 40a-40d are used as location sensors, and for example could be radars, sonars, LiDAR devices, cameras, lasers, Doppler direction finders, or other devices individually capable of determining both the relative location and distance to an object O near the marine vessel 10, such as a dock, seawall, slip, buoy, shoreline, large rock or tree, etc.” (Para 0027)
“The proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d could therefore be used to determine vessel speed at low speeds, such as by regularly measuring a distance D between the marine vessel 10 and the object O, and calculating a change in the measured distance D over time. In one example, the control module 16 chooses to use data from the sensors 40a-40d for purposes of location and speed determination when the GPS receiver 36 or IMU 38 reports that the marine vessel 10 is within a predetermined range R (described below with respect to FIGS. 7 and 8) of a target geographical location TL (described below with respect to FIG. 2).” (Para 0029)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
determining an instantaneous change from[[in]] the first moving direction of the vessel to a second moving direction of the vessel based at least on the motion-related data of the vessel, and
(Arbuckle) – “The method includes measuring a present location of the marine vessel, and based on the marine vessel's present location, determining with a control module if the marine vessel is within a predetermined range of the target location. The method includes determining, with the control module, marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location.” (Para 0011)
“The system includes a location sensor that measures a present location of the marine vessel and a heading sensor that determines a present heading of the marine vessel. A control module is in signal communication with the location sensor and the heading sensor. A marine propulsion system is in signal communication with the control module. The control module determines marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location and to rotate the marine vessel from the present heading to the target heading.” (Para 0012)
“The marine vessel 10 includes numerous sensors, including a location sensor that determines a location of the marine vessel 10, a speed sensor that determines a speed of the marine vessel 10, a direction sensor that senses a direction of travel of the marine vessel 10, and a rotational sensor that senses a direction of rotation of the marine vessel 10. In fact, the marine vessel 10 can be provided with multiple location sensors 34, such as a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 36, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 38, and several proximity sensors and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. In one example, the GPS receiver 36 serves as each of the location sensor, the speed sensor, and the direction sensor. The GPS receiver 36 provides to the control module 16 a present, actual geographic location of the marine vessel 10 in latitude and longitude. The GPS receiver 36 can also serve as the speed sensor, as it determines the speed of the marine vessel 10 over ground (“SOG”) by determining how far the marine vessel 10 travels, as determined from GPS position, over a given period of time. The control module 16 may use an average or filtered value of SOG as being the vessel's speed. In other examples, a pitot tube or paddle wheel type speed sensor may be included. The GPS receiver 36 can also act as the direction sensor, as it determines the course over ground (COG) of the marine vessel 10 based on changing geographical location. The IMU 38 may alternatively or additionally serve as the direction sensor, as it detects a present, actual heading of the marine vessel 10. In other examples, the direction sensor is a simple compass. The IMU 38 may also act as the rotational sensor, as it is capable of detecting a change in heading over time, otherwise known as yaw rate or angular velocity…In certain embodiments of the IMU 38, it comprises a differential correction receiver, accelerometers, angular rate sensors, and a microprocessor which manipulates the information obtained from these devices to provide information relating to the present position of the marine vessel 10, in terms of longitude and latitude, the present heading of the marine vessel 10 with respect to north, and the velocity and acceleration of the marine vessel 10 in six degrees of freedom. In some examples, the location sensor, speed sensor, direction sensor, and rotational sensor are part of a single device, such as an attitude and heading reference system (AHRS). As shown, the control module 16 is in signal communication with the location sensor(s) 34 and the speed sensor(s) (e.g., GPS receiver 36).” (Para 0026)
“Note also that here the predetermined range R is shown as being defined by a measurement from the target location, TL, which in turn may be defined by the given distance D from the object O, as described with respect to FIG. 2. Thus, the predetermined range R could also be defined and stored as a measurement from the object O, where the total range for purposes of switching control authority is R+D. The control module 16 determines that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL based on information from any combination of the above-mentioned location sensors 34, including at least one of the GPS receiver 36 and the proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. Once the control module 16 has determined that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL proximate the object O, the control module 16 causes the propulsion system 12 to move the marine vessel 10 along or about no more than two axes of control at a time until the marine vessel 10 arrives nearly exactly at the target location TL.” (Para 0048)
