The response filed 11/18/2025 has been considered.
Claims 21, 23-25 and 28-43 are pending.
Claims 1-20, 22 and 26-27 are cancelled.
Claims 21, 23-25 and 28-43 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 21 and 37 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xing et al. (Pub. No.: US 20060120395 A1) in view of Shim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20110299423 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Xing and Shim.
In regard to Claim 21, Xing teaches A method comprising: transmitting, by a first device (base station, Para. 41, FIG. 4a), a first beacon in a plurality of frequency subbands (a process for determining the channel characteristics begins at a block 400, wherein a base station broadcasts a beacon signal covering all sub-channels over the frequency bandwidth allocated to that station from each of its antenna resources, Para. 41, FIG. 4a).
Xing teaches receiving, by the first device, a report (Continuing at a block 404 in FIG. 4a, after, or as channel characteristic measurements are taken, corresponding data is returned to the base station, Para. 43, FIG. 4a) from a second device (subscriber (device), Para. 42, FIG. 4a) at a first frequency subband of the plurality of frequency subbands (this information is returned via a management channel employed for such purposes, Para. 43, FIG. 4a) during a slot (channel schemes based on time slots (e.g., OFDMA, CDMA, TDMA), Para. 41), wherein the report comprises a downlink quality indicator for each of the plurality of frequency subbands (The feedback of information from each subscriber to the base station contains an SINR value (e.g., peak or average) for each subchannel. A channel indexing scheme may be employed to identify the feedback data for each subchannel, Para. 48, FIGS. 4a, 6).
Xing teaches determining a downlink frequency subband (Downlink/Bi-Directional Link Channel Characterization, Para. 43. Upon receiving the feedback from a subscriber, the base station selects a subchannel to assign to the subscriber, Para. 49, FIG. 4a) of the plurality of frequency subbands (sub-channels over the frequency bandwidth, Para. 41, FIG. 4a) based on the report (Upon receiving the feedback from a subscriber, Para. 49, FIG. 4a).
Xing teaches transmitting, by the first device, a subband allocation message over a selected frequency subband of the plurality of frequency subbands (After subchannel selection, the base station notifies the subscriber about the subchannel assignment through a downlink common control channel or through a dedicated downlink traffic channel, Para. 49, FIG. 4a), wherein the subband allocation message identifies the downlink frequency subband (the base station notifies the subscriber about the subchannel assignment, Para. 49, FIG. 4a), and an uplink frequency subband of the plurality of frequency subbands (channel characteristic measurement data will be collected in accordance with the operations of the flowcharts shown in FIGS. 4a and/or 4b, as applicable, Para. 58, FIGS. 4a, 4b. Determining channel characteristics for uplink channels begins at a block 450 (FIG. 4b), Para. 51, FIG. 4b. The best available uplink channel to assign the subscriber is then selected in a block 456, Para. 53, FIG. 4b), wherein the downlink frequency subband is different from the uplink frequency subband (in the FDD scheme, the uplink and downlink operate on different RF channels, Para. 33).
Xing teaches transmitting, by the first device, a data message to the second device via the downlink frequency subband (The base station then transmits to a selected subscriber (identified by the data frame) using a unidirectional wireless link, which is referred to as a "downlink", Para. 33, FIG. 1, 3a, 4a).
Xing teaches receiving, by the first device, an acknowledgement message from the second device via the uplink frequency subband (Once the basic communication link is established, each subscriber can continue to send the feedback to the base station using a dedicated traffic channel (e.g., one or more predefined uplink access channels), Para. 49, FIGS. 4a, 4b).
Although Xing teaches transmitting a first beacon, Xing fails to teach sequentially transmitting a first beacon during a beacon period of a first superframe, and Xing fails to teach wherein each of the first beacons includes an indication of a structure of the first superframe, and although Xing teaches receiving during a slot, Xing fails to teach during a slot of the first superframe.
