DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amended claims 1, 5, 17, and 20 as well as cancelation of claim 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
Previous objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Previous rejection has been withdrawn.
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states “tops of the first p-type cladding layer, the second n-type cladding layer, and the contact portions of the Fe-doped current blocking layer are flush with one another”. It is not clear what the Applicant mean with the term “flush with one another” and the Specification does not provide a definition of the term. For examination purposes, the Examiner will consider “flush with one another” as “connected”.
Claim 14 and 18 recites the limitation "the p-type cladding layers" in page 4 for claim 14 and page 5 for claim 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-13, 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected due to their dependency with claim 1.
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 states the same range Zn concentration (1x1016 cm-3 to 5x1017 cm-3) for the low Zn-doped InP layer as claim 5. Therefore, claim 6 does not constitute a further limitation.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura (US Patent US-5561681-A) in the view of Lentz (US Patent US-20030194827-A1), hereinafter Lentz.
Regarding claim 1, Nishimura teaches a semiconductor optical device (Fig. 3 semiconductor laser is an optical device), comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (Fig. 3 semiconductor substrate 26);
a buried mesa structure formed on the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 3 layers 28, 4 and 29 form a buried mesa on the semiconductor substrate 26),
the buried mesa structure (Fig. 3 layers 28, 4 and 29 form a buried mesa on the semiconductor substrate 26) including a first n-type cladding layer (Fig. 3 n-type cladding layer 28), an active region above the first n-type cladding layer (Fig. 3 active layer 4 is above the n-type cladding layer 28), and a first p-type cladding layer above the active region (Fig. 3 p-type cladding layer 29);
stacked side layers on each side of the buried mesa structure (Fig. 3 layers 30 and 31 are on each side of the buried mesa formed by layers 28, 4, and 29),
the stacked side layers (Fig. 3 stacked layers 30 and 31) including an Fe-doped current blocking layer (Fig. 3 p-type blocking layer 30 includes a portion of doped-Fe layer 50 where the sides of layer 50 are on the sides of mesa structure formed by layers 28, 4 and 29, see annotated figure below, since layer 50 is between the interface of layer 30 and the mesa structure formed by layers 28, 4, and 29, see column 5 lines 67-68 & column 6 line 1) burying the buried mesa structure on each side (Fig. 3 portion of doped-Fe layer 50 and blocking layer 30 are burying mesa structure formed by layers 28, 4 and 29) and
a second n-type cladding layer (Fig. 3 n-type current blocking layer 31) on the Fe-doped current blocking layer (Fig. 3 n-type current blocking layer 31 is on layer 30 & portion of 50);
a second p-type cladding layer (Fig. 3 p-type cladding 32) above the mesa structure and the stacked side layers (Fig. 3 p-type cladding 32 is above the mesa structure formed by layers 28, 4, and 29 as well as layers 30 and 31),
wherein contact portions of the Fe-doped current blocking layer (Fig. 3 contacts of portion of layer 50, see annotated figure below) extend above the active region to contact the highly Zn-doped layer (Fig. 3 contacts of portion of layer 50 extends above active layer 4 and contact p-type cladding layer 32), and
wherein the second n-type cladding layer (Fig. 3 n-type current blocking layer 31) is outside the contact portions of the Fe-doped current blocking layer (Fig. 3 n-type current blocking layer is outside the contacts of portion of the doped Fe layer 50) and between a substantial portion of the Fe-doped current blocking layer and the second p-type cladding layer (Fig. 3 Fig. 3 n-type current blocking layer 31 is between portion of doped Fe layer 50 and p-type cladding layer 32),
wherein tops of the first p-type cladding layer, the second n-type cladding layer, and the contact portions of the Fe-doped current blocking layer are flush with one another and at the same level (Fig. 3 p-type cladding layer 29, n-type cladding layer 31, and the contact portions of the Fe doped layer 50 are connected and at the same level).
Nishimura fails to teach wherein the second p-type cladding layer is a highly Zn-doped layer including a concentration of Zn in a range of 5x1017 cm-3 to 3x1018 cm-3.
