Detailed Action
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 02/14/2025 is re-acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (Group II), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/14/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1 is amended.
Claims 1-14 are under examination on the merits.
Priority
This application’s claim of priority to U.S. Patent Application with the serial number 15/568,487, which was filed 10/23/20 17, which is a 371 Application of PCT/US2016/029244, which was filed 4/25/2016, and which claims priority to our U.S. Provisional Application Serial Number 62/178956, filed April 23, 2015, and U.S. Provisional Application Serial Number 62/159 145, filed May 8, 2015, is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS submissions filed on 05/27/2026 and 06/19/2026 have been considered by the
Maintained-Claim Interpretation
The newly added limitation of claim 1, “…wherein the synthetic antibody has a scaffold portion and a CDR graft portion…,”is being interpreted to reflect that the antibody is chimeric or humanized absent a clear, closed, and preclusive definition.
The specification only mentions a “high-diversity library” twice, providing the open definition that, “…a high-diversity library may be a phage display library having a diversity of at least 109 diverse members, or at least 1010 diverse members, or even higher, typically based on M13 phages and display via pIII, pVIII, pVI, or pIX, or based on T7 phages and the gene 10 capsid protein…,” (see for example, page 16 of the specification; see additionally page 5 of Applicant’s 02/20/2026 remarks).
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejections of claims 1-14 under 35 USC 112(b) are withdrawn as addressed by the corrective claim amendments dated 02/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Matintained-35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection.
The purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, at the time the invention was made, of the specific subject matter claimed. To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B. V. v. Dianwnd Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116.
Even though Applicant has disclosed a vast number of cancer neoepitopes (see for example, instant SEQ ID NOs: 1 -1,408,729; see further for example, paragraph 0051 of the instant specification), Applicant fails to disclose a single antibody species within the claimed genus of antibodies binding a cancer neoepitope, the specification does not provide adequate written description for the entire claimed genus of species of antibodies, because in the absence of empirical determination, one skilled in the art would be unable to immediately envision, recognize, or distinguish at least most of the members comprised within the genus claimed, specifically, which light and heavy chain CDR sequences encompassed by the genus would function as claimed to bind the cancer neoepitopes. The amendments to the claim adding that the synthetic antibody has a CDR graft portion selected from an antibody of a high-diversity library, does not supply the written description required by the statue through indication of a structure/function correlation or a representative number of species. No conserved structure is indicated as required for the products, as claimed. Therefore, in view of this disclosure, Applicant is claiming a broad genus of molecules without a representative number of species of said genus. The specification does not provide adequate written description for the entire claimed genus of antibodies (CDRs) binding any of the cancer neoepitopes, because in the absence of empirical determination, one skilled in the art would be unable to immediately envision, recognize, or distinguish at least most of the members comprised within the genus claimed, specifically, which light and heavy chain CDR sequences encompassed by the genus would function as claimed.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. Applicant has not disclosed any CDR species for consideration. Thus, given the substantial antibody structure variation within the genus as well as the high level of unpredictability in the art, the disclosure of no species is not sufficiently representative of the entire genus.
Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed relevant, identifying characteristics of CDR region amino acid sequences that confer upon an antibody the ability to function as claimed, because the instant specification does not provide structural antibody features that correlate with a functional ability to function in the claimed product(s).
Furthermore, while the prior art teaches some understanding of the structural basis of antigen-antibody recognition, it is noted that the art is characterized by a high level of unpredictability, since the skilled artisan still cannot accurately and reliably predict the consequences of amino acid substitutions, insertions, and deletions in the antigen-binding domains. For example, Al Qaraghuli et al (2020, Nature Scientific Reports 10:13969), state that the six CDRs form a continuous surface to form the paratope that binds the epitope of the cognate antigen. This suggests that a change in the CDR sequence may result in a conformationally different paratope which may fail to bind target as claimed. Here, a mutation in the CDRs may result in a paratope unable to bind a neoepitope as claimed. Rabia, et al (2018, Biochemical Engineering Journal 137:365-374) teach what effects mutations can have on an antibody's stability, solubility, binding affinity and binding specificity. Rabia et al report that an increase in antibody affinity can be associated with a decrease in stability (p. 366, col. 2 last paragraph; Fig. 2). Tiller et al (2017, J. Biol. Chem. (2017) 292(40) 16638–16652) and Tsuji et al (2022, J Virol 96:e00071-22) teach that mutations in the CDRs (especially HCDR3 are unpredictable and accompanied by tradeoffs in performance (for example, increased affinity may lead to decreased specificity); see references in their entirety paying particular attention to the abstract of Tiller et al and the abstract and results section of Tsuji et al). The above cited references underscore the unpredictability of even a single mutation in the CDRs. The instant claims allow for mutations in the CDRs whereupon the mutated paratope may fail to bind a neoepitope, as claimed. Thus, the claims need to specify the exact CDR1-6 sequence combination(s) of the claimed antibody.
Absent a description of the at least minimal structural features correlating with a functional ability to bind neoepitope(s) which are shared by members of a genus commonly sharing this function, it is submitted that the skilled artisan could not immediately envision, recognize, or distinguish which heavy and light chain CDR amino acid sequences may be mutated/varied such that the resultant heavy and light chain variable regions comprise six CDRs that confer the ability to function as claimed.
Accordingly, absent empirical determination, one skilled in the art would be unable to predict or envision which CDR sequences comprised within the genus comprising the claimed antibodies may be combined such that the resultant antibody possesses an antigen-binding site capable functioning as claimed. The general knowledge and level of skill in the art does not adequately supplement the omitted description, because specific, not general guidance is needed. Since the disclosure fails to describe relevant, identifying structural characteristics, in the form of heavy and light chain CDR amino acid sequences it is submitted that the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has not been met.
The claims require an antibody capable of binding to a cancer neoepitope. The specification does not describe which amino/nucleic acid residues of the administered antibody are responsible for the binding function claimed. Rather, the specification implicitly states that these potential agents must first be screened in an assay to ascertain if the agents have the functions required by the instant claims. The specification fails to disclose the structures common to all members of the genus of antibodies encompassed by the broad definition provided by applicant. The specification does not disclose the structure of all of the claimed variant agents and fails to disclose which regions of the agents are responsible for the functions claimed. In the absence of a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, claims which encompass variants defined by their function are generally not considered described.
Applicant is directed to MPEP § 2163 for guidelines on compliance with the written description requirement. Here, applicant has not described a reasonable number of members of the genus of antibodies that would function to bind neoepitope as claimed, but rather has presented the public with an idea of how to perform an assay that might identify some neoepitopes and then with a suggestion to raise a synthetic antibody against said neoepitope(s) that fall within the scope of the claim. Of course, depending on what agents are used in the screening assay, it may well identify none. The Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit addressed claims of this sort in great detail in University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle and Co. (69 USPQ 2nd 1886, CAFC 2004). In Rochester, the Federal Circuit upheld the district court's ruling that patent claims which recited administration of compounds not disclosed, but rather to be identified in a screening assay, were invalid on their face.
In Ariad, the court further noted that the written description plays a particularly important role in the biological arts, where patentees might otherwise be tempted to claim a genus of compounds by its function or result:
“The written description requirement also ensures that when a patent claims a genus by its function or result, the specification recites sufficient materials to accomplish that function—a problem that is particularly acute in the biological arts. 5 See Guidelines for Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, 1, “Written Description” Requirement, 66 Fed. Reg. 1099, 1105-1106 (Jan. 5, 2001). This situation arose not only in Eli Lilly but again in University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., Inc., 358 F.3d 916 [69 USPQ2d 1886] (Fed. Cir. 2004). In Rochester, we held invalid claims directed to a method of selectively inhibiting the COX-2 enzyme by administering a non-steroidal compound that selectively inhibits the COX-2 enzyme. Id. at 918. We reasoned that because the specification did not describe any specific compound capable of performing the claimed method and the skilled artisan would not be able to identify any such compound based on the specification's function description, the specification did not provide an adequate written description of the claimed invention. Id. at 927-28. Such claims merely recite a description of the problem to be solved while claiming all solutions to it and, as in Eli Lilly and Ariad's claims, cover any compound later actually invented and determined to fall within the claim's functional boundaries—leaving it to the pharmaceutical industry to complete an unfinished invention.”
Ariad Pharmaceuticals., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc). Emphasis added.
The Federal Circuit has clarified Written Description as it applies to antibodies in the recent decision Amgen v. Sanofi, 872 F.3d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2017). The Federal Circuit explained in Amgen that when an antibody is claimed, 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (or pre-AIA first paragraph) requires adequate written description of the antibody itself. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79. The Amgen court expressly stated that the so-called “newly characterized antigen” test, which had been based on an example in USPTO-issued training materials and was noted in dicta in several earlier Federal Circuit decisions, should not be used in determining whether there is adequate written description under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for a claim drawn to an antibody. Citing its decision in Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., the court also stressed that the “newly characterized antigen” test could not stand because it contradicted the quid pro quo of the patent system whereby one must describe an invention in order to obtain a patent. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79, quoting Ariad, 598 F.3d 1336, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2010). In view of the Amgen decision, adequate written description of an antigen alone is not considered adequate written description of a claimed antibody to that antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional. Id.