Shim teaches sequentially transmitting a first beacon during a beacon period of a first superframe (a beacon-only period where two or more beacons are transmitted, within one superframe, Para. 116, FIG. 3. Referring to FIG. 4, the superframe is divided into a beacon-only period BOP (that is, a period where one or more beacon frames are transmitted) 410, Para. 127, FIG. 4), wherein each of the first beacons includes an indication of a structure of the first superframe (create the beacon frame, including a Superframe Specification field, Para. 30. The Super Specification field include a Superframe Order subfield to stipulate a length of time during a period where the superframe is active, Para. 31. Referring to FIG. 5, the beacon frame includes a Superframe Specification field, Para. 137, FIG. 5. Referring to FIG. 6, the Superframe Specification field includes a Superframe Order subfield to stipulate the length of time during the period where a superframe is active, including a beacon frame transmission time, a Final CAP Slot subfield to indicate the duration of CAP, Para. 141, FIG. 6).
Shim teaches receiving during a slot (a contention access period CAP 430, Para. 127, FIG. 4. Data is transmitted and received in the middle of a data transmission period of the superframe period, Para. 134) of the first superframe (the superframe is divided into a beacon-only period BOP 410, a contention access period CAP 430, a common data transmission period CFP 440 for real-time transmission of common data, Para. 127, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Shim with the teachings of Xing since Shim provides a technique for a beacon to inform devices of information indicating a characteristic of the structure associated with a superframe of the beacon, which can be introduced into the system of Xing to ensure all wireless devices managed by a network are sufficiently informed of the necessary information describing the characteristics in structures of superframes that utilize certain beacons and to benefit from the advantages of organization of information and data frames provided within superframes.
In regard to Claim 37, Xing teaches A device (base station, Para. 41, FIG. 4a) comprising: a transceiver (a receive module 114, a transmit module 116, Para. 32, FIG. 1); and a processor (channel management component 118, Para. 32, FIG. 1) configurable to: transmit, via the transceiver, a first beacon in a plurality of frequency subbands (a process for determining the channel characteristics begins at a block 400, wherein a base station broadcasts a beacon signal covering all sub-channels over the frequency bandwidth allocated to that station from each of its antenna resources, Para. 41, FIG. 4a).
Xing teaches receive, via the transceiver, a report (Continuing at a block 404 in FIG. 4a, after, or as channel characteristic measurements are taken, corresponding data is returned to the base station, Para. 43, FIG. 4a) from a second device (subscriber (device), Para. 42, FIG. 4a) at a first frequency subband of the plurality of frequency subbands (this information is returned via a management channel employed for such purposes, Para. 43, FIG. 4a) during a slot (channel schemes based on time slots (e.g., OFDMA, CDMA, TDMA), Para. 41), wherein the report comprises a downlink quality indicator for each of the plurality of frequency subbands (The feedback of information from each subscriber to the base station contains an SINR value (e.g., peak or average) for each subchannel. A channel indexing scheme may be employed to identify the feedback data for each subchannel, Para. 48, FIGS. 4a, 6).
Xing teaches determine a downlink frequency subband (Downlink/Bi-Directional Link Channel Characterization, Para. 43. Upon receiving the feedback from a subscriber, the base station selects a subchannel to assign to the subscriber, Para. 49, FIG. 4a) of the plurality of frequency subbands (sub-channels over the frequency bandwidth, Para. 41, FIG. 4a) based on the report (Upon receiving the feedback from a subscriber, Para. 49, FIG. 4a).
Xing teaches transmit, via the transceiver, a subband allocation message over a selected frequency subband of the plurality of frequency subbands (After subchannel selection, the base station notifies the subscriber about the subchannel assignment through a downlink common control channel or through a dedicated downlink traffic channel, Para. 49, FIG. 4a), wherein the subband allocation message identifies the downlink frequency subband (the base station notifies the subscriber about the subchannel assignment, Para. 49, FIG. 4a), and an uplink frequency subband of the plurality of frequency subbands (channel characteristic measurement data will be collected in accordance with the operations of the flowcharts shown in FIGS. 4a and/or 4b, as applicable, Para. 58, FIGS. 4a, 4b. Determining channel characteristics for uplink channels begins at a block 450 (FIG. 4b), Para. 51, FIG. 4b. The best available uplink channel to assign the subscriber is then selected in a block 456, Para. 53, FIG. 4b), wherein the downlink frequency subband is different from the uplink frequency subband (in the FDD scheme, the uplink and downlink operate on different RF channels, Para. 33).
