DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the papers filed on 07 August 2026.
CLAIMS UNDER EXAMINATION
Claims 1, 5-9 and 12-23 are pending and have been examined on their merits.
PRIORITY
EP14000599.2, filed on 20 February 2014, is acknowledged.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
The rejection of claims 6, 14-17 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn due to claim amendment.
The rejection of claims 7-9 and 21-23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, has been withdrawn due to claim amendment.
NEW REJECTIONS
The arguments made in the response filed on 07 August 2026 are acknowledged. New grounds of rejection have been necessitated by claim amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-9, 12-13, 15-19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellsworth et al. (previously cited; Fibroblast growth factor-18 is a trophic factor for mature chondrocytes and their progenitors. Osteoarthritis and Cartilage (2002) 10, 308–320) in view of Martinez et al. (Redifferentiation of In Vitro Expanded Adult Articular Chondrocytes by Combining the Hanging-Drop Cultivation Method with Hypoxic Environment. Cell Transplantation, Vol 17 987-996, 2008), Byers et al. (Transient exposure to transforming growth factor beta 3 under serum-free conditions enhances the biomechanical and biochemical maturation of tissue-engineered cartilage. Tissue Eng Part A. 2008 Nov;14(11):1821-34) and Gimona et al. (previously cited; Treatment of Cartilage Disorders. WO 2008/023063 28 February 2008).
Ellsworth et al. examine the effect of FGF-18 on chondrocytes (Objective, page 308). Ellsworth teaches isolating and culturing chondrocytes, culturing in the absence of FGF18, adding FGF-18 to the culture and culturing for 4 weeks (page 309, left column, last paragraph; page 309,right column, first paragraph; Figure 3). Media is replaced twice per week (page 309, right column, first paragraph). The art discloses formation of type II collagen matrix (a cartilage material) (Figure 3b; page 314, right column, first paragraph).
The art also teaches the following:
FGF-18 has a significant anabolic effect (page 317, right column, first full paragraph). Proliferation is increased by adding FGF18 to the cell media (see page 314, left column, second paragraph). Proliferation was maintained for three weeks in the presence of FGF18 and then declined. The authors state this may reflect loss of sensitivity to FGF18 (see Figure 3A; see page 314, left column, end of second paragraph continuing to the right column).
The deficiencies of Ellsworth are:
Ellsworth does not teach a scaffold-free 3D culture suspension. Ellsworth does not teach intermittent exposure for one day per week for at least four weeks. The art is silent regarding the sequence of the FGF-18 used.
Martinez et al. generate “scaffold-free three-dimensional (3D) structures from in vitro expanded chondrocytes” (Abstract). Cartilage microtissues are produced using the hanging-drop method (page 988, left column, fourth paragraph; page 990, left column, last paragraph). Martinez teaches enhanced expression of cartilage-specific genes in 3D cultures when compared to cells cultured as a monolayer (Abstract; see Figure 4).
Byers et al. teach a method comprising transient growth factor supplementation to promote robust maturation of tissue-engineered cartilage (Abstract).
Chondrocytes are treated with continuous exposure to TGFβ3 exhibit continued yet moderate maturation (page 1824, right column, last paragraph bridging first paragraph of page 1825). An enhanced response is observed after transient exposure to TGFβ3 (page 1825, left column, first paragraph; see Figures 1 and 2). The transient exposure is produced by “medium changes” (page 1823, left column, first paragraph).
Byers teaches continuous treatment for prolonged time periods could attenuate cellular anabolic response or trigger aggressive matrix turnover by triggering catabolic pathways (see page 1830, last sentence of left column bridging first 3 lines of right column).
Byers teaches “it is plausible that this maturation response is not unique to TGF-β3, because other TGF-β isoforms, members of the TGF-β superfamily, or even unrelated growth factor families may exhibit a comparable response after transient exposure (page 1830, right column, last sentence of first paragraph).
