DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 05/07/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11-17, 19, and 22-23 has/have been amended; no claim(s) has/have been cancelled and no new claim(s) has/have been added. Thus, claims 1-6, 8, 11-17, and 19-24 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “a user input signal indicating a temperature setting from a steering wheel controller.” The specification does not disclose the steering wheel controller to send signals indicating a temperature setting. The steering wheel controller only sends signals indicating a temperature reading from a temperature sensor. Examiner suggests amending claim 22 to recite the function of the steering wheel controller or include the structure that performs the function “sending signals indicating a temperature setting.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 13, 15, 17, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchbut et al (US 2018/0312117) in view of Sauerwein et al (US 2012/0286580) and Staude et al (EP 2607200 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Buchbut discloses a system for communicating with components on a steering member of a vehicle comprising:
a first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil) affixed to a stationary component (Fig. 3 #16 body) around a steering shaft (Fig. 2 #30 wheel shaft) of the vehicle;
a second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #42 wheel power coil) coupled to and rotating with the steering member (Fig. 3 #14 steering wheel); wherein the first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil) and the second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #42 wheel power coil) are cylindrical;
a first transceiver (Fig. 9 #90 body transceiver) coupled to the first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil);
a second transceiver (Fig. 10 #92 wheel transceiver) coupled to the second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #42 wheel power coil), said second transceiver (Fig. 10 #92 wheel transceiver) wirelessly operatively coupled the first transceiver (Fig. 9 #90 body transceiver) ([0027] lines 5-7 ---"The body and wheel transceivers 90, 92 are configured to communicate wirelessly.”);
and said first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil) inducing current in the second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #42 wheel power coil) to power a first component of the components ([0021] lines 24-31 ---"In some embodiments, the body power coil 40 and/or the wheel power coil 42 are positioned concentrically around the wheel shaft 30 and the steering axis 32, but other positions are also possible. The electricity produced in the wheel power coil 42 is used as needed within the steering wheel 14, such as for producing a control signal or for powering a steering wheel heater (not illustrated in FIGS. 1-3).”),
said first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil) spaced apart (Fig. 3 #58 resonance gap) from the second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #42 wheel power coil);
the first component comprising a steering member heating element ([0021] lines 24-31 ---"In some embodiments, the body power coil 40 and/or the wheel power coil 42 are positioned concentrically around the wheel shaft 30 and the steering axis 32, but other positions are also possible. The electricity produced in the wheel power coil 42 is used as needed within the steering wheel 14, such as a steering wheel heater (not illustrated in FIGS. 1-3).”).
However, Buchbut does not disclose wherein the steering member comprises a thermal sensor generating a temperature signal, wherein the second transceiver communicates the temperature signal from the thermal sensor via a steering wheel controller, wherein the thermal sensor is incorporated in the steering member and the steering wheel controller is communicatively coupled to a vehicle controller through the second transceiver and the second electrically conductive coil and the first transceiver and the first electrically conductive coil.
Nonetheless, Sauerwein in the same field of endeavor being steering wheels with electrical components teaches wherein the steering member comprises a thermal sensor (Fig. 1 #5 temperature sensor) generating a temperature signal, wherein the second transceiver communicates the temperature signal to a vehicle controller through the second transceiver and the second electrically conductive coil and the first transceiver and the first electrically conductive coil (The combination of Buchbut, who discloses the first and second transceivers and the first and second conductive coils, with the temperature sensor taught by Sauerwein would result in the temperature signal being communicated through the first and second transceivers and the first and second conductive coils.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system for communicating with components on a steering member of Buchbut by incorporating the temperature sensor as taught by Sauerwein for the benefit of counteracting a destruction of the conductor element by too high temperatures. (Sauerwein [0018])
Furthermore, Staude in the same field of endeavor being heated steering wheel devices and control methods teaches a steering wheel controller (Fig. #30 LIN controller) which sends signals from a temperature sensor (Fig. #28 temperature sensor) to a controller (Fig. #2 steering column module).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Buchbut in view of Sauerwein by incorporating the steering wheel controller as taught by Staude for the benefit of converting the signal from the temperature sensor to a signal that is transmittable.