In re Alonso (545 F.3d 1015 (Fed. Cir. 2008), which involved claims that were directed to methods of using antibodies wherein the court found that the claims lacked adequate written description for the recited genus of antibodies recited in the methods. (C) See p. 8, 3rd paragraph, where Applicant argues that the claims recite all essential features of the invention.
While generically the structure of antibodies is known, the structure of the presently recited antibodies can vary substantially within the claimed recitations. As noted in Amgen, knowledge that an antibody binds to a particular (neo)epitope on an antigen tells one nothing at all about the structure of the antibody, wherein “instead of analogizing the antibody-antigen relationship to a ‘key in a lock,’ it [is] more apt to analogize it to a lock and ‘a ring with a million keys on it.” (Internal citations omitted). The relevant antibody art confirms this quandary, indicating that “knowledge of an epitope or antigen used to generate a monoclonal antibody is insufficient for making the original antibody available, even if suitable in vitro test systems for screening are used.” See p. 8, lines 3-5 of WO 2009/033743 A1. Therefore, those of skill in the art would not accept that the inventor had been in possession of the full genus of antibodies in the present claims.
Although screening techniques can be used to isolate CDR variant antibodies that possess the ability to function as claimed, Applicant is reminded that the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112 is severable from the enablement provision. As stated in Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar (CA FC) 19 USPQ2d 1111, 935 F2d 1555, “The purpose of the 'written description' requirement is broader than to merely explain how to 'make and use'; the applicant must also convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed.”
Therefore, the synthetic antibodies which bind cancer neoepitopes, as claimed, are only disclosed by function (binding), without a representative number of species or disclosure of sufficient unifying, conserved structure enabling one skilled in the art to readily envisage the members of the genus claimed which would function as claimed to bind neoepitope. Therefore, the claims 1-14 are deemed to fail to meet the written description requirement, as presently drafted.
Claims 1-14 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Note that the recitations of the standard for written description, boilerplate regarding Applicant’s burden to meet the written description requirement, and art cited in the maintained rejections for lack of written description under 35 USC §112(a) are incorporated herein.
Claim 1 recites that the antibody is bound to a synthetic immobilized peptide that has a sequence of a patient- and cancer- specific neoepitope. Claims 2-14 incorporate this limitation without further description or narrowing.
Claim 8-10 recite the broad genus of a therapeutic agent that is an affinity agent. This term is only mentioned 3 times in the disclosure with no examples and no definition of the term.
Where the therapeutic agent is coupled to an antibody binding a cancer neoepitope, the therapeutic agent is logically interpreted to be therapeutic for cancer. However, the genus of therapeutic affinity agents is reasonably interpreted as broad enough to encompass antibodies, aptamers, proteins, etc., particularly where no particular affinity is required (such as a target or even affinity of the agent for target). As this term is only mentioned 3 times in the specification, there is no disclosure of a representative number of species or descriptive disclosure of a structure correlated with the claimed therapeutic function.
See the maintained rejections under 35 USC §112(a) above for a discussion of why antibodies represent an unpredictable and evolving art such that the artisan could not reasonably, readily envisage the members/species of the genus having the claimed function(s) required.
As a further illustrative example, the Examiner will provide analysis for the subgenus of protein affinity agents which is simultaneously illustrative of the state of the art regarding the synthetic peptides to which the antibody is bound in claim 1.
Regarding the state of the art, Listov et al (Opportunities and challenges in design and optimization of protein function. Nat Rev Mol Cell Biol 25, 639–653 (2024)) teach that the primary amino acid sequence determines downstream structure (protein folding), which then determines function (presenting both the inverse folding problem and the inverse function problem (see for example Figure 1 and its caption; see also Mishra et al (Inaccurate secondary structure predictions often indicate protein fold switching. Protein Sci. 2019 Aug;28(8):1487-1493. doi: 10.1002/pro.3664. Epub 2019 Jun 17)). Expanding on these problems in proteomics, Reardon (Nature 635, 246-248 (2024)) explains that the goal of designing a protein with known and predictable function, binding partners, size, location, and other traits is, for the moment, a dream. Reardon teaches that further challenges in protein design include predicting how a protein, even if it binds to target, will function upon said binding. Reardon teaches that the primary structure (amino acid sequence) of a protein is critical to function, noting that even proteins of similar shape do not execute the same functions, while those with different shapes may carry out the same tasks. Reardon goes on to teach that it is not always apparent which parts of the primary sequence are important; a seemingly useless amino-acid chain on the side of an enzyme, for instance, might affect how tightly a protein can bind to other molecules or its ability to flip between conformational states. Moreover, Reardon explains that when researchers attempt to solve the structure of a protein experimentally, they often end up seeing only the most stable conformation, which is not necessarily the form the protein takes when it is active (see for example, pages, 246-247 of Reardon).
Therefore, the synthetic peptide of claim 1 (incorporated by claims 2-14) is inadequately described. Additionally, the therapeutic agent of claims 8-10 is inadequately described (where claims 1-7 are included in the rejections as being broader in scope and failing to narrow or describe the therapeutic agent).
Maintained-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wistar (US20100203109A1; as cited on the 03/13/2025 IDS) in view of Hacohen et al (Getting personal with neoantigen-based therapeutic cancer vaccines. Cancer Immunol Res. 2013 Jul;1(1):11-5. doi: 10.1158/2326-6066.CIR-13-0022. Epub 2013 Apr 7) and Huang et al (Antimicrob Agents Chemother. 2012 Sep;56(9):4569-82. doi: 10.1128/AAC.00567-12. Epub 2012 Jun 4).
Regarding claim 1, Wistar teaches antibodies (which may be therapeutic or diagnostic) (reading on a composition comprising antibodies as no other limitation is recited in the claims) which bind a cancer-specific neoepitope as the as the synthetic immobilized peptide (BRAFV600E mutant peptides held to read upon the limitation of a cancer neoepitope, which is cancer-specific (tied to melanoma and not tied to any other diseases) absent a closed definition to further clarify or preclude this interpretation and given its consistency with the instant disclosure (see for example, paragraphs 0026 and 0029 of the instant specification)) where the synthetic antibody may be humanized or chimeric (see for example, the abstract, paragraphs 0090-0094 and 0120 of Wistar, noting that paragraph 0091 teaches that the antibody may be synthetically generated). Wistar teaches that the peptide may be synthetic (see for example, paragraphs 0063, 0069-0070, 0076, and 0094).
Wistar further teaches the process of using BRAF peptides, such as the mutated BRAF 29-mer having the V600E mutation (neoepitopes), for use in screening antibodies from libraries of antibodies to isolate antibodies that bind the neoepitope(s) (see for example, paragraphs 0004-0006, 0091-0092, and 0124-0125). Wistar further teaches that conventional drug screening techniques may be employed using the peptides described herein. As one example, a method for identifying compounds which specifically bind to a peptide include the steps of contacting a selected peptide with a test compound to permit binding of the test compound to the peptide; and determining the amount of test compound, if any, which is bound to the peptide. Such a method may involve the incubation of the test compound and the peptide immobilized on a solid support (see for example, paragraph 0126).
Wistar does not clearly teach that the neoepitope is personalized to the patient (but, in the absence of a closed/alternate/preclusive definition, the terms ‘patient-specific’ and ‘cancer -specific’ are being interpreted using their broadest reasonable interpretation: that the neoepitope is exhibited in the patient/patient’s cancer so as to be patient-specific and exhibited in the patient’s cancer/associated with a known cancer so as to be cancer specific) or HLA-matched.
However, Hacohen et al teach rapid DNA/RNA sequencing of tumor and normal tissue with further filtering for patient-specific (personalized), cancer-specific (tumor-specific) neoepitopes (mutated peptides) which are HLA-matched (identified on the basis of predictive HLA-binding algorithms) (see for example, the abstract, figure 1, and the caption of figure 1). Hacohen guides towards generation of a synthetic peptide (over 20 amino acids) due to their long history of successful production and safe use as immunogens (see for example, paragraph 2 of page 5).
Wistar and Hacohen et al do not teach that the CDRs are selected from a high-diversity library.
