DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 07 May 2026:
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-9 and 12-21 are pending
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 12 are amended
Claims 2-3, 6, 10-11 are cancelled
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07 May 2026, with respect to Claim 7 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
On Page 6 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant has confirmed that the adjectives “sweet”, “divine”, “bold”, etc. recited in the limitation stating “said flavor substance is at least one of sweet grape, divine chocolate, bold cherry, smooth mint, fuzzy peach, or rich honey” are merely descriptive terms that do not add any further limitations to the claims.
As such, Applicant agrees that the Examiner’s interpretation of the recitation is correct and therefore, the rejection of Claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 07 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Pages 7-9 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues that White does not disclose a liner that is “positioned along the inner cylinder” of a tube as recited in Claim 1 because White discloses a discrete insert which is not structurally similar to the Applicant’s claimed liner component.
Specifically, Applicant argues that the positional limitation is critical and requires the liner to “extend along and conform to the inner cylindrical surface of the tube” as illustrated in Applicant’s drawings. In particular, Applicant also draws upon their specification where it is detailed that the liner “lines all or substantially all of the interior of the tube”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that while Applicant provides very specific details regarding the positional limitation of the liner from Applicant’s specifications and drawings, those exact details are not included in the actual positional limitations recited in the claims. Examiner specifically points out that the exact recitation in the claims is that the liner is “positioned along the inner cylinder of the re-sealable tube” and does not specifically state that it must “extend along and conform” or “lines all or substantially all” of the tube as noted in Applicant’s arguments.
The limitation of “positioned along the inner cylinder of the re-sealable tube” as recited in the claims can be reasonably broadly interpreted by one ordinarily skilled in the art as the liner being located (i.e., positioned) next to (i.e., along) the inner cylinder [surface] of the re-sealable tube/container. In this regard, White clearly shows the insert with the flavoring materials 412 positioned next to the inner surface of a cylindrical such that it is next to/along said surface and as such, would read upon the claim’s recited limitation.
Examiner further notes that while the claims are read in light of the specifications, only what is specifically recited in the claims are considered patentable. If the Applicant believes that the positional features of the liner must specifically require positioning along the inner surface to “conform to the inner cylindrical surface of the tube” or “lines all or substantially all of the interior of the tube”, which are not recited in the claims, are critical, then Applicant must include such limitations in the claims.
On Pages 9-10 of Applicant’s Arguments, Applicant further argues that Applicant’s claimed liner and White’s insert are structurally dissimilar solely based on the positioning of the insert/liner; since they are not structurally similar, they also do not teach the further limitations of diffusion and color indicators.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because White’s insert is functionally the same as Applicant’s liner and are not tied to the structural limitation. As previously stated in Examiner’s Office Action, White explicitly discloses that the insert is capable of diffusion and also states that the insert can be marked which is considered equivalent to color indicators (see Office Action dated 07 November 2025, Claim 1 Rejection). As such, regardless of Applicant’s structural argument, it is clear based on White’s disclosure that the insert is capable of functioning the same way as the Applicant’s liner which is to diffuse flavoring and also be configured to be marked.
Regarding the structural arguments, Examiner points to the response above regarding how Applicant’s positional recitation can be reasonably broadly interpreted and that the specific recitations Applicant’s presents in the remarks are not present in the actual claims.
On Pages 11-12 of Applicant’s Arguments, Applicant reiterates the previous arguments regarding structural and functional differences between Applicant’s claimed liner and White’s insert which Examiner has already addressed and will not further discuss here.
Applicant further notes that White discloses that the indicia (i.e., colored marking) is applied to the insert but does not specifically disclose it being applied to the flavoring composition. Applicant argues that since there is not specific disclosure about applying White’s indicia to the flavoring composition, there is no teaching or suggestion for this feature and thus no obvious modification can be made.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that in the previous Office Action (dated 07 November 2024), Examiner directly addresses this point. While it is acknowledged that there is no specific disclosure of applying a colored marking to the flavoring composition, Examiner explains how White broadly notes that the insert is marked by an indicia but not how it is specifically done.
Since White discloses that the flavoring composition is a part of the insert, one ordinarily skilled in the art could reasonably assume that the indicia/colored marking could be applied to the flavoring composition which (since no other method is specified), and predictably expect that the colored flavored composition will mark the insert as a result of the insert comprising said colored flavored composition (see Office Action, Claim 12 Rejection).
As such, Examiner maintains that Poppendieck in view of White and Sinclair fully discloses the limitations recited in the presented claims.
