Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 25 line 3 recites “at the starte” and should be amended to “at the start”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 19, 23-25, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murata et al (US Pat No. 6,797,127 B1 published 09/28/2004; hereinafter Murata).
Regarding claim 1, Murata teaches an apparatus (an apparatus 1 – Fig. 1) for drying biological specimens comprising:
a chamber (a space in a casing 2 – Fig. 1) for receiving a biological specimen (the apparatus 1 is capable of receiving a biological specimen – Fig. 1);
an ultraviolet light (a device 5 for radiating ultraviolet rays of a short wavelength – Fig. 1) located within the chamber and operable to provide germicidal light source within the chamber (device 5 for radiating ultraviolet rays of a short wavelength to generate ozone – column 7 line 40);
a halogen light bulb (a halogen lamp 20 – Fig. 1) located within the chamber and operable to heat the chamber (heat rays from halogen lamp 20 capable of heating the space in the apparatus – Fig. 1 and column 7 line 59), and
a fan (a fan such as a suction blower 4A – Fig. 1 and column 8 line 36) for forcing a flow of air through the chamber (the suction blower 4A forces a flow of air A through the space in the apparatus 1 – Fig. 1 and column 8 line 36).
Regarding claim 4, Murata teaches the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the heating element comprises at least one light bulb located within the chamber (a halogen lamp 20 – Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Murata teaches the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the ultraviolet light and the halogen light bulb are controllable independently from one another (the germicidal lamps were put out (only a fan (suction blower) was operated) being control – column 8 lines 35-36).
Regarding claim 6, Murata teaches the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the fan is configured to provide an air flow velocity corresponding to an air pressure setting between 20 pounds per square inch (psi) and 40 psi (the suction blower 4A is capable of being used to provide an air flow velocity corresponding to an air pressure setting between 20 pounds per square inch (psi) and 40 psi – Fig. 1) and the heating element is configured to maintain an internal temperature in the chamber of between 70 degrees Fahrenheit and 80 degrees Fahrenheit (heat rays from halogen lamp 20 capable of to maintaining an internal temperature between 70 degrees Fahrenheit and 80 degrees Fahrenheit – Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Murata teaches the apparatus of claim 1 further comprising a timer circuit (germicidal lamps in the testing apparatus were lighted up – column 8 line 34) (only a fan (suction blower) was operated – column 8 line 26) (the germicidal lamps and the fan are electronics and therefore an electrical system exist to power these systems – column 8 lines 34-36 and Fig. 1) configured to permit an operator to set a duration of a drying cycle (the electrical system is capable of being used to turn the apparatus 1 on and off and is therefore capable being used to setting a duration of a cycle – column 8 lines 34-36 and Fig. 1) and to turn on and off the fan, the ultraviolet light, and the halogen light bulb at the start and end of the drying cycle (the electrical system is capable of being used to turn on and off the germicidal lamp 5, the fan 4, the halogen lamp 20 – column 8 lines 34-36, Table 1, and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Murata teaches an apparatus (an apparatus 1 – Fig. 1) for drying biological specimens comprising:
a chamber (a space in a casing 2 – Fig. 1) for receiving a biological specimen (the apparatus 1 is capable of receiving a biological specimen – Fig. 1);
a germicidal light source (a device 5 for radiating ultraviolet rays of a short wavelength – Fig. 1) in the chamber operable to irradiate the chamber with a germicidal light (device 5 for radiating ultraviolet rays of a short wavelength to generate ozone – column 7 line 40);
a heating element distinct and different in structure from the germicidal light source (a halogen lamp 20 – Fig. 1) located in the chamber and operable to heat the chamber (heat rays from halogen lamp 20 capable of heating the space – Fig. 1 and column 7 line 59);
a fan (a fan such as a suction blower 4A – Fig. 1 and column 8 line 36) for forcing air through the chamber and to exit the chamber via an outlet (the suction blower 4A forces a flow of air A through the space in the apparatus 1 – Fig. 1 and column 8 line 36); and