“the predetermined range R may depend on the speed of the marine vessel 10 and/or the mode in which the propulsion system 12 is operating” (Para 0049)
adaptively shift the first guard zone toguard zone instantaneous change from[[in]] the first moving direction to the second moving direction
(Arbuckle) – “Note also that here the predetermined range R is shown as being defined by a measurement from the target location, TL, which in turn may be defined by the given distance D from the object O, as described with respect to FIG. 2. Thus, the predetermined range R could also be defined and stored as a measurement from the object O, where the total range for purposes of switching control authority is R+D. The control module 16 determines that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL based on information from any combination of the above-mentioned location sensors 34, including at least one of the GPS receiver 36 and the proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. Once the control module 16 has determined that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL proximate the object O, the control module 16 causes the propulsion system 12 to move the marine vessel 10 along or about no more than two axes of control at a time until the marine vessel 10 arrives nearly exactly at the target location TL.” (Para 0048)
“the predetermined range R may depend on the speed of the marine vessel 10 and/or the mode in which the propulsion system 12 is operating” (Para 0049)
“The method includes measuring a present location of the marine vessel, and based on the marine vessel's present location, determining with a control module if the marine vessel is within a predetermined range of the target location. The method includes determining, with the control module, marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location.” (Para 0011)
“The system includes a location sensor that measures a present location of the marine vessel and a heading sensor that determines a present heading of the marine vessel. A control module is in signal communication with the location sensor and the heading sensor. A marine propulsion system is in signal communication with the control module. The control module determines marine vessel movements that are required to translate the marine vessel from the present location to the target location and to rotate the marine vessel from the present heading to the target heading.” (Para 0012)
“The marine vessel 10 includes numerous sensors, including a location sensor that determines a location of the marine vessel 10, a speed sensor that determines a speed of the marine vessel 10, a direction sensor that senses a direction of travel of the marine vessel 10, and a rotational sensor that senses a direction of rotation of the marine vessel 10. In fact, the marine vessel 10 can be provided with multiple location sensors 34, such as a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 36, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 38, and several proximity sensors and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. In one example, the GPS receiver 36 serves as each of the location sensor, the speed sensor, and the direction sensor. The GPS receiver 36 provides to the control module 16 a present, actual geographic location of the marine vessel 10 in latitude and longitude. The GPS receiver 36 can also serve as the speed sensor, as it determines the speed of the marine vessel 10 over ground (“SOG”) by determining how far the marine vessel 10 travels, as determined from GPS position, over a given period of time. The control module 16 may use an average or filtered value of SOG as being the vessel's speed. In other examples, a pitot tube or paddle wheel type speed sensor may be included. The GPS receiver 36 can also act as the direction sensor, as it determines the course over ground (COG) of the marine vessel 10 based on changing geographical location. The IMU 38 may alternatively or additionally serve as the direction sensor, as it detects a present, actual heading of the marine vessel 10. In other examples, the direction sensor is a simple compass. The IMU 38 may also act as the rotational sensor, as it is capable of detecting a change in heading over time, otherwise known as yaw rate or angular velocity…In certain embodiments of the IMU 38, it comprises a differential correction receiver, accelerometers, angular rate sensors, and a microprocessor which manipulates the information obtained from these devices to provide information relating to the present position of the marine vessel 10, in terms of longitude and latitude, the present heading of the marine vessel 10 with respect to north, and the velocity and acceleration of the marine vessel 10 in six degrees of freedom. In some examples, the location sensor, speed sensor, direction sensor, and rotational sensor are part of a single device, such as an attitude and heading reference system (AHRS). As shown, the control module 16 is in signal communication with the location sensor(s) 34 and the speed sensor(s) (e.g., GPS receiver 36).” (Para 0026)
Examiner Note: “second guard zone associated with the vessel” is recited with a high degree of generality and may correspond with any area of note related in any way to a vessel which meets the limitations of the claim. As such, predetermined range corresponds with second guard zone.
