DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 7-11, and 13-14 are pending. Claims 2-6 are canceled. Claim 12 is previously canceled. Claims 1 and 13-14 are amended. Claims 7-11 are original.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments on page 7 of the remarks the primary reference IWASHITA does not include the charging schedule is a schedule after reaching the destination, it is submitted that while Applicant comments on paragraphs 0037-0038 and 0040 of IWASHITA, Applicant has not specifically commented on or argued against the portions of IWASHITA relied upon in the rejection. For example, paragraph 0049 discloses “the secondary side control unit 60 determines whether the target charging rate can be achieved at the destination, assuming that the charging is performed in accordance with the charging schedule”, which clearly shows the charging schedule is intended for the destination. It is maintained that IWASHITA as modified by UYEKI teaches the vehicle as applied to claim 1, the method as applied to claim 13, and the computer recording medium as applied to claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IWASHITA (US PG Pub 2019/0061534; cited on IDS; cited in previous office action) in view of UYEKI (US 2012/0109519; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, IWASHITA discloses a vehicle (40, Fig. 1) configured to receive power from a ground power supplying apparatus (22, Fig. 1) by noncontact (¶ 0031), wherein
the vehicle comprises a control device provided with a processor (60, Fig. 1; ¶ 0036) configured to control reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running (¶ 0066: while the electric vehicle travels, the battery is charged) based on charging scheduled after the vehicle finishes running (¶ 0003: the “charging rate” is the equivalent of state of charge SOC; ¶ 0011: driving plan or the like that is carried out after reaching the destination; ¶ 0019: destination may be the place where the usage fee of the electric power is low, for example, a house; ¶ 0049: target charging rate can be achieved at the destination, assuming the charging is performed in accordance with the charging schedule), wherein
the processor is configured:
not to permit the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running if there is charging scheduled after the vehicle finishes running (¶ 0011: the user can select whether the amount of reception electric power from the road side facility is increased or minimized, while considering a driving plan or the like that is carried out after reaching the destination; ¶ 0015: the charging is not started until the charging rate becomes less than or equal to a predetermined value that is set in advance; thus, the amount of reception electric power from the road side facility can be minimized; ¶ 0046: the secondary side control unit 60 determines whether the destination is a predetermined place. The predetermined place is the destination that the user registers in advance in the storage device 64 or the navigation storage unit 70a by using the navigation device 70. For example, usually, the user charges the electric vehicle 40 that is parked at his house or contracted (toll) parking lot (hereinafter referred to as house or the like). In the house or the like, the electric vehicle 40 is parked for a long time; therefore, the charging time is long. As a result, at the house or the like, the battery 56 can be fully charged; ¶ 0049: the secondary side control unit 60 determines whether the target charging rate can be achieved at the destination, assuming that the charging is performed in accordance with the charging schedule. If the target charging rate can be achieved at the destination (step S5: YES), the schedule decision process ends for the time being); and
obtain the infrastructure information (¶ 0046: the secondary side control unit 60 determines whether the destination is a predetermined place. The predetermined place is the destination that the user registers in advance in the storage device 64 or the navigation storage unit 70a by using the navigation device 70. For example, usually, the user charges the electric vehicle 40 that is parked at his house or contracted (toll) parking lot (hereinafter referred to as house or the like). In the house or the like, the electric vehicle 40 is parked for a long time; therefore, the charging time is long. As a result, at the house or the like, the battery 56 can be fully charged) and parked time at the destination of the vehicle based on information relating to driving schedule of the vehicle provided from the occupant of the vehicle (¶ 0011: the user can select whether the amount of reception electric power from the road side facility is increased or minimized, while considering a driving plan or the like that is carried out after reaching the destination; ¶ 0037: navigation device 70 sets a destination in accordance with a manual input operation on the operation switch, measures a current position (travel position) of the electric vehicle 40 using detection information of a satellite positioning device or sensors included in the sensor group 76, and generates a scheduled travel route from that position to the destination; ¶ 0048: the secondary side control unit 60 decides the charging schedule on the basis of information regarding the target charging rate, the latest charging rate (hereinafter referred to as current charging rate), and the scheduled travel route; ¶ 0049: In step S5, the secondary side control unit 60 determines whether the target charging rate can be achieved at the destination, assuming that the charging is performed in accordance with the charging schedule. If the target charging rate can be achieved at the destination (step S5: YES), the schedule decision process ends for the time being. On the other hand, if target charging rate cannot be achieved at the destination (step S5: NO), the process advances to step S6; the determination if a target charging rate can be achieved at the destination and a driving plan carried out after reaching the destination implies determining a parked time sufficient for achieving the target charging rate); and
not to permit the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running if there is a stationary power supplying facility (¶ 0046: e.g. a house) at the destination and the parked time at that destination is greater than or equal to a predetermined time (¶ 0011, 0049: see above).