Byers analyzes the effect of growth factor exposure time on the mechanical and biochemical properties of chondrocyte constructs (2 weeks versus 4 weeks; Figures 56). Both treatment times work (Figure 5). The art teaches shorter exposure times remains to be investigated (see page 1831, left column, last sentence of first paragraph).
Gimona et al. teach a method of treating a cartilage disorder and osteoarthritis in particular (Abstract). Chondrocytes are harvested from a joint and cultured with FGF-18 to increase the number of cells prior to transplantation (see page 9, second paragraph). The art teaches the use of human wild-type FGF-18 (page 6, first full paragraph). The Instant Specification discloses human FGF18 is SEQ ID NO: 1.
The art teaches at least 4 consecutive weeks per treatment cycle (page 4, last paragraph). The art teaches the preferred treatment schedule is once per week (Abstract; see Field of Invention on page 1; see last line of page 2 bridging first line of page 3).
It would have been obvious to use Martinez’s scaffold-free 3-D suspension culture in the method taught by Ellsworth. Martinez teaches it results in increased expression of cartilage specific genes relative to a monolayer. One would have been motivated to use the suspension culture to increase cartilage production. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Martinez teaches the method can be used to produce cartilage from chondrocytes. One would have expected similar results since Ellsworth and Martinez both culture chondrocytes to produce cartilage.
It would have been obvious to use intermittent exposure to FGF18, in which the FGF-18 compound is removed from the culture medium between exposures. Ellsworth teaches continuous exposure results in loss of sensitivity to FGF18. Byers teaches transient growth factor exposure avoids the catabolic response associated with continuous exposure. One would have been motivated to use intermittent exposure to maintain growth of the chondrocyte material.. Ellsworth replaces the culture medium twice per week. Therefore supplementing the medium with FGF-18 at one medium change and omitting it at the next would have been a routine implementation of Byers’ teaching. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Byers teaches other growth factors may response similarly. One would have expected similar results since Ellsworth and Byers are both directed to chondrocyte culture.
It would have been obvious to perform the intermittent exposure of Ellsworth once per week, repeated each week for at least 4 weeks of culture. One would have been motivated to do so since Gimona teaches that once weekly is the preferred frequency of FGF-18 exposure for cartilage, and that treatment should continue for at least 4 consecutive weeks. Regarding the duration of each exposure being one day, Byers recognizes the duration of growth factor exposure as a result-effective variable. Byers also suggests investigating exposures shorter than those tested . One would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because Ellsworth shows chondrocytes respond to FGF18 within one week of exposure (Ellsworth at p. 314), and Gimona shows a single weekly FGF-18 exposure produces anabolic effects on cartilage.
Therefore claim 1 is rendered obvious.
Ellsworth teaches chondrocytes (supra). Therefore claim 5 is included in this rejection.
Ellsworth uses cells from a human (supra). Therefore claim 7 is included in this rejection.
Claim 8 recites the chondrogenic cells are harvested from a mammal to be treated, or from a different mammal. This is an intended use that does not distinguish the cells taught by Ellsworth from the claimed cells. Therefore claim 8 is rejected. Ellsworth teaches human cells. Therefore claim 9 is included in this rejection.
Regarding independent claim 12:
The teachings of Ellsworth as set forth above are reiterated.
The deficiencies of Ellsworth are:
Ellsworth does not teach a scaffold free 3D culture suspension. Ellsworth does not teach intermittent exposure for one day per week for at least four weeks. The art is silent regarding the sequence of the FGF-18 used.
The teachings of Martinez, Byers and Gimona are reiterated.
It would have been obvious to culture chondrogenic cells in a scaffold free 3D culture suspension in a culture medium comprising FGF-18 with the claimed intermittent exposure for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1. It would have been obvious to administer the cells. One would have been motivated to do so to treat a cartilage disorder as taught in Gimona. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Gimona teaches chondrocytes cultured in vitro can be used for treatment. Therefore claim 12 is rendered obvious.
