DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 12, 2026 and March 30, 2026 are considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant submitted amendments and remarks on March 25, 2026. Therein, Applicant submitted substantive arguments. Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, 13, 15, and 18 have been amended. No claims were added. Claim 20 was cancelled.
The submitted claims are considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20180148905) in view of Tsutsui, et al. (Japanese Patent Application No. 2022174555A) and further in view of Matzelle (U.S. Patent No. 11314223).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuyama, et al. teaches: A system for identifying a first attachment tool for a work device, the system comprising: a first communication unit, the first communication unit and provided on the first attachment tool (Matsuyama, et al. Paragraph [0020]: "The work equipment (110) is provided with a boom (111), an arm (112), a bucket (113), boom cylinders (114), an arm cylinder (115), and a bucket cylinder (116)." ; Matsuyama, et al. Paragraph [0051]: "The control device (126) is provided with a work machine information storing unit (200), a manipulation amount acquiring unit (201), a detected information acquiring unit (202), a posture specifying unit (203), a target construction data storing unit (204), a target construction line specifying unit (205), a distance specifying unit (206), a target speed deciding unit (207), a work equipment control unit (208), a bucket control unit (209), and a control command output unit (210).")
Specifically, "a system for identifying an attachment tool" refers to an attachment tool (113), "for a work device" refers to the working machine (100), "a first communication unit" refers to element (209) in Fig. 4, and "connected to an attachment tool" refers to an attachment device (113).
a second communication unit directly attached to the work device in a connection region for the first attachment tool, the second communication unit (Matsuyama, et al. Paragraph [0020]: "The work equipment (110) is provided with a boom (111), an arm (112), a bucket (113), boom cylinders (114), an arm cylinder (115), and a bucket cylinder (116)." ; Matsuyama, et al. Paragraph [0051]: "The control device (126) is provided with a work machine information storing unit (200), a manipulation amount acquiring unit (201), a detected information acquiring unit (202), a posture specifying unit (203), a target construction data storing unit (204), a target construction line specifying unit (205), a distance specifying unit (206), a target speed deciding unit (207), a work equipment control unit (208), a bucket control unit (209), and a control command output unit (210).")
Specifically, "a second communication unit" refers to element (207) in Fig. 4, and "connected to the work device a connection region for the attachment tool" refers to an attachment device (113).
Matsuyama, et al. does not teach having a first acceleration sensor configured to measure a first acceleration of the attachment tool and to provide a first acceleration signal representing the first acceleration of the first attachment tool; having a second acceleration sensor configured to measure a second acceleration of the connection region of the work device to provide a second acceleration signal representing the second acceleration of the connection region of the work device; and an identification module that is coupled to one or more of the first communication unit or the second communication unit, the identification module configured to obtain the first and second acceleration signals and identify the attachment tool as attached to the work device and not the one or more additional attachment tools by comparing the first and second acceleration signals responsive to the first and second acceleration signals being closer to each other than to one or more other acceleration signals from one or more additional communication units connected to the one or more additional attachment tools.
In a similar field of endeavor (construction machinery), Tsutsui, et al. teaches: having a first acceleration sensor configured to measure a first acceleration of the first attachment tool and to provide a first acceleration signal representing the first acceleration of the attachment tool; (Paragraph [0031]: "An accelerator sensor (22) for detecting accelerations of the boom (14) is attached to a side plate (14A) on the left side of the boom (14) constituting the front (13). An accelerator sensor (23) for detecting accelerations of the arm (16) is attached to a left side plate (16A) of the arm (16). An accelerator sensor (24) for detecting accelerations of the bucket (17) in association with the operation of the bucket link (18) is attached to a left side surface (18A) of the rear link (18A1) constituting the bucket link (18). Further, the upper revolving structure (3) is provided with a vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) for detecting the inclination of the hydraulic excavator (1) at the work site.")
Specifically, "having a first acceleration sensor configured to measure a first acceleration of the first attachment tool and to provide a first acceleration signal representing the first acceleration of the attachment tool" refers to "…the acceleration sensor (24) for detecting the acceleration of the bucket (17)", as stated in Paragraph [0031].
having a second acceleration sensor configured to measure a second acceleration of the connection region of the work device to provide a second acceleration signal representing the second acceleration of the connection region of the work device; (Paragraph [0031]: "An accelerator sensor (22) for detecting accelerations of the boom (14) is attached to a side plate (14A) on the left side of the boom (14) constituting the front (13). An accelerator sensor (23) for detecting accelerations of the arm (16) is attached to a left side plate (16A) of the arm (16). An accelerator sensor (24) for detecting accelerations of the bucket (17) in association with the operation of the bucket link (18) is attached to a left side surface (18A) of the rear link (18A1) constituting the bucket link (18). Further, the upper revolving structure (3) is provided with a vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) for detecting the inclination of the hydraulic excavator (1) at the work site.")
Specifically, "a second acceleration sensor configured to measure a second acceleration of the connection region of the work device to provide a second acceleration signal representing the second acceleration of the connection region" refers to "…the acceleration sensor (22) for detecting the acceleration of the boom (14)", as stated in Paragraph [0031].
and an identification module that is coupled to one or more of the first communication unit or the second communication unit, the identification module configured to obtain the first and second acceleration signals and identify the first attachment tool as attached to the work device and not the one or more additional attachment tools by comparing the first and second acceleration signals responsive to the first and second acceleration signals being closer to each other than to one or more other acceleration signals from one or more additional communication units connected to the one or more additional attachment tools (Paragraph [0031]: "An accelerator sensor (22) for detecting accelerations of the boom (14) is attached to a side plate (14A) on the left side of the boom (14) constituting the front (13). An accelerator sensor (23) for detecting accelerations of the arm (16) is attached to a left side plate (16A) of the arm (16). An accelerator sensor (24) for detecting accelerations of the bucket (17) in association with the operation of the bucket link (18) is attached to a left side surface (18A) of the rear link (18A1) constituting the bucket link (18). Further, the upper revolving structure (3) is provided with a vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) for detecting the inclination of the hydraulic excavator (1) at the work site." ; Paragraph [0032]: "The acceleration sensors (22), (23) and (24) and the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) are configured to: When the semi-automatic operation construction using the hydraulic excavator (1) is performed, a posture of the front (13) constructing the ground, that is, a position of a tip (claw tip) of an excavation claw (17B) provided in the bucket (17) is detected, and is connected to a controller (not shown) mounted on the upper swing body (3). Then on the accelerations of the boom (14), the arm (16), and the bucket (17) detected by the acceleration sensors (22), (23), and (24), the inclination of the excavator (1) (the upper slewing body (3)) detected by the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25), and the like, the controller."; Paragraph [0050]: "In a case where semi-automatic operation construction using the excavator (1) is performed, the controller (not illustrated) calculates the accelerations of the boom (14), the arm (16), and the bucket (17) detected by the acceleration sensors (22), (23), and (24) Based on the inclination or the like of the hydraulic excavator (1) detected by the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25), the position of the claw tip of an excavation claw (17B) provided on the bucket (17) is calculated [calculates proximity of acceleration signals and determines position of attachment tool].")
