DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 1/13/2025 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
In view of the amendment to claims 1 and 11 the rejection of claims 1-2, 4-12, and 14-21 the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of has been withdrawn.
The cancellation of claim 21 and the addition of claim 22 is acknowledged.
New analysis follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues Zaghib fails to teach newly amended claim 1 now that the negative electrode plate requires new limitations including wherein the first coating layer does not include a second active material having a conductivity lower than a conductivity of the first active material and the first active material comprises graphite, however Zaghib suggests a number of active materials with a variety of conductivities for each layer at least one of which meet the claims as described in the new rejection of claims 1 and 11 below.
Applicant also argues Zaghib fails to teach newly amended claim 1 now that the positive electrode plate requires new limitations including wherein the first coating layer does not include a second active material having a conductivity lower than a conductivity of the first active material and the first active material comprises at least one of lithium cobalt oxide, lithium nickel cobalt manganate, lithium nickel cobalt aluminate, or lithium manganate oxide, however Zaghib suggests a number of active materials with a variety of conductivities for each layer at least one of which meet the claims as described in the new rejection of claims 1 and 11 below.
Applicant also argues Lei does not suggest modification of the active materials conductivity and that the optimization of the layers is a general optimization and not the specific relationship of the claims. However not only does Lei teach the optimization of the resistance of each layer Lei also teaches a specific example with similar active materials, binder and conductive materials as Zaghib (see the first coating layer in Example 1,¶[0079]-[0082]) with thicknesses (¶[0013] 2-30 µm, ¶[0060] 20-100 µm) and resistance values (¶[0057]) that satisfy the equation of claim 1 directly teaching selection of resistances and thicknesses that meet the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaghib (US20090301866) in view of Lei (US20190393513). Additional supporting evidence is provided by Dhaybi et. al. (Journal of Energy Storage 18 (2018) 259–265) and Ito et. al. (Electrochemistry, 90(8), 087006 (2022)) and He (US20190312261).
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 8, Zaghib discloses an electrochemical apparatus (i.e. lithium battery)(¶[0285]), comprising an electrode plate ; wherein the electrode plate may be a positive or negative electrode which comprises:
a current collector (1)(Figs. 1-3, see cathode and anode configurations);
a first coating layer (A or A’)(Figs. 1-3) ; and
a second coating layer (B or B’) (Figs. 1-3) comprising a first active material (¶[0053] and [0062]); wherein,
the first coating layer is provided between the current collector and the second coating layer in both configurations(¶[0198]-[0199], Figs. 1-3)
wherein the first coating layer comprises a conductive carbon (see carbon black in cathode of example 2 ¶[0272] and anode of example 3 ¶[0277]) and a mass percentage of the binder in the first coating layer ranges from 0% to 98% (see anode ¶[0071] and cathode ¶[0084]), and
Zaghib also discloses that each layer of both the cathode and anode has a thickness ¶[0049]), and the active materials of the first coating layer and the second layer (Figs. 1-3) each inherently has a resistance but does not explicitly teach the following formula
1.1 ≤ R1/(R2*d/D) ≤ 8; wherein
R1 is a resistance of the first coating layer:
R2 is a resistance of the second coating layer:
d is a thickness of the first coating layer:
D is a thickness of the second coating layer:
R2 and R1 are measured in ohms: and
D and d are measured in microns.
Lei, related to lithium ion electrodes, teaches a two coating layer electrode (¶[0081], Fig. 7A) and that the internal resistance of each coating layer should be optimized to ensure a large current is not easily generated upon internal short-circuit(¶[0129]) and that the thickness of each layer should be optimized thereby further improving the safety performance of the lithium ion battery(¶[0056]).
The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Furthermore, Lei also teaches the electrode may have the same active materials, similar binder and conductive materials as Zaghib (see the first coating layer in Example 1,¶[0079]-[0082]) and a portion of the ranges of thickness taught by Zaghib (above) and Lei (¶[0013] 2-30 µm, ¶[0060] 20-100 µm) and resistance values (¶[0057]) of Lei satisfy the equation of claim 1.
Applicant is reminded that a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), MPEP § 2144.05).