Xing teaches transmit, via the transceiver, a data message to the second device via the downlink frequency subband (The base station then transmits to a selected subscriber (identified by the data frame) using a unidirectional wireless link, which is referred to as a "downlink", Para. 33, FIG. 1, 3a, 4a).
Xing teaches receive, via the transceiver, an acknowledgement message from the second device via the uplink frequency subband (Once the basic communication link is established, each subscriber can continue to send the feedback to the base station using a dedicated traffic channel (e.g., one or more predefined uplink access channels), Para. 49, FIGS. 4a, 4b).
Although Xing teaches transmit a first beacon, Xing fails to teach sequentially transmit a first beacon during a beacon period of a first superframe, and Xing fails to teach wherein each of the first beacons includes an indication of a structure of the first superframe, and although Xing teaches receive during a slot, Xing fails to teach receive during a slot of the first superframe.
Shim teaches sequentially transmit a first beacon during a beacon period of a first superframe (a beacon-only period where two or more beacons are transmitted, within one superframe, Para. 116, FIG. 3. Referring to FIG. 4, the superframe is divided into a beacon-only period BOP (that is, a period where one or more beacon frames are transmitted) 410, Para. 127, FIG. 4), wherein each of the first beacons includes an indication of a structure of the first superframe (create the beacon frame, including a Superframe Specification field, Para. 30. The Super Specification field include a Superframe Order subfield to stipulate a length of time during a period where the superframe is active, Para. 31. Referring to FIG. 5, the beacon frame includes a Superframe Specification field, Para. 137, FIG. 5. Referring to FIG. 6, the Superframe Specification field includes a Superframe Order subfield to stipulate the length of time during the period where a superframe is active, including a beacon frame transmission time, a Final CAP Slot subfield to indicate the duration of CAP, Para. 141, FIG. 6).
Shim teaches receive during a slot (a contention access period CAP 430, Para. 127, FIG. 4. Data is transmitted and received in the middle of a data transmission period of the superframe period, Para. 134) of the first superframe (the superframe is divided into a beacon-only period BOP 410, a contention access period CAP 430, a common data transmission period CFP 440 for real-time transmission of common data, Para. 127, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Shim with the teachings of Xing since Shim provides a technique for a beacon to inform devices of information indicating a characteristic of the structure associated with a superframe of the beacon, which can be introduced into the system of Xing to ensure all wireless devices managed by a network are sufficiently informed of the necessary information describing the characteristics in structures of superframes that utilize certain beacons and to benefit from the advantages of organization of information and data frames provided within superframes.
Claims 23, 28, 30 and 39 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Shim, and further in view of Jeong (Pub. No.: US 20100111050 A1), hereafter referred to as Jeong.
In regard to Claim 23, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the indication of the structure of the first superframe.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach a timing indication of subsequent slots of the first superframe.
Jeong teaches a timing indication of subsequent slots of the first superframe (In the MCAPs 320, the time slots of the SPs 330 are scheduled to be used, Para. 42, FIG. 3. The MCAPs 320 include a control signal and transmit data using the time slots of the SPs 330, Para. 43, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Jeong provides a technique to schedule time resources for data transmission, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to ensure data transmissions are appropriately allocated across multiple wireless resource channels across wireless time resources to ensure all necessary devices obtain the needed wireless resources for respective data transmissions.
In regard to Claim 28, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the report.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach receiving the report from the second device comprises receiving the report from the second device in a contention access period (CAP) slot of the first superframe or a subsequent superframe.
Jeong teaches receiving the report from the second device comprises receiving the report from the second device in a contention access period (CAP) slot of the first superframe or a subsequent superframe (the MCAPs 320 may exchange data with regard to a single emergency message or an inefficient scheduling message, Para. 42, FIG. 5. The MCAPs 320 include a control signal, Para. 43, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Jeong provides a technique to schedule time resources for data transmission, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to ensure data transmissions are appropriately allocated across multiple wireless resource channels across wireless time resources to ensure all necessary devices obtain the needed wireless resources for respective data transmissions.
In regard to Claim 30, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the subband allocation message.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach transmitting the subband allocation message comprises transmitting the subband allocation message during a contention access period (CAP) slot of the first superframe.
