DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 06/17/2022. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2022, 09/15/2023, 03/24/2025, and 7/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “perform a switch-ON operation or a switch-OFF operation based on at least some of the first control signal, the second control signal, and the third control signal”. Since the term can represent singular and plural nouns, It is unclear if “some” is “at least one” or “at least two”.
Claim 11 recites “controlling at least some circuits of a switch circuit of a multi-coil circuit including a first coil and a second coil to be turned on and a wireless power transmission and reception circuit to be disabled based on a ready mode, and monitoring a voltage of the second coil through the at least some circuits of the switch circuit”.
For the same reasons above, it is unclear if claim 11 is referring to at least one circuit or at least two circuits. If the claim is “at least two circuits”, then what are the “at least two circuits that will be turned on.
Claim 1 claims "a multi-coil circuit configured to include a first coil, a second coil, and a switch circuit. It is unclear whether the first coil, second coil, and the switch circuit are part of the claimed device or not. Similarly, the connection between the different elements of the device are not clearly defined (e.g. "a wireless power transmission and reception circuit configured to be electrically connected to the multi-coil circuit).
Claims 1 and 2 recites “wherein the switch circuit is configured to: receive a first control signal based on a voltage detected from the second coil, a second control signal by the processor, and a third control signal by the wireless power transmission and reception circuit, and perform a switch-ON operation …. operation based on at least some of the first control signal, the second control signal, and the third control signal” and “a voltage detector configured to be connected between the second coil and the switch element to: detect a voltage of the second coil, and provide the first control signal to the switch element when the voltage of the second coil is equal to or greater than a designated threshold voltage” which is unclear.
Specifically, the specification recites the following:
[0068] …Although the signals V _det, Switch_EN, and WPT_EN have been described as three separate signals according to an embodiment, it will be apparent to those skilled in the art that at least some of the signals may be implemented as a combined signal.
[0069] The V _det according to an embodiment may be a signal indicating a voltage ( or current) detected from the first coil 211-1 and/or the second coil 211-2. When the voltage (or current) detected by the first coil 211-1 and/or the second coil 211-2 is equal to or greater than a designated threshold voltage Vth, a V _det trigger signal may be generated. In the first mode, the wireless power transmission/reception circuit 214 may be enabled based on the generation of the V _ det trigger signal, and the WPT EN signal may be changed from L to H.
[0070] The Switch_ EN according to an embodiment may be low when a battery voltage (or a battery capacity) is less than or equal to a designated threshold voltage (or a threshold capacity) or when the second wireless power transmission mode (P2A power sharing mode) is operated, may be high when the capacity of the battery 289 is equal to or greater than ( or exceeds) a designated capacity and the first wireless power transmission mode (P2P) is operated, and may be applied from the processor 220 to the switch circuit 211-7.
[0071] The WPT EN according to an embodiment may be high when the wireless power transmission/reception circuit 214 is enabled, may be low when the wireless power transmission/reception circuit 214 is not enabled, and may be applied from the wireless power transmission/reception circuit 214 to the switch circuit 211-7.
[0072] In the first mode and the second mode according to an embodiment, the switch element included in the switch circuit 211-7 may be controlled to be turned ON based on the signals V _ det, Switch_ EN, and WPT EN so that operations in the first and second modes may be performed.
Based on the specification and Fig. 4 and 5, claim 1 suggests that the switch circuit is open until a voltage above a specific threshold is detected and in response the switch is closed (i.e. “perform a switch-ON operation …. operation based on at least some of the first control signal … detect a voltage of the second coil, and provide the first control signal to the switch element when the voltage of the second coil is equal to or greater than a designated threshold voltage”). However based on Fig. 4-5, the voltage of the second coil (211-2 as identified in the specification) cannot be detected when the switch is open. The switch element must be closed and therefore a complete circuit is necessary in order for a voltage to be detected on the second coil. Therefore, it is unclear if the voltage detector is detecting a voltage of the second coil or the first coil prior to closing the switch in the switch circuit.
Claim 10 recites “wherein, in the power saving mode, based on the second control signal being low and the third control signal being low, the switch circuit is configured to disconnect the first coil, and wherein the second coil connected in parallel..” which is unclear. Specifically claim language “wherein the second coil connected in parallel” is unclear. Since claim 10 recites that the first and second coil are disconnected, it is unclear what the second coil is connected in parallel to.
