DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment, filed 02/27/2026, has been entered.
Claims 1-15, 19, 32 have been canceled.
Claim 34 has been added.
Claims 16-18, 20-31, 33 and 34 are pending and currently under examination as they read on a method of treating an FcγRIIb-expressing cancer comprising administering a monomeric IgA antibody.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-18, 20-31, 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
“[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ‘ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.’” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quoting Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.04.
For a claim to a genus, a generic statement that defines a genus of substances by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. Reagents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (CAFC 1997). The recitation of a functional property alone, which must be shared by the members of the genus, is merely descriptive of what the members of the genus must be capable of doing, not of the substance and structure of the members. The Federal Circuit has cautioned that, for claims reciting a genus of antibodies with particular functional properties (e.g., high affinity, neutralization activity, competing with a reference antibody for binding), “[c]laiming antibodies with specific properties, e.g., an antibody that binds to human TNF-α with A2 specificity, can result in a claim that does not meet written description even if the human TNF-α protein is disclosed because antibodies with those properties have not been adequately described." Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 97 USPQ2d 1870, 1875, 1877-78 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
“[A] sufficient description of a genus . . . requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can ‘visualize or recognize’ the members of the genus.” Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1350 (quoting Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69). A “representative number of species” means that those species that are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (“The ’128 and ’485 patents, however, only describe species of structurally similar antibodies that were derived from Joe-9. Although the number of the described species appears high quantitatively, the described species are all of the similar type and do not qualitatively represent other types of antibodies encompassed by the genus.”). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus to provide a "representative number” of species.
The “structural features common to the members of the genus” needed for one of skill in the art to ‘visualize or recognize’ the members of the genus takes into account the state of the art at the time of the invention. For antibodies, the Federal Circuit has found that possession of a mouse antibody heavy and light chain variable regions provides a structural "stepping stone" to the corresponding chimeric antibody, but not to human antibodies. Centocor, 97 USPQ2d at 1875 (“[T]he application only provides amino acid sequence information (a molecular description of the antibody) for a single mouse variable region, i.e., the variable region that the mouse A2 antibody and the chimeric antibody have in common. However, the mouse variable region sequence does not serve as a stepping stone to identifying a human variable region within the scope of the claims.”). A chimeric antibody shares the full heavy and light chain variable regions with the corresponding mouse antibody; that is, the structure shared between a mouse and chimeric antibody would generally be expected to conserve the antigen binding activity.
Lastly, even if a selection procedure is disclosed that was, at the time of the invention, sufficient to enable the skilled artisan to identify antibodies with the recited functional properties, the written description provision of 35 U.S.C § 112 is severable from its enablement provision. Ariad, 94 USPQ2d at 1167; Centocor at 1876 (“The fact that a fully-human antibody could be made does not suffice to show that the inventors of the '775 patent possessed such an antibody.”)
In Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017), relying upon Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lily & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed Cir. 2010), it is noted that to show invention, a patentee must convey in its disclosure that is “had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date. Demonstrating possession “requires a precise definition” of the invention. To provide this precise definition” for a claim to a genus, a patentee must disclose “a representative number of species within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus” (see Amgen at page 1358).
Also, it is not enough for the specification to show how to make and use the invention, i.e., to enable it (see Amgen at page 1361).
An adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products – “a precise definition, such as structure, formula, chemic name, physical properties of other properties, of species falling with the genus sufficient to distinguish the gene from other materials”, which may be present in “functional terminology when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” (Amgen page 1361).
In the instant case, the specification discloses a specific anti-CD20 antibodies with defined sequences of CDR1-3 of light and heavy chain variable and sequences of light and heavy chain variable as SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2. However, the claims broadly encompass any IgA antibody having the required increased functions of PCD, CDC and/or ADCC, wherein the instant specification does not describe representative examples to support the full scope of the claims. Therefore, the instant disclosure, including the claims failed to disclose a representative number of species falling with the scope of the genus or structural common to the members of the genus so the one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize all members of the genus of the IgA antibody having said function. It is noted that even though claim 16 recites the specificity, it does not satisfy the requirements of Written Description for the same reasons that the disclosed species is not sufficient to support the genus of the antibody (e.g., anti-CD20).
