DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 21, 30, 41, and 42 are amended.
Claims 26, 35, 39 and 40 are canceled.
No newly added claims.
Claims 21-25, 27-34, 36-38, 41 and 42 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp
Claims 21, 24-28, and 33-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting over corresponding claims as mapped in table below of U.S. Patent No. 10237321 in view of Furbeck et al. (US 20120203867), in further view of Appleby et al, (US 20130185399). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim same subject matter or they are obvious variation of claims in US Patent 10237321.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, mapping of claims as follows:
Instant Application No. 17/842,490
U.S. Patent No. 10237321
Claims 21, 30, and 38 maps to
Combined claim 1, 3 and 4
Claim 24-27 and 33-36 maps to
Claim 8
Claim 28 and 37 maps to
Claim 2
Claim 1 of US Patent 10237321 claims inventive steps same as of the inventive steps in claims 21, 30, and 38 of instant application. However, claim 1 of US Patent 10237321 does not claim limitations, “receive, in a media metadata file that is different from the MPD; the decoding complexity variability indicator indicates a relative difference of a decoding complexity associated with the first segment in reference to a decoding complexity associated with a second segment, wherein the second segment is earlier in time than the first segment.”
Furbeck discloses, receive, in a media metadata file that is different from the MPD ([0027]-[0028], [0066] – when parameters are added or updated in an MPD file, an MPD delta file, which is a media metadata file, is delivered to the client).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time of the invention to modify Ozgur with the teachings of Furbeck by enabling reception of the decoding complexity indicators in a file that is different from the MPD. The motivation for this modification would have been to enable this information to be added or updated in a manner that requires low bandwidth consumption (see Furbeck [0066]).
Claim 1 of US Patent 11368509 in view of Furbeck does not disclose, the decoding complexity variability indicator indicates a relative difference that compares a decoding complexity associated with the first segment to a decoding complexity associated with a second segment, wherein the second segment is earlier in time than the first segment.
Appleby discloses, the decoding complexity variability indicator indicates a relative difference that compares a decoding complexity associated with the first segment to a decoding complexity associated with a second segment, wherein the second segment is earlier in time than the first segment (par. 0042, each segment may vary in bitrate when compared to the next segment in any given sequence, the encoder generates a metadata file 600, 610 for each video sequence. In this case, metadata file 600 corresponds to video sequence_A 202 and metadata file 610 corresponds to video sequence_B 204. The metadata files 600, 610 include additional information to correctly stream the sequence including a complexity factor and the qualities of the content available, i.e. each segment has complexity factor (i.e. different bitrate) compared to other segment (i.e. different is comparable to previous segment for the current segment)).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time of the invention to modify Ozgur in view of Furbeck with the teachings of Benno by the decoding complexity variability indicator indicates a relative difference that compares a decoding complexity associated with the first segment to a decoding complexity associated with a second segment, wherein the second segment is earlier in time than the first segment. The motivation for this would to allocating more TCP sessions to a more complex segment of video compared to less complex segment of video (see Appleby par. 0070).
Claims 21, 24-28, and 33-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting over corresponding claims as mapped in table below of U.S. Patent No. 11368509 in view of Furbeck et al. (US 20120203867), in further view of Appleby et al, (US 20130185399). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim same subject matter or they are obvious variation of claims in US Patent 11368509.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, mapping of claims as follows:
Instant Application No. 17/842,490
U.S. Patent No. 11368509
Claims 21, 30, and 38 maps to
Combined claim 1, 2, and 4
Claim 24-27 and 33-36 maps to
Claim 8
Claim 29 maps to
Claim 2
Claim 1 of US Patent 11368509 claims inventive steps same as of the inventive steps in claims 21, 30, and 38 of instant application. However, claim 1 of US Patent 11368509 does not claim limitations, “receive, in a media metadata file that is different from the MPD; the decoding complexity variability indicator indicates a relative difference of a decoding complexity associated with the first segment in reference to a decoding complexity associated with a second segment, wherein the second segment is earlier in time than the first segment.”
Furbeck discloses, receive, in a media metadata file that is different from the MPD ([0027]-[0028], [0066] – when parameters are added or updated in an MPD file, an MPD delta file, which is a media metadata file, is delivered to the client).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time of the invention to modify Ozgur with the teachings of Furbeck by enabling reception of the decoding complexity indicators in a file that is different from the MPD. The motivation for this modification would have been to enable this information to be added or updated in a manner that requires low bandwidth consumption (see Furbeck [0066]).