Specifically, "an identification module" refers to a controller (not shown) in Paragraph [0032], "that is coupled to one or more of the first communication unit or the second communication unit, the identification module configured to obtain the first" refers to "…the acceleration sensor (24) for detecting the acceleration of the bucket (17)" in Paragraph [0031], "and identify the attachment tool as attached to the work device by comparing the first and second acceleration signals" refers to the controller controls the operation of the front (13) while comparing the calculated positional information of the tip of the digging claw (17B) and the three-dimensional data of the ground to be worked in Paragraph [0032]. As a result, the semi-automatic construction operation using the hydraulic excavator (1) is performed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsuyama, et al. to include the teaching of Tsutsui, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to provide a construction machine capable of suppressing transmission of impact forces (Tsutsui, et al. Paragraph [0009]).
The combination of Matsuyama, et al. and Tsutsui, et al. does not teach comprising a short range wireless transceiver; automatically; upon a mechanical coupling procedure of the first attachment tool or one or more additional attachment tools.
In a similar field of endeavor (work tool data), Matzelle teaches: automatically; (Matzelle Col. 7, lines 23-31: "In addition, to sense movement of the work tool attachment (102), for example, when coupled to and picked up by the machine, the data transmission device (180) can include a motion detector (194) such as an accelerometer that can measure acceleration forces. Any change in the current state or spatial reference experienced by the work tool attachment (102) is interpreted by the accelerometer as movement [measure acceleration as a function of coupling attachment].")
comprising a short range wireless transceiver (Matzelle, Col. 13, lines 7-8: "automatically transmit the first tool data set and the second tool data set [automatic detection].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matsuyama, et al. and Tsutsui, et al. to include the teaching of Matzelle based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the measurement of positions between an implement and the body of a work vehicle (Matzelle Col. 1, lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the first communication unit is configured to wirelessly transmit the first acceleration signal to a reception unit, with the reception unit configured to receive signals within a limited reception radius (Matsuyama, et al. Figs. 1-7, Paragraph [0034]: "The position detector (122) detects a position of the excavator body (120). The position detector (122) is provided with a first receiver (1231) that receives a positioning signal from an artificial satellite constituting a global navigation satellite system (GNSS). The position detector (122) detects a position of a representative point of the excavator body (120) in a global coordinate system on the basis of the positioning signal received by the first receiver (1231). The global coordinate system is a coordinate system in which a given point on the ground (for example, a position of a GNSS reference station installed at a construction site) is set as a reference point. An example of the GNSS may include a global positioning system (GPS).").
Specifically, the reception unit refers to a global positioning system, or GPS (see Matsuyama at Paragraph [0034] "… the GNSS may include a global positioning system (GPS))".
Regarding claim 3, Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle remain as applied to claim 2, and in a further embodiment, teach: The system in accordance with claim 2, wherein the second communication unit comprises the reception unit and is configured to provide the first and second acceleration signals to the identification module; and wherein the second communication unit comprises the identification module or an identification unit connected to the work device that comprises the identification module and is configured to receive the first and second acceleration signals from the second communication unit in a wired or wireless manner (Tsutsui, et al. Paragraph [0031]: "An accelerator sensor (22) for detecting accelerations of the boom (14) is attached to a side plate (14A) on the left side of the boom (14) constituting the front (13). An accelerator sensor (23) for detecting accelerations of the arm (16) is attached to a left side plate (16A) of the arm (16). An accelerator sensor (24) for detecting accelerations of the bucket (17) in association with the operation of the bucket link (18) is attached to a left side surface (18A) of the rear link (18A1) constituting the bucket link (18). Further, the upper revolving structure (3) is provided with a vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) for detecting the inclination of the hydraulic excavator (1) at the work site." ; Tsutsui, et al. Paragraph [0032]: "The acceleration sensors (22), (23) and (24) and the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) are configured to: When the semi-automatic operation construction using the hydraulic excavator (1) is performed, a posture of the front (13) constructing the ground, that is, a position of a tip (claw tip) of an excavation claw (178) provided in the bucket (17) is detected, and is connected to a controller (not shown) mounted on the upper swing body (3). Then on the accelerations of the boom (14), the arm (16), and the bucket (17) detected by the acceleration sensors (22), (23), and (24), the inclination of the excavator (1) (the upper slewing body (3)) detected by the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25), and the like, the controller.").
Specifically, "wherein the second communication unit comprises the reception unit and is configured to provide the first and second acceleration signals to the identification module; and wherein the second communication unit comprises the identification module or an identification unit connected to the work device that comprises the identification module and is configured to receive the first and second acceleration signals" refers to the acceleration sensor (22) for detecting the acceleration of the boom (14), as stated in Paragraph [0031]. Additionally, "from the second communication unit in a wired or wireless manner" refers to a controller (not shown), as stated in Paragraph [0032].
Regarding claim 4, Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle remain as applied to claim 2, and in a further embodiment, teach: The system in accordance with claim 2, further comprising: wherein an identification unit connected to the work device, the identification unit comprising the identification module and the reception unit; (Matsuyama, et al. Figs. 1-7, Paragraph [0064]: "The target speed deciding unit (207) decides a target speed of the boom (111) on the basis of the amount of manipulation of the right manipulation lever (1212) in the forward/backward direction, which is acquired by the manipulation amount acquiring unit (201).")
Specifically, the identification unit target speed deciding unit refers to the target speed deciding unit (207) (ref. Paragraph [0064]: "The target speed deciding unit (207) decides a target speed of the arm (112) on the basis of the amount of manipulation of the left manipulation lever (1213) in the forward/backward direction").
and wherein the second communication unit is configured to transmit the second acceleration signal to the identification unit in a wired or wireless manner (Matsuyama, et al. Figs. 1-7, Paragraph [0034]: "The position detector (122) detects a position of the excavator body (120). The position detector (122) is provided with a first receiver (1231) that receives a positioning signal from an artificial satellite constituting a global navigation satellite system (GNSS). The position detector (122) detects a position of a representative point of the excavator body (120) in a global coordinate system on the basis of the positioning signal received by the first receiver (1231). The global coordinate system is a coordinate system in which a given point on the ground (for example, a position of a GNSS reference station installed at a construction site) is set as a reference point. An example of the GNSS may include a global positioning system (GPS).").
Specifically, "wherein the second communication unit is configured to transmit the second acceleration signal to the identification unit in a wired or wireless manner" refers to a GPS (see Matsuyama at Paragraph [0034] "… the GNSS may include a global positioning system (GPS))".
Regarding claim 5, Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the first communication unit is configured to provide an identification signal relating to one or more of a dimension, a geometry, a type, or a weight of the first attachment tool based on identifying the first attachment tool and to transmit the identification signal to one or more of the identification module or a control of the work device (Matsuyama, et al. Figs. 1-7, Paragraph [0034]: "The position detector (122) detects a position of the excavator body (120). The position detector (122) is provided with a first receiver (1231) that receives a positioning signal from an artificial satellite constituting a global navigation satellite system (GNSS). The position detector (122) detects a position of a representative point of the excavator body (120) in a global coordinate system on the basis of the positioning signal received by the first receiver (1231). The global coordinate system is a coordinate system in which a given point on the ground (for example, a position of a GNSS reference station installed at a construction site) is set as a reference point. An example of the GNSS may include a global positioning system (GPS).").
