DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 2/16/2026.
Claim(s) 1-24 are pending in the application.
Claim(s) 18-24 are withdrawn due to a previous restriction requirement.
The previous 35 USC 112 rejections of claim(s) 1-8 and 16-18 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment and remarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention because:
Use of parentheses in Claims 9 and 15 – e.g. (yield strength ISO527-2 or ASTM D882), (bending modulus or E-modulus), etc. – renders the scope of the claims indefinite, as it is unclear whether the limitations enclosed in parentheses are optional or required. For the purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as being required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2006/0030667 to Yalvac et al. in view of US2018/0215846 to Kulshreshtha et al. (as found on the IDS dated 9/7/2022) and US2019/0153204 to Rebih.
Regarding Claim 1, 10, and 13 Yalvac teaches a thermoplastic blend (i.e., polyolefin composition) comprising 75-99 wt% of a thermoplastic polyolefin composition that comprises 50-100 wt% of polypropylene [0080] therefore the polypropylene is reasonably calculated to be in the thermoplastic blend at an amount of 99-37.5 wt%, therefore reading on 60-96 wt% polyolefin (A). Yalvac further discloses that the same embodiment comprises 1-25 wt% of an extender that is an ethylene alpha-olefin interpolymer [0080] wherein extenders are homogeneously branched [0029] and are random [0033] therefore reading on 2-20 wt% of at least one random alpha-olefinic copolymer (B). Yalvac does not disclose a tackifier in this embodiment, reading on component (C) as the tackifier is optional. The 75-99 wt% of a thermoplastic polyolefin composition further comprises 0-50 wt% of a secondary ethylene alpha-olefin [0080] therefore the secondary ethylene alpha-olefin is reasonably calculated to be in the thermoplastic blend at an amount of 0-49.5 wt%, reading on 1-60 wt% of an additional polymer (D). The melt index of such thermoplastic blend compositions is increased by at least 5% relative to the composition, absent the extender [0081] i.e., a melt flow rate increase of about 3 to about 400%.
Yalvac does not teach the polyolefin is recycled and is silent regarding its melt flow rate.
However, Kulshreshtha teaches a propylene homopolymer [Kulshreshtha, 0038] that has a melt flow rate of 0.1 to 20 g/10min [0039] that is preferred to be a recycled material which is recovered from waste plastic material derived from post-consumer and/or post-industrial waste [0037]. Yalvac and Kulshreshtha are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely polypropylene-polyethylene compositions with improved flowability.
Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute Kulshreshtha with Yalvac, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
The motivation to modify Yalvac with Kulshreshtha is the demand of using recycled polyolefins has increased because legal requirements that exist in some segments like automotive applications [Kulshreshtha, 0003]. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that recycling plastics is desirable to conserve resources, reduce pollution, and decrease landfill use.
Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha are silent regarding a recycled polyolefin that is visbroken.
However, Rebih teaches a resin composition comprising polyolefins such as polypropylene wherein thermo-mechanical degradation of the polyolefin components occur during compounding causing chain scission and macro-radical fragments [Rebih, 0028] (i.e., visbreaking). Rebih and Yalvac are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely resin compositions comprising polyolefins that are used for cable protection.
Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Rebih’s visbreaking on Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha’s recycled polyolefin.
The motivation would have been that have improved mechanical and physical properties such as elongation at break, impact strength, and environmental stress crack resistance [Rebih, 0028].