However, Huang et al teach that phage display is recognized as a powerful tool for selecting novel peptides and antibodies that can bind to a wide range of antigens. The size and quality of libraries are crucial for the success of phage display. Currently, methods for the production of peptide libraries can lead to library sizes from 109 to 1011, with the average library generally containing 107 members. Optimized and novel strategies to generate large antibody libraries have been carried out, increasing the diversity to 1012, noting that M13 phage library display technology is well-known in the art (see for example, pages 4569-4751). Huang et al teach that advances in screening, manufacturing, and humanization technologies now mean that phage display can make a significant contribution in the fight against clinically important pathogens (see for example, page 4569 at the abstract and pages 4571-4573).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Wistar, Hacohen et al, and Huang et al. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Wistar teaches means for raising synthetic, therapeutic antibodies against a cancer-specific neoepitope (see for example, the abstract, paragraphs 0090-0094 and 0120 of Wistar), using a library and screening such that the neoepitope/synthetic peptide is immobilized on a solid support. Where Wistar teaches the use of humanized antibodies, the artisan would have found it obvious to take CDRs from the screened library and graft them into a human antibody framework (a scaffold as is consistent with page 17 of the instant specification). Upon further screening to confirm continued specificity, the synthetic antibody having grafted CDRs from the high-diversity library of Wistar as modified by Huang et al in a human scaffold would have been bound to the neoepitope of Wistar as modified by Hacohen et al, said neoepitope being immobilized on a solid support (prior to isolation of the neoepitope-binding antibody). Using the process of Wistar for antibody generation, the artisan would have understood the desirability of selecting a neoepitope that is that is personalized (patient-specific), cancer-specific, and HLA-matched through the means taught by Hacohen et al (see for example, the abstract, figure 1, and the caption of figure 1). Hacohen et al further teach that despite years of preclinical efforts and hundreds of clinical studies, therapeutic cancer vaccines have been elusive, but with advances in genome sequencing, it is now possible to identify a new class of tumor-specific antigens derived from mutated proteins that are present only in the tumor which should provide highly specific targets for antitumor immunity (see for example, the abstract of Hacohen et al). The artisan would have further found it obvious, to modify the library used in Wistar to be a high-diversity library in order to enable for better generation and screening of antibodies as taught by Huang et al (noting that even the average phage library generated by traditional means comprises 107 members while many technologies yield library sizes from 109 or more, with larger sized being desirable, noting that optimized techniques yield libraries with 1012 members). Where the library ranges in size from 107-109, the result is deemed to be predictable with the library size being an obvious matter of choice. The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 2, Wistar further teaches a 29-mer BRAF peptide incorporating the V600E mutation and the sequence EDLTVKIGDFGLATEKSRWSGSHQFEQLS (SEQ ID NO: 1) (see for example, paragraph 0005).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Wistar, Hacohen et al, and Huang et al. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Wistar teaches means for raising synthetic, therapeutic antibodies against a cancer-specific neoepitope (see for example, the abstract, paragraphs 0005, 0090-0094 and 0120 and SEQ ID NO: 1 of Wistar) and Hacohen et al teach means of identifying personalized, cancer-specific, HLA-matched neoepitopes (see for example, the abstract, figure 1, and the caption of figure 1). Wistar further teaches the use of a 29-mer as a workable and successful size n-mer for a neoepitope against which a therapeutic, synthetic antibody may be predictably and successfully raised. The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 3, Wistar further teaches that BRAF is an intracellular signaling protein expressed frequently in melanomas for which alleles were identified as somatic mutations in 70% of melanomas and a minority of other cancers including lung, colon and ovary carcinomas, but not in normal cells (citing Davies H, et al. Nature 2002; 417:949-54; Brose M S et al. Cancer Res 2002; 62:6997-7000; Pollock P M et al. Nat Genet. 2003; 33:19-20.-3 (see for example, paragraph 0004 of Wistar)). The BRAF mutations were located in exons 11 or 15, with BRAFV600E representing nearly all (92%) the BRAF alleles in melanoma (see for example, paragraph 0004). Therefore, the mutations are presumed to be relative to a normal (non-mutated BRAF), non-tumor sample which could presumably be taken from the same patient, meeting the limitations of instant claim 3. As mentioned above, Hacohen et al teach that the neoepitope is specific to the tumor and mutated (not present in normal tissue) relative to normal tissue.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Wistar, Hacohen et al, and Huang et al. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Wistar suggests and Hacohen et al teach that the neoepitope is mutated (not-present) in normal tissue, but is mutated (present) in tumor tissue (see for example, the abstract, paragraphs 0004, 0090-0094 and 0120 of Wistar; see additionally, for example, the abstract, figure 1, and the caption of figure 1 of Hacohen et al). The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 7, note that the antibody against BRAFV600E may be an IgG antibody or a Fab construct (see for example, paragraphs 0091-0092 of Wistar).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Wistar, Hacohen et al, and Huang et al. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Wistar teaches that this antibody format may be raised synthetically and may be used diagnostically or therapeutically (see for example, the abstract, paragraphs 0090-0094 and 0120 of Wistar). The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wistar in view of Hacohen et al and Huang et al, as applied to claims 1-3 and 7 above, and further in view of Tembhare et al (Quantification of expression of antigens targeted by antibody-based therapy in chronic lymphocytic leukemia. Am J Clin Pathol. 2013 Dec;140(6):813-8. doi: 10.1309/AJCPYFQ4XMGJD6TI) and Nagorsen et al (Cancer Immunol Immunother. 2008 Dec;57(12):1903-10. doi: 10.1007/s00262-008-0493-6. Epub 2008 Mar 4).
Wistar, Hacohen et al, and Huang et al teach the limitations of instant claims 1-3 and 7, as set forth above.
Regarding claim 4, as discussed above, Wistar teaches raising a synthetic, therapeutic antibody against a cancer-specific peptide comprising a mutation (a cancer neoepitope) and Hacohen et al further teach means to filtering neoepitopes for a cancer/tumor- and patient-specific neoepitope which is HLA-matched by predicted HLA-binding.
Hacohen et al further teach that tumors have been demonstrated to evade the immune system by limiting or shutting off expression of mutated neoantigens, but that tumors with multiple strongly immunogenic neoepitopes never escaped and cite to Castle et al who used de novo sequencing to identify tumor-specific mutations in the murine melanoma tumor and applied an algorithm to predict potential immunogenic epitopes generated by these mutations (see for example, paragraph 3 of the A case for neoantigens section of Hacohen et al).
Wistar, Hacohen et al, and Huang et al do not explicitly teach that the neoantigen is characterized by a strength of expression.
However, Tembhare et al teach that studies illustrate that the intensity of cell surface expression of target antigen by the leukemic cells may have an impact on the outcome of monoclonal antibody based treatment regimens (see for example, paragraph 2 of the Introduction). As the concept of "personalized medicine" gains popularity, discovery of a prognostic indicator of response to this type of therapy and more specifically which antibody based regimen is likely to be most effective in an individual patient is highly desirable (see for example, paragraph 2 of the Introduction). Pretreatment quantification of target antigen expression may aid in guiding patient management and choice of monoclonal antibody therapy, especially if levels of expression of targeted antigens vary significantly (see for example, paragraph 2 of the Introduction). Tembhare et al further quantified the levels of cell surface expression of CD20, CD22, CD25 and CD52 in CLL cells from patients and correlated them with each other as well as the absolute B-lymphocyte count at presentation (see for example, the second paragraph of the Introduction). The process of quantifying the expression strength of a target antigen is not described or supported to be distinct from the claimed filtering based on determined strength of expression of a neoepitope (understood the be the target antigen of the antibody; noting that expression strength is only mentioned twice in the specification (see for example, pages 3 and 7 of the instant specification).
Regarding the recitation that the neoepitope if filtered by a predetermined HLA-binding affinity, while Hacohen et al teach filtering by HLA-matching, they do not explicitly teach pre-determining a binding affinity towards an HLA-type.
However, Nagorsen et al teach that HLA-typing is particularly important because it is a prerequisite for successful specific immunotherapy. The HLA-specificity of antigen-derived peptide-epitopes is the basis for specific immunotherapy not only for cancer but also for viral infections (i.e., adoptive transfer of virus-specific T cells). HLA binding of antigen-derived epitopes is where immunotherapy begins. It has been shown that HLA affinity of a peptide can be more important for its immunogenicity than other mechanisms of the antigen-processing machinery (see for example, column 1 of page 1904).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Wistar, Hacohen et al, Huang et al, Nagorsen et al, and Tembhare et al. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Tembhare et al teach that pretreatment quantification of target antigen expression may aid in guiding patient management and choice of monoclonal antibody therapy, especially if levels of expression of targeted antigens vary significantly (see for example, paragraph 2 of the Introduction), presumably to have a better chance of targeting the tumor and to decrease immune evasion by selecting a neoepitope less likely to be downregulated (as taught by Hacohen et al (see for example, paragraph 3 of the A case for neoantigens section). This teaching would guide the artisan to select for a neoantigen with a higher expression level (understood to be an expression strength in the absence of an alternative or preclusive definition) for greater success at targeting the tumor and decreasing immune evasion. The artisan would have been motivated to determine and filter the neoepitope by its predetermined HLA binding specificity as part of Hacohen et al’s HLA filtering in light of the cited teachings of Nargorsen et al to enhance the likelihood of selecting an immunologically active neoepitope. The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 6, Wistar further teaches the use of a MHC class I (HLA) binding prediction score (held to read upon the limitation of HLA MHC class I matched epitope in light of paragraph 0034 of the instant specification used to provide insight into what is meant by said recitation) to filter/select for cancer neoepitopes (BRAFV600E) (see for example, paragraphs 0008, 0040, 0153 and Table 3 of Wistar).
