DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 has been cancelled but the text of the claim remains, hence, confusion might arise as to writer’s intent.
Claim 16 contains redundant information and needs to be cancelled.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
The double patenting rejection is withdrawn in view of the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The 101 rejections are withdrawn in view of the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simpson.658 (US 9378658 B2) in view of Simpson.510 (US 20190350510 A1) in view of Dagum (US 20170258383 A1).
For claim 1, Simpson 658 discloses: a training method for enhancing the mental capabilities of a user (figs. 2, c.5¶4 gives overview of assessing and providing feedback for enhancement of user attention control), the method comprising:
collecting contextual information regarding a user (c.5¶2: collecting history of user, such as for delivering feedback, see also c.5¶4: feedback including historical statistics; c.8¶2: delivering historical feedback);
presenting the user with a cognitive task, wherein the cognitive task includes presenting a stimuli to the user as well as presenting distractors simultaneously during a sustained attention activity and the task specifies a desired response to the stimuli (figs.5-7, c.6 last¶-c.8¶1 gives various instances of possible cognitive tasks, including (1) inhibition of response task requiring selective response or non-response to stimuli, the presentation specifying desired response instances (fig.5), (2) low variance task comprising stimuli requiring desired timing response (fig.6); and (3) timing specificity task requiring timely and correct response to liminal stimuli (fig.7); hence, for fig.5, stimuli (numbers to respond to) as well as distractions (non-response numbers) are presented, for fig.6, the flashing of the firefly constitutes a distractor);
collecting feedback from the user regarding the cognitive task (ibid: user response is collected for the various tasks above);
assessing the performance of the user in relation to the cognitive task (ibid: the performance of the user for each task is assessed, such as for feedback display (fig.6: timeliness feedback) and for determining correctness (figs.5, 7)); and
generating guidance for the user based upon the contextual information, the feedback, and the assessed performance (fig.8, c.8¶2: based on the user historical information, the feedback to stimulus given, and the scored performance, a feedback guidance is given based on scores, see also fig.2:220, c.5¶4: provision of post-training scoring, historical statistics, and guidance for reflecting on scores).
Simpson 658 does not disclose: wherein the feedback is electroencephalogram (EEG) feedback using a plurality of electrodes coupled to the user’s head, wherein a computer system receives steady state visual evoked potential (SSVEP) from the visual cortex from the electrodes and converts the SSVEP data into input vectors for an AI model;
wherein the assessing is using the AI model by measuring infra-slow fluctuations in the SSVEP data.
Simpson 510 discloses: wherein the feedback is electroencephalogram (EEG) feedback using a plurality of electrodes coupled to the user’s head (fig.1A-B, 0051: head gear with EEG sensor electrodes), wherein a computer system receives steady state visual evoked potential (SSVEP) from the visual cortex from the electrodes (0044-0048) and converts the SSVEP data into input;
wherein the assessing is by measuring infra-slow fluctuations in the SSVEP data (fig.2:270, 0060).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Simpson 658 by incorporating the SSVEP assessment technique of Simpson 510. Both concern the art of attention assessment via brain data, and the incorporation would have according Simpson 510, allow easy to measure indices of attention and distractor processing (0042-44, 0050).
Simpson 658 modified by Simpson 510 does not disclose: wherein the wherein the input is input vector for an AI model; wherein the assessing is using the AI mode.
Dagum discloses: wherein the wherein the input is input vector for an AI model; wherein the assessing is using the AI mode (0047, 0087 contemplate using trained neural networks for processing cognitive data, a trained neural network being a machine learning model that takes as input an input vector to pass through its layers).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Simpson 658 by incorporating the trained neural network technique of Dagum. Both concern the art of cognitive data processing for determining mental health, and the incorporation would have, according to Dagum, use a machine learning model to provide particularized inference of cognitive measurements based on learned high (0047, 0087).