Specifically, the identification signal refers to a global positioning system, or GPS (see Matsuyama at Paragraph [0034] "… the GNSS may include a global positioning system (GPS))".
Regarding claim 6, Matsuyama, et al. and Tsutsui, et al., remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the identification module is configured to take account of one or more pieces of information in comparing the first and second acceleration signals, the one or more pieces of information comprising one or more of: a property, of a radio connection of the first communication unit; an instantaneous location of the attachment tool; a position of the first communication unit at an attachment tool; or an instantaneous coupling state of the attachment tool with the connection region of the work device (Matsuyama, et al. Paragraph [0036]: "The slope detector (124) measures an acceleration and an angular velocity of the excavator body (120), and detects a slope (for example, a pitch indicating rotation about an X axis, a yaw indicating rotation about a Y axis, and a roll indicating rotation about a Z axis) of the excavator body (120) on the basis of the measured results. The slope detector (124) is installed on, for example, a lower surface of the cab (121). The slope detector (124) can use, for example, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) as an inertia measuring device [determination of comparison of acceleration signals]." ; Matsuyama, et al. Paragraph [0042]: "The control device (126) specifies a position of the bucket (113) [instantaneous location of attachment tool] by executing the program on the basis of the position detected by the position detector (122), the direction detected by the direction calculator (123), the slope angle of the excavator body (120) detected by the slope detector (124) [based on acceleration values], and the stroke length detected by the stroke detector (117).").
Regarding claim 10, Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The system in accordance with claim 1, further comprising a third communication unit of the one or more additional communication units connected to a second attachment tool of the one or more additional tools, the first communication unit and the third communication unit configured to communicate with each other (Matsuyama, et al. Paragraph [0020]: "The work equipment (110) is provided with a boom (111), an arm (112), a bucket (113), boom cylinders (114), an arm cylinder (115), and a bucket cylinder (116)." ; Matsuyama, et al. Paragraph [0075]: "The target construction line specifying unit (205) specifies a contour point located at the lowest position in the global coordinate system among the contour points of the bucket (113) (step S5). The target construction line specifying unit (205) specifies a target construction surface that is located vertically below the specified contour point (step S6). Next, the target construction line specifying unit (205) calculates an intersecting line between a driving surface of the bucket (113), which passes through the specified contour point and the target construction surface, and target construction data as a target construction line (step S7). The distance specifying unit (206) specifies a distance between the bucket (113) and an excavation object position (step S8). The target speed deciding unit (207) calculates target speeds of the boom (111), the arm (112), and the bucket (113) on the basis of the amounts of manipulation acquired by the manipulation amount acquiring unit (201) in step S1 (step S9)." ; Matsuyama, et al. Paragraph [0076]: "Next, the work equipment control unit (208) specifies a speed limit of the work equipment (110) associated with the distance between the bucket (113) and the excavation object position, which is specified by the distance specifying unit (206) according to the table shown in FIG. 5 (step S10). Next, the work equipment control unit (208) calculates a speed limit of the boom (111) on the basis of the target speeds of the arm (112) and the bucket (113) and the speed limit of the work equipment (110) (step S11). The work equipment control unit (208) generates a control command of the boom (111) and a control command of the bucket (113) on the basis of the speed limit of the boom (111) which is generated by the work equipment control unit (208) (step S12).").
Specifically, "wherein the attachment tool is a first attachment tool, and further comprising a third communication unit connected to a second attachment tool" refers to attachment tool (113) and "the first communication unit and the third communication unit configured to communicate with each other" refers to Paragraphs [0075-0076], in which Figs. 5-6 provide for the connecting region a described in Paragraphs [0066], [0076], and [0039]-[0040].
Regarding claim 11, Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the identification module is configured to calculate an expected acceleration for the first attachment tool based on the second acceleration signal and to compare the expected acceleration with the first acceleration signal of the first communication unit of the first attachment tool to one or more of recognize whether the first attachment tool is connected to the work device or identify a state of the work device (Tsutsui, et al. Paragraph [0031]: "An accelerator sensor (22) for detecting accelerations of the boom (14) is attached to a side plate (14A) on the left side of the boom (14) constituting the front (13). An accelerator sensor (23) for detecting accelerations of the arm (16) is attached to a left side plate (16A) of the arm (16). An accelerator sensor (24) for detecting accelerations of the bucket (17) in association with the operation of the bucket link (18) is attached to a left side surface (18A) of the rear link (18A1) constituting the bucket link (18). Further, the upper revolving structure (3) is provided with a vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) for detecting the inclination of the hydraulic excavator (1) at the work site." ; Tsutsui, et al. Paragraph [0032]: "The acceleration sensors (22), (23) and (24) and the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) are configured to: When the semi-automatic operation construction using the hydraulic excavator (1) is performed, a posture of the front (13) constructing the ground, that is, a position of a tip (claw tip) of an excavation claw (178) provided in the bucket (17) is detected, and is connected to a controller (not shown) mounted on the upper swing body (3). Then on the accelerations of the boom (14), the arm (16), and the bucket (17) detected by the acceleration sensors (22), (23), and (24), the inclination of the excavator (1) (the upper slewing body (3)) detected by the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25), and the like, the controller.").
Specifically, "wherein the identification module" refers to a controller (not shown) (ref. Paragraph [0032]), "is configured to calculate an expected acceleration for the attachment tool based on the second acceleration signal" refers to the acceleration sensor 22 for detecting the acceleration of the boom 14 (ref. Paragraph [0031]), "and to compare the expected acceleration with the first acceleration signal of the first communication unit of the attachment tool (ref. bucket (17), Paragraph [0031])) to one or more of recognize whether the attachment tool (ref. bucket (17), Paragraph [0031])) is connected to the work device or identify a of the work device" refers to a circumstance in which the controller controls the operation of the front (13) while comparing the calculated positional information of the tip of the digging claw (17B) and the three-dimensional data of the ground to be worked. As a result, semi-automatic operation construction using the hydraulic excavator (1) is performed (ref. Paragraph [0032]).