Moreover, Hacohen et al teach patient-specific (personalized) cancer-specific (tumor-specific) neoepitopes (mutated peptides) are identified on the basis of predictive HLA-binding algorithms (see for example, the caption of figure 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Wistar, Hacohen et al, Huang et al, and Tembhare et al. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Tembhare et al teach that pretreatment quantification of target antigen expression may aid in guiding patient management and choice of monoclonal antibody therapy, especially if levels of expression of targeted antigens vary significantly (see for example, paragraph 2 of the Introduction), presumably to have a better chance of targeting the tumor and to decrease immune evasion by selecting a neoepitope less likely to be downregulated (as taught by Hacohen et al (see for example, paragraph 3 of the A case for neoantigens section). The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wistar, Hacohen et al, and Huang et al, as applied to claims 1-3 and 7 above, in further view of Chari et al (Antibody-drug conjugates: an emerging concept in cancer therapy. Angew Chem Int Ed Engl. 2014 Apr 7;53(15):3796-827. doi: 10.1002/anie.201307628. Epub 2014 Feb 20).
Wistar in view of Hacohen et al, and Huang et al teach the limitations of instant claims 1-3 and 7, as set forth above.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Wistar further teaches use of the anti-BRAFV600E antibody, with or without other antibodies or chemotherapeutic agents [meeting the definition of a non-cellular agent, see for example, paragraph 0017 of the instant specification] (see for example, paragraphs 0120-0121 of Wistar).
Wistar, Hacohen et al, and Huang et al, et al do not teach that the antibody is conjugated to a chemotherapeutic (ADC).
However, Chari et al teach traditional cancer chemotherapy is often accompanied by systemic toxicity to the patient. Monoclonal antibodies against antigens on cancer cells offer an alternative tumor-selective treatment approach. However, most monoclonal antibodies are not sufficiently potent to be therapeutically active on their own. Antibody-drug conjugates (ADCs) use antibodies to deliver a potent cytotoxic compound selectively to tumor cells, thus improving the therapeutic index of chemotherapeutic agents (see for example, the abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Wistar, Hacohen et al, Huang et al, and Chari et al. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Chari et al teach the use of a targeting antibody (such as the antibody of Wistar) in an ADC to delivery cytotoxic moieties to reduce off-target toxicities observed in traditional cancer chemotherapy and to improve the therapeutic index of chemotherapeutic agents through enhancing selective-delivery (see for example, the abstract of Chari et al). The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 10, Wistar in view of Hacohen et al, and Huang et al, do not explicitly teach that the chemotherapeutic is a drug.
However, Chari teaches the concept of antibody-drug conjugates (ADCs) showing the antibody conjugated to a drug moiety (which is cytotoxic/chemotherapeutic) (see for example, the abstract and graphical abstract of Chari et al). Chari et al additionally teach chemotherapy, or “treatment with chemicals” was the predominant modality for cancer treatment. Multidrug therapy became a standard modality for the treatment of most cancers. With such intensive chemotherapy, systemic toxicity to the host remains a major drawback of cytotoxic drugs in cancer treatment. In order to improve the therapeutic index of cancer drugs, either the potency of the cytotoxic agent had to be improved to lower the minimum effective dose (MED), or the tumor selectivity improved to increase the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) (see for example, Figure 1; see also, for example, the first paragraph of section 2. Targeted Therapies). An ideal solution would be the development of agents that would both decrease the MED and increase the MTD, thus increasing the overall therapeutic index of the cancer drug (see for example, the first 2 paragraphs of the Introduction). Chari et al proceed to teach that targeted therapy offers the potential to generate agents that will be selectively cytotoxic to tumor cells, coupled with lower toxicity to the host, resulting in a larger therapeutic index (see for example, the first paragraph of section 2. Targeted Therapies).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Wistar, Hacohen et al, Huang et al, and Chari et al. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Chari et al teach that targeting the therapy to the cancer/tumor (such as by using the antibody made by the method of Wistar) increases the therapeutic index (see for example, the first paragraph of section 2. Targeted Therapies). The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wistar, Hacohen et al, and Huang et al in view of Tembhare et al and Nagorsen et al as applied to claims 4 and 6 above, in further view of Qi et al (SEPPA 2.0—more refined server to predict spatial epitope considering species of immune host and subcellular localization of protein antigen, Nucleic Acids Research, Volume 42, Issue W1, 1 July 2014, Pages W59–W63, https://doi.org/10.1093/nar/gku395).
Wistar in view of Hacohen et al, Huang et al, and Tembhare et al teach the limitations of instant claims 4 and 6, as set forth above.
Regarding claim 5, note that the specification only mentions filtration by subcellular location twice and does not provide further detail(s) (see paragraphs 0011 and 0033 of the instant specification).
Wistar, Hacohen et al, Huang et al, and Tembhare et al do not explicitly teach filtering by subcellular location.
However, Qi et al teach a web interface Spatial Epitope Prediction server for Protein Antigens (SEPPA 2.0) which is a conformational epitope prediction algorithm. Qi et al teach that this algorithm has been improved by taking into account the subcellular location of the protein antigen (such as a neoepitope) (see for example, the abstract of Qi et al).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Wistar, Hacohen et al, Huang et al, Tembhare et al, and Qi et al. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Qi et al teach that computational identification of immunogenic regions/segments in a given protein antigen has provided increasing assistance in guiding experimental validation (wherein their improved model which includes subcellular location filtering increased area under the curve (AUC) and decreased the number of false positives)(see for example, the abstract and the first 2 paragraphs of the Introduction of Qi et al). The MPEP provides that:
“The Supreme Court in KSR reaffirmed the familiar framework for determining obviousness as set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), but stated that the Federal Circuit had erred by applying the teaching-suggestion-motivation (TSM) test in an overly rigid and formalistic way. KSR, 550 U.S. at 404, 82 USPQ2d at 1391. Specifically, the Supreme Court stated that the Federal Circuit had erred in four ways: (1) “by holding that courts and patent examiners should look only to the problem the patentee was trying to solve ” (Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d at 1397); (2) by assuming “that a person of ordinary skill attempting to solve a problem will be led only to those elements of prior art designed to solve the same problem” (Id.); (3) by concluding “that a patent claim cannot be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was ‘obvious to try’” (Id. at 421, USPQ2d at 1397); and (4) by overemphasizing “the risk of courts and patent examiners falling prey to hindsight bias” and as a result applying “[r]igid preventative rules that deny factfinders recourse to common sense” (Id.). See also Novartis Pharms. Corp. v. West-Ward Pharms. Int'l Ltd., 923 F.3d 1051, 1059, 2019 USPQ2d 171676 (Fed. Cir. 2019); Apple Inc. v. Samsung Elecs. Co., 839 F.3d 1034, 1047-48, 120 USPQ2d 1400, 1410 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Aventis Pharma S.A. v. Hospira, Inc., 675 F.3d 1324, 1332, 102 USPQ2d 1445, 1449 (Fed. Cir. 2012)… Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.”Id. at 415-16, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. The Supreme Court stated that there are “[t]hree cases decided after Graham [that] illustrate this doctrine.” Id. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. (1) “In United States v. Adams, . . . [t]he Court recognized that when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.” Id. (2) “In Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., . . . [t]he two [pre-existing elements] in combination did no more than they would in separate, sequential operation.” Id. at 416-17, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. (3) “[I]n Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., the Court derived . . . the conclusion that when a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” Id. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1395-96 (Internal quotations omitted.). The principles underlining these cases are instructive when the question is whether a patent application claiming the combination of elements of prior art would have been obvious. The Supreme Court further stated that:
When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, § 103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. Id. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
When considering obviousness of a combination of known elements, the operative question is thus “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” Id,”
(see MPEP §2141(I)). The MPEP further provides that obviousness is demonstrated where the claimed invention would have been obvious to try (see MPEP §2143(I)(E)). Here, there was a known need in the art to develop better treatments for cancer, where tumor-specific epitopes have been a recent focus in research involving cancer therapeutics (see for example, paragraph 0002 of Wistar). As noted in the rejections of claims 1-3 and 4, above, the steps of filtering an epitope by measuring and selecting based upon n-mer size/length, strength of expression, HLA-matching, and, in view of Qi et al, subcellular location, were known in the art and represent a finite number of steps which may be combined in a finite number of sequences. The prior art combination cited teaches that the filters are helpful in selecting an epitope/neoepitope against which a synthetic antibody may be raised for cancer treatment/therapy, where adding in a filter for subcellular location further aids/enhances protein antigen (neoepitope) selection. While the claims do not specifically require any given order of filtering (such as n-mer, then strength, the HLA, and then subcellular location), any order of the filtering steps would have been obvious in light of the prior art for the artisan to try, noting that the elected invention is a composition, making the antibody, either a product or a product-by-process, in which case the process of making (including the process of neoepitope selection) is irrelevant to the question of novelty/nonobviousness where the prior art product makes obvious the product instantly claimed, absent a convincing and evidenced showing of an unexpected improvement resulting from the process by which the product is made. Here, no such improvement has been demonstrated. The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
Claim(s) 8, 11-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wistar, Hacohen, and Huang et al, as applied to claims 1-3 and 7 above, in further view of view of Carter (Improving the efficacy of antibody-based cancer therapies. Nat Rev Cancer 1, 118–129 (2001). doi: 10.1038/35101072; as cited on the 03/13/2025 IDS).
