The preliminary amendment filed June 22, 2022 canceling claims 2-3, 5-9, 12-14, 17-29, 31-41 amending claims 1, 4, 10-11, 15-16 and adding new claims 42-46 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 4, 10-11, 15-16, 30 and 42-46 are pending and will be examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 23, 2025; June 12; 2025; December 19, 2024; June 11, 2024; July 6, 2023; March 30, 2023; January 27, 2023; December 20, 2022 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites primer pairs for amplifying one or more DMRs as provided in Table 13.
MPEP 2173.05(s) states that, "claims are to be complete in themselves" and
that "[i]ncorporation by reference to a specific figure or table 'is permitted only in
exceptional circumstances where there is not practical way to define the invention in
words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or
table into the claim". Reciting the specific DMRs within the claim would encompass the same subject matter without reference to a Table.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
There are three hyperlinks within the specification. There are two hyperlinks within paragraph 183 of the published specification and one hyperlink within paragraph 235 of the specification. Correction to remove the hyperlink is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 10-11, 15-16, 30 and 42-46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,396,679 (‘679 patent herein). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to very similar subject matter. The instant claims and the claims of the ‘679 patent are drawn to detection of differentially methylated genes included in diagnosis of colorectal cancers. While the claims of the instant application require detection from cell free DNA and the claims of the ‘679 patent more broadly focus on determining the methylation status of the DMRs of multiple genes, including PDGFD, FGF14 and LONRF2 yet could also encompass determination of methylation within cell free DNA. Therefore, as the claims of the ‘679 patent and the instant claims include overlapping subject matter, the instant claims are not patent eligible.
Furthermore, the additional claims of claims 4-9 and 16-17 recite dependent limitations that overlap between the instant claims and the claims of the ‘659 patent. For example, both instant claim 16 and claim 6 of the ‘659 patent focus on DNA isolated from specific sample sources. Also note instant claim 30 and claim 10 of the ‘659 patent give specific guidance regarding the determination of methylation status as including methylation specific PCR and next generation sequencing. Therefore, the instant claims are not patent eligible in view of the claims of the ‘659 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 15-16, 30 and 42-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahlquist et al. (US 20230028856 A1; January 2023), Zhang et al. (US 20160340740 A1; November 2016) and Feinberg et al. (US 20100167940 A1; July 2010)
With regard to claim 1, Ahlquist teaches a method of screening for colorectal cancer, the method comprising determining the methylation status of at least one DMR of PDGFD, and at least one DMR of FGF14 (paragraph 40, 138, 142, 145; see especially paragraph 152, where DMR in multiple genes are analyzed, including PDGFD within colorectal cancer; see also Fig 1EE, where FGF14 is detected; see also paragraph 16, 139, 145, 217 and 219, where the DMR detection is a part of a method of diagnosis);
in DNA of a human subject,
wherein the DNA is DNA of the human subject, and diagnosing colorectal cancer in the subject (paragraph 40, 138, 142, 145; see especially paragraph 152, where DMR in multiple genes are analyzed, including PDGFD within colorectal cancer; see also Fig 1EE, where FGF14 is detected; see also paragraph 16, 139, 145, 217 and 219, where the DMR detection is a part of a method of diagnosis).
With regard to claim 4, Ahlquist teaches a method of claim 1, the method comprising determining whether the one or more methylation loci are hypermethylated as compared to a reference, wherein hypermethylation is indicative of colorectal cancer (paragraph 84 and 214 where aberrant hypermethylation is analyzed).
With regard to claim 15, Ahlquist teaches a method of claim l, wherein one or more of the DMRs are amplified by oligonucleotide primer pairs provided in Table 13 (paragraph 40, 138, 142, 145; see especially paragraph 152, where DMR in multiple genes are analyzed, including PDGFD within colorectal cancer; see also Fig 1EE, where FGF14 is detected; see also paragraph 16, 139, 145, 217 and 219, where the DMR detection is a part of a method of diagnosis).
With regard to claim 16, Ahlquist teaches a method of claim l, wherein the DNA is isolated from blood, plasma, urine, saliva, or stool of the human subject (paragraph 37, where the sample includes blood and other bodily fluids).
With regard to claim 30, Ahlquist teaches a method of claim 1, wherein methylation status is determined using one or more members selected from the group consisting of methylation sensitive restriction enzyme quantitative polymerase chain reaction (MSRE-qPCR), Methylation-Specific PCR, Methylation Specific Nuclease-assisted Minor-allele Enrichment PCR, and next-generation sequencing (paragraph 38, where a variety of techniques are used including next generation sequencing).
With regard to claim 42, Ahlquist teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises determining the methylation status of DMR PDGFD '921 (paragraph 40, 138, 142, 145; see especially paragraph 152, where DMR in multiple genes are analyzed, including PDGFD within colorectal cancer; see also Fig 1EE, where FGF14 is detected; see also paragraph 16, 139, 145, 217 and 219, where the DMR detection is a part of a method of diagnosis).
With regard to claim 46, Ahlquist teaches a method of claim 1. wherein methylation status is determined using massively parallel sequencing (paragraph 38, where a variety of techniques are used including next generation sequencing).
Regarding claims 1 and 43, while Ahlquist detects methylation in cancer for multiple DMRs, Ahlquist does not look to at least one DMR of LONRF2. Further, while Ahlquist mentions cell free samples, Ahlquist does not look specifically within samples wherein the DNA is cell-free DNA.