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 is/are included in this rejection due to their dependence on claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Zhou (US 20220014048) in view of Lee (US 20140113689) in view of Takada (US 20120025761) .
As to claim 1, Zhou discloses an electronic device (Fig. 4-5) comprising:
a load (DC output to Vout);
a multi-coil circuit (Fig. 4-5 first and second receiving coils) configured to include a first coil (second receiving coil 1011) a second coil (first receiving coil 1021), and a switch circuit connected between the first coil and the second coil (Fig. 4-5 switch 102 and the portion of the processor that detects and receives the voltage from the first and second coils [0018]);
a wireless power transmission and reception circuit configured to be electrically connected to the multi-coil circuit (Rectifier 104);
a power management module (Step down module 105) configured to be electrically connected to the load (Fig. 5) and the wireless power transmission and reception circuit (Fig. 4); and
a processor (Fig. 6, 106 and elements ) configured to be electrically connected to the multi-coil circuit ([0018] …switch, by the processor, from the first oscillation circuit to the second oscillation circuit), the wireless power transmission and reception circuit (Rectifier 104), and the power management module (Fig. 4),
wherein the switch circuit (Fig. 4-5 switch 102 and [0077] elements of processor that controls the switch identified as switch circuit) is configured to:
receive a first control signal based on a voltage detected from the wireless power transmission and reception circuit ([0018] …when the voltage value output by the first oscillation circuit rises to the second reference voltage, the processor in the wireless charging receiver switches from the first oscillation circuit to the second oscillation circuit. Signal from the processor to switch the switch circuit identified as “first control signal”), a second control signal by the processor ([0032] and [0077] After a voltage Vrect rises to a working voltage threshold of the LDO 2 in the voltage step-down module 105 in the wireless charging receiver 10, the processor 106 in the wireless charging receiver 10 starts to work... After the processor 106 starts to work…. “processor 106 starts to work” identified as “second control signal”), and a third control signal by the wireless power transmission and reception circuit ([0077] Vrect at the second reference voltage value from “rectifier” and when LDO1 is “turned on” identified as “third control signal), and perform a switch-ON operation or a switch-OFF operation based on at least some of the first control signal, the second control signal, and the third control signal ([0077] After a voltage Vrect rises to a working voltage threshold of the LDO 2 …, the processor 106 in the wireless charging receiver 10 starts to work (second signal), …After the processor 106 starts to work, the processor 106 instructs the voltage step-down module 105 to increase the preset first reference voltage value to a second reference voltage value…. After the voltage in the LDO 2 reaches the second reference voltage value, the processor 106 controls the switch S1 in the switch module 102 to close (i.e. first control signal)).
Zhou does not disclose that load is a battery nor discloses the power management module configured to be electrically connected to the load.
Lee teaches load is a battery (Fig. 11 battery 1159) and the power management module configured to be electrically connected to the load ([0131] and Fig. 11 Interface Power Management IC 1157 connected to battery 1159).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the load of Zhou to be a battery and the power management module configured to be electrically connected to the load in order to charge and operate a mobile device without the use of cords or outlets.
Zhou in view of Lee does not disclose/teach a voltage detected from the second coil.
Takada teaches a voltage detected from the second coil ([0021] A voltage sensor 28).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the voltage detected from the wireless power transmission and reception circuit to voltage detected from the second coil of Zhou in view of Lee to be a voltage detected from the second coil in order to detect the distance between the primary-side resonance coil and the secondary-side resonance coil based on a detection signal of the voltage sensor 28 determining whether the detected distance is adequate for allowing the power receiving equipment 20 to efficiently receive power from the power supplying equipment 10 [0021 [0024].
As to claim 2, Zhou in view of Lee in view of Takada teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the switch circuit includes: a switch element configured to be connected between the first coil and the second coil to connect or disconnect the first coil and the second coil in parallel (Fig. 4-5 switch 102); and a voltage detector (voltage sensor 28) configured to be connected between the second coil and the switch element to: detect a voltage of the second coil ([0021][0024] Takada), and provide the first control signal to the switch element when the voltage of the second coil is equal to or greater than a designated threshold voltage ([0077] of Zhou After the processor 106 starts to work, the processor 106 instructs the voltage step-down module 105 to increase the preset first reference voltage value to a second reference voltage value…. After the voltage in the LDO2 reaches the second reference voltage value, the processor 106 controls the switch S1 in the switch module 102 to close).
