CTFR 17/845,286 CTFR 89657 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Newly submitted claims 45, 48 and 59 are directed to an invention/species that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the claims involve subject matter that isn’t part of the elected species/sub-species. Claim 45 requires periodic delivery of the fluid, but the elected sub-species relates to the continuous delivery of fluid. Claim 48 requires non-rotational retraction of the tool bit during fluid delivery, but the elected sub-species requires rotational movement. The elected sub-species relate to stopping of fluid prior to the tool bit exiting the aperture. Claim 59 requires the tool bit (applicator portion that includes the cutting tip) to be outside of the aperture. Accordingly, claims 45, 48 and 59 have been withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03. To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention. Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim is not in proper amended form due to the lack of underlining new limitations within the claim . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. 07-31-01 Claims 19, 20, 30, 31, 34, 42, 44, 46, 47 and 49-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 19 recites “terminating applying the fluid abeam a beginning of a last structure comprising the workpiece . . . .” This recitation contains new matter. The specification lacks any support for termination of fluid abeam a beginning of a last structure. Appropriate correction required. Claim 20 recites “cutting the workpiece from a starting surface until an ending surface that is within a structure of the number of structures” in Lines 2-3. The recitation contains new matter. The specification at the time of filing lacks support for an ending surface that is within a structure of the number of structures. Appropriate correction required. Claim 34 each recite “limiting insertion of the tool bit into the workpiece by the diameter of the shank portion.” This recitation contains new matter. The specification at the time of filing does not provide for a method step of limiting insertion of the tool bit into the workpiece by the step (diameter of shank). The specification merely sets forth that the step may provide a limit in which the tool bit is inserted into the workpiece. Appropriate correction required. Claim 42 recites “the gas atomizing the liquid.” This recitation contains new matter. The specification at the time of filing does not provide support for the recitation of the step of the gas atomizing the fluid. Appropriate correction required. Claim 44 recites “the shank portion extends in an applicator portion of the tool bit” in Lines 4-5. This recitation contains new matter. Namely, the claim lacks support in the specification at the time of filing for the shank portion extending into the applicator portion. Appropriate correction required. Claim 44 recites “a controller directing a fluid” in Line 13. This recitation contains new matter. The claim lacks support in the specification for the controller “directing” the cutting fluid. Appropriate correction required. Claim 44 recites “terminating, by the controller, a flow of the fluid” in Line 17. This recitation contains new matter. The claim lacks support in the specification for the controller “terminating” the cutting fluid. Appropriate correction required. Claim 55 recites “the gas atomizing the liquid.” This recitation contains new matter. The claim lacks support in the specification at the time of filing for the gas atomizing the liquid. Appropriate correction required. 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 19, 20, 30, 31, 34, 42, 44, 46, 47 and 49-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19 recites “a plurality of channels disposed from the internal cavity through the plurality of lands to a plurality of outlets on the lands” in Lines 12-13. It is unclear how the channels are regarded as being through the lands because the outlets are on the lands. That is, the channels reach/intersect the lands at the outlets, but they do not go through the lands. Appropriate correction required. Claim 19 recites “applying an atomized fluid comprising a combination of a liquid and a gas the plurality of outlets” in Lines 19-20. The limitation appears to be missing a term or phrase in-between “gas” and “the.” The limitation does not make grammatical sense. Appropriate correction required. Claim 19 recites “applying an atomized fluid . . . onto the surface of the workpiece until the plurality of outlets are first abeam an edge of a last of the abutting structures . . . .” Claim 19 futher recites “terminating applying the fluid abeam a beginning of a last structure comprising the workpiece . . . The difference between the last of the abutting structures and the last structure is unclear. It is further unclear what the difference is between an edge of the last structure and the beginning of a last structure. Moreover, it is unclear what being “first abeam” requires. It is also worth noting that the use of nautical terminology (the term “abeam”) is odd in this context. Appropriate correction required. Claim 42 recites “the gas atomizing the liquid.” It is unclear how the gas atomizes the liquid. Appropriate correction required. Claim 44 recites “the shank extends in an applicator portion of the tool bit” in Lines 4-5. It is unclear what is required by the shank extending in an applicator portion of the tool bit. The boundary between a shank that extends into an applicator portion and not so extend is vague. Appropriate