DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This action responds to the amendment filed on 09-17-2025. Claims 1, 14, 15, 23 and 24 have been amended. Claims 1-19 and 21-25 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-19 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Awiszus et al. (US 2017/0372216) in view of Howes. (US 2016/0076858).
Consider Claim 1, Awisus teaches a communication device for a hearing protection apparatus(see fig. 1), wherein the hearing protection apparatus is configured for wear by a user(see fig. 2), the communication device comprising: a processing unit; a memory(see fig. 2); and an interface connected to the processing unit(see fig.8); wherein the processing unit of the communication device is configured to:
obtain a first input via the interface(see fig. 1); wherein the first input is indicative of a presence of an event(see figs. 2-6),
obtain a first audio output signal based on the first input indicative of the presence of the event (see figs. 11-13)
first event data indicative of the event(see figs. 3-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]), wherein the first event data is comprised in the first input or is based on an identification of the event(see figs. 8-21B and paragraphs[0139]-[0193]), wherein the first audio output signal comprises a first notification informing, the user of a type(such as alter or alarms or an ambient noise and see paragraphs[0161]-[0172])) of a sound associated with the event(see figs. 8-21B and paragraphs[0139]-[0193]); but Awisus does not explicitly teach provide the first audio output signal for transmission to the hearing protection apparatus.
However, Howes teaches to obtain a first input via the interface(see fig. 5(502)), wherein the first input is indicative of a presence of an event;
obtain a first audio output signal(gunshot(s)) based on
the first input indicative of the presence of the event(see fig. 5(502)); and
provide(see fig. 5) the first audio output signal for transmission to the hearing protection apparatus(see fig. 1((102A, 102B)), wherein the first audio output signal comprises a first notification informing(see fig. 5(518), the user of a type (such as calibration tone) of a sound (see fig. 5(522-528) associated with the event(test
gunshots)(see figs. 1-5(530) and paragraphs[0032]-[0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of
Howes into the teaching of Awisus to provide a pair of hearing protection devices and a portable device. The hearing protection devices each include an electronic circuit that detects a gunshot and produces detection information characterizing the gunshot as detected. The difference between the detection information produced by the hearing protection devices worn in or over different ears of the shooter allows the portable devices to identify the gunshot as being fired by the shooter and subsequently prompt the shooter to give a voice command indicating the result of the gunshot to the portable device for the scoring without manual entry.
Consider Claims 2 and 3, Awisus as modified by Howes teaches the communication device wherein the interface comprises a hearing protection device interface for communication with the hearing protection device, and/or a radio unit interface for wireless communication with an external device(In Howes, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs[0032]-[0045]); and the communication device wherein the interface comprises a radio unit interface, and wherein the first input comprises the first event data an identifier of the event, wherein the identifier is provisioned from a server device and received by the communication device via the radio unit interface (see figs. 3-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]).
Consider Claims 4 and 5, Awisus as modified by Howes teaches the communication device wherein the first input comprises first audio input from a first microphone of the hearing protection apparatus(see figs. 8-21B and paragraphs[0183]-[0202]); and the communication device wherein the processing unit is configured to determine first event data identifying the even based on the first input(see figs. 3-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]).
Consider Claims 6 and 7, Awisus as modified by Howes teaches the communication device wherein the processing unit is configured to: obtain a second input (see figs. 3-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]); and the communication device wherein the interface comprises a radio unit interface, and wherein the processing unit is configured to obtain the second input provisioned a server device and received by the communication device via the radio unit interface(see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]).
Consider Claims 8 and 9, Awisus as modified by Howes teaches the communication device wherein the first input comprises a first audio input from a first microphone of the hearing protection apparatus, and wherein the second input comprises a second audio input from a second microphone received by the communication device (In Howes, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]); and The communication device according to claim 6, wherein the processing unit is configured to determine first event data based on the first input, and to determine second event data based on the second input, and wherein the first audio output signal is based on both the first event data and the second event data(In Howes, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs[0015]-[0031]).
Consider Claims 10 and 11, Awisus as modified by Howes teaches
the communication device wherein the processing unit is configured to: obtain a second audio output signal associated with the event; and provide the second audio output signal for transmission to the hearing protection device via the interface(In Howes, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs[0032]-[0044]); and
the communication device wherein the processing unit is configured to: obtain position data, via the interface and/or from a position module of the communication device (see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]).
Consider Claims 12 and 13, Awisus as modified by Howes teaches the communication device, wherein the position data comprises first direction data indicative of a first direction of the event. (see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]); and The communication device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to obtain the first audio output signal from the memory based on an identifier representing the identification of the event(In Howes, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs[0032]-[0045]).