A “representative number of species" means that those species that are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The “structural features common to the members of the genus” needed for one of skill in the art to 'visualize or recognize' the members of the genus takes into account the state of the art at the time of the invention. For example, the Federal Circuit has found that possession of a mouse antibody heavy and light chain variable regions provides a structural “stepping stone” to the corresponding chimeric antibody, but not to human antibodies. Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 97 USPQ2d 1870, 1875 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Here, the claims are directed to a genus of antigen-binding immunoglobulin molecules are defined by their desired binding to an antigen and function of such binding.
It is well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site in an antibody usually requires the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which consists of three CDRs (or hypervariable regions), which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope. The amino acid sequences and conformations of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity which is characteristic of the parent immunoglobulin. It is expected that all of the heavy and light chain CDRs in their proper order and in the context of framework sequences which maintain their required conformation, are required in order to produce a protein having antigen-binding function and that proper association of heavy and light chain variable regions is required in order to form functional antigen binding sites. Even minor changes in the amino acid sequences of the heavy and light variable regions, particularly in the CDRs, may dramatically affect antigen-binding function as evidenced by Rudikoff et al. (Proc Natl Acad Sci USA 1982 Vol 79 page 1979). Rudikoff et al. teach that the alteration of a single amino acid in the CDR of a phosphocholine-binding myeloma protein resulted in the loss of antigen-binding function. MacCallum et al. (J. Mol. Biol. 1996 262, 732-745), analyzed many different antibodies for interactions with antigen and state that although CDR3 of the heavy and light chain dominate, a number of residues outside the standard CDR definitions make antigen contacts (see page 733, right col) and non-contacting residues within the CDRs coincide with residues as important in defining canonical backbone conformations (see page 735, left col.). Pascalis et al. (The Journal of Immunology (2002) 169, 3076-3084) demonstrate that grafting of the CDRs into a human framework was performed by grafting CDR residues and maintaining framework residues that were deemed essential for preserving the structural integrity of the antigen binding site (see page 3079, right col.). Although abbreviated CDR residues were used in the constructs, some residues in all 6 CDRs were used for the constructs (see page 3080, left col.). The fact that not just one CDR is essential for antigen binding or maintaining the conformation of the antigen binding site, is underscored by Casset et al. (BBRC 2003, 307:198-205), which constructed a peptide mimetic of an anti-CD4 monoclonal antibody binding site by rational design and the peptide was designed with 27 residues formed by residues from 5 CDRs (see entire document). Casset et al. also states that although CDR H3 is at the center of most if not all antigen interactions, clearly other CDRs play an important role in the recognition process (page 199, left col.) and this is demonstrated in this work by using all CDRs except L2 and additionally using a framework residue located just before the H3 (see page 202, left col.). Vajdos et al. (J. Mol. Biol. (2002) 320, 415-428), additionally state that antigen binding is primarily mediated by the CDRs more highly conserved framework segments which connect the CDRs are mainly involved in supporting the CDR loop conformations and in some cases framework residues also contact antigen (page 416, left col.). Chen et al. (J. Mol. Bio. (1999) 293, 865-881) describe high affinity variant antibodies binding to VEGF wherein the results show that the antigen binding site is almost entirely composed of residues from heavy chain CDRs, CDR-H1, H2, H3 (page 866). Wu et al. (J. Mol. Biol. (1999) 294, 151-162) state that it is difficult to predict which framework residues serve a critical role in maintaining affinity and specificity due in part to the large conformational change in antibodies that accompany antigen binding (page 152 left col.) but certain residues have been identified as important for maintaining conformation. Padlan et al. (PNAS 1989, 86:5938-5942) described the crystal structure of an antibody-lysozyme complex where all 6 CDRs contribute at least one residue to binding and one residue in the framework is also in contact with antigen. Lastly, Lamminmaki et al. (JBC 2001, 276:36687-36694) describe the crystal structure of an anti-estradiol antibody in complex with estradiol where, although CDR3 of VH plays a prominent roll, all CDRs in the light chain make direct contact with antigen (even CDR2 of VL, which is rarely directly involved in hapten binding). (All reference cited herein are listed in IDS).