correction required. Claim 44 recites “and comprises” in Line 5. It is unclear as to what feature this transition phrase applies. Appropriate correction required. Claim 44 recites “a controller directing a fluid” in Line 13. The metes and bounds of a controller “directing” a fluid are not clearly delineated. That is, it is vague as to what is required by the controller that directs the fluid. Appropriate correction required. Claim 44 recites “the surface of the aperture” in Line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. Appropriate correction required. Claim 44 recites “terminating, by the controller, a flow of the fluid through the outlets” in Line 16. It is unclear how the controller is deemed to terminate the flow of the fluid through the outlets. Appropriate correction required. Claim 44 recites “moving the tool bit . . . to a final location outside the aperture and fully withdrawing the applicator portion from the aperture.” The different between moving the tool bit out of the aperture and fully withdrawing the applicator portion from said aperture is unclear. Appropriate correction required. Claim 54 recites “a gas” in Line 2. Yet, “a gas” already has antecedent basis in claim 44. As such, it is unclear whether the gas recited in claim 54 is a new, different gas or not. Appropriate correction required. Claim 55 recites “the gas atomizing the liquid.” It is unclear how the gas atomizes the liquid. Appropriate correction required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 19, 20, 26, 30, 31, 33, 34, 42, 44, 46, 47 and 49-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kammermeier et al. (US Patent No. 6,045,301) in view of Hammond, Jr. et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0151958 A1) and Russell (US Patent No. 7,722,298 B2) and Gu et al. (CN 108274048 A) and Haier et al. (CN 104057301 A) . (Claims 19, 42, 44, 46, 47 and 51-58) Kammermeier discloses a method of applying a fluid to a surface of a workpiece (Col. 7, Lines 65-67; Col. 8, Lines 1-3; Col. 10, Lines 23-27). The surface defines a boundary of an aperture of the workpiece (Col. 7, Lines 65-67; Col. 8, Lines 1-3; Col. 10, Lines 23-27). The method includes coupling a shank portion (2) of a tool bit (1) to an end effector (inherent) such that an applicator portion of the tool bit is spaced away from the end effector (Figs. 13, 14), the applicator portion including a cutter (Figs. 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 11, 13, 20, 32, 34) having a cutting tip (14) and a plurality of lands (8, 11) adjacent a plurality of flutes (4), the plurality of lands spaced from the cutting tip (Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 32, 34); the applicator portion also includes a diameter narrower than a diameter of the shank (Fig. 8 showing the diameter of 19 and the diameter of 13 being less than that of the shank); 1 and an internal cavity (19) extending along a longitudinal axis of the tool bit that, as best understood, terminates prior to the cutting tip into the plurality of outlets disposed through the plurality of lands and oriented at 90 degrees away from the longitudinal axis of the tool bit (Figs. 7, 8, 13); creating the aperture of the workpiece by rotating and driving the applicator portion into the workpiece (inherent use of a drill bit) in a first direction until a plurality of outlets of the applicator portion is positioned to face the surface of the workpiece at a start location (Col. 7, Lines 65-67; Col. 8, Lines 1-3; Col. 10, Lines 23-27); and applying the fluid through an internal cavity (19) of the tool bit, through a plurality of channels (13) of the tool bit, and out of the plurality of outlets (9; Col. 8, Lines 29-57). While it is inherent to provide an end effector for Kammermeier to include an end effector attached at the shank of the tool for providing rotation to the tool and driving it into a workpiece to cut an aperture, the reference does not explicitly disclose the workpiece having more than one structure, driving the drill bit into that structure, the end effector, atomizing a fluid of liquid and gas onto the surface of the workpiece until the plurality of outlets are abeam a beginning of a last structure, terminating the application of fluid abeam the beginning of the last structure or rotating and removing the applicator portion until a final location. Hammond discloses a drill bit (100) with fluid channels (141) leading to fluid outlets (142; Figs. 1-4). The drill bit is connected to an end effector via the shank (108) of the drill bit (¶ 0056). Hammond further discloses moving the tool bit from the start location within the aperture toward a final location outside of the aperture while delivering coolant fluid (Figs. 7, 8; ¶ 0044). The workpiece having more than one structure (Figs. 7, 8). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the method disclosed in Kammermeier with an end effector, work material and coolant delivery during drilling as suggested in Hammond in order to provide rotational and axial movement to the drill as well as drilling a through hole in the workpiece of a stack of hard material and softer material, which makes it easier to cut through the hard material (¶ 0053). The modified Kammermeier further includes cutting the workpiece via a cutting tip (Kammermeier 5, 16; Fig. 1) of the cutter of the applicator portion to create the aperture and the surface (Kammermeier Col. 10, Lines 21-27; Clm. 5); and removing flakes of the workpiece via a plurality of flutes (Kammermeier 4) of the cutter as the cutting tip cuts the workpiece (Kammermeier Col. 7, Lines 54-61). Each of the plurality of outlets (Kammermeier 9) is spaced from the cutting tip (Kammermeier Figs. 7, 11, 13, 32). The delivering the fluid further includes delivering the fluid after cutting the workpiece and removing the flakes (Kammermeier Col. 7, Lines 54-61). Kammermeier does not explicitly disclose a step between the shank portion and the applicator portion for limiting insertion of the tool bit into the workpiece such that the shank has a larger diameter than the application portion. Hammond discloses the applicator portion having a smaller diameter than a diameter of the shank portion (Figs. 1-3, 5, 7, 8). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the method of Kammermeier with a step as disclosed in Hammond in order to provide greater strength rigidity to the tool and/or as obvious to try from a finite number of solutions – greater than (leading to the step) the cutting portion, less than the cutting portion, or the same as the cutting portion (¶ 0039). The Hammond reference does not explicitly disclose the use of the stop shoulder for limiting insertion into the workpiece. Because Applicant failed to traverse examiner’s assertion that a depth stop via a stop shoulder is well-known in the art, the well-known in the art statement is taken as applicant admitted prior art. See MPEP § 2144.03 C. As such, at a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the modified method of Kammermeier with a step of limiting movement into the workpiece via the stop shoulder in order to control depth of cut. Russell discloses a method of moving a tool bit in a second direction from a start location within an aperture toward a final location outside of the aperture, the second direction opposite a first direction, delivering a fluid after the tool bit reaches the start location and an aperture is formed completely through (i.e., a through-hole) the workpiece (Fig. 43; Col. 26, Lines 35-41). At a time prior to effective filing, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the method disclosed in Kammermeier with a retraction of the drill and continuing with coolant flow until the tool is withdrawn as suggested by Russell as obvious to try – choosing from a finite number of solutions (ending coolant prior to retraction and continuing coolant delivery during retraction) – to provide the predictable result of increasing debris removal by flushing debris as tool bit is removed. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. , 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007) (reciting several exemplary rationales that may support a finding of obviousness). Gu et al. (“Gu”) discloses stopping the delivery of fluid prior to the tool bit exiting the aperture after the drilling operation ends (Translation at page 4). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the method discloses in Kammermeier with a step of stopping delivery of the fluid after the end of the drilling operation has completed as taught by Gu in order to save on lubricant cost and power consumption. See KSR , 550 U.S. at 418 (reciting several exemplary rationales that may support a finding of obviousness, including obvious to try). While the fluid delivery and stopping of the modified method is not explicitly disclosed as being done until the plurality of outlets are abeam a beginning of a last structure and terminating the application of fluid abeam the beginning of the last structure or rotating and removing the applicator portion until a final location, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Kammermeier by stopping the coolant at the beginning of the last structure while rotating during withdrawal of the drill bit as obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of solutions (stopping at the beginning of the last structure, stopping before that position or stopping after) (rotating vs non-rotating) - leading to a predictable result of spraying the machined bore up until the point the outlets leave the hole and rotating to cover 360 degrees of the hole. . See KSR , 550 U.S. at 418 (reciting several exemplary rationales that may support a finding of obviousness, including obvious to try). Haier discloses a method of atomizing and spraying a mix of liquid and gas in a drilling operation (Translation ¶ 0010). A controller controls the injection of the fluid mix (Translation ¶ 0010). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the method discloses in Kammermeier with a fluid mix controlled automatically as taught by Haier in order to “uniformly lubricate the drill bit or work piece by minimal quantity lubrication system, good lubricating effect and effectively reduce the waste of lubricating oil, and there is no need to use emulsifier, reduces the generation of harmful gas; and by the controller controlling the injection time and the injection time of nozzle and saves the lubricant and compressed air and electrical energy.” (Translation ¶ 0010). (Claim 20) The modified method of Kammermeier further includes cutting the workpiece from a starting surface until an ending surface that is within a structure of the number of structures (Hammond Figs. 7, 8). The Kammermeier method includes feeding coolant during the cutting operation, and the start location is proximal to the ending surface and the final location proximal to the starting surface (Kammermeier Col. 7, 65-67, Col. 8, Lines 1-3). (Claim 26) Kammermeier discloses a method of applying a fluid to a surface of a workpiece (Col. 7, Lines 65-67; Col. 8, Lines 1-3; Col. 10, Lines 23-27). The