However, Lentz teaches a second p-type cladding layer (fFig. 1 upper cladding layer #140 is a p-type cladding layer, see paragraph [0025]) above the mesa structure and the stacked side layers (Fig. 1 upper cladding layer #140 is on top of mesa formed by layer #122, #124 and #126 as well as on top of blocking layer #130 and barrier layer #150); wherein the second p-type cladding layer (Fig. 1 upper cladding layer #140) is a highly Zn-doped layer including a concentration of Zn in a range of 5x1017 cm-3 to 3x1018 cm-3 (paragraph [0025] states “the upper cladding layer 140 may have numerous different dopant concentrations, including a preferred dopant concentration ranging from about 5E17 atoms/cm.sup.3 to about 5E18 atoms/cm.sup.3. If formed using molecular beam epitaxy, the dopant could include zinc, beryllium or another similar material”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s device to have layer 32 from Nishimura with a highly Zn-doped layer including a concentration of Zn in a range of 5x1017 cm-3 to 3x1018 cm-3 because it would allow to have a good conductivity.
Regarding claim 2, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical device of claim 1.
Nishimura modified device fails to teach the contact portions of the Fe- doped current blocking layer contact the highly Zn-doped layer at a contact region that is less than 5 % of the total surface area of the highly Zn-doped layer.
However, having the contact portions of the Fe-doped current blocking layer is less than 5 % of the total surface area of the highly Zn- doped layer can be reached by routine optimization (from Letz paragraph [0028] states “ For example, in an exemplary embodiment the surface area upon which the blocking layers 130 physically contact the upper cladding layer 140 is less than about 20,000.mu..sup.2 -height of about 30.mu. and into page depth of about 250.mu.-….It should be noted, however, that in an exemplary embodiment the surface area upon which the blocking layers 130 physically contacts the upper cladding layer 140 approaches zero”), see MPEP 2144.05 II A.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura in the view of Lentz as per claim 1 with contact portions of the Fe-doped current blocking layer is less than 5 % of the total surface area of the highly Zn- doped layer because it would allow to increase operating speed (see paragraph [0029] from Lentz) which would be a result from routine optimization, see MPEP 2144.05 II B.
Regarding claim 3, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical device of claim 1, wherein the contact portions of the Fe-doped current blocking layer taper to a tip that contacts the highly Zn-doped layer (annotated figure in claim 1 Fig. 3 contacts of portions 50 taper to a tip as seen in the figure to contact modified p-type cladding layer 32 from Nishimura).
Regarding claim 4, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical device of claim 1, wherein the first n-type cladding layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 n-type cladding 28), the second n-type cladding layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 n-type current blocking layer 31), the first p-type cladding layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 p-type cladding 29), and the second p-type cladding layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 p-type cladding 32), and the Fe-doped current blocking layer (from Nishimura Fig. current blocking layer 30 that comprises portion of Fe doped layer 50) are InP layers (from Nishimura Fig. 3 layers 28, 31, 29 and 32 are InP layers , see column 2 lines 57-67).
Regarding claim 13, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical device of claim 1, further comprising an n-type metal layer on the bottom under the substrate (from Nishimura Fig. 3 metal electrode 10 located on the bottom under the n-type substrate 26, therefore layer 10 is a n-type metal layer) and a p-type metal layer on the top (from Nishimura Fig. 3 metal electrode 10 located on the top, therefore top layer 10 is a p-type metal layer).
Claim(s) 5-6, 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura (US Patent US-5561681-A) in the view of Lentz (US Patent US-20030194827-A1), as per claim 4, in the view of Miyasaka (US Patent US-20180375290-A1) hereinafter Miyasaka.
Regarding claim 5, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical device of claim 4, where the first p-type cladding layer is a doped InP (Fig.3 p-type cladding layer 29 is a p-type InP layer, see column 2 lines 57-67).
Nishimura’s modified device fails to teach the first p-type cladding layer is a low Zn-doped layer including a concentration of Zn in a range of 1x1016cm-3 to 5x1017cm-3.