Consider Claim 14, Awisus teaches a method performed by a communication device of a hearing protection apparatus(see fig. 1), the communication device comprising a processing unit, a memory, and an interface connected to the processing unit, the method comprising:
obtain a first input via the interface(see fig. 1); wherein the first input is indicative of a presence of an event(see figs. 2-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]),
obtain a first audio output signal based on the first input indicative of the presence event(see figs. 3-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]), wherein the first event data is comprised in the first input or is based on an identification of the event(see figs. 8-21B and paragraphs[0139]-[0193]), wherein the first audio output signal comprises a first notification informing, the user of a type(such as alter or alarms or an ambient noise and see paragraphs[0161]-[0172])) of a sound associated with the event(see figs. 8-21B and paragraphs[0139]-[0193]); but Awisus does not explicitly teach provide the first audio output signal for transmission to the hearing protection apparatus.
However, Howes teaches to obtain a first input via the interface(see fig/ 5(502)), wherein the first input is indicative of a presence of an event;
obtain a first audio output signal(gunshot(s)) based on
the first input indicative of the presence of the event(see fig. 5(502)); and
provide(see fig. 5) the first audio output signal for transmission to the hearing protection apparatus(see fig. 1((102A, 102B)), wherein the first audio output signal comprises a first notification informing(see fig. 5(518), the user of a type
(such as calibration tone) of a sound (see fig. 5(522-528) associated with the event (test gunshots)(see figs. 1-5(530) and paragraphs[0032]-[0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Howes into the teaching of Awisus to provide a pair of hearing protection devices and a portable device. The hearing protection devices each include an electronic circuit that detects a gunshot and produces detection information characterizing the gunshot as detected. The difference between the detection information produced by the hearing protection devices worn in or over different ears of the shooter allows the portable devices to identify the gunshot as being fired by the shooter and subsequently prompt the shooter to give a voice command indicating the result of the gunshot to the portable device for the scoring without manual entry.
Consider Claim 15, Awisus teaches a server device(see fig. 1) for event monitoring in a communication system comprising the server device and a communication device for a hearing protection apparatus, the server device comprising: one or more processing units(see figs. 1-8 and see paragraphs[0032 ]-[0033]))); a memory; and an interface; wherein the server device is configured to:
obtain first event data(see fig. 8); determine a presence of an event based on the first event data;
after the presence of the event is determined, determine a type(such as alter or alarms or an ambient noise and see paragraphs[0161]-[0172]))
of the event(see figs. 8-21B and paragraphs[0139]-[0193]);
determine a first input based on the type(such as alter or alarms or an ambient noise and see paragraphs[0161]-[0172]))
of the sound associated with the event(see figs. 3-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]); and provide the first input via the interface(see figs. 8-21B and paragraphs[0139]-[0193]); but Awisus does not explicitly teach after the presence of the event is determined, determine a type of a sound associated with the event.
Howes teaches to obtain first event data; determine a presence of an event based on the first event data(see fig. 5(502));
after the presence of the event is determined(see fig. 5),
determine a type of a sound (such as calibration tone) associated with the event(test gunshots)(see figs. 1-5(530) and paragraphs[0032]-[0045]); determine a first input based on the type of the sound associated with the event; and provide the first input via the interface(see fig/ 5(502)) and see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs[0032]-[0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of an identification of a sound (see fig. 5(522-528) associated with the event(see figs. 1-
Howes into the teaching of Awisus to provide a pair of hearing protection devices and a portable device. The hearing protection devices each include an electronic circuit that detects a gunshot and produces detection information characterizing the gunshot as detected. The difference between the detection information produced by the hearing protection devices worn in or over different ears of the shooter allows the portable devices to identify the gunshot as being fired by the shooter and subsequently prompt the shooter to give a voice command indicating the result of the gunshot to the portable device for the scoring without manual entry.
Consider Claims 16 and 17, Awisus as modified by Howes teaches the communication device wherein the first audio output signal is also based on the position data, and wherein the first audio output signal comprises a directional notification that is based on the position data, the directional notification being different from the first notification(see figs. 3-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]); and the communication device wherein the second audio output signal comprises a second notification informing the user of a position of the event(see figs. 3-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]),.
Consider Claims 18 and 19, Awisus as modified by Howes teaches the communication device wherein the position of the event comprises a direction of the event from a perspective of the user; and the communication device wherein the first input comprises first event data identifying the event(see figs. 3-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]),
Consider Claims 20 and 21, Awisus as modified by Howes teaches the communication device wherein the identification of the event comprises an identification of an event type of the event(see figs. 3-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]); and the communication device wherein the memory is configured to store a plurality of audio data in association with respective event type identifiers, and wherein the processing unit is configured to obtain the first audio output signal by selecting one of the audio data based on one of the event type identifiers being associated with the event(In Howes, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs[0032]-[0045]).