a filter (a filter device 3A – Fig. 1) positioned to filter air exiting the chamber via the outlet (air passes through the filter device 3A before exiting the air discharging port 4 – Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, Murata teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the heating element comprises at least one light bulb located within the chamber (the halogen lamp 20 – Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 23, Murata teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the germicidal light source comprises at least one ultraviolet light located within the chamber (the device 5 for radiating ultraviolet rays of a short wavelength – Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, Murata teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the fan is configured to provide an air flow velocity corresponding to an air pressure setting between 20 pounds per square inch (psi) and 40 psi (the suction blower 4A is capable of being used to provide an air flow velocity corresponding to an air pressure setting between 20 pounds per square inch (psi) and 40 psi – Fig. 1) and the heating element is configured to maintain an internal temperature in the chamber of between 70 degrees Fahrenheit and 80 degrees Fahrenheit (heat rays from halogen lamp 20 capable of to maintaining an internal temperature between 70 degrees Fahrenheit and 80 degrees Fahrenheit – Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 25, Murata teaches the apparatus of claim 19, further comprising a timer circuit (germicidal lamps in the testing apparatus were lighted up – column 8 line 34) (only a fan (suction blower) was operated – column 8 line 26) (the germicidal lamps and the fan are electronics and therefore an electrical system exist to power these systems – column 8 lines 34-36 and Fig. 1) configured to permit an operator to set a duration of a drying cycle (the electrical system is capable of being used to turn the apparatus 1 on and off and is therefore capable being used to setting a duration of a cycle – column 8 lines 34-36 and Fig. 1) and to turn on and off the fan, the germicidal light source, and the heating element at the starte and end of the drying cycle (the electrical system is capable of being used to turn on and off the germicidal lamp 5, the fan 4, the halogen lamp 20 – column 8 lines 34-36, Table 1, and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 29, Murata teaches an apparatus (an apparatus 1 – Fig. 1) for drying biological specimens comprising:
a chamber (a space in a casing 2 – Fig. 1) for receiving a biological specimen (the apparatus 1 is capable of receiving a biological specimen – Fig. 1);
an ultraviolet light (a device 5 for radiating ultraviolet rays of a short wavelength – Fig. 1) located within the chamber and operable to provide germicidal light within the chamber (device 5 for radiating ultraviolet rays of a short wavelength to generate ozone – column 7 line 40);
a resistive heating element (a halogen lamp 20 – Fig. 1) located within the chamber and operable to convert current into heat through resistive dissipation to heat the chamber (heat rays from halogen lamp 20 capable of heating the space in the apparatus – Fig. 1 and column 7 line 59);
a fan (a fan such as a suction blower 4A – Fig. 1 and column 8 line 36) for circulating air through the chamber (the suction blower 4A forces a flow of air A through the space in the apparatus 1 – Fig. 1 and column 8 line 36); and
a filter (a filter device 3A – Fig. 1) positioned to filter air exiting the chamber via the outlet (air passes through the filter device 3A before exiting the air discharging port 4 – Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 8, 10, 20-21, 26, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata in view of Kim (US20180303984A1 published 10/25/2018).
Regarding claim 2, Murata teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Murata does not teach further comprising a panel forming the bottom of the chamber, wherein the panel is horizontally slidable between a first position in which it forms a bottom of the enclosed chamber and a second position in which it is substantially outside of the chamber.
Kim teaches an ultraviolet sterilizer comprising a panel forming the bottom of the chamber (a shelf 211 at the bottom of the accommodation part 210 – paragraph 66 and Figs. 1-2), wherein the panel is horizontally slidable between a first position in which it forms a bottom of the enclosed chamber and a second position in which it is substantially outside of the chamber (the shelf 211 is capable of being slid in and out of the accommodation part 210 – paragraph 66 and Figs. 1-2). Kim teaches to use the shelf to disinfect and dry items such as toys, nursing bottles, and dishes (paragraph 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus, as taught by Murata, with the shelf, taught by Kim, to gain the ability to disinfect and dry items such as toys, nursing bottles, and dishes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify because Murata and Kim teach devices for UV sterilization.
Regarding claim 3, Murata, modified by Kim, teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
However, Murata, modified by Kim, does not teach further comprising a vertical door operable between an open position, in which the chamber is exposed and a closed position in which the chamber is closed, the chamber being enclosed by at least the slidable bottom panel and the door.