However, Miyasaka teaches a buried mesa (Fig. 1 layers 105-109) where the first p-type cladding layer (Fig. 1 p-type layer 107) is a low Zn-doped layer ([0081] states “diethyl zinc (DEZn) is used as the material of a p-type impurity”) including a concentration of Zn in a range of 1x1016cm-3 to 5x1017cm-3 ([0081] states “the p-type impurity at a concentration (carrier density) of approximately 5×10.sup.17 cm.sup.−3”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s device in the view of Lentz with the first p-type cladding layer being low Zn-doped layer including a concentration of Zn in a range of 1x1016cm-3 to 5x1017cm-3 as taught by Miyasaka because it would allow to control the current generated by the device.
Regarding claim 6, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical device of claim 5, wherein the low Zn-doped InP layer has a Zn concentration in a range of 1x1016cm-3 to 5x1017cm-3 (from Miyasaka Fig. 1 p-type layer 107, [0081] states “diethyl zinc (DEZn) is used as the material of a p-type impurity”) including a concentration of Zn in a range of 1x1016cm-3 to 5x1017cm-3 ; [0081] states “the p-type impurity at a concentration (carrier density) of approximately 5×10.sup.17 cm.sup.−3”).
Regarding claim 8, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical device of claim 4.
Nishimura’s modified device fails to teach the second n-type cladding layer is an Si-doped InP layer.
However, Miyasaka teaches wherein the second n- type cladding layer (for example Fig. 1 blocking layer #202) is an Si-doped InP layer (for example paragraph [0092] states “To form the current block layer (n-type InP layer) 202, for example, trimethylindium (TMIn) and PH.sub.3 are used as source gas of In and P materials, respectively, and disilane (Si.sub.2H.sub.6) is used as the material of an n-type impurity”; therefore layer #202 is Si- doped InP layer).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’ device in the view of Lentz with a n- type cladding layer is an Si-doped InP layer because having a Si- doped InP layer would allow to create a current blocking layer (from Miyasaka paragraph [0092] states that layer #202 is a current blocking layer).
Regarding claim 9, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical device of claim 1, further including a third p-type cladding layer on the second p-type cladding layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 p-type contact layer 33 is on top of p-type cladding layer 32).
Nishimura’s modified device fails to teach wherein the third p-type cladding layer is a Zn-doped cladding layer.
However, Miyasaka teaches a third p-type cladding layer (for example Fig. 1 p-type contact layer #111) on the second p-type cladding layer (for example Fig. 1 p-type contact layer #111 is on blocking layer #202), wherein the third p- type cladding layer is a Zn-doped cladding layer (for example paragraph [0094] states “To form the p-type contact layer (p-type InGaAs layer) 111, for example, trimethylindium (TMIn), triethylgallium (TEGa), and AsH.sub.3 are used as source gas of In, Ga, As materials, respectively, and diethyl zinc (DEZn) is used as the material of a p-type impurity”; therefore, layer #111 is a p-type Zn InGaAs).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s in the view of Lentz’s with a p-type cladding layer as taught by Miyasaka (e.g. having layer 33 from Nishimura being Zn doped InGaAs) because having a p-type cladding layer would allow to have a good electrical connection with the device.
Regarding claim 10, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical device of claim 9, wherein the third p-type cladding layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 p-type cladding 33) is a Zn-doped InGaAs layer (from Miyasaka paragraph [0094] states “To form the p-type contact layer (p-type InGaAs layer) 111, for example, trimethylindium (TMIn), triethylgallium (TEGa), and AsH.sub.3 are used as source gas of In, Ga, As materials, respectively, and diethyl zinc (DEZn) is used as the material of a p-type impurity. The p-type contact layer (p-type InGaAs layer”; therefore, layer #111 is a p-type Zn InGaAs).
Regarding claim 11, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical device of claim 1.
Nishimura’s modified device fails to teach the active region is a multiple quantum well (MQW) active region.
However, Miyasaka teaches wherein the active region is a multiple quantum well active region (for example Fig. 1 active layer #106; paragraph [0080] states “a multiple quantum well structure, serving as the active layer 106”). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s device in the view of Lentz device with a multiple quantum well as taught by Miyasaka (e.g. having active layer 4 from Nishimura to be MQW) because having a multiple quantum well would allow to increase the output of the device.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura (US Patent US-5561681-A) in the view of Lentz (US Patent US-20030194827-A1), as per claim 4, in further view of Geva (US Patent US-6437372-B1) hereinafter Geva.
