Acknowledgments
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 9/12/25. In the reply, the applicant amended claims 1, 5, 14. Claims 1-14, 18-19 are pending.
Claim objection to claim 5 is withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-14, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azure et al. (US 9,526,911) (“Azure”) in view of Nitto Denko Corp (CA 2 852 537) (“Nitto”).
Azure discloses: a. exposing a target site of the subject to an alternating electric field for a period of time, the alternating electric field having a frequency and field strength C8L36-57. Azure does not directly disclose b. contacting the target site of the subject to a vasodilator, wherein the vasodilator increases circulation at the target site of the subject. However, Azure does disclose the synergistic effect of an agent/adjuvant and electric field, Fig. 1, claim 14. Nitto, in the analogous art, teaches the sequential or simultaneous use of an enhancer and an energetic field to actively drive a permeant into tissue, page 9 lines 3-14. The enhancer is biocompatible for topical application (page 11 lines 21-26) and a vasodilator as a peptide is used (page 12 line 26- page 13 line 17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the immunostimulatory agent or adjuvant in Azure to be a vasodilator, compound or peptide as taught by Nitto as part of the design consideration wherein a multitude of enhancers or adjuvants are contemplated. The vasodilator increasing circulation to maintain or decrease temperature is a resultant that is obvious over Azure/Nitto in the same way as applicant claims based on results of a method.
Azure further discloses: the frequency of the alternating electric field is between 100 and 500 kHz; between 180 and 220 kHz. C8L36-57
the target site comprises a cancer cell (see title of Azure); the cancer cell is a glioblastoma cell or lung metastatic carcinoma cell. C17L60-C18L6
the target site is exposed to the alternating electric field and vasodilator simultaneously or consecutively. C6L24-33 (and see Nitto page 9 lines 3-14)
contacting the target site of the subject to a vasodilator comprises transdermal administration of the vasodilator to the subject at the target site. (see claim 14, “local administration” and “delivering or administering” C6L24-26, “administering” is interpreted as transdermal administration in the context of Azure and Nitto page 11 lines 21-26
The target site is the subject's head, chest, or extremity. (design choice) C17L60-C18L6 Azure
Claim 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azure in view of Nitto.
Azure as modified by Nitto teaches the invention as substantially claimed, see above. The vasodilator being nitroprusside, nitroglycerin, minoxidil, or hydralazine are design choices as obvious examples of vasodilators as well known in the art. Also, the increase in blood circulation is 1% greater than blood circulation prior to exposure to the vasodilator is a design choice that is a measurable result of the method as well known in the art to take this measurement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEANNA K HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783