triggering an alarm signal based at least on determining if one or more objects are located in the second guard zone
(Arbuckle) – “The sensors 40a-40d are used as location sensors, and for example could be radars, sonars, LiDAR devices, cameras, lasers, Doppler direction finders, or other devices individually capable of determining both the relative location and distance to an object O near the marine vessel 10, such as a dock, seawall, slip, buoy, shoreline, large rock or tree, etc.” (Para 0027)
“Relative position and bearing data from the proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d can be used in order to provide measurement resolution and accuracy much higher than that of the GPS receiver 36…The proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d could therefore be used to determine vessel speed at low speeds, such as by regularly measuring a distance D between the marine vessel 10 and the object O, and calculating a change in the measured distance D over time. In one example, the control module 16 chooses to use data from the sensors 40a-40d for purposes of location and speed determination when the GPS receiver 36 or IMU 38 reports that the marine vessel 10 is within a predetermined range R (described below with respect to FIGS. 7 and 8) of a target geographical location TL (described below with respect to FIG. 2). The predetermined range R may be measured from the center of gravity of the marine vessel 10, from the outer edge of the hull, from the GPS receiver 36 or IMU 38, or from the proximity sensor nearest the object O, depending on system calibration. In another example, the control module 16 chooses to use data from the sensors 40a-40d for purposes of location and speed determination if the GPS receiver 36, IMU 38, or proximity sensors 40a-40d report that the marine vessel 10 is within a predefined switching threshold distance from the object O.” (Para 0029)
“Note also that here the predetermined range R is shown as being defined by a measurement from the target location, TL, which in turn may be defined by the given distance D from the object O, as described with respect to FIG. 2. Thus, the predetermined range R could also be defined and stored as a measurement from the object O, where the total range for purposes of switching control authority is R+D. The control module 16 determines that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL based on information from any combination of the above-mentioned location sensors 34, including at least one of the GPS receiver 36 and the proximity and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. Once the control module 16 has determined that the marine vessel 10 is within the predetermined range R of the target location TL proximate the object O, the control module 16 causes the propulsion system 12 to move the marine vessel 10 along or about no more than two axes of control at a time until the marine vessel 10 arrives nearly exactly at the target location TL.” (Para 0048)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, report corresponds with alarm signal.
Arbuckle does not explicitly teach:
two-dimensional …displaying a graphical representation of the first guard zone and a graphical representation of the vessel in a user interface on a display,…the second guard zone being a two-dimensional area, [[and]]displaying a graphical representation of the second guard zone and the graphical representation of the vessel in the user interface on the display, and
Frisbie, in the same field of endeavor of marine navigation, teaches:
two-dimensional …displaying a graphical representation of the first guard zone and a graphical representation of the vessel in a user interface on a display,…the second guard zone being a two-dimensional area, [[and]]displaying a graphical representation of the second guard zone and the graphical representation of the vessel in the user interface on the display, and
(Frisbie) – “The display 108 may be coupled with the processing system 110 and may be configured for displaying text, data, graphics, images and other information representative of data from the marine input sources 116 and/or other sources… the display 108 may include a touchscreen control system. The touchscreen control system may use any touchscreen technology such as resistive, capacitive, or infrared touchscreen technologies, or any combination thereof.” (Para 0038)
“As shown in FIG. 6, the boundary definition component 118 may be employed to generate a graphical representation 602 of the geographic area 502 by generating a coordinate representation 604 of the boundaries 504 of the geographic area 502, and to “associate” this graphical representation 602 with one or more modes of operation.” (Para 0062)
“It will be appreciated based on the foregoing discussion, that the mode selector 120 may cause the processing system 110 to change the mode of operation of the marine vessel display system 100 from a current mode of operation to a desired mode of operation when the marine vessel 102 enters a defined geographic area 502 associated with the desired mode of operation. …The mode selector 120 may thereafter select a third mode of operation when the geographic position data received from the position determining component 112 indicates that the marine vessel 102 has entered a second geographic area (not shown).” (Para 0071)
Examiner Note: At least Fig 5A shows that the geographical areas are two-dimensional.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the marine vessel control of Arbuckle with the display system for a marine vessel of Frisbie. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications with a reasonable expectation of success because “To reduce dashboard clutter and simplify operation, marine vessels are increasingly being equipped with one or more multi-function electronic displays that replace many of the individual instruments, controls, and gauges.” (Frisbie Para 0001)
Claim(s) 3-4, 15-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arbuckle (US20190155288) in view of Frisbie (US20170210449) further in view of Stewart (US20160125739).