Claims 7-9 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20180148905), Tsutsui, et al. (Japanese Patent Application No. 2022174555A) and Matzelle (U.S. Patent No. 11314223) in view of Tinker, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10900778).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle teaches: The system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the identification module is configured to receive one or more additional accelerations in one or more additional acceleration signals from the one or more additional communication units connected to the one or more additional attachment tools, the identification module configured to compare (a) each of the first acceleration and the one or more additional accelerations with (b) the second acceleration of the second communication unit which of the first acceleration and the one or more additional accelerations has a highest correlation with the second acceleration to identify which of the first attachment tool or the one or more additional attachment tools is connected to the work device (Tsutsui, et al. Paragraph [0032]: "The acceleration sensors (22), (23) and (24) and the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) are configured to: When the semi-automatic operation construction using the hydraulic excavator (1) is performed, a posture of the front (13) constructing the ground, that is, a position of a tip (claw tip) of an excavation claw (178) provided in the bucket (17) is detected, and is connected to a controller (not shown) mounted on the upper swing body (3). Then on the accelerations of the boom (14), the arm (16), and the bucket (17) detected by the acceleration sensors (22), (23), and (24), the inclination of the excavator (1) (the upper slewing body (3)) detected by the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25), and the like, the controller."; Tsutsui, et al. Paragraph [0050]: "In a case where semi-automatic operation construction using the excavator (1) is performed, the controller (not illustrated) calculates the accelerations of the boom (14), the arm (16), and the bucket (17) detected by the acceleration sensors (22), (23), and (24) Based on the inclination or the like of the hydraulic excavator (1) detected by the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25), the position of the claw tip of an excavation claw (17B) provided on the bucket (17) is calculated [calculates proximity of acceleration signals and determines position of attachment tool].").
Specifically, "the identification module" refers to a controller (not shown) (ref. Paragraph [0032]), "is configured to receive one or more additional accelerations in one or more additional acceleration signals from one or more additional communication units connected to one or more additional attachment tools" refers to the bucket (17), and "the identification module configured to compare (a) each of the first acceleration and the one or more additional accelerations with (b) the second acceleration of the second communication unit to identify which of the first attachment tool or the one or more additional attachment tools is connected to the work device" refers to Paragraph [0032], in which the controller controls the operation of the front (13) while comparing the calculated positional information of the tip of the digging claw (17B) and the three-dimensional data of the ground to be worked. As a result, semi-automatic operation construction using the hydraulic excavator (1) is performed.
The combination of Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle does not teach and decide both (a) whether any of the first attachment tool and the one or more additional attachment tools has been connected to the work device and (b) which of the first attachment tool and the one or more additional attachment tools has been connected to the work device.
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle implement movement measurement), Tinker, et al. teaches: and decide both (a) whether any of the first attachment tool and the one or more additional attachment tools has been connected to the work device and (b) which of the first attachment tool and the one or more additional attachment tools has been connected to the work device by deciding (Col. 5, lines 11-17: "…determining relative differences between the measurements obtained from different IMUs. In this step, IMU readings/positional data common to the compared IMUs can be zeroed-out so that only the positional data individually associated with each IMU and isolated from common movement is identified for determining the respective component positions [identification of attachment tools with relationship to work device].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle to include the teaching of Tinker, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the identification of the relative movement attributes of a work vehicle implement (Tinker, et al. Col. 1, lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 8, Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., Matzelle, and Tinker, et al. remain as applied to claim 7, and in a further embodiment, teach: The system in accordance with claim 7, wherein the identification module is configured to identify the first attachment tool as attached to the work device by comparing the first and second acceleration signals and based on a difference between the second acceleration signal and an expected acceleration for the first attachment tool calculated based on the second acceleration signal (Tsutsui, et al. Paragraph [0031]: "An accelerator sensor (22) for detecting accelerations of the boom (14) is attached to a side plate (14A) on the left side of the boom (14) constituting the front (13). An accelerator sensor (23) for detecting accelerations of the arm (16) is attached to a left side plate (16A) of the arm (16). An accelerator sensor (24) for detecting accelerations of the bucket (17) in association with the operation of the bucket link (18) is attached to a left side surface (18A) of the rear link (18A1) constituting the bucket link (18). Further, the upper revolving structure (3) is provided with a vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) for detecting the inclination of the hydraulic excavator (1) at the work site." ; Tsutsui, et al. Paragraph [0032]: "The acceleration sensors (22), (23) and (24) and the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) are configured to: When the semi-automatic operation construction using the hydraulic excavator (1) is performed, a posture of the front (13) constructing the ground, that is, a position of a tip (claw tip) of an excavation claw (178) provided in the bucket (17) is detected, and is connected to a controller (not shown) mounted on the upper swing body (3). Then on the accelerations of the boom (14), the arm (16), and the bucket (17) detected by the acceleration sensors (22), (23), and (24), the inclination of the excavator (1) (the upper slewing body (3)) detected by the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25), and the like, the controller.").
Specifically, "the identification module" refers to a controller (not shown) (ref. Paragraph [0032]), "is configured to identify the attachment tool as attached to the work device by comparing the first and second acceleration signals and based on one or both of: a first difference between the first and second acceleration signals" refers to Paragraph [0031] for the acceleration sensor (22) for detecting the acceleration of the boom (14), and "a second difference between the second acceleration signal and an expected acceleration for the attachment tool calculated based on the second acceleration signal" refers to Paragraph [0032], in which the controller controls the operation of the front (13) while comparing the calculated positional information of the tip of the digging claw (17B) and the three-dimensional data of the ground to be worked. As a result, semi-automatic operation construction using the hydraulic excavator (1) is performed.
Regarding claim 9, Matsuyama, et al. teaches: The system in accordance with claim 1, further comprising: a third communication unit of the one or more additional communication units connected with a second attachment tool of the one or more attachment tools (Paragraph [0020]: "The work equipment (110) is provided with a boom (111), an arm (112), a bucket (113), boom cylinders (114), an arm cylinder (115), and a bucket cylinder (116)." ; Paragraph [0075]: "The target construction line specifying unit (205) specifies a contour point located at the lowest position in the global coordinate system among the contour points of the bucket (113) (step S5). The target construction line specifying unit (205) specifies a target construction surface that is located vertically below the specified contour point (step S6). Next, the target construction line specifying unit (205) calculates an intersecting line between a driving surface of the bucket (113), which passes through the specified contour point and the target construction surface, and target construction data as a target construction line (step S7). The distance specifying unit (206) specifies a distance between the bucket (113) and an excavation object position (step S8). The target speed deciding unit (207) calculates target speeds of the boom (111), the arm (112), and the bucket (113) on the basis of the amounts of manipulation acquired by the manipulation amount acquiring unit (201) in step S1 (step S9).").
Specifically, with respect to the reference Matsuyama, et al., "a third communication unit " refers to Fig. 4 and element (209), "connected with a second attachment tool" refers to an attachment tool (113), and "that is configured to connect with the first attachment tool while the first attachment tool is connected with the work device,", refers to Paragraphs [0075]-[0076] in which Figs. 5-6 provides for the connecting region in Paragraphs [0066] and [0076] and at least Paragraphs [0039] and [0040].
Matsuyama, et al. does not teach the third communication unit having a third acceleration sensor configured to measure a third acceleration of the second attachment tool and to provide a third acceleration signal representing the third acceleration of the second attachment tool, the identification module configured to obtain the first acceleration signal, the second acceleration signal, and the third acceleration signal to determine an attachment order of the first attachment tool and the second attachment tool based on the first acceleration signal, the second acceleration signal, and the third acceleration signal.