Gimona teaches treating osteoarthritis (Abstract). Therefore claim 13 is included in this
rejection.
Ellsworth obtains cells from a human (mammal) tissue (supra). Therefore claim 15 is
included in this rejection.
The human (mammal) taught by Ellsworth reads on claims 16-17.
Regarding independent claim 18: The preamble of the claim is directed to a method of producing a transplantable cartilage material for autologous chondrocyte implantation. The preamble is the only difference between claims 1 and 18.
The teachings of the prior art are reiterated. Gimona also teaches autogenous or allogenic cartilage (page 9, first paragraph). The method recited in claim 18 is rendered obvious on the same grounds recited in the rejection of claim 1. Therefore claim 18 is rendered obvious.
Ellsworth teaches chondrocytes (supra). Therefore claim 19 is included in this rejection.
Ellsworth harvests cells before culturing (supra). Therefore claim 21 is included in this rejection.
Claim 22 recites the chondrogenic cells are harvested from a mammal to be treated, for from a different mammal. This is an intended use that does not distinguish the cells taught by Ellsworth from the claimed cells. Therefore claim 22 is rejected. Ellsworth teaches human cells. Therefore claim 23 is included in this rejection.
Therefore Applicant’s Invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
Claims 6, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellsworth in view Martinez, Byers and Gimona as cited in the rejection of claims 1, 12 and 18 above, and further in view of Kuo et al. (previously cited; Cartilage tissue engineering: its potential and uses. Current Opinion in Rheumatology 2006, 18:64–73).
Claims 1, 12 and 18 are rejected on the grounds set forth above. The teachings of the prior art are reiterated. Ellsworth teaches chondrogenic cells. The art does note teach mesenchymal stem cells derived from mature tissues.
Kuo teaches cell-based therapy is a promising approach to cartilage regeneration. Different advantages can be derived from potential cell types: primary and chondrocytic cell lines, adult mesenchymal stem cells, and embryonic stem cells (page 64, right column, second paragraph). Kuo teaches one opportunity for overcoming the limited supply of primary chondrocytes is the use of adult mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) (page 65 “Adult mesenchymal stem cells” section). These cells are easily obtained from bone marrow and possess a multi-lineage potential; that is, they may be induced to differentiate into bone, cartilage, and adipose-like cell types, even after many doublings in culture (same cited section).
It would have been obvious to try using mesenchymal stem cells in the method taught by Ellsworth. One would have been motivated to do so since Ellsworth teaches a method of making a cartilage material and Kuo teaches adult mesenchymal stem cells can be used to produce cartilage (a cartilage material). One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Kuo teaches adult mesenchymal stem cells can be used to produce cartilage. One would have expected similar results since both references are directed to cartilage materials. Therefore claims 6, 14 and 20 are rendered obvious.
Therefore Applicant’s Invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
The arguments made in the response filed on 07 August 2026 are acknowledged.
Argument: The Applicant argues the references do not teach a scaffold free 3D suspension culture. The Applicant argues Ellsworth does not teach the claimed intermittent exposure.
Response: New grounds of rejection have been made to address the amended claims.
Argument: The arguments state the claimed treatment regimen produces unexpected results. The Applicant notes Example 3 of the specification compares continuous (Group 1) and intermittent (Group 3) cultures. Table 1 of the arguments state permanent exposure decreased the matrix content.
Response: New grounds of rejection have been set forth above. Byers is relied upon to teach transient (intermittent) exposure. Gimona teaches the claimed schedule for FGF18 treatment. It would have been obvious to use intermittent exposure for the reasons set forth above. Because the claimed method is rendered obvious, it would be expected to produce the results argued by the Applicant. Table one of the arguments discloses the “best results” are obtained with 100 ng/ml. None of the claims require this concentration.
CONCLUSION
No Claims Are Allowed
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATALIE M MOSS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653