DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Office has addressed the material arguments directed toward the previously presented claims in the Advisory Action of 1/9/2026.
Arguments directed towards the newly amended claim are addressed in the following rejections.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not disclose steam generation system as claimed, wherein the “planar” choke wall extends between an upper end and a lower end and wherein a surface of the choke wall between the upper end and the lower end is oblique with an axis extending through a center of the first circumference for guiding liquid in a downward direction relative to the liquid bin tube.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donarski et al. (US 2016/0374499) and Gorenje (EP 2 881 660 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Donarski (D) discloses a steam generation system comprising: a liquid reservoir (12, Figure 1); a first fluid line (16) extending from the liquid reservoir to a steamer (14); and a separator circuit in fluid communication with the steamer opposite the liquid reservoir, the separator circuit comprising: a steamer connection tube (20) coupled to the steamer (14).
Donarski does not disclose that the separator circuit further comprises: a liquid bin tube; a slide tube sloped downwardly from the steamer connection tube to the liquid bin tube for gravitationally accelerating condensation from the steamer connection tube; a vortex section non-integrally coupled to the slide tube and located between the slide tube and the liquid bin tube and including a choke wall, wherein the choke wall extends from a first end decreasing a cross-sectional flow path of the vortex section to a second end in a direction of the liquid bin tube; and wherein the liquid bin tube includes an interior wall defining a first circumference and the vortex section includes an inner wall defining a second circumference that, except for the choke wall, extends uniformly from the slide to the liquid bin tube, wherein a portion of the second circumference extends linearly from the slide to the liquid bin tube and into alignment with a portion of the first circumference to form a coextensive circumference surface.
However, Gorenje (G) discloses a separator circuit for a steam generation system (Figure 1), the separator circuit comprising: a steamer connection tube (10, Figure 4); a liquid bin tube (1); a slide tube (6, Figure 1) sloped downwardly from the steamer connection tube to the liquid bin tube for gravitationally accelerating condensation from the steamer connection tube; and a vortex section (7) located between the slide tube and the liquid bin tube and including a choke wall (At 7 in Figure 3, [0008]), wherein the choke wall extends from a first end decreasing a cross-sectional flow path of the vortex section to a second end in a direction of the liquid bin tube (1); and wherein the liquid bin tube (1, Figure 1) includes an interior wall defining a first circumference (At 1, Figure 3) and the vortex section (7) includes an inner wall defining a second circumference that, except for the choke wall, extends uniformly from the slide to the liquid bin tube, wherein a portion of the second circumference extends linearly from the slide to the liquid bin tube and into alignment with a portion of the first circumference to form a coextensive circumference surface (Below 8 in Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to combine the steam separator of Gorenje with the system of Donarski, as a variant to the one presented, due to lack of structural details, and to make the walls completely smooth, missing the connecting ridge as design or manufacturing choose that does not affect the device’s functioning.
Regarding claim 3, Donarski (D), as modified, discloses the steam generation system of claim 1, wherein the choke wall (7, Figure 3) is at least partially located on a surface of the second circumference that is opposite the coextensive circumference surface.
Regarding claim 4, Donarski (D), as modified, discloses the steam generation system of claim 3, wherein the choke wall (7, Figure 3) defines an angle of deflection relative to the inner wall of the vortex section that is acute.
Regarding claim 5, Donarski (D), as modified, discloses the steam generation system of claim 4, wherein the angle of deflection is positioned relative to the interior wall of the liquid bin tube (1) such that liquid traveling at the angle of deflection contacts the interior wall substantially towards the coextensive circumference surface (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Donarski (D), as modified, discloses the steam generation system of claim 5, wherein the second end of the choke wall (7, Figure 3) is positioned within 90° or less of the coextensive circumference surface relative to the second circumference.
Regarding claim 7, Donarski (D), as modified, discloses the steam generation system of claim 1, wherein the first circumference is smaller than the second circumference (Figure 3).
Claims 8-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donarski et al. (US 2016/0374499), Gorenje (EP 2 881 660 A1), and Liller (US 4,217,207).
Regarding claim 8, Donarski (D), as modified, discloses the steam generation system of claim 3, but not that an entirety of the choke wall is substantially planar.