In a similar field of endeavor (construction machinery), Tsutsui, et al. teaches: the third communication unit having a third acceleration sensor configured to measure a third acceleration of the second attachment tool and to provide a third acceleration signal representing the third acceleration of the second attachment tool, the identification module configured to obtain the first acceleration signal, the second acceleration signal, and the third acceleration signal to determine an attachment order of the first attachment tool and the second attachment tool based on the first acceleration signal, the second acceleration signal, and the third acceleration signal (Paragraph [0031]: "An accelerator sensor (22) for detecting accelerations of the boom (14) is attached to a side plate (14A) on the left side of the boom (14) constituting the front (13). An accelerator sensor (23) for detecting accelerations of the arm (16) is attached to a left side plate (16A) of the arm (16). An accelerator sensor (24) for detecting accelerations of the bucket (17) in association with the operation of the bucket link (18) is attached to a left side surface (18A) of the rear link (18A1) constituting the bucket link (18). Further, the upper revolving structure (3) is provided with a vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) for detecting the inclination of the hydraulic excavator (1) at the work site.").
Specifically, "the third communication unit having a third acceleration sensor configured to measure a third acceleration of the second attachment tool and to provide a third acceleration signal representing the third acceleration of the second attachment tool, the identification module configured to obtain the first acceleration signals" refers to the acceleration sensor (24) for detecting the acceleration of the bucket (17) (ref. Paragraph [0031], "of the at least two first communication units and to one or more of compare the first acceleration signals with one another or compare the first acceleration signals with the second acceleration signal to determine an attachment order of the attachment tools "refers to the acceleration sensor (22) for detecting the acceleration of the boom (14) (ref. Paragraph [0031])".
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsuyama, et al. to include the teaching of Tsutsui, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to provide a construction machine capable of suppressing transmission of impact forces (Tsutsui, et al. Paragraph [0009]).
The combination of Matsuyama, et al. and Tsutsui, et al. does not teach the attachment order indicating which of the first attachment tool or the second attachment tool is located further outward from the work device.
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle implement movement measurement), Tinker, et al. teaches: the attachment order indicating which of the first attachment tool or the second attachment tool is located further outward from the work device (Col. 5, lines 11-17: "Step (240) may include determining relative differences between the measurements obtained from different IMUs. In this step, IMU readings/positional data common to the compared IMUs can be zeroed-out so that only the positional data individually associated with each IMU and isolated from common movement is identified for determining the respective component positions [order in which attachment tools are connect with each other by comparing acceleration signals between different IMUs].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matsuyama, et al. and Tsutsui, et al. to include the teaching of Tinker, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the identification of the relative movement attributes of a work vehicle implement (Tinker, et al. Col. 1, lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 13, Matsuyama, et al. teaches: A method comprising: of a first attachment tool using a first acceleration sensor of a first communication unit provided on the first attachment tool (Paragraph [0020]: "The work equipment (110) is provided with a boom (111), an arm (112), a bucket (113), boom cylinders (114), an arm cylinder (115), and a bucket cylinder (116)." ; Paragraph [0051]: "The control device (126) is provided with a work machine information storing unit (200), a manipulation amount acquiring unit (201), a detected information acquiring unit (202), a posture specifying unit (203), a target construction data storing unit (204), a target construction line specifying unit (205), a distance specifying unit (206), a target speed deciding unit (207), a work equipment control unit (208), a bucket control unit (209), and a control command output unit (210).")
Specifically, "of an attachment tool" refers to an attachment tool (113), "using a first acceleration sensor of a first communication unit" refers to Fig. 4, element (209), and "connected to the attachment tool" refers to an attachment tool (113).
of the connection region of the work device using a second acceleration sensor of a second communication unit that is directly attached to the connection region of the work device (Paragraph [0018]: "FIG. 1 is a perspective view showing a constitution of a hydraulic excavator according to a first embodiment. In the first embodiment, a hydraulic excavator (100) is described as an example of a work machine. A work machine according to another embodiment may not necessarily be the hydraulic excavator (100)." ; Paragraph [0051]: "The control device (126) is provided with a work machine information storing unit (200), a manipulation amount acquiring unit (201), a detected information acquiring unit (202), a posture specifying unit (203), a target construction data storing unit (204), a target construction line specifying unit (205), a distance specifying unit (206), a target speed deciding unit (207), a work equipment control unit (208), a bucket control unit (209), and a control command output unit (210).")
Specifically, "of the connection region of the work device" refers to the working machine (100) and "using a second acceleration sensor of a second communication unit" refers to element (207) of Fig. 4.
Matsuyama, et al. does not teach detecting a first acceleration; detecting a second acceleration; transmitting first and second acceleration signals representing the first and second accelerations to an identification module; by comparing the first and second acceleration signals and deciding that the first and second acceleration signals are closer to each other than to one or more other acceleration signals from one or more additional communication units connected to the one or more additional attachment tools.
In a similar field of endeavor (construction machinery), Tsutsui, et al. teaches: detecting a first acceleration (Paragraph [0031]: "An accelerator sensor (22) for detecting accelerations of the boom (14) is attached to a side plate (14A) on the left side of the boom (14) constituting the front (13). An accelerator sensor (23) for detecting accelerations of the arm (16) is attached to a left side plate (16A) of the arm (16). An accelerator sensor (24) for detecting accelerations of the bucket (17) in association with the operation of the bucket link (18) is attached to a left side surface (18A) of the rear link (18A1) constituting the bucket link (18). Further, the upper revolving structure (3) is provided with a vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) for detecting the inclination of the hydraulic excavator (1) at the work site.")
Paragraph [0031]: Specifically, "detecting a first acceleration" refers to the acceleration sensor (24) of the bucket (17).
detecting a second acceleration (Paragraph [0031]: "An accelerator sensor (22) for detecting accelerations of the boom (14) is attached to a side plate (14A) on the left side of the boom (14) constituting the front (13). An accelerator sensor (23) for detecting accelerations of the arm (16) is attached to a left side plate (16A) of the arm (16). An accelerator sensor (24) for detecting accelerations of the bucket (17) in association with the operation of the bucket link (18) is attached to a left side surface (18A) of the rear link (18A1) constituting the bucket link (18). Further, the upper revolving structure (3) is provided with a vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) for detecting the inclination of the hydraulic excavator (1) at the work site.")
Specifically, "detecting a second acceleration" refers to providing (via sensor (22)) a second acceleration signal (the acceleration sensor (22) of the boom (14)).
transmitting first and second acceleration signals representing the first and second accelerations to an identification module (Paragraph [0031]: "An accelerator sensor (22) for detecting accelerations of the boom (14) is attached to a side plate (14A) on the left side of the boom (14) constituting the front (13). An accelerator sensor (23) for detecting accelerations of the arm (16) is attached to a left side plate (16A) of the arm (16). An accelerator sensor (24) for detecting accelerations of the bucket (17) in association with the operation of the bucket link (18) is attached to a left side surface (18A) of the rear link (18A1) constituting the bucket link (18). Further, the upper revolving structure (3) is provided with a vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) for detecting the inclination of the hydraulic excavator (1) at the work site.")