Consider Claims 22 and 23, Awisus as modified by Howes teaches the communication device wherein an amplitude or a pitch associated with the first audio output signal comprising the first notification is based on a distance between the user and the event(see figs. 3-8 and paragraphs[0148]-[0161]); and the communication device wherein the event is an explosion event, and wherein the first notification is configured to inform the user that the type of the sound is an explosion sound(In Howes, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs[0032]-[0045])..
Consider Claims 24 and 25, Awisus as modified by Howes teaches the communication device wherein the event is a gun- shot event, and wherein the first notification is configured to inform the user that the type of the sound is a gun-shot sound(In Howes, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs[0032]-[0045]); and the communication device wherein the second audio output signal comprises a second notification informing the user of a distance of the event from the user(see figs. 3-8 and paragraphs[0148]-[0161]).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments filed on 09-17-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Claims 1-14 and 16-21 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Awiszus in view of US 2016/0076858 (Howes). Claims 1, 14
Claim 1 has been amended to recite “provide the first audio output signal for transmission to the hearing protection apparatus, wherein the first audio output signal comprises a first notification informing the user of a type of a sound associated with the event”. Awiszus and Howes not disclose or suggest the above features(see the remarks page last paragraph to 11 page 2nd paragraph).
The examiner disagrees that argument respectfully.
Awisus discloses a communication device for a hearing protection apparatus(see fig. 1), wherein the hearing protection apparatus is configured for wear by a user(see fig. 2), the communication device comprising: a processing unit; a memory(see fig. 2); and an interface connected to the processing unit(see fig.8); wherein the processing unit of the communication device is configured to:
obtain a first input via the interface(see fig. 1); wherein the first input is indicative of a presence of an event(see figs. 2-6),
obtain a first audio output signal based on the first input indicative of the presence of the event (see figs. 11-13)
first event data indicative of the event(see figs. 3-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]), wherein the first event data is comprised in the first input or is based on an identification of the event(see figs. 8-21B and paragraphs[0139]-[0193]), wherein the first audio output signal comprises a first notification informing, the user of a type(such as alter or alarms or an ambient noise and see paragraphs[0161]-[0172])) of a sound associated with the event(see figs. 8-21B and paragraphs[0139]-[0193]).
On the other hand, Howes discloses to obtain a first input via the interface(see fig. 5(502)), wherein the first input is indicative of a presence of an event;
obtain a first audio output signal(gunshot(s)) based on
the first input indicative of the presence of the event(see fig. 5(502)); and
provide(see fig. 5) the first audio output signal for transmission to the hearing protection apparatus(see fig. 1((102A, 102B)), wherein the first audio output signal comprises a first notification informing(see fig. 5(518), the user of a type (such as calibration tone) of a sound (see fig. 5(522-528) associated with the event(test
gunshots)(see figs. 1-5(530) and paragraphs[0032]-[0045]). The combination meets the limitation as recited in claims 1 and 14.
Further more, Awisus also discloses a server device(see fig. 1) for event monitoring in a communication system comprising the server device and a communication device for a hearing protection apparatus, the server device comprising: one or more processing units(see figs. 1-8 and see paragraphs[0032 ]-[0033]))); a memory; and an interface; wherein the server device is configured to:
obtain first event data(see fig. 8); determine a presence of an event based on the first event data;
after the presence of the event is determined, determine a type(such as alter or alarms or an ambient noise and see paragraphs[0161]-[0172]))
of the event(see figs. 8-21B and paragraphs[0139]-[0193]);
determine a first input based on the type(such as alter or alarms or an ambient noise and see paragraphs[0161]-[0172]))
of the sound associated with the event(see figs. 3-8 and paragraphs[0101]-[0125]); and provide the first input via the interface(see figs. 8-21B and paragraphs[0139]-[0193]).
On the other hand,
Howes discloses to obtain first event data; determine a presence of an event based on the first event data(see fig. 5(502));
after the presence of the event is determined(see fig. 5),
determine a type of a sound (such as calibration tone) associated with the event(test gunshots)(see figs. 1-5(530) and paragraphs[0032]-[0045]); determine a first input based on the type of the sound associated with the event; and provide the first input via the interface(see fig/ 5(502)) and see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs[0032]-[0045]). The combination meets the limitation as recited in claim 15.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Shastry et al. (US 2017/0374455) and Copt et al. (US 2019/0318719) are cited to show other HEARING PROTECTION APPARATUS WITH CONTEXTUAL AUDIO GENERATION COMMUNICATION DEVICE, AND RELATED METHODS.
10. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
should be directed to Lao,Lun-See whose telephone number is (571) 272-7501 The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 to 5:30.
supervisor, Nguyen Duc M, can be reached on (571) 272-7503.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/LUN-SEE LAO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2691 Patent Examiner
US Patent and Trademark Office
Knox
571-272-7501
Date 01-31-2026