IWASHITA fails to disclose not to permit the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running, regardless of whether charging is scheduled after running of the vehicle is finished, when a time of day of possible start of utilization of a stationary power supplying facility in within a predetermined distance of a destination is earlier than a projected time of day of power of the vehicle running out, wherein the time of day of possible start of utilization of a stationary power supplying facility is estimated based on a state of operation of that stationary power supplying facility and a state of charging of another vehicle actively utilizing that stationary power supplying facility.
UYEKI discloses the processor is configured not to permit the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus, regardless of whether charging is scheduled after running of the vehicle is finished, when a time of day of possible start of utilization of a stationary power supplying facility in within a predetermined distance of a destination is earlier than a projected time of day of power of the vehicle running out, wherein the time of day of possible start of utilization of a stationary power supplying facility is estimated based on a state of operation of that stationary power supplying facility and a state of charging of another vehicle actively utilizing that stationary power supplying facility (¶ 0028: the system 150 determines whether the current SOC value 144 meets or exceeds the amount required to traverse the selected ECO route 408. If so (YES at 330), the ECO route is selected and the traveling route is modified at 340 so as to effectively route the vehicle 100 (e.g., through screen prompts and/or audible instructions to the user) to the user's selected destination 148; ¶ 0029: If, however, the present SOC 144 is insufficient to reach the destination location 148 using the ECO route and economy settings (or if the user actively chooses to instead route to a charging facility 202, NO at 330), the system 150 obtains charging station data 162 at 350 from the data store 152 or 160 for stations within the current SOC value range. At 360, the system 150 determines at least one of the in-range charging stations 202 having charging equipment 204 that is compatible with the vehicle 100 and is currently available or expected to be available for charging the vehicle 100 based in whole or in part on the charging station data 162 and on the SOC value 144; ¶ 0030: the system 150 determines one or more routes 140 for directing the vehicle 100 from the current vehicle location 146 to the destination location(s) 148 corresponding to the selected charging station(s) 202 based at least in part on the charging station data 162 and on the present state of charge value 144. In certain embodiments, the system 150 displays route choices for user review/selection. FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary display screen provided via the user interface 134 from the navigation system 150 showing the results of the charging station availability/compatibility operation of the system 150, in which the system 150 displays a number of route choices (e.g., to stations A, B, C, or D), along with identification of one or more recommended stations (station "A" in this example). The display 134 also shows latitude and longitude information for the stations 202, as well as compatibility information (YES or NO), by charger 204, where certain stations 202 include multiple chargers 202. In addition, the display 134 indicates availability information (e.g., NOW, SOON, or NO) for each compatible charger 202. The exemplary screen also shows predicted energy usage amounts as well as predicted charging time information (by charging station 204) for charging to the level needed to complete the trip to the original user specified destination (or alternatively to a fully-charged level); UYEKI discloses charging at a charging station based on availability of the charging station and only when the charge level is insufficient, and therefore teaches not permitting charging when a possible start of utilization is earlier than a projected power run out time within the broadest reasonable interpretation). Applying the disclosure of UYEKI of not permitting reception of power when a time of day of possible start of charging is earlier than a projected time of day of power of the vehicle running out, to the vehicle of IWASHITA which charges while running, teaches the amended recitations of the processor configured not to permit the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include not permitting the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus as recited in order to reduce traveling/stopped time and/or charging cost, and therefore provided increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 7, IWASHITA discloses the processor is configured to control the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running based on charging scheduled after the vehicle finishes running (¶ 0046, 0049) and a result of comparison of a distance of the vehicle to the destination and a predetermined judgment threshold value (¶ 0037, 0048: scheduled travel route implies distance; ¶ 0053-0056: threshold based on power).