Claim 1 of US Patent 11368509 in view of Furbeck does not disclose, the decoding complexity variability indicator indicates a relative difference that compares a decoding complexity associated with the first segment to a decoding complexity associated with a second segment, wherein the second segment is earlier in time than the first segment.
Appleby discloses, the decoding complexity variability indicator indicates a relative difference that compares a decoding complexity associated with the first segment to a decoding complexity associated with a second segment, wherein the second segment is earlier in time than the first segment (par. 0042, each segment may vary in bitrate when compared to the next segment in any given sequence, the encoder generates a metadata file 600, 610 for each video sequence. In this case, metadata file 600 corresponds to video sequence_A 202 and metadata file 610 corresponds to video sequence_B 204. The metadata files 600, 610 include additional information to correctly stream the sequence including a complexity factor and the qualities of the content available, i.e. each segment has complexity factor (i.e. different bitrate) compared to other segment (i.e. different is comparable to previous segment for the current segment)).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time of the invention to modify Ozgur in view of Furbeck with the teachings of Benno by the decoding complexity variability indicator indicates a relative difference that compares a decoding complexity associated with the first segment to a decoding complexity associated with a second segment, wherein the second segment is earlier in time than the first segment. The motivation for this would to allocating more TCP sessions to a more complex segment of video compared to less complex segment of video (see Appleby par. 0070).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 21-25, 27-34, 36-38, 41 and 42 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ozgur, US 20140095670 (with support in provisional application 61/707,784), in view of Furbeck, US 20120203867, in further view of Appleby et al, (US 20130185399).
As to claim 21 Ozgur discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Fig. 12), the WTRU comprising: a processor (Fig. 12) configured to:
receive a media presentation description (MPD) of dynamic adaptive streaming over hypertext transfer protocol (DASH) ([0042], [0045]);
receive, decoding complexity variability indicator associated with a first segment (Par. 0043 content-dependent energy or power parameters, referred to herein as energy characterization information, can be derived for streaming media, the energy characterization can be based on decoding complexity [0044-0045] – energy characterization information, a power usage indicator, is included for each representation, enables a mobile device to select a best possible multimedia format based on the power available to the mobile device. Page 299-302 of provisional application 61/707,784 discloses the amount of the processing required for decoding and rendering the content (i.e. decoding complexity) by providing multiple versions of same video at different quality level, decide which representations to, select and ensure that the video decoding and display rendering processes in the mobile terminal operate in a power efficient manner), wherein the decoding complexity variability indicator associated with a second segment (Par. 0045, Providing an energy characterization in a manifest file, such as the MPD metadata (i.e. energy characterization = decoding complexity indicator), enables a mobile device to select a best possible multimedia format based on the power available to the mobile device (i.e. multiple decoding complexity indicator is provided indicating different energy characterization or decoding complexity, having higher or lower relative decoding complexity, Page 300 of provisional application 61/707,784 discloses, Segments contain metadata to access, decode and present the included media content. Includes minimum and maximum power level value across different segments (i.e. first and second segment),
determine a video representation based on decoding complexity indicator associated with the first segment ([0045]-[0046], Page 299-300 of provisional application 61/707,784 discloses The client receives the manifest file (MPD) and requests segments and sub-segments corresponding to the various DASH representations, taking into account the energy/power characterization information in the MPD. The client may switch across different representations over random access points by continuously tracking the power consumption in the client terminal in an effort to save battery life and optimize user quality of experience (QolE), i.e. determining energy required or decoding complexity of video segment);
request the video representation; and decode the video representation ([0045]-[0048], Page 299-300 of provisional application 61/707,784 discloses The client receives the manifest file (MPD) and requests segments and sub-segments corresponding to the various DASH representations, taking into account the energy/power characterization information in the MPD. The client may switch across different representations over random access points by continuously tracking the power consumption in the client terminal in an effort to save battery life and optimize user quality of experience (QolE), i.e. determining energy required or decoding complexity of video segment and switching (i.e. by requesting) between different quality of representation).
Ozgur fails to disclose that the power usage indicator is received in a media metadata file that is different from the MPD.
However, Furbeck discloses providing changes to an MPD file by receiving a media metadata file that is different from the MPD ([0027]-[0028], [0066] – when parameters are added or updated in an MPD file, an MPD delta file, which is a media metadata file, is delivered to the client).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time of the invention to modify Ozgur with the teachings of Furbeck by enabling reception of the decoding complexity indicators in a file that is different from the MPD. The motivation for this modification would have been to enable this information to be added or updated in a manner that requires low bandwidth consumption (see Furbeck [0066]).