As to claim 3, Zhou in view of Lee in view of Takada teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second control signal and the third control signal are respectively controlled to be high or low based on a ready mode ([0077] After the processor 106 starts to work (i.e. second control signal “high”) and before the “first oscillation circuit rises to a second reference voltage value” and before LDO 1 is turned on is identified as “the third control signal are respectively controlled to be ”low” and identified as “Ready mode”. When Vrect rises above a “second reference voltage value” and LDO 1 is turned on ([0018]) is identified as the third control signal as “high”), a wireless power reception mode, a first wireless power transmission mode, a second wireless power transmission mode, or a power saving mode of the electronic device ([0077] After the voltage in the LDO2 reaches the second reference voltage value… The LDO 1 in the voltage step-down module 105 is turned on under control of the processor 106, and the wireless charging receiver 10 supplies power to the electrical load after the LDO 1).
As to claim 4, Zhou in view of Lee in view of Takada teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein, in the ready mode, the processor is configured to control the second control signal to be high ([0077] After the processor 106 starts to work (i.e. second control signal “high), and the third control signal to be low (LDO1 is off).
As to claim 5, Zhou in view of Lee in view of Takada teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein, in the ready mode, the switch circuit is further configured to detect the voltage of the second coil through the voltage detector of the switch circuit ([0021][0024] Takada), based on the second control signal being high and the third control signal being low ([0077] After the processor 106 starts to work(i.e. second control signal “high), the processor 106 instructs the voltage step-down module 105 to increase the preset first reference voltage value to a second reference voltage value…. After the voltage in the LDO 2 reaches the second reference voltage value, .... The LDO 1 in the voltage step-down module 105 is turned on under control of the processor 106, and the wireless charging receiver 10 supplies power to the electrical load after the LDO 1. [0077] After the processor 106 starts to work (i.e. second control signal “high”) and before the “first oscillation circuit rises to a second reference voltage value” and LDO 1 is turned on identified as the third control signal controlled to be ”low”) .
As to claim 6, Zhou in view of Lee in view of Takada teaches the electronic device of claim 5, wherein the processor is further configured to switch the ready mode to the wireless power reception mode or the first wireless power transmission mode when the voltage of the second coil detected by the voltage detector is equal to or greater than the designated threshold voltage ([0077] After the processor 106 starts to work(i.e. second control signal “high), the processor 106 instructs the voltage step-down module 105 to increase the preset first reference voltage value to a second reference voltage value…. After the voltage in the LDO 2 reaches the second reference voltage value, .... The LDO 1 in the voltage step-down module 105 is turned on under control of the processor 106, and the wireless charging receiver 10 supplies power to the electrical load after the LDO 1).
As to claim 7, Zhou in view of Lee in view of Takada teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein, in the wireless power reception mode or the first wireless power transmission mode, the processor is configured to control the second control signal to be high and the third control signal to be high ([0077] After the processor 106 starts to work(i.e. second control signal “high), the processor 106 instructs the voltage step-down module 105 to increase the preset first reference voltage value to a second reference voltage value…. After the voltage in the LDO 2 reaches the second reference voltage value, .... The LDO 1 in the voltage step-down module 105 is turned on under control of the processor 106 (the third control signal controlled to be ”high”), and the wireless charging receiver 10 supplies power to the electrical load after the LDO 1).
As to claim 8, Zhou in view of Lee in view of Takada teaches the electronic device of claim 7, wherein, in the wireless power reception mode or the first wireless power transmission mode, based on the second control signal being high and the third control signal being high ([0077] After the processor 106 starts to work(i.e. second control signal “high), the processor 106 instructs the voltage step-down module 105 to increase the preset first reference voltage value to a second reference voltage value…. After the voltage in the LDO 2 reaches the second reference voltage value, .... The LDO 1 in the voltage step-down module 105 is turned on under control of the processor 106 (the third control signal controlled to be ”high”), and the wireless charging receiver 10 supplies power to the electrical load after the LDO 1).
Zhou in view of Lee in view of Takada does not disclose/teach wherein, in the wireless power reception mode or the first wireless power transmission mode, based on the second control signal being high and the third control signal being high, the switch circuit is configured to connect the first coil and the second coil in parallel and wherein the wireless power transmission and reception circuit is configured to wirelessly receive power from an external electronic device through the parallel- connected first coil and second coil or to wirelessly transmit first power to a first external electronic device.
