DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
This application is being examined under MPEP 704.01 and where full faith and credit was given to the previous examination. The examiner has carefully reviewed applicant’s arguments filed 6/22/2025, applicant’s own instant application for context/understanding, and the previously cited prior art.
Applicant argues the limitation “provide different beacons for the coexisting networks”.
The previous examiner’s interpretation, while broad, is found to be reasonable. In particular, the focus here is on the original claims in light of the applied prior art (emphasis on what is and what is not actually recited in the claim as originally presented).
Fig. 1 of YADAV is directed to the FAR (== claimed electronic device) that communicates with mesh network 70 that has multiple devices 60(x) [0017], i.e., other network devices (emphasis plural). YADAV at [0066] was cited for the claimed features “provide different beacons for the coexisting networks” with respect to Fig. 8:275. As noted, Fig. 8 is directed to each of the MESH devices 60(x) (step 205), i.e., multiple devices.
In carefully reviewing the claim language, the claim does not further distinguish how the beacons are different (emphasis added). While [0066] does teach sending a single beacon, it is noted that the flow chart for Fig. 8 of YADAV applies to each mesh node, i.e., a plurality of nodes. Thus, it is reasonable to conclude that a plurality of beacons is sent, i.e., different beacons are provided.
Applicant’s own specification at paragraph [0040] notes the following:
[0040] As noted previously, a radio (such as radio 120-4) in a given access point (such as access point 110-4) may support the coexisting networks having the different handshaking and the PAN communication protocol. Notably, as described further below with reference to FIGS. 2-8, radio 120-4 may provide different beacons for the coexisting networks. Note that the coexisting networks may have different PAN identifiers. For example, a given beacon may include a given PAN identifier of a given coexisting network. Moreover, the given coexisting networks may have an associated band of frequencies and a channel identifier in the band of frequencies. In some embodiments, the different beacons may be provided at different times. (Alternatively, in embodiments in which the given access point includes multiple radios, the different beacons may be provided by different radios in different channels at the same time.)
Examiners notes that the broader interpretation applied by the previous examiner is reasonable given at least applicant’s paragraph [0040]. In particular, the beacon in Yadav et al. is broadly associated with different coexisting networks. This beacon is further sent or provided at different times, thus, broadly meeting the claim recitation “provide different beacons for the coexisting networks”. This broader interpretation, that is reasonable, would not require impermissible hindsight and is further not expressly recited in dependent claim 5.
Examiner’s Note
Should applicant be seeking a different concept, applicant is encouraged to capture this specific concept in the claim language. For example, applicant is encouraged to amend the independent claims to clarify “provide different beacons for the coexisting networks wherein the given beacon may include a different PAN identifier for the coexisting network”. This amendment would overcome the current grounds of rejection; however, further search would need to be conducted. This amendment is further different from e.g., dependent claim 3 in that it tightens up the claim language and further clarifies that this is the same beacon previously recited in the independent claim and that the PAN identifier is different.
Yadav teaches different coexisting networks [0022] and [0026]. ALMAIDA was brought in to clarify that each coexisting network has a different handshaking protocol, column [3] lines 15-47. It is furthermore noted that the handshaking and beacons as claimed are independent from one another. Thus, the rejection appears proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 4, 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadav et al. (US- 20130036305 Al; herein "Yadav") in view of Almeida et al. (US 11579196 Bl; herein "Almaida").
Note: All citations are directed to Yadav unless otherwise specified.