Specifically, transmitting the first and second acceleration signals to the identification module refers to a controller (not shown).
comparing the first and second acceleration signals to and deciding that the first and second acceleration signals are closer to each other than to one or more other acceleration signals from one or more additional communication units connected to the one or more additional attachment tools (Paragraph [0050]: "In a case where semi-automatic operation construction using the excavator (1) is performed, the controller (not illustrated) calculates the accelerations of the boom (14), the arm (16), and the bucket (17) detected by the acceleration sensors (22), (23), and (24) Based on the inclination or the like of the hydraulic excavator (1) detected by the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25), the position of the claw tip of an excavation claw (17B) provided on the bucket (17) is calculated [calculates proximity of acceleration signals and determines position of attachment tool in order to determine connection].")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsuyama, et al. to include the teaching of Tsutsui, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to provide a construction machine capable of suppressing transmission of impact forces (Tsutsui, et al. Paragraph [0009]).
The combination of Matsuyama, et al. and Tsutsui, et al. does not teach while a connection region of a work device is moving during a mechanical coupling procedure of the first attachment tool or one or more additional attachment tools to the connection region; while the connection region is moving during the mechanical coupling procedure.
In a similar field of endeavor (work tool data), Matzelle teaches: while a connection region of a work device is moving during a mechanical coupling procedure of the first attachment tool or one or more additional attachment tools to the connection region; (Col. 7, lines 23-31: "In addition, to sense movement of the work tool attachment (102), for example, when coupled to and picked up by the machine, the data transmission device (180) can include a motion detector (194) such as an accelerometer that can measure acceleration forces. Any change in the current state or spatial reference experienced by the work tool attachment (102) is interpreted by the accelerometer as movement [measure acceleration as a function of coupling attachment motion].")
while the connection region is moving during the mechanical coupling procedure (Col. 7, lines 23-31: "In addition, to sense movement of the work tool attachment (102), for example, when coupled to and picked up by the machine, the data transmission device (180) can include a motion detector (194) such as an accelerometer that can measure acceleration forces. Any change in the current state or spatial reference experienced by the work tool attachment (102) is interpreted by the accelerometer as movement [measure acceleration as a function of coupling attachment motion].")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matsuyama, et al. and Tsutsui, et al. to include the teaching of Matzelle based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the measurement of positions between an implement and the body of a work vehicle (Matzelle Col. 1, lines 6-8).
The combination of Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle does not teach deciding (a) whether any of the first attachment tool or the one or more additional attachment tools has been connected to the work device and (b) which of the first attachment tool and the one or more additional attachment tools has been connected to the work device.
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle implement movement measurement), Tinker, et al. teaches: deciding (a) whether any of the first attachment tool or the one or more additional attachment tools has been connected to the work device and (b) which of the first attachment tool and the one or more additional attachment tools has been connected to the work device (Tinker, et al. Col. 5, lines 11-17: "…determining relative differences between the measurements obtained from different IMUs. In this step, IMU readings/positional data common to the compared IMUs can be zeroed-out so that only the positional data individually associated with each IMU and isolated from common movement is identified for determining the respective component positions [identification of attachment tools with relationship to work device].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle to include the teaching of Tinker, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the identification of the relative movement attributes of a work vehicle implement (Tinker, et al. Col. 1, lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 14, Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., Matzelle, and Tinker, et al. remain as applied to claim 13, and in a further embodiment, teach: The method in accordance with claim 13, further comprising: detecting a third acceleration of a second attachment tool of the one or more additional attachment tools using a third acceleration sensor of a third communication unit of the one or more additional communication units that is connected to the second attachment tool; (Tsutsui, et al. Fig. 1, Paragraph [0031]: "An accelerator sensor (22) for detecting accelerations of the boom (14) is attached to a side plate (14A) on the left side of the boom (14) constituting the front (13). An accelerator sensor (23) for detecting accelerations of the arm (16) is attached to a left side plate (16A) of the arm (16). An accelerator sensor (24) for detecting accelerations of the bucket (17) in association with the operation of the bucket link (18) is attached to a left side surface (18A) of the rear link (18A1) constituting the bucket link (18). Further, the upper revolving structure (3) is provided with a vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) for detecting the inclination of the hydraulic excavator (1) at the work site.")
Specifically, "detecting a third acceleration of a second attachment tool using a third acceleration sensor of a third communication unit connected to the second attachment tool" refers to the bucket (17) and "with the attachment tools being couplable to one or more of one another the connection region" refers to the boom (14).
and determining which of one or more of the first attachment tool or the second attachment tool is connected to the work device by comparing the third acceleration with the second acceleration (Tsutsui, et al. Paragraph [0031]: "An accelerator sensor (22) for detecting accelerations of the boom (14) is attached to a side plate (14A) on the left side of the boom (14) constituting the front (13). An accelerator sensor (23) for detecting accelerations of the arm (16) is attached to a left side plate (16A) of the arm (16). An accelerator sensor (24) for detecting accelerations of the bucket (17) in association with the operation of the bucket link (18) is attached to a left side surface (18A) of the rear link (18A1) constituting the bucket link (18). Further, the upper revolving structure (3) is provided with a vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) for detecting the inclination of the hydraulic excavator (1) at the work site."; Tsutsui, et al. Paragraph [0032]: "The acceleration sensors (22) (23) and (24) and the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25) are configured to: When the semi-automatic operation construction using the hydraulic excavator (1) is performed, a posture of the front (13) constructing the ground, that is, a position of a tip (claw tip) of an excavation claw (178) provided in the bucket (17) is detected, and is connected to a controller (not shown) mounted on the upper swing body (3). Then on the accelerations of the boom (14), the arm (16), and the bucket (17) detected by the acceleration sensors (22), (23), and (24), the inclination of the excavator (1) (the upper slewing body (3)) detected by the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25), and the like, the controller.").
Specifically, "and determining which of one or more of the first attachment tool or the second attachment tool is connected to the work device by comparing the third acceleration with the second acceleration to determine" refers to the bucket (17) (Paragraph [0031]) and the excavator (1) (Paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 15, Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., Matzelle, and Tinker, et al. remain as applied to claim 14, and in a further embodiment, teach: The method in accordance with claim 14, further comprising: transmitting information relating to one or more of a dimension, a geometry, a type, or a weight of the first attachment tool and the second attachment tool based on identifying the first attachment tool to the identification module by the respective first communication unit and the third communication unit, wherein determining which of the one or more of the first attachment tool or the second attachment tool is connected to the work device is based on the information (Matsuyama, et al. Figs. 1-7, Paragraph [0036]: "The slope detector (124) measures an acceleration and an angular velocity of the excavator body (120), and detects a slope (for example, a pitch indicating rotation about an X axis, a yaw indicating rotation about a Y axis, and a roll indicating rotation about a Z axis) of the excavator body (120) on the basis of the measured results. The slope detector (124) is installed on, for example, a lower surface of the cab (121). The slope detector (124) can use, for example, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) as an inertia measuring device.").
Specifically, the sensor substrate (26) has a length dimension larger than that of the acceleration sensor (22) and a width dimension equal to that of the acceleration sensor (22) (ref. Specification)".