Regarding claim 8, Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Staude teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Buchbut teaches said first transceiver (Fig. 9 #90 body transceiver) and said second transceiver (Fig. 10 #92 wheel transceiver) bi-directionally wirelessly communicating through the first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil) and the second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #42 wheel power coil) ([0027] lines 5-7 ---"The body and wheel transceivers 90, 92 are configured to communicate wirelessly.”).
Regarding claim 13, Buchbut in view of Sauerwein teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Buchbut teaches wherein the steering member comprises a button (Fig. 2 #34 wheel actuators) generating a button signal and wherein the button signal is communicated from the second transceiver to the first transceiver through the second electrically conductive coil and the first electrically conductive coil ([0024] lines 13-22 ---" In some embodiments, the control signal produced by the wheel actuators 34 are transferred to the body 16 from the wheel power coil 42, where a communication coil 72 receives the control signals. A body communication board 74 is configured to send the control signal received by the communication coil 72 to the appropriate vehicle component 36. The communication coil 72 is configured to send and/or receive (i.e. transfer) a control signal or other communication signal by modulating a parameter of electrical power in the body power coil 40.”).
Regarding claim 15, Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Staude teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Buchbut teaches wherein the steering member (Fig. 3 #14 steering wheel) comprises an indicator (Fig. 10 #82 wheel light), and further comprising a steering member controller (Fig. 10 #80 wheel controller) controlling the indicator (Fig. 10 #82 wheel light) using an indicator signal communicated from the first transceiver (Fig. 9 #90 body transceiver) to the second transceiver (Fig. 10 #92 wheel transceiver).
Regarding claim 17, Buchbut discloses a method for communicating with components on a steering member comprising:
controlling a first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil) disposed around a steering shaft (Fig. 2 #30 wheel shaft);
inducing, in response to controlling, current in a second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #42 wheel power coil) coupled to the steering member (Fig. 3 #14 steering wheel) to power a first component ([0021] lines 24-31 ---"In some embodiments, the body power coil 40 and/or the wheel power coil 42 are positioned concentrically around the wheel shaft 30 and the steering axis 32, but other positions are also possible. The electricity produced in the wheel power coil 42 is used as needed within the steering wheel 14, such as for producing a control signal or for powering a steering wheel heater (not illustrated in FIGS. 1-3).”), said first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil) spaced apart from the second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #42 wheel power coil);
and bi-directionally wirelessly communicating signals between a first transceiver (Fig. 9 #90 body transceiver) coupled to the first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil) and a second transceiver (Fig. 10 #92 wheel transceiver) coupled to the second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #42 wheel power coil) ([0027] lines 5-7 ---"The body and wheel transceivers 90, 92 are configured to communicate wirelessly.”).
However, Buchbut does not disclose wherein bi-directionally wirelessly communicating signals comprises communicating a thermal sensor signal from a thermal sensor via a steering wheel controller, wherein the thermal sensor is incorporated in the steering member and the steering wheel controller initiates communication of the thermal sensor signal from the second transceiver to the first transceiver and communicating a steering member heating element control signal from the first transceiver to the second transceiver.
Nonetheless, Sauerwein teaches a thermal sensor (Fig. 1 #5 temperature sensor) generating a temperature signal (The combination of Buchbut, who discloses the first and second transceivers, with the temperature sensor taught by Sauerwein would result in the temperature signal being communicated through the first and second transceivers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for communicating with components on a steering member of Buchbut by incorporating the temperature sensor as taught by Sauerwein for the benefit of counteracting a destruction of the conductor element by too high temperatures. (Sauerwein [0018])
Furthermore, Staude teaches a steering wheel controller (Fig. #30 LIN controller) which initiates communication of the thermal sensor signal (Page 5 second para. ---" The measured values for the temperature can then be transmitted to the steering column module 2 via a LIN bus 29.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Buchbut in view of Sauerwein by incorporating the steering wheel controller as taught by Staude for the benefit of converting the signal from the temperature sensor to a signal that is transmittable.
Regarding claim 20, Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Staude teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 17), and Buchbut teaches wherein bi-directionally wirelessly communicating signals further comprises communicating a transmission shift signal, a vehicle mode signal or a music control signal from a user interface from the second transceiver to the first transceiver, controlling a transmission shift in response to the transmission shift signal, a vehicle mode signal or a music control signal and communicating a status signal from the first transceiver to the second transceiver ([0018] lines 1-8 ---" The vehicle component 36 is configured to receive the control signal and to change operations based on the control signal. In an exemplary embodiment where the vehicle component 36 is a stereo, the vehicle component 36 (i.e., the stereo) can adjust the volume, turn on and off, change radio stations, switch between a radio function and a CD function, and/or take other actions based on one or more control signals.” and [0019] lines 1-4 ---" The wheel actuators 34 require electrical power to generate and send the control signal. In an exemplary embodiment, electrical power is transferred to the steering wheel 14 using magnetic resonance coupling.”).