Regarding claim 1. Yadav et al. discloses the electronic device (para 0017 & 0026; Page 3 Examiner's Note: Field Area Router (FAR) 40 depicted in both Figs. 1 and 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "electronic device" in the instant application), comprising:
a pad or a connector configured to couple to an antenna (para 0026; Examiner's Note: wireless transceiver unit 45 depicted in FIG. 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "a pad or a connector;" antenna 43 in FIG. 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "an antenna" in the instant application);
and an interface circuit coupled to the pad or the connector (para 0026; Examiner's Note: WAN interface unit 46 depicted in FIG. 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "an interface circuit" in the instant application), wherein the interface circuit comprises a radio (para 0026; Examiner's Note: the WAN interface unit 46 transmitting/receiving radio signal as shown in FIG. 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation "wherein the interface circuit comprises a radio" in the instant application), wherein the radio is configured to support multiple coexisting networks having different handshaking (para 0016 & 0017; Examiner's Note: mesh network 70 and authentication network 80 as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "multiple coexisting networks;" the negotiation handshakes in the prior art teaches the limitation of "different handshaking;" in fact, transmitting/receiving the radio signal between mesh network 70 and authentication network 80 regards to the negotiation handshakes as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "wherein the radio is configured to support multiple coexisting networks having different handshaking" in the instant application), and Page 4
wherein the radio is configured to:
provide different beacons for the coexisting networks (para 0066; Examiner's Note: some configuration information, e.g., personal area network (PAN) beacons in the prior art teaches the limitation of "beacons;" in fact, performing different authentication procedures based on individual PAN beacon in the prior art teaches the limitation of "provide different beacons for the coexisting networks");
receive a response associated with another electronic device, (para 0017 & 0038; Examiner's Note: mesh device 60(1) depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "another electronic device;" in fact, FAR/Authenticator 40 receiving a response from mesh device 60(1) as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "receive a response associated with another electronic device" in the instant application), wherein the response specifies a first coexisting network in the coexisting networks (para 0038; Examiner's Note: mesh network 70 depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "a first coexisting network;" in fact, the response regards to the mesh network 70 in the coexisting networks, e.g., the mesh network 70 and the authentication network 80, as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "wherein the response specifies a
first coexisting network in the coexisting networks" in the instant application); and
establish a connection with the other electronic device (para 0017; Examiner's Note: mesh device 60(2) depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "the other electronic device;" in fact, FAR/Authenticator 40 communicating with mesh device 60(2) as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "establish a connection with the other electronic device),
wherein establishing the connection comprises performing handshaking associated with the first coexisting network (para 0016 & 0017; Examiner's Note: FAR/Authenticator 40 establishing/communicating with mesh devices, e.g., performing handshaking with mesh device
60(2) associated with the mesh network 70, in the prior art teaches the limitation of "wherein establishing the connection comprises performing handshaking associated with the first coexisting network" in the instant application).
Yadav teaches different coexisting networks [0022] and [0026]. Yadav does not specifically teach wherein the radio is configured to support multiple coexisting networks having different handshaking and a common personal area network (PAN) communication protocol.
Almeida et al. discloses wherein the radio is configured to support multiple coexisting networks
having different handshaking and a common personal area network (PAN) communication protocol (column [3] lines 15-47; Examiner's Note: personal area networks (PANs) in the prior art teaches the limitation of "multiple coexisting networks;" The wireless communication protocol, e.g., Bluetooth protocol, in the prior art teaches the limitation of "a common personal area network (PAN) communication protocol;" In fact, the wireless communication signal transmitted to multiple personal area networks (PANs) having individual handshaking and the Bluetooth protocol in the prior art teaches the limitation of "wherein the radio is configured to support multiple coexisting networks having
different handshaking and a common personal area network (PAN) communication protocol" in
the instant application).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA), before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yadav with the teachings of Almeida to remote control and even allow devices, vehicles, buildings, and/or other items to be wirelessly controlled by the consumers (column [1] lines 6-33).
Regarding claim 2, Yadav discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (para 0017 & 0026; Examiner's Note: Field Area Router (FAR) 40 depicted in both Flgs. 1 and 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "electronic device" in the instant application), wherein the coexisting networks (Yadav discloses in para 0016, Examiner's Note: illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "multiple coexisting networks;") have different PAN identifiers. Para 0026, Examiner's Note: the non-volatile memory 52 may
also store a mapping between identifiers (IDs) (described by one or more bytes) and keys, e.g., data for group temporal key IDs mapped to corresponding group temporal keys shown at 53, data for pairwise master key IDs mapped to corresponding pairwise master keys shown at 54 and data for pairwise temporal key IDs mapped to corresponding pairwise temporal keys.