Regarding claim 8, IWASHITA discloses the processor is configured: set the judgment threshold value based on a possible driving distance of the vehicle or a state of charge of a battery mounted in the vehicle (¶ 0037, 0048, 0053-0056); and not to permit the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running if there is charging scheduled after the vehicle finishes running (¶ 0011, 0015, 0046, 0049) and the distance of the vehicle to the destination is less than the judgment threshold value (¶ 0053-0056).
Regarding claim 9, IWASHITA discloses the judgment threshold value is set further considering the operating state of an air-conditioner mounted in the vehicle or an outside air temperature (¶ 0038, 0053).
Regarding claim 13, IWASHITA discloses a method of control of reception of power of a vehicle (40, Fig. 1) configured to receive power from a ground power supplying apparatus (22, Fig. 1) by noncontact (¶ 0031),
the method of control of reception of power of a vehicle comprising:
controlling the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running (¶ 0066: while the electric vehicle travels, the battery is charged) based on charging scheduled after the vehicle finishes running (¶ 0003: the “charging rate” is the equivalent of state of charge SOC; ¶ 0011: driving plan or the like that is carried out after reaching the destination; ¶ 0019: destination may be the place where the usage fee of the electric power is low, for example, a house; ¶ 0049: target charging rate can be achieved at the destination, assuming the charging is performed in accordance with the charging schedule); and
not permitting the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running if there is charging scheduled after the vehicle finishes running (¶ 0011: the user can select whether the amount of reception electric power from the road side facility is increased or minimized, while considering a driving plan or the like that is carried out after reaching the destination; ¶ 0015: the charging is not started until the charging rate becomes less than or equal to a predetermined value that is set in advance; thus, the amount of reception electric power from the road side facility can be minimized; ¶ 0046: the secondary side control unit 60 determines whether the destination is a predetermined place. The predetermined place is the destination that the user registers in advance in the storage device 64 or the navigation storage unit 70a by using the navigation device 70. For example, usually, the user charges the electric vehicle 40 that is parked at his house or contracted (toll) parking lot (hereinafter referred to as house or the like). In the house or the like, the electric vehicle 40 is parked for a long time; therefore, the charging time is long. As a result, at the house or the like, the battery 56 can be fully charged; ¶ 0049: the secondary side control unit 60 determines whether the target charging rate can be achieved at the destination, assuming that the charging is performed in accordance with the charging schedule. If the target charging rate can be achieved at the destination (step S5: YES), the schedule decision process ends for the time being), and
obtain the infrastructure information (¶ 0046: the secondary side control unit 60 determines whether the destination is a predetermined place. The predetermined place is the destination that the user registers in advance in the storage device 64 or the navigation storage unit 70a by using the navigation device 70. For example, usually, the user charges the electric vehicle 40 that is parked at his house or contracted (toll) parking lot (hereinafter referred to as house or the like). In the house or the like, the electric vehicle 40 is parked for a long time; therefore, the charging time is long. As a result, at the house or the like, the battery 56 can be fully charged) and parked time at the destination of the vehicle based on information relating to driving schedule of the vehicle provided from the occupant of the vehicle (¶ 0011: the user can select whether the amount of reception electric power from the road side facility is increased or minimized, while considering a driving plan or the like that is carried out after reaching the destination; ¶ 0037: navigation device 70 sets a destination in accordance with a manual input operation on the operation switch, measures a current position (travel position) of the electric vehicle 40 using detection information of a satellite positioning device or sensors included in the sensor group 76, and generates a scheduled travel route from that position to the destination; ¶ 0048: the secondary side control unit 60 decides the charging schedule on the basis of information regarding the target charging rate, the latest charging rate (hereinafter referred to as current charging rate), and the scheduled travel route; ¶ 0049: In step S5, the secondary side control unit 60 determines whether the target charging rate can be achieved at the destination, assuming that the charging is performed in accordance with the charging schedule. If the target charging rate can be achieved at the destination (step S5: YES), the schedule decision process ends for the time being. On the other hand, if target charging rate cannot be achieved at the destination (step S5: NO), the process advances to step S6; the determination if a target charging rate can be achieved at the destination and a driving plan carried out after reaching the destination implies determining a parked time sufficient for achieving the target charging rate); and
not to permit the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running if there is a stationary power supplying facility (¶ 0046: e.g. a house) at the destination and the parked time at that destination is greater than or equal to a predetermined time (¶ 0011, 0049: see above).