However, since Zhou teaches the voltage in the LDO 2 reaches the second reference voltage value, .... The LDO 1 in the voltage step-down module 105 is turned on under control of the processor 106 (second and third control signal controlled to be ”high”) the processor 106 controls the switch S1 in the switch module 102 to close and the switch S2 to open because the second receiving coil 1011 with a lower inductance avoids excessively high reactive power and improve power transfer efficiency, while ensuring power reception ([0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the wireless power transmission and reception circuit to be configured to wirelessly receive power from an external electronic device through the parallel- connected coils in order to avoid excessively high reactive power and improve power transfer efficiency as connecting the coils in parallel will produce an overall low inductance while improving power transfer efficiency.
As to claim 10, Zhou in view of Lee in view of Takada teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein, in the power saving mode, based on the second control signal being low and the third control signal being low (prior to the processor being turned on and LDO1 is turned on), the switch circuit is configured to disconnect the first coil (second receiving coil 1011), and wherein the second coil (first receiving coil 1011) connected in parallel ( interpreted as “configured to disconnect the first coil and the second coil connected parallel”. Prior to turning “on” the processor, S1 is disconnected ([0077])) and the wireless power transmission and reception circuit is configured to be in a disabled state ([0077] Prior to turning “on” the processor and LDO 1 turning “on” ([0077]).
Claims 11-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Zhou (US 20220014048) in view of view of Takada (US 20120025761).
As to claim 11, Zhou discloses a wireless power transmission and reception method in an electronic device (Fig. 4-5 and 8) , the method comprising:
controlling at least some circuits of a switch circuit (Fig. 4 switch 102 and ([0077] elements of processor that controls the switch identified as switch circuit) of a multi-coil circuit including a first coil (second receiving coil) and a second coil (Fig. 4-5 first receiving coil) to be turned on ([0077] After the voltage in the LDO2 reaches the second reference voltage value, the processor 106 controls the switch S1 in the switch module 102 to close) and a wireless power transmission and reception circuit (Rectifier 104) to be disabled based on a ready mode ([0077] After the processor 106 starts to work (i.e. second control signal “high”) and before the “first oscillation circuit rises to a second reference voltage value” and before LDO 1 is turned on is identified as “the third control signal are respectively controlled to be ”low” and identified as “Ready mode”) and monitoring a voltage of the wireless power transmission and reception circuit (Rectifier 104)through the at least some circuits of the switch circuit ([0077] …After the voltage in the LDO 2 reaches the second reference voltage value, the processor 106 controls the switch S1 in the switch module 102 to close); in the ready mode, switching from the ready mode to a wireless power reception mode or a first wireless power transmission mode based on the voltage of the second coil being equal to or greater than a designated threshold voltage ([0077] After the voltage in the LDO 2 reaches the second reference voltage value… The LDO 1 in the voltage step-down module 105 is turned on under control of the processor 106, and the wireless charging receiver 10 supplies power to the electrical load after the LDO 1); and
controlling the switch circuit to be switched on and the wireless power transmission and reception circuit to be enabled based on the wireless power reception mode or the first wireless power transmission mode ([0077] After a voltage Vrect rises to a working voltage threshold of the LDO 2 …, the processor 106 in the wireless charging receiver 10 starts to work (second signal),…After the processor 106 starts to work,..…. After the voltage in the LDO2 reaches the second reference voltage value, the processor 106 controls the switch S1 in the switch module 102 to close.. The LDO 1 in the voltage step-down module 105 is turned on under control of the processor 106, and the wireless charging receiver 10 supplies power to the electrical load after the LDO 1).
Zhou in view of Lee does not disclose/teach a voltage detected from the second coil.
Takada teaches a voltage detected from the second coil ([0021] A voltage sensor 28).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the voltage detected from the wireless power transmission and reception circuit to voltage detected from the second coil of Zhou in view of Lee to be a voltage detected from the second coil in order to detect the distance between the primary-side resonance coil and the secondary-side resonance coil based on a detection signal of the voltage sensor 28 determining whether the detected distance is adequate for allowing the power receiving equipment 20 to efficiently receive power from the power supplying equipment 10 [0021 [0024].
As to claim 12, Zhou in view of in view of Takada teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: receiving wireless power from an external electronic device while operating in the wireless power reception mode, or wirelessly transmitting first power to a first external electronic device while operating in the first wireless power transmission mode ([0077] After the voltage in the LDO2 reaches the second reference voltage value… The LDO 1 in the voltage step-down module 105 is turned on under control of the processor 106, and the wireless charging receiver 10 supplies power to the electrical load after the LDO 1).
