DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 9/5/2025. The amendment has been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kurihara et al. “Kurihara” US 2004/0028008.
Regarding Claim 1, Kurihara discloses A method, comprising: generating, from a reference signal, a power delay profile comprising a first group of taps: [0002: The present invention relates to a delay profile making method and a delay profile making apparatus.; 0017: buffering the received signal in a storage memory]
identifying, in [[a]]the power delay profile comprising a first group of taps, a first arrival tap among the first group of taps corresponding to a first arrival path; [0004: A receiver of W-CDMA system determines the arrival timings of paths that enable RAKE combining, and makes delay profiles during the process of establishing synchronization.; 0017: wherein the storage memory adopts a multibank configuration comprising a first bank and a second bank; and wherein received data corresponding to the first path is stored in the first bank and the received data corresponding to the second path is next stored in the second bank, while, in parallel, the received data corresponding to the first path is read from the first bank and supplied to the correlation detector where correlation detection processing is performed.]
identifying a first subset of taps based on a first distance to the first arrival path, the first subset of taps being a subset of the first group of taps and including the first arrival tap; [0005: As for the process of making a delay profile, commonly, received data that corresponds to a given search period is temporarily stored in a storage memory; when the storing is done, the data is read at an appropriate timing and supplied to an correlation detector (i.e. matched filter) for correlation detection; in-phase addition is performed with respect to the obtained correlation level; and, utilizing this in-phase addition, power calculation is performed to make a delay profile.]
identifying a second subset of taps based on a second distance to the first arrival path, the second subset of taps being a subset of the first group of taps and being disjoint from the first subset of taps, and the second distance being greater than the first distance; [0010: However, as described in W-CDMA Communication Systems, ed. Keiji Tachikawa, 2nd ed. (Tokyo: Maruzen, 2001), 109-110, the secondary CPICH in the CPICH (Common Pilot Channel), which is a physical layer in W-CDMA system, uses patterns, in which "+1" and "-1" exist in a mixed manner, for pilot symbol patterns. ; 0017: wherein the storage memory adopts a multibank configuration comprising a first bank and a second bank; and wherein received data corresponding to the first path is stored in the first bank and the received data corresponding to the second path is next stored in the second bank, while, in parallel, the received data corresponding to the first path is read from the first bank and supplied to the correlation detector where correlation detection processing is performed.]
and storing, in a memory of the user equipment, a union of the first subset and a proper subset of the second subset. [0005: As for the process of making a delay profile, commonly, received data that corresponds to a given search period is temporarily stored in a storage memory]
Regarding Claim 2, Kurihara discloses, wherein the first group of taps includes all of the taps of the power delay profile. [0047: Moreover, the present embodiment enables efficient buffering of received data by giving a storage memory a configuration with a number of banks (i.e. multi-bank configuration) and by performing read and write operations with respect to these multi-banks in parallel.]
Regarding Claim 3, Kurihara discloses, wherein the power delay profile further comprises a second group of taps, the second group and the first group being disjoint. [0047: Moreover, the present embodiment enables efficient buffering of received data by giving a storage memory a configuration with a number of banks (i.e. multi-bank configuration) and by performing read and write operations with respect to these multi-banks in parallel.; 0050: Storage memories 50a and 50b (for the I signal and for the Q signal, respectively) for storing received data on a temporary basis, have a 2-bank configuration with bank 1 and bank 2, whereby it is possible to make write access to one bank while making read access to the other bank.]
Regarding Claim 4, Kurihara discloses, further comprising: identifying a principal tap within the second group; identifying a third subset of taps, the third subset being a subset of the second group, and including the principal tap; [0064: and a signal from path 3 ("3'" in the drawing) appears at time t19.]
identifying a fourth subset of taps, the fourth subset being a subset of the second group and being disjoint from the third subset; [0064: a signal from path 2 ("2'" in the drawing) appears at t14 around the middle of search period B]
andstoring, in the memory, the union of the third subset and a proper subset of the fourth subset. [0005: As for the process of making a delay profile, commonly, received data that corresponds to a given search period is temporarily stored in a storage memory]
Regarding Claim 11, Kurihara disclosesA User Equipment, comprising: a processing circuit; [0051: From processor (that controls the whole system of the receiver) 40]
and a memory connected to the processing circuit, [0050: Storage memories 50a and 50b]
the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processing circuit, cause the User Equipment to perform a method, [0051: address controllers 51a and 51b are given information about the start address that indicates the read/write starting point (and the read/write timing).]