Wistar in view of Hacohen et al, and Huang et al teach the limitations of instant claims 1-3 and 7, as set forth above.
Regarding claim 8, the combined references do not explicitly teach the composition of instant claim 1 wherein a therapeutic agent is coupled to the synthetic antibody.
However, Carter teaches that a variety of non-cellular therapeutic agents may be linked to an antibody for targeting the therapeutic agent to the cancer (see for example, the Key points bullet points at pages 1/51-2/51 and figure 1 and its caption).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Wistar, Hacohen et al, Huang et al, and Carter. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Carter teaches that various anti-cancer moieties, such as a radionuclide or prodrug, may be linked to an antibody for pre-targeting to reduce systemic toxicities associated with radioimmunotherapy and cytotoxic chemotherapy, respectively (see for example, pages 19/51 21/51). The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claims 11-12 and 14, Wistar in view of Hacohen et al, and Huang et al do not explicitly teach an effector cell as the additional therapeutic and/or the antibody bound to the genetically-mutated, high-affinity FcγRIII (CD16) of an NK cell.
However, Carter teaches that antibodies have been a common anti-cancer treatment, but that their efficacy has been limited because they are underpowered (see for example, paragraph 1 of the abstract at page 3/51, the paragraph bridging pages 3/51-4/51, and the second paragraph of page 4/51). Carter then teaches that antibodies may be paired with stronger anti-cancer therapeutics which addresses the low cytotoxicity of the antibody and enhances the cytotoxic moiety by targeting it to the tumor (see for example, the final key point bullet point on page 2/51, the paragraph bridging pages 4/51-5/51, Figures 1 and 2 and their respective captions and pages 5/51-6/51 and 9/51-10/51, the enhancing effector function section at pages 8/51-11/51, and the bispecific antibodies section at pages 18/51-19/51). Carter teaches that human antibodies, particularly IgG1 and IgG3, can potentially direct the killing of tumour cells by antibody-dependent cellular cytotoxicity (ADCC) or complement-dependent cytotoxicity (CDC) (see for example, Figure 2 and its caption). Carter teaches natural killer (NK) cells have cytotoxic activity against tumor cells and that, when paired with a bispecific antibody, the NK cell may be targeted to tumor cells it would otherwise ignore (see for example, Figure 1 and the caption of figure 1b and pages 5/51-6/51, the enhancing effector functions section at pages 8/51-11/51, the bispecific antibodies section at pages 18/51-19/51, and Figure 2 and its caption at pages 9/51-10/51). Carter additionally teaches that ADCC is triggered by an interaction between the Fc region of an antibody that has bound, through its antigen-binding region, to a tumour cell and the Fcγ receptors (FcγRs), particularly FcγRI and FcγRIII, on immune effector cells such as neutrophils, macrophages and natural killer cells (see for example, paragraph 1 of the enhancing effector functions section at pages 8/51-9/51 and figure 2 and its caption at page 9/51). The tumour cell is eliminated by phagocytosis or lysis, depending on the type of mediating effector cell, thus treating the tumor (see for example, Figure 2 and its caption). Carter additionally teaches that bispecific antibodies that bind to a tumour-associated antigen and a so-called trigger antigen on an immune effector cell can recruit the effector cell to kill a tumour cell that it would otherwise disregard. The most extensively used trigger molecules are FcγRIII (CD16) on natural killer cells (see for example, paragraph 2 of the Bispecific Antibodies section on page 9/51-10/51). Carter further teaches that studies indicate the potential for increasing the antitumour activity of an antibody by manipulating the Fc region to increase its affinity for the activation receptor(s) and/or by abrogating its ability to bind to the inhibitory receptor.
While Carter does not explicitly teach that the NK cell is linked to an antibody against a neoantigen prior to any therapeutic use, Carter teaches that Fc-FcγR interactions are important for therapeutic cytotoxicity (ADCC) (see for example, paragraphs 2-3 of the Enhancing Effector Functions section on page 10/51 bridging 11/51 and Figure 2 and its caption). Carter further teaches that NK cells most commonly have a high-affinity CD16 FcγR which may bind to the Fc region of an IgG antibody. Carter appears to show this conformation (an effector cell bearing an FcγR bound to the Fc region of an antibody) wherein the antibody targets the effector cell to the tumor, therefore effecting therapeutic lysis (see for example, paragraphs 2-3 of the Enhancing Effector Functions section on page 10/51 bridging 11/51 and Figure 2 and its caption).
The MPEP provides that:
“It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In reKerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In reCrockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parteQuadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious),”
(see MPEP section 2144.06(I)).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Wistar, Hacohen et al, Huang et al, and Carter. Here, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine an antibody for targeting cancer, such as the therapeutic, synthetic, IgG antibody of Wistar with a therapeutic effector cell, such as the NK cell bearing a high affinity CD16 of Carter. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Carter teaches that these components can be used individually to treat cancer and that they can be used, at least, in tandem to treat cancer (see for example, paragraph 1 of the abstract at page 3/51, the paragraph bridging pages 3/51-4/51, the second paragraph of page 4/51, the enhancing effector functions section at pages 8/51-11/51, the bispecific antibodies section at pages 18/51-19/51, and Figure 2 and its caption at pages 9/51-10/51). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to attach the antibody of Wistar to the NK cell as taught by Carter (attaching the Fc of the antibody to the CD16 (FcγR) of the NK cell as shown and described by the cited teachings of Carter)(see for example, fig 2 and its caption). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the resulting composition to treat cancer because Carter teaches this is a targeted and effective treatment for effecting tumor lysis or phagocytosis (treatment)(see for example, figure 2 and its caption at pages 9/51-10/51). There are 2, finite options for attachment of the IgG Fc to the CD16 of the NK cell, before or after administration. The artisan, looking to meet the long felt need of treating cancer would have wanted to take advantage of the enhanced ADCC and targeting taught by Carter and would have found it obvious to try to connect the Fc of the IgG antibody, such as that of Wistar, to the high-affinity CD16 commonly possessed by an NK cell allowing for attachment to said Fc region (see MPEP §2143(I)(E)). The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
Claim(s) 8 and 11-13 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wistar, Hacohen et al, and Huang et al, as applied to claims 1-3 and 7 above, in further view of view of Shi et al (Chimeric antigen receptor for adoptive immunotherapy of cancer: latest research and future prospects. Mol Cancer. 2014 Sep 21;13:219. doi: 10.1186/1476-4598-13-219).
The combined references teach the limitations of instant claims 1-3 and 7, as set forth above.
Regarding claims 8 and 11-13, Wistar teaches an IgG antibody against a cancer neoepitope, as discussed above.
Wistar in view of Hacohen et al, and Huang et al do not explicitly teach an effector cell as the additional therapeutic and/or that the T-cell has an scFv ectodomain with a genetically modified CD16 receptor.
However, Shi et al teach that to expand the applications for T cell-based immunotherapy in cancer, researchers have constructed similar “universal” CARs (uCAR) that utilize anti-fluorescein isothiocyanate (FITC) scFv (see for example, Figure 1C and its caption). These uCAR T cells recognize various cancer types when bound to FITC-labeled or biotinylated antigen-specific mAbs or scFvs, resulting in efficient target lysis, T-cell proliferation, and cytokine production, effectively treating the tumor. Shi et al teach that more recently, Kudo et al constructed a novel uCAR containing the high-affinity CD16 (FCGR3A) V158 variant (a genetically modified CD16). CD16V-based uCAR T cells have bound humanized antibodies with higher affinity and engagement of the CD16V-uCAR provoked T cell activation, exocytosis of the lytic granules and sustained proliferation, thereby enhancing the therapeutic effects of the T cell-based anti-tumor therapy. Further, the co-administration of CD16V uCAR T cells with immunotherapeutic antibodies exerted considerable antitumor activity in vivo (see for example, the CAR binding domain section).
It would have been prima facie before the effective filing date of the invention obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Wistar, Hacohen et al, Huang et al, Shi et al. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Shi et al teach that a uCAR T-cell having a genetically modified CD16V may be paired with an scFv (in the ectodomain) which aids in targeting the uCAR T-cell to the tumor tissue where the modified CD16 then enhances the antitumor effects (for example, lysis) of the T-cell for tumor treatment (see for example, Figure 1 and its caption and CAR binding domain section of Shi et al). The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
Maintained-Double Patenting
1. Regarding copending Application No. 17/740,040 (‘040)
a. Claims 1-3, 8, and 11-12 are provisionally rejected over claims 1-20 of ‘040 in view of Wistar and Huang et al as cited and applied to the claims in the rejections under 35 USC 103 above;
b. Claims 4 and 6-7 are provisionally rejected over claims 1-20 of ‘040 in view of Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, Nagorsen et al, and Tembhare et al, as cited and applied to the claims in the rejections under 35 USC 103;
c. Claim 14 is provisionally rejected over claims 1-20 of ‘040 in view of Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, Tembhare et al, and Carter as cited and applied to the claims in the rejections under 35 USC 103
d. Claims 9-10 are provisionally rejected over claims 1-20 of ‘040 in view of Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, Tembhare et al, and Chari et al as cited and applied to the claims in the rejections under 35 USC 103;
e. Claim 5 is provisionally rejected over claims 1-20 of ‘040 in view of Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, Nargorsen et al, and Qi et al as cited and applied to the claims in the rejections under 35 USC 103.
