Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on September 4th, 2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-19 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed June 5th, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 4th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s representative asserts that the amended claims limitations are not met. However, the rejection of claims 1 and 11 is maintained as presented below.
Applicant’s representative alleges the following:
Regarding amended claims 1 and 11, content in Lee is locally stored and not remotely stored as claimed.
Regarding amended claims 1 and 11, there is no suggestion in Lee of previously storing remotely stored content in a list or tree.
Regarding amended claims 1 and 11, Lee is silent with respect to "changing an order" of navigation remotely stored content in a previously ordered list or tree.
Regarding point (1), the examiner notes that this feature is disclosed by Lee.
Applicant’s representative argues that Lee is silent with respect to "navigating remotely stored content. However, this is disclosed by Lee because the content can include content from an internet web page, which is remotely stored. (See office action below).
Regarding point (2), the examiner notes that this feature is disclosed in Lee.
Applicant’s representative argues that Lee Figure 6 is merely an example of entering "guide setting mode" from menu content locally stored. However, this example serves to show content being ordered in a list or tree. Displaying content in a list or tree is also shown in Figures 7 and 8 where the guide content is shown in a list. (See office action below).
Regarding point (3), the examiner notes that this feature is disclosed in Lee.
Applicant’s representative argues that Lee paragraph [0051] is erroneously cited for "changing an order" of navigating the remotely stored content within the list or the tree for a future use of the user interface. However, paragraph [0051] shows that manipulations are possible for icons and or items to be configured in various ways. Furthermore, ¶126 shows that icons are arranged according to a specific sort rule. (See office action below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE (US 20140208270 A1; hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Lee discloses a method performable on a mobile computer system (¶ 0050) including a touch screen (¶ 0016), a loudspeaker and a microphone (speaker in ¶ 0071 and microphone ¶ 0103), the method comprising: providing a user interface including a touch interface enabled on the touch screen (touch gestures and motions on the screen; ¶ 0092) and an audio interface enabled on the loudspeaker and the microphone (voice input; ¶ 0058); wherein remotely stored content (content can be remotely stored because the content can be from a web page which is remotely stored; ¶113) is previously ordered in a list or tree (content can be provided as a guide in ¶113 and the guide content is shown ordered in a list in Fig 7 and Fig 8); enabling access to the previously ordered remotely stored content by playing the remotely stored content on the loudspeaker (content may include voice or video in ¶113, which by default will be played on the loudspeaker of the smartphone) using a plurality of inputs including a touch gesture on the touch screen (touch input; ¶ 0058) and a speech input into the microphone (voice input; ¶ 0058); responsive to the inputs on the touch screen and the speech input (execute an application in response to the type of input; ¶ 0060), presenting the remotely stored content by playing the remotely stored content on the loudspeaker (playing video content; ¶ 140); and in accordance with the inputs, changing an order of navigating the remotely stored content (arranging icons with a specific sort rule; ¶126) within the list or the tree for a future use of the user interface (Fig 7 and Fig 8).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Lee discloses wherein the touch input includes a directional swipe on the touch screen from a user (¶ 0092).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Lee discloses wherein the directional swipe is selectably either upward, downward, leftward or rightward (inherent because if you’re swiping, it must be in a direction motion and it will always be up, right, left, down or a combination of these) anywhere on the touch screen.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Lee discloses wherein the touch input includes a long press on the touch screen (touch and hold; 0092).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Lee discloses wherein the long press initiates and maintains the microphone operating for an audio input for the duration of the long press (touch gesture can be touch and hold n ¶ 0092 and sensing unit can sense both touch input and voice input ¶ 0103).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Lee discloses wherein the touch input includes a tap (tap; ¶ 0092).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Lee discloses wherein the tap opens a context dependent previously defined set of options (selection of one icon; ¶ 0075).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Lee discloses wherein a visually impaired user is enabled for input anywhere on the touch screen (¶ 0090): a first input of a directional swipe (¶ 0092) selectably either upward, downward, leftward or rightward (inherent because if you’re swiping, it must be in a direction motion and it will always be up, right, left, down or a combination of these), a second input of a long press on the touch screen for press to talk (¶ 0092) and inputting a speech input (¶ 0103) and, a third input of the tap (¶ 0092) to open a context dependent previously defined set of options (selection of one icon; ¶ 0075).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Lee discloses wherein the first input, the second input the third input and the audio input (multiple inputs; ¶ 0103) are collectively configured to perform all of: navigating through previously ordered content (configured applications based on the user; ¶ 0051), reading content (text; ¶ 0022), composing text (text application; ¶ 0022), editing text (text applications inherently have editing; ¶ 0089) and playing audio (video; ¶ 0022).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses a non-transitory computer-readable-medium having software instructions stored therein to perform the method of claim 1 (¶ 0153).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE ANGELES/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715