the method comprising:generating, from a reference signal, a power delay profile comprising a first group of taps; [0002: The present invention relates to a delay profile making method and a delay profile making apparatus.; 0017: buffering the received signal in a storage memory]
identifying, in [[a]]the power delay profile comprising a first group of taps, a first arrival tap among the first group of taps corresponding to a first arrival path; [0004: A receiver of W-CDMA system determines the arrival timings of paths that enable RAKE combining, and makes delay profiles during the process of establishing synchronization. ; 0017: wherein the storage memory adopts a multibank configuration comprising a first bank and a second bank; and wherein received data corresponding to the first path is stored in the first bank and the received data corresponding to the second path is next stored in the second bank, while, in parallel, the received data corresponding to the first path is read from the first bank and supplied to the correlation detector where correlation detection processing is performed.]
identifying a first subset of taps based on a first distance to the first arrival path, the first subset of taps being a subset of the first group of taps, and including the first arrival tap; [0005: As for the process of making a delay profile, commonly, received data that corresponds to a given search period is temporarily stored in a storage memory; when the storing is done, the data is read at an appropriate timing and supplied to an correlation detector (i.e. matched filter) for correlation detection; in-phase addition is performed with respect to the obtained correlation level; and, utilizing this in-phase addition, power calculation is performed to make a delay profile.]
identifying a second subset of taps based on a second distance to the first arrival path, the second subset of taps being a subset of the first group of taps and being disjoint from the first subset of taps, and the second distance being greater than the first distance; [0010: However, as described in W-CDMA Communication Systems, ed. Keiji Tachikawa, 2nd ed. (Tokyo: Maruzen, 2001), 109-110, the secondary CPICH in the CPICH (Common Pilot Channel), which is a physical layer in W-CDMA system, uses patterns, in which "+1" and "-1" exist in a mixed manner, for pilot symbol patterns. ; 0017: wherein the storage memory adopts a multibank configuration comprising a first bank and a second bank; and wherein received data corresponding to the first path is stored in the first bank and the received data corresponding to the second path is next stored in the second bank, while, in parallel, the received data corresponding to the first path is read from the first bank and supplied to the correlation detector where correlation detection processing is performed.]
andstoring, in [[a]]the memory, [[the]]a union of the first subset and a proper subset of the second subset. [0005: As for the process of making a delay profile, commonly, received data that corresponds to a given search period is temporarily stored in a storage memory]
Regarding Claim 12, Kurihara discloses, wherein the first group of taps includes all of the taps of the power delay profile. [0047: Moreover, the present embodiment enables efficient buffering of received data by giving a storage memory a configuration with a number of banks (i.e. multi-bank configuration) and by performing read and write operations with respect to these multi-banks in parallel.]
Regarding Claim 13, Kurihara discloses, wherein the power delay profile further comprises a second group of taps, the second group and the first group being disjoint. [0047: Moreover, the present embodiment enables efficient buffering of received data by giving a storage memory a configuration with a number of banks (i.e. multi-bank configuration) and by performing read and write operations with respect to these multi-banks in parallel.; 0050: Storage memories 50a and 50b (for the I signal and for the Q signal, respectively) for storing received data on a temporary basis, have a 2-bank configuration with bank 1 and bank 2, whereby it is possible to make write access to one bank while making read access to the other bank.]