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle does not teach the system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the identification module is configured to identify the first attachment tool as attached to the work device by comparing the first and second acceleration signals and based on signal strengths of the first acceleration signal and the second acceleration signal.
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle implement movement measurement), Tinker, et al. teaches: The system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the identification module is configured to identify the attachment tool as attached to the work device by comparing the first and second acceleration signals and based on signal strengths of the first acceleration signal and the second acceleration signal ("Col. 5, lines 4-5: "…measurements may be made by the IMUs and transmitted to the controller (112) for further analysis [identification module gets acceleration data]." ; Col. 5, lines 11-17: "…determining relative differences between the measurements obtained from different IMUs. In this step, IMU readings/positional data common to the compared IMUs can be zeroed-out so that only the positional data individually associated with each IMU and isolated from common movement is identified for determining the respective component positions [can identify attachment tool by comparing acceleration signals between different IMUs]." ; Col. 5, lines 24-28: "…processing the relative differences data from the IMUs. The processing may be performed using a Kalman filter procedure. The Kalman filter may combine the relative differences, e.g., relative angular velocities and relative accelerations, by monitoring signal behavior [comparing signal strengths of acceleration signals].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle to include the teaching of Tinker, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the identification of the relative movement attributes of a work vehicle implement (Tinker, et al. Col. 1, lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., Matzelle, and Tinker, et al. does not teach the system in accordance with claim 7, wherein the identification module is configured to identify which of the first attachment tool or the one or more additional attachment tools is connected to the work device based on a smallest difference between the second acceleration and each of the first acceleration and the one or more additional accelerations.
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle implement movement measurement), Tinker, et al. teaches: The system in accordance with claim 7, wherein the identification module is configured to identify which of the first attachment tool or the one or more additional attachment tools is connected to the work device based on a smallest difference between the second acceleration and each of the first acceleration and the one or more additional accelerations (Col. 5, lines 4-5: "…measurements may be made by the IMUs and transmitted to the controller (112) for further analysis [identification module gets acceleration data]." ; Col. 5, lines 11-17: "…determining relative differences between the measurements obtained from different IMUs. In this step, IMU readings/positional data common to the compared IMUs can be zeroed-out [smallest difference between accelerations] so that only the positional data individually associated with each IMU and isolated from common movement is identified for determining the respective component positions [can identify attachment tool by comparing acceleration signals between different IMUs].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle to include the teaching of Tinker, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the identification of the relative movement attributes of a work vehicle implement (Tinker, et al. Col. 1, lines 6-8).
Claims 18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matzelle (U.S. Patent No. 11314223) in view of Tinker, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10900778).
Regarding claim 18, Matzelle teaches: A system comprising: tool acceleration sensors configured to be directly attached to attachment tools and one or more adapters or extensions, the one or more adapters or extensions configured to be interchangeably connected to a work device, the attachment tools configured to be connected to the work device by the one or more adapters or extenders; (Col. 4, lines 4-8: "…machine (100) to perform a variety of tasks, or to customize the machine for a particular task, the work tool attachment (102) may be interchangeable and may be configured for releasable attachment to the implement mechanism (120) [interchangeably connected to work device]." ; Col. 4, lines 31-37: "…monitoring and recording information about use of the work tool attachment (102) and its operative interaction with the machine (100), the machine can be associated with a work tool data system (140) that includes an electronic control unit, control module or electronic machine controller (142) configured to process electronic signals in the form of binary bits and bytes [connection of sensors to work device]." ; Col. 5, lines 9-14: "…the electronic machine controller (142) can include an input/output interface (148) that can communicate with various sensors and controls disposed about the machine (100) and that are operatively associated with the work tool data system (140) [multiple connected sensors]." ; Col. 7, lines 26-31: "the data transmission device (180) can include a motion detector (194) such as an accelerometer that can measure acceleration forces. Any change in the current state or spatial reference experienced by the work tool attachment (102) is interpreted by the accelerometer as movement [device acceleration sensor - coupled with work device]." ; Col. 3, lines 56-61: "To cause the boom (122), stick (124), and bucket (102) to articulate with respect to each other, implement mechanism (120) may be operatively associated with one or more actuators (126) such as, for example, hydraulic cylinders that can extend and retract a piston resulting in lifting, tilting and other motions [connected to extensions].")
a device acceleration sensor configured to be coupled with the work device (Col. 7, lines 26-31: "the data transmission device (180) can include a motion detector (194) such as an accelerometer that can measure acceleration forces. Any change in the current state or spatial reference experienced by the work tool attachment (102) is interpreted by the accelerometer as movement [device acceleration sensor - coupled with work device].").
Matzelle does not teach and an identification module configured to receive acceleration signals received from each of the tool acceleration sensors and from the device acceleration sensor during movement of the work device, the identification module configured to identify which of the attachment tools is connected to the work device by the one or more adapters or extensions, whether the attachment tool that is connected is at a correct installation position, and an order in which the attachment tools and the one or more adapters or extensions are connected with each other by comparing the acceleration signals.
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle implement movement measurement), Tinker, et al. teaches: and an identification module configured to receive acceleration signals received from each of the tool acceleration sensors and from the device acceleration sensor during movement of the work device, (Col. 3, lines 5-8: "…position sensor system (104) of the machine (101) may include one or more inertial measurement units (IMUs). An IMU may include one or more accelerometers and one or more gyroscopes [multiple acceleration sensors]." ; Col. 3, lines 18-20: "The controller (112) may be configured to receive, analyze, and/or store measurements obtained from the position sensor system (104) [identification module].")
the identification module configured to identify which of the attachment tools is connected to the work device by the one or more adapters or extensions, whether the attachment tool that is connected is at a correct installation position, and an order in which the attachment tools and the one or more adapters or extensions are connected with each other by comparing the acceleration signals (Col. 5, lines 4-5: "The measurements may be made by the IMUs and transmitted to the controller (112) for further analysis [identification module gets acceleration data]." ; Col. 5, lines 11-17: "…determining relative differences between the measurements obtained from different IMUs. In this step, IMU readings/positional data common to the compared IMUs can be zeroed-out so that only the positional data individually associated with each IMU and isolated from common movement is identified for determining the respective component positions [order in which attachment tools are connect with each other by comparing acceleration signals between different IMUs].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matzelle to include the teaching of Tinker, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the identification of the relative movement attributes of a work vehicle implement (Tinker, et al. Col. 1, lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 21, Matzelle and Tinker, et al. remain as applied to claim 18, and in a further embodiment, teach: The system in accordance with claim 18, wherein the work device is an excavator, and the attachment tool is an excavator bucket (Matzelle Col. 3, lines 13-14: "In the illustrated example of an excavator, the machine includes a frame (110) [excavator]" ; Matzelle Col. 3, lines 55-56: "Pivotally disposed at the end of the stick (124) can be the work tool attachment (102) in the form of a bucket [excavator bucket].").