Regarding Claim 3, Yadav discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (para 0017 & 0026; Examiner's Note: Field Area Router (FAR) 40 depicted in both Flgs. 1 and 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "electronic device" in the instant application), wherein a given beacon comprises a given PAN identifier of a given coexisting network. (para 0066; Examiner's Note: some configuration information, e.g., personal area network (PAN) beacons in the prior art teaches the limitation of "beacons;" in fact, performing different authentication procedures based on individual PAN beacon in the prior art teaches the limitation of "provide different beacons for the coexisting networks"). As multiple PANs, can co-exist, each for would a given PAN identifier as claimed.
Regarding Claim 4, Yadav disclose the electronic device of claim 1 (para 0017 & 0026; Examiner's Note: Field Area Router (FAR) 40 depicted in both Flgs. 1 and 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "electronic device" in the instant application), wherein the response comprises a PAN identifier (Para 0026, Examiner's Note: the non-volatile memory 52 may also store a mapping between identifiers (IDs) (described by one or more bytes) and keys, e.g., data for group temporal key IDs mapped to corresponding group temporal keys shown at 53, data for pairwise master key IDs mapped to corresponding pairwise master keys shown at 54 and data for pairwise temporal key IDs mapped to corresponding pairwise temporal keys.) of the first coexisting network (para 0016 & 0017; Examiner's Note: FAR/Authenticator 40 establishing/communicating with mesh devices, e.g., performing handshaking with mesh device 60(2) associated with the mesh network 70, in the prior art teaches the limitation of "wherein establishing the connection comprises performing handshaking associated with the first coexisting network" in the instant application).
Regarding Claim 6, Yadav discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (para 0017 & 0026; Page 8
Examiner's Note: Field Area Router (FAR) 40 depicted in both Flgs. 1 and 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "electronic device" in the instant application), wherein given handshaking specifies operations during connection setup with a given coexisting network. Para 0013, Examiner's Note: the authenticator device initiates a handshake procedure with a particular device in the mesh network to mutually derive a pairwise temporal key from the pairwise master key.
Regarding Claim 7, Yadav discloses, the electronic device of claim 1 (para 0017 & 0026; Examiner's Note: Field Area Router (FAR) 40 depicted in both Flgs. 1 and 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "electronic device" in the instant application), wherein the different handshaking comprises different security procedures in the coexisting networks. Para 0015, Examiner's Note: techniques are described herein for a "group key" used for securing traffic among authenticated devices in a mesh network, and for facilitating authentication of a mesh device upon reboot. Some of the techniques described herein refer to IEEE 802.lX, which is an IEEE standard for port-based network access control. The IEEE 802.lX
standard is part of the IEEE 802.1 group of networking protocols. It provides an authentication
mechanism to devices seeking to attach to a local area network (LAN) or wireless LAN (WLAN).
IEEE 802.lX defines the encapsulation of the Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP) over IEEE
802 which is known as "EAP over LAN" or EAPOL. However, the references to IEEE 802.lX
herein are only an example and the techniques described herein are not limited to IEEE 802.lX.
Regarding Claim 8, Yadav disclose the electronic device of claim 1 (para 0017 & 0026; Page 9
Examiner's Note: Field Area Router (FAR) 40 depicted in both Flgs. 1 and 2 of the prior art
teaches the limitation of "electronic device" in the instant application).
Yadav does not specifically teach wherein the common PAN communication protocol comprises: Bluetooth, Bluetooth low energy (BLE), Zigbee, or Z-Wave.