With regard to claim 1, Zhang teaches determining the methylation status of at least one DMR of LONRF2 (Table 4, p 104; see also paragraph 10-11 where Table 4 is discussed in detail) and wherein the DNA is cell-free DNA (p 4, paragraph 33, p 6, paragraph 44, where cell free DNA is analyzed).
With regard to claim 43, Zhang teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises determining the methylation status of DMR LONRF2 '387 (Table 4, p 104; see also paragraph 10-11 where Table 4 is discussed in detail).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have adjusted the teachings of Ahlquist and Zhang to include analysis of a variety of DMRs that are associated with methylated genes that are predictive and diagnostic for colorectal cancer to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success. Feinberg looks to each of LONRF2, PDGFD and FGF14 and teaches the method is focused on the “discovery that some tissue-specific or cancer-related alterations in DNA methylation occur not only in promoters or CpG islands, but in sequences up to 2 kb distant from such CpG islands (such sequences are termed "CpG island shores"). In accordance with this discovery, there are provided herein differentially methylated regions (DMRs) and methods of use thereof” (paragraph 11). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have adjusted the teachings of Ahlquist and Zhang to include analysis of a variety of DMRs that are associated with methylated genes that are predictive and diagnostic for colorectal cancer to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahlquist et al. (US 20230028856 A1; January 2023), Zhang et al. (US 20160340740 A1; November 2016) and Feinberg et al. (US 20100167940 A1; July 2010) as applied over claims 1, 4, 15-16, 30 and 42-43 above and further in view of Widschwendter et al. (WO2012104642; August 2012).
With regard to claim 10, Widschwendter teaches a method of claim l, wherein the method comprises determining the methylation status of DMRs ZNF471'558 and DMR FGF14 '577 (p 9-11, where the process of assessing methylation is described; p. 13-14, where methylation status is incorporated in “predicting risk of developing cancer in a subject” heading; see p. 31, Table 2, which is described as “top ranked 5482 cancer risk CpGs” for each gene where both ZNF471 and FGF14 are included; p. 31, where the method predicts risk to develop any cancer, which would include colorectal cancer).
With regard to claim 11, Widschwendter teaches a method of claim l, wherein the method comprises determining the methylation status of DMRs ZNF471'558, FGF14'577, and DMR PDGFD '388 (p 9-11, where the process of assessing methylation is described; p. 13-14, where methylation status is incorporated in “predicting risk of developing cancer in a subject” heading; see p. 31, Table 2, which is described as “top ranked 5482 cancer risk CpGs” for each gene where both ZNF471 and FGF14 are included; p. 31, where the method predicts risk to develop any cancer, which would include colorectal cancer).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have adjusted the teachings of Ahlquist, Zhang and Feinberg to include analysis of a variety of DMRs that are associated with methylated genes that are predictive and diagnostic for colorectal cancer to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success. Widschwendter teaches “inventors have found that assessment of a healthy individual's DNA methylation profile up to several years in advance of any subsequent diagnosis of cancer has the potential to predict that individual's risk of developing cancer. In particular, the inventors have identified an aberrant DNA methylation profile in genes encoding developmental transcription factors required for the differentiation of stem or progenitor cells, as well as target genes of transcription factors that are involved in stem or progenitor cell differentiation, in individuals predisposed to cancer. Thus, aberrant DNA methylation profiles are seen in genes that are required for the differentiation of stem or progenitor cells ” (p 2, lines 1-26). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have adjusted the teachings of Ahlquist, Zhang and Feinberg to include analysis of a variety of DMRs that are associated with methylated genes that are predictive and diagnostic for colorectal cancer to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success.
Claim(s) 44-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahlquist et al. (US 20230028856 A1; January 2023), Zhang et al. (US 20160340740 A1; November 2016) and Feinberg et al. (US 20100167940 A1; July 2010) as applied over claims 1, 4, 15-16, 30 and 42-43 above and further in view of Chong et al. (Oncology Reports, 2014, 31:2535-2544).
With regard to claim 44, Chong teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises determining the methylation status of at least one DMR of CNRIP1 (p 2541, col. 1, where CNRIP1 are frequently methylated in colorectal cancers, Fig 7 legend and p. 2543, col. 1, where CNRIP1 was an important marker).
With regard to claim 45, Chong teaches a method of claim 44, wherein the method comprises determining the methylation status of at least one of the following DMRs: CNRIP1'272 and CNRIP1'232 (p 2541, col. 1, where CNRIP1 are frequently methylated in colorectal cancers, Fig 7 legend and p. 2543, col. 1, where CNRIP1 was an important marker).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have adjusted the teachings of Ahlquist, Zhang and Feinberg to include analysis of a variety of DMRs that are associated with methylated genes that are predictive and diagnostic for colorectal cancer to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success. Chong is focused on methylation within early gastric carcinogenesis and notes “C19orf35 and CNRIP1 were specific to diffuse-type compared to the intestinal-type subgroups. Both revealed a similar level of methylation in CNM regardless of the histologic subtype of tumor while the methylation of the tumor tissue varied with the histologic type (Fig. 5C and D)”. Further, Chong notes while “the function of C19orf35 is still unknown while frequent methylation of CNRIP1 has recently been reported in colorectal cancers and adenoma”. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have adjusted the teachings of Ahlquist, Zhang and Feinberg to include analysis of a variety of DMRs that are associated with methylated genes that are predictive and diagnostic for colorectal cancer to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed. All claims stand rejected.
/STEPHANIE K MUMMERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681