DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
The amendments received on 07/16/2026 have been entered. Claims 85-86, 88, 90-97, 99-104, and 106 are pending.
Claims 97, and 99-104 remain withdrawn for being directed to a non-elected invention(s).
Claim 98 has been cancelled.
Claims 85, 88, 90, 91, 93-95, 97, 99, and 103-104 have been amended.
Claims 85-86, 88, 90-96, and 106 are examined in this Office Action.
Objections and Rejections that are Withdrawn
The rejection of claims 86, 92, and 96 under 35 USC 112(a) Written Description has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 88 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 88 recites “having at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 110”. SEQ ID NO: 110 consists of 7 amino acids. Changing only one of the amino acids of SEQ ID NO: 110 results in 86% sequence identity. Therefore, the comparable amino acid sequence would either have 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 110 or less than 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 110. There is no way to achieve the required “at least 90% sequence identity” unless the comparable amino acid sequence is SEQ ID NO: 110.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 85-86, 88, 90-96, and 106 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FU (Fu et al., International Publication Number WO 2019/158911 A1, International Publication Date 22 August 2019; included on IDS dated 08/29/2022) in view of CHEN (Chen et al., 2019, BMC Plant Biology, Vol. 19(269), pp. 1-13; included on IDS dated 01/04/2023). This is a modified rejection necessitated by the claim amendments.
Claim 85 recites “[a] soybean plant or plant part thereof comprising at least one non-natural mutation in an endogenous gene encoding a Growth Regulating Factor (GRF) transcription factor,
wherein the endogenous gene encoding the GRF transcription factor comprises a sequence having at least 90% sequence identity to the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 79, and
wherein the at least one non-natural mutation is an in-frame deletion in and/or adjacent to a miRNA396 binding site in the endogenous gene, the miR396 binding site having at least 90% sequence identity to the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO:109”.
FU teaches and claims a method comprising introducing at least one mutation into at least one nucleic acid encoding a GRF (i.e., at least one non-natural mutation in an endogenous gene encoding a Growth Regulating Factor (GRF) transcription factor) (Fu, claim 5); wherein the mutation is in a micro RNA (miRNA) binding site, preferably an miRNA396 binding site (i.e., in and/or adjacent to a miRNA396 binding site in the endogenous gene) (Fu, claim 7); wherein the plant is selected from rice, maize, wheat, barley, sorghum, potato, tomato, soybean and B. napus (i.e., a soybean plant or plant part thereof) (Fu, claim 25).
FU further teaches that the mutation in the endogenous gene can comprise at least one mutation in any one of the following sites: the coding region of the GRF gene, preferably exon 3; a micro-RNA (miRNA) binding site, preferably at the miR396 binding site (i.e., in and/or adjacent to a miRNA396 binding site in the endogenous gene); an intronic sequence, preferably intron 2 and/or intron 3; and/or at a splice site, in the 5’UTR, the 3’UTR, the termination signal, the splice acceptor site or the ribosome binding site (Fu, page 31, lines 20-29).
FU teaches the miR396 binding or recognition site comprises or consists of the following sequence or a variant thereof, as defined herein:
CCGTTCAAGAAAGCCTGTGGAA: SEQ ID NO: 45
The miR396 binding site (SEQ ID NO: 45) as taught by FU shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 109 (instant miR396 binding site) (i.e., the miR396 binding site having at least 90% sequence identity to the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 109) (see alignment below).
FU SEQUENCE SEQ ID NO: 45 ALIGNED WITH INSTANT SEQUENCE SEQ ID NO: 109
Qy 1 CCGTTCAAGAAAGCCTGTGGAA 22
||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 CCGTTCAAGAAAGCCTGTGGAA 22
FU teaches that the mutation that is introduced into the endogenous GRF gene or promoter thereof to increase the biological activity and/or expression levels of the GRF gene or protein may be: a "nonsense mutation" or "STOP codon mutation", which is a change in the nucleic acid sequence that results in the introduction of a premature STOP codon and, thus, the termination of translation (resulting in a truncated protein); plant genes contain the translation stop codons "TGA" (UGA in RNA), "TAA" (UAA in RNA) and "TAG" (UAG in RNA); thus any nucleotide substitution, insertion, deletion which results in one of these codons to be in the mature mRNA being translated (in the reading frame) will terminate translation (i.e., wherein the at least one non-natural mutation is an in-frame deletion); an "insertion mutation" of one or more amino acids, due to one or more codons having been added in the coding sequence of the nucleic acid; a "deletion mutation" of one or more amino acids, due to one or more codons having been deleted in the coding sequence of the nucleic acid; a "frameshift mutation", resulting in the nucleic acid sequence being translated in a different frame downstream of the mutation. A frameshift mutation can have various causes, such as the insertion, deletion or duplication of one or more nucleotides (Fu, pages 30 and 31, lines 22-34 and 1-12, respectively).