Almeida discloses (Para [24]), Examiner's Note: in an exemplary embodiment, this wireless interface is implemented in accordance with one or more wireless networking communication standards or protocols, such as a version of an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (1.E.E.E.) 802.16 communication standard, also referred to as WiMax, a version of a Bluetooth communication standard, a version of a ZigBee communication standard, a version of a Z-Wave communication standard, and/or or any other wireless communication standard or protocol that will be apparent to those skilled in the relevant art(s) without departing from the spirit and scope of the present disclosure.
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA), before the effective
filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yadav with the teachings of
Almeida to remote control and even allow devices, vehicles, buildings, and/or other items to be
wirelessly controlled by the consumers (para 0001).
Regarding Claim 9, Yadav discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (para 0017 & 0026; Examiner's Note: Field Area Router (FAR) 40 depicted in both Figs. 1 and 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "electronic device" in the instant application),
wherein the different beacons are provided at different times. Para 0066, at 265, Examiner's Note: it is determined whether the Level 4 authentication is successful, and if not, then at 270, another attempt at full authentication is performed a period of time later.
Regarding Claim 10, Yadav discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (para 0027, Examiner's Note: the memory 50 may comprise one or more tangible computer readable storage media (e.g., a memory device) encoded with software comprising computer executable instructions and when the software is executed) for use in conjunction with an electronic device (para 0017 & 0026; Examiner's Note: Field Area Router (FAR) 40 depicted in both Flgs. 1 and 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of
"electronic device" in the instant application), the computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions (para [0027], Examiner's Note: the memory 50 may comprise read only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), magnetic disk storage media devices, optical storage media devices, flash memory devices, electrical, optical, or other physical/tangible memory storage devices. The memory 50 stores computer executable software),
wherein, when executed by the electronic device, the program instructions cause a radio (Yadav discloses, Para [0026], Examiner's Note: The Field Area Router (FAR) 40 comprises a radio transceiver 42, at least one antenna 43)
in the electronic device to perform operations comprising:
wherein the coexisting networks have different handshaking (para 0016 & 0017; Examiner's Note: mesh network 70 and authentication network 80 as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "multiple coexisting networks;" the negotiation handshakes in the prior art teaches the limitation of "different handshaking;" in fact, transmitting/receiving the radio signal between mesh network 70 and authentication network 80 regards to the negotiation handshakes as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "wherein the radio is configured to support multiple coexisting networks having different handshaking" in the instant application);
receiving a response associated with another electronic device (para 0017 & 0038; Examiner's
Note: mesh device 60(1) depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "another
electronic device;" in fact, FAR/ Authenticator 40 receiving a response from mesh device 60(1)
as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "receive a response associated
with another electronic device" in the instant application),
wherein the response specifies a first coexisting network in the coexisting networks (para 0038;
Examiner's Note: mesh network 70 depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of
"a first coexisting network;" in fact, the response regards to the mesh network 70 in the coexisting networks, e.g., the mesh network 70 and the authentication network 80, as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "wherein the response specifies a first coexisting network in the coexisting networks" in the instant application)); and establishing a connection with the other electronic device para 0017; Examiner's Note: mesh device 60(2) depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "the other electronic device;" in fact, FAR/Authenticator 40 communicating with mesh device 60(2) as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "establish a connection with the other electronic device),
wherein establishing the connection comprises performing handshaking associated with the first coexisting network (para 0016 & 0017; Examiner's Note: FAR/Authenticator 40 establishing/communicating with mesh devices, e.g., performing handshaking with mesh device
60(2) associated with the mesh network 70, in the prior art teaches the limitation of "wherein
establishing the connection comprises performing handshaking associated with the first
coexisting network" in the instant application).
Yadav does not specially teach and a common personal area network (PAN) communication
protocol.