Given the well-known high level of polymorphism of immunoglobulins / antibodies, the skilled artisan would not have been in possession of the vast repertoire of antibodies and the unlimited number of antibodies encompassed by the claimed invention; one of skill in the art would conclude that applicant was not in possession of the structural attributes of a representative number of species possessed by the members of the genera of antibody that binds any antigen or CD20 broadly encompassed by the claimed invention. One of skill in the art would conclude that the specification fails to disclose a representative number of species to describe the claimed genera.
Applicant’s argument has been considered but has not been found convincing for reasons of record.
Applicant argues that the present application is directed to a method of treatment using IgA antibodies and therefore the genus need not be described to satisfy the written description requirement. In response it is noted that the claims here are directed to methods of using antibodies, rather than the antibodies themselves, but the same standard applies with regard to the written description requirement. See University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916,926 (Fed. Cir. 2004): regardless whether a compound is claimed per se or a method is claimed that entails the use of the compound, the inventor cannot lay claim to that subject matter unless he can provide a description of the compound sufficient to distinguish infringing compounds from non-infringing compound, or infringing methods from non-infringing methods. In University of Rochester, the "claimed method depend|ed] upon finding a compound that selectively inhibits PGHS-2 activity. Without such a compound, it is impossible to practice the claimed method of treatment." Id. (citation omitted). Similarly here, the claimed methods cannot be practiced without IgA antibodies that are therapeutically effective against FcγRIIb-expressing cancer . Therefore, Applicant's argument that the claims are adequately described because they are directed to a method, not a composition of matter is therefore unpersuasive.
Applicant further argues that a single species can adequately support a genus. In resonse, it is noted that the size of the claimed antibody genus comprises substantial variations as one of skill in the art is well aware of the high level of polymorphism and complex nature of immunoglobulins. One of skill in the art would readily appreciate that through somatic variation, combinatorial rearrangement of individual gene segments and combinatorial association between different L and H chains, the repertoire of antibody diversity can have greater than 1016 different immunoglobulins. Moreover, it is well-known in the art that antibodies have a large repertoire of distinct structures and that a huge variety of antibodies can be made to bind to a single epitope. For example, over hundreds of functional antibody fragments can be isolated from an antibody library that bind to the same antigen wherein these antibodies have distinct heavy and light chain sequences. Therefore, the disclosed species are not representative of the claimed genus encompassing the substantial variation due to the high level of polymorphism of antibodies as exemplified by the above references.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through description of 1) a representative number of species OR 2) disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, i.e., functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure.
Representative Species
With regard to representative number of species, the instant specification disclosed a specific anti-CD20 antibody with defined sequences of CDR1-3 of light and heavy chain variable and sequences of light and heavy chain variable as SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2, respectively. However, the disclosed species is not sufficient to represent the entire genus as claimed.
The size of the claimed antibody genus comprises substantial variations as one of skill in the art is well aware of the high level of polymorphism and complex nature of immunoglobulins. One of skill in the art would readily appreciate that through somatic variation, combinatorial rearrangement of individual gene segments and combinatorial association between different L and H chains, the repertoire of antibody diversity can have greater than 1016 different immunoglobulins. Moreover, it is well-known in the art that antibodies have a large repertoire of distinct structures and that a huge variety of antibodies can be made to bind to a single epitope. For example, over hundreds of functional antibody fragments can be isolated from an antibody library that bind to the same antigen wherein these antibodies have distinct heavy and light chain sequences. Therefore, the disclosed species are not representative of the claimed genus encompassing the substantial variation due to the high level of polymorphism of antibodies as exemplified by the above references.