Regarding claim 7, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical device of claim 4.
Nishimura’s modified device fails to teach the first p-type cladding layer is a Zn-undoped InP layer.
However, Geva teaches the first p-type cladding layer is a Zn-undoped InP layer (for example Fig. 3 cladding layer #309; column 5 and lines 2-4 states “A layer of suitable cladding material, illustratively undoped InP, 309 is formed between the active layer 303 and the spike 306”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s device in the view of Lentz with a Zn-undoped cladding layer (e.g. having the layer 29 from Nishimura to be undoped) as taught by Geva because it would allow to form PIN junctions to stop dopant diffusion out of a doped layer (see abstract from Geva).
Claim(s) 12, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura (US Patent US-5561681-A) in the view of Lentz (US Patent US-20030194827-A1) and Miyasaka (US Patent US-20180375290-A1), as per claims 1 and 11, in further view of Kim (US Patent US-20070153858-A1) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 12, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical device of claim 11.
Nishimura’s modified device fails to teach further comprising a grating disposed within the first n-type cladding layer below the MQW active region.
However, Kim teaches a grating disposed within the first n-type cladding layer below the MQW active region (Fig. 7D shows diffraction grating #102 below MQW #104 within n-type cladding layers #101 and 103).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s device in the view of Lenz and Miyasaka with a grating disposed within the first n-type cladding layer below the active region as taught by Kim because it would allow to select the wavelength produce by the device.
Regarding claim 15, Nishimura’s modified device teaches a semiconductor laser including the semiconductor optical device of claim 1 (Fig. 3 is a semiconductor laser), wherein the first n-type cladding layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 layer 28), the second n-type cladding layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 layer 31), the first p- type cladding layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 layer 29), and the second p-type cladding layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 layer 32), and the Fe-doped current blocking layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 layer 30 comprising portion of layer 50) are InP layers (from Nishimura Fig. 3 layers 28, 31, 29 and 32 are InP layers , see column 2 lines 57-67).
Nishimura’s modified device fails to teach wherein the buried mesa structure includes a grating disposed within the first n-type InP cladding layer below the active region, and further comprising: a third p-type cladding layer on the second p-type cladding layer, wherein the third p-type cladding layer is a Zn-doped InGaAs layer.
However, Kim teaches a grating disposed within the first n-type cladding layer below the MQW active region (for example Fig. 7D shows diffraction grating #102 below MQW #104 within n-type cladding layers #101 and 103). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s device in the view of Lenz with a grating disposed within the first n-type cladding layer below the active region as taught by Kim because it would allow to select the wavelength produce by the device.
Nishimura’s modified device above fails to teach wherein the third p-type cladding layer is a Zn-doped InGaA layer.
However, Miyasaka teaches the third p-type cladding layer is a Zn-doped InGaAs layer (for example from paragraph [0094] states “To form the p-type contact layer (p-type InGaAs layer) 111, for example, trimethylindium (TMIn), triethylgallium (TEGa), and AsH.sub.3 are used as source gas of In, Ga, As materials, respectively, and diethyl zinc (DEZn) is used as the material of a p-type impurity. The p-type contact layer (p-type InGaAs layer”; therefore, layer #111 is a Zn doped InGaAs). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s device in the view of Lenz and Kim with a third layer being a Zn doped InGaAs as taught by Miyasaka because it would allow to have a good electrical conductivity.
Regarding claim 16, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser of claim 15.
Nishimura’s modified device fails to teach wherein the active region is a multiple quantum well (MQW) active region.
However, Miyasaka teaches wherein the active region is a multiple quantum well active region (for example Fig. 1 active layer #106; paragraph [0080] states “a multiple quantum well structure, serving as the active layer 106”). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s device in the view of Lentz, Kim and Miyasaka with a multiple quantum well as taught by Miyasaka above (e.g. having active layer from Nishimura to be MQW) because having a multiple quantum well would allow to increase the output of the device.
Regarding claim 17, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser of claim 15.