Almeida et al. discloses wherein the radio is configured to support multiple coexisting networks
having different handshaking and a common personal area network (PAN) communication
protocol (column [3] lines 15-47; Examiner's Note: personal area networks (PANs) in the prior
art teaches the limitation of "multiple coexisting networks;" The wireless communication protocol, e.g., Bluetooth protocol, in the prior art teaches the limitation of "a common personal area network (PAN) communication protocol;" In fact, the wireless communication signal transmitted to multiple personal area networks (PANs) having individual handshaking and the Bluetooth protocol in the prior art teaches the limitation of "wherein the radio is configured to support multiple coexisting networks having
different handshaking and a common personal area network (PAN) communication protocol" in
the instant application).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA), before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yadav with the teachings of Almeida to remote control and even allow devices, vehicles, buildings, and/or other items to be wirelessly controlled by the consumers (column [1] lines 6-33).
Regarding Claim 11, Yadav discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 10 (para 0027, Examiner's Note: the memory 50 may comprise one or more tangible computer readable storage media (e.g., a memory device) encoded with software comprising computer executable instructions and when the software is executed), wherein the coexisting networks have different PAN identifiers. Para 0026, Examiner's Note: the non-volatile memory 52 may also store a mapping between identifiers (IDs) (described by one or more bytes) and keys, e.g., data for group temporal key IDs mapped to corresponding group temporal keys shown at 53, data for pairwise master key IDs mapped to corresponding pairwise master keys shown at 54 and data for pairwise temporal key IDs mapped to
corresponding pairwise temporal keys.
Regarding Claim 12, Yadav discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 10 (para 0027, Examiner's Note: the memory 50 may comprise one or more tangible computer readable storage media (e.g., a memory device) encoded with software comprising computer executable instructions and when the software is executed), wherein a given beacon comprises a given PAN identifier of a given coexisting network (para 0066; Examiner's Note: some configuration information, e.g., personal area network (PAN) beacons in the prior art teaches the limitation of "beacons;" in fact, performing different authentication procedures based on individual PAN beacon in the prior art teaches the limitation of "provide different beacons for the coexisting networks");
and wherein the response comprises a PAN identifier (Para 0026, Examiner's Note: the nonvolatile memory 52 may also store a mapping between identifiers (IDs) (described by one or more bytes) and keys, e.g., data for group temporal key IDs mapped to corresponding group temporal keys shown at 53, data for pairwise master key IDs mapped to corresponding pairwise master keys shown at 54 and data for pairwise temporal key IDs mapped to corresponding pairwise temporal keys.) of the first coexisting network (para 0016 & 0017; Examiner's Note: FAR/Authenticator 40 establishing/communicating with mesh devices, e.g., performing handshaking with mesh device 60(2) associated with the mesh network 70, in the prior art teaches the limitation of "wherein establishing the connection comprises performing handshaking associated with the first coexisting network" in the instant application).
Regarding Claim 13, Yadav discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 10 (para 0027; Examiner's Note: the memory 50 may comprise one or more tangible computer readable storage media (e.g., a memory device) encoded with software comprising computer executable instructions and when the software is executed), wherein given handshaking specifies operations during connection setup with a given coexisting network. Para 0013; Examiner's Note: the authenticator device initiates a handshake procedure with a particular device in the mesh network to mutually derive a pairwise temporal key from the pairwise master key.
Regarding Claim 14, Yadav discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 10 (para 0027; Examiner's Note: the memory 50 may comprise one or more tangible computer readable storage media (e.g., a memory device) encoded with software comprising computer executable instructions and when the software is executed), wherein the different handshaking comprises different security procedures in the coexisting networks. Para 0015; Examiner's Note: techniques are described herein for a "group key" used for securing traffic among authenticated devices in a mesh network, and for facilitating authentication of a mesh device upon reboot. Some of the techniques described herein refer to IEEE 802.lX, which is an IEEE standard for port-based network access control. The IEEE 802.lX
standard is part of the IEEE 802.1 group of networking protocols. It provides an authentication
mechanism to devices seeking to attach to a local area network (LAN) or wireless LAN (WLAN).
