DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits for this regular application filed on 06/16/2022
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 8-13 in the reply filed on 10/20/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 and 14-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected single-use medical device, retractable surgical knife, a process for use with a single-use medical device and a single-use medical awl, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/20/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DiMatteo et al. (US 5,810,859).
Regarding claim 8, DiMatteo et al. discloses a single use medical device (col.1, lines 59-64 and Fig.1:10), comprising:
a handle (Fig.1:50);
a medical implement (Fig.1:150) attached (Fig.1:84) to the handle; and
a thermally deformable destruct element (Fig.1:172) attached to the handle or the medical implement (Fig.1:150, 172 and 120), wherein the thermally deformable destruct element is made of a material having a melting point of less than an autoclaving sterilization temperature (col.11, lines 61-67 through col.12, lines 1-7, and col.14: lines 41-55), wherein the thermally deformable destruct element at least partially deforms when exposed to the autoclaving sterilization temperature.
Regarding claim 9, DiMatteo et al. discloses a movable part (Fig.1: 172 and 120) for moving the medical implement between a first position (detached position; col.13, lines 35-59) and a second position (attached position).
Regarding claim 10, DiMatteo et al. discloses that thermally deformable destruct element (Fig.1:172) is in direct contact with or forms a portion of the movable part (Fig.1:172 and 120), wherein deformation of the thermally deformable destruct element prevents the movable part from moving between the first position and the second position (col.14, lines 50-54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiMatteo et al. (US 5,810,859).
DiMatteo et al. discloses using one thermally deformable destruct element (Fig.1:172; col.11, lines 61-67 through col.12, lines 1-7, and col.14: lines 41-55)).
DiMatteo et al. appears silent to teach using a second thermally deformable destruct element. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that there are various different types of surgical or diagnostics, or dental devices that are intended for single use only and would require more than one thermally deformable destruct element. Therefore, adding more than one thermally deformable destruct element is an obvious matter that depends on the type of the single use medical device. The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to add more than one thermally deformable destruct element in order to prevent single use medical and dental devices from being reused again.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art found (DiMatteo et al.) does not teach or fairly suggest the use of a bias force element that partially expand when the thermally deformable destruct element is exposed to autoclaving and where the bias force element deform the thermally deformable destruct element.
Conclusion
/MONZER R CHORBAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799