The combination of Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha, and Rebih is silent regarding said polyolefin composition having a melt flow rate increase of about 3 to 400% compared to a same polyolefin composition without said random alpha-olefinic copolymer, said tackifier, and said additional polymer. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha, and Rebih, when modified in the manner proposed above, teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process such as extruding [Yalvac, 0113]. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties - i.e. melt flow rate increase of about 3 to 400% - would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Regarding Claim 2, Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha, and Rebih teaches the polyolefin composition of claim 1, wherein the ratio of the random alpha-olefinic copolymer (1-25 wt%) and tackifier (0 wt%) to the additional polymer (0-49.5 wt%) is reasonably calculated to be between greater than 0.02 (calculated by 1 / 49.5 and 25 / 0, i.e., 0.02 – infinite), therefore overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
Though the prior art ratio range is not identical to the claimed range (0.2 – 20) it does overlap. It has been held that, where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 3, Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha, and Rebih teaches the polyolefin composition of claim 1, wherein all thermoplastic polyolefin blend examples [Yalvac, 0127, Table 6] comprise EL1 which is an ethylene octene copolymer [Yalvac, 0126].
Regarding Claim 4, Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha, and Rebih teaches the polyolefin composition of claim 1, wherein the random alpha-olefinic copolymer in an amount of 1-25 wt% [Yalvac, 0080] and the additional polymer in an amount of 0-49.5 wt% [calculated as set forth in claim 1] are reasonably calculated to total 1-74.5 wt%, reading on the instantly claimed range.
Regarding Claim 5, Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha, and Rebih teaches the polyolefin composition of claim 1, wherein the ratio of the random alpha-olefinic copolymer (1-25 wt%) [Yalvac, 0080] to the additional polymer (0-49.5 wt%) [calculated as set forth in claim 1] is reasonably calculated to be between greater than 0.02 (calculated by 1 / 49.5 and 25 / 0, i.e., 0.02 – infinite), therefore overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
Though the prior art range is not identical to the claimed range (0.2 – 20.0), it does overlap. It has been held that, where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claims 6 and 7, Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha, and Rebih teaches the polyolefin composition of claim 1, comprising a propylene homopolymer [Kulshreshtha, 0038] that is recycled [Kulshreshtha, 0037] reading on the recycled polyolefin (A) comprises propylene polymer of claim 6 and reading on the propylene polymer is a propylene homopolymer of claim 7.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha, and Rebih teaches the polyolefin composition of claim 1, wherein the addition of extender results in improved impact properties [0129].
Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha does not expressly teach a notched impact strength increase of 2 to 150%, elongation at break increase, or retaining acceptably mechanical properties of the composition. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Yalvac when modified by Kulshreshtha in the manner proposed above, teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties - i.e. notched impact strength increase, elongation at break increase, or retaining acceptable mechanical properties - would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Regarding Claim 11, Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha, and Rebih teaches the polyolefin composition of claim 1, wherein the random alpha-olefinic copolymer in an amount of 1-25 wt% [Yalvac, 0080], the tackifier in an amount of 0 wt%, and the additional polymer in an amount of 0-49.5 wt% [calculated as set forth in claim 1] are reasonably calculated to total 1-74.5 wt%, reading on the instantly claimed range.
Regarding Claim 12, Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha, and Rebih teaches the polyolefin composition of claim 1, but is silent regarding tackifiers in the specified embodiment.
However, Yalvac teaches compositions can carry large amounts of additives such as tackifiers in amounts up to 80 wt% [Yalvac, 0083]. Therefore, given the amounts of random alpha-olefinic copolymer (1-25 wt%) [Yalvac, 0080], tackifier (0-80 wt%) [Yalvac, 0083] and additional polymer (0-49.5 wt%) [calculated as set forth in claim 1], the random alpha-olefinic copolymer/tackifier ratio is reasonably calculated to be greater than 0.0125 (i.e., 0.2 – 5.0) and the ratio of random alpha olefinic copolymer and tackifier to additional polymer is reasonably calculated to be greater than 0.02 (1-105 / 0-49.5) (i.e., 0.2 – 20).