As to claim 13, Zhou in view of Takada teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: and controlling the switch circuit to be switched to a switch OFF state based on the second wireless power transmission mode or the power saving mode (prior to the processor being turned on and the LDO1 is turned on identified as “power saving mode”. Prior to turning “on” the processor, S1 is disconnected ([0077]). Also Fig. 4-6 shows both switches disconnected).
Zhou does not disclose/teach switching from the ready mode, the wireless power reception mode or the first wireless power transmission mode to a second wireless power transmission mode or a power saving mode
However since Zhou teaches power saving ([0077] Prior to turning “on” the processor and LDO 1 turning “on” ([0077] identified as the power saving mode).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Zhou to go from a ready mode (i.e. processor is on) to a power save mode in order to reduce the temperature of components when not in use, thereby prolonging the life of the device.
As to claim 14, Zhou in view of Takada teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: connecting the first coil and the second coil in parallel or disconnecting the first coil and the second coil connected in parallel by a switch element (Fig. 4-5 switch 102) included in the switch circuit ([0072] When the second oscillation circuit and the first oscillation circuit are connected in parallel, the second receiving coil 1011 and the first receiving coil 1012 are connected in parallel), and detecting a voltage of the second coil by a voltage detector configured between the second coil and the switch element ([0021][0024] Takada) and providing a first control signal to the switch element when the voltage of the second coil is equal to or greater than a designated threshold voltage ([0018] when the voltage value output by the first oscillation circuit rises to the second reference voltage, the processor in the wireless charging receiver switches from the first oscillation circuit to the second oscillation circuit. Signal from the processor to switch the switch circuit identified as “first control signal”).
As to claim 15, Zhou in view of Takada teaches the method of claim 14, wherein, in the ready mode, the voltage of the second coil ([0021][0024] Takada) is monitored using a voltage detector ([0077] After the processor 106 starts to work (i.e. second control signal “high”) and before the “first oscillation circuit rises to a second reference voltage value” and before LDO 1 is turned on is identified as “the third control signal are respectively controlled to be ”low” and identified as “Ready mode”. When Vrect rises above a “second reference voltage value” and LDO 1 is turned on ([0018]) is identified as the third control signal as “high”).
As to claim 16, Zhou in view of Takada teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising: providing a second control signal and a third control signal to the switch circuit (Fig. 4-5 switch 102 and [0077] elements of processor that controls the switch identified as switch circuit) and controlling the second control signal and the third control signal, respectively to be high or low based on the ready mode ([0077] After the processor 106 starts to work (i.e. second control signal “high”) and before the “first oscillation circuit rises to a second reference voltage value” and LDO 1 is turned on identified as “the third control signal are respectively controlled to be ”low”. When Vrect rises above a “second reference voltage value” and LDO 1 is turned on ([0018]) is identified as the third control signal as “high”), the wireless power reception mode, the first wireless power transmission mode, the second wireless power transmission mode, or the power saving mode of the electronic device ([0077] After the voltage in the LDO 2 reaches the second reference voltage value… The LDO 1 in the voltage step-down module 105 is turned on under control of the processor 106, and the wireless charging receiver 10 supplies power to the electrical load after the LDO 1).
As to claim 17, Zhou in view of Takada teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising: controlling the second control signal to be high and the third control signal to be low in the ready mode ([0077] After the processor 106 starts to work (i.e. second control signal “high”) and before the “first oscillation circuit rises to a second reference voltage value” and LDO 1 is turned on identified as “the third control signal are respectively controlled to be ”low”); and controlling the voltage of the second coil to be detected through a voltage detector of the switch circuit ([0021][0024] Takada) based on the second control signal being high and the third control signal being low ([0077] After the processor 106 starts to work (i.e. second control signal “high”) and before the “first oscillation circuit rises to a second reference voltage value” and LDO 1 is turned on identified as “the third control signal are respectively controlled to be ”low”.),
As to claim 18, Zhou in view of Takada teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising: controlling the second control signal to be high and the third control signal to be high in the wireless power reception mode or the first wireless power transmission mode ([0077] After the processor 106 starts to work (i.e. second control signal “high”) and before the “first oscillation circuit rises to a second reference voltage value” and before LDO 1 is turned on is identified as “the third control signal are respectively controlled to be ”low” and identified as “Ready mode”. When Vrect rises above a “second reference voltage value” and LDO 1 is turned on ([0018]) is identified as the third control signal as “high”… After the voltage in the LDO2 reaches the second reference voltage value… The LDO 1 in the voltage step-down module 105 is turned on under control of the processor 106, and the wireless charging receiver 10 supplies power to the electrical load after the LDO 1).