Regarding Claim 14, Kurihara discloses, wherein the method further comprises: identifying a principal tap within the second group; identifying a third subset of taps, the third subset being a subset of the second group, and including the principal tap; [0064: and a signal from path 3 ("3'" in the drawing) appears at time t19.]
identifying a fourth subset of taps, the fourth subset being a subset of the second group and being disjoint from the third subset; [0064: a signal from path 2 ("2'" in the drawing) appears at t14 around the middle of search period B]
and storing, in the memory, the union of the third subset and a proper subset of the fourth subset. [0005: As for the process of making a delay profile, commonly, received data that corresponds to a given search period is temporarily stored in a storage memory]
Regarding Claim 20, Kurihara discloses A User Equipment, comprising: means for processing;
and a memory connected to the means for processing, [0050: Storage memories 50a and 50b]
the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the means for processing, cause the User Equipment to perform a method, [0051: address controllers 51a and 51b are given information about the start address that indicates the read/write starting point (and the read/write timing).]
the method comprising:generating, from a reference signal, a power delay profile comprising a first group of taps;identifying, in [[a]]the power delay profile comprising a first group of taps, a first arrival tap among the first group of taps corresponding to a first arrival path; [0004: A receiver of W-CDMA system determines the arrival timings of paths that enable RAKE combining, and makes delay profiles during the process of establishing synchronization.]
identifying a first subset of taps based on a first distance to the first arrival path, the first subset of taps being a subset of the first group of taps, and including the first arrival tap; [0005: As for the process of making a delay profile, commonly, received data that corresponds to a given search period is temporarily stored in a storage memory; when the storing is done, the data is read at an appropriate timing and supplied to an correlation detector (i.e. matched filter) for correlation detection; in-phase addition is performed with respect to the obtained correlation level; and, utilizing this in-phase addition, power calculation is performed to make a delay profile.]
identifying a second subset of taps based on a second distance to the first arrival path, the second subset of taps being a subset of the first group of taps and being disjoint from the first subset of taps, and the second distance being greater than the first distance; [0010: However, as described in W-CDMA Communication Systems, ed. Keiji Tachikawa, 2nd ed. (Tokyo: Maruzen, 2001), 109-110, the secondary CPICH in the CPICH (Common Pilot Channel), which is a physical layer in W-CDMA system, uses patterns, in which "+1" and "-1" exist in a mixed manner, for pilot symbol patterns.]
and storing, in [[a]]the memory, [[the]]a union of the first subset and a proper subset of the second subset. [0005: As for the process of making a delay profile, commonly, received data that corresponds to a given search period is temporarily stored in a storage memory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara in view of ZTE Corp et al. “ZTE” CN 101615922.
Regarding Claim 5, Kurihara fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first subset includes a first contiguous plurality of taps including a tap immediately adjacent to and delayed with respect to the first arrival tap
and a second contiguous plurality of taps including a tap immediately adjacent to and advanced with respect to the first arrival tap.
Zte Corp, in analogous art, discloses wherein the first subset includes a first contiguous plurality of taps including a tap immediately adjacent to and delayed with respect to the first arrival tap [4. If the current sub-frame when the PDP value of the multipaths the energy of the peak value position of peak value is greater than the ideal, the identification value of the peak value of the sub-frame 1]
and a second contiguous plurality of taps including a tap immediately adjacent to and advanced with respect to the first arrival tap. [4: If the current sub-frame when the PDP value of the multipaths the energy of the peak value of the multipaths less than ideal position of the peak position, then the sub-frame peak identification value of -1.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kurihana with the teachings of ZTE Corp to obtain the sub-frame in the downlink synchronization of the DwPTS SYNC-DL code. [ZTE Corp - Abst]
Regarding Claim 15, Kurihara fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first subset includes a first contiguous plurality of taps including a tap immediately adjacent to anddelayed with respect to the first arrival tap
and a second contiguous plurality of taps including a tap immediately adjacent to and advanced with respect to the first arrival tap.
Zte Corp, in analogous art, discloses wherein the first subset includes a first contiguous plurality of taps including a tap immediately adjacent to anddelayed with respect to the first arrival tap [4. If the current sub-frame when the PDP value of the multipaths the energy of the peak value position of peak value is greater than the ideal, the identification value of the peak value of the sub-frame 1]
and a second contiguous plurality of taps including a tap immediately adjacent to and advanced with respect to the first arrival tap. [4: If the current sub-frame when the PDP value of the multipaths the energy of the peak value of the multipaths less than ideal position of the peak position, then the sub-frame peak identification value of -1.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kurihana with the teachings of ZTE Corp to obtain the sub-frame in the downlink synchronization of the DwPTS SYNC-DL code. [ZTE Corp - Abst]
Claim(s) 6-8, 10, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara in view of Ryden et al. “Ryden” US 2023/0109257.