Jeong teaches transmitting the subband allocation message comprises transmitting the subband allocation message during a contention access period (CAP) slot of the first superframe (the MCAPs 320 may exchange data with regard to a single emergency message or an inefficient scheduling message, Para. 42, FIG. 5. The MCAPs 320 include a control signal, Para. 43, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Jeong provides a technique to schedule time resources for data transmission, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to ensure data transmissions are appropriately allocated across multiple wireless resource channels across wireless time resources to ensure all necessary devices obtain the needed wireless resources for respective data transmissions.
In regard to Claim 39, as presented in the rejection of Claim 37, Xing in view of Shim teaches transmitting the first beacon.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach sequentially transmit the first beacon in each of the plurality of frequency subbands.
Jeong teaches sequentially transmit the first beacon in each of the plurality of frequency subbands (A coordinator node A that has first transmitted a beacon transmits the beacon to a first time slot, Para. 51, FIG. 5. Each router relays a beacon received therein to its own channel and notifies neighboring nodes about the relay, so that the neighboring nodes can receive the beacon, Para. 52, FIGS. 4, 5. The number of channels is 4, and a channel hopping pattern is {1, 2, 3, 4}. Offset values 0, 1, 2, and 3, respectively, are allocated to four nodes A, B, C, and D, Para. 53, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Jeong provides a technique to utilize beacon information in multiple channels in multiple time slots, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to ensure beacon information is distributed across multiple wireless resource channels across wireless time resources to ensure all necessary devices obtain the needed beacon information.
Claim 24 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Shim, and further in view of Werb et al. (Pub. No.: US 20070258508 A1), hereafter referred to as Werb.
In regard to Claim 24, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the first beacon.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach the first beacon comprises a timing indication of a subsequent beacon in a subsequent superframe.
Werb teaches the first beacon comprises a timing indication of a subsequent beacon in a subsequent superframe (Frame Beacons may include scheduling information for future Frame Beacons so that other nodes can predict the availability of a given Router 2, Para. 102, 221).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Werb with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Werb provides a technique to provide control information of future data units involving beacons which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to ensure devices obtain sufficient information concerning future beacon signal transmissions for coordinating with a network transmissions.
Claim 25 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Shim, and further in view of Baker et al. (Pub. No.: US 20100189046 A1), hereafter referred to as Baker.
In regard to Claim 25, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the downlink quality indicator.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach the downlink quality indicator comprises a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR).
Baker teaches the downlink quality indicator comprises a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) (the base station can request SINR measurements over both time slots and frequency sub-channels, Para. 71, FIGS. 4, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Baker with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Baker provides a technique to feedback SINR information for wireless resources, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to permit management of wireless resources to be enhanced with SINR information being experienced by receiving devices.
Claim 29 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Shim, and further in view of Sherman et al. (Pub. No.: US 20090201860 A1), hereafter referred to as Sherman.
In regard to Claim 29, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the subband allocation message.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach transmitting the subband allocation message comprises transmitting the subband allocation message during a poll-based contention-free period (CFP) slot of the first superframe.
Sherman teaches transmitting the subband allocation message comprises transmitting the subband allocation message during a poll-based contention-free period (CFP) slot of the first superframe (Communications using the CFP are coordinated by an AP node acting as a central control station. During the CFP, other nodes associated with the AP node may only transmit messages if polled by the AP node. PCF Poll 1020, Para. 65, FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Sherman with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Sherman provides a technique to allocate frequency resources utilizing map information involving node polling, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to permit router nodes to be polled for resources and then sufficiently informed of assigned resources for downlink communications.
Claim 31 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Shim, and further in view of Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 20100142496 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee.
In regard to Claim 31, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the subband allocation message.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach transmitting the subband allocation message comprises transmitting the subband allocation message during the first superframe.
Lee teaches transmitting the subband allocation message comprises transmitting the subband allocation message during the first superframe (a contention free period CFP during which only one device uses a channel for an individually specified period, Para. 47, FIG. 3. FIG. 3 shows CAP and CFP allocation and a slot allocation structure in the structure of the superframe, Para. 48, FIG. 3. Slot allocation for a MN that has requested a slot allocation are performed in the corresponding beacon (S113), Para. 80, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Lee provides a technique to allocate resources in a superframe, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to ensure wireless devices are sufficiently informed of wireless resources allocated to them.