Kim teaches an ultraviolet sterilizer comprising a vertical door (a cap 100 – Figs. 1-2) operable between an open position, in which the chamber is exposed and a closed position in which the chamber is closed (the cap 100 operable between an open position and closed position – Figs. 1-2), the chamber being enclosed by at least the slidable bottom panel and the door (the accommodation part 210 being enclosed by the shelf 211 and the cap 100 – Figs. 1-2). Kim teaches that the cap 100 has a check window 140 disposed on the center of the front surface thereof to check item put inside of the accommodation part 210 (paragraph 62 and Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus, as taught by Murata as modified by Kim, with the cap 100 and check window 140, taught by Kim, to gain the ability to see item put inside of the apparatus. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Murata and Kim teach devices for UV sterilization.
Regarding claim 8, Murata teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Murata does not teach further comprising at least one control circuit configured to permit an operator to selectively set at least one of a temperature within the chamber, an air flow velocity, an amount of germicidal light, and a time duration of a drying operation.
Kim teaches an ultraviolet sterilizer comprising at least one control circuit (a sterilizer control buttons 421 – Fig. 5) configured to permit an operator to selectively set at least one of a temperature within the chamber, an air flow velocity, an amount of germicidal light, and a time duration of a drying operation (the sterilizer control buttons 421 operate the fan 340 and the ultraviolet lamp 214 under an automatic course during a given period of time – paragraph 77). Kim teaches that the control states through the sterilizer control buttons 421 are displayed on the LCD screen 430 so that they can be checked with the naked eye (paragraph 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus, as taught by Murata, with the sterilizer control buttons 421 and the LCD screen 430, to automate the device and display the control states so that they can be checked with the naked eye. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Murata and Kim teach devices for UV sterilization.
Regarding claim 10, Murata teaches the apparatus of claim 1, that permits a user to selectively enable or disable the fan, the ultraviolet light, and the halogen light bulb independently from each other (column 8 lines 35-38 and Table 1).
However, Murata does not teach further comprising a user interface.
Kim teaches an ultraviolet sterilizer comprising a user interface (a sterilizer control buttons 421 – Fig. 5) (the sterilizer control buttons 421 operate the fan 340 or the ultraviolet lamp 214, independently of each other – paragraph 77). Kim teaches that the control states through the sterilizer control buttons 421 are displayed on the LCD screen 430 so that they can be checked with the naked eye (paragraph 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus, as taught by Murata, with the sterilizer control buttons 421 and the LCD screen 430, to display the control states so that they can be checked with the naked eye. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Murata and Kim teach devices for UV sterilization.
Regarding claim 20, Murata teaches the apparatus of claim 19.
However, Murata does not teach further comprising a panel forming the bottom of the chamber, wherein the panel is horizontally slidable between a first position in which it forms a bottom of the enclosed chamber and a second position in which it is substantially outside of the chamber.
Kim teaches an ultraviolet sterilizer comprising a panel forming the bottom of the chamber (a shelf 211 at the bottom of the accommodation part 210 – paragraph 66 and Figs. 1-2), wherein the panel is horizontally slidable between a first position in which it forms a bottom of the enclosed chamber and a second position in which it is substantially outside of the chamber (the shelf 211 is capable of being slid in and out of the accommodation part 210 – paragraph 66 and Figs. 1-2). Kim teaches to use the shelf to disinfect and dry items such as toys, nursing bottles, and dishes (paragraph 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus, as taught by Murata, with the shelf, taught by Kim, to gain the ability to disinfect and dry items such as toys, nursing bottles, and dishes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify because Murata and Kim teach devices for UV sterilization.
Regarding claim 21, Murata, modified by Kim, teaches the apparatus of claim 20.
However, Murata, modified by Kim, does not teach further comprising a vertical door operable between an open position, in which the chamber is exposed and a closed position in which the chamber is closed, the chamber being enclosed by at least the slidable bottom panel and the door.