Regarding Claim 6, Kurihana fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first contiguous plurality of taps includes more taps than the second contiguous plurality of taps.
Ryden, in analogous art, discloses wherein the first contiguous plurality of taps includes more taps than the second contiguous plurality of taps. [0010: In the above equation, L is the number of multipath taps (that is, the number of signals received at the UE), a.sub.i denotes the complex attenuation of the l-th tap (that is, attenuation of the l-th signal received)τ.sub.l indicates the time delay of the l-th tap and δ(t) is the delta function, which is one when t=0 and zero otherwise. In order to determine geographical distance between the transmitter and receiver antennas; [0015] Finding the LOS component based on the cross-correlation, as described above, is not an easy task for a UE. The UE needs to find a proper threshold; in order to find the LOS component since the LOS tap is typically not the strongest tap. If the threshold is too low, the receiver can falsely detect noise as first channel tap and if the threshold is too high, the receiver may miss a weak LOS signal. Therefore, there is typically a trade-off between LOS detection and robustness to noise. For example, FIGS. 4 and 5 show situations where a threshold (the horizontal solid line in the figures) based UE fails to estimate a proper TOA, indicating the problems associated with a threshold based peak detection. FIG. 4 illustrates an example situation where having a lower threshold value would have improved the TOA estimation considerably. FIG. 5 illustrates an example situation where having a higher threshold value would have improved the TOA estimation considerably.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kurihana with the teachings of Ryden to estimate a position of the wireless device based on at least the decompressed delay profile. [Ryden - Abstract]
Regarding Claim 7, Kurihana fails to explicitly disclose further comprising identifying the proper subset of the second subset, the identifying comprising excluding a regularly spaced subset from the second subset.
Ryden, in analogous art, discloses further comprising identifying the proper subset of the second subset, the identifying comprising excluding a regularly spaced subset from the second subset. [0010: In the above equation, L is the number of multipath taps (that is, the number of signals received at the UE), a.sub.i denotes the complex attenuation of the l-th tap (that is, attenuation of the l-th signal received)τ.sub.l indicates the time delay of the l-th tap and δ(t) is the delta function, which is one when t=0 and zero otherwise. In order to determine geographical distance between the transmitter and receiver antennas, one should measure τ.sub.0 (time delay corresponding to line-of-sight (LOS) tap) and scale it with the speed of light]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kurihana with the teachings of Ryden to estimate a position of the wireless device based on at least the decompressed delay profile. [Ryden - Abstract]
Regarding Claim 8, Kurihana fails to explicitly disclose further comprising reconstituting, from taps stored in the memory, a decompressed power delay profile.
Ryden, in analogous art, discloses further comprising reconstituting, from taps stored in the memory, a decompresssed power delay profile. [0117: The method 1900 comprises receiving 1904 a compressed delay profile of a channel impulse response (CIR) for a channel between a network node (for example the network node performing the method 1900, or some other network node) and a wireless device, decompressing 1905 the compressed delay profile using a decompression function, and estimating 1906 a position of the wireless device based on at least the decompressed delay profile. The decompression function comprises a first function.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kurihana with the teachings of Ryden to estimate a position of the wireless device based on at least the decompressed delay profile. [Ryden - Abstract]
Regarding Claim 10, Kurihana discloses Kurihana fails to explicitly disclose wherein the reconstituting of the decompresssed power delay profile comprises using simple extension.
Ryden, in analogous art, discloses wherein the reconstituting of the decompressed power delay profile comprises using simple extension. [0057: FIG. 22 shows a schematic representation of a decompression function, according to an embodiment;]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kurihana with the teachings of Ryden to estimate a position of the wireless device based on at least the decompressed delay profile. [Ryden - Abstract]
Regarding Claim 16, Kurihana fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first contiguous plurality of taps includes more taps than the second contiguous plurality of taps.