Claim 3:
Arbuckle in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Arbuckle further teaches:
wherein the motion data receiver is further configured, at least in part, to determine the motion-related data of the vessel [based on a rudder angle data received from a rudder reference unit associated with the vessel].
(Arbuckle) – “The marine vessel 10 includes numerous sensors, including a location sensor that determines a location of the marine vessel 10, a speed sensor that determines a speed of the marine vessel 10, a direction sensor that senses a direction of travel of the marine vessel 10, and a rotational sensor that senses a direction of rotation of the marine vessel 10. In fact, the marine vessel 10 can be provided with multiple location sensors 34, such as a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 36, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 38, and several proximity sensors and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. In one example, the GPS receiver 36 serves as each of the location sensor, the speed sensor, and the direction sensor. The GPS receiver 36 provides to the control module 16 a present, actual geographic location of the marine vessel 10 in latitude and longitude. The GPS receiver 36 can also serve as the speed sensor, as it determines the speed of the marine vessel 10 over ground (“SOG”) by determining how far the marine vessel 10 travels, as determined from GPS position, over a given period of time. The control module 16 may use an average or filtered value of SOG as being the vessel's speed. In other examples, a pitot tube or paddle wheel type speed sensor may be included. The GPS receiver 36 can also act as the direction sensor, as it determines the course over ground (COG) of the marine vessel 10 based on changing geographical location. The IMU 38 may alternatively or additionally serve as the direction sensor, as it detects a present, actual heading of the marine vessel 10. In other examples, the direction sensor is a simple compass. The IMU 38 may also act as the rotational sensor, as it is capable of detecting a change in heading over time, otherwise known as yaw rate or angular velocity…In certain embodiments of the IMU 38, it comprises a differential correction receiver, accelerometers, angular rate sensors, and a microprocessor which manipulates the information obtained from these devices to provide information relating to the present position of the marine vessel 10, in terms of longitude and latitude, the present heading of the marine vessel 10 with respect to north, and the velocity and acceleration of the marine vessel 10 in six degrees of freedom. In some examples, the location sensor, speed sensor, direction sensor, and rotational sensor are part of a single device, such as an attitude and heading reference system (AHRS). As shown, the control module 16 is in signal communication with the location sensor(s) 34 and the speed sensor(s) (e.g., GPS receiver 36).” (Para 0026)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Arbuckle does not explicitly teach the following limitations:
based on a rudder angle data received from a rudder reference unit associated with the vessel
Stewart, in the same field of endeavor of vessel guidance, teaches:
based on a rudder angle data received from a rudder reference unit associated with the vessel
(Stewart) – “Steering sensor/actuator 150 may be adapted to physically adjust a heading of mobile structure 101 according to one or more control signals, user inputs, and/or stabilized attitude estimates provided by a logic device of system 100, such as controller 130. Steering sensor/actuator 150 may include one or more actuators and control surfaces (e.g., a rudder or other type of steering or trim mechanism) of mobile structure 101, and may be adapted to physically adjust the control surfaces to a variety of positive and/or negative steering angles/positions.” (Para 0059)
“user interface 120 may be adapted to receive a sensor or control signal (e.g., from orientation sensor 140 and/or steering sensor/actuator 150)” (Para 0044)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the marine vessel control of Arbuckle with the collision avoidance system of Stewart. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications with a reasonable expectation of success because “there is a need in the art for improved methodologies to provide navigational information and strategy to a user, particularly in a marine environment.” (Stewart Para 0008)
Claim 4:
Arbuckle in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Arbuckle further teaches:
wherein the motion data receiver is further configured, at least in part, to determine the motion-related data of the vessel [based on steering wheel angle data received from a steering wheel associated with the vessel].