However, Liller (L) discloses a slurry processer with a vortex device (Abstract, Figure 1B) wherein an entirety of the choke wall (12, Figure 3B-3D) is substantially planar. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to modify the deflection wall to be of different geometries based on optimizing the separator for various parameter of the material transferring therethrough, such as temperature, saturation level, velocity, pressure…
Regarding claim 9, Donarski (D), as modified, discloses the steam generation system of claim 8, wherein the choke wall (12, Figure 3D) extends between an upper end and a lower end and wherein a surface of the choke wall between the upper end and the lower end is aligned and parallel with an axis (15,66, Figures s 10C-D) extending through a center of the first circumference (G-3,1,Abb.2).
Regarding claim 11, Donarski (D), as modified, discloses the steam generation system of claim 3, wherein the choke wall (12, Figure 10C) is substantially non-planar.
Regarding claim 12, Donarski (D), as modified, discloses the steam generation system of claim 11, wherein the choke wall (12, Figure 3D) extends between an upper end and a lower end and wherein a surface of the choke wall between the upper end and the lower end defines a curved surface (See curved section attached to 1).
Regarding claim 13, Donarski (D), as modified, discloses the steam generation system of claim 12, wherein the upper end and the lower end are relatively disposed substantially parallel to an axis extending through a center of the first circumference (Figure 3E).
Regarding claim 14, Donarski (D), as modified, discloses the steam generation system of claim 12, wherein the upper end and the lower end are relatively disposed substantially oblique to an axis extending through a center of the first circumference (12, Figure 4D).
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donarski et al. (US 2016/0374499), Gorenje (EP 2 881 660 A1), Liller (US 4,217,207), and Jeon et al. (US2008/0163757).
Regarding claim 15, Donarski (D) discloses a steam generation system comprising: a liquid reservoir (12, Figure 1); a first fluid line (16) extending from the liquid reservoir to a steamer (14); and a separator circuit in fluid communication with the steamer opposite the liquid reservoir, the separator circuit comprising: a steamer connection tube (20) coupled to the steamer (14).
Donarski does not disclose: a liquid bin tube; a vortex section coupled between the steamer and the liquid bin tube and including a choke wall; and the choke wall extending from a first end decreasing a cross-sectional flow path of the vortex section to a second end in a direction of the liquid bin tube, wherein the liquid bin tube includes an interior wall defining a first circumference extending about a vertical axis and the vortex section includes an inner wall defining a second circumference, a portion of the first circumference and a portion of the second circumference are aligned to form a coextensive circumference surface, and wherein the choke wall is at least partially located across and on opposite sides of a top surface of the vortex section and is sloped downwardly relative to the vertical axis towards the coextensive circumference surface for guiding liquid in a downward direction relative to the liquid bin tube or a port in fluid communication with the first fluid line between the liquid reservoirs and the steamer, the port configured to drain liquid from the steamer via the first fluid line (36)
However, Gorenje (G) discloses a separator circuit for a steam generation system, the separator circuit comprising: a liquid bin tube (10, Figure 4); a vortex section connected to the liquid bin tube and including a choke wall (7, Figures 1-3); and the choke wall extending from a first end decreasing a cross-sectional flow path of the vortex section to a second end in a direction of the liquid bin tube, wherein the liquid bin tube includes an interior wall defining a first circumference extending about a vertical axis and the vortex section includes an inner wall defining a second circumference ([0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to combine the steam separator of Gorenje with the system of Donarski, as a variant to the one presented, due to lack of structural details provided by Donarski.
Additionally, Liller (L) discloses a slurry processer with a vortex device (Abstract, Figure 1B) wherein a portion of the first circumference and a portion of the second circumference each share a coextensive circumference surface (6, Figure 10C), and wherein the choke wall (12) is at least partially located across and on opposite sides of a top surface of the vortex section and is sloped downwardly relative to the vertical axis towards the coextensive circumference surface for guiding liquid in a downward direction relative to the liquid bin tube (C12, L12-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to modify the deflection wall to be of different geometries, in this case curved, based on optimizing the separator for various parameter of the material transferring therethrough, such as temperature, saturation level, velocity, pressure…
Finally, Jeon (J) discloses a steam generating system (Abstract) with a port (62, Figure 2, [0050-0051]) in fluid communication with the first fluid line between the liquid reservoir (32) and the steamer (30), the port configured to drain liquid from the steamer via the first fluid line (91). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to provide a drain port to prevent excess water from entering the steam, possibly causing water leakage or damage.
Regarding claim 16, Donarski (D), as modified, discloses the steam generation system of claim 15, wherein the choke wall (G-7, Figure 3) is at least partially located on a surface of the second circumference that is opposite the coextensive circumference surface and sloped towards the coextensive circumference.