IEEE 802.lX defines the encapsulation of the Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP) over IEEE
802 which is known as "EAP over LAN" or EAPOL. However, the references to IEEE 802.lX
herein are only an example and the techniques described herein are not limited to IEEE 802.lX.
Regarding Claim 15, Yadav disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of
claim 10 (para 0027; Examiner's Note: the memory 50 may comprise one or more tangible
computer readable storage media (e.g., a memory device) encoded with software comprising
computer executable instructions and when the software is executed).
Yadav does not specifically teach wherein the common PAN communication protocol
comprises: Bluetooth, Bluetooth low energy (BLE), Zigbee, or Z-Wave.
Almeida discloses (Para [24]; Examiner's Note: in an exemplary embodiment, this wireless
interface is implemented in accordance with one or more wireless networking communication
standards or protocols, such as a version of an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
(1.E.E.E.) 802.16 communication standard, also referred to as WiMax, a version of a Bluetooth
communication standard, a version of a ZigBee communication standard, a version of a Z-Wave
communication standard, and/or or any other wireless communication standard or protocol
that will be apparent to those skilled in the relevant art(s) without departing from the spirit and
scope of the present disclosure.
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA), before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yadav with the teachings of Almeida
to remote control and even allow devices, vehicles, buildings, and/or other items to be
wirelessly controlled by the consumers (para 0001).
Regarding Claim 16, Yadav discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 10 (para 0027; Examiner's Note: the memory 50 may comprise one or more tangible computer readable storage media (e.g., a memory device) encoded with software comprising computer executable instructions and when the software is executed), wherein the different beacons are provided at different times. Para 0066, at 265; Examiner's Note: it is determined whether the Level 4 authentication is successful, and if not, then at 270, another attempt at full authentication is performed a period of time later.
Regarding Claim 17, Yadav disclose discloses a method for providing multiple coexisting networks, (para 0016 & 0017; Examiner's Note: mesh network 70 and authentication network 80 as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "multiple coexisting networks;" the negotiation handshakes in the prior art teaches the limitation of "different handshaking;" in fact, transmitting/receiving the radio signal between mesh network 70 and authentication network 80 regards to the negotiation handshakes as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "wherein the radio is configured to support multiple coexisting networks having different handshaking" in the instant application) in an electronic device (para 0017 & 0026; Examiner's Note: Field Area Router (FAR) 40 depicted in both Fl Gs. 1 and 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "electronic device" in the instant application):
Providing different beacons for the coexisting network (para 0066; Examiner's Note: some
configuration information, e.g., personal area network (PAN) beacons in the prior art teaches
the limitation of "beacons;" in fact, performing different authentication procedures based on
individual PAN beacon in the prior art teaches the limitation of "provide different beacons for
the coexisting networks"),
wherein the coexisting network have different handshaking (para 0016 & 0017; Examiner's
Note: mesh network 70 and authentication network 80 as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art
teaches the limitation of "multiple coexisting networks;" the negotiation handshakes in the
prior art teaches the limitation of "different handshaking;" in fact, transmitting/receiving the
radio signal between mesh network 70 and authentication network 80 regards to the negotiation handshakes as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "wherein the radio is configured to support multiple coexisting networks having different handshaking" in the instant application),
Receiving a response associated with another electronic device (para 0017 & 0038; Examiner's Note: mesh device 60(1) depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "another electronic device;" in fact, FAR/Authenticator 40 receiving a response from mesh device 60(1) as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "receive a response associated with another electronic device" in the instant application),
wherein the response specifies a first coexisting network in the coexisting networks (para 0038;
Examiner's Note: mesh network 70 depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of
"a first coexisting network;" in fact, the response regards to the mesh network 70 in the coexisting networks, e.g., the mesh network 70 and the authentication network 80, as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of "wherein the response specifies a first coexisting network in the coexisting networks" in the instant application); and establishing a connection comprises performing handshaking associated with the first coexisting network. (para 0016 & 0017; Examiner's Note: FAR/Authenticator 40 establishing/communicating with mesh devices, e.g., performing handshaking with mesh device 60(2) associated with the mesh network 70, in the prior art teaches the limitation of "wherein establishing the connection comprises performing handshaking associated with the first
coexisting network" in the instant application).
