DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammill, SR. et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0009911 A1, hereinafter “Hammill”) in view of Campbell et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0049482 A1, hereinafter “Campbell”).
Hammill discloses, regarding claim 1, an orthopedic fixation assembly (see Figs. 21G-21H) comprising:
a tulip head (30) having two arms (34, 36) defining a rod slot (e.g. U-shaped channel that receives rod 10) therebetween, a bore extending therethrough (see annotated Fig. 21G below), and a recess in an inner surface (see annotated Fig. 21G below);
a saddle (42) receivable in the bore of the tulip head (see annotated Fig. 21G below), the saddle having an upper surface defining a rod seat (53) aligned with the rod slot (see Fig. 21G);
a retaining clip (40), wherein the retaining clip is located at a bottom of the tulip head with excess clearance to allow the retaining clip to travel along the central axis of the tulip head (see annotated Figs. 21G-21H below); and
a bone fastener (12) having a head (20) receivable in the tulip head, through the retaining clip, and into the saddle (see Figs. 21A-21B).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the retaining clip includes a split ring configured to fit in an internal groove in the tulip head and around a bottom of the screw head (see annotated Fig. 21G below).
Hammill in the embodiment shown in Figures 21A-21H, fails to explicitly disclose, regarding claim 1, wherein the retaining clip has a spherically tapered outer surface; and wherein the head of the bone fastener includes spherical surfaces in a direction of angulation and flat opposing surfaces parallel to the direction of angulation, and wherein the flat surfaces of the head engage with corresponding flat surfaces inside the saddle to restrict angulation of the bone fastener in a single direction; regarding claim 5, wherein the flat surfaces of the head and inside the saddle restrict rotation of the bone fastener about a central axis of the tulip; regarding claim 6, wherein orientation of the flat surfaces of the head and saddle parallel to the rod slot allow for coronal and axial corrections; regarding claim 8, wherein opposite sides of the saddle have flat surfaces configured to mate with corresponding flat surfaces inside the tulip head, thereby restricting the saddle from angling within the tulip head.
Hammill discloses in an alternative embodiment shown in Figures 26-31, wherein the bone fastener is wherein the head of the bone fastener includes spherical surfaces (see annotated Fig. 29 below) in a direction of angulation and flat opposing surfaces parallel to the direction of angulation (see annotated Fig. 27 below, see also para. [0117]), and wherein the flat surfaces of the head engage with corresponding flat surfaces (118) inside the saddle to restrict angulation of the bone fastener in a single direction (see para. [0117]); wherein the flat surfaces of the head and inside the saddle restrict rotation of the bone fastener about a central axis of the tulip (see Fig. 26, see para. [0117]); wherein orientation of the flat surfaces of the head and saddle parallel to the rod slot allow for coronal and axial corrections (see Figs. 26 and 31, see para. [0117]); wherein opposite sides of the saddle have flat surfaces configured to mate with corresponding flat surfaces inside the tulip head, thereby restricting the saddle from angling within the tulip head (see Fig. 26, see para. [0117]) in order to limit movement of the shaft relative to the tulip head to a single axis along one direction (see para. [0117]).
Campbell discloses a bone screw assembly that limits pivoting to a single plate (200, see Fig. 6, see also para. [0062]) with a retaining clip (230) and a saddle (240), wherein the saddle defines a rod seat (244) aligned with the rod slot (see Fig. 6) in order for the saddle to be sized and shaped to receive the rod (see para. [0060]), wherein the retaining clip has a spherically tapered outer surface (see para. [0061]) in order for the retaining clip to have a shape corresponding to the tulip head and the single plane rotation of the bone screw within the tulip head (see para. [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the bone fastener and saddle in the embodiment shown in Figures 19-21H in Hammill to include spherical surfaces in a direction of angulation and flat opposing surfaces parallel to the direction of angulation, and wherein the flat surfaces of the head engage with corresponding flat surfaces inside the saddle in view of an alternative embodiment shown in Figures 26-31 in Hammill in order to limit movement of the shaft relative to the tulip head to a single axis along one direction. And to modify the retaining clip in Hammill to have a spherically tapered outer surface in view of Campbell in order for the saddle to be sized and shaped to receive the rod and in order for the retaining clip to have a shape corresponding to the tulip head and the single plane rotation of the bone screw within the tulip head.
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammill in view of Campbell, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Johnson et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0088357 A1, hereinafter “Johnson”).
Hammill in view of Campbell disclose all of the features of the claimed invention, as previously set forth above, except regarding claim 2, wherein the tulip head pivots on the head of the bone fastener to allow for medial-lateral angulation; and regarding claim 7, wherein orientation of the flat surfaces of the head and saddle perpendicular to the rod slot allow for sagittal corrections.