Regarding claim 17, Donarski (D), as modified, discloses the steam generation system of claim 16, wherein the choke (G-7, Figure 3) wall defines an angle of deflection that deflects condensation within 20° or less of the coextensive circumference surface relative to the first circumference.
Regarding claim 18, Donarski (D), as modified, discloses the steam generation system of claim 17, further including a flow valve (D-28A, Figure 1) in fluid communication with the first fluid line (D-16) between the liquid reservoir (D-12) and the port (62), the flow valve configured to control liquid exiting the fluid reservoir (D- [0015]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donarski et al. (US 2016/0374499), Gorenje (EP 2 881 660 A1), Kerr et al. (DE 732549), Jeon et al. (US2008/0163757), and Liller (US 4,217,207).
Regarding claim 19, Donarski (D) discloses a steam generation system comprising: a liquid reservoir (12, Figure 1); a first fluid line (16) extending from the liquid reservoir to a steamer (14); and a separator circuit in fluid communication with the steamer opposite the liquid reservoir, the separator circuit comprising: a steamer connection tube (20) coupled to the steamer (14).
Donarski does not disclose that the separator circuit further comprises: a liquid bin tube defining a first circumference extending vertically between a steam outlet for providing steam to a cavity of a cooking appliance and a recirculation tube for routing condensation back into the first fluid line between the port and the steamer; a slide tube sloped downwardly from the steamer connection tube to the liquid bin tube for gravitationally accelerating condensation from the steamer connection tube through the liquid bin tube and into the recirculation tube; and a vortex section having a non-planar shape and defining a second circumference located between the slide tube and the liquid bin tube and including a choke wall on a first side of the second circumference, wherein the choke wall extends from a first end decreasing a cross- sectional flow path of the vortex section to a second end in a direction towards a second side of the second circumference that is uniformly shaped between the slide tube and the liquid bin tube and aligned with the first circumference and forms a coextensive circumference surface and wherein the choke wall defines a curved surface with a changing radius that becomes smaller towards the coextensive circumference surface.
However, Gorenje (G) discloses a separator circuit for a steam generation system, the separator circuit comprising: a steamer connection tube (10, Figure 4); a liquid bin tube (1) defining a first circumference extending vertically between a steam outlet for providing steam to a cavity of a cooking appliance and a recirculation tube (3) for routing condensation back into the provided steam generation system ([0008]); a slide tube (6, Figure 1) sloped downwardly from the steamer connection tube to the liquid bin tube for gravitationally accelerating condensation from the steamer connection tube through the liquid bin tube and into the recirculation tube.
Additionally, Kerr (K) discloses a tubular steam generator with steam separator (wasserumlauf betriebenen rohrendampferzeugers) with a vortex section defining a second circumference (1, Abb..) capable of being located between the slide tube and the liquid bin tube and including a choke wall (near 3 in Abb.2) on the first side of the second circumference, wherein the choke wall extends from a first end decreasing a cross-sectional flow path of the vortex section to a second end in a direction towards a side of the second circumference that is aligned with the first circumferent and forms a coextensive circumference surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to modify the deflection wall to be of different geometries based on optimizing the separator for various parameter of the material transferring therethrough, such as temperature, saturation level, velocity, pressure…
And Finally, Jeon (J) discloses a steam generating system (Abstract) with a port (62, Figure 2, [0050-0051]) in fluid communication with the first fluid line between the liquid reservoir (32) and the steamer (30), the port configured to drain liquid from the steamer via the first fluid line (91). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to provide a drain port to prevent excess water from entering the steam, possibly causing water leakage or damage.
Additionally, Liller (L) discloses a slurry processer with a vortex device (Abstract, Figure 1B) wherein a portion of the first circumference and a portion of the second circumference each share a coextensive circumference surface (6, Figure 10C), and wherein the choke wall (12) defines a curved surface with a changing radius that becomes smaller towards the coextensive circumference surface (C12, L12-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to modify the deflection wall to be of different geometries, in this case curved, based on optimizing the separator for various parameter of the material transferring therethrough, such as temperature, saturation level, velocity, pressure…
Regarding claim 20, Donarski (D), as modified, discloses the steam generation system of claim 19, wherein the liquid bin tube (G-1, Figure 1) includes a funnel section (G-2) connected to the recirculation tube (G-3).
Conclusion
/JOHN E BARGERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/STEVEN B MCALLISTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762