surface defines a boundary of an aperture of the workpiece (Col. 7, Lines 65-67; Col. 8, Lines 1-3; Col. 10, Lines 23-27). The method includes coupling a shank portion (2) of a tool bit (1) to an end effector (inherent) such that an applicator portion of the tool bit is spaced from the end effector (Figs. 13, 14); inserting the tool bit into the aperture of the workpiece in a first direction until a plurality of outlets of the applicator portion is positioned to face the surface of the workpiece at a start location within the aperture (Col. 7, Lines 65-67; Col. 8, Lines 1-3; Col. 10, Lines 23-27); and delivering the fluid through an internal cavity (19) of the tool bit, through a plurality of channels (13) of the tool bit, and out of the plurality of outlets (9) to apply the fluid to the surface of the workpiece at the start location (Col. 8, Lines 29-57). Each of the plurality of channels extends (Col. 4, Lines 29-34; Col. 8, Lines 58-61) from the internal cavity (Figs. 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 11, 13, 20, 32, 34). Each one of the plurality of outlets is in fluid communication with a corresponding one of the plurality of channels (9). While it is inherent to provide an end effector for Kammermeier to include an end effector attached at the shank of the tool for providing rotation to the tool, the reference does not explicitly disclose the end effector or moving the tool bit from the start location within the aperture to a final location outside of the aperture while delivering fluid comprised of liquid and gas, and the fluid being stopped prior to the plurality of outlets exiting the aperture. Hammond discloses a drill bit (100) with fluid channels (141) leading to fluid outlets (142; Figs. 1-4). The drill bit is connected to an end effector via the shank (108) of the drill bit (¶ 0056). Hammond further discloses moving the tool bit from the start location within the aperture toward a final location outside of the aperture while delivering coolant fluid (Figs. 7, 8; ¶ 0044). The workpiece having more than one structure (Figs. 7, 8). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the method disclosed in Kammermeier with an end effector, work material and coolant delivery during drilling as suggested in Hammond in order to provide rotational and axial movement to the drill as well as drilling a through hole in the workpiece of a stack of hard material and softer material, which makes it easier to cut through the hard material (¶ 0053). The modified Kammermeier further includes cutting the workpiece via a cutting tip (Kammermeier 5, 16; Fig. 1) of the cutter of the applicator portion to create the aperture and the surface (Kammermeier Col. 10, Lines 21-27; Clm. 5); and removing flakes of the workpiece via a plurality of flutes (Kammermeier 4) of the cutter as the cutting tip cuts the workpiece (Kammermeier Col. 7, Lines 54-61). Each of the plurality of outlets (Kammermeier 9) is spaced from the cutting tip (Kammermeier Figs. 7, 11, 13, 32). The delivering the fluid further includes delivering the fluid after cutting the workpiece and removing the flakes (Kammermeier Col. 7, Lines 54-61). Kammermeier does not explicitly disclose a step between the shank portion and the applicator portion for limiting insertion of the tool bit into the workpiece. Hammond discloses the applicator portion having a smaller diameter than a diameter of the shank portion (Figs. 1-3, 5, 7, 8). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the method of Kammermeier with a step as disclosed in Hammond in order to provide greater strength rigidity to the tool and/or as obvious to try from a finite number of solutions – greater than (leading to the step) the cutting portion, less than the cutting portion, or the same as the cutting portion (¶ 0039). The Hammond reference does not explicitly disclose the use of the stop shoulder for limiting insertion into the workpiece. Because Applicant failed to traverse examiner’s assertion that a depth stop via a stop shoulder is well-known in the art, the well-known in the art statement is taken as applicant admitted prior art. See MPEP § 2144.03 C. As such, at a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the modified method of Kammermeier with a step of limiting movement into the workpiece via the stop shoulder in order to control depth of cut. Russell discloses a method of moving a tool bit in a second direction from a start location within an aperture toward a final location outside of the aperture, the second direction opposite a first direction, delivering a fluid after the tool bit reaches the start location and an aperture is formed completely through (i.e., a through-hole) the workpiece (Fig. 43; Col. 26, Lines 35-41). At a time prior to effective filing, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the method disclosed in Kammermeier with a retraction of the drill and continuing with coolant flow until the tool is withdrawn as suggested by Russell as obvious to try – choosing from a finite number of solutions (ending coolant prior to retraction and continuing coolant delivery during retraction) – to provide the predictable result of increasing debris removal by flushing debris as tool bit is removed. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. , 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007) (reciting several exemplary rationales that may support a finding of obviousness). Gu discloses stopping the delivery of fluid prior to the tool bit exiting the aperture after the drilling operation ends (Translation at page 4). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the method discloses in Kammermeier with a step of stopping delivery of the fluid after the end of the drilling operation has completed as taught by Gu in order to save on lubricant cost and power consumption. See KSR , 550 U.S. at 418 (reciting several exemplary rationales that may support a finding of obviousness, including obvious to try). While the fluid delivery and stopping of the modified method is not explicitly disclosed as being done until the plurality of outlets are abeam a beginning of a last structure and terminating the application of fluid abeam the beginning of the last structure or rotating and removing the applicator portion until a final location, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Kammermeier by stopping the coolant at the beginning of the last structure while rotating during withdrawal of the drill bit as obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of solutions (stopping at the beginning of the last structure, stopping before that position or stopping after) (rotating vs non-rotating) - leading to a predictable result of spraying the machined bore up until the point the outlets leave the hole and rotating to cover 360 degrees of the hole. . See KSR , 550 U.S. at 418 (reciting several exemplary rationales that may support a finding of obviousness, including obvious to try). Haier discloses a method of atomizing and spraying a mix of liquid and gas in a drilling operation (Translation ¶ 0010). A controller controls the injection of the fluid mix (Translation ¶ 0010). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the method discloses in Kammermeier with a fluid mix controlled automatically as taught by Haier in order to “uniformly lubricate the drill bit or work piece by minimal quantity lubrication system, good lubricating effect and effectively reduce the waste of lubricating oil, and there is no need to use emulsifier, reduces the generation of harmful gas; and by the controller controlling the injection time and the injection time of nozzle and saves the lubricant and compressed air and electrical energy.” (Translation ¶ 0010). (Claim 30) The fluid further includes rotating the tool bit during delivery of the fluid during movement from the start location toward the final location (Kammermeier Col. 7, 65-67, Col. 8, Lines 1-3; Hammond Figs. 7, 8). (Claim 33) The method includes applying the fluid further includes rotating the tool bit during delivery of the fluid during movement from the start location toward the final location (Kammermeier Col. 7, 65-67, Col. 8, Lines 1-3; Hammond Figs. 7, 8). (Claims 31 and 34) Kammermeier does not explicitly disclose a step between the shank portion and the applicator portion for limiting insertion of the tool bit into the workpiece. Hammond discloses the shank having a step between the shank portion and the applicator portion for limiting insertion of the tool bit into the workpiece (Figs. 1-3, 5, 7, 8). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the method of Kammermeier with a step as disclosed in Hammond in order to provide greater strength rigidity to the tool and/or as obvious to try from a finite number of solutions – greater than (leading to the step) the cutting portion, less than the cutting portion, or the same as the cutting portion (¶ 0039). The Hammond reference does not explicitly disclose the use of the stop shoulder for limiting insertion into the workpiece. Because Applicant failed to traverse examiner’s assertion that a depth stop via a stop shoulder is well-known in the art, the well-known in the art statement is taken as applicant admitted prior art. See MPEP § 2144.03 C. As such, at a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the modified method of Kammermeier with a step of limiting movement into the workpiece via the stop shoulder in order to control depth of cut. (Claim 49) The modified method includes the application of fluid to the surface of the fluid to the surface after the tool bit reaches the start location and after the aperture is created further comprises stopping delivery of the fluid prior to the tool bit exiting the aperture; and the number of structures is two (Kammermeier Col. 7, 65-67, Col. 8, Lines 1-3; Hammond Figs. 7, 8). That is, the number of the stack could merely be the top two of the stack disclosed in Hammond. (Claim 50) The modified method includes delivery of the fluid is continuous as the tool bit moves in the second direction from the start location toward the final location (Kammermeier Col. 7, 65-67, Col. 8, Lines 1-3; Hammond Figs. 7, 8) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kammermeier et al. (US Patent No. 6,045,301) in view of Hammond, Jr. et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0151958 A1) and Russell (US Patent No. 7,722,298 B2) and Gu et al. (CN 108274048 A) and Haier et al. (CN 104057301 A) further in view of Weiss (US Patent No. 5,427,477) . Kammermeier does not explicitly disclose a step between the shank portion and the applicator portion for limiting insertion of the tool bit into the workpiece. Hammond discloses the shank having a step between the shank portion and the applicator portion for limiting insertion of the tool bit into the workpiece. At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the method of Kammermeier with a step as disclosed in Hammond in order to provide greater strength rigidity to the tool and/or as obvious to try from a finite number of solutions – greater than (leading to the step) the cutting portion, less than the cutting portion, or the same as the cutting portion (¶ 0039). The Hammond reference does not explicitly disclose the use of the stop shoulder for limiting insertion into the workpiece. Weiss discloses a method of using a stop shoulder (9), or step between the shank portion and cutting portion, to limit depth of a rotary cutter into a workpiece (Fig. 5; Clams. 