Johnson discloses a bone anchor assembly (see Figs. 15-16), with a bone anchor (14) with flat surfaces (70) that are positioned so as to allow for medial-lateral angulation (θ, see Fig. 16), wherein the orientation of the flat surfaces allows for angulation perpendicular to the rod slot to allow for sagittal corrections (θ, see Fig. 16, see para. [0062]) in order to enable the bone anchor assembly to enable only pivoting movement along a single axis based on the surgeon desires and/or as dictated by a particular patient’s condition (see paras. [0063] and [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the flat surfaces of the head of the bone fastener and saddle in Hammill in view of Campbell to be positioned so as to allow for medial-lateral angulation, and allows for angulation perpendicular to the rod slot to allow for sagittal corrections in further view of Johnson in order to enable the bone anchor assembly to enable only pivoting movement along a single axis based on the surgeon desires and/or as dictated by a particular patient’s condition.
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammill, SR. et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0009911 A1, hereinafter “Hammill”).
Hammill discloses, regarding claim 10, an orthopedic fixation assembly (see Figs. 21G-21H) comprising:
a tulip head (30) having two arms (34, 36) defining a rod slot therebetween (e.g. U-shaped channel that receives rod 10), each of the arms defining an interior threaded portion along an inner surface (see annotated Fig. 21G below), the tulip head having a bore extending therethrough (see annotated Fig. 21G below);
a bone fastener (12) including a screw head (18) receivable in the tulip head and a shaft (14) configured for engaging bone (see Fig. 21A),
a saddle (42) having an upper surface defining a rod seat (53) aligned with the rod slot (see Fig. 21G) and a lower portion (56) configured for receiving the screw head (see Fig. 21G); and
a retaining clip (40) positioned in a groove in the tulip head and around a bottom of the screw head.
Regarding claim 11, further comprising a spinal rod (70) receivable in the rod slot of the tulip head and the rod seat of the saddle (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, further comprising a locking cap (80) having an outer body defining an exterior thread (see annotated Fig. 1 below), wherein the locking cap is threadable between the two arms of the tulip head to secure the spinal rod therein (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, wherein when the locking cap is threaded downwardly onto the spinal rod, the spinal rod pushes against the seat of the saddle, and the saddle secures the bone fastener (see para. [0110]).
Hammill in the embodiment shown in Figures 19-21H, fails to explicitly disclose, regarding claim 10, wherein the bone fastener is uni-planar; wherein the screw head has a plurality of flats engaged with corresponding flats in the lower portion of the saddle to restrict movement of the shaft relative to the tulip head to one direction.
Hammill discloses in an alternative embodiment shown in Figures 26-31, wherein the bone fastener is uni-planar (see para. [0117]); wherein the screw head has a plurality of flats (116) engaged with corresponding flats (118) in the lower portion of the saddle in order to limit movement of the shaft relative to the tulip head to a single axis along one direction (see para. [0117]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to filed the bone fastener and saddle in the embodiment shown in Figures 19-21H in Hammill to be uni-planar with the screw head having a plurality of flats and the saddle having corresponding flats in view of an alternative embodiment shown in Figures 26-31 in Hammill in order to limit movement of the shaft relative to the tulip head to a single axis along one direction.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammill, as applied to claim 10-12 above, and in further view of Jackson (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0167526 A1, hereinafter “Jackson”).
Hammill discloses all of the features of the claimed invention, as previously set forth above, except regarding claim 14, wherein the interior threaded portion of the tulip head includes downward projecting hooks and the exterior thread of the locking cap includes corresponding upward projecting hooks configured to intermesh; and regarding claim 15, wherein when threaded together, the downward and upward hooks form inward-facing surfaces, which point toward one another at each level of engagement.
Jackson discloses an orthopedic fixation assembly (9, see Fig. 9) with a tulip head (16) with arms (18) having interior threaded portions (22), wherein the interior threaded portion of the tulip head includes downward projecting hooks (see annotated Fig. 9 below) and the exterior thread of the locking cap (4) includes corresponding upward projecting hooks configured to intermesh (see annotated Fig. 9 below); and wherein when threaded together, the downward and upward hooks form inward-facing surfaces, which point toward one another at each level of engagement (see Fig. 9) in order to provide interlocking thread that when the closure is securely torqued provides resistance to translational and rotational movement of the rod relative to the bone screw; and provides an anti-splay fastener (see para. [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the threaded portions in Hammill to include projecting hooks in further view of Jackson in order to in order to provide interlocking thread that when the closure is securely torqued provides resistance to translational and rotational movement of the rod relative to the bone screw; and provides an anti-splay fastener.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 5-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that while the Campbell, Jackson, and Johnson references were applied, the features these references were used to teach were specifically challenged in the argument. The Applicant asserted that the saddle with the flat surfaces were not taught. As set forth above, new reference Hammill is being relied upon to teach this limitation.
Conclusion
/M.C.G/ Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /JACQUELINE T JOHANAS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773