FU does not explicitly teach the endogenous gene encoding the GRF transcription factor comprises a sequence having at least 90% sequence identity to the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 79.
However, CHEN teaches that growth-regulating factors (GRFs) are plant-specific transcription factors which regulate plant growth, development and abiotic stress response. Numerous studies demonstrated that there are two conserved domains, QLQ and WRC, in the N-terminal region of GRF proteins. The QLQ (Gln, Leu, Gln) domain serves as a protein-protein interaction feature which could interact with the GRF-interacting factor (GIF), while the plant-specific WRC (Trp, Arg, Cys) domain comprises a C3H motif for DNA binding and a nuclear localization signal (NLS). Compared with the conserved nature of the amino acid residue sequence in the N-terminal region, the C-terminal region of the GRFs is variable, with some investigations indicating that the C-terminal region possessed transactivation activity. In addition, some less-conserved motifs, such as TQL and FFD, are usually present in the C- terminal region of GRFs (Chen, Background, page 1).
CHEN teaches that a total of 22 GmGRFs were identified from soybean genome and named as GmGRF1 – GmGRF22 according to their locations on chromosomes (Chen, Results, page 2, right column, first full paragraph). CHEN teaches GmGRF13 (Glyma.12G014700) which shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 79 (see alignment below) (Chen, Table 1, page 3; and https://www.soybase.org /tools/sequenceserver/). The boxed sequence is instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 109.
CHEN GmGRF13 (Glyma.12G014700) aligned with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 79
[AltContent: rect]
Based on the teachings of FU and CHEN, it would have been obvious to use the method of introducing a mutation in the miR396 binding site in an endogenous GRF gene in soybean as taught by FU, together with the GRF transcription factor gene as taught by CHEN, GmGRF13 (Glyma.12G014700) which shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 79. Each of the miR396 binding sites as taught by FU and CHEN have a finite number of nucleotides in which to introduce an in-frame deletion mutation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the method of introducing a mutation in the miR396 binding site in an endogenous GRF gene in soybean, thus increasing the expression or levels of a growth regulatory factor (GRF) in a soybean plant or plant part thereof, as taught by FU. By combining the teachings of FU and CHEN, one having ordinary skill in the art would have a high expectation of success in achieving the soybean plant of instant claim 1.
In regard to claim 86, FU teaches and claims a method of producing a plant with increased nitrogen uptake and/or nitrogen assimilation and/or nitrogen use efficiency, the method comprising increasing the expression or levels of a growth regulatory factor (GRF) or increasing the activity of a growth regulatory factor (i.e., wherein the soybean plant or plant part has an increased level of mRNA produced by the endogenous gene comprising the at least one non-natural mutation) (Fu, page 2, lines 20-24; claim 29).
In regard to claim 88, CHEN teaches the conserved motifs of GmGRFs (Chen, Additional file 2: Table S1). The boxed sequence in Motif 2 fully comprises instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 110 and partially comprises instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 105 (i.e., wherein the miR396 binding site of the endogenous gene encodes a region of a GRF polypeptide having at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:110) (see highlighted region in box in the alignment below).
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
In regard to claims 92 and 96, FU teaches and claims increasing grain yield in the plant; an increase in grain numbers per panicle or per plant and/or an increase in 1000-grain weight (i.e., wherein the soybean plant or plant part thereof comprising the at least one non-natural mutation exhibits a phenotype of improved or maintained yield traits, improved plant architecture and/or improved or maintained defense traits as compared to a control soybean plant) (Fu, page 2, lines 13-15; claims 3-4).
