DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-4,7-14 and 17-18 are pending in this office action. Claims 10, 11 and 14 are amended. Claims 5, 6, 15 and 16 are cancelled. All pending claims are under examination in this application.
Priority
The current application filed on June 20, 2022 claims domestic priority to provisional patent application 63/213,057 filed on June 21, 2021. In addition, the instant application serves as the priority document for PCT/US22/34211, filed June 21, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on May 13, 2026 is acknowledged. A signed copy of the form PTO/SB/08 is attached to this office action.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response of May 13, 2026 has been received and entered into the application file.
Applicant’s amendments to the abstract and claims 10, 11 and 14 have overcome the objections and rejection under 35 USC 112(b) from the nonfinal action mailed July 10, 2024.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed May 13, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-18 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sweeney et al. in view of Patel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweeney et al. in view of Patel and Christo.
Sweeney et al. teach a knitted glove made from a plurality of yarns. One yarn is antimicrobial, see paragraph [0034] and another type is thermal regulating yarn, see paragraph [0033]. Claim 12 lists many combinations of yarn types; the specific combination of antimicrobial and thermal regulating is not included.
The antimicrobial yarns specifically named by Sweeney et al. are not made antimicrobial by inclusion of particles.
Sweeney et al. do not disclose the antimicrobial particles of claims 1 and 4, nor do they disclose proportions or uses of the material other than gloves.
Patel teaches antimicrobial yarn given that property by incorporating silver nanoparticles and discusses uses for the fabric other than gloves.
Christo teaches antimicrobial glove that incorporates silver salts as the antimicrobial into the textile fibers, see paragraph [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to use the silver salt nanoparticle-infused fiber of Christo as the antimicrobial fiber of Sweeney et al. with the expectation of providing an antimicrobial fiber. It would have been further obvious that the teachings of Sweeney et al. could be easily expanded to other uses for the glove fabric. With regard to the specific proportions of yarns, it is considered to be well within the ordinary level of skill in the art to determine the proportions, depending on the properties desired. Should specific proportions give rise to unexpectedly superior results, examiner invites applicant to demonstrate the same.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on May 13, 2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615