Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Acknowledgments
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 4/22/26. In the reply, the applicant amended claims 1-3,5,12-13,18-19; canceled claims 4,14. Claims 1-3, 5-13, 18-19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azure et al. (US 9,526,911) (“Azure”) in view of Penner et al. (US 2002/0188323) (“Penner”).
(claims 1, 8, 12, 18) Azure discloses: a. exposing a target site of the subject to an alternating electric field for a period of time C8L36-57, wherein the target site comprises a cancer cell (see title and C6L34-C7L4). Azure does not directly disclose b. contacting the target site of the subject with a vasodilator, wherein the vasodilator increases circulation at the target site of the subject. However, Azure does disclose the synergistic effect of an agent/adjuvant and electric field, Fig. 1, claim 14. Penner, in the analogous art, teaches a similar method for electrochemical treatment (ECT) of tumors [0005]. In Penner nitroglycerin in used with the electrical potential to vasodilate a tissue or organ [0115] claims 83,86,88 in an ECT of lung cancers [0010]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the immunostimulatory agent or adjuvant in Azure to be a vasodilator, as taught by Penner as part of the design consideration wherein a multitude of enhancers or adjuvants are contemplated (Azure C6L34-55). (claim 12) The vasodilator increasing circulation to maintain or decrease temperature is a resultant that is obvious over Azure/Penner in the same way as applicant claims based on results of a method.
Azure further discloses: the alternating electric field has a frequency between 100 and 500 kHz; between 180 and 220 kHz. C8L36-57
the cancer cell is a glioblastoma cell or lung metastatic carcinoma cell. C17L60-C18L6
the target site is exposed to the alternating electric field and vasodilator simultaneously or consecutively. C6L24-33
contacting the target site of the subject to a vasodilator comprises transdermal administration of the vasodilator to the subject at the target site. (see claim 14, “local administration” and “delivering or administering” C6L24-26, “administering” is interpreted as transdermal administration in the context of Azure
The target site is the subject's head, chest, or extremity. (design choice) C17L60-C18L6 Azure
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azure in view of Penner.
Azure as modified by Penner teaches the vasodilator causes the increase in blood circulation is 1% greater than blood circulation prior to exposure to the vasodilator is a design choice that is a measurable result of the method as well known in the art to take this measurement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Penner has replaced Nitto as the secondary reference, see above.
ConclusionAny inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DEANNA K HALL whose telephone number is (571)272-2819. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30am- 4:30pm EST.
/DEANNA K HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783