In regard to claim 94, FU teaches and claims a method comprising introducing at least one mutation into a least one nucleic acid encoding a GRF (i.e., a Growth Regulating Factor (GRF) transcription factor gene that comprises a mutation) (Fu, claim 5); wherein the mutation is in a micro RNA (miRNA) binding site, preferably a miRNA396 binding site (in the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO:109; it is noted that instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 109 is an miR396 binding site) (Fu, claim 7); wherein the plant is selected from rice, maize, wheat, barley, sorghum, potato, tomato, soybean and B.napus (i.e., a soybean plant) (Fu, claim 25).
CHEN teaches GmGRF13 (Glyma.12G014700) which shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 79 (see alignment in claim 85 rejection) (i.e., the GRF transcription factor gene comprises a sequence having at least 90% sequence identity to the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 73) (Chen, Table 1, page 3; and https://www.soybase.org /tools/sequenceserver/).
In regard to claims 90, 91, 93, 95, and 106, although neither Fu nor CHEN explicitly teaches the specific mutations recited in the claims, absent unexpected results, these specific variants would be obvious. As stated in the instant Specification, “an additional aspect of the invention provides a soybean plant or part thereof comprising at least one non-natural mutation within a mR396 binding site sequence or adjacent to a miR396 binding site sequence of an endogenous GRF transcription factor gene, wherein the at least one non-natural mutation prevents or reduces binding of miR396 to an mRNA produced by the endogenous GRF transcription factor gene resulting in an increased level of the mRNA produced by the endogenous GRF transcription factor gene” (Specification, page 2, lines 26-31). Fu specifically points to introducing a mutation in the miR396 binding site and further teaches “the mutation is any mutation that prevents the cleavage of the sequence by microRNA and thus its subsequent degradation. This results in an increase in the levels of both GRF mRNA and protein” (Fu, page 31, lines 31-34).
Thus, it is the Office’s position that any mutation introduced in or adjacent to a miR396 binding site of an endogenous GRF transcription factor gene that disrupts miR396 binding is an obvious variant, as taught by the cited references (Fu and Chen) and the state of the art in general. Although Fu and Chen do not explicitly teach introducing an in-frame mutation, there is no way to distinguish a soybean plant comprising an in-frame mutation from a soybean plant comprising a non-in-frame mutation which disrupts miR396 binding. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to introduce a mutation in the location of the miR396 binding site as taught by Fu and Chen to disrupt DNA binding.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Fu and Baum fails to teach or suggest each and every element of the claims.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Initially it is noted that this is a modified rejection necessitated by claim amendment, and Baum is no longer relied upon as prior art. Fu teaches methods for increasing yield in a plant, the method comprising increasing the expression or levels of a GRF. Fu teaches introducing at least one mutation into a least one nucleic acid encoding a GRF; the mutation is in a miRNA396 binding site; the miR396 binding site (SEQ ID NO: 45) as taught by FU shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 109 (miR396 binding site). Fu teaches the mutation is any mutation that prevents the cleavage of the sequence by microRNA and thus its subsequent degradation. New prior art reference Chen teaches GmGRF13 (Glyma.12G014700) which shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 79 and conserved Motif 2 which shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 110.
Therefore, the combination of Fu and Chen teaches a GRF transcription factor having 100% sequence identity to instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 79; the highly-conserved sequence of an miR396 binding site having 100% sequence identity to instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 109; several options of mutations comprising a base deletion and/or a base insertion in the miR396 binding site; and modulating the miRNA396-GRF interaction in soybean for improved or maintained traits.
Although neither Fu nor Chen explicitly teach an in-frame deletion, it is reiterated that it is the position of this Office that any mutation that disrupts the binding of DNA is rendered obvious by the teachings of FU and Chen.
Summary
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTINA MEADOWS whose telephone number is (703)756-1430. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Amjad Abraham can be reached on 571-270-7058. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
CHRISTINA MEADOWS
Examiner
Art Unit 1663
/CHRISTINA L MEADOWS/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/Amjad Abraham/ SPE, Art Unit 1663