Claim 32-36 and 40 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Shim, and further in view of Singh et al. (Pub. No.: US 20070268868 A1), hereafter referred to as Singh.
In regard to Claim 32, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the data message.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach comprising transmitting the data message and receiving the acknowledgement message during a first slot of a second superframe subsequent to the first superframe, wherein the first slot is associated with the downlink frequency subband.
Singh teaches comprising transmitting the data message and receiving the acknowledgement message during a first slot of a second superframe subsequent to the first superframe, wherein the first slot is associated with the downlink frequency subband (Data packets 31 are transmitted over the HR channel and corresponding ACK packets 33 are transmitted over the LR channel, Para. 33, FIG. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Singh with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Singh provides a technique to organize messages and responses in a superframe, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to ensure appropriate intercommunications between devices utilizing a divided wireless frequency channel.
In regard to Claim 33, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the method.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach the first slot is a contention access period (CAP) slot of the second superframe.
Singh teaches the first slot is a contention access period (CAP) slot of the second superframe (A contention-based control period (CBCP) 24 which is used to communicate control and management commands on the low-rate channel 16, Para. 29, FIG. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Singh with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Singh provides a technique to organize messages and responses in a superframe, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to ensure appropriate intercommunications between devices utilizing a divided wireless frequency channel.
In regard to Claim 34, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the method.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach the first slot is a poll-based contention-free period (CFP) slot of the second superframe.
Singh teaches the first slot is a poll-based contention-free period (CFP) slot of the second superframe (The CFP 28 which includes CTBs, wherein the CTBs are reserved by one or multiple stations 14 for transmission of commands, isochronous streams and asynchronous data connections, Para. 30, FIG. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Singh with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Singh provides a technique to organize messages and responses in a superframe, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to ensure appropriate intercommunications between devices utilizing a divided wireless frequency channel.
In regard to Claim 35, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the method.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach the structure of the first superframe comprises the beacon period, a contention access period (CAP) period having a plurality of CAP slots, and a poll-based contention-free period (CFP) period, wherein each of the plurality CAP slots is associated with a respective frequency subband of the plurality of frequency subbands.
Singh teaches the structure of the first superframe comprises the beacon period, a contention access period (CAP) period having a plurality of CAP slots, and a poll-based contention-free period (CFP) period, wherein each of the plurality CAP slots is associated with a respective frequency subband of the plurality of frequency subbands (the PCF polls registered STAs for communications and provides channel access to the STAs based upon polling results, Para. 26, FIG. 3B. FIG. 3B shows details of a superframe 20 that divides a contention-free period (CFP) 28 for the LR and HR channels into multiple schedules 30. Each schedule 30 includes one or more periodical reserved channel time blocks (CTBs) 32 which are reserved for transmission of isochronous data streams, Para. 27, FIG. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Singh with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Singh provides a technique to organize messages and responses in a superframe, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to ensure appropriate intercommunications between devices utilizing a divided wireless frequency channel.
In regard to Claim 36, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the acknowledgement message.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach receiving the acknowledgement message comprises: tuning a receiver of the first device to monitor the uplink frequency subband during a first slot of a second superframe subsequent to the first superframe; and tuning, during the first slot, the receiver to monitor the downlink frequency subband after receiving the acknowledgement message.
Singh teaches receiving the acknowledgement message comprises: tuning a receiver of the first device to monitor the uplink frequency subband during a first slot of a second superframe subsequent to the first superframe; and tuning, during the first slot, the receiver to monitor the downlink frequency subband after receiving the acknowledgement message (As shown in FIG. 3B, within each reserved schedule 30 multiple packets 31, 33 are exchanged. Data packets 31 are transmitted over the HR channel and corresponding ACK packets 33 are transmitted over the LR channel, Para. 33, FIG. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Singh with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Singh provides a technique to organize messages and responses in a superframe, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to ensure appropriate intercommunications between devices utilizing a divided wireless frequency channel.
In regard to Claim 40, as presented in the rejection of Claim 37, Xing in view of Shim teaches the acknowledgement message.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach tune the transceiver to monitor the uplink frequency subband during a first slot of a second superframe subsequent to the first superframe; and tune, during the first slot, the transceiver to monitor the downlink frequency subband after receiving the acknowledgement message or after a timeout period.