Regarding claim 21, Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Staude teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 17), and Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Staude teaches wherein bi-directionally wirelessly communicating signals further comprises generating a current control signal in response to the thermal sensor signal (The thermal sensor signal is generated by the thermal sensor of Sauerwein) and communicating the current control signal from the first transceiver to the second transceiver as the steering member heating element control signal (Buchbut [0021] lines 7-13 ---" The wheel power coil 42 and the body power coil 40 are positioned near each other, but are not in electrical communication, wherein “electrical communication,” as used herein, means connected by one or more electrical conductors. As such, no wire, bar, bus, or other electrical conductor contacts both the wheel power coil 42 and the body power coil 40.”; [0027] lines 5-7 ---" The body and wheel transceivers 90, 92 are configured to communicate wirelessly.”; [0021] lines 27-31 ---" The electricity produced in the wheel power coil 42 is used as needed within the steering wheel 14, such as for producing a control signal or for powering a steering wheel heater (not illustrated in FIGS. 1-3).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for communicating with components on a steering member of Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Staude by incorporating the temperature sensor generating a thermal sensor signal as taught by Sauerwein for the benefit of counteracting a destruction of the conductor element by too high temperatures. (Sauerwein [0018])
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchbut et al (US 2018/0312117) in view of Sauerwein et al (US 2012/0286580) and Staude et al (EP 2607200 A1) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Sajna et al (US 6,271,741).
Regarding claim 2, Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Staude teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the first electrically conductive coil is overmolded and wherein the second electrically conductive coil is overmolded.
Nonetheless, Sajna in the same field of endeavor being steering wheels with electrical components teaches wherein the first electrically conductive coil is overmolded and wherein the second electrically conductive coil is overmolded (Fig. 4; Col. 3 lines 21-23 ---" The overmolded coil assembly 44, 46 is removed from the mold and formed as the stator 26 and rotor 28 as indicated generally in FIG. 4.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second conductive coils of Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Staude by incorporating an overmold as taught by Sajna for the benefit of protecting the first and second conductive coils.
Regarding claim 3, Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Staude teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the first electrically conductive coil is overmolded to a stationary coil holder and wherein the second electrically conductive coil is overmolded to a rotating coil holder.
Nonetheless, Sajna teaches wherein the first electrically conductive coil is overmolded to a stationary coil holder (Fig. 1 #30 annular circuit board) and wherein the second electrically conductive coil is overmolded to a rotating coil holder (Fig. 1 #20 steering wheel hub).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second conductive coils of Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Staude by incorporating an oversold as taught as by Sajna for the benefit of protecting the first and second conductive coils.
Regarding claim 4, Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Sajna teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 3), and Sajna teaches further comprising a housing (Fig. 1 #12 casing) disposed around the steering shaft (Fig. 1 #14 steering shaft), said stationary coil holder (Fig. 1 #30 annular circuit board) coupled to the housing (Fig. 1 #12 casing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Sajna by incorporating the housing as taught by Sajna for the benefit of supporting the coil holder and protecting the shaft.
Regarding claim 5, Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Staude teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the first electrically conductive coil is affixed to a steering housing and disposed in an axial direction and coaxial with a longitudinal axis of the steering member; and wherein the second electrically conductive coil is radially spaced apart from and coaxial with the first electrically conductive coil and the steering housing.
Nonetheless, Sajna teaches further wherein the first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 1 #26 annular stator) is affixed to a steering housing (Fig. 1 #12 casing) and disposed in an axial direction and coaxial with a longitudinal axis of the steering member (Fig. 1 #24 annular rim);
and wherein the second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 1 #28 rotor) is radially spaced apart from and coaxial with the first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 1 #26 annular stator) and the steering housing (Fig. 1 #12 casing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Staude by incorporating the positions of the first and second conductive coils as taught by Sajna for the benefit of positioning the coils for magnetic coupling.
