DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s submission of a Response
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 12/11/2025. Presently, claims 1-22 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s representative asserts that the amended claims limitations are not met. However, the rejection of claims 1-22 is maintained as presented below. Moreover, some rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have not been amended, as discussed in detail below.
Applicant’s representative alleges the following:
In regards to amended Claim 1, Bostick fails to teach "a gateway device configured to provide a router function and a firewall function for the network, wherein the gateway device includes a memory having computer executable instructions stored therein,".
In regards to amended Claim 1, Bostick fails to disclose the limitation of "allocate a first time limit to the child account,".
In regards to amended Claim 1, Bostick fails to teach "granting access to the Internet for the child computing device associated with the child account via the router function in response to successful verification of the child credentials,"
Regarding point (1), the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument.
Applicant’s representative argues that given that cloud computing node 10 (gateway device) stores computer readable instructions in its memory and the router and firewall components are merely components on the network, a POSITA would conclude that the Bostick reference neither disclose that the cloud computing node 10 (gateway device) includes the router and firewall nor their function.
In response to the arguments above, the language used is “a gateway device configured to provide a router function and a firewall function for the network, wherein the gateway device includes a memory having computer executable instructions stored therein” and the art fully reads on it. The network in Bostick can have gateway computers, firewalls, and routers. By having firewalls and routers, you inherently have the functions of a firewall and a router. Furthermore, there is also a mention of a gateway computer in that has inherently provides router and firewall functions.
Regarding point (2), the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument.
Applicant’s representative argues that a POSITA would conclude that the Specification does not use the terms "time limit" and "time period" interchangeably and each term has a separate distinct meaning. Given that the Specification does not equate the terms "time limit" and "time period," a POSITA would conclude that the broadest reasonable interpretation of "time limit" consistent with the specification does not equate it with the term "time period."
In regards to the arguments above, “a time limit” is essentially a specific type of “time period”. A time period can be used as a time limit, which is how it’s used in Bostick. The time period disclosed in Bostick is used by parents to create time limits and time-based rules. Parents can restrict specific time periods such as access to the internet during homework hours (time limit), they can also grant access for specific duration such of access to the internet for 30 min after completing homework, they also have time-based validation, and combining time and tasks (check ¶15 and ¶16 of Bosnick).
Regarding point (3), the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument.
Applicant’s representative argues that a POSITA would conclude that the parental controls are applied after the user identifies themselves (i.e., after user authentication), which allows the user to gain Internet access prior to the user authentication step. However, this is in contrast to amended claim 1, which grants internet access to the user "in response to successful verification of the child credentials.
In response to the arguments above, authentication is a core requirement for users and they cannot bypass this (logging into devices via parental control applications and a user NEEDS to identify themselves such that proper parental controls con be applied to each of the devices; ¶73 of Bosnick). Therefore, users will not have access to the internet until they fully authenticate themselves and the proper parental controls are applied.
Regarding claims 7, 13, and 18, since they recite similar features to claim 1, they will be rejected as well. Therefore, the rejection is maintained as present below.
Applicant’s representative argues that since claims 2-6 and 8-12 depend from independent claims 1 and 7, they are patentable. However, in light of the remarks and standing rejection below, the examiner asserts the prior art of record teaches all the elements as claimed and these elements satisfy all structural, functional, operational, and spatial limitations currently in the claims. Therefore, the standing rejections are proper and maintained.
Applicant’s representative argues that since claims 14-17 depend from independent claim 13, they are patentable. However, in light of the remarks and standing rejection below, the examiner asserts the prior art of record teaches all the elements as claimed and these elements satisfy all structural, functional, operational, and spatial limitations currently in the claims. Therefore, the standing rejections are proper and maintained.