Ozgur in view of Furbeck does not disclose, the decoding complexity variability indicator indicates a relative difference of a decoding complexity associated with the first segment in reference to a decoding complexity associated with a second segment, wherein the second segment is earlier in time than the first segment.
Appleby discloses, the decoding complexity variability indicator indicates a relative difference that compares a decoding complexity associated with the first segment to a decoding complexity associated with a second segment, wherein the second segment is earlier in time than the first segment (par. 0042, each segment may vary in bitrate when compared to the next segment in any given sequence, the encoder generates a metadata file 600, 610 for each video sequence. In this case, metadata file 600 corresponds to video sequence_A 202 and metadata file 610 corresponds to video sequence_B 204. The metadata files 600, 610 include additional information to correctly stream the sequence including a complexity factor and the qualities of the content available, i.e. each segment has complexity factor (i.e. different bitrate) compared to other segment (i.e. different is comparable to previous segment for the current segment)).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time of the invention to modify Ozgur in view of Furbeck with the teachings of Benno by the decoding complexity variability indicator indicates a relative difference that compares a decoding complexity associated with the first segment to a decoding complexity associated with a second segment, wherein the second segment is earlier in time than the first segment. The motivation for this would to allocating more TCP sessions to a more complex segment of video compared to less complex segment of video (see Appleby par. 0070).
As to claim 22 Furbeck discloses that the media metadata file has a file format that is different from a format of the MPD ([0066]).
As to claim 23 Furbeck discloses that a basis of the file format is ISO base media file format was well known in the art at the time of the invention ([0004] and [0066]).
As to claim 24 Ozgur discloses that the decoding complexity variability indicator indicates a predicted first power usage associated with decoding the video representation or indicates a second predicted power usage associated with displaying the video representation ([0043-0044], Page 299-300 of provisional application 61/707,784).
As to claim 25 Ozgur discloses that the decoding complexity variable indicator comprises a decoding power indicator, and the decoding power indicator indicates power consumption information associated with decoding the video representation ([043-0044], Page 299-300 of provisional application 61/707,784).
As to claim 27 Ozgur discloses that the decoding complexity variability indicator comprises a displaying power indicator, and the displaying power indicator indicates power consumption information associated with displaying the video representation ([0043-0044], Page 298-300 of provisional application 61/707,784).
As to claim 28 Ozgur discloses that the MPD indicates a plurality of representations, and wherein the video representation is one of the plurality of representations indicated in the MPD ([0044], Page 298-300 of provisional application 61/707,784).
As to claim 29 Ozgur discloses that the video representation is a first video representation, the decoding complexity variability indicator is a first decoding variability complexity indicator associated with the first video representation, and the processor is further configured to: determine a second decoding complexity variability indicator associated with a second video representation of the plurality of representations indicated in the MPD; and wherein the first video representation is determined further based on the second decoding complexity variability indicator, and wherein
the first video representation consumes a lesser amount of decoding power than the second video representation ([0043]-[0048], Page 298-300 of provisional application 61/707,784, minimum and maximum energy level value corresponds to a period, segment or sub-segment. The client may take in account the energy/power characterization information and switch across different representations over random access points by continuously tracking the power consumption in the client terminal in an effort to save battery life and optimize user quality of experience (QolE), i.e. determining energy required or decoding complexity of video segment and switching (i.e. by requesting) between first and second quality of representation, switching to save power = one quality uses less power compared to other quality representation).
As to claims 30-34 and 36-38 see rejection of claims 21-25 and 27-29, respectively.
As to claim 41, Appleby discloses, wherein the relative difference indicates an increase or a decrease of the decoding complexity associated with the first segment in comparison to the decoding complexity associated with the second segment (par. 0042, each segment may vary in bitrate (i.e. varying bitrate between segments = increasing or decreasing decoding complexity between two segments) when compared to the next segment in any given sequence, the encoder generates a metadata file 600, 610 for each video sequence. In this case, metadata file 600 corresponds to video sequence_A 202 and metadata file 610 corresponds to video sequence_B 204. The metadata files 600, 610 include additional information to correctly stream the sequence including a complexity factor and the qualities of the content available, i.e. each segment has complexity factor (i.e. different bitrate) compared to other segment (i.e. different is comparable to previous segment for the current segment)).
Conclusion
.
/A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422