Regarding claim 6, Buchbut in view of Sauerwein, Staude, and Sajna teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 5), and Sajna teaches further comprising a dielectric layer (Fig. 3 # 32 first bobbin) disposed radially between the steering housing (Fig. 1 #12 casing) and the first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 1 #26 annular stator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Buchbut in view of Sauerwein, Staude, and Sajna by incorporating the dielectric layer as taught by Sajna for the benefit of supporting the coil holder and protecting the shaft.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchbut et al (US 2018/0312117) in view of Sauerwein et al (US 2012/0286580) and Staude et al (EP 2607200 A1) as applied to claim 1, in view of Baughman et al (US 5,856,710).
Regarding claim 14, Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Staude teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the first transceiver communicates serial signals to the second transceiver.
Nonetheless, Baughman in the same field of endeavor being steering wheels with electrical components teaches wherein the first transceiver communicates serial signals to the second transceiver (Col. 3 lines 16-24 ---" Being that the two windings are inductively coupled, this impedance in the secondary coil winding is reflected back to the primary coil winding, varying the amplitude of the voltage developed across the primary coil winding. A demodulator coupled to the primary coil winding converts the varying amplitudes back into the serial data. Thereafter, the serial codes are demultiplexed to generate binary outputs corresponding to the current state of each control button.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Buchbut in view of Sauerwein by incorporating the serial signals as taught by Baughman for the benefit of outputting a unique serial set of binary data assigned to each control button. (Baughman Col. 3 second paragraph)
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchbut et al (US 2018/0312117) in view of Sauerwein et al (US 2012/0286580) and Staude et al (EP 2607200 A1) as applied to claim 1, in view of Walford et al (US 2018/0336329).
Regarding claim 16, Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Staude teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the steering member comprises a display, further comprising a steering member controller controlling the display using a display signal communicated from the first transceiver to the second transceiver.
Nonetheless, Walford teaches wherein the steering member (Fig. 4 #370 steering wheel assembly) comprises a display (Fig. 4 #440 display), further comprising a steering member controller (Fig. 4 #470 display logic) controlling the display (Fig. 4 #440 display) using a display signal communicated from the first transceiver to the second transceiver.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Buchbut in view of Sauerwein and Staude by incorporating the display as that by Walford for the purpose of presenting vehicle performance.
Claim(s) 19 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchbut et al (US 2018/0312117) in view of Staude et al (EP 2607200 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Buchbut discloses a method for communicating with components on a steering member comprising:
controlling a first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil) disposed around a steering shaft (Fig. 2 #30 wheel shaft);
inducing, in response to controlling, current in a second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #42 wheel power coil) coupled to the steering member (Fig. 3 #14 steering wheel) to power a first component ([0021] lines 24-31 ---"In some embodiments, the body power coil 40 and/or the wheel power coil 42 are positioned concentrically around the wheel shaft 30 and the steering axis 32, but other positions are also possible. The electricity produced in the wheel power coil 42 is used as needed within the steering wheel 14, such as for producing a control signal or for powering a steering wheel heater (not illustrated in FIGS. 1-3).”), said first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil) spaced apart from the second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #42 wheel power coil);
and bi-directionally wirelessly communicating signals between a first transceiver (Fig. 9 #90 body transceiver) coupled to the first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil) and a second transceiver (Fig. 10 #92 wheel transceiver) coupled to the second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #42 wheel power coil) ([0027] lines 5-7 ---"The body and wheel transceivers 90, 92 are configured to communicate wirelessly.”),
wherein bi-directionally wirelessly communicating signals comprises communicating a user interface signal from the second transceiver to the first transceiver and communicating a control signal from the first transceiver to the second transceiver ([0024] lines 13-22 ---" In some embodiments, the control signal produced by the wheel actuators 34 are transferred to the body 16 from the wheel power coil 42, where a communication coil 72 receives the control signals. A body communication board 74 is configured to send the control signal received by the communication coil 72 to the appropriate vehicle component 36. The communication coil 72 is configured to send and/or receive (i.e. transfer) a control signal or other communication signal by modulating a parameter of electrical power in the body power coil 40.”).
However, Buchbut does not disclose communicating a thermal sensor signal from a steering wheel controller.
Nonetheless, Staude teaches communicating a thermal sensor signal from a steering wheel controller (Page 5 second para. ---" The measured values for the temperature can then be transmitted to the steering column module 2 via a LIN bus 29.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Buchbut by incorporating the transmission of a temperature sensor signal as taught by Staude for the benefit of monitoring the temperature of the temperature sensor for control of the heating element.