Applicant’s representative argues that since claims 19-22 depend from independent claim 18, they are patentable. However, in light of the remarks and standing rejection below, the examiner asserts the prior art of record teaches all the elements as claimed and these elements satisfy all structural, functional, operational, and spatial limitations currently in the claims. Therefore, the standing rejections are proper and maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, line 15, “at least one quiz or task” should read “the at least one quiz or task”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the at least one child device” in line 20. It is unclear if applicant is referring to the same ones of “at least one child computing device” of claim 7 line 3 or a different child device. For purposes of examination, it is assumed that “the at least one child device” refers to the same ones of “at least one child computing device” found in claim 7.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “at least one quiz or task” in line 13. Since the claim language does not use antecedent basis (e.g. “the” or “said”), it is unclear if applicant is referring to the same ones of “at least one quiz or task” of claim 10 from which claim 11 depends or a second instance of at least one quiz or task. For purposes of examination, it is assumed that “at least one quiz or task” refers to the same ones of “at least one quiz or task” found in claim 10.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the at least one child device” in line 9. It is unclear if applicant is referring to the same ones of “at least one child computing device” of claim 13 line 3 or a different child computing device. For purposes of examination, it is assumed that “the at least one child device” refers to the same ones of “at least one child computing device” found in claim 13 line 3.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “a quiz or task” in line 4. Since the claim language does not use antecedent basis (e.g. “the” or “said”), it is unclear if applicant is referring to the same ones of “at least one quiz or task” of claim 15 from which claim 16 depends or a different quiz or task. For purposes of examination, it is assumed that “a quiz or task” refers to the same ones of “at least one quiz or task” found in claim 15.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the quiz or task” in line 5. It is unclear if applicant is referring to the same ones of “at least one quiz or task” of claim 15 from which claim 16 depends or a different quiz or task. For purposes of examination, it is assumed that “the quiz or task” refers to the same ones of “at least one quiz or task” found in claim 15.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the router function” in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination “the router function” will be read as “a router function”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the internet” in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination “the internet” will be read as “an internet”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “at least one child computing device” in line 16. Since the claim language does not use antecedent basis (e.g. “the” or “said”), it is unclear if applicant is referring to the same ones of “at least one child computing device” of claim 18 line 3 or a different child computing device. For purposes of examination, it is assumed that “at least one child computing device” refers to the same ones of “at least one child computing device” found in claim 18 line 3.
Claims 8-10, 12, 14-15, 17, and 19-22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bostick et al. (US 20180152531 A1 See-IDS; hereinafter Bostick).
Regarding claim 1, Bostick discloses a system for providing monitoring of a network and a captive learning portal (¶ 0001), wherein the network is in communication with an Internet (communication via internet; ¶ 0044), wherein the network includes a parent computing device (parent account through computing device; ¶ 0070) and a child computing device (child log into device; ¶ 0073), the system comprising: at least one server configured to provide an authentication system (authentication requirement feature; ¶ 0066) and a learning management system for the parent computing device and the child computing device (task validation; ¶ 0066); and a gateway device configured to provide a router function and a firewall function for the network (network comprises routers and firewalls; ¶ 0054), wherein the gateway device includes a memory having computer executable instructions stored (¶ 0053-0054) therein configured for: connecting with the child computing device and prompting to enter child credentials associated with a child account (logging in for child on registered device; ¶ 0073); communicating with the at least one server to verify the child credentials associated with the child account (¶ 0073), and allocate a first time limit to the child account (specified time period; ¶ 0016); granting access to the Internet for the child computing device (computer internet usage; ¶ 0015) associated with the child account via the router function (the network works through a router; ¶ 0054) in response to successful verification of the child credentials (¶ 0073); and blocking access to the Internet for the child computing device associated with the child account via the firewall function upon the first time limit allocated to the child account being reached according to parental control settings for the child account (activities authorized or restricted based on the specified time period set by the parent control rules; ¶ 0016).
Regarding claim 7, Bostick discloses a system for providing monitoring of a network and a captive learning portal (¶ 0001), wherein the network is in communication with and Internet (communication via internet; ¶ 0044), wherein the network includes a parent computing device (parent account through computing device; ¶ 0070) and at least one child computing device (child log into device; ¶ 0073), the system comprising: at least one server configured to provide an authentication system (authentication requirement feature; ¶ 0066) and a learning management system (task validation; ¶ 0066) for the parent computing device (parent account through computing device; ¶ 0070) and the at least one child computing device (child log into device; ¶ 0073); a gateway device configured to provide a router function and a firewall function for the network (network comprises routers and firewalls; ¶ 0054), wherein the gateway device includes a memory having computer executable instructions stored (¶ 0053-0054) therein configured for: connecting with the parent computing device and prompting to enter parent credentials associated with a parent account (parent log in with an account; ¶ 0069); communicating with the at least one server to verify the parent credentials associated with the parent account (¶ 0070); and granting access to the learning management system for the parent computing device (managing the rules to control the multitasking activities; ¶ 0071) associated with the parent account via the router function in response to successful verification of the parent credentials (network uses firewall; ¶ 0054); and said access enables the parent computing device to configure or modify one or more parental control settings for a selected child account (control rules within the parental control system; ¶ 0071), including setting one or more time limits for accessing the Internet using the at least one child device associated with the selected child account (time or task based parental controls; ¶ 0071).