Given the well-known high level of polymorphism of immunoglobulins / antibodies, the skilled artisan would not have been in possession of the vast repertoire of antibodies and the unlimited number of antibodies encompassed by the claimed invention; one of skill in the art would conclude that applicant was not in possession of the structural attributes of a representative number of species possessed by the members of the genera of antibody that binds any antigen or CD20 broadly encompassed by the claimed invention. One of skill in the art would conclude that the specification fails to disclose a representative number of species to describe the claimed genera.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained as it applies to amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18, 20-31, 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Pascal et al. (Haematologica 2012 97:1686-1694) in view of Lohse et al. (JBC 2012 287:25139-25150; cited in IDS).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Pascal et al. taught a method of treating lymphoma, a solid tumor, comprising administering an engineered monomeric anti-CD20 IgA antibody comprising the rituximab variable regions (see, e.g., Introduction; Results page 1689; Anti-CD20 IgA protects animals from the development of lymphoma tumor). Given that lymphoma was the cancer taught by prior art, it would express FcγRIIb and would be resistant to the corresponding IgG antibody. The anti-CD20 IgA antibody is IgA2 (and would have an IgA2 hinge) and induces PCD to a greater extent relative to its IgG counterpart as determined by in vitro assay using annexin V fluorescence (Results, page 1688 IgA is more efficient than IgG1 for direct effector mechanisms; page 1689 Anti-CD20 IgA protects animals from the development of lymphoma tumor; Supplementary Design and Methods, Apoptosis analysis). Moreover, the anti-CD20 IgA would bind FcαRI and induces ADCC greater than its IgG counterpart and ADCP of the cancer cell given that it was able to recruit neutrophils via CD89 for specific lysis of target cells (Results page 1690 CD89 effector recruitment can contribute to the therapeutic activity of IgA in vivo). Given that the prior art taught the same antibody as claimed, it would also induce macrophage-mediated PCD.
The mechanism of action does not have a bearing on the patentability of the invention if the invention was already known or obvious. Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. In re Wiseman, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). Granting a patent on the discovery of an unknown but inherent function would remove from the public that which is in the public domain by virtue of its inclusion in, or obviousness from, the prior art. In re Baxter Travenol Labs, 21 USPQ2d 1281 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See M.P.E.P. 2145.
Pascal did not teach IgA1 antibody. However, it would have been obvious to make an IgA1 antibody as there are only two isotypes of IgA, IgA1 and IgA2 (see Lohse, page 25140, second paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to try as one of ordinary skill in the art would be picking from a finite number of predictable solutions.
Pascal also did not teach generating mutations (substitution, insertion or deletion) in the IgA1 heavy chain (SEQ ID NO: 4) or IgA2 heavy chain (SEQ ID NO: 5). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to generate a mutation in either IgA1 or IgA2 heavy chain in view of the teachings by Lohse et al. (see entire document). In particular, Lohse taught making a point mutation from proline to arginine at position 221 in the α2 heavy chain of an anti-EGFR IgA2m(1) antibody that resulted in the antibody being better suited for clinical application (page 25140 second paragraph). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such substitution in the heavy chain of IgA2. The ordinary artisan would equally make such substitution in the heavy chain of IgA1 for reasons stated above.
Lastly, Pascal did not teach the subject of the treatment method to be a human or a child. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat a human child as childhood lymphoma should be treated.
Therefore, the invention, as a whole, was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
With regards to the newly added limitation/claim, it is noted that given that prior art taught using an anti-CD20 antibody, the lymphoma would be a CD20 positive B cell lymphoma because CD20 is expressed on B cells.
Applicant argues Pascal does not teach or suggest IgA antibodies exhibiting markedly superior caspase-independent PCD effect on FcγRIIb-expressing cancer. In response, it is noted that Pascal taught anti-CD20 IgA antibody comprising the variable regions of rituximab, same as the embodiment disclosed in the instant specification. Therefore, the method taught by Pascal would have the same mechanism of action.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-18, 20-31, 33 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,414,495 in view of Pascal et al. (Haematologica 2012 97:1686-1694) and Lohse et al. (JBC 2012 287:25139-25150).
The patent claims disclosed an anti-CD20 IgA antibody that has increased CDC and ADCC compared to its IgG counterpart. Even though the patent claims did not disclose a method of treating cancer using the antibody, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to use the antibody for treating cancer in view of the teaching by Pascal and Lohse as discussed above. Therefore, the patent claims render obvious the present claims. It is noted that the present application is a Continuation, therefore the Safe Harbor of 35 USC 121 does not apply.
Applicant’s argument has been considered but has not been found convincing for reasons of record as stated in the rejection of record. The rejection is maintained.
/SHARON X WEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641