Claimed by reference/copending application(s):
Regarding claims 1-3, 8, and 11-12, ‘040 claims an composition comprising a carrier with or coupled to a synthetic antibody that binds to a cancer driver neoepitope (see ‘040 claim 1). The neoepitope may be patient specific (see claim 7 of ‘040). The neoepitope may also be HLA-matched (see claim 13 of ‘040). The neoepitope may also be expressed in the solid tumor tissue (held to read upon the instant recitation of being cancer-specific). ‘040 claims that the neoepitope may be 7-20 amino acids in length making obvious that some neoepitopes will be that n-mer length (see claim 12 of ‘040). ‘040 claims that the neoepitope is patient and cancer/tumor-specific and is an expressed missense (characterized by/comprises a mutation as instantly recited) (see claim 11 of ‘040). ‘040 claims a synthetic antibody which may be coupled to a carrier. ‘040 further claims that this carrier may be an immune competent cell (see claim 3 of ‘040), which may be a CD8+ T cell or an NK cell (see claim 4 of ‘040). Note that the immune competent cell of ‘040 is encompassed within the instant recitation of a therapeutic agent (see for example, instant claim 11).
Regarding claims 4 and 6-7, ‘040 claims as set forth above.
Regarding claim 14, ‘040 claims that the cell may be an NK cell (see claim 4 of ‘040). The cell may be recombinant and comprise a CAR having binding specificity for a patient-specific cancer driver neoepitope (see ‘040 claims 19-20). ‘040 further claims an scFv which binds a cancer neoepitope (see claim 1 of ‘040).
Regarding claims 9-10, ‘040 claims as set forth above.
Regarding claim 5, ‘040 claims as set forth above.
What is not taught:
1. Regarding ‘040’s claims:
a. Regarding claims 1-3, 8, and 11-12, ‘040 does not teach that the antibody has grafted CDRs into a scaffold (i.e. that the antibody is humanized or chimeric) or that that antibody is bound to the neoepitope which is immobilized on a solid support as an immobilized synthetic peptide.
b. Regarding claims 4 and 6-7, ‘040 does not teach that the neoepitope is characterized by having a mutation type, strength of expression, and by a predetermined binding affinity towards the HLA-type of the patient.
c. Regarding claim 14, ‘040 does not explicitly claim an NK cell comprising an IgG antibody against a cancer neoepitope as instantly claimed wherein the cell further comprises a genetically modified CD16 receptor (FcγIIIR).
d. Regarding claims 9-10, ‘040 does not teach or claims that the antibody is conjugated to a chemotherapeutic (ADC).
e. Regarding claim 5, ‘040 does not teach or claim filtration by subcellular location.
Teachings of the secondary/supporting reference(s)
Wistar and Huang et al teach as set forth above in the rejections of the claims under 35 USC §103.
Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, Nagorsen et al, and Tembhare et al teach as set forth above in the rejections of the claims under 35 USC §103.
Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, Tembhare et al, and Carter teach as set forth above in the rejections of the claims under 35 USC §103.
Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, Tembhare et al, and Chari et al teach as set forth above in the rejections of the claims under 35 USC §103.
Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, Nargorsen et al, and Qi et al teach as set forth above in the rejections of the claims under 35 USC §103.
Prima facie case of obviousness
1. Regarding ‘040:
a. Regarding claims 1-3, 8, and 11-12, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of ‘040, Wistar, and Huang et al. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Wistar teaches means for raising synthetic, therapeutic antibodies against a cancer-specific neoepitope (see for example, the abstract, paragraphs 0090-0094 and 0120 of Wistar), using a library and screening such that the neoepitope/synthetic peptide is immobilized on a support. Where Wistar teaches the use of humanized antibodies, the artisan would have found it obvious to take CDRs from the screened library and graft them into a human antibody framework (a scaffold as is consistent with page 17 of the instant specification). Upon further screening to confirm continued specificity, the synthetic antibody having grafted CDRs from the high-diversity library of Wistar as modified by Huang et al in a human scaffold would have been bound to the neoepitope of Wistar as modified by ‘040, said neoepitope being immobilized on a solid support (prior to isolation of the neoepitope-binding antibody). Using the process of Wistar for antibody generation, the artisan would have understood the desirability of selecting a neoepitope that is that is personalized (patient-specific), cancer-specific, and HLA-matched through the means taught by ‘040 (as cited above). The artisan would have further found it obvious, to modify the library used in Wistar to be a high-diversity library in order to allow for better generation and screening of antibodies as taught by Huang et al (noting that even the average phage library generated by traditional means comprises 107 members while many technologies yield library sizes from 109 or more, with larger sized being desirable, noting that optimized techniques yield libraries with 1012 members). Where the library ranges in size from 107-109, the result is deemed to be predictable with the library size being an obvious matter of choice. The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because ‘040 claims an antibody defined by the same limitation (of the same scope) (see claims 1, 7, and 11-13 of ‘040; see further for example, the abstract, paragraphs 0004-0005, 0090-0094, 0120, 153, and table 3 of Wistar).
b. Regarding claims 4 and 6-7, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of ‘040, Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, and Tembhare et al. ‘040 does not teach that the neoepitope is characterized by having a mutation type, strength of expression, and by a predetermined binding affinity towards the HLA-type of the patient. However, Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, and Tembhare et al make obvious such means of characterization of the neoepitope (as discussed in the rejections of the claims under 35 USC §103; see for example, the abstract, paragraphs 0004-0005, 0090-0094, 0120, 153, and table 3 of Wistar; see also for example, the abstract, paragraph 3 of the A case for neoantigens section, figure 1, and the caption of figure 1 of Hacohen et al; see additionally for example, paragraph 2 of the Introduction of Tembhare et al). Moreover, any neoepitope is characterized by the traits because it has some value related to them just by existing as a composition where no further detail is provided to preclude such interpretation. However, Nagorsen et al teach that HLA-typing is particularly important because it is a prerequisite for successful specific immunotherapy. The HLA-specificity of antigen-derived peptide-epitopes is the basis for specific immunotherapy not only for cancer but also for viral infections (i.e., adoptive transfer of virus-specific T cells). HLA binding of antigen-derived epitopes is where immunotherapy begins. It has been shown that HLA affinity of a peptide can be more important for its immunogenicity than other mechanisms of the antigen-processing machinery (see for example, column 1 of page 1904).
Therefore, ‘040 in view of Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, Nagorsen et al, and Tembhare et al are held to make obvious instant claims 4 and 6-7. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because ‘040 claims an antibody defined by the same limitation (of the same scope) (see claims 1, 7, and 13 of ‘040). Wistar further defines the synthetic antibody and Wistar in view of Hacohen et al and Tembhare et al further teach the recited limitations regarding the selection of the neoepitope (see for example, the abstract, paragraphs 0004-0005, 0090-0094, 0120, 153, and table 3 of Wistar; see also for example, the abstract, paragraph 3 of the A case for neoantigens section, figure 1, and the caption of figure 1 of Hacohen et al; see additionally for example, paragraph 2 of the Introduction of Tembhare et al). The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
c. Regarding claim 14, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of ‘040, Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, and Tembhare et al, and Carter. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because ‘040 claims an antibody defined by the same limitation (of the same scope) (see claims 1, 7, and 13 of ‘040). Wistar further defines the synthetic antibody and Wistar in view of Hacohen et al and Tembhare et al further teach the recited limitations regarding the selection of the neoepitope (see for example, the abstract, paragraphs 0004-0005, 0090-0094, 0120, 153, and table 3 of Wistar; see also for example, the abstract, paragraph 3 of the A case for neoantigens section, figure 1, and the caption of figure 1 of Hacohen et al; see additionally for example, paragraph 2 of the Introduction of Tembhare et al). Carter then teaches that antibodies and NK cells are effective individually for treating cancer and that antibodies may be used to target NK cells by attaching the antibody Fc to the FcγR (CD16) of the NK cell to target the NK cell to tumor cells it may otherwise ignore (further note that it is prima facie obvious to combine 2 compositions for accomplishing a shared purpose known in the prior art (see MPEP §2144.06(I)); see also for example, the Key points bullet points at pages 1/51-2/51 and figure 1 and its caption, paragraph 1 of the abstract at page 3/51, the pages 3/51-11/51, and pages 18/51-19/51 of Carter). The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
d. Regarding claims 9-10, one of ordinary skill in the art looking to treat cancer would have found it obvious to use a targeted antibody, such as the synthetic antibody of ‘040 and Wistar, conjugated to a cytotoxic/chemotherapeutic moiety to effectively treat the tumor while decreasing off target effects. It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of ‘040, Huang et al, Wistar, Hacohen et al, and Tembhare et al, and Carter. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because ‘040 claims an antibody defined by the same limitation (of the same scope) (see claims 1, 7, and 13 of ‘040). Wistar further defines the synthetic antibody and Wistar in view of Hacohen et al and Tembhare et al further teach the recited limitations regarding the selection of the neoepitope (see for example, the abstract, paragraphs 0004-0005, 0090-0094, 0120, 153, and table 3 of Wistar; see also for example, the abstract, paragraph 3 of the A case for neoantigens section, figure 1, and the caption of figure 1 of Hacohen et al; see additionally for example, paragraph 2 of the Introduction of Tembhare et al). Chari et al then teach the desirability of paring an antibody targeting cancer to a cytotoxic moiety to form an ADC for treating cancer (see for example, abstract and graphical abstract, Figure 1, the first paragraph of section 2. Targeted Therapies, and first 2 paragraphs of the Introduction of Chari et al). The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
e. Regarding claim 5, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of ‘040, Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, Nagorsen et al, Tembhare et al, and Qi et al. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Qi et al teach that computational identification of immunogenic regions/segments in a given protein antigen has provided increasing assistance in guiding the experimental validation (wherein their improved model which includes subcellular location filtering increased area under the curve (AUC) and decreased the number of false positives) (see for example, the abstract and the first 2 paragraphs of the Introduction of Qi et al). The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references prior to the effective filing date.