Regarding claim 13, Bostick discloses a method programmed for execution in a computing environment for providing monitoring of a network and a captive learning portal for the network (¶ 0001) including a parent computing device (parent account through computing device; ¶ 0070) and at least one child computing device (child log into device; ¶ 0073), wherein the network is in communication with an Internet (communication via internet; ¶ 0044), utilizing a processor (¶ 0037) the method comprises: connecting with the at least one child computing device and prompting to enter child credentials associated with a child account (logging in for child on registered device; ¶ 0073); communicating with at least one server, which provides an authentication system (authentication requirement feature; ¶ 0066) and a learning management system (task validation; ¶ 0066) for the parent computing device and the at least one child device, to verify the child credentials associated with the child account (¶ 0073), and allocate a first time limit to the child account (specified time period; ¶ 0016); granting access to the Internet for the at least one child computing device associated with the child account (computer internet usage; ¶ 0015) via a router function of a gateway device (the network works through a router; ¶ 0054) in response to successful verification of the child credentials by the authentication system (¶ 0073); and blocking access to the Internet for the at least one child computing device associated with the child account via a firewall function of the gateway device upon the first time limit allocated to the child account being reached according to parental control settings for the child account (activities authorized or restricted based on the specified time period set by the parent control rules; ¶ 0016).
Regarding claim 14, Bostick discloses wherein the parental control settings include at least one of: one or more time limits for accessing the Internet using the at least one child computing device associated with the child account; and one or more quiz or task settings for granting more Internet access time for the at least one child computing device associated with the child account (specified time period; ¶ 0016).
Regarding claim 15, Bostick discloses wherein the at least one server includes a learning management server configured to store the at least one quiz or task (electronic quiz and task validation; ¶ 0063); and provides at least one of the quiz or task to the at least one child computing device after each of the one or more time limits expire according to the parental control settings for the child account (¶ 0016 and 0075).
Regarding claim 16, Bostick discloses wherein, when access to the Internet for the at least one child computing device associated with the child account is blocked once the first time limit has been reached (activities authorized or restricted based on the specified time period set by the parent control rules; ¶ 0016), the method further comprises communicating with the learning management server to retrieve a quiz or task (various tasks or assignments; ¶ 0016); communicating with the at least one child computing device to present the quiz or task (¶ 0016); in response to results of the quiz reaching a threshold passing score or the task being completed (completion of tasks; ¶ 0016), the method further comprises allocating a second time limit to the child account (there can be multiple time periods; ¶ 0016), and granting access to the Internet for the at least one child computing device associated with the child account until the second time limit expires (¶ 0015).
Regarding claim 17, Bostick discloses further comprising communicating with the at least one server to provide one or more updates to the system based on the results of the quiz or completion of the task (¶0085); and wherein the one or more updates include recording test results, monitoring Internet activity and/or application usage logs, updating scoring leaderboards, adding more time to the child account, editing databases or combinations thereof (¶0097).
Regarding claim 18, Bostick discloses a method programmed for execution in a computing environment for providing monitoring of a network and a captive learning portal for the network (¶ 0001) including a parent computing device (parent account through computing device; ¶ 0070) and at least one child computing device (child log into device; ¶ 0073), utilizing a processor (¶ 0037) the method comprises: connecting with the parent computing device and prompting to enter parent credentials associated with a parent account (parent log in with an account; ¶ 0069); communicating with at least one server that provides an authentication system (authentication requirement feature; ¶ 0066) and a learning management system for the parent computing device and the at least one child computing device (task validation; ¶ 0066), to verify the parent credentials associated with the parent account (¶ 0070); granting access to the learning management system for the parent computing device associated with the parent account (managing the rules to control the multitasking activities; ¶ 0071) via the router function (network uses router; ¶ 0054) in response to successful verification of the parent credentials by the authentication system; and wherein said access enables the parent computing device to configure or modify one or more parental control settings for a selected child account (control rules within the parental control system; ¶ 0071), including setting one or more time limits for accessing the Internet using at least one child computing device associated with the selected child account (time or task based parental controls; ¶ 0071).
Regarding claim 19, Bostick discloses wherein configuring or modifying the one or more parental control settings for the selected child account further includes configuring quiz or task settings for granting more Internet access time for the at least one child computing device associated with the selected child account (more time or less time is the defined by the parental controls; ¶0016).
Regarding claim 20, Bostick discloses wherein the at least one server includes a learning management server configured to: store at least one quiz or task (electronic quiz and task validation; ¶ 0063); and provide the at least one quiz or task to the at least one child computing device after each of the one or more time limits expire according to the parental control settings for the selected child account (¶ 0016 and 0075).