IWASHITA fails to disclose not permitting the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running, regardless of whether charging is scheduled after running of the vehicle is finished, when a time of day of possible start of utilization of a stationary power supplying facility in within a predetermined distance of a destination is earlier than a projected time of day of power of the vehicle running out, wherein the time of day of possible start of utilization of a stationary power supplying facility is estimated based on a state of operation of that stationary power supplying facility and a state of charging of another vehicle actively utilizing that stationary power supplying facility.
UYEKI discloses not permitting the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus, regardless of whether charging is scheduled after running of the vehicle is finished, when a time of day of possible start of utilization of a stationary power supplying facility in within a predetermined distance of a destination is earlier than a projected time of day of power of the vehicle running out, wherein the time of day of possible start of utilization of a stationary power supplying facility is estimated based on a state of operation of that stationary power supplying facility and a state of charging of another vehicle actively utilizing that stationary power supplying facility (¶ 0028: the system 150 determines whether the current SOC value 144 meets or exceeds the amount required to traverse the selected ECO route 408. If so (YES at 330), the ECO route is selected and the traveling route is modified at 340 so as to effectively route the vehicle 100 (e.g., through screen prompts and/or audible instructions to the user) to the user's selected destination 148; ¶ 0029: If, however, the present SOC 144 is insufficient to reach the destination location 148 using the ECO route and economy settings (or if the user actively chooses to instead route to a charging facility 202, NO at 330), the system 150 obtains charging station data 162 at 350 from the data store 152 or 160 for stations within the current SOC value range. At 360, the system 150 determines at least one of the in-range charging stations 202 having charging equipment 204 that is compatible with the vehicle 100 and is currently available or expected to be available for charging the vehicle 100 based in whole or in part on the charging station data 162 and on the SOC value 144; ¶ 0030: the system 150 determines one or more routes 140 for directing the vehicle 100 from the current vehicle location 146 to the destination location(s) 148 corresponding to the selected charging station(s) 202 based at least in part on the charging station data 162 and on the present state of charge value 144. In certain embodiments, the system 150 displays route choices for user review/selection. FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary display screen provided via the user interface 134 from the navigation system 150 showing the results of the charging station availability/compatibility operation of the system 150, in which the system 150 displays a number of route choices (e.g., to stations A, B, C, or D), along with identification of one or more recommended stations (station "A" in this example). The display 134 also shows latitude and longitude information for the stations 202, as well as compatibility information (YES or NO), by charger 204, where certain stations 202 include multiple chargers 202. In addition, the display 134 indicates availability information (e.g., NOW, SOON, or NO) for each compatible charger 202. The exemplary screen also shows predicted energy usage amounts as well as predicted charging time information (by charging station 204) for charging to the level needed to complete the trip to the original user specified destination (or alternatively to a fully-charged level); UYEKI discloses charging at a charging station based on availability of the charging station and only when the charge level is insufficient, and therefore teaches not permitting charging when a possible start of utilization is earlier than a projected power run out time within the broadest reasonable interpretation). Applying the disclosure of UYEKI of not permitting reception of power when a time of day of possible start of charging is earlier than a projected time of day of power of the vehicle running out, to the method of control of reception of power of a vehicle of IWASHITA which charges while running, teaches the amended recitations of not permitting the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include not permitting the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus as recited in order to reduce traveling/stopped time and/or charging cost, and therefore provided increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 14, IWASHITA discloses a non-transitory computer recording medium (64, Fig. 1) including a program (¶ 0036) for making a processor (62, Fig. 1) of a control device (60) of a vehicle (40, Fig. 1) to perform operations comprising:
receiving power from a ground power supplying apparatus (22, Fig. 1) by noncontact (¶ 0031) control the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running (¶ 0066: while the electric vehicle travels, the battery is charged) based on charging scheduled after the vehicle finishes running (¶ 0003: the “charging rate” is the equivalent of state of charge SOC; ¶ 0011: driving plan or the like that is carried out after reaching the destination; ¶ 0019: destination may be the place where the usage fee of the electric power is low, for example, a house; ¶ 0049: target charging rate can be achieved at the destination, assuming the charging is performed in accordance with the charging schedule); and
not permitting the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running if there is charging scheduled after the vehicle finishes running (¶ 0011: the user can select whether the amount of reception electric power from the road side facility is increased or minimized, while considering a driving plan or the like that is carried out after reaching the destination; ¶ 0015: the charging is not started until the charging rate becomes less than or equal to a predetermined value that is set in advance; thus, the amount of reception electric power from the road side facility can be minimized; ¶ 0046: the secondary side control unit 60 determines whether the destination is a predetermined place. The predetermined place is the destination that the user registers in advance in the storage device 64 or the navigation storage unit 70a by using the navigation device 70. For example, usually, the user charges the electric vehicle 40 that is parked at his house or contracted (toll) parking lot (hereinafter referred to as house or the like). In the house or the like, the electric vehicle 40 is parked for a long time; therefore, the charging time is long. As a result, at the house or the like, the battery 56 can be fully charged; ¶ 0049: the secondary side control unit 60 determines whether the target charging rate can be achieved at the destination, assuming that the charging is performed in accordance with the charging schedule. If the target charging rate can be achieved at the destination (step S5: YES), the schedule decision process ends for the time being), and
obtain the infrastructure information (¶ 0046: the secondary side control unit 60 determines whether the destination is a predetermined place. The predetermined place is the destination that the user registers in advance in the storage device 64 or the navigation storage unit 70a by using the navigation device 70. For example, usually, the user charges the electric vehicle 40 that is parked at his house or contracted (toll) parking lot (hereinafter referred to as house or the like). In the house or the like, the electric vehicle 40 is parked for a long time; therefore, the charging time is long. As a result, at the house or the like, the battery 56 can be fully charged) and parked time at the destination of the vehicle based on information relating to driving schedule of the vehicle provided from the occupant of the vehicle (¶ 0011: the user can select whether the amount of reception electric power from the road side facility is increased or minimized, while considering a driving plan or the like that is carried out after reaching the destination; ¶ 0037: navigation device 70 sets a destination in accordance with a manual input operation on the operation switch, measures a current position (travel position) of the electric vehicle 40 using detection information of a satellite positioning device or sensors included in the sensor group 76, and generates a scheduled travel route from that position to the destination; ¶ 0048: the secondary side control unit 60 decides the charging schedule on the basis of information regarding the target charging rate, the latest charging rate (hereinafter referred to as current charging rate), and the scheduled travel route; ¶ 0049: In step S5, the secondary side control unit 60 determines whether the target charging rate can be achieved at the destination, assuming that the charging is performed in accordance with the charging schedule. If the target charging rate can be achieved at the destination (step S5: YES), the schedule decision process ends for the time being. On the other hand, if target charging rate cannot be achieved at the destination (step S5: NO), the process advances to step S6; the determination if a target charging rate can be achieved at the destination and a driving plan carried out after reaching the destination implies determining a parked time sufficient for achieving the target charging rate); and
not to permit the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running if there is a stationary power supplying facility (¶ 0046: e.g. a house) at the destination and the parked time at that destination is greater than or equal to a predetermined time (¶ 0011, 0049: see above).
IWASHITA fails to disclose not permitting the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running, regardless of whether charging is scheduled after running of the vehicle is finished, when a time of day of possible start of utilization of a stationary power supplying facility in within a predetermined distance of a destination is earlier than a projected time of day of power of the vehicle running out, wherein the time of day of possible start of utilization of a stationary power supplying facility is estimated based on a state of operation of that stationary power supplying facility and a state of charging of another vehicle actively utilizing that stationary power supplying facility.