Though the prior art ranges are not identical to the claimed ranges (i.e., 0.2 – 5.0) and (i.e., 0.2 – 20), they do overlap. It has been held that, where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 15, Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha, and Rebih teaches the polyolefin composition of claim 1, wherein the random alpha-olefinic copolymer in an amount of 1-25 wt% [Yalvac, 0080], tackifier in an amount of 0 wt%, and the additional polymer in an amount of 0-49.5 wt% [calculated as set forth in claim 1], are reasonably calculated to total 1-74.5 wt%, reading on the instantly claimed range of 5-70 wt%.
Given the amounts above, the weight ratio of random alpha-olefinic copolymer to additional polymer is reasonably calculated to be between greater than 0.02 (calculated by 1 / 49.5 and 25 / 0, i.e., 0.02 – infinite), therefore overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha is silent regarding a tackifier in the specified embodiment.
However, Yalvac teaches compositions can carry large amounts of fillers such as tackifiers in amounts up to 80 wt% [Yalvac, 0083] thereby teaching tackifiers with “sufficient specificity” that one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the claimed combination. Therefore, given the amounts of random alpha-olefinic copolymer (1-25 wt%) [Yalvac, 0080], tackifier (0-80 wt%) [Yalvac, 0083] and additional polymer (0-49.5 wt%) [calculated as set forth in claim 1], the random alpha-olefinic copolymer/tackifier ratio is reasonably calculated to be greater than 0.0125 (i.e., 0.2 – 5.0).
Though the prior art range is not identical to the claimed range (i.e., 0.2 – 5.0), it does overlap. It has been held that, where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05).
It is noted that the polyolefin composition retaining acceptable mechanical properties is an optional limitation, and therefore not required in the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding Claim 16, the tackifier of claim 16 is considered an optional embodiment because claim 16 depends from claim 1 , and claim 1 recites “optionally, at least one tackifier”. Yalvac teaches the polyolefin composition of claim 1 that does not comprise a tackifier in the specified embodiment. As such, the limitation of claim 16 is considered to be met because claim 16 is further narrowing an optional embodiment that is not required.
Regarding Claim 17, Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha, and Rebih teaches the polyolefin composition of claim 1 that is a fabricated article, preferably in the form of a film [0015].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yalvac et al. in view of Kulshreshtha et al. and Rebih, as applied to Claim 1 above, and in further view of US2019/0382630 to Zhou et al.
Regarding Claim 14, Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha, and Rebih teaches the polyolefin composition of claim 1, as set forth and incorporated herein by reference.
Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha, and Rebih is silent regarding an amorphous propylene-ethylene copolymer with a number average molecular weight equal to or below 25,000 g/mol and/or a glass transition equal to or below -10°C.
However, Zhou teaches compositions and articles [Zhou, title] comprising an amorphous alpha olefin copolymer [Zhou, 0024] with a Tg no greater than -10°C [Zhou, 0025]. Zhou teaches the amorphous alpha-olefin copolymer is AERAFIN 17 [Zhou, 0029] which is the same commercially available amorphous polyolefin in instant application [0074] therefore it is reasonably expected that the addition of AERAFIN 17 reads on all limitations of claim 14. Yalvac and Zhou are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely compositions comprising random alpha-olefinic copolymers.
Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Zhou’s low Tg alpha olefin copolymer in place of Yalvac’s random alpha-olefinic copolymer, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
The motivation would have been that amorphous alpha olefins are more tacky than semi-crystalline polymers [Zhou, 0003]. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that using a copolymer with a lower Tg in a blend will reduce the blends’ Tg, therefore increasing the melt flow rate and reducing viscosity, which is an interest of Yalvac [0008].
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 2/16/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 6/15/2022 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states the prior art does not teach the newly amended claim 1 comprising the limitation of “wherein said at least one recycled polyolefin is a visbroken recycled polyolefin with an MFR of at least 4 g/10 min.
In response, attention is drawn to the updated rejection as set forth above wherein Yalvac in view of Kulshreshtha, and Rebih teach all components of amended claim 1.
For these reasons, Applicant's arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVIN MITCHELL DARLING/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/ARRIE L REUTHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764