Regarding claim 21, Bostick discloses wherein the configuring of the quiz or task settings for the selected child account includes one or more of: selecting a difficulty level of the at least one quiz or task for the selected child account, selecting one or more subjects, topics, or categories of the at least one quiz or task for the selected child account, setting a total number of questions or problems for each of the at least one quiz or task for the selected child account, setting a threshold passing score for the at least one quiz or task for the selected child account, selecting at least one predefined quiz or task from one or more lists for the selected child account, wherein the one or more lists are stored by the learning management server, or defining at least one custom quiz or task for the selected child account (subjects like math and science; ¶0080).
Regarding claim 22, Bostick discloses wherein the access further enables the parent computing device to save the one or more parental control settings for the selected child account to the at least one server (parent control rules being published; ¶0016).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bostick in view of Longhorn (US 20140195678 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Bostick discloses wherein the at least one server includes an authentication server configured to verify that the entered child credentials are associated with a valid child account (login requires credentials; ¶0073) using a database (use a database; ¶0047). Bostick does not explicitly disclose verifying the child credentials by confirming a password or a PIN of the entered child credentials but examiner does note that it is well known that verification of credentials often leads to verification of a pin or password.
However, Longhorn teaches verifying child credentials by confirming a password or a PIN of the entered child credentials (credentials can have username and password; ¶0059)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bostick to implement the teachings of Longhorn for the benefit of using a well-known method of verifying credentials with a pin or password.
Regarding claim 3, Bostick discloses wherein the parental control settings include at least one of: one or more time limits for accessing the Internet using the child computing device associated with the child account; or one or more quiz or task settings for granting more Internet access time for the child computing device associated with the child account (specified time period; ¶ 0016).
Regarding claim 4, Bostick discloses wherein the at least one server includes a learning management server configured to store at least one quiz or task (electronic quiz and task validation; ¶ 0063); and provide the at least one of the quiz or task to the child computing device via the gateway device after each of the one or more time limits expire according to the parental control settings for the child account (¶ 0016 and 0075).
Regarding claim 5, Bostick discloses wherein, when the gateway device blocks access to the Internet for the child computing device associated with the child account once the first time limit has been reached (activities authorized or restricted based on the specified time period set by the parent control rules; ¶ 0016), the gateway device communicates with the learning management server to retrieve the at least one quiz or task (various tasks or assignments; ¶ 0016), and communicates with the child computing device to present the at least one quiz or task (¶0016); in response to results of the quiz reaching a threshold passing score or the task being completed (completion of tasks; ¶ 0016), the gateway device further communicates with the authentication server to allocate a second time limit to the child account (there can be multiple time periods; ¶ 0016), and grants access to the Internet for the child computing device associated with the child account until the second time limit expires (¶ 0015).
Regarding claim 6, Bostick discloses wherein the gateway device communicates with the at least one server to provide one or more updates to the system based on the results of the quiz or completion of the task (¶0085); and the one or more updates include recording test results, monitoring Internet activity and/or application usage logs, updating scoring leaderboards, adding more time to the child account, editing databases or combinations thereof (¶0097).
Regarding claim 8, Bostick discloses wherein the at least one server includes an authentication server configured to verify that the entered parent credentials (credentials; ¶0070) are associated with a valid parent account by confirming a password or a PIN (ref2 credentials can have username and password; ¶0059) of the entered parent credentials using a database (use a database; ¶0047).
Regarding claim 9, Bostick discloses wherein configuring or modifying the one or more parental control settings for the selected child account further includes configuring one or more quiz or task settings for granting more Internet access time for the at least one child computing device associated with the selected child account (specified time period; ¶ 0016).
Regarding claim 10, Bostick discloses wherein the at least one server includes a learning management server configured to: store at least one quiz or task (electronic quiz and task validation; ¶ 0063); and provide the at least one of the quiz or task to the at least one child computing device via the gateway device after each of the one or more time limits expire according to the parental control settings for the selected child account (¶ 0016 and 0075).
Regarding claim 11, Bostick discloses wherein the configuring the one or more quiz or task settings for the selected child account includes one or more of: selecting a difficulty level of the at least one quiz or task for the selected child account, selecting one or more subjects, topics, or categories of the at least one quiz or task for the selected child account, setting a total number of questions or problems for each of the at least one quiz or task for the selected child account, setting a threshold passing score for the at least one quiz or task for the selected child account, selecting at least one predefined quiz or task from one or more lists for the selected child account, the one or more lists are stored by the learning management server; and defining at least one quiz or task for the selected child account (subjects like math and science; ¶0080).
Regarding claim 12, Bostick discloses wherein the access further enables the parent computing device to save the one or more parental control settings for the selected child account to the at least one server via the gateway device (parent control rules being published; ¶0016).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE ANGELES/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715