The following rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poppendieck, NIST Internal Final Report NIST.IR.8256 (see attached copy) in view of White et al (Publication No. US20170172200A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Poppendieck, discloses headspace vials (i.e., re-sealable tube) defining an inner cylinder (see Fig. 2.6; cap is shown to be threaded which implies the vial/tube is re-sealable; the vial’s inner space is shown to be cylindrical in shape);
the tube/vial is configured to hold tobacco from a cut cigarette (i.e., smokable article) (see Fig. 2.6; Pg. 14, Section 2.3; Vial 2 shows tobacco from a cigarette being contained within said vial; the unburned cigarette tobacco portion in Vial 2 is considered to be equivalent to a smokable article).
Poppendieck does not explicitly disclose the following:
a liner containing a flavor substance configured to be diffusible, the liner positioned along the inner cylinder of the re-sealable tube;
wherein the liner is colored to indicate a particular flavor corresponding to the flavor substance.
Regarding (I), White, directed to a flavor additive insert accessory associated with a package containing tobacco product, discloses the insert comprises a carrier (i.e., liner) configured to contain a diffusible flavor material (i.e., flavor substance) ([0011, 0027]; discloses the carrier can carry a flavor material that is volatile and thus, will diffuse out of the carrier). The carrier/liner is configured to be inserted into a package containing tobacco material such that the flavor material can be incorporated into the tobacco product (i.e., smokable material) [Abstract, 0021, 0028].
Though White does not explicitly disclose the package holding the tobacco product (i.e., smokable material) is a re-sealable tube, White does disclose a cylindrical tin with an inner cylindrical-shaped space, wherein said tin is illustrated to have a lid, implying that the tin package is a re-sealable container (see annotated Fig. 5; [0028]; the insert with the carrier/liner is shown to be disposed along the inner cylinder space of the tin).
Since Poppendieck also discloses a cylindrical-shaped container (i.e., tube) for holding a smokable material (i.e., tobacco from a cigarette) that is re-sealable, one ordinarily skilled in the art could reasonably expect that the insert disclosed by White could be inserted into another similar re-sealable cylindrical container for holding tobacco such as the tube disclosed by Poppendieck to predictably result in the container holding an insert to diffuse and incorporate a volatile flavor material into a smokable material (i.e., tobacco) within said container.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the re-sealable tube containing tobacco disclosed by Poppendieck to further comprise an insert comprising a carrier/liner containing diffusible flavoring material as disclosed by White, as both are directed to a container for holding tobacco, where this applies a known teaching of incorporating a flavor material using an insert carrier/liner as disclosed by White, to a similar cylindrical-shaped container apparatus for holding tobacco as disclosed by Poppendieck, to predictably result in a cylindrical-shaped tube container comprising smokable material (i.e., tobacco) and flavor insert that can incorporate/diffuse a flavor material into said smokable material.
Regarding (II), White further discloses that the flavor insert can be marked by indicia such as a distinctive color to identify the flavor and flavor strength so that the purchaser/user can select the flavor additive that fits their needs [0030-0031]. Though White does not explicitly disclose the color indicia is applied to the liner (i.e., carrier), it should be noted that White broadly states that the insert is marked. Since the insert comprises the liner/carrier, one ordinarily skilled in the art could reasonably broadly interpret White’s disclosure about marking the insert with color to be marking the carrier component of the insert.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the re-sealable tube containing tobacco disclosed by Poppendieck to further comprise an insert comprising a color-marked carrier/liner containing diffusible flavoring material as disclosed by White, as both are directed to a container for holding tobacco, where White teaches the advantage of using an insert carrier/liner for incorporating a volatile flavor material into a smokable article, wherein marking the insert (i.e., its liner) with a color has the further advantage of allowing the user/purchase to select the flavor additive that suits their need [0030-0031]; this also involves applying a known teaching of incorporating a flavor material using an insert carrier/liner as disclosed by White, to a similar cylindrical-shaped container apparatus for holding tobacco as disclosed by Poppendieck, to predictably result in a cylindrical-shaped tube container comprising smokable material (i.e., tobacco) and flavor insert that can incorporate/diffuse a flavor material into said smokable material.
Regarding Claim 4, Poppendieck further discloses the smokable article comprises cigarettes and tobacco (see Fig. 2.6; Pg. 14, Section 2.3; Vial 2 shows tobacco from a cigarette being contained within said vial; the cigarette and tobacco is unburned and therefore considered equivalent to a smokable article).
Regarding Claim 5, White further discloses the insert carrier (i.e., liner) comprises paper [0010].
Regarding Claim 7, White further discloses the flavor substance in the carrier/liner can be chocolate [0040].
Regarding Claim 8, Poppendieck further discloses the re-sealable tube further comprises a removable cap (see Fig. 2.6; Pgs. 14-15, Section 2.3; vials are shown to have a screw-cap, which implies that the vial is sealable/re-sealable).
