DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-9, 12, 13, 16-18, and 20, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims recite a “a statistical model” applied to images to determine if appropriate amount of coupling medium has been applied. It is not clear how any statistical model would be able to determine that, the statistical model has not been clearly defined, what the model does, what the parameters are, which enable the model to calculate if appropriate coupling medium has been applied, as such the claims are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 12, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1/a2 as being anticipated by U. S. Publication No. 2020/0170619 to O’Brien et al.
Regarding Claim 1, O’Brien teaches an apparatus, comprising: a processing device in operative communication with an ultrasound device, the processing device configured to: determine that sufficient ultrasound coupling medium has not been applied to the ultrasound device (fig. 1 teaches a gel management circuit); and based on determining that sufficient ultrasound coupling medium has not been applied to the ultrasound device, instruct a user to apply sufficient ultrasound coupling medium to the ultrasound device (para 003-023; fig. 2 element 230 teaches applying more gel, based on determination that there is insufficient gel). O’Brien further teaches that the processing device is configured to determine that sufficient ultrasound coupling medium has not been applied to the ultrasound device using a statistical model (fig. 2 element 230 and para 0108 teaches applying more gel, based on determination that there is insufficient gel, which is based on a model).
Regarding Claim 4, O’Brien teaches that the processing device is configured to receive ultrasound images collected by the ultrasound device while the processing device is determining that sufficient ultrasound coupling medium has not been applied to the ultrasound device and/or while instructing the user to apply sufficient ultrasound coupling medium to the ultrasound device (fig. 2 and 5-7 element 230 teaches applying more gel, based on determination that there is insufficient gel).
Regarding Claim 5, O’Brien teaches that the processing device is configured, when instructing the user to apply sufficient ultrasound coupling medium to the ultrasound device, to indicate one or multiple levels of ultrasound coupling medium that has been applied to the ultrasound device and/or one of multiple levels of ultrasound coupling medium that still needs to be applied to the ultrasound device (Fig. 2 teaches applying additional gel, when it is determined to be insufficient).
Regarding Claim 6, O’Brien teaches an apparatus, comprising: a processing device in operative communication with an ultrasound device, the processing device configured to: provide a first instruction to a user to perform a first action in preparing the ultrasound device for collecting ultrasound images, the first action comprising applying sufficient ultrasound coupling medium to the ultrasound device (claim1 and figs. 1-2); and automatically transition to providing a second instruction to the user to perform a second action in preparing the ultrasound device for collecting ultrasound images based on detecting a new state of the ultrasound device, wherein the second action comprises positioning the ultrasound device on a subject fig. 2 and 5-7 element 230 teaches applying more gel, based on determination that there is insufficient gel); and wherein the new state of the ultrasound device comprises the ultrasound device having sufficient ultrasound coupling medium applied to it but not being properly positioned (claim 20 teaches positioning the probe after applying the gel). O’Brien further teaches that the processing device is configured to determine that sufficient ultrasound coupling medium has not been applied to the ultrasound device using a statistical model (fig. 2 element 230 and para 0108 teaches applying more gel, based on determination that there is insufficient gel, which is based on a model).
Regarding Claim 7, O’Brien teaches that the new state of the ultrasound device comprises the ultrasound device having sufficient ultrasound coupling medium applied to it but not being positioned on a subject (figs. 6 and 7).
Regarding Claim 8, O’Brien teaches that the second action comprises positioning the ultrasound device on the subject to capture ultrasound images of a particular anatomical feature and/or from a particular anatomical view, and wherein the new state of the ultrasound device comprises the ultrasound device having sufficient ultrasound coupling medium applied to it and being positioned on the subject, but not being properly positioned on the subject in order to capture ultrasound images of the particular anatomical feature and/or from the particular anatomical view (figs. 6 and 7 and claim 20 teaches positioning the probe after gel has been applied).
Regarding Claim 9, O’Brien teaches that the particular anatomical feature comprises a bladder (para 0059 teaches bladder).
Regarding Claim 12-13, O’Brien teaches an apparatus, comprising: a processing device in operative communication with an ultrasound device, the processing device configured to: determine that the ultrasound device is not positioned on a subject; and based on determining that the ultrasound device is not positioned on the subject, instruct a user to position the ultrasound device on the subject (figs. 5-7 positioning the probe). O’Brien further teaches that the processing device is configured to determine that sufficient ultrasound coupling medium has not been applied to the ultrasound device using a statistical model (fig. 2 element 230 and para 0108 teaches applying more gel, based on determination that there is insufficient gel, which is based on a model).
Claim(s) 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1/a2 as being anticipated by U. S. Publication No. 2017/0086785 to Bjaerum.
Regarding Claim 17, Bjaerum teaches an apparatus, comprising: a processing device in operative communication with an ultrasound device, the processing device configured to: instruct a user to hold the ultrasound device steady; determine that the user has not held the ultrasound device steady (figs. 1-3, para 0027 and 0030 determining if probe is steady); and based on determining that the user has not held the ultrasound device steady, instruct the user to properly position the ultrasound device on the subject in order to capture ultrasound images of a particular anatomical feature and/or from the particular anatomical view (figs. 1-3 and para 0027 and 0030 teaches steadying the probe and capturing images). Bjaerum further teaches that the processing device is configured to determine that sufficient ultrasound coupling medium has not been applied to the ultrasound device using a statistical model ((fig. 1-3 and para 022 teaches a model).
Regarding Claim 18, Bjaerum teaches that the particular anatomical feature comprises a bladder (para 0017 teaches anatomical modelling, and any anatomical feature can be imaged, including bladder).
Regarding Claim 20, Bjaerum teaches that the processing device is configured to determine that the user has not held the ultrasound device steady using one or more of an accelerometer. gyroscope, and magnetometer on the ultrasound device (para 0027 teaches an accelerometer, gyroscope and/or magnetometer).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1, 4-9, 12, 13, 16-18 and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that none of the reference teaches a statistical model applied to images to determine if appropriate amount of coupling medium has been applied.
Examiner would like to point out that O’Brien further teaches that the processing device is configured to determine that sufficient ultrasound coupling medium has not been applied to the ultrasound device using a statistical model (fig. 2 element 230 and para 0108 teaches applying more gel, based on determination that there is insufficient gel, which is based on a model).
It is not clear how any statistical model would be able to determine that, the statistical model has not been clearly defined, what the model does, what the parameters are, which enable the model to calculate if appropriate coupling medium has been applied, as such the claims are indefinite, as such the rejection is maintained and made FINAL.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798