Singh teaches tune the transceiver to monitor the uplink frequency subband during a first slot of a second superframe subsequent to the first superframe; and tune, during the first slot, the transceiver to monitor the downlink frequency subband after receiving the acknowledgement message or after a timeout period (As shown in FIG. 3B, within each reserved schedule 30 multiple packets 31, 33 are exchanged. Data packets 31 are transmitted over the HR channel and corresponding ACK packets 33 are transmitted over the LR channel, Para. 33, FIG. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Singh with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Singh provides a technique to organize messages and responses in a superframe, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to ensure appropriate intercommunications between devices utilizing a divided wireless frequency channel.
Claim 38 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Shim, and further in view of Chow (Pub. No.: US 20070058661 A1), hereafter referred to as Chow.
In regard to Claim 38, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the transceiver.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach the transceiver is a power line communication (PLC) transceiver.
Chow teaches the transceiver is a power line communication (PLC) transceiver (a communication medium (e.g., power line) is shared by a plurality of stations, Para. 4. User terminals 101-105, to communicate via a shared medium, e.g., medium 100 which may comprise power line, Para. 4, FIG. 1. There are many different MAC schemes in use (e.g. power line communication systems for power line), Para. 5, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Chow with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Chow provides a technique to perform super frame communication through power line protocols, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to permit subchannel and feedback communications through a power line system of a structure.
Claims 41 and 43 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Shim, and further in view of Banerjee et al. (Pub. No.: US 20100284380 A1), hereafter referred to as Banerjee.
In regard to Claim 41, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the subband allocation message.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach the subband allocation message comprises transmitting the subband allocation message during a poll-based contention-free period (CFP) slot of a subsequent superframe.
Banerjee teaches the subband allocation message comprises transmitting the subband allocation message during a poll-based contention-free period (CFP) slot of a subsequent superframe (A specific scheduled TXOP can be given by the QAP 116 to the QSTA 102, e.g., by a RTS/CTS reservation mechanism, Para. 55, FIGS. 1, 2. A contention free period (CFP) 208, wherein a hybrid coordination function (HCF) polls the QSTA's, Para. 56, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Banerjee with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Banerjee provides a technique to perform a communication exchange in a contention free period involving polls for allocating resources, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to permit allocation of wireless resources in a contention free period through the polling and exchanging messages to allocate resources to wireless devices in contention free periods.
In regard to Claim 43, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the report.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach receiving, by the first device, the report from the second device at a second frequency subband of the plurality of frequency subbands during a slot of the first superframe.
Banerjee teaches receiving, by the first device, the report from the second device at a second frequency subband of the plurality of frequency subbands during a slot of the first superframe (A contention free period (CFP) 208, wherein a hybrid coordination function (HCF) polls the QSTA's. A first TXOP 214 responds to a QoS CF-poll 216, Para. 56, FIG. 2. The IEEE-802.11 type request-to-send and clear-to-send (RTS/CTS) mode is initiated at the start of an uplink phase of the PSMP duration, Para. 58, FIGS. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Banerjee with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Banerjee provides a technique to perform a communication exchange in a contention free period involving polls for allocating resources, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to permit allocation of wireless resources in a contention free period through the polling and exchanging messages to allocate resources to wireless devices in contention free periods.
Claim 42 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Shim, and further in view of Sim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20090310573 A1), hereafter referred to as Sim.
In regard to Claim 42, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Xing in view of Shim teaches the subband allocation message.
Xing in view of Shim fails to teach transmitting the subband allocation message comprises transmitting the subband allocation message during a contention access period (CAP) slot of a subsequent superframe.