(Arbuckle) – “The marine vessel 10 includes numerous sensors, including a location sensor that determines a location of the marine vessel 10, a speed sensor that determines a speed of the marine vessel 10, a direction sensor that senses a direction of travel of the marine vessel 10, and a rotational sensor that senses a direction of rotation of the marine vessel 10. In fact, the marine vessel 10 can be provided with multiple location sensors 34, such as a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 36, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 38, and several proximity sensors and/or vision-based sensors 40a-40d. In one example, the GPS receiver 36 serves as each of the location sensor, the speed sensor, and the direction sensor. The GPS receiver 36 provides to the control module 16 a present, actual geographic location of the marine vessel 10 in latitude and longitude. The GPS receiver 36 can also serve as the speed sensor, as it determines the speed of the marine vessel 10 over ground (“SOG”) by determining how far the marine vessel 10 travels, as determined from GPS position, over a given period of time. The control module 16 may use an average or filtered value of SOG as being the vessel's speed. In other examples, a pitot tube or paddle wheel type speed sensor may be included. The GPS receiver 36 can also act as the direction sensor, as it determines the course over ground (COG) of the marine vessel 10 based on changing geographical location. The IMU 38 may alternatively or additionally serve as the direction sensor, as it detects a present, actual heading of the marine vessel 10. In other examples, the direction sensor is a simple compass. The IMU 38 may also act as the rotational sensor, as it is capable of detecting a change in heading over time, otherwise known as yaw rate or angular velocity…In certain embodiments of the IMU 38, it comprises a differential correction receiver, accelerometers, angular rate sensors, and a microprocessor which manipulates the information obtained from these devices to provide information relating to the present position of the marine vessel 10, in terms of longitude and latitude, the present heading of the marine vessel 10 with respect to north, and the velocity and acceleration of the marine vessel 10 in six degrees of freedom. In some examples, the location sensor, speed sensor, direction sensor, and rotational sensor are part of a single device, such as an attitude and heading reference system (AHRS). As shown, the control module 16 is in signal communication with the location sensor(s) 34 and the speed sensor(s) (e.g., GPS receiver 36).” (Para 0026)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Arbuckle does not explicitly teach the following limitations:
based on steering wheel angle data received from a steering wheel associated with the vessel
Stewart, in the same field of endeavor of vessel guidance, teaches:
based on steering wheel angle data received from a steering wheel associated with the vessel
(Stewart) – “Steering sensor/actuator 150 may be adapted to physically adjust a heading of mobile structure 101 according to one or more control signals, user inputs, and/or stabilized attitude estimates provided by a logic device of system 100, such as controller 130. Steering sensor/actuator 150 may include one or more actuators and control surfaces (e.g., a rudder or other type of steering or trim mechanism) of mobile structure 101, and may be adapted to physically adjust the control surfaces to a variety of positive and/or negative steering angles/positions.” (Para 0059)
“user interface 120 may be adapted to receive a sensor or control signal (e.g., from orientation sensor 140 and/or steering sensor/actuator 150)” (Para 0044)
“a steering wheel is provided for inputting steering commands to the propulsion device” (Para 0025)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the marine vessel control of Arbuckle with the collision avoidance system of Stewart. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications with a reasonable expectation of success because “there is a need in the art for improved methodologies to provide navigational information and strategy to a user, particularly in a marine environment.” (Stewart Para 0008)
Claim 15:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 3
Claim 16:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 4
Claim 20:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claims 3, 4, 5, & 6 combined
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation of claim(s) 1, 7, 9, 14, 19 mailed 08/07/2025 have been considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, the claims are treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) if the claim limitations meet three-prong test (see MPEP 2181). It remains true that the identified “marine object detection device” meets this three prong test. It remains true that “a marine object detection device configured to detect objects in a marine environment” constitutes a generic placeholder (“device”) plus function (“marine object detection… configured to detect objects in a marine environment”).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 rejections mailed 08/07/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Therefore, all outstanding claims remain rejected over the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3667
January 22, 2026