Nishimura’s modified device fails to teach wherein the first p-type cladding layer is a low Zn-doped InP layer including a concentration of Zn in a range of 1x1016cm-3 to 5x1017cm-3 or an undoped InP layer.
However, Miyasaka teaches a buried mesa (Fig. 1 layers 105-109) where the first p-type cladding layer (Fig. 1 p-type layer 107) is a low Zn-doped layer ([0081] states “diethyl zinc (DEZn) is used as the material of a p-type impurity”) including a concentration of Zn in a range of 1x1016cm-3 to 5x1017cm-3 ([0081] states “the p-type impurity at a concentration (carrier density) of approximately 5×10.sup.17 cm.sup.−3”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s device in the view of Lentz, Kim and Miyasaka with the first p-type cladding layer being low Zn-doped layer including a concentration of Zn in a range of 1x1016cm-3 to 5x1017cm-3 as taught by Miyasaka above because it would allow to control the current generated by the device.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura (US Patent US-5561681-A) in the view of Lentz (US Patent US-20030194827-A1), as per claim 13, in further view of Katsuyama (US Patent US-20110159620-A1) hereinafter Katsuyama as per claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical device of claim 13,
Nishimura’s modified device fails to teach wherein a top mesa structure is formed by at least the p-type cladding layers and the second n-type cladding layer and wherein the p-type metal layer is located in a contact window formed on the top mesa structure.
However, Katsuyama teaches a top mesa structure (for example Fig. 4c top mesa indicated in the figure below) is formed by at least the p-type cladding layers (for example Fig. 4c p-type cladding layer #25 and p-type cladding #16 are part of the top mesa) and the second n-type cladding layer (for example Fig. 4C blocking layer #24 is also part of the top mesa), and wherein the p-type metal layer (for example Fig. 4C anode electrode #28 is made of a metal, see paragraph [0046], it is inherent that an anode electrode is a p-type metal, see paragraph [0046] ) is located in a contact window formed on the top mesa structure (for example Fig. 4C window formed by top mesa as seen in the figure below).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s device in the view of Lentz with a top mesa structure as taught by Katsuyama because it would allow to confine area where further electrical connections can be made (e.g. from Katsumaya top metal #28 connects the device #1A which can be further interconnected ).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura (US Patent US-5561681-A) in the view of Lentz (US Patent US-20030194827-A1), as per claim 1, in further view of Miyasaka (US Patent US-20180375290-A1), hereinafter Miyasaka, and Katsuyama (US Patent US-20110159620-A1) hereinafter Katsuyama.
Regarding claim 18, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical device of claim 1,
wherein the first n-type cladding layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 layer 28), the second n-type cladding layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 layer 31), the first p- type cladding layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 layer 29), and the second p-type cladding layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 layer 32), and the Fe-doped current blocking layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 layer 30 comprising portion of layer 50) are InP layers (from Nishimura Fig. 3 layers 28, 31, 29 and 32 are InP layers , see column 2 lines 57-67), and further comprising:
a third p-type cladding layer on the second p-type cladding layer (from Nishimura Fig. 3 p-type contact layer 33 is on top of p-type cladding layer 32),
an n-type metal layer on the bottom under the substrate (from Nishimura Fig. 3 metal electrode 10 located on the bottom under the n-type substrate 26, therefore layer 10 is a n-type metal layer) and a p-type metal layer on the top (from Nishimura Fig. 3 metal electrode 10 located on the top, therefore top layer 10 is a p-type metal layer).
Nishimura’s modified device fails to teach a semiconductor optical modulator, wherein the third p-type cladding layer is a Zn-doped InGaAs layer; wherein a top mesa structure is formed by at least the p-type cladding layers and the second n-type cladding layer and a p-type metal layer on the top and located in a contact window formed on the top mesa structure.
However, Lenz teaches a semiconductor optical modulator (for example Fig. 1 optoelectronic device 1; paragraph [0022] states “While the present invention is discussed in the context of a PIN diode, it should be noted that other devices, such as lasers, photodetectors, avalanch photo-diode detectors (APDs), modulators, or other similar devices, may comprise the optoelectronic device 100.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s device in the view of Lenz having the semiconductor optical device to be a semiconductor optical modulator as taught by Lenz above because it would allow to modulate the generated light of the laser to have a control of the frequency and or intensity.