Sim teaches transmitting the subband allocation message comprises transmitting the subband allocation message during a contention access period (CAP) slot of a subsequent superframe (In the response stage of the data reservation procedure all RT_BDEVs need to respond to the reservation request sent by the RDEV by sending an accept or a reject response packet during their respective CAPs, Para. 80, FIGS. 1, 18, 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Sim with the teachings of Xing in view of Shim since Sim provides a technique to exchange control messages through contention access periods for making reservation associated with wireless resources, which can be introduced into the system of Xing in view of Shim to utilize any free resources of contention access periods to aid in reserving wireless resources to requesting devices.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 11/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that There is no suggestion in the cited art or otherwise, to modify Xing to receive the claimed report during a slot of the first superframe. This argument is not persuasive. A person of ordinary skill in the art would see the benefit of organizing beacon signals and measurement data of Xing through the corresponding data structures provided within the superframes of Shim.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that Even if, for the sake of argument, Xing would teach receiving a report having a downlink quality indicator, Xing would still not teach when or how to receive such a report. This argument is not persuasive. The rejection of Claim 1 presents the Shim reference as teaching a superframe providing a contention access period CAP 430 in the middle of a data transmission period of the superframe period, with which data is transmitted and received, and a person or ordinary skill in the art would see that such a contention access period CAP 430 in FIG. 4 of Shim can be utilized as a data structure in time for how to receive a report of Xing.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that Further, Shim does not teach receiving a report in CAP 430, much less during ... the first superframe. This argument is not persuasive. Shim teaches in Para. 134, that data is transmitted and received in the middle of a data transmission period of a superframe period, and Shim shows in Para. 127 and FIG. 4, that a contention access period CAP 430 forms a period within a superframe, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would see that a contention access period CAP 430 for transmitting and receiving data in a superframe, can be utilized for receiving measurement data of Xing.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that For instance, Shim does not teach that the CAP 430 would have been used for anything other than "common data." Shim, 0177. This argument is not persuasive. Shim does not provide teachings that exclude measurement data of Xing from being common data. In any case, the rejection of Claim 1 is not suggesting that the whole system of Shim is to be incorporated into the system of Xing. The rejection of Claim 1 presents that a contention access period CAP 430 within a superframe of Shim, where data is transmitted and received, can be utilized in the system of Xing to receive measurement data of Xing.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that Also, even if one were to argue that the CAP 430 could have been used for receiving a report, there is no
teaching in Shim that it would have been a CAP within the same superframe in which beacons are transmitted, versus, e.g., a subsequent superframe or a different superframe. This argument is not persuasive. FIG. 4 of Shim does not show a second superframe duration, and there is no teaching of Shim indicating situations requiring beacons and data be communicated in separate superframes.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that Thus, Shim does not provide any teaching that would have suggested to a person of ordinary skill in the art how or when to "receiv[e] a report ... [that] comprises a downlink quality indicator," as claimed, whether in a CAP 430, the CFP 440, or in another superframe. This argument is not persuasive. A person of ordinary skill in the art would see that a contention access period CAP 430 for transmitting and receiving data in a superframe, can be utilized for receiving measurement data of Xing. A person of ordinary skill in the art would not be confused as to how a contention access period CAP 430 for transmitting and receiving data in a superframe of Shim, can be utilized for receiving measurement data of Xing.
Pages 8-9 of the Remarks presents the argument that The rejection seems to argue that the existence of CAP 430 in Shim is enough, without more, to show obviousness. But that is too much of a leap, considering the lack of any teaching as to how or when to receive such a report in either Shim or Xing. This argument is not persuasive. It is unclear how a contention access period CAP 430 for transmitting and receiving data in a superframe of Shim, being utilized for receiving measurement data of Xing, is too great a leap for a person of ordinary skill in the art to comprehend.
Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that Specifically, the rejection alleges that it would have been obvious to make the change to Xing "to result in a modified arrangement for receiving corresponding data of channel characteristic measurements returned to the timeslots of a superframe period." Office Action, 27. The rejection provides no more than circular reasoning, alleging that it would have been obvious to make the modification in order to make the modification itself. This argument is not persuasive. A person of ordinary skill in the art would see the benefit of organizing beacon signals and measurement data of Xing through the corresponding data structures provided within the superframes of Shim, and that Shim provides a technique to sufficiently inform wireless devices of the characteristics in the data structures of the superframes.
Examiner’s Note
Page 10 of the Remarks states that However, should there remain unresolved issues, Applicant requests that the Examiner telephone the undersigned so that such issues may be resolved as expeditiously as possible, such as through entry of an Examiner's Amendment. The examiner notes that a Proposed Examiner’s Amendment is filed on 8/27/2025 as an Office Action Appendix.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
1-25-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477