Ryden, in analogous art, discloses wherein the first contiguous plurality of taps includes more taps than the second contiguous plurality of taps. [0010: In the above equation, L is the number of multipath taps (that is, the number of signals received at the UE), a.sub.i denotes the complex attenuation of the l-th tap (that is, attenuation of the l-th signal received)τ.sub.l indicates the time delay of the l-th tap and δ(t) is the delta function, which is one when t=0 and zero otherwise. In order to determine geographical distance between the transmitter and receiver antennas; [0015] Finding the LOS component based on the cross-correlation, as described above, is not an easy task for a UE. The UE needs to find a proper threshold; in order to find the LOS component since the LOS tap is typically not the strongest tap. If the threshold is too low, the receiver can falsely detect noise as first channel tap and if the threshold is too high, the receiver may miss a weak LOS signal. Therefore, there is typically a trade-off between LOS detection and robustness to noise. For example, FIGS. 4 and 5 show situations where a threshold (the horizontal solid line in the figures) based UE fails to estimate a proper TOA, indicating the problems associated with a threshold based peak detection. FIG. 4 illustrates an example situation where having a lower threshold value would have improved the TOA estimation considerably. FIG. 5 illustrates an example situation where having a higher threshold value would have improved the TOA estimation considerably.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kurihana with the teachings of Ryden to estimate a position of the wireless device based on at least the decompressed delay profile. [Ryden - Abstract]
Regarding Claim 17, Kurihana fails to explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises identifying the proper subset of the second subset, the identifying comprising excluding a regularly spaced subset from the second subset.
Ryden, in analogous art, discloses wherein the method further comprises identifying the proper subset of the second subset, the identifying comprising excluding a regularly spaced subset from the second subset. [0010: In the above equation, L is the number of multipath taps (that is, the number of signals received at the UE), a.sub.i denotes the complex attenuation of the l-th tap (that is, attenuation of the l-th signal received)τ.sub.l indicates the time delay of the l-th tap and δ(t) is the delta function, which is one when t=0 and zero otherwise. In order to determine geographical distance between the transmitter and receiver antennas, one should measure τ.sub.0 (time delay corresponding to line-of-sight (LOS) tap) and scale it with the speed of light]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kurihana with the teachings of Ryden to estimate a position of the wireless device based on at least the decompressed delay profile. [Ryden - Abstract]
Regarding Claim 18, Kurihara fails to explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises reconstituting, from taps stored in the memory, a decompresssed power delay profile.
Ryden, in analogous art, discloses wherein the method further comprises reconstituting, from taps stored in the memory, a decompresssed power delay profile. [0117: The method 1900 comprises receiving 1904 a compressed delay profile of a channel impulse response (CIR) for a channel between a network node (for example the network node performing the method 1900, or some other network node) and a wireless device, decompressing 1905 the compressed delay profile using a decompression function, and estimating 1906 a position of the wireless device based on at least the decompressed delay profile. The decompression function comprises a first function.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kurihana with the teachings of Ryden to estimate a position of the wireless device based on at least the decompressed delay profile. [Ryden - Abstract].
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara in view of Ryden and further in view of Lee et al. “Lee” US 2018/0309599.
Regarding Claim 9, Kurihana fails to explicitly disclose wherein the reconstituting of the decompressed power delay profile comprises using linear interpolation.
Lee, in analogous art, discloses wherein the reconstituting of the decompressed power delay profile comprises using linear interpolation. [0014: Various embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method and an apparatus for estimating an effective CFR based on a power delay profile (PDP) regarding channel tap values corresponding to significant channel tap indexes of a CIR in an effective CIR.; 0115: The curved line 1110 indicates a relationship between the BLER and the SNR when an effective channel for a received DMRS is estimated based on linear interpolation. According to the curved line 1110, since the BELR is relatively high in a high SNR region, the receiving apparatus 120 may achieve high performance when an effective channel is estimated based on linear interpolation.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kurihana with the teachings of Lee to To meet the demand for wireless data traffic having increased since deployment of 4.sup.th generation (4G) communication systems. [Lee - 0003]
Regarding Claim 19, Kurihara fails to explicitly disclose wherein the reconstituting of the decompressed power delay profile comprises using linear interpolation.