Nishimura’s modified device fails above fails to teach wherein the third p-type cladding layer is a Zn-doped InGaAs layer; wherein a top mesa structure is formed by at least the p-type cladding layers and the second n-type cladding layer and a p-type metal layer on the top and located in a contact window formed on the top mesa structure.
However, Miyasaka teaches a third p-type cladding layer (for example Fig. 1 p-type contact layer #111) on the second p-type cladding layer (for example Fig. 1 p-type contact layer #111 is on blocking layer #202), wherein the third p- type cladding layer is a Zn-doped cladding layer (for example paragraph [0094] states “To form the p-type contact layer (p-type InGaAs layer) 111, for example, trimethylindium (TMIn), triethylgallium (TEGa), and AsH.sub.3 are used as source gas of In, Ga, As materials, respectively, and diethyl zinc (DEZn) is used as the material of a p-type impurity”; therefore, layer #111 is a p-type Zn InGaAs).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s in the view of Lentz with a p-type cladding layer as taught by Miyasaka (e.g. having layer 33 from Nishimura being Zn doped InGaAs) because having a p-type cladding layer would allow to have a good electrical connection with the device.
Nishimura’s modified device above fails to teach wherein a top mesa structure is formed by at least the p-type cladding layers and the second n-type cladding layer and a p-type metal layer on the top and located in a contact window formed on the top mesa structure.
However, Katsuyama teaches a top mesa structure (for example Fig. 4c top mesa indicated in the figure below) is formed by at least the p-type cladding layers (for example Fig. 4c p-type cladding layer #25 and p-type cladding #16 are part of the top mesa) and the second n-type cladding layer (for example Fig. 4C blocking layer #24 is also part of the top mesa), and wherein the p-type metal layer (for example Fig. 4C anode electrode #28 is made of a metal, see paragraph [0046], it is inherent that an anode electrode is a p-type metal, see paragraph [0046] ) is located in a contact window formed on the top mesa structure (for example Fig. 4C window formed by top mesa as seen in the figure in claim 14).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s device in the view of Lentz and Miyasaka with a top mesa structure as taught by Katsuyama because it would allow to confine area where further electrical connections can be made (e.g. from Katsumaya top metal #28 connects the device #1A which can be further interconnected ).
Regarding claim 19, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical modulator of claim 18.
Nishimura’s modified device fails to teach the active region is a multiple quantum well (MQW) active region.
However, Miyasaka teaches wherein the active region is a multiple quantum well active region (for example Fig. 1 active layer #106; paragraph [0080] states “a multiple quantum well structure, serving as the active layer 106”). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s device in the view of Lentz, Miyasaka and Katsuyama with a multiple quantum well as taught by Miyasaka above (e.g. having active layer 4 from Nishimura to be MQW) because having a multiple quantum well would allow to increase the output of the device.
Regarding claim 20, Nishimura’s modified device teaches the semiconductor optical modulator of claim 18,
Nishimura’s modified device fails to teach wherein the first p- type InP cladding layer is a low Zn-doped InP layer including a concentration of Zn in a range of 1x1016cm-3 to 5x1017cm3 or an undoped InP layer.
However, Miyasaka teaches a buried mesa (Fig. 1 layers 105-109) where the first p-type cladding layer (Fig. 1 p-type layer 107) is a low Zn-doped layer ([0081] states “diethyl zinc (DEZn) is used as the material of a p-type impurity”) including a concentration of Zn in a range of 1x1016cm-3 to 5x1017cm-3 ([0081] states “the p-type impurity at a concentration (carrier density) of approximately 5×10.sup.17 cm.sup.−3”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nishimura’s device in the view of Lentz, Kim and Miyasaka with the first p-type cladding layer being low Zn-doped layer including a concentration of Zn in a range of 1x1016cm-3 to 5x1017cm-3 as taught by Miyasaka above because it would allow to control the current generated by the device.
Conclusion
/FERNANDA ADRIANA CAMACHO ALANIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828