Regarding claim 22, Buchbut discloses a method for operating a steering assembly of a vehicle having a steering member, comprising:
receiving, by a controller of the vehicle (Fig. 10 #80 wheel controller), a user input signal indicating a temperature setting ([0017] lines 8-12 ---"The steering wheel 14 includes one or more wheel actuators 34, where the wheel actuators 34 are configured to send a control signal to a vehicle component 36, such as a radio, a stereo, a cruise control, a guidance system, a steering wheel heater, or other components.”);
determining, based on the temperature setting, an amount of current to provide to a first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil), wherein the first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil) is coupled around a steering shaft; and providing, based on the amount of current and by the controller of the vehicle (Fig. 10 #80 wheel controller), a current to the first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil), wherein the first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil) is configured to wirelessly provide power to a second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #42 wheel power coil), and wherein the second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #42 wheel power coil) is configured to provide the power to a heating element ([0021] lines 24-31 ---"In some embodiments, the body power coil 40 and/or the wheel power coil 42 are positioned concentrically around the wheel shaft 30 and the steering axis 32, but other positions are also possible. The electricity produced in the wheel power coil 42 is used as needed within the steering wheel 14, such as for producing a control signal or for powering a steering wheel heater (not illustrated in FIGS. 1-3).”).
However, Buchbut does not disclose sensing, at a thermal sensor, a temperature of the heating element; and wirelessly communicating a thermal sensor signal obtained from the thermal sensor from the steering wheel controller to the controller of the vehicle.
Nonetheless, Staude teaches sensing, at a thermal sensor, a temperature of the heating element (Page 5 second para. ---"In the steering wheel 3, a temperature sensor 28 - such as a PTC element - be integrated, by means of which the temperature of the steering wheel 3 is measured.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Buchbut by incorporating sensing the temperature of the steering wheel with a temperature sensor as taught by Staude for the benefit of controlling the heating element in the steering wheel using the sensed temperature.
Furthermore, Buchbut in view of Staude teaches wirelessly communicating a thermal sensor signal obtained from the thermal sensor from the steering wheel controller to the controller of the vehicle (The combination of Buchbut, who discloses the first and second transceivers and the first and second conductive coils, with the temperature sensor taught by Staude would result in the temperature signal being communicated through the first and second transceivers and the first and second conductive coils.).
Regarding claim 23, Buchbut in view of Staude teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 22), and Buchbut teaches wherein the first electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #40 body power coil) is configured to wirelessly provide the power to the second electrically conductive coil (Fig. 3 #42 wheel power coil) based on inducing a second current ([0021] lines 24-31 ---"In some embodiments, the body power coil 40 and/or the wheel power coil 42 are positioned concentrically around the wheel shaft 30 and the steering axis 32, but other positions are also possible. The electricity produced in the wheel power coil 42 is used as needed within the steering wheel 14, such as for producing a control signal or for powering a steering wheel heater (not illustrated in FIGS. 1-3).”).
Regarding claim 24, Buchbut in view of Staude teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 22), and Staude teaches further comprising limiting the amount of current based on feedback from a thermal sensor disposed at the steering member (Page 5 second para. ---" In the steering column module 2, the current temperature of the steering wheel 3 is thus known, so that the temperature can be controlled. Thus, there is a control of the temperature of the steering wheel 3, namely by appropriate control of the heating element 4.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Buchbut in view of Staude by incorporating the temperature sensor as taught by Staude for the benefit of controlling the temperature of the steering wheel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-14, filed 05/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11-17, and 19-23 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Staude et al (EP 2607200 A1).
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach a controller in the steering wheel, connected to the temperature sensor that transmits a temperature sensor signal. Examiner respectfully agrees.
However, newly cited prior art Staude teaches a controller in the steering wheel, connected to the temperature sensor that transmits a temperature sensor signal. Both Sauerwein and Staude teach temperature sensors. Buchbut teaches wireless transmission of control signals through induction coils between the vehicle body and the steering wheel. The claimed invention would be obvious based on the teachings of Buchbut, Sauerwein, and Staude.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ibrahime Abraham can be reached at (571) 270-5569. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JOE E MILLS JR./ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761