Ryden, in analogous art, discloses wherein the reconstituting of the decompressed power delay profile comprises using linear interpolation. [0014: Various embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method and an apparatus for estimating an effective CFR based on a power delay profile (PDP) regarding channel tap values corresponding to significant channel tap indexes of a CIR in an effective CIR.; 0115: The curved line 1110 indicates a relationship between the BLER and the SNR when an effective channel for a received DMRS is estimated based on linear interpolation. According to the curved line 1110, since the BELR is relatively high in a high SNR region, the receiving apparatus 120 may achieve high performance when an effective channel is estimated based on linear interpolation.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kurihana with the teachings of Lee to To meet the demand for wireless data traffic having increased since deployment of 4.sup.th generation (4G) communication systems. [Lee - 0003].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues Kurihara merely teaches storing data of a corresponding bank (i.e. a segment) based on a corresponding path from a base station, and thus does not teach identifying, in the power delay profile, a first arrival tap among the first group of taps corresponding to a first arrival path. The Applicant does not explain how this differs than the cited art.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kurihara teaches storing data which is received and this information is related to a corresponding path as taught in Paragraph 17. Figure 3 further shoes various examples of paths with respect to timing. The Examiner notes that arrival taps are merely signals arriving at different times due to multipath reflections. Kurihara expressly teaches the reception of signals are under multipath conditions. As these multipath signals are received and then stored/processed, this is viewed as identifying a tap from a group of taps.
Applicant further argues Kurihara merely teaches an approach to make a delay profile based on an obtained correlation level of the received data, but fails to teach the identifying a first subset of taps based on a first distance to the arrival path. Applicant does not state how the claimed invention differs from Kurihara, but just makes the conclusive statement.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kurihara teaches it is well known that in order to make a delay profile, data within a search period is stored and read out at a alter time (Paragraph 5). As noted above, Kurihara, paragraph 17, teaches received signals relate to paths. The Examiner notes that arrival taps are merely signals arriving at different times due to multipath reflections. Kurihara expressly teaches the reception of signals are under multipath conditions. The fact that the signals are received/stored is viewed as the identification. Further, the subset of taps is viewed as a single tap. Figure 1 (paths 1-3) between the BS (10) and the receiver (20) shows there is some sort of distance. Thus, Kurihara teaches the subset of taps (i.e. one tap of path 1) is based on a first distance. The Examiner suggests better defining the claim language to expressly state what the correlation is between distance and taps being selected. The Examiner also suggests adding that the subset of taps is at least 2.
Regarding the second subset of taps, Applicant argues Kurihara merely teaches data is read from a corresponding bank and supplied to a correlation detector, thus not disclosing the claimed limitation.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Similar to the identification of a first subset, Kurihara teaches it is well known that in order to make a delay profile, data within a search period is stored and read out at a later time (Paragraph 5). As noted above, Kurihara, paragraph 17, teaches received signals relate to paths. The Examiner notes that arrival taps are merely signals arriving at different times due to multipath reflections. Kurihara expressly teaches the reception of signals are under multipath conditions. The fact that the signals are received/stored is viewed as the identification. Further, the subset of taps is viewed as a single tap. Figure 1 (paths 1-3) between the BS (10) and the receiver (20) shows there is some sort of distance. Thus, Kurihara teaches the subset of taps (i.e. one tap of path 2) is based on a second distance. Path 1 and path 2 are different paths with different taps (i.e. disjoint). As path 2 is received after path 1, this is viewed as being a greater distance away (See Figure 3).The Examiner suggests better defining the claim language to expressly state what the correlation is between distance and taps being selected. The Examiner also suggests adding that the subset of taps is at least 2.
Lastly, Applicant argues Kurihara does not disclose the union of a first and second subset because the prior art merely teaches the received data is used to make the delay profile.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. All of the information pertaining to the received signals in Kurihara is stored in memory. Figure 1 shows each storage memory has multiple banks. Thus, since information with respect to paths 1, 2, 3 can be stored within the same storage memory this is viewed as the union of first and second subsets of data.
To overcome the cited art, Kurihara, the Examiner suggests defining the first and second subsets of taps to be at least 2 taps as Kurihara only teaches 1 tap with respect to the first subset and one tap with respect to the second subset. Further, better defining what the claimed “union” is as well as “a proper subset” would help differentiate the claims from the Kurihara reference. Kurihara teaches all information being stored in memory, thus the first and second subsets of data are stored as “a union” as claimed and anything is viewed as “a proper” subset.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411