Kim teaches an ultraviolet sterilizer comprising a vertical door (a cap 100 – Figs. 1-2) operable between an open position, in which the chamber is exposed and a closed position in which the chamber is closed (the cap 100 operable between an open position and closed position – Figs. 1-2), the chamber being enclosed by at least the slidable bottom panel and the door (the accommodation part 210 being enclosed by the shelf 211 and the cap 100 – Figs. 1-2). Kim teaches that the cap 100 has a check window 140 disposed on the center of the front surface thereof to check item put inside of the accommodation part 210 (paragraph 62 and Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus, as taught by Murata as modified by Kim, with the cap 100 and check window 140, taught by Kim, to gain the ability to see item put inside of the apparatus. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Murata and Kim teach devices for UV sterilization.
Regarding claim 26, Murata teaches the apparatus of claim 19, further comprising at least one control circuit configured to permit an operator to selectively set at least a temperature within the chamber and a time duration.
However, Murata does not teach further comprising at least one control circuit configured to permit an operator to selectively set at least a temperature within the chamber and a time duration.
Kim teaches an ultraviolet sterilizer comprising at least one control circuit (a sterilizer control buttons 421 – Fig. 5) configured to permit an operator to selectively set at least a temperature within the chamber and a time duration (the sterilizer control buttons 421 operate the fan 340 and the ultraviolet lamp 214 under an automatic course during a given period of time – paragraph 77). Kim teaches that the control states through the sterilizer control buttons 421 are displayed on the LCD screen 430 so that they can be checked with the naked eye (paragraph 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus, as taught by Murata, with the sterilizer control buttons 421 and the LCD screen 430, to automate the device and display the control states so that they can be checked with the naked eye. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Murata and Kim teach devices for UV sterilization.
Regarding claim 28, Murata teaches the apparatus of claim 19, permits a user to selectively enable or disable the fan, the germicidal light, and the heating element independently from each other (column 8 lines 35-38 and Table 1).
However, Murata does not teach further comprising a user interface.
Kim teaches an ultraviolet sterilizer comprising a user interface (a sterilizer control buttons 421 – Fig. 5) (the sterilizer control buttons 421 operate the fan 340 or the ultraviolet lamp 214, independently of each other – paragraph 77). Kim teaches that the control states through the sterilizer control buttons 421 are displayed on the LCD screen 430 so that they can be checked with the naked eye (paragraph 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus, as taught by Murata, with the sterilizer control buttons 421 and the LCD screen 430, to display the control states so that they can be checked with the naked eye. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Murata and Kim teach devices for UV sterilization.
Claims 9 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata, modified by Kim, in view of Campalans et al (US20180098559A1 published 04/12/2018; hereinafter Campalans).
Regarding claim 9, Murata, modified by Kim, teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
Murata, modified by Kim, do not teach the apparatus further comprising a temperature sensor and a temperature controller.
Campalans teaches a sanitation device with a drying unit comprising a temperature sensor (one or more sensors in the drying unit relay data measured from the atmosphere within the drying unit, such as temperature, humidity, pressure – paragraph 10) and a temperature controller (temperature control systems, which can be monitored and controlled to optimize the conditions for the drying and/or curing – paragraph 9). Campalans teaches using the temperature sensor and controller to optimize the conditions for the drying and/or curing (paragraphs 9-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus, as taught by Murata, as modified by Kim, with the temperature sensor and controller, taught by Campalans, to optimize the conditions for the drying and/or curing. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Murata, Kim, Campalans teach devices for sterilization and drying.
Regarding claim 27, Murata, modified by Kim, teaches the apparatus of claim 26,
Murata, modified by Kim, do not teach further comprising a temperature sensor and an air pressure sensor located within the chamber.
Campalans teaches a sanitation device with a drying unit comprising a temperature sensor and an air pressure sensor located within the chamber (one or more sensors in the drying unit relay data measured from the atmosphere within the drying unit, such as temperature, humidity, pressure – paragraph 10). Campalans teaches using the sensors to enable drying and/or curing for perishable items that degrade in the presence of oxygen and/or humidity (paragraph 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus, as taught by Murata, as modified by Kim, with the temperature and pressure sensors, taught by Campalans, to enable drying and/or curing for perishable items that degrade in the presence of oxygen and/or humidity. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Murata, Kim, Campalans teach devices for sterilization and drying.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 19, and 29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/T.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798