DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. It is noted Nath was argued pertaining to the architecture material and the ability of a stent to open and close at an end was not. Thus, the new teaching of Besselink addresses the new concept of a bistable unit cell and Nath is used for the concept of providing unit cells that open at a downstream end.
Applicant did not submit any arguments against the teaching references used in 103 obviousness rejections pointing out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions that the references did not teach those features. Thus, since Applicant had only argued specifically the Nath reference pertaining to the architected material, these teachings are used in new combination with the Besselink reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,5,6,12,19,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Besselink (6488702) in view of Nath (WO 2018/022862). Besselink show (Fig. 5B) a stent comprising: a first region comprising an upstream end, a downstream end, and a lumen extending a length between the upstream end and the downstream end, the first region having an elongated tubular configuration where each of the downstream end and the upstream end are expanded radially and the first region defines a first diameter along the length of the lumen, col. 5, lines 34-38. It is also noted that Besselink also discloses (col. 10, lines 61-66) a “stent” or conduit with a lumen having a region comprised of one or more architected materials comprising a bistable unit cell, where the bistable unit cell has a first geometric configuration and a second geometric configuration, and configured to undergo snap-through transitions between the first and second geometric configurations; and wherein the architected materials are configured to move the unit cell between an open configuration (Fig. 20) and a closed configuration (Fig. 19). However, Besselink did not explicitly disclose the bistable cells arranged at a downstream end to define an outlet that opens and closes. It is noted Besselink did state (col. 11, lines 10-17) other orientations for the bistable cell configured to open and close could be utilized. Nath teaches (Fig. 4) a stent having a second region in which structure is configured to open and close. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a bistable unit cell configured to open and close to define a second region of a stent having a plurality of bistable unit cells (both Besselink and Nath illustrate unit cells about a circumference) and place at a downstream end as taught by Nath with the stent of Besselink having bistable unit cells using a structure that opens and closes due to the architected material in order to be placed at a junction between one vessel to another or organ, see Fig. 8 of Nath and prevent backflow. Regarding claim 12, it is interpreted the same as claim 1, other than the required recitation of a valve. It is noted that Besselink discloses (Figs. 19,20) a valve 640 included in the conduit. Besselink further discloses (col. 11, lines 13-20, 46) the architected material about the conduit or valve is configured to compress or decompress the region to restrict or allow fluid flow therethrough. Regarding claim 2, it is noted Besselink stated (col. 11) other applications for the bistable valve could be used. Nath teaches (paragraph 29) the stent is placed in a bile duct, and thus when moving between the open and closed configuration, the combined teachings result in a operating structure which emulates the mechanics and associated geometric changes of an ampulla of Vater during contraction and relaxation of a Sphincter of Oddi (SO). With respect to claim 3, Besselink discloses (col. 9, lines 20,21) the stent can be collapsed and expanded. Thus, it can be construed the first region further comprises a reduced configuration where each of the downstream end and the upstream end are collapsed relative to each other in the tubular configuration and the first region defines a second diameter along the length of the lumen, wherein the second diameter is less than the first diameter of the elongated tubular configuration. With respect to claim 5, it is noted that Besselink discloses (col. 24-29) there is stent structure that stiffens when subjected to a circumferential load, a concentric radial force, or an eccentric radial force. Regarding claim 6, Besselink discloses to have the bistable capability along the length of the stent, see Figs. 5A,B, thus there can be also a first region with architected material. Regarding claim 19, Besselink shows (Fig. 5A) a stent is provided with an interior surface that defines the lumen of the first region, and further discloses (col. 3, lines 28-30) the interior surface comprising two or more ASMA unit cells. Regarding claim 20, it is noted that Besselink discloses (col. 9) a stent is constructed with unit cells having a wavelength. However, Besselink did not explicitly disclose the unit cells have a wavelength of 35mm, 40mm, 50mm or 60mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to find the optimal wavelength including one of either 35mm, 40mm, 50mm or 60mm in the stent of Besselink as modified by Nath since such a modification only involves routine skill in the art and is a result dependent variable. Thus, in selecting the correct size, dimensions one will choose the appropriate wavelength to match the vessel properties needed to treat the patient conditions.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Besselink (6488702) in view of Nath (WO 2018/022862) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Howard et al. (2015/0250579). Besselink in view of Nath is explained supra. However, Besselink as modified by Nath did not explicitly state the first region is configured for self- expansion from the reduced configuration to the tubular configuration. Howard et al. did state (paragraph 2) the stent is used for a bile duct. Howard et al. further teach (paragraph 17) that stents for use in treating a duct can be provided as self-expanding. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize self-expanding material for a stent as taught by Howard et al. for the first region of the stent of Besselink as modified by Nath to allow to expand from a reduced configuration to the tubular configuration which enables a surgeon to deliver such a structure in a minimally invasive procedure.
Claim(s) 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Besselink (6488702) in view of Nath (WO 2018/022862) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hingston et al. (2018/0289462). Besselink in view of Nath is explained supra. However, Besselink as modified by Nath did not explicitly state the valve is a one-way valve. It is noted that Besselink illustrated the valve could be in the first region (Figs. 19, 20) since the second region was recited to be from an end. Hingston et al. teach (Fig. 10) a stent 20 with a one-way valve 30. Hingston et al. also teach (paragraph 45) the stent can be used in biliary duct. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a one-way valve as taught by Hingston et al. in the stent of Besselink as modified by Nath such that it aids in prevention of bile reflux, see paragraph 62 of Hingston et al. Regarding claim 8, it can be seen (Fig. 10) that the one-way valve comprises an interior surface defining the lumen and extending between the upstream end and the downstream end, the interior surface comprising one or more interior walls of a fixed-geometry passive check valve configuration to permit free passage of fluid through the lumen in a first direction but deter or prevent back flow of the fluid in a direction opposite the first direction. With respect to claim 9, It is noted that Besselink discloses (Figs. 19,20) a valve 640 included in the conduit. Besselink further discloses (col. 11, lines 13-20, 46) the architected material about the conduit or valve is configured to compress or decompress the region to restrict or allow fluid flow therethrough.
Claim(s) 10,11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Besselink (6488702) in view of Nath (WO 2018/022862) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ben Muvhar (WO 2010/109467). Besselink in view of Nath is explained supra. However, Besselink as modified by Nath did not explicitly state the first and second region are biodegradable and the first region comprises a drug eluting stent. Ben Muvhar teaches (page 6, lines 3,4) a gastrointestinal implantable device can be biodegradable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize biodegradable material for an implantable structure used in the gastrointestinal tract as taught by Ben Muvhar and provide the stent of Besselink as modified by Nath the ability to degrade over time but provide the necessary functional capabilities to assist the malfunctioning duct or region structural support. Ben Muvhar additionally teach (page 16, lines 15,16) a drug can be provided with an implantable mesh structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. to utilize a drug with an implantable mesh as taught by Ben Muvhar and provide the stent of Besselink as modified by Nath the ability to treat with a pharmaceutical and provide a therapeutic effect.
/BRIAN E PELLEGRINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799