1, 22; Col. 3, Lines 1-10). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the modified method of Kammermeier with a step of limiting movement into the workpiece via the stop shoulder as suggested by Weiss in order to control depth of cut . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed April 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the rejection of claim 31 of a method step is not new matter because one of ordinary skill would understand the provision of a limit on the drill would include a method step of limiting the insertion of the tool bit with the stop. Similarly, Applicant argues that the specification provides support for the atomization the liquid via the gas due to the disclosure that the fluid may be atomized. Applicant alleges that one of ordinary skill would understand how the gas atomizes the liquid. With regard to the prior art rejections, Applicant alleges that the coupon is not tantamount to a tool so that the modified method does not teach retraction of the tool. Furthermore, Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to disclose a diameter of the applicator portion being less than a diameter of the shank. Additionally, Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose delivery of the fluid after the entire aperture is created completely through the workpiece. Examiner disagrees . The new matter rejections have been maintained. The inclusion of a feature on the drill is not tantamount to a disclosed method step using that feature. The method must be disclosed with the claimed step in order to have support therefore. The same applies for the gas atomizing the liquid. This step is not present in the disclosure. The specification merely states that the fluid may be atomized. It does not state the step of the gas atomizing the liquid. Turning to the scope of atomizing the liquid, Applicant merely alleges that one having ordinary skill would understand the scope but fails to adequately put forth said scope. Thus, the rejections under 35 USC 112 have been maintained. Turning to the prior art of record, the coupon in the modification is not described as being tantamount to the tool. The coupon is on the tool, and for the coupon to be removed, the drill must be withdrawn. With regard to the diameter of the applicator portion, it is worth noting that the claims do not limit how the diameter is measured. A diameter of the conduit or the web would still be a diameter of the applicator portion. Nevertheless, examiner also included a modification in view of Hammond, which explicitly discloses the claimed diameters in the manner disclosed in the present application. As such, the rejections stand. In response to applicant's arguments against the Hammond reference alone, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller , 642 F.2d 413 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co. , 800 F.2d 1091 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The combination of references reads upon the claimed invention. Applicant's argument that the amended claims define over the prior art fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because it amounts to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the delivery of the fluid after the entire aperture is created completely through the workpiece) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns , 988 F.2d 1181 (Fed. Cir. 1993) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Agapiou et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0141136 A1) (Fig. 2c; ¶ 0039); Kammermeier et al. (US Patent No. 6,116,825) (14; Fig. 2) (disclosing channels extending to the land of the drill at an end of the internal cavity); and Larson (US Patent No. 3,413,875) (Col. 3, Lines 4-7) (suggesting that coolant may be delivered after the drilling operation) . Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN RUFO whose telephone number is (571)272-4604. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Singh Sunil can be reached at (571) 272-3460. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RYAN RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 2 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 3 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 4 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 5 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 6 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 7 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 8 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 9 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 10 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 11 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 12 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 13 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 14 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 15 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 16 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 18 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 19 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 20 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 17/845,286 Page 21 Art Unit: 3722 1 This is one interpretation, but see paragraph 36.