UYEKI discloses not permitting the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus, regardless of whether charging is scheduled after running of the vehicle is finished, when a time of day of possible start of utilization of a stationary power supplying facility in within a predetermined distance of a destination is earlier than a projected time of day of power of the vehicle running out, wherein the time of day of possible start of utilization of a stationary power supplying facility is estimated based on a state of operation of that stationary power supplying facility and a state of charging of another vehicle actively utilizing that stationary power supplying facility (¶ 0028: the system 150 determines whether the current SOC value 144 meets or exceeds the amount required to traverse the selected ECO route 408. If so (YES at 330), the ECO route is selected and the traveling route is modified at 340 so as to effectively route the vehicle 100 (e.g., through screen prompts and/or audible instructions to the user) to the user's selected destination 148; ¶ 0029: If, however, the present SOC 144 is insufficient to reach the destination location 148 using the ECO route and economy settings (or if the user actively chooses to instead route to a charging facility 202, NO at 330), the system 150 obtains charging station data 162 at 350 from the data store 152 or 160 for stations within the current SOC value range. At 360, the system 150 determines at least one of the in-range charging stations 202 having charging equipment 204 that is compatible with the vehicle 100 and is currently available or expected to be available for charging the vehicle 100 based in whole or in part on the charging station data 162 and on the SOC value 144; ¶ 0030: the system 150 determines one or more routes 140 for directing the vehicle 100 from the current vehicle location 146 to the destination location(s) 148 corresponding to the selected charging station(s) 202 based at least in part on the charging station data 162 and on the present state of charge value 144. In certain embodiments, the system 150 displays route choices for user review/selection. FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary display screen provided via the user interface 134 from the navigation system 150 showing the results of the charging station availability/compatibility operation of the system 150, in which the system 150 displays a number of route choices (e.g., to stations A, B, C, or D), along with identification of one or more recommended stations (station "A" in this example). The display 134 also shows latitude and longitude information for the stations 202, as well as compatibility information (YES or NO), by charger 204, where certain stations 202 include multiple chargers 202. In addition, the display 134 indicates availability information (e.g., NOW, SOON, or NO) for each compatible charger 202. The exemplary screen also shows predicted energy usage amounts as well as predicted charging time information (by charging station 204) for charging to the level needed to complete the trip to the original user specified destination (or alternatively to a fully-charged level); UYEKI discloses charging at a charging station based on availability of the charging station and only when the charge level is insufficient, and therefore teaches not permitting charging when a possible start of utilization is earlier than a projected power run out time within the broadest reasonable interpretation). Applying the disclosure of UYEKI of not permitting reception of power when a time of day of possible start of charging is earlier than a projected time of day of power of the vehicle running out, to the method of control of reception of power of a vehicle of IWASHITA which charges while running, teaches the amended recitations of not permitting the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus while running.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include not permitting the reception of power from the ground power supplying apparatus as recited in order to reduce traveling/stopped time and/or charging cost, and therefore provided increased user convenience.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IWASHITA in view of UYEKI as applied to claims 1, 7-9 and 13-14 above, and further in view of MURAWAKA (US PG Pub 2012/0187900; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 10, IWASHITA as modified by UYEKI teaches the vehicle as applied to claim 8 but fails to disclose the judgment threshold value is set further considering a vehicle type of the vehicle.
MURAWAKA discloses the judgment threshold value (¶ 0044, 0054-0055, 0059-0060) is set further considering a vehicle type of the vehicle (¶ 0044, 0048: hybrid vehicle or electric vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the judgment threshold value based on a vehicle type in order to ensure appropriate supply of electric power to the vehicle.
Regarding claim 11, IWASHITA as modified by UYEKI and MURAWAKA teaches the vehicle as applied to claim 10 but fails to disclose the judgment threshold value is made smaller in the case where the vehicle is a vehicle not having an energy source other than a battery than the case where it is a vehicle having an energy source other than a battery.
MURKAWA further discloses the judgment threshold value is made smaller in the case where the vehicle is a vehicle not having an energy source other than a battery than the case where it is a vehicle having an energy source other than a battery (¶ 0021, 0054-0055, 0059-0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the judgment threshold value based on a vehicle type in order to ensure appropriate supply of electric power to the vehicle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 12/10/2025
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859