Regarding Claim 9, Poppendieck further discloses the removable cap is threadedly coupled to said re-sealable tube for sealing (see Fig. 2.6; Pgs. 14-15, Section 2.3; the caps on the vials are shown to have threading which indicates that said cap is threadedly coupled to the tube).
Regarding Claim 21, Poppendieck further discloses the resealable tube with a screw-cap (see Fig. 2.6). Poppendieck does not explicitly disclose the re-sealable tube comprises one or more holes positioned on the tube, the one or more holes configured to provide ventilation to the re-sealable tube.
However, it should be noted that one ordinarily skilled in the art would understand that the purpose of a cap is to seal or close off an opening (i.e., hole) positioned on the top of the tube where the cap is installed. And since Poppendieck discloses a cap on the re-sealable tube, the tube comprising an opening/hole is implied.
It is further noted that while Poppendieck does not explicitly discloses the opening/hole is configured to provide ventilation to the re-sealable tube, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary (see MPEP § 2112.01.I).
In this case, the vial disclosed by Poppendieck discloses all the structural features recited in the claims, being that the apparatus is a tube/vial, wherein the tube has an opening/hole and is re-sealable (via the removable cap). Since the vial disclosed by Poppendieck discloses all the structural features of the claimed apparatus, one ordinarily skilled in the art would reasonably expect that said apparatus will be able to provide ventilation via the tube/vial’s opening hole.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinclair Jr. (Publication No. US10092031B1) in view of White et al (Publication No. US20170172200A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Sinclair Jr. discloses an apparatus comprising a plastic package (11) with a resealable closure (12) (i.e., resealable container) that holds a cigar (i.e., smokable article) (Fig. 6; Col. 6, Lines 51-57). Sinclair Jr. does not explicitly disclose the following:
the resealable container comprises a flavor container;
wherein the flavor container is a bag configured to hold a composition containing a flavor configured to be diffusible;
and wherein the flavoring composition is colored to indicate a particular flavor corresponding to the flavor substance.
Regarding (I-II), White, directed to a flavor additive insert accessory associated with a package containing tobacco product, discloses the insert pouch (i.e., bag) holding a carrier containing a diffusible flavor material (i.e., flavor composition) ([0011, 0027-0028]; discloses the carrier can carry a flavor material that is volatile and thus, will diffuse out of the carrier). The carrier/liner is configured to be inserted into a package containing tobacco material such that the flavor material can be incorporated into the tobacco product (i.e., smokable material) [Abstract, 0021, 0028].
Though White does not explicitly disclose the package holding the tobacco product (i.e., smokable material) is a re-sealable container, White does disclose a tin container, wherein said tin is illustrated to have a lid, implying that the tin container is a re-sealable container (see annotated Fig. 5; [0028]; the insert with the carrier/liner is shown to be disposed along the inner cylinder space of the tin).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the re-sealable container (i.e., bag) containing tobacco disclosed by Sinclair to further comprise an insert comprising a flavor composition (i.e., carrier with flavor material) as disclosed by White, as both are directed to a container for holding tobacco, where this applies a known teaching of incorporating a flavor material using an insert carrier/liner as disclosed by White, to a similar re-sealable tobacco-holding container apparatus for holding tobacco as disclosed by Sinclair, to predictably result in a container comprising smokable material (i.e., tobacco) and flavor composition that can incorporate/diffuse a flavor material into said smokable material.
Regarding (III), White further discloses that the flavor insert can be marked by indicia such as a distinctive color to identify the flavor and flavor strength so that the purchaser/user can select the flavor additive that fits their needs [0030-0031].
Though White does not explicitly disclose the color indicia is applied to the flavor composition (i.e., carrier with flavor material), it should be noted that White broadly states that the insert is marked. Since the insert comprises the liner/carrier, one ordinarily skilled in the art could reasonably broadly interpret White’s disclosure about marking the insert with color to be marking the carrier component of the insert.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the re-sealable container containing tobacco disclosed by Sinclair to further comprise an insert/flavor container comprising a color-marked flavor composition (i.e., carrier with flavor material) as disclosed by White, as both are directed to a re-sealable container for holding tobacco, where White teaches the advantage of using an insert/flavor container for incorporating a volatile flavor material into a smokable article, wherein marking the insert flavor container (i.e., its flavor composition) with a color has the further advantage of allowing the user/purchase to select the flavor additive that suits their need [0030-0031]; this also involves applying a known teaching of incorporating a flavor material using a flavor container (i.e., insert) as disclosed by White, to a similar re-sealable container apparatus for holding tobacco as disclosed by Sinclair, to predictably result in a container comprising smokable material (i.e., tobacco) and flavor insert/container that can incorporate/diffuse a flavor material into said smokable material.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755