Zaghib also discloses when the electrode plate is a positive electrode (i) wherein the first coating layer contains carbon coated lithium iron phosphate as a second active material (¶[0025]) with a conductivity of at least 1.4 x 10-3 S/cm (as evidenced by Dhaybi (page 264, conclusion) which is not lower than the conductivity of the first active material lithium manganate oxide (LiMn2O4) in the second layer (see Fig. 1 of Zaghib, ¶[0025]) with a conductivity of much smaller of 3.2 x 10-5 S/cm (as evidenced by Ito, col. 1 para. 1) and/or
when the electrode plate is a negative electrode (ii) wherein the electrode plate is a negative electrode plate, wherein the first coating layer contains graphite as a second active material (see Fig. 1 of Zaghib) with a conductivity of greater than 15 S/cm (as evidenced by ¶0099] of He) which is not lower than the conductivity of the first active material SiOx-graphite in the second layer (see Fig. 1 of Zaghib) which one of ordinary skill would recognize the addition of SiOx would reduce the conductivity of the graphite.
Regarding claim 11, Zaghib discloses an electronic apparatus (a portable electronic device)(¶[0004)), comprising an electrochemical apparatus (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Zaghib discloses an electronic apparatus according to claim 11 and an electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1.
Applicant teaches that the presence of the first coating layer increases the overall impedance of the electrochemical apparatus and therefore the described charging method can greatly improve the charging speed and reduce charging time (¶[0018]). Applicant also teaches when the resistance and thickness of the first and second coating layer meet the equation 1.1
R1/(R2*d/D)
8 and “the charging method in this application was used for charging, full-charge duration could be reduced” (¶[0060]). The electrochemical apparatus of claim 1 and 11 contain the structural requirements, such as the first and second layer with the required thickness and resistance relationship, necessary for the described charging method to be effective. The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). (see MPEP § 2114).
Regarding claim 4 and 14, Zaghib discloses an electronic apparatus according to claim 11, an electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein d is greater than 0.5 µm and less than 8 µm (in this case 1-200 µm, ¶[0049]). Applicant is reminded that a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Zaghib discloses an electronic apparatus according to claim 11, an electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1 wherein D is greater than 20 µm and less than 200 µm (in this case 1-200 µm, ¶[0049]). Applicant is reminded that a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Zaghib discloses an electronic apparatus according to claim 11, an electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein,
the electrode plate is a positive electrode plate (¶[0024].
Regarding claim 7 and 17, Zaghib discloses an electronic apparatus according to claim 16, an electrochemical apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the electrode plate satisfies conditions (a) or (b):
(a) the first binder comprises polyvinylidene fluoride(¶[0029] and ¶[0030]),
(b) the conductive carbon comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of conductive graphite (¶[0186]) or carbon black (¶[0268]-[0271]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Zaghib discloses an electronic apparatus according to claim 11, an electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, the electrode plate is a negative electrode plate, (i.e. anode ¶[0035]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Zaghib discloses an electronic apparatus according to claim 18, an electrochemical apparatus according to claim 8 , wherein the electrode plate satisfies conditions (a) or (b):
(a) the first binder comprises polyvinylidene fluoride(¶[0041] and ¶[0044]),
(b) the conductive carbon comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of conductive graphite (¶[0186]) or carbon black (¶[0268]-[0261]).
Regarding claim 10 and 20, Zaghib discloses an electronic apparatus according to claim 12, an electrochemical apparatus according to claim 2.
Applicant teaches using a charging method with a first and second voltage and a first and second current leads to faster charging [18]. Applicant further teaches a difference between the two voltages is less than or equal to 500 mV, and a ratio of the second current to the first current is greater than 0.5 and less than 1 as applied within the charging method leads to faster charging. The apparatus of claims 2 and 12 inherently have structure required to meet the intended use (charging method) of claims 10 and 20 (see rejection of claims 2 and 12).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaghib (US20090301866) in view of Lei (US20190393513) and further in view of Temmyo (US-20120164530-A1). Additional supporting evidence is provided by Dhaybi et. al. (Journal of Energy Storage 18 (2018) 259–265) and Ito et. al. (Electrochemistry, 90(8), 087006 (2022)) and He (US20190312261).
Regarding claim 22, modified Zaghib discloses an electronic apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first coating layer further comprises a ceramic.
Temmyo, related to battery electrodes, teaches ceramic particles in a negative electrode mixture layer which can improve extraction of lithium ions from the edge portions of graphite, which is advantageous to improving large current characteristics (¶[0021])
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding the ceramic to the first coating material layer of Zaghib would result in improved current characteristics.
Therefore it would have been obvious to have added ceramic to the first coating material layer of Zaghib to improve current characteristics.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726