Zhou does not disclose/teach controlling the first coil and the second coil to be connected in parallel through the switch circuit and the wireless power transmission and reception circuit to receive power from an external electronic device or to transmit first power to a first external electronic device through the first coil and the second coil connected in parallel based on the second control signal being high and the third control signal being high.
However, since Zhou teaches the voltage in the LDO 2 reaches the second reference voltage value, .... The LDO 1 in the voltage step-down module 105 is turned on under control of the processor 106 (second and third control signal controlled to be ”high”) the processor 106 controls the switch S1 in the switch module 102 to close and the switch S2 to open because the second receiving coil 1011 with a lower inductance avoids excessively high reactive power and improve power transfer efficiency, while ensuring power reception ([0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the wireless power transmission and reception circuit to be configured to wirelessly receive power from an external electronic device through the parallel- connected coils in order to avoid excessively high reactive power and improve power transfer efficiency as connecting the coils in parallel will produce an overall low inductance while improving power transfer efficiency.
As to claim 20, Zhou in view of Takada teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising: controlling the second control signal to be low and the third control signal to be low in the power saving mode (prior to the processor being turned on and the LDO1 is turned on); and controlling a parallel connection of the first coil and the second coil to be released and the wireless power transmission and reception circuit to be disabled based on the second control signal being low and the third control signal being low ([0077] Prior to turning “on” the processor and LDO 1 turning “on”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and rewritten to overcome the 112 second rejection.
The following is a statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding dependent claim 9, Although the prior art discloses an electronic device comprising: a battery; a multi-coil circuit configured to include a first coil, a second coil, and a switch circuit connected between the first coil and the second coil; a wireless power transmission and reception circuit configured to be electrically connected to the multi-coil circuit; a power management module configured to be electrically connected to the battery and the wireless power transmission and reception circuit; and a processor configured to be electrically connected to the multi-coil circuit, the wireless power transmission and reception circuit, and the power management module, wherein the switch circuit is configured to: receive a first control signal based on a voltage detected from the second coil, a second control signal by the processor, and a third control signal by the wireless power transmission and reception circuit, and perform a switch-ON operation or a switch-OFF operation based on at least some of the first control signal, the second control signal, and the third control signal, wherein the second control signal and the third control signal are respectively controlled to be high or low based on a ready mode, a wireless power reception mode, a first wireless power transmission mode, a second wireless power transmission mode, or a power saving mode of the electronic device, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein, in the second wireless power transmission mode, based on the second control signal being low and the third control signal being high, the switch circuit is configured to disconnect the first coil and the second coil connected in parallel, and wherein the wireless power transmission and reception circuit is configured to wirelessly transmit second power to a second external electronic device through the first coil.”
Regarding dependent claim 19, Although the prior art discloses a wireless power transmission and reception method in an electronic device, the method comprising: controlling at least some circuits of a switch circuit of a multi-coil circuit including a first coil and a second coil to be turned on and a wireless power transmission and reception circuit to be disabled based on a ready mode, and monitoring a voltage of the second coil through the at least some circuits of the switch circuit; in the ready mode, switching from the ready mode to a wireless power reception mode or a first wireless power transmission mode based on the voltage of the second coil being equal to or greater than a designated threshold voltage; and controlling the switch circuit to be switched on and the wireless power transmission and reception circuit to be enabled based on the wireless power reception mode or the first wireless power transmission mode, providing a second control signal and a third control signal to the switch circuit and controlling the second control signal and the third control signal, respectively to be high or low based on the ready mode, the wireless power reception mode, the first wireless power transmission mode, the second wireless power transmission mode, or the power saving mode of the electronic device, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
controlling the second control signal to be low and the third control signal to be high in the second wireless power transmission mode ; and controlling a parallel connection of the first coil and the second coil to be released and the wireless power transmission and reception circuit to wirelessly transmit second power to a second external electronic device through the first coil based on the second control signal being low and the third control signal to be high”.
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al (US 20130221913) is cited for having in standby mode chargeable terminals are detected and block coils are switched on in parallel.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859