Regarding claim 22, Matzelle and Tinker, et al. remain as applied to claim 18, and in a further embodiment, Matzelle teaches: The system in accordance with claim 18, wherein the movement of the work device is a pivoting movement, (Col. 3, lines 46-51: "…the implement mechanism (120) can include a mechanical linkage with elongated and pivotally connected rigid bodies or links that can pivot and articulate with respect to each other to extend, retract, lift, lower and/or tilt the work tool attachment (102) [work device is pivoting movement].")
Matzelle, et al. does not teach and the identification module is configured to determine that the attachment tool that is connected to the work device by the one or more adapters or extensions is at the correct installation position based on the acceleration signals that are compared.
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle implement movement measurement), Tinker, et al. teaches: and the identification module is configured to determine that the attachment tool that is connected to the work device by the one or more adapters or extensions is at the correct installation position based on the acceleration signals that are compared (Col. 5, lines 11-17: "…determining relative differences between the measurements obtained from different IMUs. In this step, IMU readings/positional data common to the compared IMUs can be zeroed-out so that only the positional data individually associated with each IMU and isolated from common movement is identified for determining the respective component positions [order in which attachment tools are connect with each other by comparing acceleration signals between different IMUs]." ; Col. 6, lines 3-7: "The relative differences between the measurements or the calibrated measurements from different IMUs are determined. For example, the relative differences between the accelerations measured by the IMU (111) and the accelerations measured by the IMU (109) or IMU (110) are determined [comparison of signals].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matzelle to include the teaching of Tinker, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the identification of the relative movement attributes of a work vehicle implement (Tinker, et al. Col. 1, lines 6-8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on March 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserted that claims 1-11, 13-18, and 21-22 were patentable over Matsuyama, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018014890) in view of Tsutsui, et al. (Japanese Patent No. 2022174555) and in further view of Matzelle (U.S. Patent No. 11314223) and in further view of Tinker, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10900778) because the references did not teach a system involving an attachment tool which can compare acceleration signals and which contain tool-mounted transceivers. The examiner disagrees.
Matsuyama, et al. teaches a system in which a work machine is provided containing a bucket control unit (209) and a target speed deciding unit (207), which serve as data collectors for the purpose of transmitting data between the bucket and the rest of the work device system (Paragraphs [0020], [0051]). This teaching is the equivalent to Applicant’s invention because it describes a monitoring methodology in which data can be transferred between the units via a control unit installed on the system (ref. Specification Paragraph [0019]). Matsuyama, et al. also describes, through the use of the slope detector (124), the ability to “measures an acceleration and an angular velocity of the excavator body (120), and detects a slope (for example, a pitch indicating rotation about an X axis, a yaw indicating rotation about a Y axis, and a roll indicating rotation about a Z axis) of the excavator body (120) on the basis of the measured results” (Paragraph [0036]) and uses this information to identify with the control device (126) in order to “specify a position of the bucket” (Paragraph [0042]). This teaching is also equivalent to Applicant’s invention because it describes the identification of an instantaneous acceleration of an attachment tool using the communication units (ref. Specification Paragraphs [0008] – [0009]).
Matsuyama, et al. does not teach detailed accelerations for both a first and a second attachment tool. However, in a similar field of endeavor (construction machinery), Tsutsui, et al. teaches an acceleration sensor (24) which detects the current and expected movement of a bucket and a second acceleration sensor (22), which detects the current and expected movement of the boom (Paragraph [0031]), and compares and determines the position of each tool by “…calculates the accelerations of the boom (14), the arm (16), and the bucket (17) detected by the acceleration sensors (22), (23), and (24) Based on the inclination or the like of the hydraulic excavator (1) detected by the vehicle body inclination angle sensor (25), the position of the claw tip of an excavation claw (17B) provided on the bucket (17) is calculated” (Paragraph [0050]). This teaching is equivalent to Applicant’s invention because it describes the procedure by which the acceleration signals are compared to ensure the optimum movement in the connection region (ref. Specification Paragraph [0019]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsuyama, et al. to include the teaching of Tsutsui, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to provide a construction machine capable of suppressing transmission of impact forces (Tsutsui, et al. Paragraph [0009]).
The combination of Matsuyama, et al. and Tsutsui, et al. does not teach automatic measurement of acceleration as a function of the mechanical coupling of an attachment tool. However, in a similar field of endeavor (work data tool), Matzelle teaches automatic transmission of first and second tool data sets (Col. 13, lines 7-8) after coupling using a data transmission device (180) which includes a motion detector (194), or accelerometer, which “…measure acceleration forces” in which “Any change in the current state or spatial reference experienced by the work tool […] is interpreted by the accelerometer as movement” (Col. 7, lines 23-31). Matzelle also teaches the extension of this methodology to additional attachment tools by “…continuously monitoring or scanning for data transmissions from data transmission devices (180) on one or more work tool attachments (Col. 10, lines 31-33). These teachings are equivalent to Applicant’s invention because it enables the machine to measure acceleration measurements of a specified coupled attachment tool (ref. Specification Paragraph [0014]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matsuyama, et al. and Tsutsui, et al. to include the teaching of Matzelle based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the measurement of positions between an implement and the body of a work vehicle (Matzelle Col. 1, lines 6-8).
The combination of Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle does not teach the specific identification of which attachment tool has been connected to the work device or the signal strength of any particular tool connected to the work device. However, in a similar field of endeavor (vehicle implement movement measurement), Tinker, et al. teaches a system of IMUs and the relationship “…between the measurements obtained from different IMUs. In this step, IMU readings/positional data common to the compared IMUs can be zeroed-out so that only the positional data individually associated with each IMU and isolated from common movement is identified for determining the respective component positions” (Col. 5, lines 11-17). This method is equivalent to Applicant’s invention because it enables the use of acceleration data (via an IMU) in order to identify a work attachment associated via a comparison of acceleration values associated with a specific work tool (ref. Specification Paragraph [0014]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., and Matzelle to include the teaching of Tinker, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the identification of the relative movement attributes of a work vehicle implement (Tinker, et al. Col. 1, lines 6-8).
Therefore, it can be concluded that since the combination of Matsuyama, et al., Tsutsui, et al., Matzelle, and Tinker, et al. teaches the concept of an attachment tool which can compare acceleration signals and which contain tool-mounted transceivers, as taught in claims 1-11, 13-18, and 21-22, the arguments presented by the Applicant are not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Shirao, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20120057956), work vehicle
b. Arshad, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200256039), A working machine having an attachment device and a system for monitoring attachment status of an attachment device
c. Krone, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210215483), Controlling movement of a machine using sensor fusion
d. Sakamoto, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190211532), Construction machine
e. Izumi, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220049453), Work machine
f. Fujishima, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20050027420), Excavation teaching apparatus for construction machine
g. Sherlock, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190301138), Excavator measurement and control logic
h. Wieckhorst, et al. (European Patent Application No. 3400769), Agricultural Machine and Method For Operating An Agricultural Machine
Applicant is considered to have implicit knowledge of the entire disclosure once a reference has been cited. Therefore, any previously cited figures, columns and lines should not be considered to limit the references in any way. The entire reference must be taken as a whole; accordingly, the Examiner contends that the art supports the rejection of the claims and the rejection is maintained.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TORRENCE S MARUNDA II/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663