Yadav does not specifically teach wherein the radio is configured to support multiple coexisting
networks having different handshaking and a common personal area network (PAN)
communication protocol.
Almeida et al. discloses wherein the radio is configured to support multiple coexisting networks
having different handshaking and a common personal area network (PAN) communication
protocol (column [3] lines 15-47; Examiner's Note: personal area networks (PANs) in the prior
art teaches the limitation of "multiple coexisting networks;" The wireless communication protocol, e.g., Bluetooth protocol, in the prior art teaches the limitation of "a common personal area network (PAN) communication protocol;" In fact, the wireless communication signal transmitted to multiple personal area networks (PANs) having individual handshaking and the Bluetooth protocol in the prior art teaches the limitation of "wherein the radio is configured to support multiple coexisting networks having different handshaking and a common personal area network (PAN) communication protocol" in the instant application).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA), before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yadav with the teachings of Almeida to remote control and even allow devices, vehicles, buildings, and/or other items to be wirelessly controlled by the consumers (column [1] lines 6-33).
Regarding Claim 18, Yadav discloses the method of claim 17, wherein a given beacon comprises a given PAN identifier of a given coexisting network (Para 0045; Examiner's Note: he PAN ID associated with the group temporal key (GTK) is one the mesh device wants to join); and wherein the response comprises a PAN identifier of the first coexisting network. Para 0027; Examiner's Note: The device may further comprise memory means holding a list of identifiers for respective data services accessible by the device, wherein the or one of the predetermined conditions to be met is the matching of at least a part of the connection data with an identifier stored in said list.
It would be obvious to a Person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA), before the effecting filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching to Yadav with the teaching of Scholten, to store a memory list of networks. The motivation would have been to delivering to a user of a data processing and/or presentation device presenting received content to a user, ancillary data identifying sources of additional information, facilities or services contextually related to the presented content (Scholten Para [0001]).
Regarding Claim 19, Yadav discloses the method of claim 17, wherein given handshaking specifies operations during connection setup with a given coexisting network. Para 0013; Examiner's Note: the authenticator device initiates a handshake procedure with a particular device in the mesh network to
mutually derive a pairwise temporal key from the pairwise master key.
Regarding Claim 20, Yadav discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the different beacons are provided at different times. Para 0066; Examiner's Note: at 265, it is determined whether the
level 4 authentication is successful, and if not, then at 270, another attempt at full
authentication is performed a period of time later.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadav et al. (US-
20130036305 Al; Navindra "Yadav") in view of Almeida et al. (US 11579196 Bl) as applied to
claim 1, and further in view of Fang et al. (US 20140185580 Al; Yonggang "Fang").
Regarding Claim 5, Yadav disclose the electronic device of claim 1 (para 0017 & 0026; Page 21
Examiner's Note: Field Area Router (FAR) 40 depicted in both Fl Gs. 1 and 2 of the prior art
teaches the limitation of "electronic device" in the instant application),
Yadav and Almeida do not specifically teach wherein a given coexisting network has an
associated band of frequencies and a channel identifier in the band of frequencies.
Fung discloses, Para 0095; Examiner's Note: many wireless stations associating with the
integrated Access Point (iAP) on the Frequency 1 cause iAP overloaded on Frequency 1, iAP
could redirect some stations to under-loaded band such as Frequency 3 to balance the load
over the entire operating spectrum.
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching to Yadav and Almeida with the teaching of Fang, associate a
band of frequency and channel. The motivation would have been to be used for facilitating
sharing of the wireless medium among multiple wireless medium usage efficiency (para [0004]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411