The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references.
Additional Non-Statutory Double Patenting Rejections:
Provisional or Non-provisional
Reference/Copending Application No. and claims which the instant claim(s) is/are rejected over
Instant claims that are rejected
Difference between the reference/copending claims and the instant claims
Secondary/supporting references over which the instant claims are rejected as obvious
Non-Provisional
Claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11421016 B2 (reference A)
1-5 and 7-10
Reference A’s claims are directed to a method of generating a pharmaceutical agent for cancer immune therapy, said agent appearing to read upon the instantly claimed composition (as set forth at pages 50-53 of the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/03/2026). The specification of reference A is further relied upon in accordance with Sun Pharmaceutical Industries v. Eli Lilly and Co., 611 F. 3d 1381, 1385 (CAFC 2010) and MPEP§ 804(II)(B)(2)(a) (as set forth at pages 50-53 of the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/03/2026).
None cited
Non-Provisional
Claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11421016 B2 (reference A)
6
Reference A does not claim an HLA-matched epitope or use thereof.
Wistar and Hacohen et al teach as set forth at page 79 of the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/03/2026).
Non-Provisional
Claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11421016 B2 (reference A)
8, 11-12, and 14
Reference A does not claim the composition of instant claim 1 wherein a therapeutic agent is coupled to the synthetic antibody or an effector cell as the additional therapeutic and/or the antibody bound to the genetically-mutated, high-affinity FcγRIII (CD16) of an NK cell.
Wistar, Hacohen et al, and Carter et al teach as set forth at pages 80-84 of the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/03/2026).
Non-Provisional
Claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11421016 B2 (reference A)
8 and 11-13
Reference A does not explicitly teach an effector cell as the additional therapeutic and/or that the T-cell has an scFv ectodomain with a genetically modified CD16 receptor.
Wistar, Hacohen et al, and Shi et al teach as set forth at pages 84-85 of the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/03/2026).
Non-Provisional
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 12-15, and 17-19 of US Patent No. 12404490 (reference B)
1-3 and 8-11
Reference B does not teach that the CDRs are derived from a high-diversity library and grafted into a scaffold and does not claim that the neoepitope is patient-specific of cancer specific or HLA-matched or filtered for a mutation
Wistar, Hacohen et al, and Huang et al teach as set forth at pages 54-56 of the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/03/2026.
Non-Provisional
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 12-15, and 17-19 of US Patent No. 12404490 (reference B)
4 and 6-7
Reference B does not teach that the neoepitope is characterized by having a mutation type, strength of expression, and by a predetermined binding affinity towards the HLA-type of the patient.
Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, Nagorsen et al, and Tembhare et al teach as set forth at pages 56-58 of the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/03/2026.
Non-Provisional
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 12-15, and 17-19 of US Patent No. 12404490 (reference B)
12 and 14
Reference B does not teach the use of a genetically modified CD16 (FcγIIIR).
Carter teaches that antibodies and NK cells are known individually to treat cancer. Carter teaches that antibodies may be paired with an NK cell, through attachment of the Fc to the FcγR (high-affinity CD16) of the NK cell to target the NK cell to tumor cells it may otherwise ignore.
Non-Provisional
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 12-15, and 17-19 of US Patent No. 12404490 (reference B)
13
Reference B does not claim the antibody is an scFv in the ectodomain of a CAR T-cell.
Shi et al teach the utility and format of a CAR T-cell with an scFv in the ectodomain further comprising a genetically modified CD16 (see additionally for example, Figure 1C and its caption and the CAR binding domain section of Shi et al).
Non-Provisional
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 12-15, and 17-19 of US Patent No. 12404490 (reference B)
5
Reference B does not claim the neoepitope is filtered by a subcellular location.
Qi et al teach as set forth at pages 62-63 of the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/03/2026.
Provisional
Claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/057,588 (‘588)
1-3 and 8-12
‘588 does not teach that the neoepitope is patient-specific and HLA-matched
Wistar, Huang et al, and Hacohen et al teach as set forth in pages 63-38 of the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/03/2026.
Provisional
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 12-15, and 17-19 of copending Application No. 19/057,588 (‘588)
4 and 6-7
There is no mention in the ‘588 claims that the neoepitope is characterized by having a mutation type, strength of expression, and by a predetermined binding affinity towards the HLA-type of the patient.
Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, Nagorsen et al, and Tembhare et al teach as set forth in pages 68-70 of the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/03/2026.
Provisional
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 12-15, and 17-19 of copending Application No. 19/057,588 (‘588)
13
The ‘588 claims do not teach that do not teach that the T cell has a chimeric receptor, an scFv (format of the antibody against the neoepitope), and a CD16.
Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, and Shi et al teach as set forth in pages 70-71 of the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/03/2026.
Provisional
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 12-15, and 17-19 of copending Application No. 19/057,588 (‘588)
14
The ‘588 claims do not teach that the NK cell has a high-affinity CD16 FcγR bound to the Fc region of an IgG, synthetic antibody binding a cancer neoepitope.
Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, and Carter teach as set forth in pages 72-75 of the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/03/2026.
Provisional
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 12-15, and 17-19 of copending Application No. 19/057,588 (‘588)
5
The ‘588 claims do not teach that the neoepitope that the antibody binds is filtered for a subcellular location.
Wistar, Huang et al, Hacohen et al, Nagorsen et al, Tembhare et al, and Qi et al teach as set forth in pages 75-77 of the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/03/2026.
It is noted that Applicant has an extensive portfolio within this filed. While due diligence has been made to identify applicable reference/copending applications for double patenting analysis, Applicant’s assistance in identifying any further reference or copending applications related to the instantly claimed subject matter is appreciated.
Applicant’s Arguments and Reponses:
Applicant requests withdrawal of the rejections for lack of written description:
Applicant states that the Ariad/Amgen decisions do not apply because what is claimed is the intermediate product of a synthetic antibody bound to a synthetic peptide, the claims are not defined by function, but are defined by structural reality, Applicant has full possession of the intermediate claimed because over 1,400,000 neoepitope sequences are provided in the disclosure (see pages 8-9 of the 08/11/2026 remarks);
Applicant alleges that the cited art has no bearing on a peptide whose sequence is determined from -omics data (see pages 9-10 of the 08/11/2026 remarks);
Applicant alleges that the therapeutic agents of claim s8-10 are described (see page 10 of the 08/11/2026 remarks).
Response: Regarding point a, it does not matter if the product claimed is terminal or intermediate. The antibody and the neoepitope (synthetic peptide) are not described via a representative number of species nor by a unifying conserved structure responsible for the claimed function of binding (a structure-function correlation) (see the reasons and art cited in the rejection above). There is no structural reality cited which described the claimed genera of antibodies, immobilized peptides, or affinity agents. Applicant points to functioned attempts to recast functional limitations as structural. This is unpersuasive. Finally, the point Applicant alleges as providing description actually only underscores the lack of description for the genera of both antibodies and peptides claimed. Effective, Applicant attempts to tie up any antibody that could bind any synthetic peptide within the scope of the claims, of which there are more than 1,400,000 where absolutely no antibody structure is required or disclosed. Note that the art cited by the Examiner highlights the appreciable unpredictability and inability of the artisan to envisage the genus of antibodies that would bind any one of these epitopes, let alone all of them. Further, while over 1,400,000 neoepitopes/synthetic peptides are disclosed, there is no evidence that they would all be patient-specific, cancer-specific, HLA-matched, and bind to an antibody. Therefore, there is not sufficient disclosure of the peptide genus that would reliably/predictable function as claimed in the intermediate product. Regarding point b, The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2145 (I). Applicant merely concludes that the references cited are inapplicable with no evidenced argument as to why said references are inapplicable. Here, the art (particularly Reardon) teaching that the tertiary/quaternary structure cannot be predicted from the primary amino acid sequences, said tertiary/quaternary structure being required to form the epitope to which antibody could/may bind, would seem highly relevant to the claimed peptide obtained by in silico filtering with no testing to determine which sequences form an epitope which possesses that claimed characteristics. Regarding point c, as noted above, conclusory statements are insufficient to rebut an argument where a prima facie case has been made. As noted above, the genus of affinity agents is not defined (this could encompass a wide range of biological classes). The term itself is used three times throughout the entirety of the disclosure with no clear examples provided and no definition to enable the artisan to look to the art to supplement the deficiency in the disclosure. Therefore, the rejection for lack of written description for the claimed genera of antibodies, peptides, and therapeutic agents is maintained in its entirety.