For claim 2, Simpson 658 modified by Simpson 510 modified by Dagum discloses the method of claim 1, as described above. Simpson 658 further discloses: wherein the stimuli is presented at a plurality of random inter-stimulus intervals (ISI), and wherein the random inter-stimulus intervals are substantially between a reaction-reset interval and an attention-sustaining interval (c.12: claim 1).
For claim 3, Simpson 658 modified by Simpson 510 modified by Dagum discloses the method of claim 1, as described above. Simpson 658 further discloses: wherein the guidance is generated by a rule-based engine (fig.2, c.5¶4: scoring engine for cognitive task upon which guidance is based constitutes a rule-based scoring engine).
For claim 4, Simpson 658 modified by Simpson 510 modified by Dagum discloses the method of claim 1, as described above. Simpson 658 modified by Simpson 510 modified by Dagum further discloses: herein the guidance is generated by an Al model (Dagum 0092: inference of behavioral activity, such as based on cognitive score prediction fig.7B:713, see also pipeline of fig.3:600-800 for using feature extraction to generate guidance and reports, such as via neural networks (0047, 0087), hence, generating via AI models).
For claim 6, Simpson 658 modified by Simpson 510 modified by Dagum discloses the method of claim 1, as described above. Simpson 658 modified by Simpson 510 modified by Dagum further discloses: wherein the context includes biometric data collected from the user (c.5¶2: collecting history of user, such as for delivering feedback, see also c.5¶4: feedback including historical statistics; c.8¶2: delivering historical feedback constitutes biometric data), environmental conditions (Dagum 0059-61: location, qualitative characteristics, type, URL context, etc. are recorded), date, and time (Dagum 0059: date and time), these being recorded to better aid in generating inferences for generating cognitive assessment and guidance, see fig.8, 0092-93.
For claim 7, Simpson 658 modified by Simpson 510 modified by Dagum discloses the method of claim 1, as described above. Simpson 658 modified by Simpson 510 modified by Dagum further discloses: wherein the guidance includes resource documents (Dagum fig.8:809-811, 0092-93: providing resource documents including educational material, information regarding groups, forums) and progression to an advanced cognitive task (ibid: setting advanced or new targets for cognitive activity, see also 0067).
For claim 8, Simpson 658 modified by Simpson 510 modified by Dagum discloses the method of claim 1, as described above. Simpson 658 further discloses: wherein a device is used to present the cognitive task to the user (fig.1 gives device overview, such as for screenshots figs.12-14).
For claim 9, Simpson 658 modified by Simpson 510 modified by Dagum discloses the method of claim 8, as described above. Simpson 658 further discloses: wherein where the device is one of a smartphone, a tablet, a personal computer, a VR headset, and an augmented reality headset (c.5¶3: smartphone, tablet, laptop personal computer).
For claim 10, Simpson 658 modified by Simpson 510 modified by Dagum discloses the method of claim 8, as described above. Simpson 658 modified by Simpson 510 modified by Dagum further discloses: wherein the device is integrated into physical exercise equipment (Dagum 0059, 0094-95: evaluation via gyroscope, etc. of physical exercise while running, hence, device constitutes physical exercise equipment; see also 0075: wearable electronic devises for biometric data, this data being integrated into a pattern or feature learning (see fig.6:609, 615, etc.) for generating cognitive and behavioral inference and guidance (fig.8)).
For claim 11, Simpson 658 modified by Simpson 510 modified by Dagum discloses the method of claim 1, as described above. Simpson 658 further discloses: wherein the stimuli is a near-threshold stimuli (fig.7, c.7¶5-c.8¶1: Gabor patches constitute near threshold stimuli).
For claim 16, Simpson 658 modified by Simpson 510 modified by Dagum discloses the method of claim 11, as described above. Simpson 510 further discloses: wherein the feedback includes EEG data (fig.1A-B, 0051).
Claims 12-15, 17-21 recite analogous computer products to the above methods and are hence rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pascual-leone (US 20230255564 A1) discloses an electronic cognitive evaluation system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIANG LI/
Primary examiner AU 2143