B. Applicant argues for withdrawal of the rejections under 35 USC §103 based upon the following allegations:
a. The claimed antibody is bound to a synthetic peptide as an intermediate product (see pages 10-11 of the 08/11/2026 remarks);
b. The BRAF V600E neoepitope of Wistar is alleged to be a population-level mutation, not a patient- and cancer-specific neoepitope (see page 11 of the 08/11/2026 remarks);
c. The reason (problem to be solved/motivation) Applicant professes for the claimed product is allegedly sufficiently different to the motivation provided by the combined prior art references (see pages 11-12 and 15-16 of the 08/11/2026 remarks);
d. Applicant alleges the number of references cited invalidates that the combination could make obvious the claims (see pages 10, 12, and 13 of the 08/11/2026 remarks);
e. Applicant alleges the combination could only be motivated by hindsight (see page 11 of the 08/11/2026 remarks);
f. Applicant alleges there is no motivation to combine the cited reference to arrive at claims 8-10 (see page 13 of the 08/11/2026 remarks); and
g. Applicant alleges that the prior art cited does not make obvious a fully synthetic antibody or a fully synthetic peptide (see for example, page 15).
Response: Regarding points a and g, the antibody of Wistar may be synthetic (see for example, paragraphs 0090-0094). While Wistar teaches an antibody against the BRAF V600E mutation, there is no reason that this protein could not be filtered according to the methods of Hacohen for production of a synthetic peptide being over 20 amino acids as suggested by both Wistar and Hacohen (see the rejection under 35 USC §103 above). Wistar teaches that the peptide may be synthetic (see for example, paragraphs 0063, 0069-0070, 0076, and 0094). It is noted that there is no explanation of why one of ordinary skill in the art would expect a synthetic antibody or peptide to function differently in the claimed product than an non-synthetic antibody/peptide. It is noted that the emphasis that the antibody and peptide are fully synthetic is not reflected in/required by the claim(s) as drafted. It is noted that, if a fully synthetic antibody and/or peptide would be expected to function in a substantially different way to partially synthetic or non-synthetic antibodies and/or peptides, this would seems to only further support the rejection for lack of written description of highly unpredictable genera of synthetic antibodies and synthetic peptides (unless Applicant can show that the differences in performance were known in the art and that means for accommodating or making use of said differences were known in the art so as to not present one or more technical hurdles, said art being publicly available prior to the effective filing date). Regarding point b, as noted in the rejection, where Applicant has declined to provide a specific definition, the term ‘patient-specific’ will be given its conventional meaning such that the use of a neoepitope, such as the BRAF V600E epitope as by Wistar, is patient-specific for any patient bearing the BRAF V600E mutation. This argument remains unpersuasive. Regarding point c, what is claimed is a product, which covers the product made or used (transiently as a reagent/intermediate or as a final product) for any purpose. Therefore, the motivation Applicant professes is not relevant to patentability of a product/composition claim unless Applicant can show some evidence of criticality or surprising results, neither of which appear to be present or argued in the instant case. Regarding point d, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner has combined an excessive number of references, reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991). Regarding point e, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Regarding point f, Applicant alleges that there is no motivation to combine the references. This is unpersuasive. As discussed above, the artisan would have been motivated to combine Wistar, Hacohen, and Huang et al to arrive at a synthetic, therapeutic antibody optimized (for a diverse library of neoepitopes filtered to be the optimal size, patient-specific, and cancer-specific) for treating cancer. The artisan would have been motivated to add to the combination of Wistar, Hacohen, and Huang et al the teachings of Tembhare and Nagorsen et al to select for a neoepitope with a higher expression (so as to decrease the risk of immune evasion) which is immunologically active (as indicated by being HLA matched per the teachings of Nagorsen et al). The artisan would have been motivated to add to Wistar, Hacohen, and Huang et al the teachings of Chari et al or Carter et al because Chari et al or Carter teach the addition of anti-cancer moieties that augment the anti-cancer therapeutic action of the antibody, if the artisan were to make the antibody conjugated to a moiety of Chari et al or Carter and then screen for the ability of the antibody to bind the neoepitope (as discussed in the rejection of claim 1), the artisan would have made a product within the scope of Applicant’s claim and, even if the product is intermediate, would have thereby infringed Applicant’s requested claim scope. The artisan would have found it obvious to add to Wistar, Hacohen, and Huang et al the teachings of Qi et al as an additional filtering step to optimize the neoepitope selected because Qi et al teach this step aids in protein/neoantigen selection. The artisan would have been motivated to add to Wistar, Hacohen, and Huang et al the teachings of Shi et al because Shi et al teach that a uCAR-T-cell having a modified CD16 may be paired with an scFv to aid in uCAR T-cell targeting to tumor tissue for an enhanced anti-tumor effect. For each combination required to meet the claims, the Examiner has met the prima facie burden of supplying motivation to combine using only what was known in the art prior to the effective filing date.
C. Applicant did not substantively address the rejections of the claims for double patenting (see pages 16-19 of the 08/11/2026 remarks).
Response: Applicant does not rebut the rejections for double patenting, buts states that a terminal disclaimer will be filed once the only remaining rejections are for double patenting. This has been fully considered but is not found to be persuasive. Applicant’s attention is respectfully directed to M.P.E.P. § 804(I)(B)(1), which states: “A complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection is either a reply by applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321 in the pending application(s) with a reply to the Office action (see MPEP § 1490 for a discussion of terminal disclaimers). Such a response is required even when the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisional.” “As filing a terminal disclaimer, or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, such a filing should not be held in abeyance. Only objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. Replies with an omission should be treated as provided in MPEP § 714.03. Therefore, an application must not be allowed unless the required compliant terminal disclaimer(s) is/are filed and/or the withdrawal of the nonstatutory double patenting rejection(s) is made of record by the examiner.” See MPEP § 804.02, subsection VI, for filing terminal disclaimers required to overcome nonstatutory double patenting rejections in applications filed on or after June 8, 1995. (emphasis added). Applicant is encouraged to file the required terminal disclaimers to advance compact prosecution. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained and is expressly not held in abeyance.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO2014052707A2 (as cited on the 03/13/2025 IDS) is still deemed relevant to the process of arriving at the neoantigen through sampling and filtering for a patient- and cancer-specific neoepitope that comprises a mutation and is HLA-matched.
Fritsch et al (“HLA-Binding Properties Of Tumor Neoepitopes In Humans," Cancer Immunology Research, Vol. 2, No. 6, June 2014; as cited on the 03/13/2025 IDS) teach that cancer genome sequencing has enabled the rapid identification of the complete repertoire of coding sequence mutations within a patient's tumor and facilitated their use as personalized immunogens (finding cancer-specific, patient-specific neoepitopes for targeted immunotherapy). Although a variety of techniques are available to assist in the selection of mutation-defined epitopes, the ability of the peptide to bind to patient MHC is a key gateway to peptide presentation. Advanced algorithms using neural network-based learning approaches have been developed to capitalize on large amounts of data describing peptides that bind with different strengths to a wide variety of class I MHC molecules. These algorithms allow rapid in silico prediction of peptide-binding strength to patient-specific MHC alleles, and potentially enable a more rapid and less restrictive approach to filter the list of candidate neoepitopes (neoantigens) from sequencing data (see for example, the abstract and the In silico prediction of peptide-MHC binding section of Fritsch et al). This is still deemed relevant.
Ylera et al (Anal Biochem. 2013 Oct 15;441(2):208-13. doi: 10.1016/j.ab.2013.07.025. Epub 2013 Jul 29) discusses the use of phage display libraries and screening for antibody development. This is still deemed relevant.
US 8652473 B2 (citation 3 under US Patents on the 09/02/2025 IDS) and US20110293637 A1 are still deemed relevant.
The cited references under US Patent Application Publications heading on the 09/02/2025 IDS are still deemed relevant.
Burkovitz et al (MAbs. 2016;8(2):278-87. doi: 10.1080/19420862.2015.1123365. Epub 2015 Dec 14) teaches that the art-known difference between a non-synthetic, partially synthetic, and fully synthetic antibody is that, as the antibody becomes increasingly synthetic, the binding in increasingly dictated by HCDR3. Burkovitz et al is not available to serve as prior art.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to ASHLEY GAO whose telephone number is (571) 272-5695. The
examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9:00 am - 6:00 pm EST.
supervisor, Gregory Emch can be reached on (571) 272-8149. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications
may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished
applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR
system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR
system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would
like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated
information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Ashley Gao/
Examiner, Art Unit 1678
/GREGORY S EMCH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1678